Flatdogs Camp is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Flatdogs Camp?
Flatdogs Camp has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Flatdogs Camp') from 195 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Google
4.7 out of 5 from 195 reviews. On the Google listing 'Flatdogs Camp' (hotel), Plot 8755, Mfuwe, Zambia. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Flatdogs Camp's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Flatdogs Camp's name was found.
Zambia (South Luangwa National Park area, Mfuwe). One camp: Flatdogs Camp.
Countries
Zambia (South Luangwa National Park area, Mfuwe).
Camps
One camp: Flatdogs Camp.
Where they are
Flatdogs Camp, on the banks of the Luangwa River near Mfuwe, described as the closest camp to the Mfuwe main gate of South Luangwa National Park, about 35 minutes by road from Mfuwe airport.
Land and traversing
The camp sits on the Luangwa River beside South Luangwa National Park, where game activities take place under park fees. The land status of the camp itself and any exclusive traversing are not stated.
Camp sizes
No total is given. Accommodation: 7 luxury tents (including a Honeymoon Tent and a Family Tent), 3 classic tents, chalets (Chalet 4 sleeps 6 to 8, standard family chalets 4 to 6), the two-bedroom Jackalberry Treehouse and the Crocodile Nest (4 to 6 people).
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Flatdogs Camp's camp.
How much does Flatdogs Camp cost?
Flatdogs Camp does not publish a dated rate per person per night for its own camps on its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.
What the rate includes
Extra: drinks and personal items. Room Only: activities cost $80 high season (01 Jul-31 Oct) and $65 low season; airport transfers $29 per person (minimum two) ZAWA park fees $25 per day international, $20 SADC, $30 self-drive.
Resident rates
Only the park fee has a resident rate: ZAWA park fees $20 per day for SADC residents against $25 for international visitors. No resident accommodation rates are published.
Flatdogs Camp's published terms: 25% deposit on safari package bookings, 50% on accommodation-only bookings.
Deposit
25% deposit on safari package bookings, 50% on accommodation-only bookings. Provisional bookings are generally held for 14 days, after which the deposit must be paid or the booking is released.
Balance due
Payment in full is required 30 days before travel unless otherwise arranged.
Cancellation charges
91 days or more before the safari: no charge. 91 to 30 days before: 25% cancellation. Within 30 days: 100% cancellation.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are quoted in US$. Visa, Mastercard and American Express are accepted at camp with 'no charge for this service'; card payments online go through Mobipaid.
Best for: A camp at the South Luangwa main gate, on Flatdogs Camp's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
No overall minimum age. The Crocodile Nest and Treehouse are 'not generally suitable for children under the age of 6'. Family-friendly chalets sleep 4 to 6; a Family Tent exists.
Teenagers and families
No teenager-specific policy. Family options: family chalets (4 to 6), Chalet 4 (6 to 8 including children), a Family Tent and the Treehouse for 'adventurous families'.
Honeymoon
A Honeymoon Tent is among the 7 luxury tents; the Jackalberry Treehouse is 'ideal for adventurous families, honeymooners or two couples'. No honeymoon offer is published.
Solo travellers
Luxury Tent $79 / $95. Standard Tent $55 / $77.
Private guide and vehicle
Private vehicle rates are 'available on request'; the surcharge is not published. Otherwise vehicles are normally limited to six guests.
Exclusive use
The Crocodile Nest is a tented house with private pool, dining and deck areas for 'families or groups of 4 to 6 people', described as 'ultra-private' and 'exclusive'. A whole-camp buy-out is not stated.
Activities
Morning drives (leave 06h00, at least four hours), night drives (depart 16h00, back about 20h10), walking safaris of three to four hours and a two-hour walk plus two-hour drive. Two swimming pools in camp.
Anabezi, Chiawa Safaris, Kafunta Safaris, Remote Africa Safaris, Shenton Safaris and The Bushcamp Company also own and run their own camps in Zambia only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Anabezi: best for: Plunge-pool tents in Lower Zambezi.
Chiawa Safaris: best for: Lower Zambezi and South Luangwa camps.
Kafunta Safaris: best for: South Luangwa lodge and bush camp.
Shenton Safaris: best for: Photographic hides in South Luangwa. 4.3 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 4 reviews.
The Bushcamp Company: best for: Bushcamps inside South Luangwa. 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'The Bushcamp Company') from 237 reviews.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Flatdogs Camp?
Flatdogs Camp's ownership is not stated on its own website.
Trading name
Chibuli Guides & Tours Ltd, trading as Flatdogs Camp (privacy notice and rate sheets). Address: P.O.
Based in
Mfuwe, Zambia (P.O. Box 125, Mfuwe, Zambia, Central Africa), next to South Luangwa National Park.
In its own words
'Your Perfect Zambian Safari Camp'.
Conservation model
Beneficiaries: Conservation South Luangwa and Project Luangwa (a charity set up by several valley lodges for education and small businesses). It is a member of Pack for a Purpose.
Certifications
Fair Trade Tourism: 'the very FIRST Fair Trade Tourism certified camp or lodge in the whole of Zambia'.
Direct to guests: 'Book Your Stay' and an enquiry form, email [email protected] and packages booked 'directly with Jess or Israel'.
Where it sells
Direct to guests: 'Book Your Stay' and an enquiry form, email [email protected] and packages booked 'directly with Jess or Israel'. Resident rates: only a SADC residents' park fee (US$20 per day) is published.
How it is paid
Direct bookings are made with Jess or Israel by email or phone, with a deposit and balance as above. Agent commission statements and trade rates are not stated.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Morning drives (leave 06h00, at least four hours), night drives (depart 16h00, back about 20h10), walking safaris of three to four hours and a two-hour walk plus two-hour drive. Two swimming pools in camp.
Does Flatdogs Camp have honeymoon offers?
A Honeymoon Tent is among the 7 luxury tents; the Jackalberry Treehouse is 'ideal for adventurous families, honeymooners or two couples'. No honeymoon offer is published.
How does Flatdogs Camp fund conservation?
Beneficiaries: Conservation South Luangwa and Project Luangwa (a charity set up by several valley lodges for education and small businesses). It is a member of Pack for a Purpose.
What is included in Flatdogs Camp's rates?
Extra: drinks and personal items. Room Only: activities cost $80 high season (01 Jul-31 Oct) and $65 low season; airport transfers $29 per person (minimum two)
What deposit does Flatdogs Camp ask for?
25% deposit on safari package bookings, 50% on accommodation-only bookings.
What are Flatdogs Camp's cancellation charges?
91 days or more before the safari: no charge. 91 to 30 days before: 25% cancellation. Within 30 days: 100% cancellation.
Does Flatdogs Camp charge a single supplement?
Luxury Tent $79 / $95. Standard Tent $55 / $77.
Does Flatdogs Camp accept children?
No overall minimum age. The Crocodile Nest and Treehouse are 'not generally suitable for children under the age of 6'.
Does Flatdogs Camp offer a private vehicle?
Private vehicle rates are 'available on request'; the surcharge is not published. Otherwise vehicles are normally limited to six guests.
Where are Flatdogs Camp's camps?
Flatdogs Camp, on the banks of the Luangwa River near Mfuwe, described as the closest camp to the Mfuwe main gate of South Luangwa National Park, about 35 minutes by road from Mfuwe airport.
What are Flatdogs Camp's reviews?
Flatdogs Camp has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Flatdogs Camp') from 195 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Flatdogs Camp published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Flatdogs Camp did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.