Stays · Hotel brand records 2026
By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 73/100Verified 26 September 2026
St. Regis is sixteenth of twenty brands on our luxury hotel brand hierarchy, at 73 out of 100: a Marriott International brand with 66 hotels and 14,241 rooms open at year-end 2025 by Marriott's own count, no St. Regis-specific leader named on any page we opened, and a butler service The St. Regis New York promises its guests but no page we opened states for every St. Regis hotel. This record is the evidence file behind that score. It sets out what St. Regis and Marriott publish about the brand, how Forbes Travel Guide and the MICHELIN Guide rate the St. Regis hotels we could read, what could not be found, and where our own pages and St. Regis's figures disagree.
Verified 26 September 2026 · st-regis.marriott.com (homepage, culture, history and heritage, hotel directory, residences) · marriott.com (brand page, The St. Regis New York, credit cards page) · Marriott International's investor site and 2025 Form 10-K · Forbes Travel Guide · the MICHELIN Guide · our luxury hotel brand hierarchy of 7 September 2026
Is this your company? Correct a fact. St. Regis can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.
St. Regis scores 73 out of 100, sixteenth of twenty brands: 12 of 20 for rate band, 18 of 25 for consistency across the portfolio, 16 of 20 for service depth, 12 of 15 for food and drink and 15 of 20 for privacy and scale. The points are the luxury hotel brand hierarchy's of 7 September 2026, carried unchanged; under each criterion is what we could read on 26 September 2026. Two claims on our own pages go further than what we could read: our ultra-luxury comparison gives St. Regis a portfolio of 50 or more properties, fewer than Marriott's own count of 66, and describes butler service reaching every guest around the clock, which The St. Regis New York's page bears out for that hotel but no page we opened states for every St. Regis hotel.
| Criterion | Points | Out of | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rate band | 12 | 20 | No St. Regis page we opened prints a rate outside booking. The hierarchy places St. Regis in its luxury-at-scale band, EUR 400 to 1,000 a night. |
| Consistency across the portfolio | 18 | 25 | Marriott's 2025 annual report counts 66 St. Regis hotels with 14,241 rooms at the end of 2025. The MICHELIN Guide lists 52 and gives Keys to 25: Two at Rome and Bora Bora, One at 23; New York, Venice, Aspen and the Maldives have none. Forbes Travel Guide rates St. Regis Rome, Hong Kong and Bal Harbour Five-Star and Venice, Aspen, Bora Bora and Washington DC Four-Star, and Marriott says The St. Regis New York holds a 2026 Forbes Five-Star award. |
| Service depth | 16 | 20 | St. Regis describes its Butler Service as 'discreet, personalized, and anticipatory attention down to the finest detail'; The St. Regis New York promises guests 'the careful attention of a personal butler', with a butler 'accessible at any hour via email'. No page we opened states the same for every St. Regis hotel. |
| Food and drink | 12 | 15 | L'Envol at The St. Regis Hong Kong holds Two MICHELIN Stars (MICHELIN Guide); St. Regis says its New York bartender Fernand Petiot created the Bloody Mary there in 1934. |
| Privacy and scale | 15 | 20 | Rooms by the MICHELIN Guide: Maldives Vommuli 77, Bora Bora 90, Florence 99, Hong Kong 129, Rome 161, New York 238 and Macao 400. Marriott's 14,241 rooms across 66 hotels average about 216. |
| Total | 73 | 100 | Luxury hotel brand hierarchy score of 7 September 2026, carried unchanged; evidence read 26 September 2026. |
Marriott publishes who owns St. Regis, where the parent company is registered, and how many St. Regis properties and rooms it counted at year-end 2025; St. Regis's own pages add its history and its butler service, but no St. Regis-specific leader, no room rate outside booking, and no single sentence giving both a hotel and a country total. Of the outside ratings we could read, the MICHELIN Guide gives a Key to 25 of the 52 St. Regis hotels it lists, and Forbes Travel Guide rates three hotels Five-Star and four more Four-Star.

The record holds 18 facts about St. Regis, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a rating body such as Forbes Travel Guide or the MICHELIN Guide, a registry or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.
| Attribute | Value | Source · grade |
|---|---|---|
| Brand | St. Regis Hotels & Resorts, a Marriott International luxury brand; St. Regis Residences and St. Regis Residence Club are named as separate categories on Marriott's own pages | St. Regis brand page · A; Residences · A |
| Owner | Marriott International, Inc. (Nasdaq: MAR); St. Regis is listed as one line in the Brand Portfolio table of Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K, with no separate owner line on a St. Regis page we opened | Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K · A |
| Head office | 7750 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, Maryland 20814, USA (map); this is Marriott International's own head office, not a separate St. Regis address | Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K · A |
| Founded | 1904, when Colonel John Jacob Astor IV introduced The St. Regis New York (map); its head bartender, Fernand Petiot, created the Bloody Mary there in 1934 | History and heritage · A |
| Leaders | No St. Regis brand president or global leader is named on any page we opened, and Marriott's own executive-team page returned no result; Marriott's President and Chief Executive Officer, named on its investor site, is Anthony Capuano | Marriott investor site · A |
| Stock listing | Nasdaq: MAR (Marriott International, Inc.); St. Regis itself carries no separate listing | Marriott investor site · A |
| Hotels and countries | St. Regis's own pages give two figures, "more than 40 St. Regis Hotels & Resorts around the world" on a legacy history passage and "Over 60 Hotels Worldwide" on its hotel directory, and Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K a third, 66 properties and 14,241 rooms at year-end 2025; no page states a matching country total | History and heritage · A; Hotel directory · A; Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K · A |
| Residences | St. Regis's residences page names 19 properties, from New York to Bali; no total count is stated | Residences · A |
| Pipeline | Not stated; Marriott's hotel development page for St. Regis gives only a brand tagline, with no 2026 or 2027 project named | Hotel development, St. Regis · A |
| Published rates | None found outside booking; The St. Regis New York's own overview page names no rate | The St. Regis New York · A |
| Forbes Travel Guide | Five-Star: St. Regis Rome, Hong Kong and Bal Harbour Resort. Four-Star: Venice, Aspen, Bora Bora Resort and Washington D.C. Marriott separately states that The St. Regis New York holds a 2026 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award; Forbes Travel Guide's own page for it redirected to the Forbes home page | Rome, Hong Kong, Bal Harbour Resort, Venice, Aspen, Bora Bora Resort, Washington D.C. · B; Marriott, The St. Regis New York · A |
| MICHELIN Keys | 25 of the 52 St. Regis hotels the MICHELIN Guide's search returned hold a Key: Two at St. Regis Rome and St. Regis Bora Bora, One at 23 more, including Hong Kong, Florence and Macao; St. Regis New York, Venice, Aspen, Washington D.C. and the Maldives Vommuli Resort hold none | MICHELIN Guide, St. Regis search · B; Rome, Bora Bora · B |
| Restaurants | L'Envol, chef Olivier Elzer's restaurant inside The St. Regis Hong Kong, holds Two MICHELIN Stars; no company-wide count of starred restaurants is published on a St. Regis page we opened | L'Envol, MICHELIN Guide · B |
| Rooms at named hotels | Rome 161 rooms and suites (132 rooms, 29 suites); Venice 169, Aspen 179 and Hong Kong 129 (Forbes Travel Guide); Bora Bora 90, Florence 99, New York 238 and Macao 400 (MICHELIN Guide) | The St. Regis Rome · A; Venice, Aspen, Hong Kong · B; Bora Bora, Florence, New York, Macao · B |
| Service claims | St. Regis describes its Butler Service as "discreet, personalized, and anticipatory attention down to the finest detail". The St. Regis New York's own page promises guests "the careful attention of a personal butler", with a butler "accessible at any hour via email", and check-in at 4pm for guests 21 or older; no page we opened states the same butler service for every St. Regis hotel | Culture · A; The St. Regis New York · A |
| Loyalty and booking perks | St. Regis is a Marriott Bonvoy brand; Bonvoy's own terms exclude St. Regis Residences entirely from the programme and give St. Regis Residence Club properties Elite Night Credit only. No preferred-partner or travel-adviser programme, and no Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts or Virtuoso participation, was found on any page we opened | Marriott Bonvoy terms · A; St. Regis brand page · A |
| Legal and regulatory events | None found; news.marriott.com returned no readable content on every path we tried on 26 September 2026 | Attempted, unreadable · A |
| Our other pages | No. 16 of 20 on the hierarchy at 73; 13/100 on our branded residences index, which scores residence programmes, not hotels | Hierarchy · B; Branded residences index · B |
St. Regis is a Marriott International brand: Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K lists it in its Brand Portfolio table, and no St. Regis-specific president or global leader could be found on any page we opened.
Marriott International, Inc. (Nasdaq: MAR) is registered at 7750 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, Maryland 20814 (map), the address on the cover of its 2025 Form 10-K, where St. Regis appears as one line among Marriott's owned, operated and licensed brands: 66 properties and 14,241 rooms open at year-end 2025. Marriott's investor site names Anthony Capuano as President and Chief Executive Officer; no St. Regis brand-specific leader is named on any page we opened, and Marriott's own executive-team page returned no result when we tried it.
St. Regis's own pages describe its history rather than its ownership: St. Regis's history and heritage page says Colonel John Jacob Astor IV introduced The St. Regis New York in 1904 (map), and that its head bartender, Fernand Petiot, created the Bloody Mary there in 1934. Our own ultra-luxury comparison gives St. Regis a portfolio of 50 or more properties and describes its Butler Service as reaching every guest around the clock; Marriott's own count is higher, 66 properties, and while The St. Regis New York's page promises its guests a personal butler "accessible at any hour via email", no page we opened states the same for every St. Regis hotel.
St. Regis gives two counts on its own pages, "more than 40" on a legacy history passage and "Over 60 Hotels Worldwide" on its hotel directory, and Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K a third, 66 properties and 14,241 rooms at year-end 2025; no page states a matching country total. Its hotel directory names a handful of hotels rather than listing all 66 in one place; five of them, read on 26 September 2026, are below, with the MICHELIN Guide status of each.
| Hotel | Where | MICHELIN Keys |
|---|---|---|
| St. Regis Saadiyat Island Resort | Abu Dhabi, UAE | No Key |
| St. Regis Florence | Florence, Italy | One Key |
| St. Regis Tianjin | Tianjin, China | Not listed |
| St. Regis Deer Valley | Deer Valley, Utah, USA | No Key |
| St. Regis Bora Bora | Bora Bora, French Polynesia | Two Keys |
St. Regis's own residences page names 19 St. Regis Residences properties, from New York to Bali, with no total count stated; how branded residence programmes compare is scored in our own branded residences index, where St. Regis holds 13 out of 100 on a scale for residences, not hotels. Marriott's hotel development page for St. Regis names no 2026 or 2027 opening.
Forbes Travel Guide rates three St. Regis hotels Five-Star and four Four-Star, and the MICHELIN Guide gives a Key to 25 of the 52 St. Regis hotels it lists, two of them Two Keys.
| Hotel | Forbes Travel Guide | MICHELIN Keys | Rooms |
|---|---|---|---|
| St. Regis Rome | Five-Star | Two | 161 |
| St. Regis Hong Kong | Five-Star | One | 129 |
| St. Regis Bal Harbour Resort | Five-Star | Not listed | Not read |
| St. Regis Venice | Four-Star | No Key | 169 |
| St. Regis Aspen | Four-Star | No Key | 179 |
| St. Regis Bora Bora Resort | Four-Star | Two | 90 |
| St. Regis Washington D.C. | Four-Star | No Key | Not read |
| St. Regis New York | Unreadable; Marriott states a 2026 Five-Star Award | No Key | 238 |
Forbes Travel Guide grades hotels Recommended, Four-Star or Five-Star; its own page for The St. Regis New York redirected to the Forbes home page, so the Five-Star claim for it here rests on Marriott's own page alone. The MICHELIN Guide's search for St. Regis returned 52 hotels on 26 September 2026, and 25 of them hold a Key. L'Envol, the restaurant inside The St. Regis Hong Kong, separately holds Two MICHELIN Stars, and St. Regis's history page says its New York bartender, Fernand Petiot, created the Bloody Mary there in 1934.
St. Regis is a Marriott Bonvoy brand, but Marriott's own Bonvoy terms exclude St. Regis Residences from the loyalty programme entirely and give St. Regis Residence Club properties Elite Night Credit only; no preferred-partner or travel-adviser scheme, and no Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts or Virtuoso participation, was found on any page we opened.
Marriott's own Bonvoy terms list "St. Regis, all locations except for" two categories: St. Regis Residences, which do not participate in the loyalty programme at all, and St. Regis Residence Club properties, which earn Elite Night Credit only. No page names a St. Regis preferred-partner programme, and no page we opened confirmed or denied St. Regis's participation in American Express Fine Hotels + Resorts or Virtuoso. Our own Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso guide groups St. Regis under Marriott's wider Luxury Collection adviser perks rather than naming a St. Regis-specific one, and our best credit cards for hotel elite status fast-track guide separately names a USD 100 property credit at St. Regis stays of two nights or more, which Marriott's credit cards page confirms for the Brilliant card: up to USD 100 "for qualifying charges at The Ritz-Carlton or St. Regis when you book direct using a special rate for a two-night minimum stay".
For a traveller who already holds status, that is the trade: Marriott Bonvoy points and elite nights earn at most St. Regis hotels, unlike Aman or other brands that run no chain programme at all. How the top tiers compare chain to chain is set out in Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist and the hotel status match guide; general card comparisons are in our guide to the best luxury travel credit cards and, head to head, in Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve.
St. Regis suits a traveller who wants a well-known name in a city or resort of their choice and is happy to earn Marriott Bonvoy points along the way; it suits less well anyone who wants a single global room count, a rate before enquiring, or a butler service stated for every hotel.
Of the room counts we read, the smallest is 77 at The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort, by the MICHELIN Guide, and the largest 400 at The St. Regis Macao. Two of its named hotels, Aspen and Deer Valley, are mountain resorts; mountain trips more widely are weighed in best ski destinations. Several more, including Rome, Venice, Hong Kong and Washington D.C., are city hotels; city trips more widely are weighed in best city break destinations.
St. Regis describes its Butler Service as "discreet, personalized, and anticipatory attention down to the finest detail," and The St. Regis New York's page calls it "a treasured hallmark of the St. Regis hotel experience," promising guests there "the careful attention of a personal butler," with a butler "accessible at any hour via email" and check-in at 4pm for guests 21 or older. Our own ultra-luxury comparison goes further, describing butler service for every guest around the clock; no page we opened states that for every St. Regis hotel. How St. Regis's service compares with Aman, Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental and Ritz-Carlton is set out in ultra-luxury hotel service, compared.
Which brand, chain status, how to book, branded residences and a close rival are the next decisions, and each has its own page here.
| Decision | What matters | Where we cover it |
|---|---|---|
| Which brand | Twenty brands scored on the same five criteria, and five compared on service. | Luxury hotel brand hierarchy; Ultra-luxury hotel service, compared |
| Chain status | Marriott Bonvoy points and elite nights earn at most St. Regis hotels. | Hilton vs Marriott vs Hyatt top tiers; Status match guide |
| How to book | Direct, an adviser, or a card with a property credit; the perks differ. | Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso; Best credit cards for hotel elite status |
| Branded residences | St. Regis Residences are excluded from Marriott Bonvoy entirely. | Branded residences index |
| A close rival | Park Hyatt scores two points higher, on the same luxury-at-scale tier. | Park Hyatt record |
St. Regis appears on eight Uncompromised Travel pages with a position or a figure, and holds a numbered rank on one of them.
| Page | Position | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Luxury hotel brand hierarchy | No. 16 of 20, 73/100 | Names the owner as Marriott International and prints no separate hotel count for St. Regis, where Marriott's own 2025 Form 10-K counts 66 properties and 14,241 rooms at year-end 2025; says St. Regis "sells butler service in every room", which The St. Regis New York's page bears out for that hotel, though no page we opened states it for every St. Regis hotel |
| Ultra-luxury hotel service, compared | Marriott Bonvoy, 50 or more properties, from about USD 700 a night | Gives fewer than Marriott's own count of 66 properties at year-end 2025, and St. Regis's own hotel directory separately says "Over 60 Hotels Worldwide"; also says St. Regis Butler Service is offered to every guest around the clock, which The St. Regis New York's page bears out for that hotel (a personal butler "accessible at any hour via email"), though no St. Regis page we opened states it for every hotel |
| Hotel elite benefits compared in 2026 | Nightly Upgrade Awards up to three days before arrival at St. Regis, not scored | Says Marriott confirms these "up to five days before arrival (three at EDITION, Ritz-Carlton and St. Regis)"; consistent with St. Regis taking part in Marriott Bonvoy, though the timing is not printed on a St. Regis page we opened |
| Best credit cards for hotel elite status fast-track | A USD 100 property credit at St. Regis stays of two nights or more, not scored | Matches Marriott's card page, which gives the Brilliant card up to USD 100 at St. Regis or The Ritz-Carlton for a two-night minimum stay booked direct at a special rate |
| Branded residences index | 13/100, scoring residences | Says St. Regis Residences operate under licence and that the former Trump International Hotel and Tower Toronto was re-flagged The St. Regis Residences Toronto by August 2017, a history not stated on any St. Regis page we opened |
| Maldives overwater villa guide | Butler service and whale-shark architecture, not scored | Matches St. Regis's butler-service claim; The St. Regis Maldives Vommuli Resort holds no MICHELIN Key |
| Marriott Bonvoy Ambassador Elite in 2026 | Names St. Regis among brands where upgrades go further toward suites, not scored | Consistent with St. Regis being a Marriott Bonvoy brand; not itself confirmed on a St. Regis page |
| Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso | Grouped under Marriott and Luxury Collection adviser perks, not scored | No St. Regis-specific preferred-partner or Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts programme was found on any page we opened |
The nearest alternatives on the same rubric are the other luxury-at-scale brands: Park Hyatt, The Ritz-Carlton and Waldorf Astoria, plus EDITION one tier below. The Ritz-Carlton and EDITION are also Marriott International brands.
| Brand | Score | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| Park Hyatt | 75 | Owned by Hyatt; its best rate guarantee matches a lower rate and adds 20% off or 5,000 World of Hyatt points |
| The Ritz-Carlton | 71 | Also a Marriott International brand, with a Reserve sub-brand of nine properties from Dorado Beach to Nujuma on the Red Sea |
| Waldorf Astoria | 69 | One of Hilton's luxury brands, earning Hilton Honors rather than Marriott Bonvoy points |
| EDITION | 64 | Also a Marriott International brand, envisioned with Ian Schrager, one tier below St. Regis in the hierarchy's lifestyle luxury band |
Seven things a guest would want could not be found or verified for St. Regis. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.
| Missing | Where we looked |
|---|---|
| A nightly rate for any hotel | The hotel directory, residences and named hotel overview pages, none of which prints a rate outside booking |
| A brand-specific leader or president | St. Regis's culture and history pages, and Marriott's own leadership page, which named only the group's own executives |
| A country total to go with any hotel count | Three counts on St. Regis and Marriott pages, none paired with a country figure |
| A readable Forbes page for The St. Regis New York | Forbes Travel Guide's own page, which redirected to the Forbes home page |
| A preferred-partner or Amex FHR programme | The booking and culture pages, which name Marriott Bonvoy but no adviser scheme |
| A 2026 or 2027 opening pipeline | The hotel development page for St. Regis, which gave only a brand tagline |
| News or legal and regulatory events, 2025 to 2026 | The Marriott press room, which returned no readable content |
St. Regis's own pages carry no dated news for 2025 or 2026; what changed is what could be read on 26 September 2026: Marriott's own count of 66 properties, a fresh sweep of MICHELIN Keys, and a stated Forbes award for The St. Regis New York.
| When | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| By 26 September 2026 | Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K counts 66 St. Regis properties and 14,241 rooms at year-end 2025, more than the "Over 60 Hotels Worldwide" on St. Regis's own hotel directory | Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K |
| By 26 September 2026 | The MICHELIN Guide gives a Key to 25 of the 52 St. Regis hotels it lists, two of them Two Keys: St. Regis Rome and St. Regis Bora Bora | MICHELIN Guide, St. Regis Rome; Bora Bora listing |
| By 26 September 2026 | Marriott states The St. Regis New York holds a 2026 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award | Marriott, The St. Regis New York |
Marriott International, Inc. (Nasdaq: MAR). St. Regis is listed as one line in the Brand Portfolio table of Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K; no St. Regis-specific leader is named on any page we opened, only Marriott's President and Chief Executive Officer, Anthony Capuano. It scores 73 out of 100 on this record, sixteenth of twenty brands.
St. Regis's own pages give two figures: "more than 40" on a legacy history page and "Over 60 Hotels Worldwide" on its hotel directory. Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K instead counts 66 properties and 14,241 rooms at year-end 2025, and no page states a matching country total.
Yes, Marriott Bonvoy. Marriott's own Bonvoy terms exclude St. Regis Residences from the programme entirely and give St. Regis Residence Club properties Elite Night Credit only.
No St. Regis page we opened prints a rate outside booking. Our luxury hotel brand hierarchy places it in the luxury-at-scale band, EUR 400 to 1,000 a night.
25 of the 52 St. Regis hotels the MICHELIN Guide's search returned hold a Key: Two at St. Regis Rome and St. Regis Bora Bora, and One at 23 more, including Hong Kong, Florence and Macao. St. Regis New York, Venice, Aspen and the Maldives Vommuli Resort hold none.
Three: St. Regis Rome, Hong Kong and Bal Harbour Resort. Four more, Venice, Aspen, Bora Bora Resort and Washington D.C., are rated Four-Star, and Marriott states The St. Regis New York holds a 2026 Forbes Travel Guide Five Star Award, though Forbes Travel Guide's own page for it redirected to the Forbes home page.
It varies widely: 77 at the Maldives Vommuli Resort, 90 at Bora Bora Resort, 129 at Hong Kong, 161 at Rome, 169 at Venice, 179 at Aspen, 238 at New York and 400 at Macao.
The St. Regis New York, introduced by Colonel John Jacob Astor IV in 1904. Its head bartender, Fernand Petiot, created the Bloody Mary there in 1934.
St. Regis has no separate head office of its own. Marriott International's head office, 7750 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, Maryland 20814, is the address on the cover of Marriott's 2025 Form 10-K.
On our luxury hotel brand hierarchy, Park Hyatt scores 75 and St. Regis 73, both in the luxury-at-scale tier. Park Hyatt leads on consistency across the portfolio, 21 against 18; St. Regis leads on service depth, 16 against 15.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 26 September 2026 · facts verified 26 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.