Expeditions · Company records 2026
By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 55/100Verified 26 September 2026
Himalayan Experience scores 55 out of 100 as a company record: the Austrian registered expedition operator, founded in 1996 by Russell Brice, prices eleven Everest, K2 and Nepal climbs at an identical rate across 2026 and 2027 and carries an Austrian insolvency scheme, but names no guide or Sherpa anywhere on its own site. This record covers the company behind the climbs: who owns it, what an expedition costs, the booking and financial protection, its safety facts as printed, reviews and the gaps. Our Everest and Seven Summits indexes linked below rank the climbs themselves; this page scores the company.
Verified 26 September 2026 · himex.com legal note, terms, about and destination pages · Trustpilot (checked, no listing) · TAAN's member directory (for an unrelated Nepal company)
Is this your company? Correct a fact. Himalayan Experience can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.
Himalayan Experience scores 55 out of 100: full marks for pricing and financial protection, held to 12 of 25 on planning depth because no guide or Sherpa is named, and to zero on reviews. Himalayan Experience does not appear on our Seven Summits operator index at all, and our Everest expedition operators index left it out because it could not confirm a 2027 programme, an absence its own site now resolves by pricing Everest South for both 2026 and 2027. Neither of those pages scores the company itself, which is what this record does.
| Criterion | Points | Out of | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Planning depth | 12 | 25 | No guide or Sherpa is named anywhere on its site; it says only that "all of our Sherpa staff actually come from the Khumbu region" (2 of 8). Founder Russell Brice "has guided in the Himalaya since 1974" (4 of 4). Two countries, Nepal and Pakistan (2 of 5). Expedition pages describe the climb in stages rather than day by day, though they name the Hyatt in Kathmandu (1 of 5). Trading since 1996 (3 of 3). |
| On-the-ground cover | 8 | 20 | One office line, +43 664 120 07 35, answered Monday to Friday from 8am to noon, and no 24-hour number (0 of 7). No office or named partner in Nepal or Pakistan; it states that its Sherpa staff come from the Khumbu (3 of 8). The single inclusions list for every expedition covers "All Western Guide fees" and "All high altitude Sherpa Staff fees" (5 of 5). |
| Pricing transparency | 20 | 20 | Eleven trips priced with 2026 and 2027 dates, from EUR 4,990 for the Manaslu trek to EUR 81,900 for Everest South with Pumori (8 of 8). One inclusions list applies to every expedition, from Kathmandu hotel nights to oxygen and Sherpa fees (5 of 5). Euros with departure dates (4 of 4). A 10% deposit, the balance two weeks before, and cancellation charges from 25% to 100% (3 of 3). |
| Review evidence | 0 | 20 | No listing found on Tripadvisor or Trustpilot (0 of 12). No second platform (0 of 4). No dated independent review (0 of 4). |
| Financial protection | 15 | 15 | Registered in Austria's tour operator directory under number 2013/0020, with a bank guarantee from Sparkasse Schwaz, claims to Europäische Reiseversicherung AG, and the 2020 terms naming Bank für Tirol und Vorarlberg (15 of 15). |
| Total | 55 | 100 | Company record score, 26 September 2026. |
Himalayan Experience publishes a flat price for eleven expeditions that repeats unchanged from 2026 into 2027, an Austrian insolvency scheme and a shared inclusions list covering everything from hotel nights to high altitude oxygen. It does not publish a single guide or Sherpa name or a guide ratio, and its own pages cannot agree on which bank stands behind its client money.

The record holds 18 facts about Himalayan Experience, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.
| Attribute | Value | Source · grade |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Named "Himalayan Experience Keck GmbH" on its legal note and about us page, and "Himalayan Expeditions KECK GmbH" on its terms and conditions; company registration 410131 | Legal note · A; Terms and conditions · A |
| Registered or head office | Berchat 359, 6135 Stans, Austria (map) | Legal note · A |
| Founded | 1996, by Russell Brice, who "has guided in the Himalaya since 1974" | About us · A |
| Owner and leaders | Stephan Keck, chief executive since 2020; founder Russell Brice remains a senior partner and is still with the company | About us · A |
| Guides | No guide, Sherpa or sirdar is named anywhere on the site; the only statement is that "all of our Sherpa staff actually come from the Khumbu region" | Everest South page · A |
| Presence | One office, in Stans, Austria; no Nepal or Pakistan office or named local partner stated; expeditions stage from the Hyatt in Kathmandu, a hotel, not a company office | About us · A |
| Phone and support | +43 664 120 07 35, answered Monday to Friday from 8am to noon; no 24-hour or weekend number found | Contact · A |
| Climbs and countries | Nine expeditions and treks across two countries, Nepal and Pakistan, from Everest and Lhotse to K2 and Broad Peak | Expeditions · A |
| Prices | Eleven trips priced identically for 2026 and 2027, from EUR 4,990 to EUR 81,900; K2's 2027 figure was cut off on every read tried | Everest South · A; K2 · A |
| Deposit and balance | 10% of the trip price as a deposit, with a stated minimum; the balance falls due at the earliest two weeks before departure | Terms and conditions · A |
| Cancellation | Two scales by trip length: 25% to 100% from 31 days out on trips of six days or fewer; 25% to 100% from 61 days out on longer expeditions and treks | Terms and conditions · A |
| Financial protection | Registered in Austria's tour operator directory under number 2013/0020, with a bank guarantee from Sparkasse Schwaz, claims to Europäische Reiseversicherung AG, and the 2020 terms naming Bank für Tirol und Vorarlberg | Terms and conditions · A; Legal note · A |
| Reviews | No Trustpilot profile exists for this domain; no confirmed Tripadvisor listing for the Austrian company | Trustpilot · B |
| Safety facts as printed | Its shared inclusions list mentions oxygen "above 7,500m" with no litre per minute rate; no guide or Sherpa ratio is published; its own insurance package is called voluntary | Expedition information · A; Terms and conditions · A |
| Memberships | A travel agency concession stated on its legal note; no IFMGA, TAAN or Nepal Mountaineering Association membership claimed | Legal note · A |
| Our other pages | Absent from our Seven Summits operator index; our Everest expedition operators index says it "could not confirm a 2027 Everest programme", which its own site now shows for Everest South at EUR 73,500 | Seven Summits operator index · A; Everest expedition operators index · A |
| Similarly named Nepal company | A Kathmandu business trading as HimEX Nepal, legal name Himalaya Expeditions Pvt Ltd, TAAN member 2622/043/44, states no connection to Russell Brice, Stephan Keck or himex.com; unrelated as far as any source shows | HimEX Nepal · B; TAAN · B |
| Marketing lead | None named; general contact is only info@himex.com | Contact · A |
Himalayan Experience is controlled by chief executive Stephan Keck, who took over the operating business from founder Russell Brice in 2020.
Russell Brice founded the company in 1996 and "has guided in the Himalaya since 1974"; he remains with the company today as a senior partner rather than as its owner-operator. The contracting entity is named "Himalayan Experience Keck GmbH" on the legal note and about us page, and "Himalayan Expeditions KECK GmbH" on its terms and conditions, both for the same Austrian company at Berchat 359, 6135 Stans, under registration number 410131.
No marketing lead is named; the site's only general contact is info@himex.com. How the wider Everest field is ranked on price and safety disclosure is in our Everest expedition operators index.
Himalayan Experience names no guide, Sherpa or sirdar anywhere on its own site, and states only that its Sherpa staff come from the Khumbu region.
Its entire site is eight pages, by its own sitemap, with no team, guide or Sherpa biography page; the closest statement, on the Everest South page, is that "all of our Sherpa staff actually come from the Khumbu region." No guide-to-climber or Sherpa-to-climber ratio is stated anywhere either.
A similarly named Kathmandu business, trading as HimEX Nepal and registered with TAAN under the legal name Himalaya Expeditions Pvt Ltd, is easily confused with Himalayan Experience but states no connection to Russell Brice, Stephan Keck or himex.com on its own pages; this record treats the two as unrelated unless a source ties them together.
Himalayan Experience prices eleven expeditions and treks identically for 2026 and 2027, from EUR 4,990 for a Manaslu trek to EUR 81,900 for the Everest South and Pumori double expedition. All prices were read on 26 September 2026 on Himalayan Experience's own destination pages; every 2027 tab repeats the same figure as 2026 except K2, where the 2027 price was cut off on two separate reads.
| Expedition | Length | Dates, both years unless stated | Price, per person |
|---|---|---|---|
| Everest South | 42 days | 17 April to 28 May | EUR 73,500 |
| Everest South and Pumori, double expedition | 42 days | 17 April to 28 May | EUR 81,900 |
| Lhotse | 49 days | 10 April to 27 May | EUR 49,500 |
| K2 | 53 days | 17 June to 7 August 2026; the 2027 dates repeat but the price was not fully readable | EUR 62,500 (2026) |
| Broad Peak | 53 days | 17 June to 7 August | EUR 27,900 |
| K2 and Broad Peak, double expedition | 53 days | 17 June to 7 August | EUR 68,900 |
| Manaslu | 45 days | 25 August to 8 October | EUR 27,700 |
| Ama Dablam | 26 days | 1 to 26 October | EUR 17,990 |
| Pumori | 30 days | 17 April to 16 May | EUR 18,900 |
| Manaslu Trekking | 15 days | 25 August to 8 September | EUR 4,990 |
| Rolwaling Trekking | 21 days | 9 October to 6 November | EUR 5,900 |
Every expedition shares one inclusions list rather than a page by page breakdown, covering three nights at a Kathmandu hotel, transport to and from base camp, all guide and Sherpa staff fees, meals on the mountain and group equipment including oxygen above 7,500 metres; international flights are excluded. Himalayan Experience sells only the south side of Everest. Permit royalties and general Everest cost bands are covered in our Everest cost guide.
Himalayan Experience takes a 10% deposit and the balance at least two weeks before departure, and names two different insolvency guarantors on two of its own pages.
| Trip length | Cancelling |
|---|---|
| Six days or fewer | 25% from 31 days before departure; 50% from 30 to 10 days; 75% from 9 to 4 days; 100% inside 3 days or a no show |
| Expeditions and treks over six days | 25% from 61 days before departure; 50% from 60 to 31 days; 75% from 30 to 10 days; 100% inside 9 days or a no show |
The deposit is 10% of the trip price, with a stated minimum, and the balance falls due at the earliest two weeks before departure. Its terms and conditions, dated 29 March 2020, name Bank für Tirol und Vorarlberg as the insolvency guarantor under registration number 2013/0020; its current legal note instead names a bank guarantee from Sparkasse Schwaz and gives no registration number, so a buyer should ask which one currently applies. How Austria's scheme compares with other operators in this batch is in our Seven Summits operator index.
Himalayan Experience publishes one office line answered only on weekday mornings, with no 24-hour number and no in-trip dispatch system stated.
The number, +43 664 120 07 35, is answered Monday to Friday from 8am to noon, with no weekend hours; the site carries no blog or update section of any kind, confirmed by its own empty post sitemap. Its VIP page recommends registering with Global Rescue before travelling, without making it compulsory. Cover for high-altitude evacuation is covered in our high-altitude trekking insurance guide.
Himalayan Experience prints that oxygen is supplied above 7,500 metres and that its insurance package is voluntary, but no guide ratio or oxygen flow rate anywhere; these facts are reported on this page, not scored.
| Safety fact | As Himalayan Experience prints it | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Oxygen allocation | Group equipment includes "oxygen above 7,500m"; no litre per minute flow rate is stated anywhere | Expedition information · A |
| Guide and Sherpa ratios | Not stated; the only related line is that "all of our Sherpa staff actually come from the Khumbu region" | Everest South page · A |
| Rescue and medical cover | Its own travel insurance package is called voluntary, and the terms warn that if its cost is not paid with the deposit "there is no insurance protection"; its VIP page recommends, without requiring, registering with Global Rescue | Terms and conditions · A; VIP page · A |
| Summit or safety claims | None found; no success rate or safety record is stated anywhere on the site | About us · A |
These facts are as Himalayan Experience prints them; this record reports them and does not score them.
Himalayan Experience holds no Trustpilot listing and no confirmed Tripadvisor page: the only five star listing found under a similar name belongs to an unrelated Kathmandu company.
Trustpilot returns a genuine 404 for himex.com; a Trustpilot page does exist for "himex.dk", a Danish company on a different domain, which this record does not count. Tripadvisor searches surfaced only the unrelated Kathmandu company trading as HimEX Nepal, rated 5.0 from 73 reviews, which states no connection to Russell Brice, Stephan Keck or himex.com. Why review platforms are worth checking directly is in our guide to review platforms.
Himalayan Experience suits already experienced high-altitude climbers who want Everest, Lhotse, K2 or Broad Peak at a flat, identical price across two seasons, and who do not need a named guide or a 24-hour number to book.
Lhotse is restricted to climbers who have already summited Everest, capped at eight climbers; a VIP tier adds fully customised trips including heliskiing, and Rush Expeditions target a faster turnaround. It suits less well a buyer who wants a named lead guide, a guide or Sherpa ratio stated in advance, or an independent review to check first. Mountain destinations beyond the Himalaya are covered in our mountain destinations guide.
Himalayan Experience fares exclude international flights, so paying the deposit, reaching Kathmandu or Islamabad and insuring the climb are still the climber's own decisions.
| Decision | What matters for a Himalayan Experience expedition | Where we cover it |
|---|---|---|
| Paying the deposit | The 10% deposit on the EUR 73,500 Everest South fare is about EUR 7,350, and the card used decides the purchase cover that comes with it. | Best luxury travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve |
| Reaching Kathmandu or Islamabad | Everest, Lhotse, Manaslu and Ama Dablam stage from Kathmandu; K2 and Broad Peak from Islamabad, neither included in the fare. | Best business class airlines; best first class airlines |
| Airport time | A long connection through Doha or Delhi is where a lounge pays for itself. | Credit cards with airport lounge access |
| A delayed or cancelled flight | A disrupted flight from a UK or EU airport can carry fixed compensation of up to 520 pounds or 600 euros. | AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright |
| Nights either side | The only accommodation Himalayan Experience names is the Hyatt in Kathmandu; nights either side of that are the climber's own choice, and status still brings breakfast and late checkout. | Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist |
| Choosing the mountain | Everest and Lhotse share an April to May window; K2 and Broad Peak run June to August. | Mountain destinations guide; high-altitude trekking insurance guide |
Himalayan Experience appears on one Uncompromised Travel page, as a named absence this record now updates.
| Page | Position | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Seven Summits operator index | Not mentioned | Absent from the ranked table and the surrounding text entirely |
| Everest expedition operators index | Named as an absence | That page says it "could not confirm a 2027 Everest programme"; Himalayan Experience's own site now prices Everest South at EUR 73,500 for both 2026 and 2027 |
The closest alternatives are International Mountain Guides on the same score, Furtenbach Adventures on a similar Austrian scheme, Adventure Consultants as a cheaper Everest specialist, and Madison Mountaineering with a named Sherpa sirdar.
| Company | Record score | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| International Mountain Guides | 55 | Matches Himalayan Experience's score exactly, but on the opposite pattern: no financial protection at all, against no guide names at all |
| Furtenbach Adventures | 64 | Second only to Alpenglow Expeditions in this batch, on a similar Austrian bank guarantee model, but with named guides where Himalayan Experience has none |
| Adventure Consultants | 49 | A cheaper Everest specialist that names its owner and some of its guides, but has no financial protection at all |
| Madison Mountaineering | 52 | A Seattle based Everest and K2 specialist with a named Sherpa sirdar, which Himalayan Experience's site does not provide |
Seven things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Himalayan Experience. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.
| Missing | Where we looked |
|---|---|
| Any named guide, Sherpa or sirdar | About us, expeditions and every destination page |
| A 24-hour or emergency number | Contact page |
| A guide to climber or Sherpa to climber ratio | Destination pages, expedition information |
| Independent registry confirmation of company number 410131 | Austria's Firmenbuch |
| A confirmed K2 2027 price | K2 destination page, both tabs, on two separate reads |
| An independent review platform listing for the Austrian company | Trustpilot, Tripadvisor |
| Whether its Nepal operation is a distinct legal entity | himex.com; the unrelated HimEX Nepal's own pages |
No dated change could be found on Himalayan Experience's own pages between 2024 and 2026; its site carries no blog or press section at all, and the most recent leadership change on record is from 2020.
| When | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2020, exact date not stated | Stephan Keck takes over the operating business from founder Russell Brice, who remains a senior partner | About us |
Stephan Keck has been chief executive since 2020, when he took over the operating business from founder Russell Brice. Brice remains with the company as a senior partner.
Everest South is priced at EUR 73,500 per person for 42 days, a figure that repeats unchanged for both the 2026 and 2027 departures. The Everest South and Pumori double expedition costs EUR 81,900.
One shared inclusions list covers every expedition: three nights at a Kathmandu hotel, transport to and from base camp, all guide and Sherpa staff fees, meals on the mountain and group equipment including oxygen above 7,500 metres. International flights are excluded.
Trips of six days or fewer lose 25% of the price from 31 days before departure, rising to 100% inside three days. Longer expeditions and treks lose 25% from 61 days out, rising to 100% inside nine days or a no show.
Yes, under an Austrian scheme, though its own pages disagree on the detail: its 2020 terms name Bank für Tirol und Vorarlberg under registration 2013/0020, while its current legal note names a bank guarantee from Sparkasse Schwaz and gives no registration number.
Trustpilot returns a 404 for himex.com, and no confirmed Tripadvisor listing exists for the Austrian company. A five star Tripadvisor listing under a similar name belongs to an unrelated Kathmandu business.
No guide, Sherpa or sirdar is named anywhere on its site. The only related statement is that all of its Sherpa staff come from the Khumbu region.
Its shared inclusions list mentions oxygen above 7,500 metres but states no litre per minute flow rate, and no guide or Sherpa ratio is published anywhere. Its own travel insurance package is described as voluntary, and its VIP page recommends, without requiring, registration with Global Rescue.
It does not appear on our Seven Summits operator index at all, and our Everest expedition operators index left it out for want of a confirmed 2027 programme, an absence its own site now resolves. This record scores it 55 out of 100, level with International Mountain Guides.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 26 September 2026 · facts verified 26 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.