Travel Intelligence · Card issuer records 2026
By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 71/100Verified 26 September 2026
Chase scores 71 out of 100 as a card issuer record, the highest of the four issuers scored on this rubric: it publishes full Sapphire Lounge and Priority Pass guest terms and a billing-rights notice in a sample agreement its IHG card links to, but publishes no card service number for use abroad, no replacement or emergency cash service for a traveller and no complaint route beyond Chase. This record covers the issuer behind the Chase Sapphire Reserve, the Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business and the IHG One Rewards Premier Credit Card: who issues and regulates them, what they cost, what is in writing on lounges, insurance and help abroad, and what independent studies say. Which card is worth its fee is scored on our card pages, linked below.
Verified 26 September 2026 · chase.com and creditcards.chase.com card pages, the Sapphire Reserve guide to benefits and a sample Cardmember Agreement · the FDIC and JPMorgan Chase & Co. · J.D. Power · Trustpilot · the CFPB
Is this your company? Correct a fact. Chase can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.
Chase scores 71 out of 100: full marks for its lounge terms, credits and dated changes and a strong J.D. Power result, held back by thin help abroad, an IHG Premier insurance guide given only after account opening, and no complaint route beyond Chase. That is first of the four card issuers scored on this rubric, three points ahead of American Express. Our premium cards page ranks the Sapphire Reserve first of seven cards at 90 because it scores the card's value; this record scores the issuer, and what a cardholder can check before applying.
| Criterion | Points | Out of | Why |
|---|---|---|---|
| Benefits in writing | 21 | 25 | Sapphire Lounge and Priority Pass guest rules, the $27 fee for each extra guest, authorised users' own access and the business card's employee rule, on Chase's card and lounge pages; the IHG One Rewards Premier has no lounge access (8 of 8). Guides to benefits naming Virginia Surety Company, an Assurant company, with limits and exclusions, for both Sapphire Reserve cards; the IHG Premier's guide is "provided after account opening" and its card page names no insurer (4 of 8). Credit values, periods and conditions on the card pages (5 of 5). The June 2025 refresh is dated in Chase's own release, and later changes carry their dates on the card pages (4 of 4). |
| Help abroad | 5 | 20 | No number for credit card service from abroad on any Chase page read; its one overseas number is for debit cards and checking accounts (0 of 7). Replacement "within 5-7 business days", with nothing for a cardholder abroad (0 of 5). Travel and Emergency Assistance, 1-800-350-1697 or collect 001-214-503-2954 for the Sapphire Reserve and 1-800-352-2173 or collect 001-214-503-2951 for the Sapphire Reserve for Business, 24 hours (5 of 5). No emergency cash or temporary card in the Sapphire guides or on Chase's pages (0 of 3). |
| Fees in writing | 20 | 20 | No foreign transaction fee on all three cards (6 of 6). The Pricing & Terms documents linked from each card page refused our reader, so the lines for fees in a pricing document, its date and its rates are n/r. Rescaled from 6 of 6. |
| Satisfaction evidence | 15 | 20 | J.D. Power 2026: 635, second among issuers, against an average of 613 (10 of 10). ACSI publishes no credit card study for 2025 or 2026, so that line is n/r. Trustpilot 1.3 from 2,840 reviews on chase.com (1 of 5). Rescaled from 11 of 15. |
| Regulation and dispute rights | 10 | 15 | JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. (5 of 5). Its complaints page and sample agreement name no body beyond Chase; the CFPB appears only as a link to card tips (0 of 5). Zero Liability on both Sapphire card pages, and a "Your Billing Rights" notice in the sample agreement that the IHG card page links to (5 of 5). |
| Total | 71 | 100 | Card issuer record score, 26 September 2026. |
Chase publishes its Sapphire Lounge and Priority Pass guest rules in full, its statement credits with their values and end dates, and a billing-rights notice in a sample Cardmember Agreement its IHG One Rewards Premier page links to. What it does not put in writing, on any page our reader could open, is a number to call if a card is lost or stolen abroad, the name of the IHG Premier's insurer or a complaint route beyond Chase; its Pricing and Terms documents refused our reader.

The record holds 18 facts about Chase, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a regulator, court, satisfaction study, review platform or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.
| Attribute | Value | Source · grade |
|---|---|---|
| Issuing bank | JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a subsidiary of JPMorgan Chase & Co., named as issuer in a sample Cardmember Agreement on Chase's site | Sample Cardmember Agreement · A |
| Regulator | A national bank; FDIC certificate 628; the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency is the primary federal regulator | FDIC BankFind data · B |
| Parent and head office | JPMorgan Chase & Co., investor contact address 277 Park Avenue, New York, NY 10172 (map); the bank's own FDIC-registered main office is 1111 Polaris Parkway, Columbus, OH 43240 | Investor contact page · A; FDIC BankFind data · B |
| Founded and chief executive | JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A.'s national charter shows an FDIC establishment date of 1 January 1824; Jamie Dimon is chairman and chief executive of JPMorgan Chase & Co., whose own history page traces the firm's lineage to 1799 and dates its present form to a 2000 merger | FDIC BankFind data · B; Our history · A |
| Cards in this record | Chase Sapphire Reserve ($795 a year), Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business ($795) and the IHG One Rewards Premier Credit Card ($99); all US cards | Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier pages · A |
| Extra cards | $195 a year for each authorised user on the Sapphire Reserve; Employee Cards at no additional cost on the Sapphire Reserve for Business; no authorised-user fee is stated for the IHG One Rewards Premier | Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier pages · A |
| Foreign transaction fee | None on any of the three cards | Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier pages · A |
| Rates and penalty fees | Sapphire Reserve purchase APR 19.49% to 27.99% variable; IHG One Rewards Premier 19.24% to 29.99% variable, both on their card pages; no APR was found for the Sapphire Reserve for Business. Late and returned-payment fees are not on the card pages; each card's Pricing and Terms document refused our reader | Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier pages · A |
| Lounges | Chase Sapphire Lounge by The Club, nine open (Boston, Dallas Fort Worth, JFK, Las Vegas, LaGuardia, Philadelphia, Phoenix, San Diego and the Etihad Lounge at Washington Dulles; Los Angeles "Coming soon"), plus Priority Pass Select, for the two Sapphire cards; none for the IHG One Rewards Premier | Chase's lounges page · A |
| Guests | Two free guests a visit at Sapphire Lounges and Priority Pass, then $27 each; authorised users on the Sapphire Reserve get their own membership with two free guests each; Sapphire Reserve for Business employee cardmembers are not eligible in their own right but may enter as the primary cardmember's guests | Chase's lounges page · A; Priority Pass guest policy page · A |
| Travel insurance | Sapphire Reserve: trip cancellation and interruption $10,000 per traveller and $20,000 per trip, trip delay up to $500 per traveller after six hours or an overnight stay, baggage delay $100 a day for up to five days, lost luggage $3,000, primary auto rental cover up to $75,000 in the US and abroad. Sapphire Reserve for Business: the same trip cancellation, baggage delay, lost luggage and $75,000 auto rental limits in its own guide. Both underwritten by Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company, in guides in effect from 11 June 2026. IHG One Rewards Premier: trip cancellation $5,000 per traveller and $10,000 per trip, baggage delay $100 a day for three days, lost luggage $3,000, insurer not named | Sapphire Reserve guide · A; business guide · A; IHG Premier card page · A |
| Card service from abroad | Not published on any of the three cards' pages. The general credit-card customer service number, 1-800-432-3117, carries no hours or international option; the report-fraud page's one number outside the US, 1-713-262-3300, is for debit cards and checking accounts only | Customer service page · A; Report fraud page · A |
| Assistance abroad | Travel and Emergency Assistance, 1-800-350-1697 or collect 001-214-503-2954 for the Sapphire Reserve, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year; 1-800-352-2173 or collect 001-214-503-2951 for the Sapphire Reserve for Business, also 24 hours. No emergency cash or temporary card is stated for either | Sapphire Reserve guide · A; Sapphire Reserve for Business guide · A |
| Fraud liability | "You won't be held responsible for unauthorized charges made with your card or account information," on the Sapphire Reserve and Sapphire Reserve for Business pages; "Zero Liability means you won't be held responsible for unauthorized charges on your credit card when you report them promptly," on Chase's report fraud page | Sapphire Reserve page · A; Report fraud page · A |
| Billing rights and complaints | No billing-rights statement on any of the three cards' own pages; a sample Cardmember Agreement, which the IHG One Rewards Premier's page links to, carries a "Your Billing Rights" notice under the Fair Credit Billing Act and names no complaint route beyond Chase; Chase's complaints and feedback page names no outside body either | Sample Cardmember Agreement · A; Complaints and feedback page · A |
| Satisfaction study | J.D. Power 2026: 635, second among credit card issuers, behind American Express at 668; the average is 613 | J.D. Power, 13 August 2026 · B |
| Reviews | Trustpilot 1.3 from 2,840 reviews on the chase.com listing, unclaimed, 89% of them one star; a separate creditcards.chase.com listing holds 1.7 from 50 reviews | Trustpilot, chase.com · B; Trustpilot, creditcards.chase.com · B |
| Our other pages | Sapphire Reserve first of seven at 90, IHG One Rewards Premier sixth at 72, on the premium cards page; Sapphire Reserve first at 84 and Sapphire Reserve for Business second at 81 on the lounge cards page | Premium cards · B; Lounge cards · B |
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a national bank supervised by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues the Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier cards; its parent, JPMorgan Chase & Co., lists its investor contact address at 277 Park Avenue in New York.
A sample Cardmember Agreement on Chase's site names the issuer as "JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a subsidiary of JPMorgan Chase & Co.". The bank holds FDIC certificate 628 and is chartered as a national bank, supervised by the OCC. JPMorgan Chase & Co.'s own history page names Jamie Dimon as chairman and chief executive; the page traces the firm's lineage to 1799 and dates the modern JPMorgan Chase & Co. to a 2000 merger of Chase Manhattan and JPMorgan & Co. A sample agreement is at COL00095.pdf.
This record covers US cards only. Chase's parent also runs Chase UK, a digital consumer bank launched in 2021 (Business Wire), separate from the US cards in scope; the nearest issuer records for a European traveller are on our UK and European travel cards page.
Three US cards: the Chase Sapphire Reserve and the Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business at $795 a year each, and the IHG One Rewards Premier Credit Card at $99, none with a foreign transaction fee. Read from each card's own page; the Pricing and Terms document for each card, on sites.chase.com, refused our reader.
| Card | Annual fee | Extra cards | Foreign transaction fee | Rates and penalty fees |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Sapphire Reserve | $795 | $195 for each authorised user | None | 19.49% to 27.99% variable purchase APR, on the card page; late and returned-payment fees not stated |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business | $795 | Employee Cards at no additional cost | None | APR not stated on the card page; late and returned-payment fees not stated |
| IHG One Rewards Premier | $99 | Not stated | None | 19.24% to 29.99% variable purchase APR, on the card page; late and returned-payment fees not stated |
The Pricing and Terms documents, LGC64842 for the Sapphire Reserve, LGC64346 for the Sapphire Reserve for Business and LGC60778 for the IHG One Rewards Premier, refused our reader; the fee and rate figures above come from the card pages themselves. The Sapphire Reserve carries up to $300 a year in travel credits, up to $500 a year through The Edit ($250 for each prepaid booking), up to $250 in Chase Travel hotel credits through 31 December 2026, and up to $300 a year in dining credits ($150 from January to June and $150 from July to December), plus Apple TV+ and Apple Music, and StubHub, Lyft, Peloton and DoorDash credits with their own end dates. The Sapphire Reserve for Business carries the same $300 travel credit, a $500 Edit credit rising to $1,000 a year from 1 January 2027, and credits for Google Workspace and ZipRecruiter. The IHG One Rewards Premier gives automatic IHG One Rewards Platinum Elite status, Diamond Elite after $40,000 of purchases in a calendar year, an anniversary free night up to 40,000 points and up to $50 of United TravelBank cash a year. Whether a card's credits cover its fee is worked through on are premium travel credit cards worth it, and the seven flagship cards are ranked on value on our premium travel cards page.
Chase publishes full guest rules and fees for the Sapphire Lounge and Priority Pass networks, but the IHG One Rewards Premier carries no lounge access at all.
| Card | Lounges | Guests | Extra cardholders |
|---|---|---|---|
| Chase Sapphire Reserve | Chase Sapphire Lounge by The Club (nine open) and Priority Pass Select, 1,300+ lounges worldwide | Two free guests a visit at each network, $27 for each extra guest | Authorised users get their own Sapphire Lounge and Priority Pass Select access, each with two free guests |
| Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business | As the Sapphire Reserve, for the primary cardmember | Two free guests a visit, $27 for each extra guest | Employee cardmembers are not eligible in their own right, but may enter as the primary cardmember's guests |
| IHG One Rewards Premier | None | Not applicable | Not applicable |
Chase's lounges page names nine open locations, Boston Logan, Dallas Fort Worth, JFK, Harry Reid in Las Vegas, LaGuardia, Philadelphia, Phoenix Sky Harbor, San Diego and the Etihad Lounge at Washington Dulles, with Los Angeles marked "Coming soon"; entry is up to three hours before a departing flight. The Priority Pass guest policy page confirms the same $27 fee for each guest beyond the first two at Priority Pass lounges. How the Sapphire network compares with Centurion, Priority Pass, Admirals Club and Delta Sky Club is on our airport lounge programme index, and how the two Sapphire cards compare with American Express, Capital One and Citi on lounges is on credit cards with airport lounge access.
The two Sapphire Reserve cards carry the same insurance guide, underwritten by Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company; the IHG One Rewards Premier states its own limits but names no insurer.
| Cover | Limit | Underwriter | Terms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trip cancellation and interruption | Sapphire cards: $10,000 per traveller and $20,000 per trip. IHG Premier: $5,000 per traveller and $10,000 per trip | Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company (Sapphire cards); not named (IHG Premier) | Sapphire Reserve guide; IHG Premier card page |
| Trip delay | Sapphire Reserve: up to $500 per covered traveller after a delay of more than six hours or an overnight stay | Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company | Sapphire Reserve card page |
| Baggage delay | Sapphire cards: $100 a day for up to five days. IHG Premier: $100 a day for up to three days | Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company (Sapphire cards); not named (IHG Premier) | Sapphire Reserve guide; IHG Premier card page |
| Auto rental collision damage waiver | Sapphire Reserve: primary, up to $75,000, in the US and abroad. Sapphire Reserve for Business: up to $75,000. None stated on the IHG Premier's page | Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company | Sapphire Reserve card page; business guide |
The Sapphire Reserve guide, in effect as of 11 June 2026, also carries lost luggage cover of $3,000, emergency evacuation of $100,000 and repatriation of $15,000, and emergency medical and dental cover of $2,500 with a $50 deductible, with exclusions listed; the Sapphire Reserve for Business guide carries the same trip cancellation and baggage delay limits, also in effect from 11 June 2026. The IHG One Rewards Premier's insurance is "provided by unaffiliated companies" Chase does not name, and its guide to benefits is provided only after account opening. How the Sapphire Reserve's cover compares with the Amex Platinum's is on Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve; a card's delay cover reimburses expenses, not the compensation an airline may owe, which is set out in US flight delay compensation and the EU261 claim company comparison.
Chase publishes no number for credit card service from abroad, but its Travel and Emergency Assistance line runs 24 hours a day for the two Sapphire cards.
| Need | What Chase publishes | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Card lost or stolen, or an account problem | No number for credit card service from abroad; Chase's report-fraud page gives 1-800-955-9060 and 1-800-704-0285 for cards, and states its one number outside the US, 1-713-262-3300, is for debit cards and checking only | Report fraud page |
| A replacement card | Arrives "within 5-7 business days"; nothing on delivery abroad | Replace card page |
| A medical, legal or travel emergency | Travel and Emergency Assistance, 1-800-350-1697 or collect 001-214-503-2954 for the Sapphire Reserve, and 1-800-352-2173 or collect 001-214-503-2951 for the Sapphire Reserve for Business, 24 hours a day, 365 days a year | Sapphire Reserve guide; Sapphire Reserve for Business guide |
| Emergency cash | Not stated for the Sapphire cards; Chase names no emergency-cash or temporary-card benefit | Sapphire Reserve guide |
Neither Sapphire card's own pages state a replacement time for a card lost abroad. Visa's own generic page for its cards describes emergency card replacement, typically within one to three days after approval; it does not name Chase or the Sapphire Reserve, and it is Visa's service, set out on Visa's page, not a Chase commitment. Mastercard's own World Elite Guide to Benefits similarly describes a temporary card, with the issuer's approval, the next day in the US and within two business days almost everywhere else; Mastercard's guide does not name Chase, though the IHG One Rewards Premier is a World Elite Mastercard. Which cards in your wallet cost nothing to use abroad is on travel money cards compared.
Chase states that its cardholders will not be held responsible for unauthorised charges, and a sample Cardmember Agreement carries a billing-rights notice, but Chase names no complaint route beyond itself.
The Sapphire Reserve and Sapphire Reserve for Business pages both state: "You won't be held responsible for unauthorized charges made with your card or account information." Chase's report-fraud page adds: "Zero Liability means you won't be held responsible for unauthorized charges on your credit card when you report them promptly." A sample Cardmember Agreement, COL00095.pdf, from the sample agreements page that the IHG One Rewards Premier's page links to, carries a "Your Billing Rights" notice under the Fair Credit Billing Act; it names no card and no regulator beyond a link to the CFPB's general guidance on choosing a card. Chase's own complaints and feedback page names no outside body. A route exists whatever Chase's pages say: the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau takes credit card complaints online or on (855) 411-2372 and sends them to the company for a response.
J.D. Power ranked Chase second among card issuers in 2026, at 635 against a 613 average, while its Trustpilot listing for chase.com holds 1.3 out of 5 from 2,840 reviews.
The J.D. Power 2026 U.S. Credit Card Satisfaction Study, published on 13 August 2026, puts American Express first at 668, Chase second at 635 and Bank of America third at 630, against an overall average of 613. The American Customer Satisfaction Index now scores banks, not card issuers, and its 2026 finance study makes Chase "the sole leader of the national bank segment at 80", a bank score this record does not count. The Trustpilot listing for chase.com holds 1.3 out of 5 from 2,840 reviews, unclaimed, with 89% one star; a separate creditcards.chase.com listing holds 1.7 out of 5 from 50 reviews. What each kind of review can and cannot tell a buyer is in who reviews the reviewers.
The Sapphire Reserve suits a traveller who wants a broad, flexible travel credit and Sapphire Lounge access; the IHG One Rewards Premier suits an IHG loyalist who wants Platinum Elite status for $99.
The Sapphire Reserve for Business pairs the same lounge network with free employee cards and business-software credits, for a self-employed cardholder or small-business owner who travels; how the personal card compares with the Amex Platinum is on Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve. The IHG One Rewards Premier gives automatic Platinum Elite status for a $99 fee, with Diamond Elite reachable at $40,000 of spend in a calendar year; how that stacks up against Hilton and Marriott's own top tiers is on Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist and the hotel status match guide.
Chase suits less well a cardholder who wants a published number to call if a card is lost or stolen abroad, since none of the three cards' pages give one, or emergency cash while travelling. For an issuer whose 24-hour assistance line can wire cash, see the American Express record, though its agreements carry no billing-rights statement.
Which card, which lounge network, which hotel programme and what to do when a flight goes wrong are the next decisions, and each has its own page here.
| Decision | What matters | Where we cover it |
|---|---|---|
| Which premium card | The fee against the credits you will use, and the lounge network where you fly. | Best premium travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve |
| Lounges | Own lounges, Priority Pass and guest fees differ by card. | Credit cards with lounge access; Airport lounge programme index |
| Hotel status | The IHG One Rewards Premier gives Platinum Elite, with Diamond Elite at $40,000 of spend. | Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist; Hotel status match guide |
| Where to book hotels | Chase Travel and The Edit carry their own prepaid conditions. | Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso; Luxury hotel brand hierarchy |
| Using the points | Chase Ultimate Rewards points can move to airline programmes for business class awards. | How to fly business class on points; Best business class airlines |
| A delayed or cancelled flight | Card delay cover reimburses expenses; compensation from the airline is a separate claim. | US flight delay compensation; Travel disruption recovery playbook |
Chase appears on six Uncompromised Travel pages with a card, lounge or benefit position, and holds numbered ranks on two of them.
| Page | Position | Note |
|---|---|---|
| Best premium travel credit cards 2026 | Sapphire Reserve 1st of 7, 90/100; IHG One Rewards Premier 6th, 72/100 | Scores each card's value; fees match the card pages |
| Credit cards with airport lounge access | Sapphire Reserve 1st, 84/100; Sapphire Reserve for Business 2nd, 81/100 | Puts the Sapphire network at nine locations, matching Chase's own count |
| Airport lounge programme index | Sapphire Lounge by The Club assessed, not ranked, 9 lounges | Scores the lounge network; this record scores the issuer |
| Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve | Head to head, no score | Names seven Sapphire Lounge airports; Chase's own lounges page lists nine |
| Best credit cards for hotel elite status | Says the IHG One Rewards Premier grants Diamond Elite | Chase's own card page gives automatic Platinum Elite, with Diamond after $40,000 of spend in a calendar year; the page is wrong and is being corrected |
| Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist | IHG One Rewards Premier grants Platinum Elite, matching Chase | Consistent with Chase's own card page |
The other three issuers on our card pages, American Express, Citi and Capital One, are scored on the same rubric.
| Company | Record score | How it differs |
|---|---|---|
| American Express | 68 | Centurion Lounge guest fees and a 24-hour Global Assist line in writing, but no billing-rights statement in its four agreements |
| Citi | 66 | One card in scope, the Strata Elite at $595, with a 24-hour collect line from abroad but no assistance service |
| Capital One | 57 | The Venture X cards at $395 with their own lounges, but application terms that carry no date |
Six things a cardholder would want could not be found or verified for Chase. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.
| Missing | Where we looked |
|---|---|
| Rates, penalty fees and a date in a pricing document | The Pricing & Terms pages linked from all three card pages (LGC64842, LGC64346 and LGC60778); each refused our reader |
| A number for credit card service from abroad | Chase's customer service and report fraud pages; the only number stated for outside the US on those pages is for debit cards and checking accounts |
| A replacement time for a card lost abroad | The Sapphire Reserve guide to benefits, the replace card page and Chase's card assistance pages; only Visa's own generic page, which does not name Chase, states a time |
| Emergency cash or a temporary card abroad | The Sapphire Reserve and Sapphire Reserve for Business guides to benefits; only Mastercard's generic World Elite guide, which does not name Chase, describes one, for the IHG One Rewards Premier only |
| A complaint route beyond Chase | The complaints and feedback page and the sample Cardmember Agreement |
| The IHG Premier's authorised-user fee and insurer | The IHG One Rewards Premier card page, which states insurance limits but calls them "provided by unaffiliated companies," and its guide to benefits, provided only after account opening |
Chase raised the Sapphire Reserve fee to $795 and launched the Sapphire Reserve for Business in June 2025, and refreshed both cards' guides to benefits in June 2026.
| When | What happened | Source |
|---|---|---|
| 23 June 2025 | Chase Sapphire Reserve annual fee rises to $795 with a new $195 authorised-user fee, and Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business launches at $795 | Chase's release |
| 26 October 2025 | New benefits from the June refresh, including the dining credit, take effect for existing personal cardholders | Chase's release |
| 11 June 2026 | Current guides to benefits for the Sapphire Reserve and Sapphire Reserve for Business take effect | Sapphire Reserve guide to benefits |
| 13 August 2026 | J.D. Power ranks Chase second among card issuers, at 635 | J.D. Power |
| 1 January 2027 | The Sapphire Reserve for Business's Edit credit is due to rise from $500 to $1,000 a year | Sapphire Reserve for Business page |
JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A., a national bank supervised by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues the Chase Sapphire Reserve, Chase Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier cards. Its parent is JPMorgan Chase & Co., whose investor contact address is 277 Park Avenue in New York. It scores 71 out of 100 on this record, the highest of the four issuers scored.
No. The Sapphire Reserve, Sapphire Reserve for Business and IHG One Rewards Premier pages each state there is no foreign transaction fee, and none of the three cards carries one.
Nothing for the first two guests on a visit; $27 for each additional guest, at both Chase Sapphire Lounges and Priority Pass. Authorised users on the Sapphire Reserve get their own membership and their own two free guests.
Chase publishes no number for credit card service from abroad; its one number outside the US, 1-713-262-3300, is for debit cards and checking accounts only. For a medical, legal or travel emergency, the Sapphire Reserve's Travel and Emergency Assistance line is 1-800-350-1697 or collect 001-214-503-2954, and the Sapphire Reserve for Business's is 1-800-352-2173 or collect 001-214-503-2951, 24 hours a day.
Trip cancellation and interruption cover of $10,000 per traveller and $20,000 per trip, and trip delay cover of up to $500 per traveller after a delay of more than six hours or an overnight stay, underwritten by Virginia Surety Company, Inc., an Assurant company. Auto rental collision damage waiver is primary, up to $75,000, in the US and abroad.
No. Its card page mentions no lounge benefit. It gives automatic IHG One Rewards Platinum Elite status, an anniversary free night worth up to 40,000 points and up to $50 of United TravelBank cash a year, for a $99 annual fee.
J.D. Power's 2026 study ranks Chase second among credit card issuers, at 635 against a 613 average, behind American Express. Its Trustpilot listing for chase.com holds 1.3 out of 5 from 2,840 reviews.
Chase's complaints and feedback page and its sample Cardmember Agreement name no route beyond Chase. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau takes credit card complaints online at consumerfinance.gov/complaint or on (855) 411-2372.
On this issuer record Chase scores 71 and American Express 68: Chase publishes detailed lounge guest terms and a billing-rights notice, while American Express dates every card agreement and runs a 24-hour assistance line that can wire cash. Card against card, the comparison is Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve on this site.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 26 September 2026 · facts verified 26 September 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.