Expeditions · Tour operator records 2026

Jacada Travel Review 2026: Owners, Prices, Protection and a Record Score of 42

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 42/100Verified 25 September 2026

Jacada Travel scores 42/100 as a company record: the tailor-made brand Alex Malcolm founded, owned since 2020 by the safari group Wilderness, has 4.9 out of 5 from 2,583 Trustpilot reviews and detailed day-by-day itineraries, but every sample price on its site reads $0, it prints no phone number and its terms carry no UK protection. Below: who you contract with, who owns it, what its trips cost, the booking terms, who plans the trips, the support on the ground, the reviews and what the record could not find.

Verified 25 September 2026 · jacadatravel.com terms, team, story, destinations and trip pages · Companies House, Travel Weekly and TTG · Trustpilot and Tripadvisor

Is this your company? Correct a fact. Jacada Travel can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How Jacada Travel scores: 42 out of 100

Jacada Travel scores 42 out of 100: near-full marks for reviews and good planning detail, and held back by broken prices, no phone number and no financial protection. It is not on the Power Rankings, which were set on an older rubric; the rankings will be recalculated from these records.

How the score works (100 points). Planning depth 25: named specialists with stated first-hand experience of the regions they sell, leaders' destination experience, countries covered, sample itineraries day by day with named hotels, and years trading · On-the-ground cover 20: a published 24-hour number, presence inside the destinations, and the company's own guides or hosts on the trip · Pricing transparency 20: priced sample trips, inclusions, currency and season, and published booking terms · Review evidence 20: the best independent review platform by score and volume, a second platform, and a review in the last six months · Financial protection 15: numbered ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT cover in the UK, USTOA in the US, provincial registration in Canada. Rubric fixed on 25 September 2026 before any company was scored; lines our reader could not open are marked n/r and the criterion is rescaled. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
CriterionPointsOut ofWhy
Planning depth182570 designers named, with a general claim that they "have lived or travelled extensively" where they specialise (4 of 8). Founder Alex Malcolm named, without destination experience stated (2 of 4). 92 destinations with their own pages (5 of 5). Itineraries run day by day with named camps and hotels (5 of 5). Trading since 2008 (2 of 3).
On-the-ground cover320No telephone number at all (0 of 7). A concierge "based in the region", without named places (3 of 8). Guides not stated to be its own (0 of 5).
Pricing transparency320Every sample price reads "$0", counted as no price (0 of 8). No inclusions or currency against a real price (0 of 9). A deposit at booking and a three-step cancellation scale (3 of 3).
Review evidence1820Trustpilot 4.9 from 2,583 reviews (12 of 12). Tripadvisor 3.0 from 2 as a second platform (2 of 4). Newest Trustpilot review 24 September 2026 (4 of 4).
Financial protection015No ATOL, ABTA, ABTOT, AITO or USTOA; the contract is under Puerto Rico law (0 of 15).
Total42100Company record score, 25 September 2026.

Jacada's travellers rate it highly, and its itineraries show why. The record marks it down for what a buyer cannot see before paying: a real price, a number to call and a protection scheme standing behind the money.

A rhino grazing on open grassland under a wide sky in Laikipia County, Kenya
A rhino in Laikipia County, Kenya. Jacada's eight-day Luxury Kenya Walking Safari spends days 2 to 5 on the Laikipia Plateau with Karisia's camel-supported walking safari; its price field reads $0. Photo: Juan Riofrio / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 17 facts about Jacada Travel, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 25 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
Contracting partiesJacada Travel, Wilderness Concierge SEZC, Wilderness Travel SEZC and itrvl LLC; Jacada "does not act as your agent or the agent of any supplier"Terms · A
CompanyJacada Travel, a Cayman Islands company (362904) registered in the UK as overseas company FC040957, with a UK establishment, BR026074, from 30 June 2020; the terms call it Jacada Travel LimitedCompanies House · B; Terms · A
UK address6th Floor, Bentima House, 168-172 Old Street, London EC1V 9BP (map), from Companies House; no address on jacadatravel.comCompanies House · B
FoundedFirst trips in 2008, to Brazil, under founder Alex Malcolm; the first company was incorporated in July 2007Our story · A; Companies House · B
OwnerWilderness, the safari group, which bought the brand after the original company entered administration in May 2020Travel Weekly · B; TTG · B
LeadershipAlex Malcolm, founder, on the team page; the only officer filed at Companies House is Nicholas Stone, a US-resident director since October 2023Team · A; Companies House officers · B
Governing lawPuerto Rico, with binding arbitration in San Juan; itrvl LLC collects payment as "your authorised payment agent"Terms · A
PhonesNo telephone number shown; contact by form and emailContact · A
SupportA concierge "based in the region you're visiting"; no 24-hour numberWhy travel with us · A
Team70 people named in regional travel design teams; designers "have lived or travelled extensively in the destinations"Team · A; Our story · A
Destinations92 with their own pages across ten regionsDestinations · A
Sample pricesEvery sample trip read shows "From $0 PP": 13 prices on the safari, Kenya and Japan pagesKenya walking safari · A
Deposit and balanceA deposit at booking, amount not stated; no balance date in the clauses readTerms · A
CancellationMore than 91 days before departure: the deposit; 61 to 90 days: 50%; 60 days or fewer: 100%Terms · A
ProtectionNo ATOL, ABTA, ABTOT, AITO or USTOATerms · A
ReviewsTrustpilot 4.9 from 2,583, claimed, newest 24 September 2026; Tripadvisor 3.0 from 2 on a Kenya listingTrustpilot · B; Tripadvisor · B
Awards claimedTravel + Leisure World's Best Tour Operators 2026 and A-List 2026; Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists 2025Press and awards · A

Who you contract with when you book Jacada

Booking Jacada means dealing with four companies: Jacada Travel for trip design, Wilderness Concierge SEZC for reservations, Wilderness Travel SEZC or the supplier for the travel itself, and itrvl LLC, which takes the payment as the traveller's agent.

The terms say Jacada "acts as an independent service provider" and "does not act as your agent or the agent of any supplier". Services Wilderness operates are contracted with Wilderness Travel SEZC, everything else with the supplier, and the contract is governed by the laws of Puerto Rico, with disputes settled by binding arbitration in San Juan. The same clauses, naming the same companies, appear in Yellow Zebra Safaris' terms.

Who owns Jacada Travel?

Jacada is part of Wilderness, the safari group formerly called Wilderness Safaris, which bought the brand after the original Jacada company entered administration in May 2020.

The founding company, incorporated in July 2007 as Jacareda Travel Ltd, went into administration on 27 May 2020, with 52 staff made redundant; Travel Weekly reported that Wilderness Safaris bought the brand and revived it. The new Jacada Travel was registered in the UK as a Cayman Islands company in June 2020, and the old company was dissolved in September 2021. Founder Alex Malcolm is on the team page; the only officer filed at Companies House is Nicholas Stone, a US-resident director appointed in October 2023.

How much does a Jacada trip cost?

Jacada's site gives no usable price: every sample trip read shows "From $0 PP", including all six on its safaris page and all six on its Japan page. A broken price field counts as no price on this rubric.

The trips themselves are detailed. The Luxury Kenya Walking Safari runs day by day, from Hemingways Nairobi to a camel-supported walking safari with Karisia on the Laikipia Plateau, then Wilderness Mara, Governors' Camp or Serian Nkorombo in the Maasai Mara. The safari planner index found the same $0 on every Botswana itinerary on 14 September 2026. What a comparable safari costs is set out in what a Kenya safari costs and what a safari costs by budget.

Jacada booking terms and financial protection

Jacada takes a deposit at booking without stating the amount and publishes a three-step cancellation scale, but no ATOL, ABTA, ABTOT or other protection number appears on its site.

When you cancelWhat you pay
More than 91 days before departureThe deposit
61 to 90 days50%
60 days or fewer100%

The terms page was last modified on 7 July 2026. For a UK buyer the gap matters most on trips with flights, which ATOL would normally cover; US vs UK safari operators explains the difference, and the safari payment terms index compares deposits across planners.

Who plans a Jacada trip

Jacada names 70 people on its team page, organised into regional travel design teams, and says its designers "have lived or travelled extensively" where they specialise, without saying which designer lived where.

Its press page lists seven specialists among Condé Nast Traveler's Top Travel Specialists for 2025 and two designers on the Travel + Leisure A-List for 2026; neither was checked at the magazine. No individual profile with a first-hand destination claim could be opened.

Support on the ground

Jacada prints no telephone number of any kind; its site promises a concierge "based in the region you're visiting" and a team that will "jump in to resolve any mid-trip issues".

The home page's "Call us on" link is empty and the contact page offers email only. The team page lists concierges for Africa, Asia Pacific and Latin America without saying where they are based.

What Jacada reviews say

Jacada's reviews are its strongest line: 4.9 out of 5 from 2,583 Trustpilot reviews on a claimed profile, the newest from 24 September 2026, which earns 18 of the 20 review points.

A Tripadvisor listing for Jacada Travel Kenya has two reviews averaging 3.0, one positive and one critical. Who reviews the reviewers explains how this site weighs a claimed Trustpilot profile.

Jacada on this site's other pages

Jacada ranks 17th of 18 at 44/100 on the safari planner index, 11th of 11 at 32/100 on the Japan index and last of 13 on the luxury solo index.

The safari planner index and the Japan index mark it down for broken prices and no protection; the luxury solo operators index because it publishes nothing about what one person pays.

Who Jacada suits, and who it does not

Jacada suits travellers who want a designed private trip across 92 destinations, with camps and hotels named day by day and a strong review record, and who are content to learn the price on the first call.

It suits less well a UK buyer who expects ATOL or ABTOT protection, anyone who wants a contract under English law, or anyone who wants to compare prices before calling. For the group that owns it, see the Wilderness review and the luxury safari operator index.

Booking Jacada: the decisions that come next

With no price and no protection published, the questions for Jacada come before the deposit, and the way it is paid carries more weight than usual.

DecisionWhat matters for a Jacada tripWhere we cover it
The contractAsk who the contract is with: the terms name Wilderness Travel SEZC and itrvl LLC, under Puerto Rico law.How to verify a safari operator
Paying the depositThe card used decides the purchase cover; paying through a payment agent such as itrvl can affect it, so ask before paying.Best luxury travel credit cards; UK and Europe travel cards
Flights to the startNairobi, Maun and Tokyo are long hauls; the cabin is the traveller's choice.Best business class airlines; best first class airlines
Airport timeLong connections are where lounge access matters.Credit cards with airport lounge access
A delayed flightA long delay on a flight from a UK or EU airport carries fixed compensation of up to £520 or €600.AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright
Travelling aloneNo single price is published; the solo index scores it 0/100.Best solo travel destinations
Nights either sideGateway nights in Nairobi or London are often in chain hotels where status adds breakfast and upgrades.Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist

Where Jacada stands on Uncompromised Travel

Jacada appears on three other Uncompromised Travel pages and ranks last or next to last on each.

PagePositionNote
Safari planner index 2026No. 17 of 18, 44/100"From $0 pp" on every Botswana itinerary
Best luxury tour operators for Japan 2026No. 11 of 11, 32/100Part of Wilderness since 2020
Best luxury tour operators for solo travellers 2026No. 13 of 13, 0/100Publishes nothing about what one person pays
Luxury tour operator Power Rankings 2026Not listedTo be recalculated from records
Best luxury travel companies 2026Not listedFour kinds of luxury company profiled

Alternatives to Jacada to compare

The closest alternatives are Cazenove+Loyd, Scott Dunn and Audley Travel, which price their trips and hold UK protection numbers, and Red Savannah or Black Tomato for private trips planned from England.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
Cazenove+Loyd83Priced itineraries from £3,250; ATOL 3208
Scott Dunn82Prints a 24-hour number; priced itineraries; ATOL 2471 and ABTOT 5222
Audley Travel82Private tailor-made; Trustpilot 4.9 from 5,022; ATOL and ABTOT
Red Savannah65Prices every itinerary by season; ATOL and ABTOT
Black Tomato62Founder-owned London company; one price published

What this record does not show

Six things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Jacada Travel. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
A working price on any sample tripSafaris, Kenya and Japan pages
ATOL, ABTA, ABTOT or any protection numberTerms, contact, home and safari pages
A telephone numberHome, contact and why-travel-with-us pages
A postal address on its own siteHome, contact, privacy and terms pages
The deposit amount and balance dateTerms
Named designers' first-hand experienceTeam page; one profile link failed to load

What changed at Jacada Travel, 2020 to 2026

Jacada went into administration in 2020, was revived by Wilderness through a Cayman company and launched an impact fund in 2026.

WhenWhat happenedSource
27 May 2020Original company enters administration; 52 staff made redundantTTG
30 June 2020New Cayman company registers a UK establishmentCompanies House
3 September 2021Original UK company dissolvedCompanies House
17 October 2023Nicholas Stone appointed directorCompanies House
10 March 2025Joins the Conscious Travel Foundation with Scott DunnTravel Daily News
16 March 2026Impact Fund launched: USD 20 per traveller per trip, first funding female guide trainees at Linkwasha in HwangeBreaking Travel News

Jacada: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Jacada Travel?

Jacada is part of Wilderness, the safari group formerly called Wilderness Safaris, which bought the brand in 2020 after the original company went into administration. Founder Alex Malcolm is still named on the team page.

Is Jacada Travel a good company?

Jacada scores 42/100 on this site's company record rubric. It has 4.9 out of 5 from 2,583 Trustpilot reviews and detailed day-by-day itineraries, but every sample price reads $0, and it prints no phone number and no ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT number.

How much does a Jacada trip cost?

Jacada's site does not say: every sample trip read shows "From $0 PP", a broken price field. The price is given only on enquiry.

Is Jacada Travel ATOL protected?

No ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT number appears on its site. Its terms place the booking with Wilderness Travel SEZC or the supplier, with payment taken by itrvl LLC, under Puerto Rico law.

Who do you pay when you book Jacada?

You pay itrvl LLC, which the terms call your authorised payment agent, collecting funds and passing them to the suppliers and agencies on your booking.

What is the Jacada cancellation policy?

Cancelling more than 91 days before departure loses the deposit; from 61 to 90 days the charge is 50%, and from 60 days it is 100%.

What are Jacada Travel reviews like?

Jacada holds 4.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 2,583 reviews on a claimed profile, the newest from 24 September 2026.

Where is Jacada Travel based?

Jacada publishes no address on its site. Companies House lists its UK establishment at Bentima House, 168-172 Old Street, London, and its registered office in the Cayman Islands.

When was Jacada Travel founded?

Alex Malcolm founded Jacada, and its first trips, to Brazil, ran in 2008. The present company dates from its revival under Wilderness in 2020.

This record is unpaid and Jacada Travel had no part in it. The score is this site's, on the tour operator record rubric published above, and it changes only when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to jacadatravel.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. Sources verified 25 September 2026: jacadatravel.com (terms, team, our story, why travel with us, contact, destinations, press and awards, safaris, Japan and Kenya trip pages), Companies House (FC040957, BR026074 and 06328668), Travel Weekly, TTG, Travel Daily News, Breaking Travel News, Trustpilot and Tripadvisor. First published 25 September 2026. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.