Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Thatched buildings of Chiawa Camp on the bank of the Zambezi River in Lower Zambezi National Park, photographed in 2009

Chiawa Camp on the bank of the Zambezi River, Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia. Photo: Paul Kane, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.

Is Chiawa Safaris a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

Chiawa Safaris is a family-owned camp company run by Grant and Lynsey Cumings from Lusaka, with four camps in Zambia: Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro in Lower Zambezi National Park, Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential in South Luangwa National Park. The Cumings family set up the first version of Chiawa Camp in 1989 and took its first paying guests in 1991. No Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found when checked on 19 and 20 October 2026; Tripadvisor could not be read.

Is Chiawa Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Chiawa Safaris has hosted paying guests at Chiawa Camp since 1991 and names its owners and head office, but the pages read on 19 October 2026 gave no nightly rates or booking terms and no Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found (checked 19 and 20 October 2026).

The about page says Chiawa Safaris is 'the creation of Grant and Lynsey Cumings', who run it from their Lusaka head office. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are owned by the Cumings family. Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential are owned by Chichele Safaris Limited, which bought them from Sanctuary Retreats and engaged Chiawa Safaris to rebuild, manage and market them. It is a camp owner, not a planner: other Zambian camps are recommended in general terms and guests are pointed to specialist agents. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro employ more than 70 people.

No Google profile was found on 20 October 2026 and no Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile on 19 October 2026; Tripadvisor could not be read. None of the awards it names is dated 2024 to 2026; they include Best Safari Guiding Team in Zambia (Safari Awards, 2019) and Best Value Safari Property in Africa for Old Mondoro (2017). It says it is 'Zambia's first certified Climate Positive safari operation', certified in 2023 using carbon credits bought through BioCarbon Partners; the certifier is not named.

No tourism licence number or ATTA/SATSA membership, deposit, cancellation scale or payment protection was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. It names Pack for a Purpose membership and TourSafe Trust Travel Partner approval. It suits travellers who want a Lower Zambezi camp with river activities and walking, booked direct or through an agent.

Chiawa SafarisZambia · Chiawa Camp first took guests in 1991

A herd of elephants with a young calf among dry woodland in Lower Zambezi National Park
Elephants with a calf in Lower Zambezi National Park, Zambia, October 2009, the park where Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are. Photo: Paul Kane, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.
Best for
Lower Zambezi river and walking safaris
Why choose them
Chiawa Camp charges no single supplement and can be booked whole for up to 16 guests.
Ask for
A written quote per person per night by camp and season, with park fees, the conservation levy, drinks and transfers itemised; the deposit and cancellation terms in writing, since the Small Print page lists only a liability waiver and printable PDFs; the private guiding surcharge; guest references, since no Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found when checked on 19 and 20 October 2026.
Not the fit if
You want published prices, have children under 8 for Chiawa Camp (under 5 in the Safari Suite, where under 8s stay out of communal areas unless the whole camp is booked), under 12 for Old Mondoro and Puku Ridge, or want camps outside Zambia.
Published price
No nightly rates on the pages read; prices are quoted on request. The only figure given is the Chiawa Camp Safari Sleepout at $400 per couple or single. It offers Pay/Stay specials for 3, 5 or 7 nights. Read 19 October 2026.

How much does a safari with Chiawa Safaris cost?

No nightly rates were on the pages read on 19 October 2026: the reservations team gives 'detailed pricing' on request and the only published figure is a $400 Safari Sleepout surcharge per couple or single (read 19 October 2026).

The Safaris around Zambia page says 'Fully-inclusive prices vary significantly' by season, length of stay, camp combination and group size. It offers 'Pay/Stay specials for 3/5/7 nights', with further discounts when Puku Ridge or Chichele Presidential is added to Chiawa Camp or Old Mondoro. No minimum stay was on the pages read.

What it says is included, read 19 October 2026:

  • Game drives, night drives, walks, river safaris and fishing at Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro
  • Meals at all times
  • Laundry at no charge
  • Fishing tackle at no charge (lost or broken tackle is charged)

Extras: the Safari Sleepout ($400 per couple or single, currency shown as a symbol only), private guiding (surcharge not given on the pages read) and tips. The pages read do not itemise drinks, transfers, park fees or the conservation levy. Visa and Mastercard are accepted at the camps; Amex is not. Zambian-based visitors are quoted and pay in kwacha.

Where are Chiawa Safaris' camps?

Chiawa Safaris has four camps, all in Zambia: Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro in Lower Zambezi National Park, Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential in South Luangwa National Park.

  • Chiawa Camp, Lower Zambezi National Park: on the Zambezi riverbank about 10 km into the park; 16 beds in tents I to VIII plus the 220 sq m Safari Suite. The company says Chiawa was the first camp awarded tourism rights in the park.
  • Old Mondoro, Lower Zambezi National Park: a further 35 km into the park; 10 beds in 5 chalets.
  • Puku Ridge, South Luangwa National Park: 8 tents on a private floodplain with a waterhole and a hide.
  • Chichele Presidential, South Luangwa National Park: on a hilltop with 360-degree views; Vista Suites of 143 sq m (number not given on the pages read). The home page says it is 'currently being rebuilt'.

There are no mobile camps. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are closed between mid November and 1 May; Puku Ridge opens on 1 April and closes at the end of November. Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa are both national parks, not private conservancies; sole traversing rights were not on the pages read. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are reached via Jeki Airstrip (a 35-minute flight from Lusaka), Puku Ridge via Mfuwe Airport.

Who is Chiawa Safaris best for?

Chiawa Safaris fits solo travellers at Chiawa Camp (no single supplement) and groups of up to 16 who want the whole of Chiawa Camp to themselves.

  • Solo travellers: the Safaris around Zambia page says Chiawa Camp 'never charges a single supplement'. No policy for the other three camps was on the pages read.
  • Families with children aged 4 to 11: Chichele Presidential takes children aged 4 and over, though the home page says it is 'currently being rebuilt'; Chiawa Camp takes 8 and over (5 in the Safari Suite, though under 8s stay out of communal areas unless the whole camp is booked); family rooms include the Chichele Family Suite and the Chiawa Safari Suite.
  • Teenagers: walks and canoe trips are open to children aged 14 and over.
  • Honeymooners: the company calls the Safari Sleepout ($400 per couple or single) 'ideal for honeymoons'; no honeymoon rate was on the pages read.
  • Photographers: two hides near Chiawa Camp and one at Puku Ridge; game drive vehicles typically carry 4 guests; night drives use red-filtered lights.
  • Exclusive use: Chiawa Camp can be booked as a whole camp for up to 16 guests; no sole-use rate was on the pages read.

Not the fit if you want a price before you enquire, have children under 12 and want Old Mondoro or Puku Ridge, or want camps outside Zambia with the same company.

What are the best alternatives to Chiawa Safaris for a luxury safari?

Five camp owners with camps in Lower Zambezi or South Luangwa national parks are the alternatives: African Bush Camps, Dulini, Green Safaris, Remote Africa Safaris and Robin Pope Safaris. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • African Bush Camps: Has Lolebezi in Lower Zambezi National Park, with more camps in Zimbabwe and Botswana. It publishes whole-trip prices, not nightly rates: the lowest is US$6,643 per person sharing for the 8-night Luxury Zimbabwe trip (no season or year given, read 19 October 2026).
  • Dulini: Has Dulini Anabezi in Lower Zambezi National Park, overlooking the Zambezi, plus lodges in the Sabi Sand and the Okavango Delta. It says it caters 'primarily to adult guests' and welcomes children older than eight, but Anabezi's own terms take no children under 12 unless part of a group booking.
  • Green Safaris: Has Sausage Tree and Potato Bush camps in Lower Zambezi National Park and Shawa Luangwa in South Luangwa. 'From' rates read 19 October 2026: US$1,200 per person per night at Sausage Tree, US$975 at Potato Bush, US$760 at Shawa Luangwa, no season or year given.
  • Remote Africa Safaris: Runs six camps in and beside South and North Luangwa national parks. Its 2026 packages include park fees and Mfuwe transfers; 7 nights at Tafika with Tafika Walking Trails in June or July start at US$5,539 per person sharing (read 19 October 2026).
  • Robin Pope Safaris: Has Kujana in Lower Zambezi National Park and six camps and houses in and beside South Luangwa, with published rates of US$510 to US$1,150 per person per night at its South Luangwa camps (read 19 October 2026).

How do you book Chiawa Safaris?

Book direct with the reservations team ([email protected], +260 211 261588 or +260 977 767 433, both listed as 24-hour) or through a specialist safari agent; the company says its camps 'should be booked at least a year in advance'.

The Stay With Us page offers direct booking and booking through a specialist agent as equal options and lists recommended agents. The company commits 'to never solicit their agents' clients'. No resident or regional rates were on the pages read; Zambian-based visitors are quoted and pay in kwacha. Deposit, balance date and cancellation charges were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026: the Small Print page lists printable PDFs (not read). The travel information page says only 'we do apply our cancellation policy'. No payment protection statement was on the pages read; the camps carry medical evacuation and public liability insurance, which is not payment protection.

Ask them to itemise:

  • The rate per person per night for each camp and season, for the year you travel
  • Park fees, the conservation levy and drinks
  • Flights to Jeki Airstrip or Mfuwe and road transfers
  • Deposit, balance date and cancellation charges, in writing
  • How your payment is held before travel
  • The private guiding surcharge, if you want your own vehicle

Chiawa Safaris: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about Chiawa Safaris were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading name: Chiawa Safaris (the home page title also uses 'Chiawa Collection'; footer '© 2026 CHIAWA SAFARIS'). No registered company name or number is given. The about page says Chichele Safaris Limited bought Chichele Presidential Lodge and Puku Ridge Camp from Sanctuary Retreats and engaged Chiawa Safaris to oversee the rebuild, management and marketing of both camps.

Source: Company · home page, about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Head office in Lusaka, Zambia: 'Grant and Lynsey run Chiawa Safaris from their Lusaka HQ'. No other offices are listed. Camps are in the Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa National Parks.

Source: Company · about, carbon positive safari camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Year founded

Company: Chiawa Safaris is 'the creation of Grant and Lynsey Cumings', building on over 30 years of experience. The Cumings family established the first version of Chiawa Camp in 1989 (the first photo safari operation in the Lower Zambezi National Park); Chiawa Camp formally opened to its first paying guests in 1991. The family co-founded Conservation Lower Zambezi in 1994. Founders Grant and Lynsey remain involved.

Source: Company · about, chiawa camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Family owned: Chiawa Camp is 'family owned and operated' by the Cumings family (Grant and Lynsey Cumings). Chichele Presidential Lodge and Puku Ridge are owned by Chichele Safaris Limited, which bought them from Sanctuary Retreats and engaged Chiawa Safaris to rebuild, manage and market them. No parent group or investors are named.

Source: Company · about, chiawa camp (2), south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Camp owner. It sells stays at Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro (Cumings family) and at Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential (owned by Chichele Safaris Limited, managed and marketed by Chiawa Safaris). Other Zambian camps are only recommended in general terms and guests are pointed to specialist agents.

Source: Company · about, safaris around zambia, stay with us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro employ 'more than 70 people'. The company commits that 'no less than 60%' of camp employees come from surrounding communities. Named management: Grant Cumings (business degree, guiding and conservation experience) and Lynsey Cumings (Hospitality Management degree, formerly Marriott Hotels and British Airways), both running the company from Lusaka and still involved. David Cumings is described as the 'visionary' of Chiawa Camp. Guide numbers are not stated.

Source: Company · carbon positive safari camps, about, environment wildlife · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct and through agents. The Stay With Us page invites guests to book directly with the reservations team ([email protected], telephone) or through a specialist safari agent, with a list of recommended agents. Every page has an Agents Login and Agent Section link. No resident rates are on the pages read; the travel info page only says payments from Zambian-based visitors and suppliers must be quoted and paid in Zambian kwacha (ZMW).

Source: Company · stay with us, home page, travel info · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Our Zambia. Your way.' (footer). Home page: 'REMOTE CAMPS | ICONIC LOCATIONS | UNEDITED WILDERNESS'; 'The ultimate Zambian safari, where only the best will do'; 'World's first Climate Positive safari camps'; 'Chiawa Safaris' Award-Winning Collection of Safari Camps'; 'Zambia's premier luxury safari camp' (Chiawa Camp).

Source: Company · home page, chiawa camp (2) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

No promised reply time is stated. Contact: reservations email [email protected]; telephone +260 211 261588 (24hr) and mobile +260 977 767 433 (24hr). No individual reservations contact is named. The page adds that camps 'should be booked at least a year in advance'.

Source: Company · stay with us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

No profile found: no Google listing for the company was found on 20 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on Google · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/chiawa.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google or Expedia link or rating. The home page lists Tripadvisor among its social links (with Instagram, Facebook and YouTube) but shows no rating. Guest quotes appear on camp pages without a platform named.

Source: Company · home page, chiawa camp (2), old mondoro camp, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review or links to a review platform. The nearest is a Tripadvisor social link on the home page.

Source: Company · home page, stay with us, kids on safari · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Not stated on their website: no award dated 2024 to 2026 is given. Awards named without a 2024-26 date: 'Two time winner Best Guiding Team in Africa' (independent panel, year not given); 2019 'Best Safari Guiding Team in Zambia' (Safari Awards); Old Mondoro 'Best Value Safari Property in Africa' 2017; Chiawa Camp 3rd place Best Ecological Lodge in Africa 2010; 'One of Fifty Great Green Places To Stay Worldwide', Responsible Tourism Awards 2006. The Puku Ridge and Chichele accolades pages say 'Coming soon'.

Source: Company · home page, conservation philosophy, old mondoro accolades, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge accolades, chichele presidential accolades · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

Not stated on their website: no Condé Nast, Travel + Leisure, Tatler or Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice list is named for any camp. The footer heading 'Awards, accreditations and associations' has no text in the pages read.

Source: Company · home page, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge accolades, chichele presidential accolades · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Climate Positive: 'Zambia's first certified Climate Positive safari operation', with 'each of its 3 camps' certified, 'leading to our Climate Positive certification in 2023'. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are called 'Africa's first carbon positive certified safari camps'. Emissions are offset with 'internationally verified Carbon Credits' bought through BioCarbon Partners; the certifying register is not named. No B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism, Travelife or Long Run certification is named.

Source: Company · carbon positive safari camps, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

No rate card is on the pages read. The Stay With Us page says the reservations team gives 'detailed pricing' on request and the Safaris around Zambia page says 'Fully-inclusive prices vary significantly' by season, length, camp combination and group size. The only price is the Chiawa Camp Safari Sleepout surcharge of '$400 per couple / single' (currency symbol only).

Source: Company · stay with us, safaris around zambia, safari sleepout · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

Not stated on their website: no rates per camp or season. The page says prices vary with season and 'Pay/Stay specials for 3/5/7 nights' are offered, with further discounts if Puku Ridge or Chichele Presidential are added to Chiawa Camp or Old Mondoro.

Source: Company · safaris around zambia, stay with us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Not stated on their website: no lowest or highest nightly rate is on the pages read. The only figure is the '$400 per couple / single' Safari Sleepout surcharge at Chiawa Camp, which is not a nightly rate.

Source: Company · safari sleepout, safaris around zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Not stated on their website: no minimum stay for any camp. The nearest is the mention of 'Pay/Stay specials for 3/5/7 nights'.

Source: Company · safaris around zambia, stay with us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

Stated inclusions: for Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro the safari activities (game drives, night drives, walks, river safaris, fishing) are described with the words 'all of which are included'; the pricing page speaks of 'Fully-inclusive prices'; laundry is 'at no charge'; meals at all times; fishing tackle at no charge, with lost or broken tackle charged. Extras: Safari Sleepout ($400 per couple or single), private guiding (surcharge), tips. Drinks, transfers, park fees and conservation levy are not itemised.

Source: Company · zambia safari activities, safaris around zambia, travel info, safari sleepout, activities guiding · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: no deposit percentage or date. The Small Print page lists only a liability waiver and printable PDFs (not read) and the travel info page says only 'we do apply our cancellation policy'.

Source: Company · the small print, travel info · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

Not stated on their website: no balance due date. The Small Print page lists printable PDFs only.

Source: Company · the small print, travel info, stay with us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Not stated on their website: no cancellation scale. The travel info page recommends travel insurance including trip cancellation 'as we do apply our cancellation policy', without giving it.

Source: Company · travel info, the small print · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or payment protection statement. Chiawa Camp, Old Mondoro, Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential 'carry Medical Evacuation and Public Liability insurance'; hospitalisation is not covered and guests are asked to insure fully. That is not payment protection.

Source: Company · travel info, the small print · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Zambian kwacha (ZMW) is 'the only currency accepted for transactions within Zambia' and payments from Zambian-based suppliers and visitors are quoted and paid in ZMW. Visa and Mastercard (not Amex) are accepted at all camps; travellers cheques are not. US dollars are the most acceptable foreign currency to exchange (notes must be newer than 2009); departure tax is payable in US$ or ZMW. The booking payment currency for overseas guests and any card surcharge are not stated.

Source: Company · travel info · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Yes, 24-hour lines are stated for reservations: 'Tel: +260 211 261588 (24hr)' and 'Mobile: +260 977 767 433 (24hr)', email [email protected]. The page does not label them as an emergency line while travelling.

Source: Company · stay with us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Bookings are taken direct by the reservations team or through specialist safari agents. The company commits 'to never solicit their agents' clients'. No commission percentage or trade rate is on the pages read; an Agent Section is linked on every page.

Source: Company · stay with us, about, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on price parity or a direct-booking benefit. The Stay With Us page offers direct booking or a specialist agent as equal options.

Source: Company · stay with us, safaris around zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

No tourism licence number or ATTA, SATSA or similar membership is named. Named approvals and memberships: approved as a TourSafe Trust Travel Partner (COVID protocols); member of Pack for a Purpose; camps 'designed and built to the code of Environmental Council of Zambia and Zambia Wildlife Authority'; guides 'licensed to walk'. The footer heading 'Awards, accreditations and associations' has no text.

Source: Company · home page, conservation initiatives, carbon positive safari camps, zambia safari activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

Zambia only.

Source: Company · home page, about zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

Four camps: Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro in the Lower Zambezi National Park and Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential in the South Luangwa National Park. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are owned by the Cumings family; Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential are owned by Chichele Safaris Limited and managed by Chiawa Safaris. The Climate Positive page speaks of 'its 3 camps'. Chichele is described as 'currently being rebuilt' on the home page.

Source: Company · home page, about, carbon positive safari camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

Chiawa Camp: Lower Zambezi National Park, on the Zambezi River bank, about 10 km into the park. Old Mondoro: Lower Zambezi National Park, a further 35 km into the park. Puku Ridge: South Luangwa National Park, on a private floodplain with a waterhole. Chichele Presidential: South Luangwa National Park, a hilltop with 360-degree views.

Source: Company · chiawa camp, safaris around zambia, old mondoro camp, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge, chichele presidential camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

Chiawa Camp: 16 beds (up to 16 guests; tents I to VIII plus the 220 sq m Safari Suite). Old Mondoro: 10 beds in 5 chalets (the family page also mentions a two-bedroom chalet). Puku Ridge: 8 luxury tents. Chichele Presidential: Vista Suites of 143 sq m with a Safari Lounge; the number of suites is not stated. Smallest by beds: Old Mondoro; largest: Chiawa Camp.

Source: Company · special occasions, safaris around zambia, old mondoro camp, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge accommodation, kids on safari, chichele presidential camp, zambia safari activities · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

National parks, not conservancies: Lower Zambezi National Park (just over 4,000 sq km; 4,092 sq km on the Old Mondoro page) and South Luangwa National Park (about 9,050 sq km). Chiawa was the first camp awarded tourism rights in the Lower Zambezi National Park. Puku Ridge sits on 'its own private plain', so guests 'won't have other lodge vehicles to disturb their view'. Sole traversing rights are not stated.

Source: Company · home page, environment wildlife, old mondoro camp, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge, about zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

No mobile camps. Camps are seasonal: Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are closed from mid-November until 1 May; Puku Ridge is closed until 1 April and closes at the end of November; Chichele Presidential is stated as open from 1 December and closed from 7 January (as the page words it). The best time is May to November in the Lower Zambezi and July to October in the South Luangwa.

Source: Company · travel info, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

Not stated on their website: the camps are in Zambia's Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa and no gorilla or chimpanzee trekking is offered on the pages read.

Source: Company · home page, safaris around zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

No own beach or city properties are listed; the four camps are bush camps and lodges. Victoria Falls side trips are 'available and encouraged' but no property is named.

Source: Company · home page, safaris around zambia, about zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

No own aircraft. Camps are reached by air: Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro via Jeki Airstrip (35-minute flight from Lusaka), Puku Ridge via Mfuwe Airport. Proflight 'currently handles all domestic air travel' and private aircraft can be chartered from Proflight and other Zambian charter companies. Whether transfers are included in the rate is not stated.

Source: Company · access and maps, about zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Not stated on their website: no resident or regional rates. The nearest is the travel info line that payments from Zambian-based visitors and suppliers are quoted and paid in ZMW.

Source: Company · travel info, stay with us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Minimum ages: Chichele Presidential 4 years; Chiawa Camp 8 years (the Safari Suite allows 5 years, but under 8s are kept out of communal areas unless the camp is exclusive use); Old Mondoro and Puku Ridge 12 years. Under 17s at Chichele and Chiawa must be accompanied overnight by an adult (under 19s at Old Mondoro and Puku Ridge). Family rooms: Chichele Family Suite, Chiawa Safari Suite, tents with a third bed or bunk, an Old Mondoro two-bedroom chalet. Child rates are not stated.

Source: Company · kids on safari, safari suite · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

Walking safaris and canoe trips are open to children aged 14 and over (Chiawa Camp, Old Mondoro, Puku Ridge walks). Chichele has the 'Chichele Cubs' programme. Guest quotes mention a family of 17 aged 7 to 78 and children of 13 and 17. Game drives typically carry 4 guests maximum; private guiding is available at a surcharge. Teenage-specific activities are not otherwise listed.

Source: Company · kids on safari, zambia safari activities, activities guiding · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Chiawa Camp is promoted for honeymoons and weddings ('for honeymoons we like to surprise you with something special each day'; a honeymoon suite dinner is mentioned). The Safari Sleepout ($400 per couple or single) is called 'ideal for honeymoons'. Chichele offers couples' massages. No honeymoon rate or package is on the pages read.

Source: Company · special occasions, safari sleepout, chichele presidential camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Chiawa Camp: 'Single travellers love the ambience of Chiawa Camp which never charges a single supplement!' No single supplement policy is given for Old Mondoro, Puku Ridge or Chichele Presidential.

Source: Company · safaris around zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not much access detail. Walking safaris need 'mediocre fitness and mobility'. Tents have timber floors and verandas reached by paths; the Safari Suite is raised. No wheelchair or step-free statement. Medical: camps have 'comprehensive medical kits'; serious cases need Johannesburg (over 1,600 km from Lusaka), with MedEvac in Lusaka.

Source: Company · zambia safari activities, chiawa camp, safari suite, travel info · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Private guiding is 'available at a surcharge and by prior arrangement for Game Drives and Fishing' at Chiawa Camp, recommended only for those who do not wish to share. Chiawa Camp has the largest guiding team, so private requests for photography or fishing are 'easily managed'. The surcharge amount is not stated.

Source: Company · activities guiding, safaris around zambia, kids on safari · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Chiawa Camp can be booked for exclusive use (whole camp, up to 16 guests; also for weddings). Villas and suites: Chichele Family Suite (two Vista Suites with a Safari Lounge), Chiawa Safari Suite (220 sq m, private plunge pool). No sole-use rate is on the pages read.

Source: Company · kids on safari, safari suite, special occasions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Camps have 'sufficient pro guides licensed to walk' and walks are led by a pro guide and an armed Department of National Parks and Wildlife escort scout. The team 'twice won Best Guiding Team in Africa' and gets 'regular refresher courses and uptraining'. Chiawa Camp wrote a code of ethics and guide training manual for all Lower Zambezi guides. River guides 'grew up on the Zambezi'. FGASA or KPSGA are not named.

Source: Company · zambia safari activities, activities guiding, conservation camps, safari experiences zambia south luangwa, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro: open 4x4 game drives, red-light night drives, walking safaris, Zambezi river safaris on pontoon boats, catch-and-release tiger fishing, canoe trips, hides (two near Chiawa Camp, none at Old Mondoro); Chiawa Safari Sleepout. Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential: day and night drives, walks, sundowners, a hide at Puku Ridge, star beds. No water activities in the South Luangwa. Horseback is not offered.

Source: Company · zambia safari activities, chiawa camp hides, home page, safari experiences zambia south luangwa, chichele presidential activities, safari sleepout · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Not stated on their website: no self-drive statement. The camps are most easily reached by air (Jeki Airstrip, Mfuwe Airport).

Source: Company · access and maps, about zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

Two photographic hides close to Chiawa Camp and a dedicated hide at Puku Ridge (upper and lower windows, cushions, full-body mats). Night drives use red-filtered lights; a soft white filtered light for photography has been carried since 2014 and flash is disallowed. Game drive vehicles typically carry 4 guests; private guiding for photography is easily arranged at Chiawa Camp.

Source: Company · chiawa camp hides, safari experiences zambia south luangwa, travel info, safaris around zambia · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

Chiawa Camp raises and provides 'approximately $50,000' a year for Conservation Lower Zambezi (co-founded by the Cumings family in 1994) and set up the Lower Zambezi Conservation Collection in February 2009. Other projects: Africa Wild Dog Conservation support, a 1994 cheetah repopulation programme, Eden Organics (supporting divorced and widowed women near South Luangwa), Zambezi Harvest (village farmers at fair trade prices), Pack for a Purpose; at least 60% local hiring; carbon credits via BioCarbon Partners. A per-night amount is not stated.

Source: Company · environment wildlife, about, south luangwa safari lodge puku ridge dining, chiawa camp dining, conservation initiatives, carbon positive safari camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro went off-grid in 2023 with solar plants; solar hot water where possible; silent inverters and LED lighting (30% less fossil fuel); 4-stroke boat motors (50% less fuel); stainless steel bottles for guests (about 3,000 plastic bottles a year avoided); no charcoal (eco-briquettes); trash in, trash out; Climate Positive certified 2023 via carbon credits.

Source: Company · carbon positive safari camps, conservation camps, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

Agents Login and Agent Section links appear on every page. The Stay With Us page lists recommended specialist safari agents. The company commits 'to never solicit their agents' clients'. No preferred-partner or commission statement is given.

Source: Company · home page, stay with us, about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Chiawa Safaris: questions people ask

Is Chiawa Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Chiawa Safaris is a family-owned camp company that has hosted paying guests at Chiawa Camp in Lower Zambezi National Park since 1991, run by Grant and Lynsey Cumings from Lusaka. No nightly rates or booking terms were on the pages read on 19 October 2026. No Google, Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found when checked on 19 and 20 October 2026, so ask for references and the terms in writing.

What are the best alternatives to Chiawa Safaris for a luxury safari?

The alternatives are camp owners in Lower Zambezi or South Luangwa: African Bush Camps, Dulini, Green Safaris, Remote Africa Safaris and Robin Pope Safaris. Green Safaris and Robin Pope Safaris have camps in both parks. Robin Pope Safaris publishes nightly rates of US$510 to US$1,150 per person at its South Luangwa camps, read 19 October 2026. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.

How much does a safari with Chiawa Safaris cost?

No nightly rates were on the pages read on 19 October 2026; the reservations team quotes on request. The only price given is the Chiawa Camp Safari Sleepout at $400 per couple or single, read 19 October 2026. The company says prices vary by season, length of stay, camp combination and group size, with Pay/Stay specials for 3, 5 or 7 nights.

What are Chiawa Safaris' deposit and cancellation terms?

They were not on the pages read. The Small Print page lists printable PDFs that were not read and the travel information page says only that it applies its cancellation policy (read 19 October 2026). Ask for the deposit, balance date and cancellation charges in writing.

What is the minimum age for children at Chiawa Safaris camps?

Chichele Presidential takes children aged 4 and over, Chiawa Camp 8 and over (5 in the Safari Suite, though under 8s stay out of communal areas unless the whole camp is booked) and Old Mondoro and Puku Ridge 12 and over, read 19 October 2026. Walks and canoe trips are for children aged 14 and over.

Who owns Chiawa Safaris and where is it based?

The Cumings family. Grant and Lynsey Cumings run it from a head office in Lusaka, Zambia. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are family owned; Puku Ridge and Chichele Presidential are owned by Chichele Safaris Limited and managed and marketed by Chiawa Safaris.

Does Chiawa Camp charge a single supplement?

No. The company says Chiawa Camp never charges a single supplement (read 19 October 2026). No policy for Old Mondoro, Puku Ridge or Chichele Presidential was on the pages read.

Can you book a private guide or the whole camp at Chiawa?

Yes. Private guiding for game drives and fishing is available at Chiawa Camp at a surcharge, by prior arrangement; the amount was not on the pages read on 19 October 2026. Chiawa Camp can also be booked as a whole camp for up to 16 guests; no sole-use rate was on the pages read.

Is Chiawa Camp good for a honeymoon?

It promotes Chiawa Camp for honeymoons and weddings and calls its Safari Sleepout ($400 per couple or single, read 19 October 2026) ideal for honeymoons. No honeymoon rate or package was on the pages read.

When is the best time to go to Chiawa Camp?

The company says May to November in the Lower Zambezi and July to October in South Luangwa. Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro are closed between mid November and 1 May.

What does a stay with Chiawa Safaris include?

At Chiawa Camp and Old Mondoro the activities (game drives, night drives, walks, river safaris and fishing) are included, with meals at all times and laundry at no charge. The Safari Sleepout, private guiding and tips are extra. The pages read do not itemise drinks, transfers, park fees or the conservation levy, so ask for them in the quote.

This page contains no paid placement. Chiawa Safaris is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with camps in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 October 2026 from Chiawa Safaris' own website, kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. Google, Trustpilot and SafariBookings were checked on 19 and 20 October 2026 and showed no profile. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.