Expeditions · Tour operator records 2026

Remote Lands Review 2026: Prices, Owners, Protection and a Record Score of 54

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 54/100Verified 25 September 2026

Remote Lands scores 54/100 as a company record: the New York Asia specialist Catherine Heald and Jay Tindall founded in 2006 prices its itineraries from USD 5,600 per person, names hotels day by day and has its own staff in Bangkok and Tokyo, but states no financial protection and has 17 independent reviews, none since April 2024. Below: who owns it, what its trips cost, the booking terms, who plans the trips, the support on the ground, the reviews, two lines on this site that it corrects, and what the record could not find.

Verified 25 September 2026 · remotelands.com terms, team, about and itinerary pages · USTOA · Travelstride and Trustpilot

Is this your company? Correct a fact. Remote Lands can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How Remote Lands scores: 54 out of 100

Remote Lands scores 54 out of 100: near-full marks for planning, and held back by no stated protection, thin reviews and prices without dates. It is not on the Power Rankings, which were set on an older rubric; the rankings will be recalculated from these records.

How the score works (100 points). Planning depth 25: named specialists with stated first-hand experience of the regions they sell, leaders' destination experience, countries covered, sample itineraries day by day with named hotels, and years trading · On-the-ground cover 20: a published 24-hour number, presence inside the destinations, and the company's own guides or hosts on the trip · Pricing transparency 20: priced sample trips, inclusions, currency and season, and published booking terms · Review evidence 20: the best independent review platform by score and volume, a second platform, and a review in the last six months · Financial protection 15: numbered ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT cover in the UK, USTOA in the US, provincial registration in Canada. Rubric fixed on 25 September 2026 before any company was scored; lines our reader could not open are marked n/r and the criterion is rescaled. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
CriterionPointsOut ofWhy
Planning depth2425Named staff with first-hand experience of the region, such as Shoji Kusunoki in Tokyo, who began his career at JTB (8 of 8). The founders say they spent more than 35 years living and working in Asia (4 of 4). 38 countries (5 of 5). Itineraries run day by day with named hotels at each stop (5 of 5). Trading since 2006 (2 of 3).
On-the-ground cover1020No 24-hour number (0 of 7). Its own offices in Bangkok and Tokyo, none elsewhere in Asia (5 of 8). A Remote Lands expedition leader travels with its private-jet groups (5 of 5).
Pricing transparency152012 itineraries priced per person (8 of 8). Inclusions described only in part (2 of 5). US dollars; dates only on the private-jet trips (2 of 4). A deposit, balance by invoice and a three-step cancellation scale (3 of 3).
Review evidence520Travelstride 4.8 from 16 reviews (3 of 12). Trustpilot 3.2 from 1 as a second platform (2 of 4). No review in the past six months; the newest is from April 2024 (0 of 4).
Financial protection015No seller of travel number, bond, trust account or USTOA membership stated (0 of 15).
Total54100Company record score, 25 September 2026.

Remote Lands knows Asia and shows it, down to the choice of hotel at every stop. What it does not show is what happens to a traveller's money: no bond, no registration and no fund, on trips priced up to USD 218,888 per person.

Paro Taktsang, the Tiger's Nest monastery, on a cliff face above the Paro valley in Bhutan
Paro Taktsang, the Tiger's Nest monastery above the Paro valley, Bhutan. Remote Lands' 12-day Classic Bhutan, from USD 19,200 per person, includes a guided hike to it on day 11. Photo: Tenzing T / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 17 facts about Remote Lands, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 25 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
CompanyRemote Lands, Inc., "and its subsidiaries"; no state of incorporation or registration number publishedPrivacy policy · A
Head officeNew York, by its telephone number, +1 212 518 1618; no street address on any page readContact · A
Founded2006, by Catherine Heald and Jay Tindall; 2026 is its 20th anniversaryAbout · A
OwnerNot published; no parent company, investor or registry filing foundAbout · A
LeadershipCatherine Heald, chairman, chief executive and founder; co-founder and chief operating officer Jay Tindall died in 2025Team · A; Newsletter · A
OfficesNew York; Bangkok, with general manager Trinity Nguyen; Tokyo, with Japan general manager Shoji Kusunoki and a travel associateTeam · A
Phones and hours+1 212 518 1618, hours not stated; no 24-hour numberContact · A
SpecialistsStaff named by office, such as Shoji Kusunoki, who began at JTB and has more than 20 years in travel, and Jacob Roy, director of travel and planningTeam · A
Destinations38 countries, all in Asia and the Middle EastItinerary search · A
FormatsPrivate itineraries and Aman Jet Expeditions, small-group private-jet trips with a Remote Lands expedition leaderThe Grandest Tour · A
Sample prices12 read, from USD 5,600 for four days in Hong Kong to USD 218,888 for 22 days by private jetItinerary pages · A
Deposit and balanceA deposit on confirmation, amount not stated; the balance "as set forth in the Invoice(s)"Terms · A
Cancellation90 days or more before departure: 15% of the total trip cost; 30 to 89 days: 50%; under 30 days: 100%Terms · A
ProtectionNone stated; no seller of travel number; not in the USTOA member directoryTerms · A; USTOA · B
MembershipsA Virtuoso preferred partnerAbout · A
ReviewsTravelstride 4.8 from 16, newest February 2024; Trustpilot 3.2 from 1, April 2024Travelstride · B; Trustpilot · B
Awards claimedEight Travel + Leisure A-List years, 12 Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialist listings and six Robb Report awardsAbout · A

Who owns Remote Lands?

Remote Lands publishes no owner: it was founded in 2006 by Catherine Heald, now chairman and chief executive, and Jay Tindall, who died in 2025, and no parent company, investor or registry filing was found.

The company is Remote Lands, Inc.; its site gives no state of incorporation or registration number to search. Tindall, co-founder and chief operating officer, was based in Bangkok; his death was announced in a company newsletter on 18 August 2025. The About page says the founders "have spent over 35 years living, working and traveling in Asia".

How much does a Remote Lands trip cost?

Remote Lands itineraries read for this record cost from USD 5,600 per person for four days in Hong Kong to USD 48,100 for 14 days in Japan, and its Aman Jet Expeditions run from USD 103,888 to USD 218,888. All prices were read on 25 September 2026 and are starting prices per person.

ItineraryWhereDaysFrom, per person
Classic Hong KongHong Kong4USD 5,600
Classic ChinaChina10USD 10,100
Classic BangladeshBangladesh10USD 10,500
Central Hokkaido for AdventurersJapan7USD 12,400
Classic IndiaIndia14USD 17,800
Classic BhutanBhutan12USD 19,200
Sri Lanka, Maldives and Qatar honeymoonSri Lanka, Maldives, Qatar15USD 25,400
Active Japan: hiking and bikingJapan11USD 40,100
Classic JapanJapan14USD 48,100
China's UNESCO Treasures 2027, by private jetChina13USD 103,888
The Grandest Tour 2027, by private jetSeven countries21USD 198,888
Around the World in Three Continents 2027Seven countries22USD 218,888

The itineraries run day by day and give two to four hotel choices at each stop: Classic Bhutan offers an Amankora or a Six Senses lodge at all five, and Classic India runs from The Leela Palace in Delhi to Aman-i-Khas at Ranthambhore. Only the private-jet trips show dates. For the private-jet format, see around the world by private jet; for the hotels, Aman vs Six Senses vs Rosewood vs Belmond.

Remote Lands booking terms and financial protection

Remote Lands takes a deposit to confirm a booking without saying how much, bills the balance by invoice and publishes a three-step cancellation scale, but states no financial protection of any kind.

When you cancelWhat you pay
90 days or more before departure15% of the total trip cost
30 to 89 days50%
Under 30 days100%

The terms name Remote Lands, Inc. as the party you deal with, buying hotels, transport and guiding from independent suppliers that have their own conditions; they carry no date and mention no planning fee. No seller of travel number, bond or trust account is printed, and Remote Lands is not in the USTOA member directory. What that means for a US buyer is set out in US vs UK safari operators.

Who plans a Remote Lands trip

Remote Lands names its team by office on one page, and its clearest first-hand expertise is in Japan and Thailand, where it has staff.

Shoji Kusunoki, Japan general manager in Tokyo, "began his career at JTB, Japan's largest travel agency" and has more than 20 years in the industry; Trinity Nguyen is general manager in Bangkok; Jacob Roy is director of travel and planning. Travel designers and consultants in New York and Bangkok are listed without biographies on the team page.

Support on the ground

Remote Lands prints no 24-hour number; its only published line is in New York, without hours, and its Bangkok and Tokyo staff are the company's own presence in Asia.

On the Aman Jet Expeditions, "an expedition leader from Remote Lands accompanies the group throughout". Private itineraries use local guides and drivers at each stop.

What Remote Lands reviews say

Remote Lands has almost no independent review record: 16 reviews on Travelstride averaging 4.8, the newest from February 2024, and one Trustpilot review, scoring 3.2, from April 2024.

Its own reviews page shows Google testimonials it has chosen, which are not counted here. Who reviews the reviewers explains why.

Remote Lands on this site's Asia pages

Remote Lands ranks seventh of 11 at 59/100 on this site's Japan index and 11th of 13 at 49/100 on the luxury solo index, and is assessed but not ranked on the India index; two lines on those pages are now out of date.

The Japan index, verified on 14 September 2026, says no Japan office appears on any page; the team page now names a Tokyo office with two staff. The India index quotes USD 3,600 for ten days; the cheapest ten-day India itinerary now listed is USD 7,800, out of 18 India itineraries priced from USD 6,700. Both lines are being corrected. The luxury solo operators index scores it on terms for one traveller.

Who Remote Lands suits, and who it does not

Remote Lands suits travellers who want a private Asia itinerary at the top of the market, priced before the first call and built around named hotels such as Aman, with its own staff in Bangkok and Tokyo.

It suits less well a buyer who wants financial protection, a 24-hour number or recent independent reviews before paying a deposit. For its main markets, see the China luxury guide, Thailand and Vietnam.

Booking Remote Lands: the decisions that come next

Remote Lands prices exclude international flights and the traveller's choices on paying and the nights either side; with no protection stated, how the deposit is paid matters more than usual.

DecisionWhat matters for a Remote Lands tripWhere we cover it
Paying the depositNo bond or trust stands behind the money, so the card used and its purchase cover matter; cancelling Classic Bhutan 90 days out still costs 15%, USD 2,880.Best luxury travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
Flights to the startTokyo, Delhi and Bangkok are long hauls from New York or London; the cabin is the traveller's choice.Best business class airlines; best first class airlines
Airport timeLong connections are where lounge access matters.Credit cards with airport lounge access
A delayed flightA long delay on a flight from an EU or UK airport carries fixed compensation of up to €600 or £520.AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright
Travelling alonePrices are per person with no single rate shown; the solo index scores it 49/100.Best luxury tour operators for solo travellers; best solo travel destinations
Nights either sideGateway nights are often in chain hotels where status adds breakfast and upgrades.Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist

Where Remote Lands stands on Uncompromised Travel

Remote Lands appears on three other Uncompromised Travel pages and is ranked on two of them.

PagePositionNote
Best luxury tour operators for Japan 2026No. 7 of 11, 59/100Its "no Japan office" line is out of date
Best luxury tour operators for solo travellers 2026No. 11 of 13, 49/100Verified 24 September 2026
Best luxury tour operators for India 2026Assessed, not rankedIts USD 3,600 price is out of date
Luxury tour operator Power Rankings 2026Not listedTo be recalculated from records
Best luxury travel companies 2026Not listedFour kinds of luxury company profiled

Alternatives to Remote Lands to compare

The closest alternatives are TransIndus and Audley Travel for priced trips in Asia with UK protection, Abercrombie & Kent for its own ground offices, and Kensington Tours or Artisans of Leisure for private touring booked from North America.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
TransIndus80UK Asia specialist; trips from £1,675; ATOL 3429
Audley Travel82Private tailor-made; Trustpilot 4.9 from 5,022; ATOL and ABTOT
Abercrombie & Kent86Its own ground offices; USTOA member
Kensington Tours66Private tours with prices; TICO registered
Artisans of Leisure60New York private touring; California seller of travel

What this record does not show

Six things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Remote Lands. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
A street address or registration numberAbout, contact, terms, privacy policy and footer
Any financial protectionTerms, footer and the USTOA directory
A 24-hour numberContact and about pages
The deposit amount and balance dateTerms, which refer to the invoice
A date on the termsTerms and conditions
Recent independent reviewsTravelstride, Trustpilot, Tripadvisor and the BBB

What changed at Remote Lands, 2025 to 2026

Remote Lands lost its co-founder in 2025, sells private-jet departures with Aman and now names a Tokyo team.

WhenWhat happenedSource
9 April 20252026 Aman Jet Expeditions programme announcedMedia page
18 August 2025Death of co-founder and chief operating officer Jay Tindall announcedNewsletter
May 2026An 11-day trip to meet Japan's Living National Treasures launched, departing 12 November 2026Media page
By September 2026Team page names a Tokyo office: Japan general manager Shoji Kusunoki and a travel associateTeam

Remote Lands: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Remote Lands?

Remote Lands does not publish its owners. It was founded in 2006 by Catherine Heald, now chairman and chief executive, and Jay Tindall, who died in 2025; no parent company or investor was found.

Is Remote Lands a good company?

Remote Lands scores 54/100 on this site's company record rubric. It prices its itineraries, names hotels day by day and has staff in Bangkok and Tokyo, but it states no financial protection, prints no 24-hour number and has almost no recent independent reviews.

How much does a Remote Lands trip cost?

Itineraries read for this record cost from USD 5,600 per person for four days in Hong Kong to USD 48,100 for 14 days in Japan. Its Aman Jet Expeditions cost from USD 103,888 to USD 218,888 per person.

What is the Remote Lands cancellation policy?

Cancelling 90 days or more before departure costs 15% of the total trip cost, from 30 to 89 days 50%, and under 30 days 100%.

Is Remote Lands protected by USTOA or a bond?

No protection is stated. Remote Lands is not in the USTOA member directory, and its terms print no seller of travel number, bond or trust account.

Does Remote Lands have an office in Japan?

Yes. Its team page names a Tokyo office with a Japan general manager, Shoji Kusunoki, and a Japan travel associate, alongside New York and Bangkok.

What are Aman Jet Expeditions?

Small-group private-jet trips that Remote Lands sells with Aman, staying mostly at Aman hotels, with a Remote Lands expedition leader throughout. The 2027 departures cost from USD 103,888 to USD 218,888 per person.

What are Remote Lands reviews like?

Remote Lands has 16 reviews on Travelstride averaging 4.8, the newest from February 2024, and one Trustpilot review scoring 3.2.

Where is Remote Lands based?

Remote Lands is based in New York, with offices in Bangkok and Tokyo. It publishes no street address.

This record is unpaid and Remote Lands had no part in it. The score is this site's, on the tour operator record rubric published above, and it changes only when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to remotelands.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. Sources verified 25 September 2026: remotelands.com (terms and conditions, privacy policy, about, team, contact, media, newsletter, itinerary search and 12 itinerary pages), USTOA, Travelstride and Trustpilot. First published 25 September 2026. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.