Expeditions · Solo safari camp index 2026

Safari Camps With No Single Supplement in 2026: 15 Lodge Groups Assessed, Plus the Cheapest Solo Nights, the Waiver Seasons and Private Vehicles for One

By Richard J. · written from Valencia13 lodge groups scored /100Verified 24 September 2026

The safari lodge group that is best for solo travellers in 2026 is Angama, at 70/100: its two Kenya lodges publish full 2026 and 2027 rates, a 50 per cent single supplement, and a waiver for the first two singles on a booking from January to May and in November. Wilderness (68) charges no single supplement at any of its camps, and Singita (65) charges none for a single room at Ebony Lodge unless three or more are booked together. We scored 13 of the 15 groups assessed on seven published criteria; only these three clear the 60-point pass mark. The page then answers which camps waive the supplement, what one night alone costs, the cheapest solo nights and which groups give you a vehicle of your own.

Verified 24 September 2026 · lodge groups' own rates, offers, terms and camp pages · rates in the currency each group publishes · single-night costs calculated from published rates where marked

Which safari lodge groups are best for solo travellers in 2026?

The safari lodge groups best for solo travellers in 2026 are Angama (70/100), Wilderness (68) and Singita (65), the only three of the 15 groups assessed to clear our 60-point pass mark. The score measures what each group publishes about travelling alone: the supplement, any waiver, the rates, the vehicle and how a solo guest is looked after.

How the score works (100 points). Standard single supplement published 20: the standard supplement as a percentage or amount, by camp or group-wide (20); a range or from-figure (10) · No-supplement waivers 25: a standing no-supplement policy at one or more named camps (25); seasonal or promotional waivers with named camps and dates (15) · Solo rooms or tents 10: dedicated single rooms or tents, or a solo-rate room type (10) · Published rates 15: per-person-per-night rates for the current or next season (15); from-prices or partial (8) · Vehicle and guiding policy 10: guests per vehicle or whether solo guests share vehicles, and the private-vehicle cost (10); partial (5) · Terms clarity 10: waiver or supplement terms with dates, camps and stay rules (10); vague (5) · Solo hosting 10: communal dining, hosted meals or a stated solo-guest practice (10); a generic welcome (5). Pass mark 60; only the top six at or above it are ranked. Tie-break: waiver points, then rates points. Companies whose sites could not be read are assessed, not scored. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
#Lodge groupScore /100Single supplementNo-supplement termsWhereBest forPublished rate
1Angama7050%First two singles on a booking pay none, 5 Jan to May and Nov to 22 Dec 2026Kenya: Angama Mara and Angama AmboseliSolo travellers who can go between January and May or from November to 22 December, when the first two singles on a booking pay no supplementAngama Mara: $1,850 per person per night, standard season 2026
2Wilderness68None, group-wideStanding: solo travellers "pay only for themselves" in two-person rooms37 camps in 8 countriesA supplement-free trip at any time of year, across 37 camps in eight countriesFrom $480 per person per night (Doro Nawas, Namibia)
3Singita6525%, from the third single room in a bookingNone for one or two single rooms at Ebony Lodge18 properties; Ebony Lodge in South AfricaA single room with no supplement at Ebony Lodge, provided no more than two single rooms are booked togetherEbony Lodge: R51,665 per adult per night, off-peak 2026
A wildebeest on dry grassland in the Serengeti, Tanzania
A wildebeest in the Serengeti, Tanzania, where Asilia Africa runs 15 properties and Nomad Tanzania about 17; neither publishes a single-supplement figure. Photo: Akos Helgert / Pexels

Score breakdown by criterion

Key: Supp = standard single supplement published · Waiver = no-supplement waivers · Rooms = solo rooms or rates · Rates = published rates · Vehicle = vehicle and guiding policy · Terms = terms clarity · Host = solo hosting

Lodge groupSupp /20Waiver /25Rooms /10Rates /15Vehicle /10Terms /10Host /10Total
Angama
Ranked 1
20150151010070
Wilderness
Ranked 2
202508051068
Singita
Ranked 3
202501505065
Tswalu
Below bar
2001015100055
Time + Tide
Below bar
200015105050
Elewana Collection
Below bar
200101550050
Londolozi
Below bar
2000805033
Asilia Africa
Below bar
00100105530
African Bush Camps
Below bar
0000551020
Natural Selection
Below bar
0008001018
Great Plains Conservation
Below bar
000850013
Machaba Safaris
Below bar
000850013
Nomad Tanzania
Below bar
0000100010

The waiver decides the order at the top. Wilderness and Singita earn the full 25 points for a standing policy, and Angama 15 for a seasonal one; no other group publishes a waiver that meets the rubric, since Asilia Africa's low and green season promise names no camps or dates. Angama still finishes first because it publishes everything else: dated rates for 2026 and 2027, its private-vehicle prices and exact waiver terms, where Wilderness publishes from-prices and no vehicle policy. Below the bar, Tswalu (55), Time + Tide (50) and Elewana Collection (50) are the most transparent about price but offer no waiver. Scores are raw points: a criterion we could not read scores nothing.

Our final review on 24 September 2026 changed four scores. Singita rises from 40 to 65: its Ebony Lodge rates page says the 25 per cent supplement starts with the third single room, so a solo guest in one room pays none, which is a standing waiver. Tswalu and Elewana Collection gain 20 points each because their single-occupancy rates publish the supplement by camp. Wilderness moves from 70 to 68: its from-prices earn 8 points on rates, not 10, which is not a tier in the rubric.

Which safari camps have no single supplement?

Wilderness (68) charges no single supplement at any of its camps, Singita (65) charges none for one or two single rooms at Ebony Lodge, and Angama (70) waives it for the first two singles on a booking from 5 January to May and from November to 22 December 2026; Asilia Africa (30) says solo travellers pay no higher rate in low and green season but names no camps or dates. A standing policy applies all year; a seasonal one applies only on the dates published.

Lodge groupScorePolicyWhere and when
Wilderness68Standing: no supplement for a solo guest in a two-person roomAll camps; the solo safari page names DumaTau (Botswana), Little Kulala (Namibia), Toka Leya (Zambia) and Bisate (Rwanda)
Singita65Standing: the 25% supplement starts only with a third single roomEbony Lodge, South Africa; other lodges not read
Angama70Seasonal: the first two singles on a booking pay no supplementAngama Mara and Angama Amboseli, 5 Jan to May and Nov to 22 Dec 2026; 50% from June to October
Asilia Africa30Seasonal: solo travellers pay no higher rate in low and green season"Boutique camps and lodges", with no camps or dates named on its solo offer page
Asilia Africa (The Asilia Edit)30Single rooms at no extra charge on its small-group tours, up to two per tripBooking terms

Two details matter. Wilderness's promise applies to two-person rooms, so a solo guest takes a normal suite at the sharing price; its offers page separately mentions reduced solo rates in non-peak seasons without dates. Angama's waiver covers only the first two singles on a booking, or on bookings combined, so friends travelling together as singles should book together. Our Wilderness review and Angama review cover the camps themselves.

How much is the single supplement at safari lodges?

Where it is published, the supplement runs from nothing to 50 per cent: Angama and Time + Tide charge 50 per cent, Londolozi 25 per cent, Singita 25 per cent only from the third single room, Tswalu's single-occupancy rates sit about 24 per cent above sharing and Elewana's Tortilis Camp Amboseli about 50 per cent; Great Plains Conservation quotes single rates only on request. The table turns each policy into the price of one night alone, calculated from the group's own published rate.

Lodge groupScoreSupplementOne night alone
Angama7050%, except the first two singles on a booking from 5 Jan to May and Nov to 22 DecAngama Mara 2026: $1,850 from January to May and November to 22 December; $2,775 in June and October; $4,125 from July to September
Time + Tide5050% of the nightly rate at its Zambia campsChinzombo: $1,995 in green season (50% on $1,330)
Elewana Collection50A single-room rate about 50% above the sharing rateTortilis Camp Amboseli: $476 in green season, $1,073 in high season
Tswalu55A single-occupancy rate for every suite, about 24% above sharingThe Motse: ZAR 57,700 single, against ZAR 46,400 per person sharing
Londolozi3325% of the per-person-sharing rate, group-wideVarty Camp: from R27,950 per person sharing, so about R34,940 alone
Singita6525% from the third single room onlyEbony Lodge: R51,665 off-peak, with no supplement for one room
Great Plains Conservation13Single guest rates "available on request"Not published
African Bush Camps20Only for a solo guest within a booking of two or more, in mid and high season; no amountNot published; its Safari Itinerary packages are "not available to solo travellers"

Peak season is where a supplement hurts. At Angama Mara the $2,750 peak rate becomes $4,125 for a solo guest from July to September, and the $1,850 standard rate $2,775 in June and October, against $1,850 with no supplement from January to May and in November. And African Bush Camps goes further than a supplement: its terms say its Safari Itinerary packages are not available to solo travellers at all. Our safari price-per-night decoder explains what a nightly rate includes.

What is the cheapest safari camp for a solo traveller?

The cheapest published night alone is $476 at Elewana's Tortilis Camp Amboseli in Kenya, for a single room on full board in the green season of April and May 2026, followed by Wilderness's Doro Nawas in Namibia from $480 with no supplement; Angama Mara costs $1,850 for one of the first two singles from January to May or from November to 22 December. The test is a price for one person that the group itself publishes, not an estimate.

CampGroupOne night aloneSeason and basis
Tortilis Camp Amboseli, KenyaElewana Collection (50)$476Green season, 1 April to 31 May 2026; single room, full board
Doro Nawas, NamibiaWilderness (68)From $480No season stated; no supplement applies
Angama Mara, KenyaAngama (70)$1,8505 January to May or November to 22 December 2026, as one of the first two singles on a booking
Chinzombo, ZambiaTime + Tide (50)$1,995Green season 2026: $1,330 plus the 50% supplement
Varty Camp, South AfricaLondolozi (33)About R34,940From R27,950 plus the 25% supplement; no season stated
Ebony Lodge, South AfricaSingita (65)R51,665Off-peak 2026 (6 January to 30 April, 1 November to 14 December); no supplement for one room
The Motse, South AfricaTswalu (55)R57,700Legae suite, single occupancy, 2026; no season stated

The cheap nights come with conditions. Tortilis's $476 applies only in the green season, and Doro Nawas's figure is a from-price with no season stated. Rand prices are shown as published because the rates are set in rand; what a South Africa safari costs and what a Kenya safari costs put them in context. If you would rather join a group than book lodges direct, the operators that pair solo travellers are compared in our solo tour operator index.

Partner link

Compare 949 group and private safari tours on BookAllSafaris, with a Singles filter

Which safari camps give solo travellers a private vehicle?

Tswalu includes a private vehicle, guide and tracker with every booking, Nomad Tanzania a private guide and vehicle as standard, and Asilia Africa a private vehicle at its southern Tanzania camps; Angama ($200 a half day, $400 a full day) and Time + Tide ($570 a night) publish the price of one, and Great Plains Conservation, Machaba Safaris and Elewana share vehicles by default. A solo guest in a shared vehicle sits with strangers, so the private-vehicle price is part of the true cost of going alone.

Lodge groupScoreVehicle policyPrivate vehicle
Tswalu55A private vehicle, guide and tracker with every bookingIncluded
Nomad Tanzania10"A private guide and exclusive vehicle as standard"Included
Asilia Africa30Private vehicle and guide at its southern Tanzania camps, as a standing offerIncluded there
Angama70Shared unless you pay for a private vehicle$200 half day, $400 full day; $400 and $800 in peak season
Time + Tide50"Vehicles are shared with other guests"$570 a night
Great Plains Conservation13Open 4x4s with up to six guests; four at its Réserve campsAvailable; price not stated
Machaba Safaris13Six guests per vehicle at every campAvailable at six camps; price not stated
Elewana Collection50Scheduled shared game drivesNot stated

Angama's vehicle prices double in its peak season, to $400 a half day and $800 a full day. Great Plains limits its Réserve camps to four guests per vehicle, the smallest shared vehicle published by any group. Our Tswalu review and Nomad Tanzania review cover the two groups that include one.

The three best safari lodge groups for solo travellers in detail

Angama publishes the most complete terms, Wilderness the only group-wide no-supplement policy, and Singita the quietest waiver: none for a single room at Ebony Lodge. Each profile gives the criterion scores, the weakest one and the page it was read on.

1. Angama: 70/100

A lone acacia tree on the grassland of the Maasai Mara, Kenya
The Maasai Mara, Kenya, where Angama Mara charges $1,850 per person per night in its 2026 standard season. Photo: Zebari Visuals / Pexels

50% supplement; none for the first two singles, Jan to May and Nov to 22 Dec · Rates published for 2026 and 2027 · Private vehicle from $200 a half day

Angama, which runs Angama Mara in the Maasai Mara and Angama Amboseli in Kenya, scores full marks on the supplement (20), rates (15), vehicle policy (10) and terms (10). Its Angama Mara rates page states that from 5 January to May and from November to 22 December the first two singles on any reservation, or combination of reservations, carry no supplement, and that a 50 per cent supplement applies to all singles from June to October (15 of 25 for a seasonal waiver). It publishes 2026 rates of $1,850 in standard season and $2,750 in peak, and Angama Amboseli has published its 2027 rates. It loses points for having no single room type (0 of 10) and no stated practice for hosting solo guests (0 of 10). Our Angama review covers the lodges.

2. Wilderness: 68/100

African elephants gathered at a waterhole in Namibia
Elephants at a waterhole in Namibia, where Wilderness runs Little Kulala and Doro Nawas, its lowest-priced camp at $480 per person per night. Photo: Bruno Almeida / Pexels

No single supplement, group-wide · 37 camps in 8 countries · From $480 per person per night

Wilderness is the only group with a standing, group-wide no-supplement policy: its solo safari page says solo travellers "pay only for themselves" in two-person rooms and names DumaTau, Little Kulala, Toka Leya and Bisate as camps for solo guests (20 of 20 and 25 of 25). It also says guides can be a dinner companion if you want company (10 of 10 for hosting). It loses points on rates, because its camps page gives from-prices without seasons, from $480 at Doro Nawas to $3,549 at Bisate Reserve (8 of 15); on vehicles, with no guests-per-vehicle or private-vehicle price (0 of 10); and on terms, because an offers page ties a separate solo benefit to unnamed non-peak seasons (5 of 10). Our Wilderness review covers the group.

3. Singita: 65/100

A leopard lying on a tree branch in South Africa
A leopard in Mpumalanga, South Africa. At Singita Ebony Lodge a single room carries no supplement unless three or more are booked together. Photo: Emma Jane Seymour / Pexels

No supplement for one or two single rooms at Ebony Lodge · 25% from the third single room · R51,665 to R60,470 per adult per night in 2026

Singita's Ebony Lodge rates page states that a single supplement applies only if three or more single rooms are booked in a reservation, at 25 per cent of the adult rate from the third room: a solo traveller in one room pays none (20 of 20 and 25 of 25). It publishes full 2026 rates by season, from R51,665 off-peak to R60,470 in peak (15 of 15). It scores nothing for solo rooms, vehicle policy or solo hosting, and 5 of 10 for terms, because the page gives no booking window or stay rules. The same page says families of four or more with a child under ten get a private vehicle free. Our Singita review covers the lodges.

Which safari lodge groups were assessed but not ranked?

Ten groups scored below the 60-point pass mark, Tswalu (55), Time + Tide (50), Elewana Collection (50), Londolozi (33), Asilia Africa (30), African Bush Camps (20), Natural Selection (18), Great Plains Conservation (13), Machaba Safaris (13) and Nomad Tanzania (10), and andBeyond and Sanctuary Retreats could not be read. None of the ten publishes a waiver that meets the rubric, which alone costs each group up to 25 points.

Lodge groupScoreWhat it publishes, and where it lost points
Tswalu55Publishes a single-occupancy rate for every suite and includes a private vehicle, guide and tracker, but has no waiver, no supplement terms and no solo hosting.
Time + Tide50The plainest rate card: 50% supplement, full 2026 rates by camp and a $570 private vehicle; no waiver and no solo hosting.
Elewana Collection50Tortilis Camp Amboseli prices a single room in every 2026 season; game drives are shared and no waiver is offered.
Londolozi33A 25% supplement in its terms and a from-rate for Varty Camp; no waiver, vehicle policy or full rate card was readable.
Asilia Africa30No higher rate for solo guests in low and green season, and single rooms on its small-group tours, but no camps, dates or rates are published.
African Bush Camps20Communal tables at camps such as Somalisa, but its terms exclude solo travellers from its Safari Itinerary packages.
Natural Selection18Jack's Camp welcomes solo travellers at its communal table; rates sit in PDFs sent to agents, and no supplement is published.
Great Plains Conservation13Vehicles of six (four at Réserve camps) and a from-rate of $1,590 at ol Donyo Lodge; single guest rates on request.
Machaba Safaris13Package prices by length of stay and six guests per vehicle; no supplement figure or terms published.
Nomad Tanzania10A private guide and vehicle on every booking, but no rates or supplement published.
andBeyondNot scoredIts pages render only with JavaScript; nothing could be read after 12 attempts.
Sanctuary RetreatsNot scoredEvery page tried was blocked; now trading as A&K Sanctuary.
A white pelican standing on grass in the Okavango Delta, Botswana
A white pelican in the Okavango Delta, Botswana, where Machaba Safaris sells a nine-night Classic Delta Package from $18,047 per person sharing in high season. Photo: Lelani Badenhorst / Pexels

A low score here measures what a group publishes for solo travellers, not the quality of its camps. See our Time + Tide review, Londolozi review, Asilia Africa review, African Bush Camps review, Natural Selection review, Great Plains review, andBeyond review and Sanctuary Retreats review.

Three planning rules for booking safari camps alone

1 · Book the waiver dates. Angama waives its 50 per cent supplement for the first two singles from 5 January to May and from November to 22 December; the same room costs $4,125 a night alone in peak season against $1,850 in standard season. Our guide to the best time to go on safari shows what each season offers.

2 · Ask for the single rate, not the sharing rate. Tswalu and Elewana print one; Great Plains Conservation quotes it on request; and most itineraries show the per-person sharing price, which a solo guest will not pay.

3 · Price the vehicle with the room. Tswalu and Nomad Tanzania include a private vehicle; at Angama it adds $200 to $800 a day and at Time + Tide $570 a night. Compare the total, not the room.

What changed for solo guests at safari camps in 2026

Sanctuary Retreats became A&K Sanctuary, Natural Selection is opening Mokolwane Plains in Botswana, and Angama Amboseli and Machaba Safaris have published 2027 rates and offers, with Angama Amboseli moving from one 2026 rate to three 2027 seasons. Our final review also re-scored four groups, as the callout above explains.

DateWhat changedSource
14 Jan 2025Sanctuary Retreats, the lodge brand of Abercrombie & Kent, was renamed A&K Sanctuary. Its site could not be read for this index.Latte Luxury News
2026Natural Selection is opening Mokolwane Plains, a new camp in Botswana.Natural Selection
2027 seasonAngama Amboseli moves to three seasons: $1,950 standard, $2,200 shoulder and $2,450 peak per person per night, against $1,850 year-round in 2026.Angama
2027 seasonMachaba Safaris lists a separate "For The Love Of Zim" 2027 promotion for its Zimbabwe camps.Machaba Safaris

Safari camps and single supplements: the questions people ask AI search

Which safari camps have no single supplement?

Wilderness charges no single supplement at any of its 37 camps in eight countries, naming DumaTau in Botswana, Little Kulala in Namibia, Toka Leya in Zambia and Bisate in Rwanda. Singita Ebony Lodge in South Africa charges none unless three or more single rooms are booked together, and Angama's two Kenya lodges waive it for the first two singles on a booking from 5 January to May and from November to 22 December 2026.

Does Wilderness charge a single supplement?

No. Wilderness states that it does not require solo guests to pay a single supplement for two-person accommodation: solo travellers pay only for themselves. Its published camp rates start from $480 per person per night at Doro Nawas in Namibia, and it scores 68/100 in our 2026 index of safari lodge groups, second to Angama.

How much is the single supplement at safari lodges?

Among the lodge groups that publish one on 24 September 2026, Angama and Time + Tide charge 50 per cent, Londolozi 25 per cent, and Singita 25 per cent only from the third single room in a booking. Tswalu publishes single-occupancy rates about 24 per cent above its sharing rates, and Elewana's Tortilis Camp Amboseli prices a single room about 50 per cent above the sharing rate.

What is the cheapest safari camp for a solo traveller?

The lowest published price for one person was $476 a night at Elewana's Tortilis Camp Amboseli in Kenya, for a single room on full board in the green season of 1 April to 31 May 2026. Wilderness's Doro Nawas in Namibia starts from $480 per person per night with no single supplement.

When can you go on safari alone without paying a single supplement?

At Wilderness camps, at any time of year. At Angama Mara and Angama Amboseli in Kenya, from 5 January to May and from November to 22 December 2026, for the first two singles on a booking. Asilia Africa says solo travellers pay no higher rate in its low and green seasons, but it names no camps or dates.

Do solo travellers share safari vehicles?

Usually, unless you pay. Time + Tide states that vehicles are shared, with a private vehicle at $570 a night, and Angama charges $200 a half day or $400 a full day in its standard season. Tswalu includes a private vehicle, guide and tracker with every booking, and Nomad Tanzania a private guide and vehicle as standard.

Is Singita good for solo travellers?

Singita scores 65/100 in our 2026 index, third of 15 lodge groups. At Singita Ebony Lodge in South Africa a single room carries no supplement unless three or more are booked together, and 2026 rates run from R51,665 to R60,470 per adult per night. It publishes no solo room type, vehicle policy or solo hosting.

Does African Bush Camps accept solo travellers?

Its terms state that its Safari Itinerary packages are not available to solo travellers, and that a single supplement applies to a guest who needs their own room within a booking of two or more, in mid and high season. Somalisa Camp serves meals at a communal table. It scores 20/100 in our index.

Which safari lodge groups could not be assessed?

andBeyond and Sanctuary Retreats, now trading as A&K Sanctuary. andBeyond's pages render only with JavaScript and returned no readable text after 12 attempts, and every Sanctuary page tried was blocked. Both are listed as assessed, not scored, rather than guessed.

Rankings are scored against the published criteria above; no score or rank can be bought, and partners are labelled. The BookAllSafaris link labelled as a partner link is an affiliate link: we earn a commission if you book through it, at no extra cost to you. Every other link, including those to the lodge groups assessed, is editorial and unpaid. Sources verified 24 September 2026: the lodge groups' own rates, offers, terms and camp pages; Latte Luxury News.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.