Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A reed-walled bar with a thatched roof and a Maasai shield on the wall at Cottars Camp, Masai Mara, in July 1988

The bar at Cottars Camp, Masai Mara, July 1988, before Cottar's 1920s Camp opened in 1998. Photo: Ron Knight, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.

Is Cottar's Safaris a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

Cottar's Safaris is a Kenyan family company that dates itself to 1919 and runs two properties in the private Olderkesi Conservancy on the edge of the Maasai Mara: Cottar's 1920s Camp (11 tented suites) and Cottar's Bush Villa (five bedrooms). Its main Google listing shows 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews (read 20 October 2026); no Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found on 19 October 2026. It gives a starting rate of approximately US$1,000 per person per night (read 19 October 2026); seasonal rates, the deposit and cancellation terms were not on the pages read.

Is Cottar's Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Cottar's Safaris is a family-run Kenyan camp owner, founded in 1919 by its own account, with two properties in the Olderkesi Conservancy and 4.8 out of 5 from 132 Google reviews (read 20 October 2026), though its deposit, cancellation and payment protection terms were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

The about page says Cottar's Safari Services was founded in 1919 by Charles Cottar and his sons; Cottar's 1920s Camp followed in 1998 and the Bush Villa in 2012. The trading name covers two companies, Nineteen Twenties Safari Camps Ltd and Cottars Safari Services Limited, with a head office at Watermark Business Park in Karen, Nairobi. No company registration number is given. It is run by the fifth generation of the family, with Louise Cottar as Chief Executive and Calvin Cottar as figurehead. Its FAQ says "We are not a corporate company, but a family". It is both a camp owner and a planner: the Cottar's Safaris Travel Concierge plans trips in 12 other countries using other operators' camps.

Reviews by platform: Google 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews on its main listing (read 20 October 2026). No Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found (19 October 2026) and Tripadvisor could not be read. The company says it won "Best Guides in Africa" at the Safari Awards in 2025; its other listed awards carry no year and none was checked against the publishers' lists. It says it holds Kenya's Gold Ecotourism Certification and The Long Run's Global Ecosphere Retreat standard. No tourism licence number or membership of KATO or ATTA was on the pages read.

The pages read on 19 October 2026 do not state the deposit, balance date, cancellation charges or how guest payments are protected; the terms page refers to separate Booking Terms and Conditions, which were not on the pages read. It suits families and couples who want a tented camp or a private villa in a conservancy beside the Maasai Mara National Reserve.

Cottar's SafarisKenya · founded 1919

A lawn with a footpath, acacia trees and a small wooden hut at Cottars Camp, Masai Mara, in July 1988
A lawn and wooden hut at Cottars Camp in the Masai Mara, photographed in July 1988, before Cottar's 1920s Camp was established in 1998. Photo: Ron Knight, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.
Best for
Families and private villa stays near the Mara
Why choose them
Its four family tents include a dedicated guide and private vehicle at no extra cost. Google: 4.8 from 132 reviews, read 20 October 2026.
Ask for
The separate Booking Terms and Conditions in writing (deposit, balance date, cancellation scale), a rate by camp and season, the conservancy and park fees itemised and how your payment is held.
Not the fit if
You need a fully adapted camp (the FAQ says the properties are not fully adapted throughout); if you want the company's own camps outside Kenya; or if you travel alone and want a single supplement in writing before you book (none was on the pages read).
Published price
From approximately US$1,000 per person per night, all-inclusive, with no camp, season or year named; full board with house wines, beer and select spirits, transfers from Cottar's own airstrip and guided drives, walks and camp activities included; conservancy and park fees, flights and tips extra. Read 19 October 2026.

How much does a safari with Cottar's Safaris cost?

The pages read on 19 October 2026 give one figure for Cottar's Safaris: all-inclusive rates that start from approximately US$1,000 per person per night, with no camp, season or year named.

The FAQ says "Our all-inclusive rates start from approximately $1,000 per person per night". The 'View Availability and Rates' pages for both properties showed no figures when read on 19 October 2026 and no highest rate was on the pages read. The offers page names Private, Mid, High and Peak seasons without prices. Ask for a written quote by camp and season.

Included in the rate: full board with house wines, soft drinks, beer and select spirits; transfers from Cottar's private airstrip (15 to 20 minutes away); daily laundry; a nanny with prior booking; guided drives, bush walks, runs, the Maasai Warrior School and stargazing. At the Bush Villa a dedicated vehicle and guide are included. Extra: conservancy and park fees, road transfers from Keekorok or other airstrips, a private vehicle at the 1920s Camp, guiding by Calvin Cottar, flights and tips.

  • Balloon ride: from $505 per adult, $400 per child aged 4 to 11.
  • Spa: from $50.
  • Cheetah and raptor experience: half day from $780.
  • Photography experience with Georgina Goodwin: from $780 plus travel.
  • Conservation helicopter flight with the Mara Elephant Project: from a $3,000 donation.

All add-on prices read 19 October 2026, in US dollars as the company quotes them. The FAQ recommends at least three nights at either camp.

Where are Cottar's Safaris' camps?

Both Cottar's properties, the 1920s Camp and the Bush Villa, are in the private Olderkesi Conservancy in Kenya, bordering the Maasai Mara National Reserve, the Serengeti and Loliondo.

  • Cottar's 1920s Camp, Olderkesi Conservancy: 11 tented suites (five luxury double tents, four family tents with two en-suite bedrooms each and two honeymoon tents).
  • Cottar's Bush Villa, Olderkesi Conservancy: one villa with five en-suite bedrooms for up to 10 guests (12 possible), with its own staff, chef, guide, vehicle and a 25-metre pool.

The FAQ gives the conservancy as 7,608 acres (other pages say 7,600 and 7,551), on community land the company leases from 6,000 Maasai households. The company calls it "the only private-use conservancy in the Maasai Mara". Game drives also go into the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Sole traversing rights were not stated on the pages read and no mobile or seasonal camps are listed. The camp airstrip is 15 to 20 minutes by road; Governors Aviation is the preferred airline from Wilson Airport in Nairobi.

Who is Cottar's Safaris best for?

Cottar's Safaris fits families with children of any age, honeymooners and groups of up to 10 who want a villa to themselves near the Maasai Mara.

  • Families with young children: children of all ages are welcome, children aged 0 to 3 stay free and the four family tents come with a dedicated guide and private vehicle at no extra cost.
  • Groups of up to 10: the Bush Villa is booked for exclusive use with its own chef, guide, vehicle and pool; sole-use rates were not on the pages read.
  • Honeymooners: two honeymoon tents (Kiboko with a wood-fired hot tub, Molo with an outdoor bath); the offer of 50% off one partner's stay runs 1 November to 19 December 2026 on four nights or more, excluding the Bush Villa.
  • Walkers: bush walks are led with a licensed, armed gun bearer and the company says many of its guides are KPSGA Gold or Silver qualified.
  • Guests who want the owner as guide: Calvin Cottar guides at an extra charge, booked ahead.

Not the fit if you need full wheelchair access (the FAQ says the camps "are not fully adapted throughout", with some wheelchair-friendly tents); if you want published seasonal rates and booking terms before you enquire; or if you travel alone and want the single supplement in writing before you book (none was on the pages read on 19 October 2026).

What are the best alternatives to Cottar's Safaris for a luxury safari?

Angama, Asilia Africa, Gamewatchers Safaris, Governors' Camp Collection and The Safari Collection run camps in or beside the Masai Mara. These are five of the nine camp owners in the table with camps in or beside the Masai Mara that have a review on this site; the other four are Elewana Collection, Great Plains Conservation, Sanctuary Retreats and Wilderness. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • Angama: Angama Mara sits on the Oloololo Escarpment above the Maasai Mara, with Angama Safari Camp in the Mara Triangle and a third lodge near Amboseli. It publishes 2026 rates of US$1,850 (Standard) and US$2,750 (Peak) per person per night at Angama Mara and US$950 in Standard Season at the Safari Camp (read 19 October 2026).
  • Asilia Africa: Owns five Kenyan camps, among them Rekero Camp and Emboo Camp in the Maasai Mara reserve and Naboisho Camp and Encounter Mara in Mara Naboisho Conservancy. Encounter Mara is US$940 (High Season 2026) to US$500 (Green Season, April 2027) per person per night (read 19 October 2026); minimum age 5 at Encounter Mara.
  • Gamewatchers Safaris: Runs Porini camps in Mara conservancies (Ol Kinyei, Mara Ripoi and Olare Motorogi) and publishes reduced rates for stays of six nights or more, for example US$584 per person sharing at Porini Mara Camp, 1 to 30 June 2026 (read 19 October 2026). Its Porini camps are not suitable for children under 8.
  • Governors' Camp Collection: Governors' Camp and Il Moran Camp are inside the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Mara River, with Loldia House on Lake Naivasha. It publishes full 2026 rate sheets: US$424 (Loldia House, 1 April to 31 May) to US$1,592 (Il Moran, July to October) per person sharing (read 19 October 2026).
  • The Safari Collection: Sala's Camp (7 tents) is in the Masai Mara National Reserve on the Sand River near the Tanzanian border; the company also has Giraffe Manor in Nairobi and Sasaab in Samburu. Sala's Camp shows a 'from' price of US$1,391 per person, fully inclusive (read 19 October 2026).

How do you book Cottar's Safaris?

You book Cottar's Safaris direct by email, phone, WhatsApp or a call with its Travel Concierge, or through a safari specialist travel agency, which the company says it encourages.

Bookings go to the reservations team ([email protected]), led by Liz Kamau, Head of Reservations; the contact page also lets you book a call. No reply time was given on the pages read. The company also sells through agents and has representatives for the UK and Europe, South Africa and North America; its concierge page says of booking through a travel advisor "Yes and we encourage it". The pages read make no statement on whether direct and agent prices match and give no resident rates. The pages read on 19 October 2026 do not state the deposit, balance date, cancellation charges or how payments are protected; the terms page refers to separate Booking Terms and Conditions, which were not on the pages read. The privacy policy says payment may be by credit card, bank transfer or cash; rates are quoted in US dollars. A 24-hour emergency line is listed (+254 733 773377). A short enquiry brief:

  • Ask for the Booking Terms and Conditions in writing before paying anything.
  • Ask for the nightly rate per person by camp and season, with the season dates.
  • Ask for conservancy and park fees to be itemised, since the offers page lists them as extra.
  • Ask for the child rate by age and tent. Ask whether your children fall in a free-stay offer.
  • Ask for the private vehicle surcharge at the 1920s Camp if you are not in a family tent.
  • Ask how your deposit is held and whether card payments carry a fee.

Cottar's Safaris: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about Cottar's Safaris were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading name 'Cottar's Safaris', described as the 'Group Brand Name' covering two companies: Nineteen Twenties Safari Camps Ltd and Cottars Safari Services Limited (the terms page writes 'Cottars Safari Service Ltd'). No company registration number is given. Postal address: PO Box 44191, Karen, Nairobi, Kenya 00100.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, privacy and cookie policy · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Head office in Karen, Nairobi, Kenya: 'Ground Floor Suite 2A - Spring Court, Watermark Business Park, Karen, Nairobi'. A camp office line is also listed (+254 716 346734) and the camps are in the Olderkesi Conservancy by the Maasai Mara. Representatives, not offices, are listed for the UK and Europe (Elle Ross), South Africa (Andrew McEwan, Africa in Focus) and North America (CornerSun Destination Marketing).

Source: Company · contact, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Year founded

1919. The about page says Cottar's Safari Services was founded in 1919 by Charles Cottar and his sons, after Charles left Oklahoma for East Africa in 1909. Cottar's 1920s Camp was established in 1998 by Calvin Cottar and Louise Cottar; Cottar's Bush Villa was introduced in 2012. Glen and Pat Cottar founded the first purpose-built tented camp in Tsavo in the 1960s.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Described as family-owned and run: 'Africa's oldest established family-run safari company', five generations of the Cottar family, under fifth-generation Calvin Cottar (figurehead) and CEO Louise Cottar. The FAQ says 'We are not a corporate company, but a family'. No parent group or outside investors are named.

Source: Company · about us, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Both. It owns and runs two camps in the Olderkesi Conservancy (Cottar's 1920s Camp and Cottar's Bush Villa) and also runs Cottar's Safaris Travel Concierge, which plans tailor-made multi-camp safaris across East, Southern and Central Africa and the Indian Ocean with other operators' camps ('We also collaborate with trusted tour operators, ground handlers and safari accommodations across Africa').

Source: Company · faq, cottars safaris travel concierge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Team size is not given. Named core team: Louise Cottar (Chief Executive Officer), Calvin Cottar (Figurehead), Tana Pike (Chief Operating Officer), Eugene Engelbrecht (Operations Manager), Nasryl Muganda (Guest Relations Manager), Tina Ndibo (Head of Sales), Kim Haysom (Head of Safari Travel Concierge), Hussein Asmani (Head of Digital Presence), Jacob Etabo (Head of Human Resources), Liz Kamau (Head of Reservations). The camp manager is Tanya Leakey. Calvin and Louise Cottar are still leading the company. Eight guides are profiled; the site says over 60% of senior staffing positions are held by women.

Source: Company · about us, faq, sustainability and conservation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct to guests via the website, the reservations email, a booked call with the travel concierge and a live availability calendar. Also 'through a reputable safari specialist travel agency in your region'. An 'Agents Portal' link is in the site menu (portal content not read). Regional representatives are listed for the UK and Europe, South Africa and North America. The concierge page says 'Can I book through my preferred travel advisor? Yes and we encourage it.' No resident rates are mentioned.

Source: Company · faq, cottars safaris travel concierge, contact, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'a fifth-generation family-run luxury safari company in Kenya' offering 'sustainable luxury and conservation'; headline 'A Century of Safaris, A Lifetime of Memories'. Claims: 'Africa's oldest established family-run safari company', 'multi-award-winning', 'the only Global Ecosphere Retreat in the Maasai Mara', 'the only private-use conservancy in the Maasai Mara', over 20 activities.

Source: Company · home page, about us, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

No promised reply time is stated. Named contacts: Liz Kamau, Head of Reservations (24-hour line +254733773377), Sheila Njoki (+254733773378); the contact page lists 'Liz - Customer Service' and 'Moses - Trip Planning Expert' for scheduled calls. Email [email protected]; WhatsApp +254733773377.

Source: Company · contact, faq, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews on the Google listing 'Cottar's Safaris' (resort hotel), Maasai Mara, Kenya. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.

Source: Independent source · Google Maps · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/cottars.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google, Expedia or other independent platform links or ratings appear in the pages read. The FAQ only tells guests to 'look for awards and reviews' when choosing a company.

Source: Company · faq, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: no page links to or asks guests for reviews on a named platform. The terms page only covers the licence to use reviews or testimonials that guests submit.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, faq, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Company claims, not checked against publisher lists: 'Best Guides in Africa' from the Safari Awards in 2025; Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Choice Awards and Safari Awards accolades including Most Romantic Safari Property, Most Ecologically Responsible Property in Africa and Best Villa in Africa (years not given); Bush Villa 'Best Private Villa in Africa' from the World Travel Market (year not given and the FAQ says 'awarded Best in Africa'). Only the 2025 Best Guides award has a year.

Source: Company · faq, bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

The FAQ says the company is 'Recognised by Condé Nast Traveller Readers' Choice Awards', quoting Condé Nast Traveller on its guides. No year or list rank is given and the pages do not name Travel + Leisure, Tatler or Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice lists. Camps are not itemised per list (the awards are described for the company and the Bush Villa).

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Global Ecosphere Retreat under The Long Run ('one of only twelve accredited' in the world; the only one in the Maasai Mara); Kenya's Gold Ecotourism Certification (Ecotourism Kenya, 'Gold Eco-rated'); Ecosystem Restoration Standard from Preferred by Nature ('the only conservancy in Africa' to achieve it). No register pages are among the pages read.

Source: Company · sustainability and conservation, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes, in part. The FAQ gives a headline figure only: 'Our all-inclusive rates start from approximately $1,000 per person per night' (USD, no season or year). The 'View Availability & Rates' pages for both properties show no figures in the text read. Some add-on prices are published (see Activities).

Source: Company · faq, availability cottars safaris 1920s camp, availability cottars bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

Could not access: the rate tables sit behind the 'View Availability & Rates' pages and the availability pages read for the 1920s Camp and Bush Villa hold only the title and 'Enquire More', with no rates. The offers page names Private, Mid, High and Peak seasons but gives no prices.

Source: Company · availability cottars safaris 1920s camp, availability cottars bush villa, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Only a starting figure is published: 'approximately $1,000 per person per night' (USD), all-inclusive, with no camp, season or year named. No highest rate is published in the pages read.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Recommended, not required: 'a minimum of three nights' at either camp. The honeymoon offer requires a minimum of 4 nights and the 4-for-3 offer and grandparents offer are four-night stays.

Source: Company · faq, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

Included: full-board accommodation with house wines, soft drinks, beer and select spirits; Cottar's private airstrip transfers; laundry (complimentary daily); nanny service with prior booking; canvas bush bath; guided wildlife drives, bush walks and runs, Maasai Warrior School, Explorer's Tent visits, star gazing, coffee tasting and talks; dedicated vehicle and guide at the Bush Villa. Extra: road transfers from Keekorok airstrip or other airstrips, conservancy and park fees (offers page), private vehicle and guide at the 1920s Camp (add-on), Calvin Cottar's guiding, spa (from $50), balloon, village visit, day room, tips and flights.

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp, offers, experiences and activities, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: the pages read give no deposit percentage or amount. The terms page says bookings are covered by a separate 'Booking Terms and Conditions' agreement, which is not among the pages read.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, faq, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

Not stated on their website: no balance due date is given. The separate 'Booking Terms and Conditions' referred to on the terms page is not among the pages read.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Not stated on their website: no cancellation scale is published in the pages read; the terms page defers to separate booking terms.

Source: Company · terms and conditions, faq, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or insurance for guest payments is mentioned. The FAQ only advises guests to choose a company with 'Comprehensive insurance'.

Source: Company · faq, terms and conditions, privacy and cookie policy · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website: accepted currencies and card surcharges are not given. The privacy policy says payment may be by 'credit card, bank transfer, cash'. The concierge page says destinations often use USD and the company quotes its rates and activity prices in USD.

Source: Company · privacy and cookie policy, cottars safaris travel concierge, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Yes. The FAQ lists '24hrs emergency contact number reservations' +254733773377 (Liz Kamau) and +254733773378 (Sheila Njoki), plus the camp office line +254 716 346 734, Camp Manager Tanya Leakey +254 722 504 278, Assistant Manager Peris Aloyo +254 759 810 010, Head Guide Douglas Nagi +254 722 517 789 and Louise Cottar +44 795 826 9958.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Direct bookings are welcomed (website, email, concierge) and guests may also book through agents ('a reputable safari specialist travel agency'); an Agents Portal exists but is not among the pages read. The concierge page speaks of a 'global network of trusted travel advisors and trade partners'. No commission figure or trade rate is on the pages read.

Source: Company · faq, cottars safaris travel concierge, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on price parity between direct and planner bookings. Nearest: the FAQ says direct bookings are welcome and that guests can also book through a travel agency; the concierge page says 'we encourage' booking through a preferred advisor.

Source: Company · faq, cottars safaris travel concierge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no tourism licence number or membership of ATTA, SATSA, HAN, TATO or KATO is given. Nearest: membership of The Long Run and Kenya's Gold Ecotourism Certification (Ecotourism Kenya); the privacy policy cites the Kenyan Data Protection Act 2019.

Source: Company · sustainability and conservation, privacy and cookie policy, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

Kenya only for its own camps (Maasai Mara, Olderkesi Conservancy). The concierge plans journeys in other countries (Tanzania, Rwanda, Uganda, Mozambique, Botswana, Zambia, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Malawi, South Africa, Seychelles, Madagascar) using other operators' properties.

Source: Company · home page, cottars safaris travel concierge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

Two properties: Cottar's 1920s Camp and Cottar's Bush Villa, both described as 'our' properties. The pages do not split owned from managed.

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp, bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

Cottar's 1920s Camp and Cottar's Bush Villa, both in the private Olderkesi Conservancy, on the edge of the Maasai Mara and bordering the Maasai Mara National Reserve, the Serengeti and Loliondo. Its own airstrip is 15-20 minutes by road.

Source: Company · contact, faq, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

1920s Camp: 11 tented suites (five luxury double tents, four family tents with two en-suite bedrooms each, two honeymoon tents). Bush Villa: one villa with five en-suite bedrooms, sleeping up to 10 (up to 12 possible). Smallest unit is the Bush Villa (one property); the largest is the 1920s Camp.

Source: Company · 1920s camp, bush villa, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

Private land: the Olderkesi Conservancy, described as 'the only private-use conservancy in the Maasai Mara' (7,608 acres in the FAQ; 7,600 and 7,551 acres elsewhere), on community land leased from Maasai families (the company leases land from 6,000 households). Drives also include the Maasai Mara National Reserve. Sole traversing rights are not stated.

Source: Company · contact, sustainability and conservation, experiences and activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

Not stated on their website: no mobile or seasonal camps are listed. The pages read show only the two fixed properties.

Source: Company · home page, faq, 1920s camp, bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

No own gorilla camps. The Travel Concierge's 'Savannahs & Gorillas' signature safari (Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania) includes mountain gorilla tracking. Permits and whether they are included are not stated.

Source: Company · cottars safaris travel concierge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

Not stated on their website: no own beach or city properties are listed. The concierge page offers a 'Bush to Beach' signature journey on the East African coast with partner properties; Kenya is said to be an ideal beach-and-safari combination.

Source: Company · cottars safaris travel concierge, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

No own aircraft is stated. The preferred domestic airline is Governors Aviation (guarantees landing at the camp airstrip with a minimum of 2 passengers); scheduled or private charter flights from Wilson Airport. The transfer from Cottar's private airstrip (15-20 minutes) is complimentary; Keekorok airstrip transfers (about two hours) and road transfers from other Mara properties cost extra. A helicopter option is mentioned for combining other regions.

Source: Company · contact, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Not stated on their website: no East Africa, SADC or Kenya resident rates are published in the pages read.

Source: Company · faq, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Children of all ages are welcome at both properties; 'children' are aged 0-17; ages 0-3 stay free; children's rates depend on period, room type and sharing or third-bed. Four family tents with two en-suite bedrooms; complimentary nanny service by prior booking. Mara Minibeasts is for ages five and over; balloon rides take ages 4 and above. Offers: up to two children free in the Family Tent in Private Season (low season), one free in Mid Season, special peak rates up to age 17.

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp, offers, experiences and activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

Family Tents come with a dedicated guide and private vehicle at no extra cost; at the 1920s Camp a private vehicle is otherwise an add-on. A 'Budding Conservationist' package for teens, Warrior School, wild swimming, e-bikes and a 'Generations in the Wild' multi-generational concierge journey are offered. The grandparents offer gives 50% off a Luxury Tent for grandparents (11 January to 31 March and 1 to 14 June 2026).

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp, offers, cottars safaris travel concierge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Two honeymoon tents at the 1920s Camp (Kiboko with a wood-fired hot tub and Molo with an outdoor bath). Honeymoon offer: 50% off one partner's accommodation at the 1920s Camp, minimum 4 nights, new bookings only, valid 1 November to 19 December 2025, 11 January to 31 May 2026 and 1 November to 19 December 2026; excludes the Bush Villa.

Source: Company · 1920s camp, offers · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Not stated on their website: no single supplement or solo offer is given in the pages read.

Source: Company · faq, offers, 1920s camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

The FAQ says properties 'are not fully adapted throughout' because of the rugged terrain, but 'we do have some wheelchair-friendly tents'. It has hosted guests with hearing impairments and neurodivergent guests and asks guests to contact them in advance. Bush walks are 'suitable for all ages and fitness levels'. Medical statements beyond that are not given.

Source: Company · faq, experiences and activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Bush Villa: private chef, guide and exclusive-use 4x4 included. 1920s Camp: shared vehicle and guide by default; a private vehicle and guide is an add-on option (no surcharge on the pages read) and is complimentary for families in Family Tents. Calvin Cottar's own guiding must be pre-booked at an extra charge.

Source: Company · faq, 1920s camp, bush villa, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Cottar's Bush Villa is an exclusive-use villa for up to 10 guests (12 possible), with private staff, chef, guide, vehicle and 25-metre pool, billed as the first luxury private villa in the Maasai Mara. Sole-use rates are not on the pages read. A whole-camp buy-out of the 1920s Camp is not mentioned.

Source: Company · faq, bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Guides are rated by KPSGA level: 'Many of our guides are KPSGA Gold or Silver qualified'; the site claims 'the highest number of Gold Level guides' in Kenya. Profiled guides: Calvin Cottar and Douglas Nagi (Gold), Charity Lemein, Wilson Mpatiany and Enock Sayagie (Silver), Parmalai Kitipa, Kanae Leturra and Elijah Neboo (Bronze). Languages: English and Kiswahili, plus Spanish, Italian and Mandarin among guides. Walks use a licensed, armed gun bearer.

Source: Company · faq, about us, experiences and activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Over 20 activities: wildlife drives (private conservancy and Maasai Mara National Reserve), guided bush walks, wilderness runs, night drives, e-bikes, Maasai Warrior School, foraging walk, waterfall swimming and hand-line fishing (seasonal), seedball reforestation, balloon ride (from $505 adult, $400 child 4-11), conservation helicopter flight with Mara Elephant Project (from $3,000 donation), cheetah and raptor experiences (half day from $780), village visit ($20 donation), beading (from $15), photography, spa (from $50), stargazing, coffee tasting, movie nights, canvas bush baths. No horseback or mokoro is listed.

Source: Company · experiences and activities, about us, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Not stated on their website: no statement on self-drive. Access is described as flights to the camp airstrip or road transfers; guests are driven by the camps' guides.

Source: Company · faq, contact · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

An in-house photographer is available (sessions from two hours to a full day, images delivered digitally). A Professional Photography Experience with Canon Ambassador Georgina Goodwin is available from $780 plus travel, with 20% of proceeds to the Cottar's Wildlife Conservation Trust. No photographic hides or dedicated photographic vehicles are named.

Source: Company · experiences and activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

The company leases land from 6,000 Maasai households in Olderkesi to secure a wildlife corridor (106,000 acres sustaining wildlife and 18,000 people). It works with Cottar's Wildlife Conservation Trust and The Maa Trust. It says USD $783,502 was invested in payments for ecosystem services and community and cultural initiatives, 'raised through donations and conservancy fees'. Projects include classrooms, healthcare, water, women's microfinance, an all-female ranger unit, Mara Elephant Project and Kenya Birds of Prey Trust partnerships. No per-night levy figure is given.

Source: Company · sustainability and conservation, experiences and activities, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Solar and electric power at both camps; carbon neutrality targeted by 2027, with a 'carbon honest' in-setting policy instead of offsets; organic kitchen garden; upcycling and waste reduction; Global Ecosphere Retreat and Gold Ecotourism certifications; Ecosystem Restoration Standard; annual impact statements; e-bikes. Plastic and water measures are not detailed.

Source: Company · sustainability and conservation, experiences and activities, 1920s camp, bush villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

Works with a 'global network of trusted travel advisors and trade partners' and encourages booking through a preferred advisor. An Agents Portal link is in the menu. Regional representatives: CornerSun Destination Marketing (North America), Elle Ross (UK and Europe), Africa in Focus (South Africa), SA & CO PR for press. No preferred-partner statement for named planners.

Source: Company · cottars safaris travel concierge, contact, about us, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Cottar's Safaris: questions people ask

Is Cottar's Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Cottar's Safaris is a family-run Kenyan camp owner that dates itself to 1919, with two properties in the Olderkesi Conservancy on the edge of the Maasai Mara. Its main Google listing shows 4.8 out of 5 from 132 reviews (read 20 October 2026); no Trustpilot or SafariBookings listing was found on 19 October 2026. Its deposit, cancellation scale and payment protection were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026, so ask for its booking terms in writing.

What are the best alternatives to Cottar's Safaris for a luxury safari?

Five of the nine camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in or beside the Masai Mara that have a review on this site are Angama, Asilia Africa, Gamewatchers Safaris, Governors' Camp Collection and The Safari Collection, listed alphabetically; the other four are Elewana Collection, Great Plains Conservation, Sanctuary Retreats and Wilderness. Governors' Camp publishes 2026 rates of US$424 to US$1,592 per person sharing and Angama US$950 to US$2,750 per person per night in 2026 (both read 19 October 2026).

How much does a safari with Cottar's Safaris cost?

Cottar's publishes a starting figure of approximately US$1,000 per person per night, all-inclusive (read 19 October 2026), with no camp, season or year named. Full board with house drinks, transfers from Cottar's own airstrip and guided drives, walks and camp activities are included; conservancy and park fees, flights, tips, balloon rides (from $505 per adult) and spa treatments are extra.

What deposit does Cottar's Safaris take and what are its cancellation terms?

Neither was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. The terms page says bookings are covered by a separate Booking Terms and Conditions agreement, which was not on the pages read. Ask for it in writing before paying.

What is the minimum age for children at Cottar's Safaris?

There is no minimum age: children of all ages are welcome at both properties and children aged 0 to 3 stay free. The Mara Minibeasts activity is for ages 5 and over and balloon rides take children from age 4 (read 19 October 2026).

Who owns Cottar's Safaris and where is it based?

It describes itself as owned and run by the Cottar family, now in its fifth generation, with Louise Cottar as Chief Executive and Calvin Cottar as figurehead. The head office is at Watermark Business Park in Karen, Nairobi. No parent group or outside investors are named.

Can I have a private guide and vehicle at Cottar's?

Yes. At the Bush Villa a private guide and vehicle are included. At the 1920s Camp vehicles are shared by default and a private vehicle is an add-on, with no surcharge given on the pages read; families in the four family tents get one at no extra cost.

Does Cottar's Safaris have a honeymoon offer?

Yes. The offers page gives 50% off one partner's accommodation at the 1920s Camp for stays of four nights or more, for new bookings with stays from 1 November to 19 December 2026; it excludes the Bush Villa. The camp has two honeymoon tents (read 19 October 2026).

Does Cottar's Safaris charge a single supplement?

No single supplement or solo offer was on the pages read on 19 October 2026, so ask for the solo rate in writing.

Can I book Cottar's Bush Villa for exclusive use?

Yes. The Bush Villa is a five-bedroom villa for up to 10 guests (12 possible), with its own staff, chef, guide, vehicle and 25-metre pool. Sole-use rates were not on the pages read (19 October 2026).

Is Cottar's suitable for travellers with limited mobility?

In part. The FAQ says the properties are not fully adapted throughout because of the terrain, but that it has some wheelchair-friendly tents. It asks guests to contact the team in advance. Bush walks are described as suitable for all ages and fitness levels.

This page contains no paid placement. Cottar's Safaris is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives are five of the nine camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in or beside the Masai Mara that have a review on this site, listed alphabetically; the other four are Elewana Collection, Great Plains Conservation, Sanctuary Retreats and Wilderness. Facts read 19 and 20 October 2026 from Cottar's Safaris' own website, Google Maps and the review platforms, kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.