Baines' River Camp is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Baines' River Camp?
Baines' River Camp has 4.9 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Baines') from 73 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Google
4.9 out of 5 from 73 reviews. On the Google listing 'Baines' River Camp' (indoor lodging), Zambia. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Baines' River Camp's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Baines' River Camp's name was found.
Zambia. One camp: Baines' River Camp, with eight suites and a two-bedroom family unit, hosting a maximum of 20 guests.
Countries
Zambia.
Camps
One camp: Baines' River Camp, with eight suites and a two-bedroom family unit, hosting a maximum of 20 guests. Owned by the Featherby family.
Where they are
Lower Zambezi Valley, Zambia, on the banks of the Zambezi River, 'upstream of Lower Zambezi National Park, directly across the river of Mana Pools and in the heart of the Game Management Area'.
Land and traversing
Game Management Area, outside the national park. Guests go by boat (about a 20-minute cruise) to the Lower Zambezi National Park gate for park drives and also drive in the GMA.
Mobile and seasonal camps
No mobile camps. Seasonal: open 1 March to 30 November.
Camp sizes
Eight suites (king beds, private veranda) plus one two-bedroom Family Suite (also called the Family Cottage), with a maximum of 20 guests. Only one camp.
A male lion resting on rocks, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Baines' River Camp's camp.
How much does Baines' River Camp cost?
Baines' River Camp publishes its own rates: lowest published: $705 per person per night, Green Season 2026. Park fees and levies (USD 110 pppn) are extra.
Lowest published
Lowest published: $705 per person per night, Green Season 2026. Park fees and levies (USD 110 pppn) are extra.
What the rate includes
Includes: accommodation, meals, non-premium drinks, twice-daily safari activities, internal road transfers from Royal Airstrip, SES, wifi, VAT, 10% service charge, tourism levies and laundry. Excludes: park fees and levies (USD 110 pppn), airstrip access fees (USD 40.60 pp), private guiding, gratuities, personal items, external transfers and flights. Early check-in or late check-out costs USD 150 pp per event.
Baines' River Camp's published terms: a part-payment of 25% of the quoted travel package is required to confirm a booking.
Deposit
A part-payment of 25% of the quoted travel package is required to confirm a booking. Provisional holds are only made on written request and are released after 14 days.
Balance due
The balance is due 60 days before the arrival date. Failure to pay on time 'could result in the Customer losing their booking'.
Cancellation charges
In writing only. From confirmation to 90 days before arrival: USD 100 admin fee. 90 to 31 days before arrival: 25% of total. 30 to 0 days: 100% of total.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are in US dollars. Extras incurred in camp are settled before departure through the camp's credit card system 'which will include a surcharge of 5%'.
Best for: A Zambezi river stay facing Mana Pools, on Baines' River Camp's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Children between 6 and 12 pay 30% of the adult rate. 2027 child rates are shown: $546 (green) and $742 (high) per night. The Family Suite has two bedrooms. A minimum age is not stated.
Teenagers and families
The Family Suite is for 'families and multi-generational groups' with two separate bedrooms, a lounge, veranda and two bathrooms. The Family Cottage takes 3 or 4 guests at normal sharing rates.
Solo travellers
'No Single Supplement for the first 2 rooms in a booking', then 50% extra on additional single-occupancy rooms. Single supplement applies if 2 guests occupy the Family Cottage.
Private guide and vehicle
The homepage also describes 'private game drives'. Which activities the rate covers is not further stated.
Activities
Guests also mention an evening drive and gym mats. No horseback.
What are the best alternatives to Baines' River Camp?
Anabezi, Chiawa Safaris, Flatdogs Camp, Kafunta Safaris, Remote Africa Safaris and Shenton Safaris also own and run their own camps in Zambia only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Anabezi: best for: Plunge-pool tents in Lower Zambezi.
Chiawa Safaris: best for: Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa camps.
Flatdogs Camp: best for: A camp at the South Luangwa main gate. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Flatdogs Camp') from 195 reviews.
Kafunta Safaris: best for: South Luangwa lodge and bush camp.
Shenton Safaris: best for: Photographic hides in South Luangwa. 4.3 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 4 reviews.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Baines' River Camp?
Owned by Craig and Di Featherby, 'passionate and committed owners', continuing the family legacy begun by Craig's father, Tim 'Bwana' Featherby.
Trading name
Trading name is 'Baines' River Camp' (website bainesrivercamp.com). No registered company name or number is published.
Owner or parent
Owned by Craig and Di Featherby, 'passionate and committed owners', continuing the family legacy begun by Craig's father, Tim 'Bwana' Featherby. No parent group or investors are named.
In its own words
'A Sanctuary in the Heart of the African Wilderness'.
Conservation model
Partners listed: Conservation Lower Zambezi, Africa's Eden, Zambezi Harvest, Pack for a Purpose, Lower Zambezi Tourism Association, Mullberry Mongoose. The experiences page offers a visit to Conservation Lower Zambezi, an NGO.
Direct to guests by enquiry form, email, phone and WhatsApp with named reservations staff, with published rack rates.
Where it sells
Direct to guests by enquiry form, email, phone and WhatsApp with named reservations staff, with published rack rates. Rack rates are shown per person per night with child rates for 2027.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Lowest published: $705 per person per night, Green Season 2026. Park fees and levies (USD 110 pppn) are extra.
How many camps does Baines' River Camp have?
One camp: Baines' River Camp, with eight suites and a two-bedroom family unit, hosting a maximum of 20 guests.
When are Baines' River Camp's camps open?
No mobile camps. Seasonal: open 1 March to 30 November.
What activities does Baines' River Camp offer?
Guests also mention an evening drive and gym mats. No horseback.
How does Baines' River Camp fund conservation?
Partners listed: Conservation Lower Zambezi, Africa's Eden, Zambezi Harvest, Pack for a Purpose, Lower Zambezi Tourism Association, Mullberry Mongoose. The experiences page offers a visit to Conservation Lower Zambezi, an NGO.
What is included in Baines' River Camp's rates?
Includes: accommodation, meals, non-premium drinks, twice-daily safari activities, internal road transfers from Royal Airstrip, SES, wifi, VAT, 10% service charge, tourism levies and laundry. Excludes: park fees and levies (USD 110 pppn), airstrip access fees (USD 40.60 pp), private guiding, gratuities, personal items, external transfers and flights.
What deposit does Baines' River Camp ask for?
A part-payment of 25% of the quoted travel package is required to confirm a booking.
What are Baines' River Camp's cancellation charges?
In writing only. From confirmation to 90 days before arrival: USD 100 admin fee. 90 to 31 days before arrival: 25% of total. 30 to 0 days: 100% of total.
Does Baines' River Camp charge a single supplement?
'No Single Supplement for the first 2 rooms in a booking', then 50% extra on additional single-occupancy rooms. Single supplement applies if 2 guests occupy the Family Cottage.
Does Baines' River Camp accept children?
Children between 6 and 12 pay 30% of the adult rate. 2027 child rates are shown: $546 (green) and $742 (high) per night. The Family Suite has two bedrooms.
Does Baines' River Camp offer a private vehicle?
The homepage also describes 'private game drives'. Which activities the rate covers is not further stated.
Where are Baines' River Camp's camps?
Lower Zambezi Valley, Zambia, on the banks of the Zambezi River, 'upstream of Lower Zambezi National Park, directly across the river of Mana Pools and in the heart of the Game Management Area'.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Baines' River Camp published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Baines' River Camp did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.