Expeditions · Company records 2026
By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 66/100Verified 26 September 2026
Alpenglow Expeditions scores 66/100 as a company record: the California guide service founded in 2004 sells Everest only from Tibet's north side with its own hypoxic tent Rapid Ascent method, prices four expeditions from USD 20,500, names its guides and holds 5.0 on Tripadvisor, but prints no financial protection at all. This record covers the company behind the climbs: who owns it, what a climb costs, the booking and cancellation terms, its guides, the safety facts it prints and the gaps. Our own Everest and Seven Summits indexes linked below rate the climbs; this page scores the company.
Verified 26 September 2026 · alpenglowexpeditions.com about, guide, contact, terms and cancellation pages · the 20th-anniversary timeline · the AMGA accredited business directory · the Better Business Bureau · Tripadvisor and Trustpilot
Is this your company? Correct a fact. Alpenglow Expeditions can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.
Alpenglow Expeditions scores 66 out of 100: strong marks for its named guides, priced climbs and reviews, held back entirely on financial protection and by an unclear on-the-ground support line. Its score differs from our own Seven Summits operator index, which ranks it 11th of 13 at 39 out of 100: that index scores what each climb includes and discloses, such as price per peak, guide ratios and oxygen, while this record scores what a buyer can check before paying, such as terms, protection and reviews.
| Criterion | Points | Out of | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Planning depth | 21 | 25 | Its guide page names more than 40 guides, among them chief guide Logan Talbott and Tim Dobbins, both IFMGA mountain guides (8 of 8). Founder Adrian Ballinger is an AMGA and IFMGA mountain guide (4 of 4). About 18 countries and territories across its climbs, from Tibet and Pakistan to Ecuador and Antarctica (4 of 5). Climb pages run day by day, as on Gasherbrum II, but name no hotel (3 of 5). Trading since 2004 by its own account; its BBB file gives February 2005 (2 of 3). |
| On-the-ground cover | 13 | 20 | The Aconcagua page promises "24/7 Alpenglow office support", but the only number printed, 1-877-873-5376, is staffed from 8am to 6pm (3 of 7). A home base in Olympic Valley, California, for its US climbs and named Sherpa staff for the Himalaya, with no office in the other regions it sells (5 of 8). IFMGA or AMGA guides are named as leading each priced expedition (5 of 5). |
| Pricing transparency | 18 | 20 | Four expeditions priced per person: Aconcagua Rapid Ascent from USD 20,500, Carstensz USD 29,950, Gasherbrum II USD 46,950 and Vinson USD 63,500; Everest, Denali and Kilimanjaro show no price (6 of 8). Inclusions listed with each price (5 of 5). US dollars throughout, with departure dates beside the Aconcagua and Carstensz prices (4 of 4). A 20% deposit and a cancellation scale by days before departure for international expeditions (3 of 3). |
| Review evidence | 14 | 20 | Tripadvisor 5.0 from 179 reviews (10 of 12). No second platform with reviews: its Trustpilot page has none (0 of 4). Newest Tripadvisor review 27 May 2026, inside six months (4 of 4). |
| Financial protection | 0 | 15 | Home market California. No USTOA membership, no California seller of travel (CST) number and no trust account statement found in its terms, its cancellation policies or its trip packet (0 of 15). |
| Total | 66 | 100 | Company record score, 26 September 2026. |
Alpenglow publishes the things a climber checks first: named IFMGA guides on every priced climb, a fare and dates on four of its expeditions, and a five-star Tripadvisor record. It does not publish a founding date its own registry agrees with, a single cancellation scale, or any financial protection for the money paid before a climb.

The record holds 17 facts about Alpenglow Expeditions, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.
| Attribute | Value | Source · grade |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Alpenglow Expeditions, LLC; no entity or registration number is printed on its own site, and California's business search page refused our reader | BBB profile · B; Alpamayo trip packet · A |
| Registered or head office | PO Box 3122, Olympic Valley, CA 96146, a mailing address; no street office is published (map) | Contact page · A |
| Founded | June 2004 by its own account, when Adrian Ballinger and Ian Boyer named the company during a bivouac on Ranrapalca in Peru; its BBB file gives a business start date of 14 February 2005 | 20th-anniversary timeline · A; BBB · B |
| Owner and leaders | Adrian Ballinger, founder and owner throughout, an AMGA and IFMGA mountain guide; Aaron Ollivier became a partner in 2010 and Logan Talbott, chief guide, in 2018; the anniversary timeline also names Ian Boyer as a co-founder in 2004 without saying what became of his role | Anniversary timeline · A; About page · A |
| Guides | A guide roster names more than 40 guides; two carry a stated qualification on that page, Logan Talbott and Tim Dobbins, both IFMGA; five named Sherpa staff carry no individual climbing record | Our guides page · A |
| Presence | A mailing address in Olympic Valley, California, for its US climbs and named Sherpa staff for the Himalaya; Antarctic Logistics and Expeditions is named as its Vinson logistics partner; no office or named outfitter in Argentina, Indonesia, Pakistan or Tibet | Guides page · A; Vinson page · A |
| Phone and support | One number, 1-877-873-5376, answered from 8am to 6pm, seven days a week; the Aconcagua page separately lists "24/7 Alpenglow office support" as an inclusion | Contact page · A; Aconcagua page · A |
| Climbs and countries | About 18 countries and territories across its climbs, from Tibet and Pakistan to Ecuador and Antarctica; Everest is sold only from Tibet's north side, a policy in place since 2015; Elbrus is paused because of the conflict in Russia | Everest programs page · A; Seven Summits collection · A |
| Prices | Four expeditions priced per person: Aconcagua from USD 20,500, Carstensz USD 29,950, Gasherbrum II USD 46,950 and Vinson USD 63,500; Everest, Denali and Kilimanjaro show no price | Expedition pages · A |
| Deposit and balance | A 20% deposit on Aconcagua; no general balance due date is published on the terms page, either cancellation policy, or the Aconcagua page itself | Aconcagua page · A; Terms and conditions · A |
| Cancellation | Three differently dated documents use different scales: a general policy and a domestic operations policy, dated 13 August 2024, both charge a flat 5% fee outside 30 days and no refund inside 14 days; an international expeditions policy, dated 14 April 2026, instead scales from a deposit forfeit beyond 120 days to no refund inside 60 days; no page states which covers which climb | International expeditions policy · A; Domestic operations policy · A |
| Financial protection | No USTOA membership, California seller of travel number or trust account statement in its terms, cancellation policies or trip packet | Terms and conditions · A; Trip packet · A |
| Reviews | Tripadvisor 5.0 from 179 reviews, newest 27 May 2026; no reviews on its Trustpilot page, which is unclaimed; not rated by the Better Business Bureau, which does not accredit it | Tripadvisor · B; Trustpilot · B; BBB · B |
| Safety facts as printed | No standing oxygen policy or guide ratio; a one-off figure for the 2024 Everest north side season states five guides and twelve Sherpa and high altitude workers for six clients; every climber must supply rescue and health insurance | Anniversary timeline · A; Trip packet · A |
| Memberships | An AMGA Accredited Business, confirmed on the AMGA's own directory; its named guides individually hold IFMGA or AMGA qualifications; no USTOA, TAAN or ATTA membership found | AMGA directory · B |
| Our other pages | Ranks 11th of 13 scored operators, at 39 out of 100, on our Seven Summits operator index; listed, not ranked, on our Everest expedition operators comparison | Seven Summits operator index · B; Everest expedition operators comparison · B |
| Permits | Names five US Forest Service special-use permits, for the Tahoe, Eldorado, Inyo, Humboldt-Toiyabe and Shasta-Trinity National Forests; no page frames these, or anything else, as an award | About page · A |
Alpenglow Expeditions is owned and led by founder Adrian Ballinger, with Aaron Ollivier and Logan Talbott as partners since 2010 and 2018.
Ballinger is an AMGA and IFMGA mountain guide who named the company with Ian Boyer in June 2004, during a bivouac on the side of Ranrapalca in Peru. The same timeline says Ballinger "remains the founder and owner throughout the entire 20-year period" without returning to Boyer's name again, so what became of his role is not stated anywhere read. Alpenglow is an AMGA Accredited Business, a status Madison Mountaineering does not hold. Where it stands against the other nine mountaineering companies scored for this site is in the Seven Summits operator index.
Alpenglow names more than 40 guides on its roster, but only two of them, Logan Talbott and Tim Dobbins, carry a stated IFMGA qualification on that page, alongside five named Sherpa staff with no individual climbing record shown.
Its guide page names Talbott as chief guide and director of operations since 2015, and states that "AMGA/IFMGA Mountain Guides direct the programs" on every priced climb. Its Gasherbrum II itinerary runs day by day, from arriving in Islamabad on day 1 to summit days near day 20, and shows the pattern behind the rubric's "no hotel named" line: Islamabad and Skardu lodging both read "Hotel TBD", with a Marriott named only for the return leg. For Vinson, Antarctic Logistics and Expeditions is named as the logistics partner; no Tibetan or Nepali ground agency is named for its Himalaya or Tibet climbs. What a guide ratio and an oxygen policy would tell a buyer is set out in the safety table below.
Alpenglow prices four of its climbs per person, from USD 20,500 for Aconcagua to USD 63,500 for Vinson, and shows no price at all for Everest, Denali or Kilimanjaro. All prices and lengths were read on 26 September 2026 on Alpenglow's own expedition pages.
| Climb | Region | Length | Price, per person |
|---|---|---|---|
| Aconcagua Rapid Ascent | Argentina | 14 days | USD 20,500, six departures from 26 December 2026 |
| Carstensz Pyramid Expedition | Indonesia | 11 days | USD 29,950, 10 to 20 October 2026 |
| Gasherbrum II Rapid Ascent | Pakistan | 35 days | USD 46,950, plus an optional Gasherbrum I extension at USD 18,500 |
| Vinson Massif Expedition | Antarctica | 15 days | USD 63,500 |
| Mount Everest North Side Rapid Ascent | Tibet, China | 36 days | Not published; the page directs buyers to inquire |
| Cotopaxi Rapid Ascent | Ecuador | 5 days | Not published on the page read |
| Denali Expedition | Alaska, USA | Not stated | Not published; the page directs buyers to inquire |
| Climb Kilimanjaro | Tanzania | Not stated | Not published for the climb; a USD 2,200 safari add-on is shown |
Every priced climb above uses Alpenglow's hypoxic tent Rapid Ascent method to shorten time on the mountain. Everest is sold only from Tibet's north side, a policy in place since 2015. Elbrus is currently paused: the company's own words are that "we are currently not running expeditions to Russia due to the conflict." How a compressed hypoxic itinerary compares with a traditional one is in the Everest cost guide.
Alpenglow Expeditions takes a 20% deposit on at least one climb and publishes three differently dated cancellation policies with different scales, and no financial protection at all.
| When you cancel (international expeditions) | What you pay |
|---|---|
| More than 120 days before departure | Your payment refunded minus the non-refundable deposit |
| 119 to 90 days before departure | Your payment refunded minus the deposit |
| 60 to 89 days before departure | A 50% credit; the rest counts as a non-recoverable cost |
| Fewer than 60 days before departure | No refund or credit |
The international expeditions policy above, dated 14 April 2026, applies to climbs such as Aconcagua, Carstensz, Gasherbrum II and Vinson; Aconcagua itself states a 20% deposit, with no balance date published anywhere read. A separate domestic operations policy, dated 13 August 2024, and a general cancellation policy use a flatter scale instead: a full credit or refund minus a 5% fee outside 30 days, a reschedule only from 14 to 30 days, and no reschedule or refund inside 14 days. No page states which of the three governs which climb. No USTOA membership, California seller of travel number or trust account statement appears in any of them.
Alpenglow answers one number, 1-877-873-5376, from 8am to 6pm, seven days a week, and states no line that answers around the clock while a climb is under way.
Its Aconcagua page lists "24/7 Alpenglow office support" as an inclusion, a claim its own contact page hours do not match. In the field, Alpenglow posts public dispatch updates from its expeditions rather than naming a satellite tracking system for families. Choosing cover for a climb it does not insure is covered in our guide to high altitude trekking insurance.
Alpenglow prints no standing oxygen policy or guide ratio for a future booking, only a one-off 2024 figure and a client-supplied insurance requirement.
| Safety fact | What Alpenglow Expeditions prints | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Oxygen policy | Not stated for any Himalaya or Tibet climb | Everest programs page · A |
| Guide and Sherpa ratio | No standing ratio for future bookings; a one-off figure for the 2024 Everest north side season states five guides and twelve Sherpa and high altitude workers for six clients | Anniversary timeline · A |
| Rescue and medical cover | Climbers must supply their own rescue and health insurance and give the policy numbers before leaving the USA; an expedition doctor, Dr Monica Piris, is named on the Vinson climb | Trip packet · A; Vinson page · A |
| Weather forecasting | Named only for Vinson, as "Swiss weather forecasts"; the provider itself is not named | Vinson page · A |
| Summit or safety claim | "We can never guarantee a summit, but we can guarantee that you'll leave us changed for the better"; a dated claim of a 100 percent success rate among six clients for the 2024 Everest north side season | About page · A; Anniversary timeline · A |
These facts are printed on the page for a climber to weigh; the rubric fixed before any company was read treats oxygen, ratios and rescue cover as safety facts, not points.
Alpenglow Expeditions holds 5.0 out of 5 on Tripadvisor from 179 reviews and no reviews at all on Trustpilot, which is unclaimed.
Its Tripadvisor listing shows a newest review dated 27 May 2026. Its Trustpilot profile carries no reviews and has not been claimed. The Better Business Bureau rates it "Not Rated" and does not accredit it. No Feefo or Reviews.io listing was found. The guide to review platforms explains why a second platform matters.
Alpenglow Expeditions suits a climber who wants a named IFMGA guide, a compressed hypoxic itinerary and Everest from Tibet's north side, and who does not need financial protection spelled out in writing.
It suits less well a buyer who wants Everest from Nepal's south side, which Alpenglow does not sell, or one who wants a single, clearly dated cancellation policy rather than three. Its product range runs wider than most rivals scored here, from rock climbing courses and avalanche education to women's trips and local guiding around Lake Tahoe, alongside its 8,000 metre expeditions. How Alpenglow's Everest programme compares on price and permits with the rest of the field is in the Everest expedition operators comparison.
Whichever Alpenglow climb a traveller chooses, how the deposit is paid, how to reach the mountain, where to stay and how to insure the climb are all the traveller's own decisions.
| Decision | What matters for an Alpenglow climb | Where we cover it |
|---|---|---|
| Paying the deposit | A 20% deposit on the USD 20,500 Aconcagua Rapid Ascent is about USD 4,100; paying by credit card can add Section 75 protection in the UK, and the card used decides the purchase cover that comes with it. | Best luxury travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve |
| Reaching the mountain | Aconcagua departs from Mendoza, Everest's north side from Lhasa or Kathmandu, and Vinson from Punta Arenas; the long-haul seat is the traveller's choice. | Best business class airlines; best first class airlines |
| Airport time | A long connection through Santiago or Doha is where a lounge pays for itself. | Credit cards with airport lounge access |
| A delayed flight | A delayed flight from a UK or EU airport can carry fixed compensation of up to £520 or €600, though a fixed group departure will not wait. | AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright |
| Nights either side | Pre-climb nights in Mendoza or Kathmandu are often in chain hotels where status brings breakfast and late checkout. | Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist |
| Insuring the climb | Alpenglow requires every climber to carry rescue and health insurance and to supply the policy numbers before leaving the USA; it states no minimum cover. | High altitude trekking insurance |
Alpenglow Expeditions appears on two Uncompromised Travel pages and holds a ranked position on one of them.
| Page | Position | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Everest expedition operators comparison | Listed, not ranked | Puts an Everest north side climb at about USD 110,000, a third party figure, since Alpenglow quotes only on enquiry, and flags 2026 Tibet permit risk |
| Seven Summits operator index | No. 11, 39/100 | Scores price 14 of 25, safety 0 of 20, coverage 13 of 15, ratio 0 of 15, record 5 of 15, company 7 of 10; ranks it 11th mainly for one priced peak and nothing on ratios or oxygen, while this record scores it highest of the nine mountaineering companies |
The closest alternatives are Furtenbach Adventures for named financial protection, International Mountain Guides and Madison Mountaineering for published Everest prices, and Alpine Ascents International for a larger named guide roster.
| Company | Record score | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| Furtenbach Adventures | 64 | Austrian bank guarantee and named claims handler; Everest priced only on its overview page |
| International Mountain Guides | 55 | Prices most of its Rainier and Aconcagua programmes; Everest, Vinson and Carstensz read "inquire" |
| Madison Mountaineering | 52 | Prices eleven expeditions including Everest from USD 79,500; no financial protection found |
| Alpine Ascents International | 51 | More than 200 guides named; Everest priced at USD 80,000; no financial protection found |
Six things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Alpenglow Expeditions. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.
| Missing | Where we looked |
|---|---|
| A California entity or registration number for Alpenglow Expeditions, LLC | California Secretary of State business search, which refused our reader |
| A California seller of travel number or USTOA membership | Terms and conditions, both cancellation policies, the Alpamayo trip packet |
| A named outfitter or licensed local agency for its Tibet and Pakistan climbs | The Everest north side and Gasherbrum II pages |
| Prices for Everest, Denali and Kilimanjaro | Their own expedition pages, which show no figure |
| Day by day itineraries with a named hotel for Denali, Kilimanjaro and Everest North Side | Their own expedition pages |
| A second review platform with reviews, or a dated award | Trustpilot, which shows none; no awards page found |
Alpenglow Expeditions returned to Everest's north side in 2024 after a five year pause, then published a new international expeditions cancellation policy in 2026 on a different scale from its 2024 domestic policy.
| When | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | Returns to Everest's north side after a five year pause, with a 100 percent success rate among six clients, five guides and twelve Sherpa and high altitude workers, by its own account | 20th-anniversary timeline |
| 13 August 2024 | Publishes its domestic operations cancellation policy: a flat 5% fee outside 30 days, reschedule only from 14 to 30 days, no refund inside 14 days | Cancellation policy, domestic operations |
| 14 April 2026 | Publishes a new international expeditions cancellation policy on a graduated scale, different from the 2024 domestic policy | Cancellation policy, international expeditions |
Alpenglow Expeditions is owned and led by founder Adrian Ballinger, an AMGA and IFMGA mountain guide, with Aaron Ollivier and Logan Talbott as partners since 2010 and 2018. Its own anniversary timeline also names Ian Boyer as a co-founder in 2004, without saying what became of his role.
Alpenglow publishes no price for its 36 day Mount Everest North Side Rapid Ascent Expedition, which it sells only from Tibet's north side; the page directs a buyer to inquire directly.
On its priced climbs, Alpenglow lists IFMGA or AMGA guides, mountain infrastructure and lodging, and, on Aconcagua, "24/7 Alpenglow office support", though its published office hours run from 8am to 6pm, seven days a week.
Alpenglow publishes three differently dated cancellation policies with different scales: a general policy and a 2024 domestic operations policy charge a flat 5% fee outside 30 days, while a 2026 international expeditions policy scales from a deposit forfeit beyond 120 days to no refund inside 60 days. No page states which covers which climb.
No USTOA membership, California seller of travel number or trust account statement appears in its terms, its cancellation policies or its trip packet.
Alpenglow Expeditions holds 5.0 out of 5 on Tripadvisor from 179 reviews, newest 27 May 2026. Its Trustpilot page carries no reviews and is unclaimed, and the Better Business Bureau rates it "Not Rated".
A roster names more than 40 guides, though only Logan Talbott and Tim Dobbins carry a stated IFMGA qualification on that page, alongside five named Sherpa staff with no individual climbing record shown.
Alpenglow states no standing oxygen policy or guide ratio for a future booking. A one-off figure from its 2024 Everest north side season names five guides and twelve Sherpa and high altitude workers for six clients. Rescue and health insurance are the climber's own responsibility.
Alpenglow Expeditions scores 66 out of 100 on this record rubric, the highest of the nine mountaineering companies scored here. Our own Seven Summits operator index ranks it 11th of 13 at 39 out of 100, because that index measures what each climb discloses rather than what a buyer can check before paying.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 26 September 2026 · facts verified 26 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.