Expeditions · Company records 2026

Furtenbach Adventures Review 2026: Everest Prices, Owner, Booking Terms and a Record Score of 64

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 64/100Verified 26 September 2026

Furtenbach Adventures scores 64/100 as a company record: the Austrian operator behind the compressed Flash and Classic Everest tiers prices seven Everest trips, plus a private Signature tier, on one overview page, from EUR 77,400, but shows "Price per person: 0" on every individual trip page sampled, and names a bank guarantee and claims handler under Austrian law. This record covers the company behind the climbs: who owns it, what its Everest tiers cost, the booking terms and financial protection, its named guides and the gaps. Our own Everest and Seven Summits indexes linked below rate the climbs; this page scores the company.

Verified 26 September 2026 · furtenbachadventures.com imprint, guides, FAQ, GTC and trip pages · ExplorersWeb · The Tourism Times

Is this your company? Correct a fact. Furtenbach Adventures can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How Furtenbach Adventures scores: 64 out of 100

Furtenbach Adventures scores 64 out of 100: full marks for financial protection and a strong named guide roster, held back by no independent review found on any platform and a working price shown for only one of its seven peaks. Its score on our own Seven Summits operator index is also 64, by coincidence: that index scores what each climb includes and discloses, such as price per peak, guide ratios and oxygen, while this record scores what a buyer can check before paying, such as terms, protection and reviews.

How the score works (100 points). Planning depth 25: named specialists with stated first-hand experience of the regions they sell, leaders' destination experience, countries covered, sample itineraries day by day with named hotels, and years trading · On-the-ground cover 20: a published 24-hour number, presence inside the destinations, and the company's own guides or hosts on the trip · Pricing transparency 20: priced sample trips, inclusions, currency and season, and published booking terms · Review evidence 20: the best independent review platform by score and volume, a second platform, and a review in the last six months · Financial protection 15: numbered ATOL, ABTA or ABTOT cover in the UK, USTOA in the US, provincial registration in Canada. Rubric fixed on 25 September 2026 before any company was scored; lines our reader could not open are marked n/r and the criterion is rescaled. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked. For mountaineering companies, fixed before any was read: guides and Sherpa teams count as the company's specialists and own guides, a Kathmandu office or an employed Sherpa team counts as presence, and safety facts such as oxygen and guide ratios are reported on the page but not scored.
CriterionPointsOut ofWhy
Planning depth2325Its guides page names 14 guides with their records, such as Herbert Wolf, a state-certified mountain guide with four Everest expeditions, and Ulises Corvalán, with more than 60 Aconcagua summits (8 of 8). Founder Lukas Furtenbach describes himself as a mountaineer and the leader of countless expeditions (4 of 4). 22 countries plus Antarctica across its trips, from Nepal and Pakistan to Iceland and Morocco (4 of 5). The Aconcagua itinerary runs day by day and names the Diplomatic Hotel in Mendoza (5 of 5). Its About page states "20 years of expedition experience"; no founding year is published (2 of 3).
On-the-ground cover1020One office line, +43 512/204134, Monday to Friday 8:00 to 18:00, and no 24-hour number (0 of 7). A home base in Austria, where it runs its Pitztal training courses, and a named lead Sherpa, Mingma Sherpa, in Nepal; no office in the other regions it sells (5 of 8). "Each expedition, trip or training course is led by at least one IFMGA or AMGA certified lead guide" (5 of 5).
Pricing transparency1620Seven Everest trips priced on its Everest page, from EUR 4,190 for the 16-day base camp accompaniment trek to EUR 105,900 for the 21-day Flash expedition, with a private-guide Signature tier at EUR 199,000; every other trip page shows a price of 0 (6 of 8). Inclusions listed with the Everest prices, such as climbing Sherpas per member and home hypoxic pre-acclimatisation (5 of 5). Prices in euros, but the departure dates sit on trip pages that show no price (2 of 4). A 20% deposit and a two-step cancellation charge: 50% more than 90 days out, 100% inside 90 days (3 of 3).
Review evidence020No listing found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io (0 of 12). No second platform (0 of 4). No dated independent review (0 of 4).
Financial protection1515Austrian tour operator registered under GISA 21322426, with bank guarantee 70.045.315 at Raiffeisenbank Kematen and Europäische Reiseversicherung named to handle claims if it fails (15 of 15). US clients contract with Infinity Expeditions, Inc. of Nevada, which shows no US scheme.
Total64100Company record score, 26 September 2026.

Furtenbach publishes named guides with real records, a numbered Austrian registration and a named bank guarantee. What it does not publish is a working price field on any individual trip page, a single founding year, or one independent review on any platform checked.

Mount Everest's peak lit by golden dawn light, viewed from the Tibet side
Mount Everest's north side at dawn. Furtenbach's Everest North Flash is a 21 day expedition costing EUR 105,900 per person. Photo: Tom fly / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 17 facts about Furtenbach Adventures, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
CompanyFurtenbach Adventures GmbH, Commercial Register FN 414301t at the Innsbruck Regional Court; VAT ATU 686 455 58; trade licence 701 34815Imprint · A
Registered or head officeTwo Austrian addresses: head office Hoehenstrasse 96, 6020 Innsbruck (map), and a customer and operating office at Bundesstraße 23, 6063 Rum (map)Imprint · A
FoundedNo single founding year is published; it states "20 years of expedition experience", used hypoxic systems "since 2002" and ran its first Everest hypoxic expeditions in 2016, three anchors not reconciled into one dateAbout Us · A; FAQ · A
Owner and leadersLukas Furtenbach, sole named founder, chief executive and Geschaftsfuhrer; described as a geographer and alpinist and "leader of countless expeditions", with no personal summit list statedImprint · A; Management page · A
Guides14 named guides with qualifications and records, among them Ulises Corvalán with more than 60 Aconcagua summits and all Seven Summits, Herbert Wolf with four Everest expeditions across 14 expeditions on 8,000 metre peaks, and lead Sherpa Mingma Sherpa with 19 Everest summitsOur guides page · A
PresenceInnsbruck and Rum, Austria, where it runs its Pitztal training courses, and a Nevada mailing address for its US contracting entity; a named lead Sherpa in Nepal; no separately named Kathmandu office or ground handling companyImprint · A; Guides page · A
Phone and support+43 512/204134, Monday to Friday, 8:00 to 18:00; no 24 hour number; "emergency satellite communication" is listed as an Aconcagua inclusion, while the Everest Flash exclusions separately bill the climber for satellite feesContact page · A; Aconcagua page · A; Everest Flash page · A
Climbs and countriesSeven countries confirmed across its Seven Summits line, from Nepal and China to Argentina, the USA, Russia, Tanzania, Indonesia and Antarctica; its wider trips and Alps categories were not fully countedSeven Summits category page · A
PricesSeven Everest trips, plus a private Signature tier, priced on its overview page, Classic EUR 77,400, Flash EUR 105,900 and Signature EUR 199,000, each for 21 or 42 days; every individual trip page sampled, across all seven categories, shows "Price per person: 0" instead of a figureEverest expedition overview · A
Deposit and balanceA 20% deposit due at booking, no earlier than eleven months before the trip ends; the balance date is set on the confirmation invoice rather than fixed; Denali alone states a USD 3,000 deposit with the balance 120 days outGTC · A; Denali page · A
CancellationFor expeditions above 7,000 metres, 50% of the total price if cancelled more than 90 days before departure and 100% inside 90 days; a separate five-step scale applies to non-expedition trips, and the Cerro Torre trip page prints a third, differently worded scheduleGTC · A; AGB cancellation terms · A
Financial protectionAn Austrian tour operator under GISA 21322426, with bank guarantee number 70.045.315 at Raiffeisenbank Kematen and claims handled by Europäische Reiseversicherung AG; US clients instead contract with Infinity Expeditions, Inc. of Nevada, which shows no US protection schemeImprint · A
ReviewsNo listing found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.ioPlatform searches · B
Safety facts as printedUnlimited oxygen at up to 8 litres a minute on Everest Flash; a published guide ratio of one IFMGA or AMGA guide to four clients, with two climbing Sherpas per member; personal insurance is recommended, not requiredEverest Flash page · A; FAQ · A
MembershipsClassified under the Tyrolean Chamber of Commerce as a tour operator and mountaineering school; its named guides individually hold IFMGA, AMGA or UIAGM qualifications; no USTOA or other trade body membership foundImprint · A
Our other pagesRanks 6th of 13 scored operators, at 64 out of 100, on our Seven Summits operator index, and is listed with its three Everest tiers on our Everest expedition operators comparisonSeven Summits operator index · B; Everest expedition operators comparison · B
Xenon programmeConfirmed plans for a seven day Everest attempt in spring 2025 using xenon gas for pre-acclimatisation, calling the treatment "neither illegal, nor doping, nor dangerous"; its current trip pages do not mention xenonExplorersWeb · B

Who owns Furtenbach Adventures?

Furtenbach Adventures is owned and led by its sole named founder, Lukas Furtenbach, who is also its chief executive and managing director.

Its own management page describes him as "a father of two, geographer, mountaineer, adventurer, cliff skier, operator and leader of countless expeditions, a creative problem solver, out-of-the-box thinker, perfectionist and founder of Furtenbach Adventures", with no personal summit list stated. His claim to the market is technical rather than a summit count: the company says it ran the first Everest expeditions with hypoxic pre-acclimatisation in 2016, and has used hypoxic systems "since 2002". No single founding or incorporation year for the company itself is published on the pages read. Where it stands against the other nine mountaineering companies scored for this site is in the Seven Summits operator index.

Who guides a Furtenbach Adventures expedition

Furtenbach names 14 guides on its own page, each with a stated qualification and a first-hand record, led in Nepal by Mingma Sherpa, who has summited Everest 19 times.

Its guides page names Ulises Corvalán, with more than 60 Aconcagua summits and all Seven Summits over 27 years, Herbert Wolf, a state-certified guide with four Everest expeditions among 14 on 8,000 metre peaks, and Matias Erroz, who has climbed Lhotse to 8,500 metres without supplemental oxygen. It states that "each expedition, trip or training course is led by at least one IFMGA or AMGA certified lead guide", and the Everest Flash tier adds two climbing Sherpas per member on top of that guide. No separately named Kathmandu office or ground handling company was found; its guide roster is the presence Furtenbach shows in Nepal. What that ratio means for a climber is set out in the safety table below.

How much does a Furtenbach Adventures Everest expedition cost?

Furtenbach prices seven Everest trips, plus a private Signature tier, on one overview page, from EUR 77,400 for the 42 day Classic to EUR 199,000 for the private Signature guide, and shows no price on any individual trip page sampled. All prices were read on 26 September 2026 on Furtenbach's own Everest overview page; lengths and dates for its other climbs come from their own trip pages.

ClimbLengthDatesPrice, per person
Everest Base Camp Accompaniment Trek16 daysNot stated on the page readEUR 4,190
Everest Classic, north or south42 daysNot stated on the page readEUR 77,400
Everest Flash, north or south21 days26 April to 16 May 2027, north routeEUR 105,900
Everest Signature, private guide21 daysNot stated on the page readEUR 199,000
Aconcagua19 days29 November to 17 December 2026, one of four departuresNot published; the page reads "Price per person: 0"
Denali23 to 25 days7 May to 6 June 2027Deposit only, USD 3,000; no total published
Vinson12 to 13 days26 November 2026 to 21 January 2027, five departuresNot published; the page reads "Price per person: 0"

All seven Everest trips, plus the private Signature tier, are priced on the overview page linked above. Every individual trip page sampled for this record, across all seven of Furtenbach's trip categories, prints "Price per person: 0" instead of a figure, including the Aconcagua, Denali and Vinson pages linked here. How Furtenbach's compressed Flash tier compares on price with a traditional Everest season is in the Everest cost guide.

Furtenbach Adventures booking terms and financial protection

Furtenbach Adventures takes a 20% deposit and charges 50% of the total price if you cancel an expedition above 7,000 metres more than 90 days before departure, rising to 100% inside 90 days.

When you cancel (expeditions above 7,000m)What you pay
More than 90 days before departure50% of the total price as a cancellation fee
90 days or fewer before departure100% of the total price

The deposit, "twenty percent (20%) of the total price", is due at booking and no earlier than eleven months before the trip ends, under the GTC; the balance date is set on each confirmation invoice rather than fixed sitewide, though Denali states its own USD 3,000 deposit with the balance 120 days out. A separate five-step scale applies to non-expedition trips in the AGB cancellation terms, and the Cerro Torre trip page prints a third schedule that does not reconcile with either. For Austrian and EU bookings, Furtenbach is registered under GISA 21322426, with bank guarantee number 70.045.315 at Raiffeisenbank Kematen and claims handled by Europäische Reiseversicherung AG if it fails; US clients contract instead with Infinity Expeditions, Inc. of Nevada, which shows no US protection scheme. What a climb costs beyond the operator's price, from permits to insurance, is in our Everest cost guide.

Support before and during a Furtenbach expedition

Furtenbach answers one number, +43 512/204134, Monday to Friday from 8:00 to 18:00, and states no line that answers around the clock.

"Emergency satellite communication" is listed as an inclusion on the Aconcagua page, while the Everest Flash page excludes list separately bills "tips and satellite communication fees", implying the climber's own satellite use is charged rather than a company dispatch service. Choosing cover for a climb where recovery and repatriation insurance is recommended, not required, is covered in our guide to personal security for high-net-worth travellers.

Safety facts Furtenbach Adventures prints

Furtenbach prints unlimited oxygen and a stated guide ratio for its Everest Flash tier, and recommends but does not require personal insurance.

Safety factWhat Furtenbach Adventures printsSource
Oxygen policy, Everest FlashUnlimited oxygen, regulators delivering up to 8 litres a minute, unlimited from Advanced Base Camp onward, with a replacement system to the summitEverest Flash page · A
Guide and Sherpa ratioOne IFMGA or AMGA lead guide to four clients on Flash, published alongside "two climbing Sherpas per member"; Classic runs one guide to eight clients, Signature one private guide per member, Denali one guide to two climbersFAQ · A; Everest Flash page · A
Medical coverAn expedition doctor, high altitude emergency medicine and a pulse oximeter on Everest FlashEverest Flash page · A
Required insuranceNot mandatory: personal recovery and repatriation cover, plus cancellation and interruption insurance, are "strongly recommended", with Global Rescue membership recommended rather than requiredFAQ · A
Track record claimA "zero fatality record exceeding twenty years", reported in a press interview and not found stated on its own FAQ or About Us pagesExplorersWeb · B

These facts are printed on the page for a climber to weigh; the rubric fixed before any company was read treats oxygen, ratios and rescue cover as safety facts, not points.

What Furtenbach Adventures reviews say

No independent review of Furtenbach Adventures was found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io.

Searches of all four platforms returned no listing for the company under either its German or English site names. The guide to review platforms explains why a listing on even one of them changes how much weight a buyer can put on a company's own claims.

Who Furtenbach Adventures suits, and who it does not

Furtenbach Adventures suits a time-poor climber who wants a compressed Everest season through home hypoxic pre-acclimatisation and named Austrian financial protection.

Its three tiers let a buyer self-select by risk and budget: Classic at one guide to eight clients, Flash at one to four with two Sherpas per member and unlimited oxygen, and Signature with a private guide. It suits less well a buyer who wants an independent review to weigh against the company's own claims, since none was found on any platform checked, or a US buyer who wants a US protection scheme rather than a contract with a Nevada entity. How its Flash tier compares on length and price with rivals is in the Everest expedition operators comparison.

Booking Furtenbach Adventures: the decisions that come next

Whichever Furtenbach tier a traveller chooses, how the deposit is paid, how to reach the mountain, where to stay and how to insure the climb are all the traveller's own decisions.

DecisionWhat matters for a Furtenbach expeditionWhere we cover it
Paying the depositA 20% deposit on the EUR 105,900 Everest Flash price is about EUR 21,180; paying by credit card can add Section 75 protection in the UK, and the card used decides the purchase cover that comes with it.Best luxury travel credit cards; best travel credit cards for the UK and Europe
Reaching the mountainEverest expeditions gather in Kathmandu or Lhasa, Aconcagua in Mendoza and Vinson in Punta Arenas; the long-haul seat is the traveller's choice.Best business class airlines; best first class airlines
Airport timeA long connection through Doha or Istanbul is where a lounge pays for itself.Credit cards with airport lounge access
A delayed flightA delayed flight from a UK or EU airport can carry fixed compensation of up to £520 or €600, though a fixed group departure will not wait.AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright
Nights either sideThe unnamed upscale Kathmandu hotel on Everest Flash and the named Diplomatic Hotel in Mendoza on Aconcagua are both the kind of chain-style property where status brings breakfast and late checkout.Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist
Insuring the climbFurtenbach recommends, but does not require, personal recovery, repatriation, cancellation and interruption insurance, and Global Rescue membership.High altitude trekking insurance

Where Furtenbach Adventures stands on Uncompromised Travel

Furtenbach Adventures appears on two Uncompromised Travel pages and holds a ranked position on one of them.

PagePositionNote
Everest expedition operators comparisonListed with all three tiersPuts Flash at EUR 105,900 for 21 days and Signature at EUR 199,000, both matching this record, though it tags the row "2026 prices" on a page for the 2027 season
Seven Summits operator indexNo. 6, 64/100Calls it "one peak priced, best company record"; its FAQ ties the 21 day length to the Signature tier, but Furtenbach's own site prices both Flash and Signature at 21 days, so both of our pages should read that way

Alternatives to Furtenbach Adventures to compare

The closest alternatives are Alpenglow Expeditions for another hypoxic pre-acclimatisation method, Himalayan Experience for the other Austrian-protected operator, Madison Mountaineering for a fully priced Everest tier, and International Mountain Guides for a similarly tiered Classic, Hybrid and Private structure.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
Alpenglow Expeditions66Rapid Ascent hypoxic method; no financial protection found
Himalayan Experience55Also registered in Austria's tour operator directory; every trip priced with 2026 and 2027 dates
Madison Mountaineering52Prices eleven expeditions including Everest from USD 79,500
International Mountain Guides55Prices most of its Rainier and Aconcagua programmes; Everest, Vinson and Carstensz read "inquire"

What this record does not show

Seven things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Furtenbach Adventures. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
Its founding or incorporation yearAbout Us and FAQ pages, which give three different unreconciled dates
A price on any individual trip pageThe Aconcagua, Denali, Vinson and Everest Flash trip pages, which each read "Price per person: 0"
An independent registry check of its GISA numberThe GISA public search portal, a form driven page we could not resolve by direct URL
A Nevada registration number for Infinity Expeditions, Inc.The Nevada Secretary of State entity search, which is form driven
A listing on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.ioEach platform, searched directly
A 24 hour or emergency number for clients or their familiesThe contact page, which prints office hours only
The name of the Kathmandu hotel used on Everest FlashThe Everest Flash trip page, which calls it only "upscale"

What changed at Furtenbach Adventures, 2024 to 2026

Furtenbach Adventures confirmed a xenon pre-acclimatisation programme in January 2025 and put 42 climbers on the Everest summit through its Flash tier in May 2026.

WhenWhat happenedSource
22 January 2025Confirms plans for a seven day Everest attempt in spring 2025 using xenon gas for pre-acclimatisation, calling it "neither illegal, nor doping, nor dangerous", and denies a report that the treatment would occur in KathmanduExplorersWeb
23 May 2026Its Flash team puts 42 members, guides and Sherpa staff on the Everest summit; Kenton Cool, climbing with the team, records his 20th Everest ascentThe Tourism Times
6 August 2026Republishes its German cancellation terms (AGB), while its English general terms of service separately state a current version dated May 2026AGB cancellation terms

Furtenbach Adventures: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Furtenbach Adventures?

Furtenbach Adventures GmbH is owned and led by its sole named founder, Lukas Furtenbach, who is also its chief executive and managing director. No other owner is named on the pages read.

How much does an Everest expedition with Furtenbach Adventures cost?

On its overview page, Furtenbach prices Everest Classic at EUR 77,400 for 42 days, Flash at EUR 105,900 for 21 days, and a private-guide Signature tier at EUR 199,000, also for 21 days. Its individual Everest trip pages show no price.

What is included in a Furtenbach Adventures Everest price?

The Flash tier includes two climbing Sherpas per member, an IFMGA or AMGA lead guide, unlimited oxygen at up to 8 litres a minute, and weeks of home hypoxic pre-acclimatisation before departure.

What is the Furtenbach Adventures cancellation policy?

For an expedition above 7,000 metres, cancelling more than 90 days before departure costs 50% of the total price, rising to 100% inside 90 days. A 20% deposit is due at booking.

Is Furtenbach Adventures financially protected?

Yes, for Austrian and EU bookings: it is registered under GISA 21322426, with bank guarantee number 70.045.315 at Raiffeisenbank Kematen and claims handled by Europäische Reiseversicherung AG. US clients contract instead with Infinity Expeditions, Inc. of Nevada, which shows no US protection scheme.

What do Furtenbach Adventures reviews say?

No independent review was found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io under either its German or English site names.

Who guides a Furtenbach Adventures expedition, and who are its Sherpas?

Furtenbach names 14 guides with stated qualifications and records, including Ulises Corvalán and Herbert Wolf, and is led in Nepal by lead Sherpa Mingma Sherpa, who has summited Everest 19 times.

What does Furtenbach Adventures publish about oxygen and safety?

Everest Flash offers unlimited oxygen at up to 8 litres a minute and a stated ratio of one guide to four clients with two climbing Sherpas per member. Personal recovery and repatriation insurance is recommended, not required.

How does Furtenbach Adventures compare with other mountaineering companies?

Furtenbach Adventures scores 64 out of 100 on this record rubric, second of the nine mountaineering companies scored here. Its score on our own Seven Summits operator index is also 64, by a different method that measures what each climb discloses rather than what a buyer can check before paying.

This record is unpaid and Furtenbach Adventures had no part in it. The score is this site's, on the tour operator record rubric published above, and it changes only when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to furtenbachadventures.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. Sources verified 26 September 2026: furtenbachadventures.com (imprint, GTC, the AGB cancellation terms, About Us, management, contact, FAQ, guides page, the Everest overview page, and the Aconcagua, Denali and Vinson trip pages), ExplorersWeb and The Tourism Times. First published 26 September 2026 as a company record. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.