Travel Intelligence · Card issuer records 2026

American Express Review 2026: Travel Card Fees, Lounges, Insurance and a Record Score of 68

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 68/100Verified 26 September 2026

American Express scores 68/100 as a card issuer record: it publishes dated card agreements, full Centurion Lounge guest rules and a 24-hour assistance line for its four US travel cards, but prints no billing-rights statement, no complaint route and no hours for its collect number from abroad. This record covers the issuer behind the Platinum Card, the Business Platinum Card, the Hilton Honors Aspire and the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant: who issues and regulates them, what they cost, what is in writing on lounges, insurance and help abroad, and what independent studies say. Which card is worth its fee is scored on our card pages, linked below.

Verified 26 September 2026 · americanexpress.com card pages, card agreements dated 30 June 2026, insurance policy documents and the Premium Global Assist guide · thecenturionlounge.com terms · J.D. Power · Trustpilot · the SEC and the OCC

Is this your company? Correct a fact. American Express can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How American Express scores: 68 out of 100

American Express scores 68 out of 100: full marks for fees in writing and strong satisfaction evidence, held back by agreements with no billing rights or complaint route, Priority Pass guest terms our reader could not open and an undated 2026 lounge rule change. That is second of the four card issuers scored on this rubric, three points behind Chase. Our premium cards page ranks the Platinum second of seven cards at 88 because it scores the card's value; this record scores the issuer, and what a cardholder can check before applying.

How the score works (100 points). Benefits in writing 25: lounge terms with guest rules and guest fees for every card, travel insurance wording that names the insurer, each statement credit's value, period and conditions, and effective dates on the issuer's own pages for 2025 and 2026 changes · Help abroad 20: a card service number to call from abroad with its hours, emergency card replacement away from home with a stated time, a travel and medical assistance line with its own number, and emergency cash or a temporary card · Fees in writing 20: annual, extra-card and foreign transaction fees in a pricing and terms document for every card, no foreign transaction fee, a date or version on that document, and its rates and penalty fees · Satisfaction evidence 20: J.D. Power's U.S. Credit Card Satisfaction Study against its average, the American Customer Satisfaction Index and Trustpilot · Regulation and dispute rights 15: the issuing bank and its charter, a complaint route beyond the issuer, and zero liability with billing-dispute rights. Rubric fixed on 26 September 2026 before any issuer was read; lines our reader could not open are marked n/r and the criterion is rescaled. A card's value is scored on our card pages, not here. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked. For card issuers, fixed before any was scored: the number-from-abroad line is the card service number, not an assistance line; a fact that sits only on a page our reader could not open is not shown; and ACSI, which publishes no credit card study for 2025 or 2026, is n/r for every issuer.
CriterionPointsOut ofWhy
Benefits in writing1725Centurion Lounge guest fees ($50, or $30 for a child), two free guests after $75,000 of spend, the same-flight rule and extra cardholders' own access are published for the two Platinum cards on Amex's Centurion site; the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant's page gives unlimited Priority Pass visits but no guest rule, and the Priority Pass guest terms for all three lounge cards sit on benefit pages that refused our reader (4 of 8). Trip cancellation and trip delay cover in policy documents naming New Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG company, with limits and exclusions, each listing all four cards (8 of 8). Every credit's value, period and conditions on the card pages (5 of 5). The Centurion rules that press dates to 8 July 2026 carry no effective date on any Amex page read (0 of 4).
Help abroad1120Collect from abroad on 336-393-1111 after the country's access code, with no hours stated (3 of 7). No replacement time for a card lost abroad; its lost-card page offers next-day shipping, not a service away from home (0 of 5). The Premium Global Assist Hotline for all four cards, 1-800-345-2639 or collect 1-715-343-7979, around the clock (5 of 5). The hotline can wire emergency cash, charged to the card (3 of 3).
Fees in writing2020Card agreements dated 30 June 2026 give each card's annual fee, extra-card fee and foreign transaction fee (8 of 8). No foreign transaction fee on any of the four (6 of 6). "As of: 06/30/2026" on each (3 of 3). Rates, late fee and returned-payment fee in the same documents (3 of 3).
Satisfaction evidence1520J.D. Power 2026: 668, first among issuers for a seventh year, against an average of 613 (10 of 10). ACSI publishes no credit card study for 2025 or 2026, so that line is n/r. Trustpilot 1.3 from 5,432 reviews (1 of 5). Rescaled from 11 of 15.
Regulation and dispute rights515American Express National Bank, a national bank (5 of 5). No complaint route beyond Amex in its four card agreements or on its service pages; the CFPB appears only as a link to card tips (0 of 5). "You are not liable for fraudulent purchases as an American Express cardholder", but no billing-rights statement in any of the four agreements (0 of 5).
Total68100Card issuer record score, 26 September 2026.

American Express puts its fees in dated card agreements and its insurance in policy documents that list every card covered, and runs a 24-hour assistance line for cardholders abroad. What it does not put in writing, on any page our reader could open, is the Priority Pass guest allowance, the hours of its collect line, a replacement time abroad, the date of its 2026 Centurion rule change, a billing-rights statement or where to complain beyond Amex.

The Lower Manhattan skyline with One World Trade Center on a clear day
Lower Manhattan, where American Express has its headquarters at 200 Vesey Street, beside One World Trade Center. Photo: Following NYC / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 20 facts about American Express, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a regulator, court, satisfaction study, review platform or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
Issuing bankAmerican Express National Bank, named as issuer on the agreements for all four cardsPlatinum Card agreement, 30 June 2026 · A
RegulatorThe Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, which supervises national banks; it fined American Express National Bank $15 million in 2023 over its oversight of a third-party affiliateOCC release, 2023 · B
Parent and head officeAmerican Express Company, 200 Vesey Street, New York, NY 10285 (map)Investor contact page · A
Founded and chief executive1850; Stephen J. Squeri, chairman and chief executiveWho we are · A
Cards in this recordThe Platinum Card ($895 a year), the Business Platinum Card ($895), the Hilton Honors American Express Aspire Card ($550) and the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant American Express Card ($650); all US cardsCard agreements, 30 June 2026 · A
Extra cardsAdditional Platinum Cards $195 a year each, Companion Platinum Cards $0; Additional Business Platinum Cards $400 each, Business Expense Cards no fee; no fee for additional Aspire or Brilliant cardsPlatinum, Business Platinum, Aspire and Brilliant agreements · A
Foreign transaction feeNone on any of the four cardsCard agreements · A
Rates and penalty feesPay Over Time on the Platinum at the Prime Rate plus 12.74% to 21.74%, on the Business Platinum plus 10.99% to 21.74%; Aspire and Brilliant purchases at the Prime Rate plus 12.74% to 21.74%, penalty rate plus 26.74%; late and returned payments up to $40 ($39, or 2.99% of a past-due amount, on the Business Platinum)Card agreements · A
LoungesCenturion Lounges, 32 by Amex's count on 1 April 2026, in a Global Lounge Collection of more than 1,550 lounges in 140 countries, plus 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year on Delta flights, for the Platinum and Business Platinum; unlimited Priority Pass visits for the Brilliant; none for the AspirePlatinum lounges page · A; Amex newsroom · A; Brilliant page · A
Centurion guests$50 per guest aged 18 or over, $30 per child aged 2 to 17, per location; two free guests a visit after $75,000 of eligible spend in a calendar year; guests must be on the Card Member's flight; entry within 3 hours of departure, or 5 hours of a connecting flightCenturion Lounge terms · A
Priority Pass guestsNot stated on any page our reader could openPlatinum page · A; Brilliant page · A
Travel insuranceTrip cancellation and interruption to $10,000 a trip and $20,000 per card in 12 months; trip delay $500 a trip after six hours, two claims in 12 months; New Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG company; all four cards listedTrip cancellation terms · A; Trip delay terms · A
Card service from abroadCollect through the operator with the country's access code and 336-393-1111; no hours statedOverseas contact page · A
Assistance abroadPremium Global Assist Hotline, 1-800-345-2639 or collect 1-715-343-7979, around the clock; can cancel lost cards, arrange medical transport and wire emergency cash charged to the cardPremium Global Assist guide · A
Fraud liability"You are not liable for fraudulent purchases as an American Express cardholder."Lost card page · A
Billing rights and complaintsNo billing-rights statement and no complaint route beyond Amex in the four agreements; the CFPB appears only as a link to card tipsCard agreements · A
Satisfaction studyJ.D. Power 2026: 668, first among credit card issuers for a seventh year; the average is 613J.D. Power, 13 August 2026 · B
ReviewsTrustpilot 1.3 from 5,432 reviews on the American Express Global listing, 81% of them one star; claimed in March 2018Trustpilot · B
SettlementJanuary 2025: about $230 million to the US Department of Justice and Federal Reserve staff over historical sales practices for certain US small business customersAmex SEC filing, 16 January 2025 · A
Our other pagesPlatinum second of seven at 88, Aspire fifth at 78, Brilliant seventh at 70 on the premium cards page; Platinum third at 74 and Business Platinum fourth at 71 on the lounge cards pagePremium cards · B; Lounge cards · B

Who issues American Express cards, and who regulates the bank?

American Express National Bank, a national bank supervised by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues all four cards; its parent, American Express Company, was founded in 1850 and has its head office at 200 Vesey Street in New York.

Amex's company page names Stephen J. Squeri as chairman and chief executive. The OCC, which supervises national banks, fined American Express National Bank $15 million in 2023 over its oversight of a third-party affiliate. In January 2025 Amex said in an SEC filing that it would pay "approximately $230 million in total" to resolve investigations by the Department of Justice and Federal Reserve staff into "historical sales practices for certain U.S. small business customers".

This record covers US cards only. Amex also issues cards in other countries, and its Global Card Relationship programme moves an existing cardholder onto a locally issued card when they relocate; the British Platinum and Gold cards are compared on our UK and European travel cards page.

Which American Express cards this record covers, and what they cost

Four US cards: the Platinum Card and the Business Platinum Card at $895 a year, the Hilton Honors Aspire at $550 and the Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant at $650, none with a foreign transaction fee. Read from each card's agreement, all "As of: 06/30/2026", on Amex's agreements page.

CardAnnual feeExtra cardsForeign transaction feeRates and penalty fees
The Platinum Card$895$195 each Additional Platinum Card; Companion Platinum $0NonePay Over Time at Prime plus 12.74% to 21.74%; late and returned payments up to $40
Business Platinum Card$895$400 each Additional Business Platinum Card; Business Expense Cards freeNonePay Over Time at Prime plus 10.99% to 21.74%; late $39 or 2.99% of a past-due amount; returned $39
Hilton Honors Aspire$550No feeNonePurchases at Prime plus 12.74% to 21.74%, penalty plus 26.74%; late and returned up to $40
Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant$650No feeNonePurchases at Prime plus 12.74% to 21.74%, penalty plus 26.74%; late and returned up to $40

Amex's Platinum fact sheet dates the current Platinum benefits from 18 September 2025, when the fee rose to $895 and the card claimed "over $3,500 in annual value" in credits. Those credits, on the Platinum page, include up to $600 a year at Fine Hotels + Resorts and The Hotel Collection ($300 each half-year), $400 at Resy restaurants ($100 a quarter), $200 in Uber Cash, a $200 airline fee credit and up to $219 for CLEAR+. The Aspire gives Hilton Honors Diamond status, a $400 Hilton resort credit, a $200 flight credit and up to $219 a year for CLEAR+; the Brilliant gives Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite status, 25 elite night credits a year and a $300 dining credit. Whether the credits cover the fee is worked through on are premium travel credit cards worth it, and the seven flagship cards are ranked on value on our premium travel cards page.

What American Express publishes about lounge access and guests

Amex publishes the Centurion Lounge guest fees and rules in full, but not the Priority Pass guest allowance on any page our reader could open.

CardLoungesGuestsExtra cardholders
Platinum CardCenturion Lounges, the Global Lounge Collection, Priority Pass (enrolment required) and 10 Delta Sky Club visits a year on Delta flightsCenturion: $50 a guest, $30 a child, per location; two free after $75,000 of spend in a calendar year; same flight onlyAdditional Platinum Card Members enter Centurion Lounges in their own right; Companion Platinum Cards do not
Business Platinum CardAs the PlatinumAs the PlatinumEmployee Business Expense Cards are not eligible for Centurion Lounges
Marriott Bonvoy BrilliantPriority Pass, unlimited visits, more than 1,300 lounges in over 130 countriesNot stated on the card pageNot stated
Hilton Honors AspireNoneNot applicableNot applicable

The Centurion rules are on the Centurion Lounge terms: Platinum Card Members must arrive within three hours of departure, or within five hours of a connecting flight, and every guest must be on the Card Member's flight. Press reports date the same-flight and layover rules to 8 July 2026; no Amex page we read gives that date. How Centurion ranks as a lounge network against Priority Pass, Admirals Club and Delta Sky Club is on our airport lounge programme index, and how the Platinum cards compare with Chase, Capital One and Citi on lounges is on credit cards with airport lounge access.

What travel insurance American Express cards carry, and who underwrites it

All four cards carry trip cancellation and interruption cover to $10,000 a trip and trip delay cover of $500 after six hours, underwritten by New Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG company, in policy documents Amex publishes before you apply.

CoverLimitUnderwriterTerms
Trip cancellation and interruption$10,000 a trip; $20,000 per card in 12 consecutive monthsNew Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG companyCards covered; terms
Trip delay$500 a trip after a delay of more than six hours; two claims per card in 12 monthsNew Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG companyCards covered; terms
BaggageSet by card in Amex's benefit guidesAMEX Assurance CompanyBaggage insurance terms
Car rental loss and damageThe lower of the repair cost and the car's value, on the Platinum's termsAMEX Assurance CompanyCar rental terms

The trip cancellation terms exclude pre-existing conditions, war and the insolvency of a travel agent, tour operator or travel supplier; the trip delay terms exclude delays made public before departure. How the Platinum's cover compares with the Chase Sapphire Reserve's is on Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve. A card's delay cover reimburses expenses; it does not replace the compensation an airline may owe, which is set out in US flight delay compensation and the EU261 claim company comparison.

How American Express helps a cardholder abroad

Amex gives a collect number for card service from abroad without stated hours, and a 24-hour Premium Global Assist Hotline that can arrange medical transport and wire emergency cash, but publishes no replacement time for a card lost abroad.

NeedWhat Amex publishesSource
Card lost or stolen, or an account problemCall collect: ask the operator for the country's access code and 336-393-1111; no hours statedOverseas contact page
A replacement cardNext-day shipping; nothing on delivery abroadLost card page
A medical, legal or travel emergencyPremium Global Assist Hotline, 1-800-345-2639 or collect 1-715-343-7979, 24 hours; it can cancel lost cards and arrange medical transport, which may be free where its medical team finds a needPremium Global Assist guide
Emergency cashThe hotline can wire cash; "The cash wire will be charged to your American Express Card."Premium Global Assist guide

Amex's card assistance abroad page links all four cards to the same Premium Global Assist guide. Coordination is free, but a cardholder pays third-party costs such as a doctor or a lawyer. Which cards in your wallet cost nothing to use abroad, and which charge for cash, is on travel money cards compared.

Fraud, disputes and complaints: what American Express puts in writing

Amex says its cardholders are not liable for fraudulent purchases, but its four card agreements carry no billing-rights statement and name no complaint route beyond Amex.

The zero-liability line is on Amex's own lost card page: "You are not liable for fraudulent purchases as an American Express cardholder." We read all four agreements dated 30 June 2026 in full and found no billing-rights notice of the kind Chase, Capital One and Citi print, and no mention of the OCC; the only regulator named is the CFPB, as a link to tips on choosing a card. A route exists whatever the agreements say: the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau takes credit card complaints online or on (855) 411-2372 and sends them to the company for a response.

What J.D. Power and Trustpilot say about American Express

J.D. Power ranked American Express first among card issuers for a seventh year in 2026, at 668 against a 613 average, while its Trustpilot listing holds 1.3 out of 5 from 5,432 reviews.

The J.D. Power 2026 U.S. Credit Card Satisfaction Study, published on 13 August 2026 from 40,386 responses gathered between June 2025 and May 2026, puts Amex at 668, Chase second at 635 and Bank of America third at 630. The American Customer Satisfaction Index now scores banks, not card issuers, and does not name American Express. The Trustpilot listing covers American Express worldwide, and 81% of its reviews give one star; Trustpilot gathers the reviews people choose to post, while J.D. Power surveys a sample of cardholders. What each kind of review can and cannot tell a buyer is in who reviews the reviewers.

Who American Express travel cards suit, and who they do not

The Platinum cards suit a traveller who uses Centurion Lounges and spends the credits; the Aspire and the Brilliant suit Hilton and Marriott loyalists who want status from a card.

The Aspire gives Hilton Honors Diamond status for $550 and the Brilliant Marriott Bonvoy Platinum Elite for $650; what each tier delivers at the hotel is compared in Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist and the best credit cards for hotel status. The Platinum's hotel credit works only on prepaid Fine Hotels + Resorts or The Hotel Collection bookings, weighed against booking direct in Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso.

Amex suits less well a family that travels with guests and does not reach $75,000 of spend, who pay $50 an adult at every Centurion Lounge, or a cardholder who wants a billing-rights statement and a complaint route in the agreement itself. For those, Chase publishes its Priority Pass guest terms and prints billing rights, as the Chase record shows.

American Express: the decisions that come next

Which card, which lounge network, which hotel programme and what to do when a flight goes wrong are the next decisions, and each has its own page here.

DecisionWhat mattersWhere we cover it
Which premium cardThe fee against the credits you will use, and the lounge network where you fly.Best premium travel credit cards; Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve
LoungesOwn lounges, Priority Pass and guest fees differ by card.Credit cards with lounge access; Airport lounge programme index
Hotel statusThe Aspire gives Hilton Diamond; the Brilliant gives Marriott Platinum Elite, and Marriott's higher tiers need nights.Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist; Hotel status match guide
Where to book hotelsAmex's hotel credit needs a prepaid booking through Amex Travel.Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso; Luxury hotel brand hierarchy
Using the pointsMembership Rewards points can be moved to airline programmes for business class awards.How to fly business class on points; Best business class airlines
A delayed or cancelled flightCard delay cover reimburses expenses; compensation from the airline is a separate claim.US flight delay compensation; Travel disruption recovery playbook

Where American Express stands on Uncompromised Travel

American Express appears on six Uncompromised Travel pages with a card, lounge or benefit position, and holds numbered ranks on three of them.

PagePositionNote
Best premium travel credit cards 2026Platinum 2nd of 7, 88/100; Aspire 5th, 78; Brilliant 7th, 70Scores each card's value; its fees match the card agreements
Credit cards with airport lounge accessPlatinum 3rd, 74/100; Business Platinum 4th, 71/100Puts the Centurion network at about 30 lounges; Amex's newsroom gave 32 on 1 April 2026
Airport lounge programme indexCenturion 2nd of 6, 70/100Scores the lounge network; this record scores the issuer
Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire ReserveHead to head, no scoreLists the CLEAR+ credit at $209; Amex's Platinum page now says up to $219
Direct vs Amex FHR vs VirtuosoFine Hotels + Resorts weighed as a booking routeDates the Platinum's rise to $895 to late 2025, as Amex's fact sheet does
Best credit cards for hotel elite statusAspire and Brilliant, not rankedGives the Aspire's CLEAR+ credit as $209; Amex's Aspire page says up to $219

Alternatives to American Express to compare

The other three issuers on our card pages, Chase, Citi and Capital One, are scored on the same rubric.

CompanyRecord scoreHow it differs
Chase71Nine Sapphire Lounges with two free guests and no spend threshold, and billing rights in writing; no card service number from abroad on its pages
Citi66One card in scope, the Strata Elite at $595; a 24-hour collect line from abroad, but no assistance service
Capital One57The Venture X cards at $395 with their own lounges; terms documents without the foreign transaction fee or a date

What this record does not show

Seven things a cardholder would want could not be found or verified for American Express. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
Priority Pass guest rules for the three lounge cardsThe Platinum, Business Platinum and Brilliant card pages; Amex's card benefit pages refused our reader
What the Brilliant's additional cardholders get in loungesThe Brilliant card page and agreement
Hours for the 336-393-1111 collect lineThe overseas contact page and the customer service hub
A replacement time for a card lost abroadThe lost card page, the Premium Global Assist guide and the card assistance abroad page
A date for the 2026 Centurion guest and layover rulesThe Centurion Lounge terms, access and FAQ pages, and Amex's newsroom
Billing rights and a complaint route beyond AmexThe four card agreements dated 30 June 2026, the agreements page and the customer service pages
Baggage insurance limits for each cardThe baggage insurance terms page, which lists card families; the benefit guide read does not name the card

What changed at American Express, 2025 to 2026

American Express raised the Platinum fees to $895 in September 2025, tightened its Centurion guest rules in 2026 and settled an investigation into small business sales practices in January 2025.

WhenWhat happenedSource
16 January 2025About $230 million to resolve Justice Department and Federal Reserve staff investigations into historical sales practices for certain US small business customersAmex SEC filing
18 September 2025Platinum Card refresh: the annual fee rises to $895 with new credits; the Business Platinum also moves to $895Amex Platinum fact sheet
1 April 2026Amex counts 32 Centurion Lounges, with more plannedAmex newsroom
30 June 2026Current agreements for all four cardsAmex card agreements
8 July 2026, per pressCenturion guests must be on the Card Member's flight, and layover entry is limited to five hours before a connecting flight; Amex's terms carry the rules without a dateThe Points Guy; Centurion terms
13 August 2026J.D. Power ranks Amex first among card issuers for a seventh yearJ.D. Power

American Express: the questions people ask AI search

Who issues American Express cards in the US?

American Express National Bank, a national bank supervised by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues the Platinum, Business Platinum, Hilton Honors Aspire and Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant cards. Its parent is American Express Company of New York. It scores 68 out of 100 on this record.

Do American Express travel cards charge foreign transaction fees?

No. The agreements for the Platinum, Business Platinum, Hilton Honors Aspire and Marriott Bonvoy Brilliant cards, all dated 30 June 2026, each say "Foreign Transaction: None".

How much does it cost to bring a guest into a Centurion Lounge?

$50 for each guest aged 18 or over and $30 for each child aged 2 to 17, per location, unless the Platinum account has spent $75,000 on eligible purchases in the calendar year, which allows two free guests a visit. Guests must be on the Card Member's flight.

What number do I call if I lose my American Express card abroad?

Call collect: ask the operator for the access code of the country you are in, then 336-393-1111. Amex states no hours for that line. For a medical, legal or travel emergency, the Premium Global Assist Hotline is on collect 1-715-343-7979, 24 hours a day, and can cancel lost cards and wire emergency cash.

What travel insurance comes with the Amex Platinum Card?

Trip cancellation and interruption cover to $10,000 a trip and $20,000 per card in 12 months, and trip delay cover of $500 a trip after six hours, two claims a year, underwritten by New Hampshire Insurance Company, an AIG company. The Business Platinum, Aspire and Brilliant carry the same two covers.

Does the Hilton Honors Aspire card include airport lounge access?

No. Its card page mentions no lounge benefit. It gives Hilton Honors Diamond status, a $400 Hilton resort credit, a $200 flight credit and an annual free night for $550 a year.

How does American Express rank for customer satisfaction?

J.D. Power's 2026 study ranks American Express first among credit card issuers for a seventh year, at 668 against a 613 average. Its Trustpilot listing holds 1.3 out of 5 from 5,432 reviews.

Where can I complain about American Express?

Amex's card agreements name no route beyond Amex. The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau takes credit card complaints online at consumerfinance.gov/complaint or on (855) 411-2372.

Is American Express or Chase better for travel cards?

On this issuer record Chase scores 71 and American Express 68: Chase prints its Priority Pass guest terms and billing rights, while Amex dates its card agreements and runs a 24-hour assistance line that can wire cash. Card against card, the comparison is Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve on this site.

This record is unpaid and American Express had no part in it. The score is this site's, on the card issuer record rubric published above, and it changes only when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to americanexpress.com, registries, review platforms and press pay nothing. This site has no affiliate arrangement with American Express or any other card issuer; no score on this page or on our card pages is paid for. Sources verified 26 September 2026: americanexpress.com (the four card pages, card agreements dated 30 June 2026, trip cancellation, trip delay, baggage and car rental terms, the Premium Global Assist guide, the overseas contact, lost card and company pages), thecenturionlounge.com terms, the SEC, the OCC, J.D. Power, ACSI, Trustpilot and the CFPB. First published 26 September 2026 as a company record. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.