Expeditions · Safari operator records 2026

Deeper Africa Review 2026: Is It Worth It, What It Costs, and Who Runs It

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaCompany record · scored 68/100Verified 24 September 2026

Company record · opened 24 September 2026 · every fact dated and sourcedIs this your company? Correct a fact

Deeper Africa, the Boulder, Colorado safari specialist founded in 2002, scores 68/100 on our six-criterion operator review: 24 of 25 for first-hand African expertise and 5 of 15 for its service model. Its strengths are on the ground in Africa, with country managers in Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda, 14 named guides and a 5.0 Trustpilot rating from 256 reviews. What holds the score back is the paperwork a buyer checks before paying: booking terms that name no legal entity and no financial protection, no office hours or 24-hour line, and prices that sit in downloadable sheets rather than on its trip pages.

Verified 24 September 2026 · Deeper Africa's own pages, terms and price sheets · ATTA and USTOA directories · Trustpilot, Tripadvisor, Travelstride and SafariBookings · Travel Weekly, Tourism Update, Luxury Travel Advisor and ATTA news

Deeper Africa at a glance: the company record

Deeper Africa is a US safari company based at 1790 38th Street, Boulder, Colorado, owned by co-founder Karen Zulauf and trading since 2002, with teams in five African countries. Every row below links to its source and was checked on the date shown.

FieldFactSourceChecked
Trading nameDeeper Africa (deeperafrica.com)Deeper Africa homepage24 Sep 2026
Legal entityDeeper Africa, LLC in the ATTA member directory; the booking terms name no entityATTA directory24 Sep 2026
RegistryColorado business registry not reachable for this check; no entity number publishedDeeper Africa terms24 Sep 2026
Founded2002: 'envisioned in 2002 by Wil Smith and Karen Zulauf around a campfire in the Serengeti'Deeper Africa homepage24 Sep 2026
Owner and founderKaren Zulauf, Owner; Wil Smith, Founder (both Colorado)Deeper Africa team page24 Sep 2026
Office1790 38th Street, Suite 204, Boulder, CO 80301 (map)Deeper Africa contact page24 Sep 2026
Older address in use elsewhere2935 Baseline Road, Suite 301, Boulder, CO 80303 (SafariBookings listing)SafariBookings24 Sep 2026
Teams in Africa'Operating in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, and South Africa'; country managers for Tanzania and for Uganda and RwandaWhy Deeper Africa24 Sep 2026
Phones(888) 658-7102 toll-free; (303) 415-2574; info@deeperafrica.comDeeper Africa contact page24 Sep 2026
Hours and response timeNone published; the contact page offers a call-booking calendarDeeper Africa contact page24 Sep 2026
In-trip supportNo 24-hour line stated; 'Evacuation service enrollment' is included in trip pricesTaste of Zanzibar price sheet24 Sep 2026
Destinations10 African countries with their own pages, plus Zanzibar, Pemba and Lamu coast tripsWhy Deeper Africa24 Sep 2026
Published prices6 trips priced in USD, from 4,200 to 32,500 per person; the trip pages checked show noneDeeper Uganda price sheet24 Sep 2026
Deposit and balanceNon-refundable deposit (amount varies); half the balance 100 days before, the rest 70 days beforeDeeper Africa terms24 Sep 2026
CancellationOver 90 days: refund less deposit and non-refundables; 60 to 90 days: 80%; 31 to 59 days: 50%; 30 days or less: noneDeeper Africa terms24 Sep 2026
Change feeUSD 200 per change per person within 60 days of departureDeeper Africa terms24 Sep 2026
Money protectionNone stated: no bond, trust account or seller-of-travel registration in the terms; not in the USTOA directoryUSTOA member directory24 Sep 2026
Insurance'We strongly recommend that you purchase travel insurance' (not required)Deeper Africa terms24 Sep 2026
Trade membershipAdventure Travel Trade Association, tour operator member since 2025ATTA directory24 Sep 2026
Independent reviewsTrustpilot 5.0 from 256 (newest 8 Mar 2026); Travelstride 5/5 from 13; Tripadvisor 5.0 from 9; SafariBookings 0Trustpilot24 Sep 2026
Awards confirmedTravel + Leisure World's Best: No. 1 safari outfitter 2016, No. 4 in 2019ATTA news, 5 Aug 201924 Sep 2026
Team20 people named: owner, founder, operations manager, two country managers and 14 guidesDeeper Africa team page24 Sep 2026

Is Deeper Africa worth it?

Deeper Africa scores 68/100: its guiding and on-the-ground teams are among the strongest we have recorded, while the terms and service details a buyer checks before paying are among the thinnest. The company names 14 guides by country, from Tanzania and Kenya to Uganda, Rwanda and Zimbabwe, and says its Tanzanian guide on the 2002 founding trip, Aminiel Nnko, remains with the company today. It publishes no office hours, no response time and no 24-hour line, and its terms leave the deposit amount to the quote.

How the score works (100 points, the same six criteria on every operator review). First-hand African expertise 25: founders and specialists with stated time living, guiding or working in Africa, a base on the continent, years specialising · Independent review evidence 20: ratings and volume on platforms the company does not host, a second platform, and how recent the newest review is · Destination breadth 15: African countries with their own pages or itineraries · Pricing transparency 15: itineraries with a published per-person price, inclusions, currency and season · Service model and support hours 15: offices or phone lines in the UK or US, published hours, 24-hour in-trip support, one named specialist · Ownership transparency 10: owners named, legal entity and number published, and a registry check. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked and dated.
CriterionScoreWhy
First-hand African expertise24/25Founders Wil Smith and Karen Zulauf, with Smith in Tanzanian safaris since 2002; country managers and 14 guides named in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Zimbabwe; 24 years in Africa.
Independent review evidence10/20Trustpilot 5.0 from 256 reviews scores the 100-to-499 band; no second platform reaches 25 reviews; the newest Trustpilot review, 8 March 2026, is more than six months old.
Destination breadth12/15Ten African countries have their own pages, from Kenya and Tanzania to the Republic of the Congo, Namibia and Zambia.
Pricing transparency13/15Six trips carry a published per-person USD price with inclusions and a season or year, but only in downloadable price sheets and on the Kilimanjaro pages; the trip pages checked show none.
Service model and support hours5/15A Boulder office and US phone lines; no office hours or response time, no 24-hour line in the terms or on the site, and no named specialist from enquiry to return.
Ownership transparency4/10Karen Zulauf is named as owner and Wil Smith as founder; the terms name no legal entity, and the Colorado business registry could not be reached to check one.
Total68/100
An elephant walking along a dirt road in Kajiado County, Kenya, with Mount Kilimanjaro behind
An elephant in Kajiado County, Kenya, with Kilimanjaro behind. Deeper Africa's Kilimanjaro Northern Traverse climb is priced at USD 8,095 to 8,832 per person. Photo: Wladimir Kuhne / Pexels

Where Deeper Africa stands among the operators we have reviewed

At 68/100, Deeper Africa sits 11th of the 13 safari operators reviewed on these six criteria, seven points below its Boulder neighbour Natural Habitat Adventures at 75 and above Ker & Downey Africa at 64. It is the first time Deeper Africa has been assessed on Uncompromised Travel: it does not appear on our UK and US operator comparison, safari planner index or payment terms index.

How much does a Deeper Africa safari cost?

Deeper Africa's published prices run from USD 4,200 per person for Taste of Zanzibar to between USD 26,000 and 32,500 per person for Deeper Uganda, its gorilla and chimpanzee safari, set by group size and season. The trip pages checked show no price, and the site links no price list; the figures below come from price sheets on its site and from its Kilimanjaro pages, and every sheet lists what is included and excluded. Solo climbers pay no single supplement on the Northern Traverse, while single travellers on safari pay USD 500 to 6,000 extra, depending on the trip. For context, our Tanzania safari cost guide and luxury Kilimanjaro climb guide show what comparable trips run to.

TripLengthUSD per personYearWhat the price covers
Kilimanjaro Northern Traverse climb12 days8,095 to 8,832Current page; no yearGuides, porters, lodging, meals, park and rescue fees; not flights, visas, insurance or tips
Kilimanjaro Lemosho Route climb8 daysfrom 7,125Current page; no yearListed on the climb page
Taste of ZanzibarNot stated4,200 (Apr, Jun to Oct) or 4,450 (Nov to Mar)2025 pricingLodging, meals, park fees, tours, evacuation enrolment; not flights or tips
Deeper Uganda (gorillas and chimpanzees)Not stated26,000 to 32,500, by group size and season2025 pricingPermits, lodging, meals, transport, evacuation enrolment; not flights or tips
Zimbabwe with KidsNot stated10,200 to 12,900 per adult; 6,900 to 7,500 per child under 122026 pricingLodging, meals, professional guide, park fees, evacuation enrolment; not flights or tips
South Africa Private11 to 13 days8,800 to 9,950No year on the sheetLodging, meals, game drives, drinks, laundry; not flights or tips
A mountain gorilla resting in dense green foliage, photographed in Rwanda
A mountain gorilla in Rwanda. Deeper Africa's Deeper Uganda gorilla and chimpanzee safari costs USD 26,000 to 32,500 per person including permits. Photo: Philemon Ninshuti / Pexels

What do Deeper Africa reviews say?

Deeper Africa is rated 5.0 on Trustpilot from 256 reviews, 98% of them five-star; the newest was posted on 8 March 2026. Reviewers return to the guides and the planning: "Our guides were personable, highly knowledgeable and shared insight and their passion," reads one Trustpilot review, and a Tripadvisor reviewer writes that "Karen and her team were always available for questions and advice." No recurring complaint surfaced on any platform checked. Its SafariBookings listing has no reviews, and its site widget quotes Google at 5.0 from 12, which could not be checked for this record. Our safari operator review index explains how we weigh review platforms.

PlatformRatingReviewsNewest
Trustpilot5.02568 March 2026
Travelstride5/513March 2024
Tripadvisor5.0911 September 2024
SafariBookingsNone0n/a
Google5.0, quoted on Deeper Africa's own site12Not checked

Deeper Africa's awards, dated where they can be

Two Travel + Leisure World's Best placings are confirmed in independent reports: number one safari outfitter in 2016 and number four in 2019, its fourth year in a row on the list. Deeper Africa's homepage claims more: "9 consecutive years" on Travel + Leisure's list, a Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialist title for Karen Zulauf for the "9th consecutive year as of 2026", and nine years as a Fodor's Top 10 Safari Outfitter. The years after 2019 and the Condé Nast and Fodor's titles could not be confirmed on the awarding bodies' sites, which blocked the check. Our pages on Travel + Leisure's World's Best safari outfitters and Condé Nast Traveler's top safari specialists explain what each list measures.

RecognitionYearSource
Travel + Leisure World's Best: No. 1 safari outfitter2016Adventure Travel News, 12 Jul 2016
Travel + Leisure World's Best: No. 4 safari outfitter, fourth year in a row2019Adventure Travel News, 5 Aug 2019
Travel + Leisure World's Best: No. 5 safari outfitterYear not statedYahoo Lifestyle syndication
National Geographic Traveler: Tours of a Lifetime (Uganda gorillas)2012Adventure Travel News
USA Today: top new trips to emerging places2013Adventure Travel News
Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialist (Karen Zulauf), '9th consecutive year as of 2026'ClaimedDeeper Africa's own site
Fodor's Top 10 Safari Outfitter, '9 years'ClaimedDeeper Africa's own site

Where Deeper Africa travels, and its journey styles

Deeper Africa sells ten African countries across East, Central and Southern Africa, with the Republic of the Congo and Zambia alongside the mainstream safari countries, and no destinations outside Africa. Its 51 trip pages fall into beach and marine, family, Kilimanjaro, luxury, more active, primate viewing, private and wild camping safaris, among others, and adds gorilla trekking in the DRC's Virunga. Its Your Travel Matters page says it chooses camps and lodges committed to conservation, and separate pages point guests to 41 conservation and community groups, such as Gorilla Doctors and the Sheldrick elephant orphanage; they signpost donations rather than disclose Deeper Africa's own funding.

RegionCountries with their own Deeper Africa pages
East AfricaKenya (with Lamu), Tanzania (with Zanzibar and Pemba), Uganda, Rwanda
Central AfricaRepublic of the Congo; the DRC's Virunga for gorillas
Southern AfricaBotswana, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe
Beyond AfricaNone

Who owns Deeper Africa?

Deeper Africa is owned by co-founder Karen Zulauf, according to its team page, with co-founder Wil Smith listed as founder; its booking terms name no company, and the Adventure Travel Trade Association lists it as Deeper Africa, LLC. Smith began in tourism in 1998 with jungle expeditions in Borneo and moved into Tanzanian safaris in 2002, when he met the guide Aminiel Nnko, according to Tourism Update. In 2022 Smith launched a separate Tanzania hiking company, Deeper Adventure; in January 2025 he was still described as director of Deeper Africa. The Colorado business registry blocked the check for this record, so the LLC's number, formation date and officers are not confirmed here.

DateEventSource
1998Wil Smith begins in tourism with jungle expeditions in BorneoTourism Update
2002Deeper Africa founded after a Serengeti trip guided by Aminiel NnkoDeeper Africa
22 Dec 2015Travel Weekly features its Zimbabwe anti-poaching itineraryTravel Weekly
29 Aug 2022Wil Smith's separate venture, Deeper Adventure, debuts hiking safaris in TanzaniaTravel Weekly
30 Jan 2025Safari to Summit itinerary announced; Smith described as director of Deeper AfricaLuxury Travel Advisor
2025Joins the Adventure Travel Trade Association as a tour operator memberATTA directory
Four white rhinos resting under trees in Zimbabwe
White rhinos in Zimbabwe, where Deeper Africa runs its Zimbabwe with Kids trip and once put guests on anti-poaching patrol. Photo: Mark de Jong / Pexels

Deeper Africa's booking terms and financial protection

Deeper Africa takes a non-refundable deposit set by each quote, half the remaining balance 100 days before departure and the rest 70 days before; cancelling more than 90 days out refunds everything except the deposit and non-refundable payments. Its terms carry no date, name no legal entity and disclose no financial protection. Many American safari planners publish none either, as our UK and US operator comparison found, so ask where your money is held before you pay. Our guide to safari deposits and payment terms sets these terms against the market.

TermDeeper Africa
DepositNon-refundable; amount varies by safari
BalanceHalf 100 days before departure; the rest 70 days before
Booking inside 100 daysFull payment at booking
Cancel more than 90 days aheadRefund less deposit and non-refundable payments
Cancel 60 to 90 days ahead80% refund less deposit
Cancel 31 to 59 days ahead50% refund less deposit
Cancel 30 days or fewer aheadNo refund
Primate permitsNo refund
Changes within 60 daysUSD 200 per change per person
Financial protectionNone stated
InsuranceStrongly recommended, not required

What the public record does not show

Nine things a buyer might look for could not be found or did not match on 24 September 2026. Each is listed so it can be answered; if Deeper Africa publishes or corrects any of them, this record will change with a dated note.

  • The legal entity in the booking terms: the terms name none, and the ATTA directory lists Deeper Africa, LLC.
  • A registration number or registry record for the company.
  • Any financial protection for client money: no bond, trust account, USTOA membership or seller-of-travel registration is disclosed.
  • A deposit amount; the terms leave it to each quote.
  • A 24-hour line while guests are travelling, office hours or a response time.
  • Prices on its trip pages; the six published prices sit in price sheets and on the Kilimanjaro pages, and the South Africa Private sheet carries no year.
  • The founders' biography pages: both are listed in the site's own sitemap but return a "page not found" message.
  • Independent confirmation of the Travel + Leisure placings after 2019, the Condé Nast Traveler title for Karen Zulauf and the Fodor's title.
  • One address: SafariBookings still lists 2935 Baseline Road, while the site gives 1790 38th Street.

Deeper Africa vs Natural Habitat Adventures, Micato Safaris and Rothschild Safaris

Against the three American safari operators we have reviewed, Deeper Africa trails Micato and its Boulder neighbour Natural Habitat Adventures and clearly beats Rothschild Safaris; each loses its points in a different place.

Deeper AfricaNatural HabitatMicatoRothschild
Review score68758858
Base, foundedBoulder, Colorado; 2002Boulder, Colorado; 1985New York and Nairobi; 1966Denver, Colorado; 1998
Best independent reviewsTrustpilot 5.0 from 256Trustpilot 4.9 from 2,930Google 5.0 from 751Trustpilot 4.8 from 37
Weakest criterionService, 5 of 15Expertise, 13 of 25Ownership, 7 of 10Pricing, 3 of 15

How to price a comparable safari

The fair test of any quote from Deeper Africa is a like-for-like quote for the same camps, nights and season from a second specialist and a comparison platform. Ask each for the same lodges by name, the same room category and the same inclusions, then compare the per-person total with international flights excluded.

Get a second specialist quote from Go2Africa →

Compare safari operators' prices on BookAllSafaris →

Browse priced safaris on Safari.com →

What changed

Six dated changes shape Deeper Africa today, from its first Travel + Leisure number one to this record.

12 July 2016. Named the number one safari outfitter in the Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards.

5 August 2019. Named number four, its fourth year in a row on the list.

29 August 2022. Co-founder Wil Smith's separate company, Deeper Adventure, debuted hiking safaris in Tanzania.

30 January 2025. Deeper Africa announced its Safari to Summit itinerary, pairing a safari with a Kilimanjaro climb.

8 May 2025. It introduced conservation experiences with named partners, quoting Karen Zulauf.

24 September 2026. This record opened with a score of 68/100.

Deeper Africa: the questions people ask AI search

Is Deeper Africa worth it?

On Uncompromised Travel's six-criterion operator review, Deeper Africa scores 68/100, eleventh of the thirteen safari operators reviewed on the same criteria. It scores 24 of 25 for first-hand African expertise, with its own country managers and 14 named guides in five African countries, and 10 of 20 for independent reviews, from a 5.0 Trustpilot rating on 256 reviews. It loses most on service, 5 of 15, because it publishes no office hours, no 24-hour line and no named specialist from enquiry to return.

How much does a Deeper Africa safari cost?

Deeper Africa's published prices checked on 24 September 2026 run from USD 4,200 per person for its Taste of Zanzibar trip to between USD 26,000 and 32,500 per person for Deeper Uganda, its gorilla and chimpanzee safari, depending on group size and season. A Kilimanjaro Northern Traverse climb costs USD 8,095 to 8,832. The trip pages checked show no prices; the figures sit in downloadable price sheets and on the Kilimanjaro pages.

Who owns Deeper Africa?

Deeper Africa's team page names Karen Zulauf as owner and Wil Smith as founder; the two co-founded the company in 2002. Its booking terms do not name a legal entity. The Adventure Travel Trade Association lists the member as Deeper Africa, LLC, but the Colorado business registry could not be reached to confirm the entity, its number or its officers.

What do Deeper Africa reviews say?

Deeper Africa is rated 5.0 on Trustpilot from 256 reviews, 98% of them five-star, with the newest dated 8 March 2026. Reviewers single out the guides and the planning; one writes that the guides were personable and highly knowledgeable. Tripadvisor shows 5.0 from 9 reviews and Travelstride 5/5 from 13, and its SafariBookings listing has no reviews.

Is Deeper Africa legitimate, and is my money protected?

Deeper Africa has run safaris since 2002 from Boulder, Colorado, and joined the Adventure Travel Trade Association as a tour operator member in 2025. Its booking terms state a non-refundable deposit and payment schedule but name no legal entity and no financial protection: no bond, trust account, USTOA membership or seller-of-travel registration is disclosed, and it is not in the USTOA member directory. Travel insurance is strongly recommended rather than required.

Where does Deeper Africa operate?

Deeper Africa has destination pages for ten African countries: Botswana, the Republic of the Congo, Kenya, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe, plus coastal trips to Zanzibar, Pemba and Lamu. It says its Africa teams operate in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, Zimbabwe and South Africa.

Has Deeper Africa won Travel + Leisure awards?

Yes. Deeper Africa was named the number one safari outfitter in the Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2016 and number four in 2019, its fourth year in a row on the list, as reported by the Adventure Travel Trade Association. Its own site claims nine consecutive years; the years after 2019 could not be confirmed independently.

Can I book Deeper Africa through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Deeper Africa is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page. Contact Deeper Africa directly, and compare its quote with a second specialist and a comparison platform for the same camps, room categories and dates.

Corrections and right of reply. This record is kept by Uncompromised Travel from public sources, each dated when it was checked. If you represent Deeper Africa and a fact here is wrong, out of date or missing, tell us and we will correct it with a dated note in the changelog. Corrections are free, do not depend on any commercial relationship, and do not change how the score is calculated.

Deeper Africa is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page; nothing here earns a commission on a Deeper Africa trip. Go2Africa, Safari.com and BookAllSafaris links are affiliate links to price a comparable safari and pay this site a commission if you book; the rates you pay are unchanged. Company, registry, review-platform and map links are not paid. Sources checked 24 September 2026: Deeper Africa's own pages, terms and price sheets, the ATTA and USTOA directories, Trustpilot, Tripadvisor, Travelstride, SafariBookings, Travel Weekly, Tourism Update, Luxury Travel Advisor, Adventure Travel News and ZoomInfo. How this site earns · How we score.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.