Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

Scott Dunn Review 2026: Ski, Family and Tailor-Made Prices, Who Owns It and a Record Score of 82

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Scott Dunn scores 82/100 as a company record: the private tailor-made company Andrew Dunn founded as a ski business in 1986 has been owned by Flight Centre Travel Group since January 2023, prints a 24-hour emergency number, publishes day-by-day itineraries with named hotels priced between £5,200 and £12,000, and holds ATOL 2471 and ABTOT 5222. This page, first published on 7 September 2026 as a safari review, now covers the whole company: ownership, prices across ski, family, Asia, Europe, the Caribbean and Africa, booking terms, support, reviews and the gaps in the record.

Verified 25 September 2026 · scottdunn.com promise, contact, legal and tour pages · Companies House · USTOA · Trustpilot · Skift and Travel Weekly

Is this your company? Correct a fact. Scott Dunn can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How Scott Dunn scores: 82 out of 100

Scott Dunn scores 82 out of 100: full marks for pricing and financial protection, strong on planning and support, and held back by a thin independent review record. Its Power Rankings score of 80 was set on an older rubric that included brand authority; the rankings will be recalculated from these records.

How the score works (100 points). Planning depth 25: named specialists with stated first-hand experience of the regions they sell, leaders' destination experience, countries covered, sample itineraries day by day with named hotels, and years trading · On-the-ground cover 20: a published 24-hour number, presence inside the destinations, and the company's own guides or hosts on the trip · Pricing transparency 20: priced sample trips, inclusions, currency and season, and published booking terms · Review evidence 20: the best independent review platform by score and volume, a second platform, and a review in the last six months · Financial protection 15: numbered ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT cover in the UK, USTOA in the US, provincial registration in Canada. Rubric fixed on 25 September 2026 before any company was scored; lines our reader could not open are marked n/r and the criterion is rescaled. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
CriterionPointsOut ofWhy
Planning depth2325Named specialists with lived experience, such as an Oceans and Islands specialist born in Singapore who lived in Dubai and Oman (8 of 8). Founder Andrew Dunn named, no destination claim stated (2 of 4). Nearly 100 countries (5 of 5). Day-by-day itineraries with named hotels, such as Epic Japan (5 of 5). Trading since 1986 (3 of 3).
On-the-ground cover1020A 24-hour emergency number, +44 20 8682 5099, is printed (7 of 7). Local partners and private local guides are stated; no Scott Dunn office inside a destination (3 of 8). No statement that its own staff travel with clients (0 of 5).
Pricing transparency202011 priced trips (8 of 8). Tour pages list inclusions (5 of 5). Pounds with months or seasons stated, such as January to August 2027 for Epic Japan (4 of 4). The cancellation scale sits in booking-condition PDFs our reader could not open, so that line is n/r; rescaled from 17 of 17.
Review evidence1420Trustpilot 4.6 from 274 reviews (10 of 12). The Feefo profile is inactive (0 of 4). Newest Trustpilot review 3 September 2026 (4 of 4).
Financial protection1515ATOL 2471 and ABTOT 5222 for Scott Dunn Limited; the US office is listed by USTOA (15 of 15).
Total82100Company record score, 25 September 2026.

Scott Dunn publishes more of what a buyer needs than most private tailor-made companies: hotels by name, prices by month and a number to ring at 3am. Its weakest criterion is the one it controls least directly, independent reviews, where 274 Trustpilot reviews are a small base for a company of its size and the Feefo profile is dormant.

Zermatt village in winter with the Matterhorn behind it
Zermatt and the Matterhorn in winter. Scott Dunn's Ski Switzerland by Glacier Express trip starts with three nights at the Zermatterhof, part of ten nights from £5,200 per person with flights. Photo: Ruining Song / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 19 facts about Scott Dunn, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 25 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
CompanyScott Dunn Limited, company 02021650, 7th Floor Metro Building, 1 Butterwick, Hammersmith, London W6 8DLCompany information · A; Companies House · B
Founded1986, by Andrew Dunn, as a ski company (registered as Ski Scott Dunn Limited until 2008)About · A; Companies House · B
OwnerFlight Centre Travel Group, which completed its purchase from Inflexion in January 2023Skift, 31 January 2023 · B
Registered controllerFlight Centre Travel Group (European Holdings) Ltd since 31 January 2025; before that The Luxury Travel Group Limited, from 2017PSC register · B
LeadershipAlison Zacher, global managing director since 5 September 2024; no chief executive named on the siteTravel Weekly · B; About · A
Marketing leadAlexandra Coutts, global head of marketing, joined 2023Team page · A
OfficesLondon, New York, Solana Beach (San Diego), Singapore, Hong KongContact us · A
PhonesUK 020 8682 5000; emergency +44 20 8682 5099, "24 hours a day"Contact us · A
In-trip support"Dedicated 24/7 team providing in-country support" private local guides from "a carefully curated network of local partners"Tour pages · A
SpecialistsNamed with biographies, several stating lived experience of the regions they sellTeam pages · A
Countries"Nearly 100"Destinations · A
FormatsPrivate tailor-made only; Scott Dunn Private (since 2007); Explorers kids' clubs (since 2000, from 4 months); ski; villas; honeymoonsExplorers · A
Ski prices"Our five-star luxury ski holidays start at £5,000 per person"Ski · A
Sample prices11 trips priced between £5,200 and £12,000 per personTour pages · A
Balance and depositBalance three calendar months before departure; deposit set per booking; card surcharge 2% to 3%How we work · A
Booking conditionsPDF for holidays booked from 1 April 2024, updated April 2025; not readable by automated toolsBooking · A
ProtectionATOL 2471; ABTOT 5222; IATA 9123848/6; US office listed by USTOAOur promise · A; USTOA · B
ReviewsTrustpilot 4.6 from 274; Feefo profile inactiveTrustpilot · B
Awards claimedCondé Nast Traveller Top Travel Specialists, 13 consecutive years to 2026; British Travel Awards 2025, romantic getaways. Not confirmed at the awarding bodiesAwards · A

Who owns Scott Dunn?

Scott Dunn is owned by Flight Centre Travel Group, the Australian-listed travel company, which completed its purchase from the private equity firm Inflexion in January 2023.

Skift reported the price at about USD 150 million. Companies House changed the registered controller of Scott Dunn Limited from The Luxury Travel Group Limited to Flight Centre Travel Group (European Holdings) Ltd on 31 January 2025, which reads as a restructuring inside the group rather than a second sale.

Andrew Dunn founded the business in 1986, aged 22, as a ski company; it added safaris in 1995, the Explorers kids' clubs in 2000 and the Scott Dunn Private service in 2007, and opened US and Singapore offices in 2016. Alison Zacher, who came from Flight Centre's corporate travel business, has been global managing director since September 2024, when Travel Weekly reported that chief executive Sonia Davies was leaving. The site names no chief executive.

How much does a Scott Dunn holiday cost?

Scott Dunn's sample trips are priced between £5,200 per person for ten nights skiing across Switzerland by the Glacier Express and £12,000 for 12 nights in Japan, and its five-star ski holidays start at £5,000. All prices below were read on 25 September 2026 and are per person, from.

TripRegionNightsFrom, per person
Ski Switzerland by Glacier ExpressSwitzerland10£5,200
Epic South AfricaSouth Africa9£6,100
The Ultimate Barefoot EscapeMaldives10£6,400
A Caribbean adventure: St Lucia and AntiguaCaribbean7£7,200
Extraordinary TanzaniaTanzania8£8,200
Ultimate JapanJapan11£8,500
Iconic ItalyItaly9£9,200
Treasures of the Tropics: Sri Lanka and the MaldivesSri Lanka and Maldives14£9,500
Sardinia's Soul and ShoresItaly7£10,500
Island Thrills and Family Bonds: Antigua and GrenadaCaribbean14£10,800
Epic JapanJapan12£12,000

Epic Japan shows how much the tour pages disclose: £12,000 to £15,800 per person depending on the month between January and August 2027, with nights at The Ritz-Carlton Osaka and Kyoto, Hanaougi Bettei Iiyama in Takayama and The Tokyo EDITION, Toranomon, plus private guides, transfers and 24/7 in-country support. The Glacier Express trip names the Zermatterhof, The Chedi Andermatt and Badrutt's Palace, includes flights, and takes a deposit of £800 to £900.

Scott Dunn booking terms and financial protection

Scott Dunn Limited holds ATOL 2471 and ABTOT membership 5222, wants the balance three calendar months before departure, and sets the deposit for each booking.

Its Our Promise page prints the ATOL, ABTOT and IATA numbers together. The current booking conditions apply to holidays booked from 1 April 2024 and were updated in April 2025; they are published as PDFs that our reader could not open, so the cancellation scale is not reproduced here. Card payments carry a surcharge of 2% to 3%. The US office in Solana Beach, California is listed in the USTOA directory.

Support on the ground

Scott Dunn prints a 24-hour emergency number, +44 20 8682 5099, and says out-of-hours calls are answered by its US or Singapore offices so that someone is always on shift.

In the destination, trips run on "a carefully curated network of local partners" and private English-speaking local guides; every tour page read lists a "dedicated 24/7 team providing in-country support". No Scott Dunn office inside a destination is named, and no page says Scott Dunn staff travel with clients.

Scott Dunn for safari

Scott Dunn has sold safaris since 1995 and publishes Africa trips such as Epic South Africa, nine nights from £6,100, and Extraordinary Tanzania, eight nights from £8,200.

The first version of this page, published on 7 September 2026, scored Scott Dunn 75/100 on the safari operator rubric, with 16 of 25 for first-hand African expertise because safari is one line among nearly 100 countries. Our three-way safari comparison of 23 September 2026 gave it 75 against Audley's 79 and Yellow Zebra's 87, and recommended it where a listed parent and offices in four countries matter more than African depth.

What Scott Dunn reviews say

Scott Dunn holds 4.6 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 274 reviews, on a profile established in 2014, with the newest review dated 3 September 2026.

Its Feefo profile shows no current reviews. The awards page lists 13 consecutive years in Condé Nast Traveller's Top Travel Specialists, a British Travel Awards 2025 win for romantic getaways and Junior Design Awards for the Explorers clubs; none was confirmed at the awarding body for this record.

Who Scott Dunn suits, and who it does not

Scott Dunn suits families who want childcare built into the holiday, skiers, and couples who want a private trip with the hotels named and a 24-hour number in hand before they pay.

It suits less well a buyer looking for a group departure, which it does not sell, or one who wants an independent review record as deep as the company's marketing. Its published prices start at £5,000 per person for ski and £5,200 for the cheapest sample trip read, against £3,400 at Audley.

Booking Scott Dunn: the decisions that come next

A Scott Dunn booking settles the trip; the traveller still decides how to pay, which flights to take and what to claim if a flight fails.

DecisionWhat matters for a Scott Dunn tripWhere we cover it
PayingScott Dunn adds a card surcharge of 2% to 3%, but paying by UK credit card still brings Section 75 cover for purchases priced £100 to £30,000, alongside ATOL 2471.Best luxury travel credit cards; UK and Europe travel cards
SkiingIts five-star ski holidays start at £5,000 per person; the resort decides the snow and the price.Best ski destinations
Long-haul flightsOn trips such as Epic Japan, check whether flights are in the price and in which cabin.Best business class airlines; best first class airlines
Airport timeLounge access usually comes with a card or an airline ticket; check whether the booking adds it.Credit cards with airport lounge access
A delayed flightFlights from UK and EU airports carry fixed compensation of up to £520 or €600 per passenger for long delays.AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright
The hotelsIts itineraries name hotels such as The Ritz-Carlton Osaka and The Tokyo EDITION, where elite status can apply.Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist; luxury hotel brand hierarchy

Where Scott Dunn stands on Uncompromised Travel

Scott Dunn appears on six Uncompromised Travel pages, five of them ranked or scored.

PagePositionNote
Luxury tour operator Power Rankings 2026No. 5, 80/100 (older rubric)To be recalculated from records
Family luxury tour operator indexNo. 1, 86/100Explorers kids' clubs counted
India luxury tour operator indexNo. 1, 90/100Version verified 10 September 2026
Japan luxury tour operator indexNo. 2, 77/100Verified 14 September 2026
Scott Dunn vs Audley vs Yellow Zebra75/100 (safari only)Safari comparison, 23 September 2026
Best luxury travel companies 2026Assessed, not rankedListed among bespoke operators

Alternatives to Scott Dunn to compare

The closest alternatives are Audley Travel for lower entry prices, Kuoni for family and beach packages, and Black Tomato, Original Travel or Red Savannah for London tailor-made travel.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
Audley Travel82Entry prices from £3,400; Trustpilot 4.9 from 5,022; no 24-hour number printed
Kuoni84Flight-inclusive packages; 24-hour duty number; Feefo 4.9 from 7,137
Original Travel70Family trips with Sharky & George childcare; now Voyageurs du Monde
Red Savannah70VIP Ski programme and villas; Google 4.9 from 82, no second platform
Black Tomato62Concept-led private trips; publishes one price

What this record does not show

Five things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Scott Dunn. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
The cancellation scaleBooking-condition PDFs, blocked to automated readers
A standard deposit percentageHow we work page; one tour page shows £800 to £900
Who holds the chief executive roleAbout page, Companies House, trade press
The number of named specialistsTeam directory, which loads in pages
Awards confirmed at the awarding bodiesAwards page claims only

What changed at Scott Dunn, 2024 to 2026

Under Flight Centre, Scott Dunn changed its leadership, its registered controller and its US sales team, and marked 40 years in 2026.

WhenWhat happenedSource
5 September 2024Alison Zacher named global managing director; chief executive Sonia Davies to leaveTravel Weekly
10 October 2024Sonia Davies leaves the board of Scott Dunn Limited; Alison Zacher appointedCompanies House
31 January 2025Registered controller becomes Flight Centre Travel Group (European Holdings) LtdPSC register
April 2025Booking conditions updatedBooking
26 August 2025Fiona Batten appointed senior vice president, USTravel Daily News
2026Fortieth anniversary of the businessAbout

Scott Dunn: the facts on record, read 12 October 2026

53 facts about Scott Dunn were read from its own website, the award publishers and the review platforms on 12 October 2026, and every one below says who stated it, where it was read and when. “Not stated on their website” means the right page was read and the fact is not there; “Could not access” means the page would not open; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same form is kept for every safari planner on this site, so each line can be set beside any other company’s. Where a line here differs from an older line on this page, this one, read later, is the current reading.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Scott Dunn is a trading name of Scott Dunn Limited, registered in England, company number 2021650, registered address 7th Floor, Metro Building, 1 Butterwick, Hammersmith, London W6 8DL. VAT 487600664. The competition terms name the promoter as 'Scott Dunn Travel Ltd', company number 2021650, registered office Mindspace Hammersmith, 1 Butterwick, London W6 8DL (same number, different name and address wording).

Source: Company · competition terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it is based

London, UK (Mindspace Hammersmith, 1 Butterwick, London W6 8DL). Other offices: Hong Kong, New York, San Diego (Solana Beach), Singapore.

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Year founded

1986, founded by Andrew Dunn as a luxury ski holiday company (first tailormade Africa trips 1995).

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Owned by Flight Centre Travel Group (FCTG) since early 2023; Ali Zacher named as Managing Director.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What it is

Planner: a luxury tailor-made tour operator with dedicated travel specialists. It runs Explorers kids clubs in partner resorts and mentions its own chalets and villas, but no safari camps of its own are stated in the saved pages.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Team

Not stated on their website: number not stated. The team page shows 8 named specialists before a 'Load more' button, so the saved copy is incomplete. Separate claim: seven specialists on Conde Nast Traveller's 2026 Top Travel Specialists list.

Source: Company · team · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it sells

UK 020 8682 5000 (also 020 4600 5400 shown on the same contact page); US 858 345 1761 (US site, USD prices); Singapore +65 6028 0820 (SGD prices); Hong Kong +852 2829 2000 (HKD prices); offices in London, Hong Kong, New York, San Diego, Singapore; site currency selector lists GBP, USD, AUD, CAD, CHF, HKD, SGD, AED. Phone lines are labelled 'Speak to an expert 24/7'.

Source: Company · epic kenya, epic kenya, epic kenya, contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Travel that takes you further': a global luxury tour operator creating tailor-made holidays, each bespoke to the guest, with a designated Travel Specialist.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Response time and named planner

Each guest has a designated Travel Specialist who is their single point of contact. No reply-time commitment stated (only guest testimonials say replies are fast); support stated as 24/7.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

No profile found: no Google business listing was shown in the search on 12 Oct 2026.

Source: Independent source · Google search · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

Rating 4.6, 278 reviews; newest review shown is dated Sep 27, 2026. Company replies to reviews; profile claimed since Apr 2014.

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: to be read by hand

Source: Company · not recorded · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Trustindex

No profile found: trustindex page returned a 404 in the crawl.

Source: Independent source · Trustindex · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it asks clients to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: the saved pages do not say where it asks clients to leave reviews. Its testimonials page is on its own site, and it says the travel specialist phones after the holiday to collect feedback.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, read from the publishers

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Bjorn Behlert (Family & Multigenerational Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) | Condé Nast Traveller (UK), The top travel specialists to know right now: listed, best for "going anywhere" (hand-picked by the UK editors; published 7 Nov 2025) The company's own site also states (Company): Conde Nast Traveller Readers' Choice Awards 2025: Best Travel Specialist in the World (13th consecutive year; Condé Nast Traveller readers). Conde Nast Traveller 2026 Top Travel Specialists list: seven Scott Dunn specialists featured. Junior (Design) Travel Awards: Gold Best Family Travel Brand 2026, Gold Best Kids Club 2026, Silver Best Bespoke Family Travel Company 2026, Silver 2025, Platinum 2024 (Best Family Travel Brand heading). British Travel Awards: Best Travel Company for Romantic Getaways 2025 (stated as two years in a row). OutThere Experientialist Awards: Winner, The Insider Award 2025. The US site footer says 'Awarded Condé Nast Traveler's Top Travel Specialists in the World 14 years in a row' (the awards page says 13th consecutive year for the 2025 Readers' Choice award; the two counts differ). Company's own claims; publishers' lists not read.

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Advisors on named lists

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Bjorn Behlert (Family & Multigenerational Safaris) The company's own site also states (Company): Conde Nast Traveller 2026 Top Travel Specialists: seven Scott Dunn specialists on the list (company claim; publisher's list not read). No other list counts by year stated.

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp or similar certification stated for Scott Dunn. The Flight Centre (UK) modern slavery statement says Flight Centre renewed membership of Travelife for the third year running (no date given; it is the parent group's membership).

Source: Company · modern slavery act · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes. Africa itinerary pages show 'from' prices per person with a month-by-month Price Guide and 'deposit from' amount: Iconic Kenya (10 nights, from £7,300), Epic Africa (Botswana/Zambia/Rwanda, 13 nights, from £20,300), Epic Namibia (10 nights, from £5,600), Epic Kenya (12 nights, from £9,000), Epic Uganda (8 nights, from £7,200): 5 of 5 saved Africa tour pages are priced. The February half-term Africa page also prices 10 family itineraries (2 adults + 2 children sharing). Also on the Costa Rica tours page: 9 of 12 tours show a price (3 show none or POA). Prices are indicative only and exclude local taxes, fees and charges payable in destination.

Source: Company · iconic kenya, epic africa, epic namibia, epic kenya, epic uganda, africa february half term, tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Priced example trips

Africa examples (UK site, per person, based on two sharing, 'from'): (1) Epic Kenya, 12 nights private tour (Laikipia 3, Masai Mara 3, Zanzibar 5): from £9,000 pp for Mar-May 2027; £10,500 Nov 2026-Feb 2027; £11,900 Oct 2026 and Jun-Sep 2027; international flights excluded. (2) Epic Namibia, 10 nights private self-drive tour (Windhoek, Sossusvlei, Swakopmund, Damaraland, Etosha/Ongava, Okonjima): from £5,600 pp for Nov 2026-Mar 2027; £6,000 Apr-Jun 2027; £6,400 Oct 2026 and Jul-Sep 2027; international flights included; 4x4 hire arranged. (3) Epic Uganda, 8 nights private tour (Kibale, Queen Elizabeth, Bwindi, gorilla and chimp trekking): from £7,200 pp for Oct-Dec 2026 and Mar-May 2027; £8,800 Jan-Feb and Jun-Sep 2027; international flights included. Other Africa pages: Iconic Kenya 10 nights from £7,300 pp (flights excluded; £7,300 Nov 2026, up to £8,900 Oct 2026 and Jul-Sep 2027); Epic Africa 13 nights from £20,300 pp (£26,400 May-Sep 2027), flights excluded. Prices exclude local taxes and fees paid in destination. Costa Rica examples from the earlier crawl: Wild Costa Rica, 10 nights, from £6,400 pp; Epic Costa Rica, 13 nights, from £6,000 pp.

Source: Company · epic kenya, epic namibia, epic uganda, iconic kenya, epic africa, tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Not stated. Only 'from' totals per tour are shown (for example Costa Rica 10 nights from £6,400 pp); no per-day rate.

Source: Company · tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum spend

Not stated on their website: no minimum spend stated. The Costa Rica tours FAQ says tours 'start at £4,400 per person', while the tour listings on the same page start at £5,400 pp (the two figures differ).

Source: Company · tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What the price includes

Africa itinerary Price Guides say 'per person based on double occupancy' and state whether international flights are included: Epic Namibia and Epic Uganda 'includes international flights'; Epic Kenya, Iconic Kenya and Epic Africa (Botswana) 'excludes international flights'. All prices exclude local taxes, fees or charges payable in destination, shared by the Travel Specialist once the itinerary is finalised; pricing excludes special offers and peak periods (Christmas, New Year, holidays) can change prices. Itinerary pages list lodges and nights (for example Kicheche Laikipia 3 nights, Kicheche Mara 3 nights, Zuri Zanzibar 5 nights) but no full inclusions list beside the price. Separately, the how-we-work FAQ says prices include flights based on the average flight cost to the destination, so the price may be higher or lower at booking (this differs from the 'excludes flights' wording on some pages). The Costa Rica tour listing cards do not list inclusions.

Source: Company · epic namibia, epic uganda, epic kenya, iconic kenya, epic africa, how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Deposit

Itinerary Price Guides show 'Deposit from' amounts per month (UK site, per person): Epic Kenya £1,400 (Mar-May 2027), £1,600 (Nov 2026-Feb 2027), £1,800 (Oct 2026, Jun-Sep 2027); Epic Namibia £800-£1,000; Epic Uganda £1,100-£1,300; Iconic Kenya £1,100-£1,300; Epic Africa £3,000-£4,000. No overall percentage stated. The booking conditions say the deposit is 'as specified on your quotation' and amounts may vary; full payment may be required at booking (e.g. non-refundable flights).

Source: Company · epic kenya, epic namibia, epic uganda, iconic kenya, epic africa · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Balance due

Balance due no less than 90 days before departure; bookings made within 90 days require full payment at confirmation (booking conditions). The how-we-work FAQ says three calendar months.

Source: Company · UK Booking Conditions May 2024 update · pdf · 12 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

More than 90 days before departure: deposit(s). Then the greater of deposit(s) paid or: 61-90 days 25%; 31-60 days 50%; 15-30 days 75%; 14 days or less or no show 100% of the invoice total. Amendment fee £75 per person.

Source: Company · UK Booking Conditions May 2024 update · pdf · 12 Oct 2026

How client payments are protected

Own wording: 'fully bonded tour operator... 100% financial security'. ATOL 2471 (flight packages, CAA); ABTOT number 5222 for non-flight packages and flight-inclusive packages starting outside the UK sold to customers outside the UK (bookings made outside the UK protected only when bought directly from Scott Dunn Limited). The how-we-work FAQ separately says its services 'do not provide protection outright' and recommends trip cancellation insurance. Registers not checked.

Source: Company · our promise · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Bills in GBP by default; site currency selector offers GBP, USD, AUD, CAD, CHF, HKD, SGD, AED. Regional itinerary pages show the same Epic Kenya trip priced in USD (from $11,900 pp, US site), SGD (from SGD $16,400 pp, Singapore site) and HKD (from HKD $92,300 pp, Hong Kong site) against GBP £9,000 on the UK site. On request, bank transfers accepted in euros, US dollars and Swiss francs to UK or European accounts. Credit cards accepted for the final balance with a 2-3% charge added (depending on card type); no surcharge on bank transfer or debit card.

Source: Company · epic kenya, epic kenya, epic kenya, epic kenya, how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Yes: 24-hour support stated; emergency number +44 20 8682 5099 (UK contact page). Hong Kong contact page gives +65 6028 0865 for emergencies. Booking conditions give +44 (0) 20 8682 5099 as out-of-hours line.

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How the company is paid

Not stated. The booking conditions say Scott Dunn acts as agent for the service providers in non-package bookings; the how-we-work FAQ says global scale lets it buy at strong rates. No planning fee or commission is named.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price against booking direct

Not stated whether it matches lodge rates or passes on lodge offers. Nearby: it says supplier relationships and scale get guests 'the strongest rates', and promotes hotel offers 'up to 50% off'.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Scott Dunn Limited, England company number 2021650; ATOL 2471 (CAA); ABTOT 5222; IATA licence 9123848/6; VAT 487600664; member of ATTA and LATA. Registers not checked.

Source: Company · UK Booking Conditions May 2024 update · pdf · 12 Oct 2026

Where it goes and how it works on the ground

African countries it plans

Destinations menu (Hong Kong site) lists Africa: Botswana, Egypt, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. The Africa destinations page itself is not in the saved pages.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own offices or staff in Africa

Own offices in Africa not named (offices are London, Hong Kong, New York, San Diego, Singapore). The Epic Namibia page says 'one of our local representatives' meets guests at their Windhoek hotel to take them through the routes and local tips; whether these are Scott Dunn employees or partners is not stated.

Source: Company · epic namibia, contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How it books on the ground

Through a 'carefully curated network of local partners' (how-we-work FAQ); booking conditions say Scott Dunn contracts on the guest's behalf with third-party suppliers.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own camps or vehicles

Not stated for safari. Nearby: its own Explorers kids clubs run by Scott Dunn staff in partner resorts, and a mention of 'our own luxury chalets and villas'. No own camps or vehicles named.

Source: Company · why scott dunn · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking

Gorilla trekking is offered in Rwanda (Epic Africa: 3 nights near Volcanoes National Park, 'one spell binding hour' with the gorilla family; 13 nights from £20,300 pp) and Uganda (Epic Uganda: Bwindi gorilla trekking, 8 nights from £7,200 pp). Chimpanzee trekking is offered in Kibale Forest, Uganda (Epic Uganda). Tanzania trekking is not mentioned in the saved pages.

Source: Company · epic africa, epic uganda · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Beach add-ons

Zanzibar: Epic Kenya ends with 5 nights at Zuri Zanzibar (12 nights, from £9,000 pp); Tanzania for Teenagers combines Selous with Zanzibar (11 nights from £5,300 pp, 2 adults + 2 children); Kenya for Young Families adds a southern-coast beach (9 nights from £4,500 pp). Kenya coast: Iconic Kenya ends at Manda Bay, Lamu (4 nights). Mozambique, Seychelles and Mauritius are listed as destinations elsewhere on the site; no Mozambique, Seychelles or Mauritius beach itinerary page is saved.

Source: Company · epic kenya, iconic kenya, africa february half term, about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Africa only, or other regions too

Other regions too: designs holidays in more than 110 countries across Africa, Asia, Australasia, Caribbean, Europe, South and Central America, Indian Ocean, Middle East, North America and the Polar regions, plus ski holidays.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family trips

Family trips published. Africa examples from the February half-term page (price per person based on 2 adults and 2 children sharing): South African Safari for Families, 7 nights from £10,400; Western Cape for Young Families, 7 nights from £3,100; Kenya for Young Families, 9 nights from £4,500 (private safari house with private guide, then beach); The Lion King in Real Life (Kenya), 7 nights from £5,700. Iconic Kenya (10 nights private tour from £7,300) is described as family-focused with bush schools and gentle bush walks for younger explorers. Costa Rica examples: Costa Rica with Kids, 10 nights, from £5,400 pp; Family Fun in Costa Rica, 13 nights, from £7,000 pp; Pura Vida Family Adventure, 7 nights (no price shown).

Source: Company · africa february half term, iconic kenya, tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum child age

Not stated on their website: no minimum age for safari stated in the saved pages. Nearby: Costa Rica tours page says its family tours suit 'children of any age'; Explorers kids clubs cover 4 months to 11 years and CREW is 11+.

Source: Company · tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational trips

Stated. Africa teenager itineraries (price per person, 2 adults + 2 children sharing): South Africa & Namibia for Teenagers, 13 nights from £6,200; Zambia Safari for Teenagers, 10 nights from £8,700 (private houses); South Africa for Teenagers, 9 nights from £5,300; Tanzania for Teenagers, 11 nights from £5,300 (Selous and Zanzibar). Also 'Teens-First Adventures: Costa Rica Unplugged' (7 nights, price on application); menu items for Holidays with Teenagers, Multi-Generational Holidays and Extended Family Holidays; CREW programme for ages 11+.

Source: Company · africa february half term, tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Honeymoon trips

Costa Rican Honeymoon, 9 nights, from £7,500 pp; Luxury Honeymoons category and Costa Rica honeymoon guide linked. Testimonials mention honeymoons in Tanzania and South Africa but no safari honeymoon itinerary page is saved.

Source: Company · tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Single supplement figure not stated. Itinerary Price Guides say 'Solo traveller pricing is available upon request' (prices are otherwise based on two people sharing).

Source: Company · epic kenya, epic uganda, epic namibia · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

No dedicated page. It asks guests to tell it about dietary or accessibility requirements as early as possible and passes them to local partners; booking conditions require wheelchair or special-assistance needs to be disclosed before purchase.

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

First safari

Not stated on their website: no first-safari guidance or itinerary in the saved pages. It advises booking wildlife and safari holidays at least 12 months ahead (9 months in some cases).

Source: Company · how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Stated on itineraries rather than as a blanket guarantee. Itineraries are labelled 'private tour'. Iconic Kenya: 'your private guide' tailors days in the Masai Mara and a 'Private Safari Guide and Game Drive Vehicle' experience is linked at the Mara camp; Kenya for Young Families uses a private safari guide; Epic Uganda mentions safari 'from the comfort of your private vehicle' at Queen Elizabeth National Park and private transfers. Epic Kenya says Kicheche vehicles take a maximum of four guests each. Costa Rica tours are paired with private guides.

Source: Company · iconic kenya, africa february half term, epic uganda, epic kenya · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Private-house stays are described on itineraries: Kenya for Young Families uses a 'fully-staffed private safari house in the Masai Mara' with swimming pool and private guide; Zambia Safari for Teenagers stays in 'luxurious private houses'. Scott Dunn Private is an invitation-only service/membership with 'Limitless' hotels, itineraries and yachts. Whether the houses are exclusive-use is not stated beyond 'private'.

Source: Company · africa february half term, scott dunn badges · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Small-group departures

Not stated on their website: small-group departures not stated; it describes private, tailor-made trips and 'escorted tours' in Costa Rica with no group size given.

Source: Company · tours · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who guides the trip

Camp and lodge guides plus private guides: itineraries mention 'expert guide' at camps (for example Kicheche, Mowani, Ongava) and a private guide in the Masai Mara (Iconic Kenya, Kenya for Young Families). Epic Namibia is a self-drive trip with a local representative briefing and a vehicle-hire rep. Costa Rica tours use private guides it pairs with guests. It says it uses 'a carefully curated network of local partners' and lodges that employ local communities; whether guides are Scott Dunn staff is not stated (Explorers resorts use Scott Dunn staff).

Source: Company · iconic kenya, epic namibia, epic kenya, how we work · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Self-drive

Yes: Epic Namibia is a 10-night self-drive tour (4x4 delivered to the Windhoek hotel, a Europcar rep explains the vehicle, extra tyres and super cover included), from £5,600 pp with international flights included. A 'Our Top Road Trips' category is linked from the gift vouchers page.

Source: Company · epic namibia, gift vouchers · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Photography trips

No dedicated photography trips or photographer guides stated. Epic Kenya says Kicheche's safari vehicles are designed for good views with a maximum of four guests per vehicle, so guests can capture photographs without obstructions. Also a Maasai Mara balloon safari offered.

Source: Company · epic kenya, travel that takes you further · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Conservation

Partnership for Nature with the Conservation Collective (guests can support ecosystem and community projects); Sustainability & Nature Positive Tourism Lead hired Sept 2024; Animal Welfare Policy; supports Hotel Resilient; blog on Sarara and Reteti Elephant Sanctuary in Kenya. No funding amounts stated.

Source: Company · responsible travel · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Walking, horseback and other specialist trips

Walking safaris (Walking Safari in the Masai Mara; bush walks in Lewa and Laikipia; Walking Safaris in Damaraland; walking safaris in Botswana and Lower Zambezi), horse and camel riding (Lewa day on horseback or camel; Riding in Northern Kenya), fly-camping at Kicheche Mara, balloon safaris (Maasai Mara; Queen Elizabeth National Park, Uganda), mokoro, boat and canoe safaris (Okavango, Lower Zambezi), fishing (Okavango, Zambezi), chimp and gorilla trekking, kayaking with seals (Swakopmund), cycling and night safaris (Kicheche Laikipia). Horse Riding Holidays and Outdoor & Active Holidays are menu categories; Costa Rica hiking and horseback riding noted.

Source: Company · iconic kenya, epic kenya, epic namibia, epic africa, epic uganda, travel that takes you further · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Not the fit if you want a set group departure, since none is stated for its safaris and it describes private, tailor-made trips. Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Who owns Scott Dunn?

Scott Dunn is owned by Flight Centre Travel Group, the Australian-listed travel company, which completed its purchase from the private equity firm Inflexion in January 2023. Since 31 January 2025 Companies House has listed Flight Centre Travel Group (European Holdings) Ltd as the controller of Scott Dunn Limited.

Is Scott Dunn a good company?

Scott Dunn scores 82/100 on this site's company record rubric. It prints a 24-hour emergency number, publishes day-by-day itineraries with named hotels and prices by month, and holds ATOL 2471 and ABTOT 5222. Its weakest area is independent reviews: 4.6 out of 5 from 274 on Trustpilot.

How much does a Scott Dunn holiday cost?

Scott Dunn says its five-star ski holidays start at £5,000 per person. Sample trips run between £5,200 per person for ten nights skiing across Switzerland by the Glacier Express, flights included, and £12,000 for 12 nights in Japan, which rises to £15,800 in the most expensive months.

Is Scott Dunn ATOL protected?

Yes. Scott Dunn Limited holds ATOL 2471 and ABTOT membership 5222, both printed on its Our Promise page with IATA licence 9123848/6. Its US office in Solana Beach, California is listed in the USTOA directory.

Does Scott Dunn have a 24-hour emergency number?

Yes. Scott Dunn prints +44 20 8682 5099 for travellers needing emergency assistance and says it is available 24 hours a day, with out-of-hours calls answered by its US or Singapore offices.

What are Scott Dunn Explorers kids' clubs?

Scott Dunn Explorers are the company's own kids' clubs, running since 2000 with age-grouped childcare from four months old at selected resorts such as Courchevel and Pine Cliffs in the Algarve.

Who runs Scott Dunn?

Alison Zacher has been Scott Dunn's global managing director since September 2024, joining from Flight Centre's corporate travel business. Former chief executive Sonia Davies left the board in October 2024, and the site names no chief executive.

Does Scott Dunn do safaris?

Yes. Scott Dunn has sold safaris since 1995; Epic South Africa is nine nights from £6,100 per person and Extraordinary Tanzania eight nights from £8,200. On this site's safari operator rubric it scored 75/100.

Is Scott Dunn better than Audley Travel?

Both score 82/100 on this site's company record rubric. Scott Dunn prints a 24-hour emergency number, names hotels day by day and runs its own kids' clubs; Audley starts cheaper, at £3,400 per person, and has a far larger review base, 5,022 Trustpilot reviews against 274.

What are Scott Dunn's deposit, payment and cancellation terms?

Read from Scott Dunn's own website on 12 October 2026. Deposit: Itinerary Price Guides show 'Deposit from' amounts per month (UK site, per person): Epic Kenya £1,400 (Mar-May 2027), £1,600 (Nov 2026-Feb 2027), £1,800 (Oct 2026, Jun-Sep 2027); Epic Namibia £800-£1,000; Epic Uganda £1,100-£1,300; Iconic Kenya £1,100-£1,300; Epic Africa £3,000-£4,000. No overall percentage stated. The booking conditions say the deposit is 'as specified on your quotation' and amounts may vary; full payment may be required at booking (e.g. non-refundable flights). Balance due: Balance due no less than 90 days before departure; bookings made within 90 days require full payment at confirmation (booking conditions). The how-we-work FAQ says three calendar months. Cancellation: More than 90 days before departure: deposit(s). Then the greater of deposit(s) paid or: 61-90 days 25%; 31-60 days 50%; 15-30 days 75%; 14 days or less or no show 100% of the invoice total. Amendment fee £75 per person.

What awards has Scott Dunn won?

Read on 12 October 2026. Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Bjorn Behlert (Family & Multigenerational Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) | Condé Nast Traveller (UK), The top travel specialists to know right now: listed, best for "going anywhere" (hand-picked by the UK editors; published 7 Nov 2025) The company's own site also states (Company): Conde Nast Traveller Readers' Choice Awards 2025: Best Travel Specialist in the World (13th consecutive year; Condé Nast Traveller readers). Conde Nast Traveller 2026 Top Travel Specialists list: seven Scott Dunn specialists featured. Junior (Design) Travel Awards: Gold Best Family Travel Brand 2026, Gold Best Kids Club 2026, Silver Best Bespoke Family Travel Company 2026, Silver 2025, Platinum 2024 (Best Family Travel Brand heading). British Travel Awards: Best Travel Company for Romantic Getaways 2025 (stated as two years in a row). OutThere Experientialist Awards: Winner, The Insider Award 2025. The US site footer says 'Awarded Condé Nast Traveler's Top Travel Specialists in the World 14 years in a row' (the awards page says 13th consecutive year for the 2025 Readers' Choice award; the two counts differ). Company's own claims; publishers' lists not read. Advisers on named lists: Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Bjorn Behlert (Family & Multigenerational Safaris) The company's own site also states (Company): Conde Nast Traveller 2026 Top Travel Specialists: seven Scott Dunn specialists on the list (company claim; publisher's list not read). No other list counts by year stated.

This record is unpaid and Scott Dunn had no part in it. The score is this site's, on the tour operator record rubric published above, and it changes only when the evidence changes. There are no paid links on this page: links to scottdunn.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. Sources verified 25 September 2026: scottdunn.com (company information, our promise, contact, about, how we work, booking, awards, Explorers, ski, destinations, tour pages, team pages), Companies House (02021650, PSC register, filing history), USTOA, Trustpilot, Skift, Travel Weekly and Travel Daily News. First published 7 September 2026 as a safari review scoring 75/100 on the safari operator rubric; rebuilt 25 September 2026 as a whole-company record. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.