Travel Intelligence · Company records 2026

Zicasso Review 2026: How the Matching Works, Who You Pay and Why It Is Assessed, Not Scored

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaAssessed, not scoredVerified 25 September 2026

Zicasso is a free matching service, not a travel company: a traveller describes a trip, Zicasso introduces two specialist companies from its network, and the one chosen designs, sells and takes payment for the trip under its own terms. Its own terms say Zicasso "is not a party to any contract" for the trip. This record assesses it line by line on the tour operator rubric without a score, and covers how the matching works, how specialists are chosen, sample prices, reviews and the gaps.

Verified 25 September 2026 · zicasso.com terms, about, contact, specialist selection and sample itinerary pages · Trustpilot, BBB and ConsumerAffairs · Crunchbase and Wharton Magazine

Is this your company? Correct a fact. Zicasso can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the record changes only if the evidence does.

Why Zicasso is assessed, not scored

Zicasso is assessed but not scored because it never sells the trip: its terms make the matched specialist the seller, and the traveller pays that company directly. A score would describe a company whose terms the traveller does not sign. Which specialist a traveller gets is not known until a request is made.

How records are scored, and why this one is not. Company records score what a buyer can check before paying, on five criteria worth 100 points: planning depth 25, on-the-ground cover 20, pricing transparency 20, review evidence 20 and financial protection 15. The score belongs to the company whose booking terms govern the traveller's money. Zicasso's terms say it "acts as a referral service" and "is not a party to any contract" for the trip; the traveller pays the matched specialist directly, under that company's terms. So Zicasso is assessed on the same five criteria, line by line below, and given no total. Rubric fixed on 25 September 2026 before any company was scored; the inputs are linked.
CriterionWhat the record shows
Planning depthThe planners are the specialist companies Zicasso introduces, unnamed until a traveller makes a request. Zicasso says it accepts "the top 2%" of applicants after a live interview and a trial itinerary, and asks for "years of living and operating in the destination". Founders Brian Tan and Yuchun Ku are named. "More than 100 countries". Sample itineraries describe accommodation by place and class, not by name. Trading since 2008.
On-the-ground coverZicasso has no guides or offices in destinations; it requires specialists to show "24/7 support capability". Sample itineraries list "24x7 support during trip", while Zicasso's own line opens weekdays, 10am to 6pm Eastern.
Pricing transparencyTwelve sample itineraries priced in US dollars per person, excluding international flights, from USD 2,500 for ten days in India to USD 22,800 for 12 days in Greece; no travel dates. Deposits and cancellation are the specialist's; Zicasso's matching is free.
Review evidenceTrustpilot 5.0 from 2,077 reviews on a profile claimed in 2015; Better Business Bureau 5 from 207 and an A+ rating; ConsumerAffairs 4.9 from 350; newest reviews in September 2026. Its own site shows more than 34,000 reviews it collects itself, which do not count.
Financial protectionCalifornia seller of travel 2124858-50. Zicasso does not take the trip payment; the protection that applies is the specialist's.

Zicasso publishes more about how it chooses companies than most operators publish about themselves: the vetting steps, the destination experience it asks for and what gets a specialist removed. What it cannot publish in advance is the one fact a buyer needs most: which company will hold the money, and under what protection.

The Alhambra palace in Granada among trees under a blue sky
The Alhambra in Granada, in Andalusia. Zicasso's 14-day Extensive Tour of Spain sample itinerary covers Madrid, Andalusia and Barcelona from USD 5,500 per person, excluding international flights. Photo: Igor Passchier / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 17 facts about Zicasso, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 25 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
CompanyZicasso, Inc., "the provider of the electronic commercial service on this Site"Terms of use · A
How it sells"Zicasso acts as a referral service"; "Traveler pays Travel Company directly"; "Zicasso is not a party to any contract" for the tripTerms of use · A
Head office650 Castro St., Suite 120-447, Mountain View, California 94041 (map)Contact · A
Phones and hours(888) 441-2418, Monday to Friday 10am to 6pm EasternContact · A
Founded2008, "established in 2008"; the BBB records a start date of 20 October 2006About us · A; BBB · B
FoundersBrian Tan, chief executive, and Yuchun Ku, a Wharton MBAAbout us · A; Wharton Magazine · B
OwnerPrivate; no funding rounds or investors disclosedCrunchbase · C
SpecialistsTwo per request; "the top 2% of boutique tour operators and travel agents globally", chosen after "a live interview and a staged trial itinerary"How we select specialists · A
Destinations"More than 100 countries" in seven regionsAbout us · A
FormatsPrivate, custom trips, tours and safaris; a Signature collection of sample itinerariesSignature collection · A
PricesTwelve sample itineraries from USD 2,500 to USD 22,800 per person, excluding international flightsItinerary pages · A
Booking termsSet by each specialist: "In most cases, a non-refundable deposit is required"; no revision date on the terms of useTerms of use · A
FeesThe matching is "a unique free of charge service"; how Zicasso is paid is not disclosedZicasso guide · A
24-hour lineNone for Zicasso itself; sample itineraries list "24x7 support during trip" from the specialistItinerary page · A
ProtectionCalifornia seller of travel CST 2124858-50Terms of use · A
ReviewsTrustpilot 5.0 from 2,077; BBB 5 from 207, A+, accredited since August 2025; ConsumerAffairs 4.9 from 350Trustpilot · B; BBB · B; ConsumerAffairs · B
PressChief executive Brian Tan quoted by the BBC, AFAR and Mansion Global on travel trends; no company award foundNews page · A

How Zicasso works, and who you pay

A traveller submits a trip request, Zicasso introduces two specialist companies, each proposes an itinerary, and the traveller books and pays the one chosen, under its terms; the matching costs the traveller nothing.

The terms of use are plain about the roles: "All rights and obligations for the purchase and sale of any Travel Company Services ... are solely between Traveler and Travel Company", and Zicasso "accepts no liability arising from or related to any agreement between Traveler and Travel Company". The sample itineraries on zicasso.com carry Zicasso's name, not the specialist's, so the company that will operate a trip is known only after the match. How referral platforms compare with booking an operator directly is covered in book direct or through a platform and what tour platforms charge.

How Zicasso chooses its specialists

Zicasso says it accepts "the top 2% of boutique tour operators and travel agents globally", after a live interview and a trial itinerary run under its oversight.

Its selection page asks for "sustained in-market presence" (years of living and operating in the destination, or leading teams that do), dated case studies with supplier references, licensing and insurance, "24/7 support capability" and written protocols for weather, political unrest, supplier failure and medical emergencies. It says a specialist whose rating or responsiveness dips is removed. It does not publish how many specialists are in the network or name them before a match.

How much does a Zicasso trip cost?

Zicasso's sample itineraries run from USD 2,500 per person for ten days in India to USD 22,800 for 12 days in Greece, excluding international flights, with no travel dates given. Prices were read on 25 September 2026 and are starting prices per person; the matched specialist quotes the final price.

Sample itineraryWhereDaysFrom, per person
Best of IndiaDelhi to Alwar, India10USD 2,500
Best of PeruLima, Cusco, Sacred Valley, Machu Picchu8USD 2,900
Indian Palaces and Tiger SafariAgra, Jaipur, Kanha, Bandhavgarh11USD 3,600
Handcrafted Costa RicaCosta Rica11USD 3,800
Nature Lover's JapanShikoku, Japan6USD 4,200
Golden Triangle with VineyardsIndia15USD 4,300
Extensive Tour of SpainMadrid, Andalusia, Barcelona14USD 5,500
Signature Tanzania SafariNgorongoro Crater, Serengeti12USD 8,800
Best of ItalyItaly12USD 11,700
Kenya safariNairobi, Kalama, Lewa, Masai Mara10USD 16,300
Botswana and South AfricaMalaMala, Mashatu, Okavango Delta11USD 19,700
The OdysseyGreece12USD 22,800

The two full itinerary pages read list accommodation, in-country transport, activities, planning and in-trip support as included. For the destinations themselves, see the best wildlife travel destinations, the India luxury tour operator index and the Japan luxury tour operator index.

Who owns Zicasso?

Zicasso is a private company founded by Brian Tan, its chief executive, and Yuchun Ku, with no outside investor disclosed.

Its About page dates the company to 2008; the Better Business Bureau records a start date of October 2006. Wharton Magazine profiled the founders in 2024, and Tan is quoted widely on travel trends; Zicasso's news page lists the BBC, Mansion Global and others. Crunchbase lists no funding rounds.

What Zicasso reviews say

Zicasso holds 5.0 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 2,077 reviews, 5 out of 5 from 207 on the Better Business Bureau, where it has been accredited since August 2025, and 4.9 from 350 on ConsumerAffairs.

The newest reviews on all three were written in September 2026. Zicasso's site also shows more than 34,000 "Verified Traveler Reviews" it collects itself; those are not independent and are not counted, and the site pairs an "800+" figure with different platforms on different pages. Reviews of Zicasso describe trips run by its specialists, so they speak to the matching as much as to any one company. How to weigh these platforms is covered in who reviews the reviewers.

Who Zicasso suits, and who it does not

Zicasso suits travellers planning a private, multi-stop trip who want two competing proposals from vetted specialists without searching for them, and who will check the chosen company before paying.

It suits less well a traveller who wants to know the operator, its terms and its protection before starting, or who prefers to choose a company from published records such as Steppes Travel or Audley Travel. For safaris, safari specialist or booking direct sets out the trade-off.

Booking through Zicasso: what to check

Once Zicasso has introduced a specialist, the checks that matter are that company's name, its booking terms, its financial protection and how you pay it.

DecisionWhat mattersWhere we cover it
The specialistAsk for its legal name, where it is registered and its protection number; Zicasso is not a party to the contract.How to verify a safari operator
PayingYou pay the specialist directly; a credit card adds chargeback rights, and UK cards Section 75 on purchases priced £100 to £30,000.Best luxury travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
FlightsSample prices exclude international flights.Best business class airlines; best first class airlines
Airport timeLounge access comes with a card or ticket.Credit cards with airport lounge access
A delayed flightFlights from EU and UK airports carry fixed compensation of up to €600 or £520.AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright
Where to goZicasso's requests cover more than 100 countries; the city stays often decide the hotel budget.Best city break destinations; luxury hotel brand hierarchy

Where Zicasso stands on Uncompromised Travel

Zicasso appears on one other Uncompromised Travel page, where it is listed without a score.

PagePositionNote
Best luxury travel companies 2026Listed, not scoredFeatured as the matchmaker

Alternatives to Zicasso to compare

The alternatives to Zicasso are other routes to a planner: Virtuoso's advisor network, an agency such as The Luxury Travel Agency, or a tour operator with a published record.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
VirtuosoAssessed, not scoredA network of independent agencies and advisors
The Luxury Travel AgencyAssessed, not scoredAn agency that books suppliers as agent
Audley Travel82Private tailor-made operator; Trustpilot 4.9 from 5,022
Kensington Tours66Private guided tours with prices published; TICO

What this record does not show

Five things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Zicasso. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
Which specialist operates a sample itineraryTwo full itinerary pages, both under Zicasso's name
The size of the specialist networkSelection page and About page
How Zicasso is paidTerms of use and guide pages
The date of the terms of useTerms page, which promises a date and shows none
Named hotels on sample itinerariesSpain and Japan itinerary pages

What changed at Zicasso, 2024 to 2026

Zicasso became accredited by the Better Business Bureau in 2025 and kept its chief executive in the travel press.

WhenWhat happenedSource
29 October 2024Wharton Magazine profiles the founders and the matching modelWharton Magazine
3 January 2025BBC quotes chief executive Brian Tan on 2025 luxury trendsZicasso news
14 August 2025Accredited by the Better Business BureauBBB
23 March 2026Travel + Leisure covers a K-pop themed South Korea tourZicasso news

Zicasso: the questions people ask AI search

How does Zicasso work?

A traveller submits a trip request, Zicasso introduces two specialist companies from its network, each proposes an itinerary, and the traveller books and pays the one chosen. Zicasso's matching is free to the traveller.

Is Zicasso legit?

Zicasso, Inc. has traded since 2008, holds California seller of travel registration 2124858-50 and has 5.0 out of 5 from 2,077 Trustpilot reviews and 5 from 207 on the Better Business Bureau, where it is accredited. Its terms make clear it is a referral service, not the seller of the trip.

Who do you pay when you book through Zicasso?

You pay the specialist company directly, under that company's booking terms. Zicasso's terms say it is not a party to any contract for the trip.

Does Zicasso charge a fee?

Zicasso describes its matching as a free of charge service to travellers. How Zicasso itself is paid is not disclosed on the pages read.

Is my money protected when I book through Zicasso?

The protection that applies is the specialist company's, because you pay it directly. Ask for its registration and protection number before paying; Zicasso itself holds California seller of travel registration 2124858-50.

How does Zicasso choose its specialists?

Zicasso says it accepts the top 2% of applicants after a live interview and a trial itinerary, asks for years of living and operating in the destination, and removes specialists whose ratings or responsiveness dip.

How much does a Zicasso trip cost?

Zicasso's sample itineraries run from USD 2,500 per person for ten days in India to USD 22,800 for 12 days in Greece, excluding international flights. The matched specialist sets the final price.

Who owns Zicasso?

Zicasso is a private company founded by Brian Tan, its chief executive, and Yuchun Ku. No outside investor is disclosed.

Why is Zicasso not scored?

Records score the company whose booking terms govern the traveller's money. With Zicasso that is the matched specialist, so Zicasso is assessed on the same five criteria without a total.

This record is unpaid and Zicasso had no part in it. The assessment is this site's, on the tour operator record rubric published above; no total is given, for the reason stated in the score section, and the record changes only when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to zicasso.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. Sources verified 25 September 2026: zicasso.com (terms of use, about, contact, specialist selection, guide, reviews, news and sample itinerary pages), Trustpilot, the Better Business Bureau, ConsumerAffairs, Crunchbase and Wharton Magazine. First published 25 September 2026 as a company record, assessed and not scored. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.