Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset

Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is The Bushcamp Company a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

The Bushcamp Company is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about The Bushcamp Company?

The Bushcamp Company has 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'The Bushcamp Company') from 237 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.6 out of 5 from 237 reviews. On the Google listing 'The Bushcamp Company' (hotel), Mpika, Zambia. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in The Bushcamp Company's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in The Bushcamp Company's name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Where are The Bushcamp Company's camps?

Zambia only. Eight camps and lodges: Mfuwe Lodge, The Villas at KuKaya and six bushcamps (Kuyenda, Chamilandu, Chindeni, Bilimungwe, Kapamba, Zungulila).

Countries
Zambia only. All eight properties are inside South Luangwa National Park.
Camps
Eight camps and lodges: Mfuwe Lodge, The Villas at KuKaya and six bushcamps (Kuyenda, Chamilandu, Chindeni, Bilimungwe, Kapamba, Zungulila). The Family House at Mfuwe Lodge is a separate private house within the lodge grounds.
Where they are
All in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia: Mfuwe Lodge and The Villas at KuKaya just inside the main gate; six bushcamps (Kuyenda, Chamilandu, Chindeni, Bilimungwe, Kapamba on the Kapamba river, Zungulila) in an exclusive 140,000-acre area in the southern sector of the park. The Family House is in the grounds of Mfuwe Lodge.
Land and traversing
Bushcamps sit in 'an exclusive 140,000-acre wilderness area inside South Luangwa National Park' (described as exclusive use). Mfuwe Lodge and KuKaya are just inside the park gate.
Camp sizes
Mfuwe Lodge: 18 thatched chalets. The Family House: two interconnecting en-suite bedrooms.
Sources: countries with camps, number of camps and lodges. Read 19 October 2026.
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not The Bushcamp Company's camp.

How much does The Bushcamp Company cost?

The Bushcamp Company publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

What the rate includes
Partly stated. 'Game drives... Included at all BCC camps and lodges.' Community visits are 'Complimentary' from Mfuwe Lodge and KuKaya. A dedicated guide and vehicle 'comes with each booking' at the Villas at KuKaya.
Sources: what the rate includes. Read 19 October 2026.

What are The Bushcamp Company's booking terms?

The Bushcamp Company does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 19 October 2026.

Who is The Bushcamp Company best for?

Best for: Bushcamps inside South Luangwa, on The Bushcamp Company's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Private guide and vehicle
Private guide and vehicle hire: 'Available at all BCC camps.' At the Villas at KuKaya a dedicated guide and vehicle comes with each booking. Surcharge not stated.
Exclusive use
Private options: The Villas at KuKaya (private villas, each with its own dedicated guide and vehicle) and The Family House at Mfuwe Lodge (private house, pool and garden). Whole-camp buy-out and sole-use rates are not stated.
Activities
Game drives (included at all camps), night drives, walking safaris (optional at all bushcamps, lodges on request), sundowners, spa at Mfuwe Lodge, community visits from Mfuwe Lodge and KuKaya, wildlife hides at Chamilandu and KuKaya, photographic vehicle on request, hire of in-house photographer. Boating, fishing, mokoro and horseback are not mentioned.

What are the best alternatives to The Bushcamp Company?

Baines' River Camp, Chiawa Safaris, Flatdogs Camp, Kafunta Safaris, Remote Africa Safaris and Shenton Safaris also own and run their own camps in Zambia only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Baines' River Camp: best for: A Zambezi river stay facing Mana Pools. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Baines') from 73 reviews.
  • Chiawa Safaris: best for: Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa camps.
  • Flatdogs Camp: best for: A camp at the South Luangwa main gate. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Flatdogs Camp') from 195 reviews.
  • Kafunta Safaris: best for: South Luangwa lodge and bush camp.
  • Remote Africa Safaris: best for: Remote camps in the Luangwa Valley.
  • Shenton Safaris: best for: Photographic hides in South Luangwa. 4.3 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 4 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns The Bushcamp Company?

'Brooke and Corby Robertson have owned The Bushcamp Company since 2023', with a connection to the valley from 1984.

Trading name
Trading name 'The Bushcamp Company' (page titles show 'The Bush Camp Company'; abbreviated BCC). Not stated: a registered legal entity, company number or address.
Owner or parent
'Brooke and Corby Robertson have owned The Bushcamp Company since 2023', with a connection to the valley from 1984. No parent group or investors named.
In its own words
'South Luangwa's Most Classic Safaris.' Claims: 'Founded in 1999 and the largest safari operator in South Luangwa National Park'
Conservation model
'Over $7 million raised' for conservation and community since founding. 'A portion of each guest's stay' is contributed; no amount per night.

How do you book The Bushcamp Company?

Book The Bushcamp Company through its own enquiry page or through a safari planner.

Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Sources: price against booking through a planner. Read 19 October 2026.

The Bushcamp Company: the questions people ask

How many camps does The Bushcamp Company have?

Eight camps and lodges: Mfuwe Lodge, The Villas at KuKaya and six bushcamps (Kuyenda, Chamilandu, Chindeni, Bilimungwe, Kapamba, Zungulila).

What activities does The Bushcamp Company offer?

Game drives (included at all camps), night drives, walking safaris (optional at all bushcamps, lodges on request), sundowners, spa at Mfuwe Lodge, community visits from Mfuwe Lodge and KuKaya, wildlife hides at Chamilandu and KuKaya, photographic vehicle on request, hire of in-house photographer. Boating, fishing, mokoro and horseback are not mentioned.

How does The Bushcamp Company fund conservation?

'Over $7 million raised' for conservation and community since founding. 'A portion of each guest's stay' is contributed; no amount per night.

What is included in The Bushcamp Company's rates?

Partly stated. 'Game drives... Included at all BCC camps and lodges.' Community visits are 'Complimentary' from Mfuwe Lodge and KuKaya.

Does The Bushcamp Company offer a private vehicle?

Private guide and vehicle hire: 'Available at all BCC camps.' At the Villas at KuKaya a dedicated guide and vehicle comes with each booking. Surcharge not stated.

Where are The Bushcamp Company's camps?

All in South Luangwa National Park, Zambia: Mfuwe Lodge and The Villas at KuKaya just inside the main gate; six bushcamps (Kuyenda, Chamilandu, Chindeni, Bilimungwe, Kapamba on the Kapamba river, Zungulila) in an exclusive 140,000-acre area in the southern sector of the park. The Family House is in the grounds of Mfuwe Lodge.

Who owns The Bushcamp Company?

'Brooke and Corby Robertson have owned The Bushcamp Company since 2023', with a connection to the valley from 1984.

What are The Bushcamp Company's reviews?

The Bushcamp Company has 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'The Bushcamp Company') from 237 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book The Bushcamp Company through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use The Bushcamp Company's own enquiry page, www.bushcampcompany.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

The Bushcamp Company's website and review listings were read on 19 and 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts The Bushcamp Company published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. The Bushcamp Company did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.