Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Grassland and scattered bushes in the south of the Masai Mara National Reserve, looking towards the Sand River valley and the Tanzanian border

The Masai Mara near the Sand River and the Tanzanian border, Kenya. Photo: Daniel Case, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Is The Safari Collection a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

The Safari Collection is a Kenyan, family-run company founded in 2009 by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, with five properties of its own in Kenya: Giraffe Manor and The Retreat in Nairobi, Sasaab in Samburu, Sala's Camp in the Masai Mara National Reserve and Siruai Mobile Camp in Laikipia. No Google listing was found on 20 October 2026 and no Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing on 19 October 2026, so this page quotes no independent review score. It also sells trips that include partner camps in Tanzania, the Democratic Republic of Congo and the Republic of Congo.

Is The Safari Collection a good company to book a safari with?

The Safari Collection is a Kenyan family company founded in 2009 that runs five properties in Kenya and publishes its booking terms, but no Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found for it on 19 and 20 October 2026.

The terms name the company as The Safari Collection Limited with a postal address in Nairobi and say the agreement is governed by Kenyan law; no company registration number was on the pages read. Its about page calls it "a Kenyan, family-run portfolio" founded by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, who are its directors; no parent group or investors are named. The founders bought Giraffe Manor in April 2009. Sala's Camp began as their mobile camp in 2004 and is now permanent. It is both a camp owner and a tour operator: the about page calls it "an East Africa specialist tour operator" that arranges stays with partner properties.

Reviews by platform: no Google listing (read 20 October 2026), no Trustpilot listing and no SafariBookings listing (read 19 October 2026); Tripadvisor could not be read on 19 October 2026. The contact page shows one five-star quote credited to Tripadvisor. No award with a publisher and year for 2024 to 2026 was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. Sala's Camp is described as a member of The Long Run.

No tourism licence number or trade association membership (such as KATO) was on the pages read on 19 October 2026 and the terms read that day give no trust account or bond for guest payments. It suits travellers who want Giraffe Manor in Nairobi combined with small camps in the Masai Mara, Samburu or Laikipia.

The Safari CollectionKenya · founded 2009

The ivy-covered brick front of Giraffe Manor and its lawn in Nairobi, Kenya, in 2008
Giraffe Manor in the Karen Hardy area of Nairobi, The Safari Collection's 12-room house, photographed in June 2008. Photo: Push the button, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 3.0.
Best for
Families: no minimum child age on the pages read
Why choose them
Sala's Camp has 7 tents for 18 guests on the Sand River in the Masai Mara National Reserve. No Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found, read 19 and 20 October 2026.
Ask for
The 2026 or 2027 rate sheet for your dates (the pages read show only 'from' prices), whether park and conservancy fees are in the rate, the single supplement outside the solo offer and how your deposit is held, since no trust account or bond was in the terms read on 19 October 2026.
Not the fit if
You need step-free rooms at The Retreat, want Sala's Camp in April, May or November or want its own camps outside Kenya.
Published price
'From' prices per person on its property pages: Sasaab US$1,329 and Sala's Camp US$1,391 (both fully inclusive), Giraffe Manor US$1,413 (full board with Nairobi transfers); no season, year or per-night basis is stated and the 2026 and 2027 rate sheets could not be read. Read 19 October 2026.

How much does a safari with The Safari Collection cost?

The Safari Collection's property pages show 'from' prices of US$1,329 per person at Sasaab, US$1,391 at Sala's Camp and US$1,413 at Giraffe Manor, with no season, year or per-night basis stated, read 19 October 2026.

Prices are published in US dollars. The rates page links seasonal rate sheets for 2026 and 2027 (and for Siruai Mobile Camp), but those sheets could not be read on 19 October 2026, so only the 'from' prices on the property pages are given here:

  • Sasaab (Samburu): from US$1,329 per person, fully inclusive.
  • Sala's Camp (Masai Mara): from US$1,391 per person, fully inclusive.
  • Giraffe Manor (Nairobi): from US$1,413 per person, full board with Nairobi transfers.
  • Packages: a 6-night Photographic Safari from US$7,888 per person sharing; an 11-night Beach and Bush holiday from US$13,550 per person sharing.
  • Siruai Mobile Camp, Private Guided Safari and Helicopter Day Tours: no price on the pages read; the last two are 'Price on Request'.

What the rate includes, as published: at Giraffe Manor all meals and afternoon tea, drinks except premium spirits, wines and champagne, laundry, Wi-Fi, entry to the AFEW Giraffe Centre, use of The Retreat and Nairobi transfers at check-in and check-out. At Sala's Camp, meals, drinks (not champagne or specially imported wines and spirits), game drives, bush breakfasts and sundowners. At Sasaab, meals, drinks, game drives, bush breakfasts, sundowners, nature walks, camel rides, pool and gym. Extra: spa treatments, gratuities and gift shop purchases. Whether park fees and conservation levies are in the rate is not stated, though the site says every guest at Sala's pays a conservation fee. All figures read 19 October 2026.

Where are The Safari Collection's camps?

The Safari Collection's own properties are all in Kenya: two in Nairobi, Sasaab in Samburu, Sala's Camp in the Masai Mara National Reserve and Siruai Mobile Camp in Laikipia.

  • Nairobi: Giraffe Manor, 12 rooms for 29 guests and The Retreat, four day rooms, both in the Karen Hardy area.
  • Samburu: Sasaab, 11 suites with private pools for 25 guests, in Westgate Conservancy just outside Samburu National Reserve, so night drives and walks are allowed.
  • Masai Mara: Sala's Camp, 7 tents for 18 guests, inside the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Sand River near the Tanzanian border, in an area the site says is a 'Low Use Zone' in the 2023 Mara Management Plan. It opens June to October and December to March.
  • Laikipia: Siruai Mobile Camp, 7 canvas tents, exclusive use for up to ten guests, currently on the privately owned 43,000-acre Suyian Ranch; the months it moves are not stated.

Partner camps it sells, whose owner the site does not name: Olakira and Dunia in the Serengeti (Tanzania), Kibumba Tented Camp in Virunga National Park (Democratic Republic of Congo) and Mboko, Ngaga and Lango in Odzala-Kokoua National Park (Republic of Congo). Kibumba is within range of two habituated mountain gorilla families and Ngaga offers western lowland gorilla tracking; whether permits are included is not stated.

Who is The Safari Collection best for?

The Safari Collection fits families with young children, groups of up to ten wanting a private camp, honeymooners and solo travellers booking within its offer dates.

  • Families with young children: no minimum age was on the pages read; children are welcome at Giraffe Manor, Sala's Camp, Sasaab and Siruai, under-threes stay free and Sala's has family tents.
  • A private camp for a group: Siruai Mobile Camp is sold only on an exclusive-use basis, for up to ten guests, with the group's own guide and vehicle.
  • Honeymooners: Sala's Camp has two honeymoon tents and the 'Wildly Romantic' offer gives 35% off a 7-night stay.
  • Solo travellers: the solo offer waives the single supplement at Sasaab for travel 1 November to 15 December 2026 (an earlier 6 January to 31 May 2026 window has passed; read 19 October 2026).
  • Photographers: at Sala's Camp photographers 'can stay out as long they like' and a 6-night Photographic Safari is sold from US$7,888 per person sharing (read 19 October 2026).

Not the fit if you need step-free rooms at The Retreat (its four day rooms are upstairs by staircase only), want Sala's Camp in April, May or November (it opens June to October and December to March) or want the company's own camps outside Kenya.

What are the best alternatives to The Safari Collection for a luxury safari?

Angama, Cottar's Safaris, Elewana Collection, Gamewatchers Safaris (Porini Camps) and Governors' Camp Collection are the alternatives, because each runs camps in Kenya in or beside the Maasai Mara, where Sala's Camp is. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • Angama: Angama Mara sits on the Oloololo Escarpment above the Mara Triangle and Angama Amboseli in Kimana Sanctuary. It publishes seasonal rates: Angama Mara US$1,850 (2026 Standard) to US$2,750 (2026 Peak) per person per night, Angama Safari Camp from US$950 (read 19 October 2026). Children of all ages are welcome.
  • Cottar's Safaris: Cottar's 1920s Camp (11 tented suites) and Cottar's Bush Villa are in the private Olderkesi Conservancy on the edge of the Maasai Mara. The Bush Villa is an exclusive-use house for up to 10 with its own chef, guide and vehicle; the company gives approximately US$1,000 per person per night as a starting figure (read 19 October 2026).
  • Elewana Collection: Runs Sand River camp inside the Masai Mara National Reserve, Elephant Pepper Camp in Mara North and camps at Lewa, Loisaba, Meru and Amboseli, plus camps in Tanzania. Google shows 4.9 out of 5 from 10 reviews (read 20 October 2026); nightly rates were read only for Arusha Coffee Lodge in Tanzania (read 20 October 2026), none for its Kenyan camps.
  • Gamewatchers Safaris (Porini Camps): Runs Porini camps in Ol Kinyei, Mara Ripoi and Olare Motorogi conservancies around the Maasai Mara, plus Amboseli and Ol Pejeta. It publishes six-night reduced rates of US$427 to US$969 per person sharing per night at its Porini camps and Rhino River Camp in 2027 (US$97 to US$1,332 across the whole sheet) and Trustpilot shows 4.9 from 121 reviews (both read 19 October 2026); children must be 8 or over at the Porini camps.
  • Governors' Camp Collection: Governors' Camp (24 tents) and Il Moran Camp (10 tents) are inside the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Mara River. 2026 rates run US$453 to US$998 per person sharing at Governors' Camp and US$667 to US$1,592 at Il Moran (read 19 October 2026); Il Moran takes children 8 and over.

How do you book The Safari Collection?

You book The Safari Collection direct through its Nairobi guest reservations team or through a travel agent, with a 30% deposit and the balance 45 days before arrival.

Guests can book direct ([email protected] and an online availability check on the property pages); travel agents and tour operators use a separate trade reservations address. No reply time is promised; office hours are Monday to Friday 08:00 to 17:00 and Saturday 09:00 to 13:00 East African Time. Resident rates: Giraffe Manor charges residents and non-residents of Kenya the same; no resident rates for the other camps were on the pages read on 19 October 2026. A booking is confirmed with a booking form and a 30% deposit; provisional holds last up to ten days, extendable once by up to ten more. Full payment is due 45 days before arrival. Cancelling more than 120 days out refunds the deposit less bank charges and a 5% admin fee; at 120 to 46 days the deposit is lost; 45 to 30 days costs 50%; under 30 days costs 100%. No trust account or bond for guest payments was in the terms read on 19 October 2026, which recommend full travel and medical insurance. An emergency contact number is published, though not described as 24-hour. A short enquiry brief:

  • Ask for the 2026 or 2027 nightly rate per camp for your dates, not the 'from' price.
  • Ask whether park fees, conservancy fees and the Sala's conservation fee are in the rate.
  • Ask for flight costs by sector and whether Safarilink extra-seat charges apply.
  • Ask for the single supplement, or which offer waives it for your dates.
  • Ask for the Private Guided Safari or helicopter price if you want either.
  • Ask how the deposit is held and who answers the emergency number at night.

The Safari Collection: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about The Safari Collection were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trades as 'The Safari Collection' (written with the registered-trademark sign); the terms name the legal entity as 'The Safari Collection Limited'. Postal address: P.O Box 15565, Nairobi 00503, Kenya. The company registration number is not stated; the terms say the agreement is governed by the laws of Kenya and that The Safari Collection and Giraffe Manor are registered trademarks.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, about contact · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Nairobi, Kenya. The contact page gives the location as Giraffe Manor, Nairobi and the postal address as P.O Box 15565, Nairobi 00503. No other offices stated; the only other contact given is a media-requests line in London (+44 20 7078 0295, [email protected]), which is not described as an office.

Source: Company · about contact · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Year founded

2009. The about page says 'Founded by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley in 2009'. The Giraffe Manor page says the founders bought the manor in April 2009. Sala's Camp began as the founders' mobile camp in 2004; its company pages disagree on when it became permanent (one says 2006 and another says it was mobile until 2008).

Source: Company · about, giraffe manor about, salas camp about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Described as 'a Kenyan, family-run portfolio' founded by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, who are called the company's directors. No parent group, investors or shareholding structure is named.

Source: Company · about, salas camp about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Both. It owns and runs its own camps (Giraffe Manor, The Retreat, Sasaab, Sala's Camp, Siruai Mobile Camp). The about page also calls it 'an East Africa specialist tour operator' with 'tailored-made itineraries', says it arranges 'stays with partner properties' and sells multi-stop itineraries. Property pages for Olakira and Dunia (Tanzania), Kibumba (Congo) and Mboko, Ngaga and Lango (Republic of Congo) sit alongside its own camps.

Source: Company · about, home page, olakira camp, mboko camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Team size is not stated. Named people: founders and directors Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, who are still involved (the Siruai pages say they host guests there and Mikey still guides). Giraffe Manor: Tony Levi (Assistant General Manager) and David Kisevu (Head Chef). Sasaab: Daniel Kasoo (Head Guide), Peter Kariuki (Front of House Supervisor). Sala's: guide Nickson Oltii, spa therapist Leah Wanjiru. 'Cecilia' is named as Assistant Footprint Director.

Source: Company · about, giraffe manor about, sasaab about, salas camp about, safari camp laikipia, camp chronicles · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct to guests: the contact page lists 'Guest Reservations' ([email protected]) and the property pages link to an online reservations system and room availability check. Trade: 'Trade Reservations, for agents and tour operators' ([email protected]); contract rates are sent on request by email. No trade portal is described. Resident rates: Giraffe Manor rates are the same for residents and non-residents of Kenya.

Source: Company · about contact, 2018 rates, accommodation salas camp, what are the resident rates at giraffe manor · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'The Safari Collection(R) are experts in creating bucket-list luxury African safari adventures' and 'a Kenyan, family-run portfolio of luxury boutique camps and lodges in the finest locations in Kenya'. It also says 'We are african safari experts'. Claims founded 2009 and passion for adventure, un-spoilt wilderness and conservation.

Source: Company · home page, about, about contact · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

No reply time is promised. The terms only say 'We will use reasonable efforts to respond to emails on time'. No reservations contact is named. Published lines: phone +254 111 033 900 and +254 725 675 830; [email protected] for guest reservations; info@ for general enquiries. Office hours are Monday to Friday 08:00 to 17:00 and Saturday 09:00 to 13:00 East African Time.

Source: Company · about contact, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

No profile found: no Google listing for the company was found on 20 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on Google · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/thesafaricollection.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

Tripadvisor is the only third-party platform named: the contact page shows a five-star quote praising the stay as unique and worth it, credited to 'Trip Advisor'. The rates and Sala's accommodation pages show guest reviews with star ratings, review dates, 'Date of stay' and 'Trip type', without naming the platform. No Booking.com, Google or Expedia platform is mentioned.

Source: Company · about contact, our rates, accommodation salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review or links to a review platform. The nearest content is the Tripadvisor-credited quote on the contact page and review excerpts on the rates and Sala's accommodation pages.

Source: Company · about contact, our rates, accommodation salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Not stated on their website: no named award with publisher and year in 2024 to 2026. The homepage has an 'Awards and Recognition' heading with no listed awards; the about page says 'we are humbled to receive in best hotel and resort awards' without naming any. The homepage carries press quotes (Travel and Leisure, Sunday Times Magazine, Condenast Traveller). The Sala's story page says the Footprint Trust 'received recognition by Narok County' for conservation and conservation technology, with no year.

Source: Company · home page, about, salas camp masai mara · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

Not stated on their website: no camp is named on a Condé Nast, Travel + Leisure, Tatler or Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice list. The homepage only reproduces short press quotes from Travel and Leisure Magazine, Sunday Times Magazine and Condenast Traveller.

Source: Company · home page, about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Sala's Camp is described as 'a member of The Long Run' and operates around The Long Run's '4C' philosophy, which aims to give an understanding of the Masai Mara's wildlife, culture, conservation and communities. Dunia Camp (a Tanzania partner camp) is described as 'certified as carbon-neutral' since 2009. No certifier register page was read and no B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism or Travelife certification is mentioned.

Source: Company · salas camp masai mara, dunia camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes, in US dollars. Property pages show 'From' prices (Giraffe Manor from $1,413 pp, Sala's Camp from US $1,391 pp, Sasaab from US$1,329 pp) and itinerary cards show 'from US$' package prices. The rates page links 2026 and 2027 seasonal rate sheets and Siruai Mobile Camp rates for both years. Private Guided Safari and Helicopter Day Tours are 'Price on Request'.

Source: Company · home page, giraffe manor about, salas camp about, sasaab about, our rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

Could not access: the rates page offers 'View Rates' links for 2026 and 2027 seasonal rates (and Siruai Mobile Camp 2026 and 2027), but the rate sheets themselves are not in the pages read. Only 'from' prices appear on property pages (see Price per person per day). The only season dates read are for 2018 (season 16 Dec 2017 to 5 Jan 2018 and 1 Jun to 30 Sep 2018; savings season the rest), which are out of date.

Source: Company · our rates, 2018 rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Only 'from' prices are published in the pages read, in US dollars per person ('pp'); the pages do not say per night or give season or year. Lowest: Sasaab from US$1,329 pp (fully inclusive). Giraffe Manor from $1,413 pp (full board, transfers). Sala's Camp from US $1,391 pp (fully inclusive). Siruai and the highest rates are not shown in the text read.

Source: Company · sasaab about, salas camp about, giraffe manor about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Not stated on their website: no minimum stay is given. The camp pages only suggest an 'ideal length' (Giraffe Manor 2 nights; Sala's Camp and Sasaab 4 nights). The 2018 rates page says combination discounts 'start from a 4 night stay'.

Source: Company · giraffe manor about, salas camp about, sasaab about, 2018 rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

Giraffe Manor: all meals (breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea, dinner), all drinks except premium spirits, wines and champagne, laundry, Wi-Fi, entry to the AFEW Giraffe Centre, use of The Retreat facilities and Nairobi transfers at check-in and check-out plus to nearby attractions. Extras: gift shop, spa treatments, gratuities, extra food and drink at Daisy's. Sala's Camp: full board with all meals, drinks and alcohol (not champagne or specially imported wines and spirits), game drives, bush breakfasts, sundowners. Sasaab: full board, drinks, game drives, bush breakfasts, sundowners, nature walks, camel rides, pool and gym; spa treatments extra at SpaSaab. Whether park fees and conservation levies are included is not stated.

Source: Company · what does this price include, giraffe manor about, salas camp about, sasaab about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

30% of the total reservation amount, with a completed booking form, to confirm a booking. Provisional bookings are held for a maximum of ten calendar days, extendable once by up to another ten days in writing.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

Full and final payment, in cleared funds, no later than 45 days before arrival; if the booking is made within 45 days, payment is due immediately on booking.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Cancellation must be in writing and acknowledged in writing by the company. More than 120 days before arrival: 30% deposit refunded, less bank, transaction and currency charges and a 5% admin fee. 120 to 46 days: deposit forfeited. 45 to 30 days: 50% of full value forfeited. Under 30 days and no-shows: 100% forfeited. No refund if a guest leaves a tour early. Third-party properties may carry stricter penalties. Force majeure terms offer credit notes valid for 24 months.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: the terms give no trust account, bonding or client-money protection. They only recommend that guests take full travel and medical insurance and say the company is not liable if they do not.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website: no list of accepted currencies or card surcharge. Published prices are in US dollars and the terms say refunds are net of 'bank/payment transaction/currency exchange charges'.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

An 'Emergency Contact' number is published: +254 714 422 139. The page does not describe it as 24-hour. Property duty or general manager lines are also listed: Giraffe Manor +254 733 224 446, The Retreat +254 110 593 020, Sasaab +254 728 601 211, Sala's Camp +254 792 861 853.

Source: Company · about contact · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Direct bookings: a completed booking form plus a 30% deposit, with the balance 45 days before arrival. Trade: agents and tour operators use the trade reservations address; contract rates, special offers and terms are supplied on request by email (2018 rates page). No commission percentage or agent commission statement is on the pages read.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, about contact, 2018 rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on direct price parity or a direct-booking benefit. The terms say the company 'will endeavour to adhere to those rates published on behalf of our properties' but reserves the right to change rates without notice.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no tourism licence number or ATTA, SATSA, KATO or similar membership is given. The terms cite Kenya's Data Protection Act No. 24 of 2019 and Kenyan governing law; Sala's Camp is described as a member of The Long Run.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, salas camp masai mara · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

Own camps are in Kenya only (Nairobi, Samburu, Masai Mara, Laikipia). Property pages also cover camps in Tanzania (Olakira and Dunia, Serengeti), the Democratic Republic of Congo (Kibumba, Virunga National Park) and the Republic of Congo (Mboko, Ngaga and Lango, Odzala-Kokoua National Park); the site calls the wider offering partner properties but does not say who owns them. An older page mentions Solio Lodge in Laikipia.

Source: Company · home page, about, olakira camp, dunia camp, kibumba tented camp virunga national park congo, mboko camp, explore salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

The homepage lists five properties: Giraffe Manor, The Retreat, Sasaab, Sala's Camp and Siruai Mobile Camp. Six further camp pages cover Olakira, Dunia, Kibumba, Mboko, Ngaga and Lango. Owned versus managed is not stated. The Sala's Camp page (older text) refers to Solio Lodge as another property.

Source: Company · home page, explore salas camp, olakira camp, dunia camp, kibumba tented camp virunga national park congo, mboko camp, ngaga camp, lango camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

Giraffe Manor and The Retreat: Karen Hardy area, Nairobi. Sasaab: Westgate Conservancy, Samburu. Sala's Camp: Masai Mara National Reserve, on the Sand River near the Tanzanian border. Siruai Mobile Camp: currently on the privately owned 43,000-acre Suyian Ranch, Laikipia. Partner pages: Olakira (southern Serengeti National Park), Dunia (central Serengeti, Moru Kopjes), Kibumba Tented Camp (Virunga National Park, DRC), Mboko, Lango and Ngaga (Odzala-Kokoua National Park, Republic of Congo).

Source: Company · about contact, sasaab about, salas camp about, a day at siruai mobile camp, olakira camp, dunia camp, kibumba tented camp virunga national park congo, mboko camp, ngaga camp, lango camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

Giraffe Manor: 12 rooms, 29 guests. Sasaab: 11 suites with private pools, 25 guests. Sala's Camp: 7 tents, 18 guests. Siruai Mobile Camp: 7 canvas tents, exclusive use for up to ten guests. The Retreat: four day rooms. Smallest own camps: Sala's and Siruai (7 tents); largest: Giraffe Manor (12 rooms). Partner camps: Olakira 8 tents (up to 16 guests), Dunia 8 tents, Kibumba 18 tents, Mboko 12 bungalows, Ngaga 6 chalets, Lango 6 rooms.

Source: Company · giraffe manor about, sasaab about, salas camp about, safari camp laikipia, siruai mobile camp, is the retreat wheelchair friendly accessible for people with mobility challenges, olakira camp, dunia camp, kibumba tented camp virunga national park congo, mboko camp, ngaga camp, lango camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

Sala's Camp is inside the Masai Mara National Reserve, in an area the site says is classed a 'Low Use Zone' in the 2023 Mara Management Plan; guests often drive without meeting other vehicles. Sasaab is in Westgate Community Conservancy, just outside Samburu National Reserve, so guests get night drives and walks not allowed in a national park; conservancy fees go to the community. Siruai is on private ranch land (Suyian Ranch) and is sold for exclusive use. Giraffe Manor is in a Nairobi suburb. No formal sole-traversing claim is made.

Source: Company · salas camp about, salas camp masai mara, sasaab about, a day at siruai mobile camp, safari camp laikipia, giraffe manor about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

Siruai Mobile Camp is a mobile camp, currently on Suyian Ranch in Laikipia; months of moves are not stated. Sala's Camp began as a mobile camp in 2004 and is now permanent, open June to October and December to March (its company pages give 2006 and 2008 as the year it stopped moving). Partner camp Olakira is semi-permanent and moves twice a year: June to November at the Mara River in the northern Serengeti and December to March at Ndutu. Dunia is a permanent camp.

Source: Company · siruai mobile camp, safari camp laikipia, salas camp masai mara, salas camp about, olakira camp, dunia camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

Kibumba Tented Camp (Virunga National Park, DRC) is within range of two habituated mountain gorilla families trekked from the camp. Ngaga Camp (Odzala-Kokoua, Republic of Congo) offers western lowland gorilla tracking, with viewing limited to one hour. The homepage mentions trekking for mountain gorillas. Whether permits are included is not stated on these pages. No chimpanzee trekking is mentioned.

Source: Company · kibumba tented camp virunga national park congo, ngaga camp, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

City: Giraffe Manor and The Retreat are in Nairobi. Beach: the company sells a Beach and Bush Safari Holiday (11 nights from US$13,550 per person sharing) and mentions the Indian Ocean, but no own beach property is named.

Source: Company · giraffe manor about, home page, whats so special about a beach and bush safari holiday in kenya · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

The solo offer says Sasaab guests can 'book a private tour in our helicopter' and 'Helicopter Day Tours' is a listed experience (price on request). Scheduled flights use Safarilink (the solo offer warns guests may pay for extra seats). Siruai has a private airstrip and charter flights. Giraffe Manor includes Nairobi transfers; the solo offer includes airport transfers. Sala's guests usually fly to Keekorok Airstrip.

Source: Company · single rates waivered for solo safari special offer, home page, siruai mobile camp, what does this price include, explore salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Giraffe Manor rates are the same for residents and non-residents of Kenya. No resident, East Africa or SADC rates are published for other camps in the pages read.

Source: Company · what are the resident rates at giraffe manor · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Children are welcome at Giraffe Manor, Sala's Camp, Sasaab (under threes stay free; baby-listening service) and Siruai (children of all ages; one tent can sleep three children). Terms: for rates children are 3 to 15 years 364 days and infants 0 to 2 stay free; at Giraffe Manor children are 3 to 11 years 364 days and 12 and over are adults. Sala's has family suites (Keekorok and Forest Family Tents). No minimum age is given and child rate percentages are not stated.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, giraffe manor about, salas camp about, sasaab about, siruai mobile camp, accommodation salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

Siruai is pitched as suited to family and 'multi-generational' safaris, with tracking, spear throwing, volleyball and a rock-art cave hike for children. Sala's offers activities for children of all ages and a family-tent range. No teenager-specific programme or private-vehicle rules for children are stated.

Source: Company · safari camp laikipia, siruai mobile camp, salas camp about, salas camp activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Sala's Camp has two honeymoon tents and is 'perfect for special occasions including wedding or honeymoon'. The specials list a 'Wildly Romantic' offer of 35% off a 7-night romantic escape. Sasaab suits intimate weddings of up to 24 guests.

Source: Company · accommodation salas camp, salas camp about, single rates waivered for solo safari special offer, sasaab about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Solo offer: single supplements are not charged at Sasaab (up to 35% off). It covers one night at Giraffe Manor, 3 nights at Sasaab and a dayroom at The Retreat, for new bookings, travel 6 January to 31 May 2026 and 1 November to 15 December 2026; it can be combined with Saving Season discounts (40% off 10 nights, 35% off 7 nights, 30% off 4 nights). The general single supplement amount elsewhere is not stated.

Source: Company · single rates waivered for solo safari special offer · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Sala's Camp is 'suitable for guests with limited disabilities'. At The Retreat the pool, sauna, steam room, gym, spa rooms, lounge and restaurant are on the ground floor and accessible; its four day rooms are upstairs by staircase only and not wheelchair accessible. No wider access detail is given for other camps.

Source: Company · salas camp about, is the retreat wheelchair friendly accessible for people with mobility challenges · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

A 'Private Guided Safari' is offered (personalised itinerary and a private guide throughout; price on request). Siruai gives each group its own private guide and vehicle. Which other camps offer this is not stated, nor is any surcharge.

Source: Company · about, home page, siruai mobile camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Siruai Mobile Camp is available on an exclusive-use basis only, for up to ten guests. Sasaab suits intimate weddings of up to 24 guests. No whole-camp buy-out, villa or sole-use rates are described for the other camps in the pages read.

Source: Company · safari camp laikipia, a day at siruai mobile camp, sasaab about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Guides are largely local: Maasai guides at Sala's Camp (Nickson Oltii) and Samburu guides at Sasaab (Daniel Kasoo, Head Guide for over ten years). Sala's is described as having 'professionally trained guides'. A 2014 post calls Daniel 'our silver level head guide'. Walking guides at Siruai carry a rifle. No FGASA or KPSGA body is named.

Source: Company · salas camp about, sasaab about, salas camp activities, starting young lion kids camp 2014, a day at siruai mobile camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Sala's: game drives, bush breakfasts, sundowners, sunrise balloon safari, nature and birding walks, riverbed games, art, spa, gym, candlelit dinner. Sasaab: game drives, night drives, guided walks, camel rides, quad bikes, helicopter trips, Samburu village visits, SpaSaab, infinity pool. Siruai: guided walks, game and night drives, kayaking and tubing, canoeing, fishing, wild swimming, rock-art cave, bird watching, painted dog tracking. Giraffe Manor: giraffe feeding, Giraffe Centre; The Retreat: pool, steam room, sauna, hot tub, gym.

Source: Company · salas camp activities, sasaab about, siruai mobile camp, a day at siruai mobile camp, safari camp laikipia, what does this price include · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Not stated on their website: no statement on whether guests may self-drive. The Sala's page only notes that the road drive from Nairobi takes around five hours on tarmac to the park gate; Siruai is about four hours by road.

Source: Company · explore salas camp, siruai mobile camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

Sala's Camp: photographers 'can stay out as long they like'. Packages include a 6-night Photographic Safari (from US$7,888 per person sharing), a Camera Trap Safari in the Masai Mara and a 'Capture Iconic Kenya' offer led by National Geographic photographer Robin Moore (6 nights, 8 places). Hides are not mentioned. The terms ask that commercial filming or photography requests go to marketing.

Source: Company · salas camp activities, home page, single rates waivered for solo safari special offer, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

Conservation is run through The Safari Collection Footprint Trust. Sasaab conservancy fees paid by guests fund roads, security, schools, clinics and management in Westgate Conservancy. At Sala's every guest pays a conservation fee: park fee plus a share to neighbouring communities and a fee supporting the Mara Rhino Rangers. Projects named: Mara Rhino Rangers, Mara Predator Conservation Programme, The Pangolin Project, Maasai Mara Conservation Centre (2024, EarthRanger), dental and eye clinics, Conservation Scholarship Programme. No per-night percentage or amount is stated.

Source: Company · salas camp footprint, sasaab about, salas camp masai mara, camp chronicles · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Sala's Camp electricity is solar with a standby generator and it has a kitchen garden and recycled glass design. Sasaab has eco-garden pods and composting workshops. Mboko runs largely on solar with reverse osmosis water. Dunia has been certified carbon-neutral since 2009 with solar lanterns. Sala's is a member of The Long Run. A Sustainability Manager is named in an older post. Electric vehicles and a plastic policy are not stated.

Source: Company · accommodation salas camp, explore salas camp, camp chronicles, mboko camp, dunia camp, salas camp masai mara, good gnus from salas camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

Trade sales are supported: agents and tour operators use [email protected]; contract rates, special offers and terms are sent on request. No agent portal or preferred-partner statement is on the pages read.

Source: Company · about contact, 2018 rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

The Safari Collection: questions people ask

Is The Safari Collection a good company to book a safari with?

The Safari Collection is a Kenyan family company founded in 2009 by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, with five properties of its own in Kenya including Giraffe Manor and Sala's Camp. No Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found on 19 and 20 October 2026, so no independent score is cited here. Its terms are published, but no trust account or bond for guest payments was in the terms read on 19 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to The Safari Collection for a luxury safari?

Camp owners with camps in or beside the Maasai Mara include Angama, Cottar's Safaris, Elewana Collection, Gamewatchers Safaris (Porini Camps) and Governors' Camp Collection. Governors' Camp publishes 2026 rates of US$453 to US$998 per person sharing, read 19 October 2026. Elewana runs Sand River camp inside the Masai Mara National Reserve, where Sala's Camp is. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.

How much does a safari with The Safari Collection cost?

Its property pages show 'from' prices per person of US$1,329 at Sasaab, US$1,391 at Sala's Camp and US$1,413 at Giraffe Manor, read 19 October 2026. The pages do not say whether these are per night or which season they cover and the 2026 and 2027 rate sheets could not be read. A 6-night Photographic Safari is sold from US$7,888 per person sharing.

What deposit does The Safari Collection take and when is the balance due?

A 30% deposit with a completed booking form confirms a booking and full payment is due 45 days before arrival, according to the terms read 19 October 2026. Bookings made within 45 days are paid in full at once.

What are The Safari Collection's cancellation charges?

More than 120 days before arrival the 30% deposit is refunded less bank charges and a 5% admin fee. At 120 to 46 days the deposit is lost. At 45 to 30 days 50% is lost; under 30 days or a no-show, 100%. Read 19 October 2026.

What is the minimum age for children at The Safari Collection?

No minimum age was on the pages read. Children are welcome at Giraffe Manor, Sala's Camp, Sasaab and Siruai and infants under 3 stay free. Child rates apply for ages 3 to 15, but at Giraffe Manor guests aged 12 and over pay the adult rate.

Who owns The Safari Collection and where is it based?

It is a Kenyan, family-run company founded and directed by Tanya and Mikey Carr-Hartley, trading as The Safari Collection (legal entity The Safari Collection Limited). It is based at Giraffe Manor in Nairobi. No parent group or investors are named.

Does The Safari Collection charge a single supplement?

The general single supplement was not on the pages read on 19 October 2026. A solo offer waives it at Sasaab for travel 1 November to 15 December 2026; an earlier 6 January to 31 May 2026 window has passed. Read 19 October 2026.

Can I have a private guide and vehicle with The Safari Collection?

Yes. A Private Guided Safari is sold at a price on request and at Siruai Mobile Camp each group has its own guide and vehicle. For the other camps the surcharge is not stated.

Is The Safari Collection good for a honeymoon?

Sala's Camp has two honeymoon tents and the 'Wildly Romantic' offer gives 35% off a 7-night stay. Sasaab hosts weddings of up to 24 guests.

When is Sala's Camp open?

Sala's Camp opens June to October and December to March. It is a permanent camp inside the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Sand River, with 7 tents for 18 guests.

This page contains no paid placement. The Safari Collection is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with camps in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 and 20 October 2026 from The Safari Collection's own website (no Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found), kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.