Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset

Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Remote Africa Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Remote Africa Safaris is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Remote Africa Safaris?

No rating for Remote Africa Safaris was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Google
No Google listing in Remote Africa Safaris' name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Remote Africa Safaris' name was found.
Sources: trustpilot. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Where are Remote Africa Safaris' camps?

Zambia only: camps are in South Luangwa and North Luangwa National Parks, Luangwa Valley, eastern Zambia. Six camps are listed: Tafika, Olimba, Chikoko Tree, Big Lagoon, Mwaleshi and Takwela (Chikoko Tree and Big Lagoon together form Tafika Walking Trails).

Countries
Zambia only: camps are in South Luangwa and North Luangwa National Parks, Luangwa Valley, eastern Zambia.
Camps
Six camps are listed: Tafika, Olimba, Chikoko Tree, Big Lagoon, Mwaleshi and Takwela (Chikoko Tree and Big Lagoon together form Tafika Walking Trails). Owned versus managed is not spelled out.
Where they are
Tafika Camp: Nsefu sector, South Luangwa National Park, east bank of the Luangwa River. Olimba Camp: northern boundary of the Nsefu sector, South Luangwa. Chikoko Tree Camp (8km upstream of Tafika) and Big Lagoon Camp: west bank of South Luangwa National Park. Mwaleshi Camp: North Luangwa National Park on the Mwaleshi River, 10km upstream of the Luangwa confluence. Takwela Camp: North Luangwa, at the confluence of the Luangwa and Mwaleshi Rivers.
Land and traversing
Tafika, Olimba and Takwela sit on Remote Africa's private land inside or beside South and North Luangwa National Parks (Olimba shares the private land with Tafika). Chikoko Trails is a walking wilderness area with no roads or vehicles.
Mobile and seasonal camps
No mobile camps; all six are seasonal. Mwaleshi is rebuilt each year from natural materials.
Camp sizes
Tafika: 6 chalets, up to 14 guests (largest). Olimba: 4 chalets, up to 8 guests (can be booked out for a group of 6).
Four people at a sunset picnic on the savannah
Four people at a sunset picnic on the savannah. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Remote Africa Safaris' camp.

How much does Remote Africa Safaris cost?

Remote Africa Safaris publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

Prices published
Yes, in US dollars. The homepage camp cards show 'from' prices (Chikoko Tree from $650, Big Lagoon from $650, Mwaleshi from $735, Takwela from $600; no figure shown for Tafika or Olimba) and package pages for 2026 give 'from US$' prices per person sharing.
Sources: prices published. Read 19 October 2026.

What are Remote Africa Safaris' booking terms?

Remote Africa Safaris does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
Currencies and card fees
US dollar cash is 'the currency of preference' (notes must be new, 'big heads'). Visa or Mastercard accepted with a 5.5% charge at Tafika Camp only.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit, cancellation charges. Read 19 October 2026.

Who is Remote Africa Safaris best for?

Best for: Remote camps in the Luangwa Valley, on Remote Africa Safaris' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Minimum age: Tafika 8, Olimba 8, Takwela 8 (12 for walking safaris), Chikoko Tree 12, Big Lagoon 12, Mwaleshi 12. Tafika has a two-room family suite (a king and two doubles) with an add-on hide. A private vehicle is suggested for families with young children.
Honeymoon
Tafika Camp has a honeymoon suite with an enormous king-size bed.
Solo travellers
No solo-specific offers.
Private guide and vehicle
Yes, at Tafika Camp: a private vehicle and guide can be pre-booked at an additional cost (amount not stated); specific guide requests are met where possible at no extra cost. Also a private photographic vehicle (2 guests, extra daily cost) and private photographic safaris with Bryan Jackson (additional cost).
Exclusive use
Olimba Camp may be booked out exclusively for groups of 6 (it sleeps up to 8). Sole-use rates are not published.
Activities
Tafika: day and night drives, walking safaris, Mkasanga village visits, two hides (elephant and seasonal carmine bee-eater), cycling and microlight flights (May only). Olimba: day and night drives, two hides (Kawere and carmine bee-eater), village visits, splash pool.

When is Remote Africa Safaris not the right choice?

Remote Africa Safaris is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Children
Minimum age: Tafika 8, Olimba 8, Takwela 8 (12 for walking safaris), Chikoko Tree 12, Big Lagoon 12, Mwaleshi 12.
Sources: family and child policy. Read 19 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Remote Africa Safaris?

Baines' River Camp, Chiawa Safaris, Flatdogs Camp, Kafunta Safaris, Shenton Safaris and The Bushcamp Company also own and run their own camps in Zambia only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Baines' River Camp: best for: A Zambezi river stay facing Mana Pools. 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Baines') from 73 reviews.
  • Chiawa Safaris: best for: Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa camps.
  • Flatdogs Camp: best for: A camp at the South Luangwa main gate. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Flatdogs Camp') from 195 reviews.
  • Kafunta Safaris: best for: South Luangwa lodge and bush camp.
  • Shenton Safaris: best for: Photographic hides in South Luangwa. 4.3 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 4 reviews.
  • The Bushcamp Company: best for: Bushcamps inside South Luangwa. 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'The Bushcamp Company') from 237 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Remote Africa Safaris?

Owner-operated and family-run.

Trading name
No company registration number published.
Based in
Mfuwe, Zambia (contact address PO Box 5 Mfuwe, Zambia); the camps are in the Luangwa Valley of eastern Zambia and Tafika Camp is described as the home of the owners.
Owner or parent
Owner-operated and family-run. No parent group named.
In its own words
'Remote by Name. Remote by Nature' and 'Family-run safari operator in Luangwa, Zambia' (social feed).
Conservation model
The Tafika Fund supports Mkasanga village: school books, materials, teachers' salaries and pupils' scholarships, a clinic and a football league. Remote Africa makes a donation from each bednight to Conservation South Luangwa (CSL) and to the North Luangwa Conservation Programme (Frankfurt Zoological Society); amounts are not stated.

How do you book Remote Africa Safaris?

Direct to guests through enquiry forms and [email protected] / WhatsApp +260 972 424 258.

Where it sells
Direct to guests through enquiry forms and [email protected] / WhatsApp +260 972 424 258. An 'Agents Portal' page exists for trade ('Check our live availability'), but its content is restricted behind a login.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
An Agents Portal (login required) offers live availability for trade. No commission or preferred-partner statement is published.

Remote Africa Safaris: the questions people ask

How many camps does Remote Africa Safaris have?

Six camps are listed: Tafika, Olimba, Chikoko Tree, Big Lagoon, Mwaleshi and Takwela (Chikoko Tree and Big Lagoon together form Tafika Walking Trails).

When are Remote Africa Safaris' camps open?

No mobile camps; all six are seasonal. Mwaleshi is rebuilt each year from natural materials.

What activities does Remote Africa Safaris offer?

Tafika: day and night drives, walking safaris, Mkasanga village visits, two hides (elephant and seasonal carmine bee-eater), cycling and microlight flights (May only). Olimba: day and night drives, two hides (Kawere and carmine bee-eater), village visits, splash pool.

Does Remote Africa Safaris have honeymoon offers?

Tafika Camp has a honeymoon suite with an enormous king-size bed.

How does Remote Africa Safaris fund conservation?

The Tafika Fund supports Mkasanga village: school books, materials, teachers' salaries and pupils' scholarships, a clinic and a football league. Remote Africa makes a donation from each bednight to Conservation South Luangwa (CSL) and to the North Luangwa Conservation Programme (Frankfurt Zoological Society); amounts are not stated.

Does Remote Africa Safaris charge a single supplement?

No solo-specific offers.

Does Remote Africa Safaris accept children?

Minimum age: Tafika 8, Olimba 8, Takwela 8 (12 for walking safaris), Chikoko Tree 12, Big Lagoon 12, Mwaleshi 12. Tafika has a two-room family suite (a king and two doubles) with an add-on hide.

Does Remote Africa Safaris offer a private vehicle?

Yes, at Tafika Camp: a private vehicle and guide can be pre-booked at an additional cost (amount not stated); specific guide requests are met where possible at no extra cost. Also a private photographic vehicle (2 guests, extra daily cost) and private photographic safaris with Bryan Jackson (additional cost).

Where are Remote Africa Safaris' camps?

Tafika Camp: Nsefu sector, South Luangwa National Park, east bank of the Luangwa River. Olimba Camp: northern boundary of the Nsefu sector, South Luangwa.

Who owns Remote Africa Safaris?

Owner-operated and family-run.

What are Remote Africa Safaris' reviews?

No rating for Remote Africa Safaris was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Can I book Remote Africa Safaris through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Remote Africa Safaris' own enquiry page, www.remoteafrica.com, or a safari planner.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Remote Africa Safaris published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Remote Africa Safaris did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.