Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A male lion lying in green grass among bushes in Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara, Kenya

A male lion in Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara, Kenya. Photo: Stuart Price (MEAACT), Wikimedia Commons, CC0.

Is Gamewatchers Safaris a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

Gamewatchers Safaris, set up in 1989 by Jake Grieves-Cook, runs nine properties in Kenya, including the Porini Camps it says it owns and operates; six of them are Porini camps in private conservancies in the Maasai Mara, Amboseli and Ol Pejeta. On Trustpilot it shows 4.9 out of 5 from 121 reviews (read 19 October 2026); no Google listing was found on 20 October 2026 and no SafariBookings listing on 19 October 2026. It also plans trips in ten other African countries, using other companies' camps.

Is Gamewatchers Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Gamewatchers Safaris is a Kenyan camp owner founded in 1989 that runs nine properties in Kenya, publishes its booking conditions and shows 4.9 out of 5 from 121 Trustpilot reviews (read 19 October 2026).

The company is Gamewatchers Safaris Limited, registered in Kenya (number C.40703), with its head office on Africa Reit Lane in Karen, Nairobi. Its terms name two directors, Mohanjeet Brar (Managing Director) and the founder Jake Grieves-Cook; no parent group or investors are named. It is both a camp owner and a planner: it runs the Porini Camps in Kenya and designs multi-camp trips in countries such as Tanzania, Botswana, Rwanda and Uganda using other operators' lodges. Its about page says "We pioneered Kenya's conservancy model". It says only one tent is allowed per 700 acres.

Reviews by platform: Trustpilot 4.9 out of 5 from 121 reviews, newest dated 12 October 2026 (read 19 October 2026). No Google listing was found (20 October 2026) and no SafariBookings listing (19 October 2026); Tripadvisor could not be read on 19 October 2026. Awards the company lists for 2026 include the Skål Sustainable Tourism Award (tour operators category) and World Travel Awards "Kenya's Leading Tented Safari Camp 2026" for Porini Mara Camp; these were not checked on the publishers' lists. Seven of its camps hold an Ecotourism Kenya Gold eco-rating for 2026 and Porini Rhino Camp a Silver.

It belongs to the Kenya Association of Tour Operators (KATO), Ecotourism Kenya and the African Travel and Tourism Association (ATTA); no tourism licence number was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. No trust account or bond for guest payments was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. It suits travellers who want low-density camps in Kenyan conservancies (one tent per 700 acres, the company says) with walks and night drives at a published rate.

Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini CampsKenya · founded 1989

Wildebeest walking past a single leaning tree on open grassland in Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara
Wildebeest beside a lone tree in Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara, where Gamewatchers runs Porini Mara Camp, Porini Cheetah Camp and Porini Safari Cottages. Photo: Stuart Price (MEAACT), Wikimedia Commons, CC0.
Best for
Six-night conservancy stays in Kenya
Why choose them
The company says it allows one tent per 700 acres in its conservancies. Trustpilot: 4.9 from 121 reviews, read 19 October 2026.
Ask for
Whether the conservancy fees (US$130 or US$150 per person per night) are inside the quoted rate, the Wildlife Habitat Trust payment itemised, flight fares by sector and how your deposit is held, since no trust account or bond was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.
Not the fit if
Your children are under 8 and you want the Porini camps (Rhino River Camp takes children from 3, Porini Safari Cottages from 5), you want a whole-camp booking (no buy-out rate was on the pages read on 19 October 2026) or you want the company's own camps outside Kenya.
Published price
Reduced rates for six nights or more, per person sharing per night: from US$97 at Nairobi Tented Camp (3 January to 31 March 2027); at its safari camps US$427 (Rhino River Camp, 16 April to 31 May 2027) to US$969 (Porini Lion Camp, 20 December 2027 to 2 January 2028); US$1,332 at Porini Safari Cottages (1 August to 30 September 2027). Meals, drinks, game drives, walks and night drives included; Wildlife Habitat Trust payment, flights and tips extra. Read 19 October 2026.

How much does a safari with Gamewatchers Safaris cost?

On its reduced-rate sheet for stays of six nights or more, rates at its safari camps run US$427 to US$969 per person sharing per night in 2027 (US$1,332 at Porini Safari Cottages, 1 August to 30 September 2027), full board with drinks and activities, read 19 October 2026.

Gamewatchers publishes prices in US dollars per person sharing per night, on a "Reduced Rates" sheet for stays of six nights or more (with at least three nights at each of two camps). Standard nightly rates for shorter stays were not on the pages read; the offer page says prices start at $442 per person per night. Rates read 19 October 2026:

  • 1 to 30 June 2026 (now past): Porini Giraffe Camp US$442; Rhino River Camp US$537; Porini Amboseli and Porini Rhino US$551; Porini Mara and Porini Cheetah US$584; Porini Lion US$603; Porini Safari Cottages US$679; Nairobi Tented Camp US$105.
  • 22 July to 30 September 2026 (now past): US$607 to US$922 at the Porini camps and Rhino River Camp; Porini Safari Cottages US$1,294 (1 August to 30 September).
  • Lowest on the 2026 and 2027 sheet, 2027 dates: Nairobi Tented Camp US$97 (3 January to 31 March 2027); Rhino River Camp US$427 (16 April to 31 May 2027).
  • Highest on the 2026 and 2027 sheet, 2027 dates: Porini Lion Camp US$969 (20 December 2027 to 2 January 2028); Porini Safari Cottages US$1,332 (1 August to 30 September 2027 and the same festive dates).

At the Porini camps the rate includes all meals, wine, beer, gin and tonic, soft drinks, game drives, walks, night drives and sundowners. The offer page says conservancy fees are included in packages, with the note "Park entry fees may apply"; elsewhere the site gives conservancy fees of US$130 per person per night at Selenkay and US$150 at the other conservancies. Extra: a Wildlife Habitat Trust payment of US$5 per person per night in 2026 (US$10 in 2027), balloon safaris, a private vehicle, tips, visas, flights, insurance and late departure (US$150 per person). Scheduled flights are quoted separately, for example Wilson to the Maasai Mara US$283 one way. A Nairobi airport transfer is free for stays of six nights or more.

Where are Gamewatchers Safaris' camps?

All nine Gamewatchers properties are in Kenya: six Porini camps in conservancies around the Maasai Mara, Amboseli and Ol Pejeta, Porini Safari Cottages, Rhino River Camp near Meru National Park and Nairobi Tented Camp.

  • Maasai Mara: Porini Mara Camp, Porini Cheetah Camp and Porini Safari Cottages (Ol Kinyei Conservancy); Porini Giraffe Camp (Mara Ripoi Conservancy); Porini Lion Camp (Olare Motorogi Conservancy, 33,000 acres), with 10 tents plus 2 family units (another line on its page says nine tents).
  • Amboseli: Porini Amboseli Camp (Selenkay Conservancy, set up in 1997).
  • Ol Pejeta: Porini Rhino Camp (Ol Pejeta Conservancy, 90,000 acres), 7 guest tents plus 2 family units, no more than 14 guests plus children.
  • Meru: Rhino River Camp, on the edge of Meru National Park, 5 riverside cottages plus 2 forest rooms.
  • Nairobi: Nairobi Tented Camp, in forest inside Nairobi.

The conservancies are on land the company says is "leased directly from Maasai communities". It states one tent per 700 acres and one tourist vehicle per 1,400 acres; off-road driving and night drives are allowed. There are no mobile camps. The camps have "no permanent structures" and the 2026 and 2027 rate sheet shows tentative closure dates of 16 April to 31 May 2027 at the Porini camps. Sizes of the other camps were not on the pages read.

Who is Gamewatchers Safaris best for?

Gamewatchers Safaris fits travellers staying six nights or more in Kenyan conservancies, solo travellers in its no-supplement periods and families (children 8 and over at the Porini camps, younger at Rhino River Camp and Porini Safari Cottages).

  • Longer stays in Kenya: the reduced rates need six nights or more, at least three at each of two camps; the Nairobi airport transfer is free on these stays.
  • Solo travellers: no single supplement at any Porini camp 1 November to 15 December 2026 and 2027 and 3 January to 31 May 2027; at other times US$180 to US$235 per night at the main camps (read 19 October 2026).
  • Honeymooners: the bride saves 50% on four or more nights at any Porini camp (25% in August and September), within 12 months of the wedding, with proof.
  • Families: children 8 and over at the Porini camps; child rates from age 3 at Rhino River Camp and from 5 at Porini Safari Cottages; family units at Rhino River, Porini Rhino and Porini Lion camps; one child sharing with two adults pays 60% of the adult rate.
  • Photographers: a hide beside a waterhole at Porini Rhino Camp, off-road driving in the conservancies and a private vehicle at US$375 per vehicle per day (minimum two days).
  • Walkers: escorted walks with Maasai guides and night drives at the conservancy camps.

Not the fit if your children are under 8 and you want the Porini camps (Rhino River Camp takes children from 3, Porini Safari Cottages from 5), you want to book a whole camp (no buy-out rate was on the pages read on 19 October 2026) or you need step and access details (none were on the pages read that day).

What are the best alternatives to Gamewatchers Safaris for a luxury safari?

Asilia Africa, Cottar's Safaris, Governors' Camp Collection, Great Plains Conservation and The Safari Collection are the alternatives, because each runs camps in Kenya, in the Maasai Mara or at Ol Pejeta where the Porini camps are. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • Asilia Africa: Owns Ol Pejeta Bush Camp in Ol Pejeta Conservancy, where Porini Rhino Camp is, plus Naboisho Camp and Encounter Mara in Mara Naboisho Conservancy. Ol Pejeta Bush Camp is US$600 to US$860 per person per night by season, July 2026 to early 2027 (read 19 October 2026); minimum age 5 at most camps.
  • Cottar's Safaris: Two camps in the private Olderkesi Conservancy on the edge of the Maasai Mara: Cottar's 1920s Camp (11 tented suites) and Cottar's Bush Villa, an exclusive-use villa for up to 10. It publishes a starting figure of approximately US$1,000 per person per night, all-inclusive (read 19 October 2026); children of all ages are welcome.
  • Governors' Camp Collection: Governors' Camp and Il Moran Camp are inside the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Mara River, with Loldia House on Lake Naivasha. 2026 rates run US$424 (Loldia House, 1 April to 31 May) to US$1,592 (Il Moran, July to October) per person sharing (read 19 October 2026).
  • Great Plains Conservation: Mara Plains is in Olare Motorogi Conservancy, the same conservancy as Porini Lion Camp, with further Kenyan camps in Mara Naboisho, the Maasai Mara National Reserve and the Chyulu Hills. It publishes single 'From' rates with no season given: US$1,225 at Mara Expedition and US$1,745 at Mara Plains per person sharing (read 19 October 2026).
  • The Safari Collection: A Kenyan family company founded in 2009 with Giraffe Manor in Nairobi, Sala's Camp in the Masai Mara National Reserve, Sasaab in Samburu and Siruai Mobile Camp in Laikipia. Its property pages show 'from' prices per person of US$1,329 at Sasaab and US$1,413 at Giraffe Manor, with no season given (read 19 October 2026); no minimum child age was on the pages read and infants 0 to 2 stay free.

How do you book Gamewatchers Safaris?

You book Gamewatchers Safaris direct, through its Nairobi office or its consultants in the USA, Canada, the UK, India and Australia, with a 25% deposit and the balance 60 days before travel.

The company sells direct to guests through its own consultants and an online enquiry and booking form; no travel agent or trade portal is described. Its contact page gives office hours of Monday to Friday 8:30 am to 5:30 pm and Saturday 9:00 am to 1:00 pm; no reply time was on it (read 20 October 2026). Resident rates were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026: the offers are for non-residents and Kenya or East African residents are asked to contact the Nairobi office. Payment is 25% per person at booking with the balance 60 days before the start; cancellation for Kenya and Tanzania costs 25% of the invoice more than 120 days out, rising to 35%, 50%, 75%, 90% and 100% inside 3 days. Payment is by bank transfer, Visa or Mastercard, or PayPal; a 3% fee is added when the final balance is paid by card or PayPal. No trust account or bond for guest payments was on the pages read on 19 October 2026; travel insurance is each guest's responsibility. No 24-hour emergency line was on the pages read that day. A short enquiry brief:

  • Ask for the rate per camp per night, saying whether it is the six-night reduced rate.
  • Ask whether conservancy fees are included and to itemise the Wildlife Habitat Trust payment.
  • Ask for flight fares by sector (Safarilink or Air Kenya) and any extra-seat charge.
  • Ask for the single supplement, or confirmation that your dates fall in a no-supplement period.
  • Ask for the private vehicle price if you want one (US$375 per vehicle per day on the 2026 and 2027 sheet).
  • Ask how the deposit is held and for an emergency contact number while you travel.

Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading names 'Gamewatchers Safaris' and 'Porini Camps'. The legal entity is Gamewatchers Safaris Limited, a private company registered in Kenya, registration number C.40703, VAT number P051094597N. Physical address: Africa Reit Lane, Dagoretti Road, Nairobi (LR No. 7336/7). Postal address: P.O. Box 380-00502, Karen, Nairobi.

Source: Company · website terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Head office in Nairobi (Karen), Kenya, on Africa Reit Lane. Other 'offices' are consultants based in the USA, Canada, the UK, Australia, India and South America (for example Ontario, Vancouver Island, the Gold Coast); no overseas office addresses are given.

Source: Company · contact, meet the team, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Year founded

1989. The meet the team page says Gamewatchers Safaris 'was established in 1989 by our founder, Jake Grieves-Cook', who started in the Maasai Mara in 1972. Selenkay Conservancy was set up in 1997.

Source: Company · meet the team, gamewatchers porini camps atta for action awards 2026 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

The terms page names two directors: Mohanjeet Brar (Managing Director) and Jake Grieves-Cook (Founder). The site says it is 'Owned & Operated By An Experienced Team'. No parent group or investors are named.

Source: Company · website terms and conditions, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Both. It owns and operates the Porini Camps in Kenya and also designs tailor-made multi-camp trips across Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Rwanda, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Namibia, South Africa, Zambia, Republic of Congo and more, using other companies' camps (for example Elewana Tortilis, Nimali, Lemala, Odzala lodges).

Source: Company · home page, about us, northern tanzania highlights nimali camps circuit, multi destination safaris · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Team size is not given. Leadership named: Dr Mohanjeet Brar (Managing Director), Jake Grieves-Cook (Founder, still described as involved), Esther Malanga Mshote (corporate affairs), Brian Maundu (finance and commercial), Jackie Akoyi (customer services), Kim Laubignat Chandarana (marketing), George Mutuku. Nairobi safari specialists include Florence Guto and Geoffrey Wamalwa; overseas advisers include Rick McIntyre, Julie Roggow, Tom Mees and Kristy Thomson.

Source: Company · meet the team, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct to guests only, through its own consultants (Nairobi plus advisers in the USA, Canada, the UK, India and Australia), an enquiry form and a booking form. No travel agent or trade portal is described. Resident offers exist but are handled by the Nairobi office.

Source: Company · contact, about us, special offers, booking form · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Luxury African Safaris with conservation at heart.' About page: 'For over 35 years, Gamewatchers Safaris have specialised in offering authentic and responsible safari adventures throughout Africa. We own and operate the exclusive Porini Camps'. It claims 'We pioneered Kenya's conservancy model', 'only one tent permitted every 700 acres and one vehicle per 1,400 acres'.

Source: Company · home page, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

The contact page gives no reply time. Office hours: Mon to Fri 8:30 am to 5:30 pm, Sat 9:00 am to 1:00 pm. Phone +254-722-509-200. Named consultants with emails are listed (for example Rick McIntyre, [email protected]; Tom Mees; Florence Guto in Nairobi). No single reservations manager is named.

Source: Company · contact · by hand · 20 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

No profile found: no Google listing for the company was found on 20 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on Google · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

4.9 out of 5 from 121 reviews on the Trustpilot profile 'Gamewatchers Safaris & Porini Camps', newest review 12 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

The home page names Trustpilot as a widget label (no score or link text was read). The offer pages show reviews headed 'Posted on Tripadvisor'. No Booking.com or Google scores are shown. Rhino River Camp reviews are dated by month with no platform named.

Source: Company · home page, porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris, rhino river camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review. The site displays Tripadvisor reviews but does not ask for them.

Source: Company · porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris, world travel awards 2026, porini camps virtual tours · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Company-stated: 2026: Skål Sustainable Tourism Award (Tour Operators and Travel Agencies, from 74 entries); World Travel Awards, Porini Mara Camp 'Kenya's Leading Tented Safari Camp 2026'; ATTA Earthkeepers and Eco-Innovation Awards (announced 22 June 2026); Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice 2026. 2025: World's Leading Conservation Programme (Selenkay) at the World Sustainable Travel & Hospitality Awards; Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice; ATTA Community Upliftment (finalist). 2024: WTA Kenya's Leading Tented Safari Camp (Porini Mara); ATTA Collaborative Champions award; Magical Kenya Loyalty Rewards Silver. Nominations are listed separately. These were not checked on publishers' lists.

Source: Company · our difference awards, gamewatchers porini camps atta for action awards 2026, porini mara camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice: 'Gamewatchers Safaris' for 2026 and 2025; Porini Mara Camp for 2023 (fifth time) and 'Best of the Best' 2020. Condé Nast Readers' Choice Awards 2026: Porini Camps (Ol Kinyei Conservancy) is a nominee only. Tatler and Travel + Leisure lists are not named.

Source: Company · our difference awards, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Ecotourism Kenya Eco-Rating 2026: Gold for Porini Mara, Lion, Cheetah, Giraffe, Safari Cottages, Rhino River and Porini Amboseli; Silver for Porini Rhino Camp. Ol Kinyei Conservancy is on the IUCN Green List (2018). No B Corp, Travelife, Fair Trade Tourism or Long Run certification is named.

Source: Company · porini camps, our difference awards, rhino river camp, porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes, in US$ per person per night: a 'Reduced Rates' PDF for 2026 and 2027 and the 6-night offer page. Standard (non-reduced) nightly rates are not in the pages read; the page says 'Prices start from only $442 per person per night'.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris · pdf · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

Reduced rates for 6+ night stays, US$ per person sharing per night, 2026: 1 to 30 June: Amboseli/Rhino $551, Giraffe $442, Mara/Cheetah $584, Lion $603, Rhino River $537, Ol Kinyei Cottages $679, Nairobi Tented $105. 22 July to 30 Sept: $748, $607, $836, $922, $682. 1 Aug to 30 Sept cottages $1,294. Rates continue to 2 Jan 2028. Extras: Wildlife Habitat Trust $5 (2026) / $10 (2027) per person per night.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Reduced rates only, US$ per person per night sharing. Lowest: Nairobi Tented Camp $97 (3 Jan to 31 Mar 2027); at Porini camps $427 (Rhino River, 16 Apr to 31 May 2027). Highest: Ol Kinyei Safari Cottages $1,332 (1 Aug to 30 Sep and 20 Dec 2027 to 2 Jan 2028); of the Porini camps, Lion $969 (20 Dec 2027 to 2 Jan 2028).

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Reduced rate offer: 6 nights or more with a minimum of 3 nights at each of two camps. Stay 4 Pay 3: minimum 4 consecutive nights. Honeymoon offer: 4 or more nights. No general minimum stay is stated for standard bookings.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), porini lion camp 1, special offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

At Porini camps: all meals, drinks (wine, gin and tonic, beer, sodas, mineral water), game drives, walks, night drives and sundowners; conservancy fees included in packages ('Park entry fees may apply'); emergency medical evacuation cover on packages. Extra: Wildlife Habitat Trust $5 per person per night, balloon safaris, private vehicles, tips, visas, flights, insurance; late departure $150 per person.

Source: Company · porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris, porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

25% deposit per person at the time of booking.

Source: Company · booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

The balance is due 60 days before the start of the arrangements.

Source: Company · booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Percentage of total invoice for Kenya and Tanzania: up to 120 days before 25%; 120 to 60 days 35%; 60 to 30 days 50%; 30 to 15 days 75%; 15 to 3 days 90%; 3 days or less 100%. Botswana (local operator): deposit non-refundable; within 45 to 90 days 50%; 44 days or less 100%. Charges for other countries are advised at booking.

Source: Company · booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no trust account or bonding. The booking conditions say travel insurance is each guest's responsibility and offer the JWS policy through JW Seagon. Refunds go to the original card if within 6 months.

Source: Company · booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Prices are in US$. Payment by bank transfer to the Nairobi account, Visa or Mastercard through a secure online link, or PayPal. No fee on the deposit or when the full invoice is paid at once; a 3% transaction fee is added when the final balance is paid by credit, debit card or PayPal. Other currencies are not stated.

Source: Company · booking conditions, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Not stated on their website: no emergency or 24-hour line. The contact page gives office hours and phone numbers; the booking conditions ask guests for their insurer's emergency number.

Source: Company · contact, booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Sells direct. The rate sheet marks the Wildlife Habitat Trust payment as 'non-commissionable', which implies other items are commissionable, but no commission percentage, agent portal or trade rates are on the pages read. Consultants 'act only as agents of the passenger'.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), booking conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on price parity with planners or direct-booking benefits.

Source: Company · booking conditions, special offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Memberships stated: Kenya Association of Tour Operators (KATO), Ecotourism Kenya and the African Travel & Tourism Association (ATTA). Company registration C.40703 and VAT P051094597N. A tourism licence number is not given.

Source: Company · website terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

Own camps are in Kenya only (Porini Camps and Nairobi Tented Camp). The company sells safaris in Kenya, Tanzania, Botswana, Rwanda, Uganda, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Namibia, South Africa, Republic of Congo and Zambia using other operators' camps.

Source: Company · home page, porini camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

9 properties listed on the home page: Nairobi Tented Camp, Rhino River Camp, Porini Cheetah, Amboseli, Mara, Rhino, Giraffe and Lion Camps and Porini Safari Cottages. Owned versus managed is not stated, though the company says it owns and operates the Porini Camps.

Source: Company · home page, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

Porini Amboseli Camp (Selenkay Conservancy, Amboseli ecosystem); Porini Mara Camp and Porini Cheetah Camp (Ol Kinyei Conservancy, Maasai Mara); Porini Safari Cottages (Ol Kinyei); Porini Giraffe Camp (Mara Ripoi Conservancy); Porini Lion Camp (Olare Motorogi Conservancy, 33,000 acres); Porini Rhino Camp (Ol Pejeta Conservancy, 90,000 acres); Rhino River Camp (edge of Meru National Park); Nairobi Tented Camp (forest in Nairobi).

Source: Company · home page, porini mara camp, porini lion camp 1, porini rhino camp, rhino river camp, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

Porini Rhino Camp: 7 guest tents plus 2 family units (max 14 guests plus children). Porini Lion Camp: 10 tents plus 2 family units (another line says nine tents). Rhino River Camp: 5 riverside cottages plus 2 forest rooms. Other camps' sizes are not in the pages read.

Source: Company · porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1, rhino river camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

Private conservancies on land 'leased directly from Maasai communities' and the Meru National Park edge. 'Only 1 tent is allowed per 700 acres' and one tourist vehicle per 1,400 acres. Off-road driving and night drives are allowed in the conservancies. Ol Kinyei is on the IUCN Green List. Selenkay was set up in 1997 and the models protect over 138,000 acres.

Source: Company · porini camps, porini mara camp, gamewatchers porini camps atta for action awards 2026 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

No mobile camps. The camps have 'no permanent structures'. The reduced rate sheet shows 'tentative closure dates' for 16 April to 31 May 2027 at the Porini camps.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), porini camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

Not at own camps. The company sells gorilla trekking in Rwanda and Uganda, Western Lowland Gorilla treks at Odzala-Kokoua in the Republic of Congo and a chimpanzee safari; whether permits are included is not stated in the pages read. Porini Rhino Camp offers a visit to Sweetwaters Chimpanzee Sanctuary.

Source: Company · republic of the congo safaris, home page, porini rhino camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

No own beach or city properties other than Nairobi Tented Camp. It sells Zanzibar and Kenya coast stays as beach add-ons ('Safari & Beach') at other operators' resorts.

Source: Company · home page, northern tanzania highlights nimali camps circuit, porini camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

No own aircraft is stated. It books scheduled flights (Safarilink, Air Kenya, with minimum 2 passenger policies) and publishes fares, for example Wilson to Amboseli $224 one way, Wilson to Maasai Mara $283 one way. Helicopter safaris are run with 'aviation partners'. A free Nairobi airport transfer is offered for 6+ nights.

Source: Company · booking conditions, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), gamewatchers helicopter experiences, special offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Not stated on their website: no resident rates are on the pages read. The offers pages say the offers are for non-residents and that Kenya residents (or East African residents) should contact the Nairobi office.

Source: Company · special offers, tanzania special offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Porini camps are not suitable for children under 8. Rhino River Camp from 3 to 16, Safari Cottages 5 to 16, Nairobi Tented Camp 3 to 12 (under 3 free). One child sharing with two adults pays 60% of the per person sharing rate; two children in their own tent pay 75% each. Family units are at Rhino River, Rhino and Lion Camps.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), rhino river camp, porini lion camp 1 · pdf · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

Child rates run to 16 years. Private-use vehicles are promoted for families; a sole-use vehicle is US$375 per vehicle per day (minimum 2 days). A guest review describes a group of 18 with teenagers aged 15 to 18. The site says itineraries suit 'little ones and elderly relatives'.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), family holidays · pdf · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Honeymooners offer: bride saves 50% when staying 4 or more nights at any Porini Camp (25% in August and September), within 12 months of the wedding, proof required. Rhino River Camp is suggested for couples and honeymooners. Honeymoon is a listed popular request.

Source: Company · porini lion camp 1, special offers, rhino river camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Single supplements are listed per person per night in the reduced rates, for example $180 to $235 at the main Porini camps and $50 at Nairobi Tented Camp. 'No Single Supplement' applies at all Porini Camps for 1 Nov to 15 Dec 2026 and 2027 and 3 Jan to 31 May 2027.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), porini lion camp 1 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not stated on their website: no access, step or mobility details. The family page says itineraries can suit 'elderly relatives' and the Porini cottages are described as unfenced.

Source: Company · family holidays, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Private vehicles are offered at the camps at a supplement; an 'Exclusive Vehicle' gives sole use of the open-sided 4x4 safari vehicle during game drives for US$375 per vehicle per day, with a minimum of 2 days. Standard drives use shared vehicles, with a two-guide team of driver and spotter.

Source: Company · reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF), porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris, porini lion camp 1 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Not stated on their website: no whole-camp buy-out or sole-use rates for Porini camps. Rhino Camp holds no more than 14 guests plus children; family units are shown at Rhino River, Rhino and Lion camps.

Source: Company · porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1, rhino river camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Maasai guides who 'grew up on the conservancy'; Porini Rhino and Lion camps use KPSGA-certified guides (Kenya Professional Safari Guides Association), with a driver and spotter team. Managing Director Dr Mohanjeet Brar is a KPSGA-certified guide. Guide training beyond KPSGA is not described.

Source: Company · porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1, porini camps, meet the team · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Day and night game drives, escorted walks with Maasai guides, sundowners and bush breakfasts at the Porini camps; optional balloon safaris (Mara), horse riding and cycling safaris plus a chimpanzee sanctuary visit (Rhino Camp), a photography hide (Rhino Camp), a Maasai village visit (Amboseli), a full day in the Masai Mara Reserve (Lion Camp) and pool and massages at Rhino River. Helicopter experiences are sold separately.

Source: Company · porini rhino camp, porini lion camp 1, porini safari camps bargain prices for 6 night safaris, rhino river camp, gamewatchers helicopter experiences · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Not stated on their website: 'Self Drive' appears only as a holiday category label on the home page and no page read says guests may self-drive to a Porini camp.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

Photography hide beside a waterhole at Porini Rhino Camp; off-road driving in the conservancies; 'Photography' is a listed popular request; a guest says drivers and vehicles are 'tuned for photographers' and camps have charging and a work area. Helicopter safaris are pitched to photographers.

Source: Company · porini rhino camp, gamewatchers helicopter experiences, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

Land is leased from Maasai landowners, with tourism revenue funding the leases. A Wildlife Habitat Trust payment of $5 (2026) and $10 (2027) per person per night is charged on the rate sheet and 100% of donations go to projects such as beekeeping, schools and healthcare. Conservancy fees are $130 per person per night (Selenkay) and $150 elsewhere. Over 138,000 acres are protected. The Adopt An Acre scheme won a 2021 Regenerative Travel award.

Source: Company · porini lion camp 1, porini rhino camp, gamewatchers porini camps atta for action awards 2026, our difference awards, reduced rates for 6 nights (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Porini camps are solar powered with 'no permanent structures'. ATTA cited low-density safaris, zero-waste and circular economy principles, composting, recycling, reuse, local sourcing and kitchen gardens. Certifications: Ecotourism Kenya Gold and Silver eco-ratings. A Rhino Camp 24/7 wildlife camera is announced. Electric vehicles are not mentioned.

Source: Company · gamewatchers porini camps atta for action awards 2026, porini lion camp 1, porini rhino camp, porini camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

Not stated on their website: no agent portal, planner partnership or preferred-partner statement. The company is itself a planner and names partner camps (Elewana, Nimali, Lemala, Odzala lodges) in its itineraries.

Source: Company · northern tanzania highlights nimali camps circuit, multi destination safaris, republic of the congo safaris · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Gamewatchers Safaris: questions people ask

Is Gamewatchers Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Gamewatchers Safaris is a Kenyan company founded in 1989 that runs nine properties in Kenya, including the Porini Camps it says it owns and operates. Trustpilot shows 4.9 out of 5 from 121 reviews, read 19 October 2026; no SafariBookings listing was found on 19 October 2026 and no Google listing on 20 October 2026. It publishes its booking conditions and a rate sheet, but no trust account or bond for guest payments was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Gamewatchers Safaris for a luxury safari?

Camp owners with camps in the same parts of Kenya include Asilia Africa, Cottar's Safaris, Governors' Camp Collection, Great Plains Conservation and The Safari Collection. Asilia has a camp in Ol Pejeta Conservancy, home of Porini Rhino Camp. Great Plains has one in Olare Motorogi Conservancy, home of Porini Lion Camp. Governors' Camp publishes 2026 rates of US$424 to US$1,592 per person sharing, read 19 October 2026. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.

How much does a safari with Gamewatchers Safaris cost?

On the reduced-rate sheet for six nights or more, read 19 October 2026, rates run US$427 per person sharing per night (Rhino River Camp, 16 April to 31 May 2027) to US$969 (Porini Lion Camp, 20 December 2027 to 2 January 2028). Porini Safari Cottages reach US$1,332 (1 August to 30 September 2027). Meals, drinks and activities are included; flights, tips and a Wildlife Habitat Trust payment of US$5 (2026) or US$10 (2027) per night are extra.

What deposit does Gamewatchers Safaris take and when is the balance due?

A deposit of 25% per person is due at booking and the balance 60 days before the trip starts, according to the booking conditions read 19 October 2026. A 3% fee is added if the final balance is paid by card or PayPal.

What are Gamewatchers Safaris' cancellation charges?

For Kenya and Tanzania the charge is 25% of the invoice more than 120 days before travel, 35% at 120 to 60 days, 50% at 60 to 30 days, 75% at 30 to 15 days, 90% at 15 to 3 days and 100% inside 3 days. Botswana bookings follow the local operator's terms. Read 19 October 2026.

What is the minimum age for children at Porini Camps?

The Porini camps are not suitable for children under 8. Rhino River Camp takes children from 3, Porini Safari Cottages from 5 and Nairobi Tented Camp from 3 (free under 3). One child sharing with two adults pays 60% of the per person sharing rate, read 19 October 2026.

Who owns Gamewatchers Safaris and where is it based?

Gamewatchers Safaris Limited is registered in Kenya and based in Karen, Nairobi. Its terms name Mohanjeet Brar as Managing Director and Jake Grieves-Cook, who set it up in 1989, as founder. No parent group or investors are named.

Does Gamewatchers Safaris charge a single supplement?

Yes, outside its no-supplement periods: US$180 to US$235 per night at the main Porini camps and US$50 at Nairobi Tented Camp, read 19 October 2026. There is no single supplement at any Porini camp 1 November to 15 December 2026 and 2027 and 3 January to 31 May 2027.

Can I have a private guide and vehicle at Porini Camps?

A private vehicle, yes: sole use of an open-sided 4x4 during game drives costs US$375 per vehicle per day, minimum two days, read 19 October 2026. A private guide was not mentioned on the pages read that day. Standard drives are in shared vehicles with a driver and spotter.

Does Gamewatchers Safaris have a honeymoon offer?

Yes. The bride saves 50% when the couple stays four or more nights at any Porini camp (25% in August and September), within 12 months of the wedding and with proof. The company suggests Rhino River Camp for couples.

Are park and conservancy fees included in Porini Camps rates?

The offer page says conservancy fees are included in packages, with the note that park entry fees may apply. Elsewhere the site gives conservancy fees of US$130 per person per night at Selenkay and US$150 at the other conservancies, read 19 October 2026, so ask for them to be shown on the quote.

This page contains no paid placement. Gamewatchers Safaris is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with camps in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 and 20 October 2026 from Gamewatchers Safaris' own website, Trustpilot, Google and SafariBookings, kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.