Expeditions · Company records 2026
By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 49/100Verified 26 September 2026
Adventure Consultants scores 49 out of 100 as a company record: the Wanaka based Everest and Seven Summits specialist, founded in 1991 by Rob Hall and Gary Ball and now owned by Guy Cotter, prices most of its climbs and names its owner's own summit record, but publishes no financial protection, no independent review and no 24-hour number. This record covers the company behind the climbs: who owns it, what a climb costs, the booking and cancellation terms, its safety facts as printed, reviews and the gaps. Our Everest and Seven Summits indexes linked below rank the climbs themselves; this page scores the company.
Verified 26 September 2026 · adventureconsultants.com history, terms, privacy, guide and expedition pages · USTOA's member directory · Trustpilot (checked, no listing)
Is this your company? Correct a fact. Adventure Consultants can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.
Adventure Consultants scores 49 out of 100: strong marks for planning depth and pricing, held to 7 of 20 on the ground and to zero on reviews and financial protection. Our Seven Summits operator index ties Adventure Consultants for first place at 78, because that index scores what each climb includes and discloses: price per peak, guide ratios, oxygen and its summit record. This record scores what a buyer can check before paying, its terms, financial protection and independent reviews, which is a different and lower bar.
| Criterion | Points | Out of | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Planning depth | 22 | 25 | Guide profiles name its guides with their qualifications and records, such as Rob Smith, an IFMGA mountain and ski guide with Everest summits from 2013 to 2024 (8 of 8). Owner and chief executive Guy Cotter, an IFMGA guide since 1990, lists five Everest summits (4 of 4). 16 countries plus Greenland and Antarctica, from Nepal and Kyrgyzstan to Chile and Italy (4 of 5). Itineraries run day by day but name no hotel, only a "hotel in Arusha" and the like (3 of 5). Trading since 1991 (3 of 3). |
| On-the-ground cover | 7 | 20 | Only the office number, +64 3 443 8711, with no hours and no 24-hour line (0 of 7). Its own Sherpa team in Nepal and its Wanaka base for New Zealand climbs; no office in the other regions it sells (5 of 8). "Our expeditions and treks are operated by companionable world class mountain guides", with no statement that its own guides lead every trip (2 of 5). |
| Pricing transparency | 20 | 20 | More than ten trips priced with 2026-27 or 2027 dates, such as Aconcagua at USD 9,650, Vinson at USD 56,600, Cho Oyu at USD 49,900 and Gasherbrum 2 at USD 46,500; some pages, such as Kilimanjaro and Island Peak, still show only past dates (8 of 8). Inclusions listed with each price (5 of 5). US dollars, euros or New Zealand dollars with dates (4 of 4). Five payment schedules, each with a deposit, a balance date and cancellation charges (3 of 3). |
| Review evidence | 0 | 20 | No listing found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io (0 of 12). No second platform (0 of 4). No dated independent review (0 of 4). |
| Financial protection | 0 | 15 | Home market New Zealand, which has no national scheme. No bond, trust account or TAANZ membership stated (0 of 15). |
| Total | 49 | 100 | Company record score, 26 September 2026. |
Adventure Consultants publishes what a Seven Summits buyer checks first: a price and date on most climbs, a named owner with his own summit record, and a five schedule cancellation policy depending on the trip. It does not publish a bond, a trust account or a single independent review, and its Sherpa team, though employed, is not named on its own page.

The record holds 19 facts about Adventure Consultants, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a registry, review platform, awarding body or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.
| Attribute | Value | Source · grade |
|---|---|---|
| Company | Adventure Consultants Limited, rendered "Adventure Consultants Ltd" in its terms; no company or registration number published on the site | Terms and conditions · A; Privacy policy · A |
| Registered or head office | Unit 5, 12 Frederick Street, PO Box 739, Wanaka 9343, New Zealand (map) | Privacy policy · A |
| Founded | 1991 in Christchurch, as Hall and Ball Adventure Consultants, by Rob Hall and Gary Ball | History · A |
| Owner and leaders | Guy Cotter, owner and chief executive; his own profile states "Director/CEO 1996-Present" while the History page says he "purchased the company in 1997" | Guy Cotter · A; History · A |
| Guides | The Everest page names Rob Smith as expedition leader with Ang Dorjee Sherpa and JB Chandesris; Rob Smith's own guide profile names him an IFMGA mountain and ski guide with Everest summits from 2013 to 2024; the Our Guides page lists role categories, such as International Mountain Guide, more than individual names | Everest page · A; Rob Smith · A; Our Guides · A |
| Presence | A Wanaka head office for New Zealand climbs and an employed Sherpa team in Nepal, not individually named; no stated office or partner for Aconcagua, Denali or Kilimanjaro | Head office · A; Sherpa team · A |
| Phone and support | +64 3 443 8711, with no hours stated and no 24-hour or emergency number found | Contact us · A |
| Climbs and countries | About 70 trip and course pages across 16 countries plus Antarctica and the Arctic, from the Seven Summits to Nepal trekking peaks and guiding courses in New Zealand and Europe | Seven Summits pages · A |
| Prices | Everest Fast Track USD 95,000, Aconcagua USD 9,650, Denali USD 12,650, Vinson USD 56,600, Carstensz Pyramid USD 26,900; Kilimanjaro and Island Peak show only past dates | Everest page · A; Aconcagua · A |
| Deposit and balance | Five separate schedules by climb category, each with its own deposit and balance date | Terms and conditions · A |
| Cancellation | On Everest, half the October deposit instalment is refunded if you cancel before 20 January and nothing after; other climbs scale by days before departure | Terms and conditions · A |
| Financial protection | No bond, trust account or TAANZ membership stated; absent from USTOA's member directory; New Zealand has no national scheme for this kind of trip | Terms and conditions · A; USTOA · B |
| Reviews | No listing on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io; Trustpilot returns a 404 for this domain | Trustpilot · B |
| Safety facts as printed | High flow bottled oxygen, 1 litre a minute sleeping and 4 climbing, from Camp 2 on the summit push; a 1:4 Western guide ratio with 1:1 Sherpa support on summit day; a dedicated Base Camp doctor | Everest page · A |
| Memberships | Guides individually hold IFMGA or NZMGA qualifications; no company level TAANZ, USTOA or ATTA membership stated | Our Guides · A |
| Our other pages | Ties for first, 78/100, on our Seven Summits operator index; our Everest expedition operators index states 2027 dates for the same USD 83,000 Everest fare that Adventure Consultants' own site currently ties to a lapsed 2026 date | Seven Summits operator index · A; Everest expedition operators index · A |
| Marketing lead | None found; General Manager Caroline Ogle succeeded Suze Kelly in January 2024 | History · A |
| Track record | 419 successful Everest summits, listed expedition by expedition since 1990, a year before the company's own stated 1991 founding | Summit list · A |
| Awards | A personal award only: Guy Cotter, New Zealand Mountaineer of the Year 1997 | Guy Cotter · A |
Adventure Consultants is owned by Guy Cotter, an IFMGA guide who was the third guide on the company's first Everest expedition in 1992.
Adventure Consultants was founded in 1991 in Christchurch as Hall and Ball Adventure Consultants, by Rob Hall and Gary Ball, and later relocated to Wanaka. Cotter's own profile states his tenure as "Director/CEO 1996-Present", while the company's History page says he "purchased the company in 1997"; this record states both rather than choose one.
General Manager Caroline Ogle succeeded Suze Kelly, who had run operations for around three decades, in January 2024. No marketing lead is named on the pages read. How Adventure Consultants and the rest of the field are ranked on price and safety disclosure is in our Everest expedition operators index.
Adventure Consultants names some of its guides on individual climb pages, its owner holds an IFMGA qualification with five Everest summits, and its Sherpa team is employed but not named on its own page.
Guy Cotter, qualified as an IFMGA mountain and ski guide in 1990, has summited Everest five times, in 1992, 1997, 2006, 2007 and 2018, among other 8,000 metre peaks. The Everest expedition page names Rob Smith as expedition leader alongside Ang Dorjee Sherpa and JB Chandesris; Rob Smith's own guide profile names him an IFMGA mountain and ski guide with Everest summits from 2013 to 2024, though Ang Dorjee Sherpa and JB Chandesris carry no qualification stated there; the wider Our Guides page lists role categories, such as International Mountain Guide and NZMGA Assistant Mountain and Ski Guide, more than individual names.
Its Sherpa team page calls its Sherpas "an integral part of our operation" but names no individual, not even a sirdar. What a guided climb involves day to day is covered in our high-altitude trekking insurance guide.
Adventure Consultants prices climbs from USD 5,500 for Kilimanjaro to USD 114,500 for the Everest and Lhotse Fast Track combination, though several of its cheaper pages still show only past dates. All prices below were read on 26 September 2026 on Adventure Consultants' own expedition pages; only a current or future date counts toward this record's pricing score.
| Climb | Length | Dates shown | Price, per person |
|---|---|---|---|
| Everest Fast Track | 30 days | 27 April to 26 May 2027 | USD 95,000 |
| Everest and Lhotse, Fast Track | 30 days | 27 April to 26 May 2027 | USD 114,500 |
| Aconcagua | 19 days | 29 November to 17 December 2026 | USD 9,650 |
| Denali | 21 days | five departures, May to July 2027 | USD 12,650 |
| Vinson | 16 to 17 days | December 2026 to January 2027 | USD 56,600 |
| Carstensz Pyramid | 11 days | 14 to 24 October 2026 | USD 26,900 |
| Kilimanjaro | 9 or 13 days | 15 to 27 June 2025, already run | USD 5,500 |
| Elbrus | not stated | not stated | Pricing table shown, empty |
The standard Everest climb itself is priced at USD 83,000 for 54 days, but the only date shown against that fare, 7 April to 30 May 2026, had already run by this record's verified date; the Fast Track and combination fares above are the current forward prices on the same page. Island Peak shows three past departures, from 2024 to 2025, with no 2026 or 2027 date. General Everest cost bands across operators are in our Everest cost guide, and current Kilimanjaro routes and pricing in our Kilimanjaro routes and cost guide.
Adventure Consultants runs five separate deposit and cancellation schedules depending on the climb, and states no bond, trust account or industry scheme protecting a client's money.
| Climb category | Deposit and balance | Cancelling |
|---|---|---|
| All Everest expeditions | USD 15,000 deposit; balance in two instalments, 20 October the year before and 20 January the year of the trip | Half the 20 October instalment refunded if you cancel before 20 January; nothing refunded after that |
| European guided ascents, courses, ski and treks | EUR 500 deposit; full payment 60 days before departure | Lose the deposit outside 60 days; retain 50% of the fee inside 60 days; 75% inside 30 days; 100% inside 15 days |
| Denali, Gasherbrum 2, Antarctic and other Arctic climbs | Balance due 120 days before departure | Retain 50% of the balance inside 120 days; 100% inside 90 days |
| North Pole expeditions | Balance due 150 days before departure | Retain 50% of the balance inside 150 days; 100% inside 90 days |
| All other treks and international expeditions | Balance due 90 days before departure | Retain 50% of the balance inside 90 days; 100% inside 60 days |
Adventure Consultants states no bond, trust account or TAANZ membership anywhere on its site, and it is absent from USTOA's member directory; New Zealand has no national client money protection scheme for this kind of trip. How that compares with operators registered elsewhere is in our Seven Summits operator index.
Adventure Consultants publishes an office number with no stated hours and no separate 24-hour or emergency line, and instead promises regular dispatches from its guides and Base Camp staff.
Its only published number, +64 3 443 8711, carries no hours and no emergency label; the contact page adds only an email address and its Wanaka postal address. On Everest, it promises "regular dispatches for families and friends to follow your expedition updated daily by guides and Base Camp staff, and semi-hourly on summit day", plus Wi-Fi at Base Camp. Insurance for high-altitude evacuation is covered in our high-altitude trekking insurance guide.
Adventure Consultants prints an oxygen rate, a guide ratio and a Base Camp doctor for Everest, and a year by year summit count; these facts are reported on this page, not scored.
| Safety fact | As Adventure Consultants prints it | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Oxygen allocation | High flow bottled oxygen for all members: 1 litre a minute sleeping, 4 litres a minute climbing, from Camp 2 (Everest) | Everest page · A |
| Guide and Sherpa ratios | Everest: 1:4 Western guide ratio, 1:1 Sherpa to climber ratio on summit day. Denali: 1:3, or a 1:2 low ratio option. Aconcagua: 1:4 | Everest page · A; Denali page · A |
| Rescue and medical cover | A dedicated Base Camp doctor on Everest; no mandatory insurance level stated, only a recommendation to buy independent trip cancellation cover | Everest page · A; Terms and conditions · A |
| Summit or safety claims | 419 successful Everest summits, listed expedition by expedition since 1990 | Summit list · A |
These figures are as Adventure Consultants prints them; this record reports them and does not score them.
No independent review platform lists Adventure Consultants: it has no Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io listing that this record could find.
Searches on all four platforms turned up nothing under Adventure Consultants or adventureconsultants.com; Trustpilot returns a 404 for the domain, and a guessed Tripadvisor page loaded only an unrelated Queenstown attraction. Why reviews often collect on one platform rather than another is explained in our guide to review platforms.
Adventure Consultants suits climbers who want a New Zealand run Everest and Seven Summits specialist with a named owner and an employed Sherpa team, and who do not need financial protection or independent reviews to book.
Its range runs from Kilimanjaro and Aoraki, Mount Cook to Everest with Lhotse, plus a Nepal trekking peak programme and guiding courses in New Zealand and Europe. It suits less well a buyer who wants a stated 24-hour number, a bonded or insured booking, or a published review score before paying. Kilimanjaro operators built for solo climbers are compared in our best Kilimanjaro operators for solo climbers guide, and current routes and costs in our Kilimanjaro routes and cost guide.
Most Adventure Consultants fares exclude international flights and gateway city hotel nights, so paying the deposit, choosing a flight and insuring the climb are still the climber's own decisions.
| Decision | What matters for an Adventure Consultants climb | Where we cover it |
|---|---|---|
| Paying the deposit | The USD 15,000 Everest deposit is a large sum on one card, so Section 75 protection and the purchase cover that comes with the card matter. | Best luxury travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve |
| Reaching Kathmandu, Mendoza or Arusha | None of the Everest, Aconcagua or Kilimanjaro fares include the long-haul flight to the gateway city. | Best business class airlines; best first class airlines |
| Airport time | A long connection through Doha, Delhi or Dubai to Kathmandu is where a lounge pays for itself. | Credit cards with airport lounge access |
| A delayed or cancelled flight | A disrupted flight from a UK or EU airport can carry fixed compensation of up to 520 pounds or 600 euros, a separate claim from anything Adventure Consultants owes. | AirHelp vs ClaimCompass vs Skycop vs Flightright |
| Nights either side | Adventure Consultants names no Mendoza, Talkeetna or Arusha hotel, so a night either side of the climb is booked separately, and status still brings breakfast and late checkout. | Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist |
| Choosing the mountain and season | Aconcagua runs in the southern summer, Denali in the northern one, and Everest around the same six weeks every spring. | Mountain destinations guide; Everest cost guide |
Adventure Consultants appears on two Uncompromised Travel pages, tied for first on one of them.
| Page | Position | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Everest expedition operators index | Named, USD 83,000 | Our own page states 52 days from 9 April to 30 May 2027; Adventure Consultants' own site currently ties that same USD 83,000 fare to 7 April to 30 May 2026, a date that had already run by this record's verified date |
| Seven Summits operator index | Joint first, 78/100 | That index scores what each climb discloses; this record scores what a buyer can check before paying, which is why the two verdicts differ |
The closest alternatives are Climbing the Seven Summits, which ties Adventure Consultants on our Seven Summits index, Himalayan Experience for a fully protected Austrian scheme, International Mountain Guides for a dated review, and Alpine Ascents International on the closest score in the batch.
| Company | Record score | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| Climbing the Seven Summits | 41 | Ties Adventure Consultants at joint first on our Seven Summits index, but scores lower here for the same reasons: no financial protection or reviews published |
| Himalayan Experience | 55 | An Austrian insolvency scheme where Adventure Consultants has none, but names no guide or Sherpa at all |
| International Mountain Guides | 55 | A similarly priced Everest specialist with a Tripadvisor listing with two reviews, something Adventure Consultants lacks |
| Alpine Ascents International | 51 | The closest score in the batch: the same gaps in reviews and financial protection, from a Seattle base instead of Wanaka |
Six things a buyer would want could not be found or verified for Adventure Consultants. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.
| Missing | Where we looked |
|---|---|
| A company or registration number | Terms and conditions, privacy policy, NZ Companies Office |
| A number that answers at any hour | Contact us, privacy policy |
| A bond, trust account or TAANZ membership | Terms and conditions, USTOA's member directory |
| An independent review listing on any platform | Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo, Reviews.io |
| Named local partners or hotels for Aconcagua, Denali or Kilimanjaro | Aconcagua, Denali and Kilimanjaro pages |
| A current, not lapsed date for Kilimanjaro or Island Peak | Kilimanjaro page; Island Peak page |
Adventure Consultants changed its general manager in January 2024 and raised its Aconcagua fare, with a new Fast Track option, between two reads in September 2026.
| When | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| January 2024 | Caroline Ogle appointed General Manager, succeeding Suze Kelly after around three decades in the role | History |
| 22 to 26 September 2026 | Aconcagua's published fare rises from USD 8,650 to USD 9,650, and a new 14 day Fast Track option appears on the same page | Aconcagua page |
Guy Cotter owns and runs Adventure Consultants. His own profile states his tenure as "Director/CEO 1996-Present", while the company's history page says he purchased it in 1997; this record states both rather than choose one.
The standard Everest climb is priced at USD 83,000, though the only date shown against that fare, 7 April to 30 May 2026, had already run by this record's verified date. The Fast Track is USD 95,000 and the Everest and Lhotse Fast Track combination is USD 114,500, both for 27 April to 26 May 2027.
Everest includes a 1:4 Western guide ratio, 1:1 Sherpa support on summit day, high flow bottled oxygen and a Base Camp doctor. International flights, gateway city hotel nights and insurance are excluded on every climb read for this record.
It runs five separate schedules by climb category. On Everest, half the October deposit instalment is refunded if you cancel before 20 January, and nothing is refunded after that; other climbs scale by days before departure.
No bond, trust account or TAANZ membership is stated anywhere on its site, and it does not appear in USTOA's member directory. New Zealand has no national client money protection scheme for this kind of trip.
No listing was found on Tripadvisor, Trustpilot, Feefo or Reviews.io. Trustpilot returns a 404 for adventureconsultants.com, confirming no profile exists there.
Its Everest page names Rob Smith as expedition leader alongside Ang Dorjee Sherpa and JB Chandesris; Rob Smith's own guide profile names him an IFMGA mountain and ski guide with Everest summits from 2013 to 2024, though Ang Dorjee Sherpa and JB Chandesris carry no qualification stated there. Its Sherpa team page describes the team generally and names no individual, not even a sirdar.
Everest carries high flow bottled oxygen at 1 litre a minute sleeping and 4 climbing, a 1:4 Western guide ratio with 1:1 Sherpa support on summit day, and a dedicated Base Camp doctor. It also lists 419 successful Everest summits since 1990.
Our Seven Summits operator index ties it for first place at 78 out of 100, because that index scores what each climb discloses. This record scores what a buyer can check before paying, terms, protection and reviews, which is why it scores 49 here.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 26 September 2026 · facts verified 26 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.