Cancel a safari four months out and you lose the deposit at Yellow Zebra, Natural World Safaris and Cazenove+Loyd — and 20 per cent of the entire trip at Micato. Cancel ten weeks out and you owe 45 per cent at Cazenove+Loyd, 50 at Yellow Zebra and Micato, and 100 at Natural World Safaris, whose ladder has no middle step. Those are five-figure differences, and eight of the thirteen operators scored here publish nothing that lets you work out which pattern applies to you. This index scores disclosure rather than quality: what an operator will tell you about deposits, balance dates, cancellation charges and financial protection before you commit. Four companies publish complete terms. The gap between fourth place and fifth is 23 points.
| # | Operator · base | What decides it | Score |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Yellow Zebra SafarisLondon | Publishes from-price ranges, a three-step cancellation ladder — deposit only beyond 90 days, 50% at 61–90, 100% inside 60 — a balance date of 90 days, and explicit ATOL bonding. The most complete money disclosure in the field | 89 |
| 2 | Natural World SafarisSussex | A stated 30% deposit, balance at 90 days and from-prices on the trip pages, with ATOL and Trust My Travel. The ladder is the bluntest here: deposit only beyond 90 days, then 100% from day 89 | 86 |
| 3 | Micato SafarisNew York | The fullest published terms of any operator: 30% deposit, balance at 120 days, and a three-tier ladder of 20% beyond 120 days, 50% at 60–119 and 100% inside 59 — against no financial protection scheme of any kind | 85 |
| 4 | Cazenove+LoydLondon | The most granular ladder in the field, at four tiers: loss of deposit beyond twelve weeks, 45% at 12–9 weeks, 80% at 8–4 and 100% inside four. A 20% deposit and a twelve-week balance date, and no published prices at all | 80 |
| 5 | Extraordinary JourneysNew York and Nairobi | Publishes terms but no day thresholds: deposits non-refundable, 100% once the final invoice is paid, final invoice around four months out, and discretionary refunds less a stated $500 per person administration fee | 57 |
| 6 | Audley TravelOxfordshire | Example trip costs and a payment-methods page, with the actual booking conditions held in a PDF that returned nothing readable. IATA, AITO and B Corp but no ATOL or ABTA stated | 46 |
| 7 | Aardvark SafarisHampshire | A booking-conditions page exists at a findable address and returned a 403 to an automated reader, so nothing on it could be verified. ATOL and a 100% financial protection guarantee are stated elsewhere | 44 |
| 8 | Go2AfricaCape Town | Names its protection properly — SATSA bonding as an accredited member, plus a Money-Back Guarantee on supplier insolvency — but prices load only on enquiry and the booking terms sit behind a PDF that blocks automated readers | 43 |
| 9 | Original TravelLondon | The strongest protection position in the field, holding ABTA, ATOL and IATA, and a pricing page that describes “financial protection through travel industry bonding” while publishing no price, no deposit, no balance date and no ladder | 41 |
| 10 | ROAR AFRICAMiami Beach | Prices everything it sells, up to $187,500 per person, and its terms and conditions page returned a header and no readable terms. No deposit, balance date, ladder or protection scheme could be found | 39 |
| 11 | Journeys by DesignBrighton | No terms page could be located at a conventional address, no prices, no deposit or balance information, and an ATOL logo carrying no number or accompanying detail | 30 |
| 12 | Red SavannahCheltenham | No terms and conditions page could be found, no prices, no deposit or cancellation information, and no ATOL, ABTA or IATA protection stated anywhere on the site | 23 |
| 13 | Jacada TravelLondon | Nothing published on any of the five criteria: no price beyond a broken “From $0 pp” field, no terms page found, no deposit or cancellation information, and no protection credential | 21 |
| Operator | Deposit | Balance due | Cancellation ladder as published |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cazenove+Loyd | 20% of the trip price | 12 weeks before departure | Loss of deposit beyond 12 weeks · 45% at 12–9 weeks · 80% at 8–4 weeks · 100% inside 4 weeks |
| Micato Safaris | 30% | 120 days before departure | 20% beyond 120 days · 50% at 60–119 days · 100% inside 59 days |
| Yellow Zebra Safaris | Payable at booking confirmation; percentage not stated | 90 days before departure | Deposit only beyond 90 days · 50% at 61–90 days · 100% inside 60 days |
| Natural World Safaris | 30% of the total | 90 days before departure, 190 on some trips | Deposit only beyond 90 days · 100% from 89 days |
| Extraordinary Journeys | Non-refundable; amount not stated | Final invoice around four months out | No day thresholds published · deposit forfeit on cancellation · 100% once the final invoice is paid · discretionary refunds less $500 per person |
Two comparisons are worth making explicitly. Micato charges 20 per cent of the whole trip even beyond 120 days out, where the three others in that table charge only the deposit — on a $40,150 itinerary that is roughly $8,000 to walk away nine months early, which is a legitimate commercial position and one you would want to know before signing. And Natural World Safaris has no middle step at all: deposit only at ninety days, 100 per cent at eighty-nine. Cazenove+Loyd, at the other end, gives four tiers and a soft landing. Neither shape is wrong — camps are paid a long way ahead and somebody carries that risk — but they are very different exposures on the same trip, and only one of them is obvious. How deposits and payment schedules work in general, and what a six-figure deposit needs, is covered on the safari deposits and payment terms guide, which this page deliberately does not repeat.
| Criterion | Weight | What scores |
|---|---|---|
| Price disclosure | 20 | What is published before an enquiry: a from-price against an itinerary, a price range, or nothing. Carried unchanged from every other index on this site so the scores read across the cluster. |
| Deposit terms | 20 | Whether the deposit percentage or amount is published, and whether the rule changes for late bookings. “A deposit is required” without a figure scores partially; a stated percentage scores in full. |
| Balance date | 15 | Whether the balance due date is published as a fixed number of days or weeks before departure, rather than agreed later in correspondence. |
| Cancellation ladder | 30 | The schedule of cancellation charges by days before departure, as published. The heaviest weight on the page, because this is where the money is actually lost. More tiers is not automatically better — what scores is whether a buyer can read their exposure on any given date before they commit. |
| Financial protection | 15 | ATOL, ABTA, ABTOT, SATSA, USTOA, TICO or an equivalent named scheme, read on the operator’s own site. Same weight and definition as the other indexes in this cluster. |
One scoring rule is worth stating plainly because it decides several rows. A terms page that exists but returns nothing readable scores as unpublished. Aardvark Safaris has a booking-conditions page at a findable address that returned a 403; ROAR AFRICA’s terms page returned a header and no terms; Go2Africa and Audley both hold their conditions in PDFs that gave up nothing. If an automated reader cannot get at them, neither can the increasing share of buyers who now ask an assistant rather than open thirteen tabs — and none of those four is far from a fix.
They are not all silent for the same reason, and the distinction matters if you are choosing between them. Four have terms that exist and are simply unreachable: Aardvark’s page returns a 403, ROAR’s renders no body, and Go2Africa and Audley keep theirs in PDFs. Two have strong protection and weak disclosure: Original Travel holds ABTA, ATOL and IATA — the best protection position in this whole cluster — and describes “financial protection through travel industry bonding” on its pricing page while publishing no price, deposit, balance date or ladder anywhere. And two publish essentially nothing on any axis: Red Savannah, where no terms page could be located and no protection scheme is stated, and Jacada, whose trip pages carry a broken “From $0 pp” field where the price should be.

That divergence is the point of running the two pages separately rather than folding this into a single ranking. A company can plan superb safaris and tell you nothing about the money; a company can document the money impeccably and hold no bonding. Neither fact predicts the other, and a buyer needs both. The planning judgement, review evidence and country coverage are scored on the safari planner index; what happens to your money if the operator fails, rather than if you cancel, is on the US versus UK protection index; and the checks to run before paying anyone are on how to verify a safari operator. To price the same camps directly while you compare terms, BookAllSafaris and Safari.com (affiliate links) carry live inventory, and Go2Africa (affiliate link) is the highest-scoring company on the planner index that this site can transact with — scored 43 on this page, which is exactly the kind of thing an index should be willing to print about its own affiliate.
| Operator | Price /20 | Deposit /20 | Balance date /15 | Cancellation ladder /30 | Protection /15 | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yellow Zebra Safaris | 18 | 15 | 15 | 28 | 13 | 89 |
| Natural World Safaris | 17 | 20 | 14 | 22 | 13 | 86 |
| Micato Safaris | 19 | 20 | 15 | 27 | 4 | 85 |
| Cazenove+Loyd | 6 | 20 | 15 | 30 | 9 | 80 |
| Extraordinary Journeys | 17 | 12 | 10 | 14 | 4 | 57 |
| Audley Travel | 16 | 6 | 6 | 8 | 10 | 46 |
| Aardvark Safaris | 6 | 8 | 8 | 10 | 12 | 44 |
| Go2Africa | 9 | 6 | 6 | 8 | 14 | 43 |
| Original Travel | 6 | 6 | 6 | 8 | 15 | 41 |
| ROAR AFRICA | 19 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 4 | 39 |
| Journeys by Design | 6 | 5 | 5 | 6 | 8 | 30 |
| Red Savannah | 6 | 4 | 4 | 5 | 4 | 23 |
| Jacada Travel | 4 | 4 | 4 | 5 | 4 | 21 |
Re-scored quarterly, and this is the cheapest index on the site to move. Every criterion measures something each company already knows and has simply not written down — a deposit percentage, a balance date, a ladder, a scheme name. Publish it, point us at the page, and the row is recomputed within the week, free and unconditionally, as everywhere else here. Four operators could reach the eighties this month without changing a single commercial term.
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.