Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

How Much Does a Travel Advisor Cost in 2026? What 13 US Networks and Agencies Publish

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 17 October 2026

Of 13 US travel advisor companies we read on 17 October 2026, two publish a price, two publish a no-fee rule and nine publish no traveller fee amount. Departure Lounge charges $250 for custom planning and Indagare a membership of $395 or $2,850 a year. InteleTravel says there is no fee for booking through its advisors; Avoya says it charges no fees on cruises or tours. Where pay is stated, it is mainly commission; Fora says some of its advisors also charge concierge fees. Figures were read on each company's own site and Trustpilot.

How much does a travel advisor cost?

Two of the 13 companies we read publish a price: Departure Lounge charges $250 for custom planning and Indagare a membership of $395 or $2,850 a year. Two more publish a no-fee rule. InteleTravel says there is no fee for booking through its advisors; Avoya says it charges no fees on cruises or tours. The other nine publish no traveller fee amount on the pages we read on 17 October 2026. "Not stated on their website" means the page was read and the fee is not there; it does not mean there is none, so ask before planning starts.

A hand pointing at a road map of the United States beside a laptop, a cup of coffee, a US passport and two cameras
A hand points at a road map of the United States beside a laptop, a coffee, a US passport and two cameras. Photo: Element5 Digital, Pexels.

What each company says it charges

Departure Lounge charges $250 for planning and Indagare $395 or $2,850 a year; InteleTravel and Avoya publish a no-fee rule; the other nine publish no traveller fee amount on the pages we read. There is no score and no ranking.

Publishes a planning fee or a membership price.

Departure LoungeVirtuoso member agency

Best for
Luxury trips planned with a specialist
Why choose them
It publishes its fee. It says clients booking through its advisors get VIP perks such as upgrade priority, daily breakfast, a hotel credit and transfers, varying by property. Trustpilot shows no reviews yet.
Ask for
Whether the $250 is credited against the trip once you book.
Not the fit if
You want planning with no fee and have not chosen your provider.
Published price
$250 for custom collaborative planning. No planning fee if you have already chosen your provider.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: how and why to work with us, home page, Trustpilot

IndagareMembership luxury travel agency

Best for
Members who want a dedicated Trip Designer
Why choose them
Indagare lists VIP hotel amenities for members: upgrades, early check-in, late checkout, daily breakfast and food and spa credits, varying by hotel. Trustpilot shows no reviews yet.
Ask for
Which hotels on your trip carry the VIP amenities, before you pay the membership.
Not the fit if
You want planning without a yearly membership.
Published price
Self Planner $395 a year; Custom Planner $2,850 a year with a dedicated Trip Designer; Journeys priced per trip. No separate planning fee is listed.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: join page, Trustpilot

Publishes a no-fee rule.

InteleTravelHost agency for home-based advisors

Best for
Being matched with a home-based advisor
Why choose them
Its FAQ states the no-fee rule plainly. Trustpilot: 3.2 from 766 reviews.
Ask for
Whether your advisor adds any service fee of their own on complex trips.
Not the fit if
You want a named hotel programme: none is named on its home page.
Published price
No fee for booking through an InteleTravel advisor; advisors are paid by the vendor.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: FAQ, request an advisor, home page, Trustpilot

Avoya TravelCruises, tours and resorts

Best for
Cruise and tour bookings by phone
Why choose them
Its pricing terms page states the rule. Trustpilot: 3.3 from 87 reviews.
Ask for
Whether the no-fee rule covers hotel-only or flight bookings.
Not the fit if
You want hotel perks: no hotel programme is named on its home page.
Published price
No Avoya fees on cruises or tours, including changes and cancellations. Fees on other bookings are not addressed.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: pricing terms, home page, Trustpilot

Publishes no traveller fee amount on the pages we read.

ForaCalls itself the modern travel agency

Best for
An advisor on an AI-enabled booking platform with a traveller app
Why choose them
Fora Reserve, its hotel programme, lists 5,000+ preferred partners with perks including upgrades, daily breakfast and on-site credits. Trustpilot: 3.6 from 77 reviews.
Ask for
Whether your advisor charges a concierge fee and how much, before planning starts.
Not the fit if
You need a published fee before you enquire.
Published price
Not stated on their website. Fora's join page says advisors earn mainly commission and some also charge concierge fees.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: home page, join page, pricing page, Fora Reserve, Trustpilot

VirtuosoCalls itself a network of luxury agencies

Best for
Luxury hotel and cruise perks
Why choose them
Virtuoso lists perks that vary by property: preferred rates, upgrade on arrival, daily breakfast for two, early check-in and late checkout, plus cruise credits. Trustpilot: 2.7 from 21 reviews.
Ask for
The member agency's fee policy in writing.
Not the fit if
You want a published traveller fee: none is stated on the pages we read.
Published price
Not stated on their website. Ask the member agency you book with for its fee policy in writing.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: advisors, why Virtuoso, Trustpilot

Travel Leaders NetworkInternova Travel Group, a Certares company

Best for
A local agent found by ZIP code
Why choose them
It calls itself the largest network of professional travel agents in North America and shows 24,106 "Travel Experts In North America" on its home page. Trustpilot: 2.3 from 7 reviews.
Ask for
The agency's service fee, if any, before you share dates.
Not the fit if
You want a named hotel programme: the finder mentions only agent-only offers.
Published price
Not stated on their website.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: find a travel agent, home page, Internova, Trustpilot

Signature Travel NetworkA member-owned co-operative of retail agencies

Best for
An agency from a member-owned co-operative
Why choose them
Its home page lists hotel perks such as breakfast for two daily, upgrades, spa credits and airport transfers. Trustpilot could not be read.
Ask for
Which member agency handles your trip and its fee.
Not the fit if
You want a published fee: none is stated on its home page.
Published price
Not stated on their website. Its home page names no fee.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: home page, TravelAge West

Cruise PlannersCoral Springs, Florida · home-based franchise network

Best for
Cruise bookings with a local franchise owner
Why choose them
It calls itself the nation's largest home-based travel advisor franchise network and says it is a member of CLIA and ASTA. Trustpilot shows no reviews yet.
Ask for
Whether the franchise owner charges a planning fee for land trips.
Not the fit if
You want a published fee: none is stated on the pages we read.
Published price
Not stated on their website. Its consumer disclosure notice names no fee.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: consumer disclosure, about us, home page, Trustpilot

Dream VacationsFort Lauderdale, Florida · a division of World Travel Holdings

Best for
Finding an advisor by speciality and destination
Why choose them
Seller of Travel registrations shown for California, Washington and Florida. Trustpilot: 2.9 from 2 reviews.
Ask for
What the Price Guarantee covers.
Not the fit if
You want a review record: Trustpilot shows two reviews.
Published price
Not stated on their website. The page mentions a Price Guarantee and deals for clients.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: about us, advisor finder, Trustpilot

Gifted Travel NetworkCalls itself a boutique host agency

Best for
Luxury hotel programmes through a small host agency
Why choose them
It names Four Seasons, Rosewood, Hyatt Privé and Marriott Stars among its hotel programmes. Trustpilot could not be read.
Ask for
Whether your advisor charges a planning fee.
Not the fit if
You want to search advisors yourself: the Our Advisors page showed a heading but no form on the day we read it.
Published price
Not stated on their website. The home page is written for advisors.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: home page, our partners, our advisors

AAA TravelThe travel arm of AAA

Best for
AAA members who want help in person or online
Why choose them
Member perks listed include room upgrades, free breakfast, resort credits and onboard cruise credits. Trustpilot's 1.5 from 4,174 reviews covers AAA overall, not travel alone.
Ask for
Your local AAA office's planning fee, if any.
Not the fit if
You want a published planning fee: none is stated on the pages we read.
Published price
Not stated on their website. The only fee listed on the page we read is TSA PreCheck, $78 for five years.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: AAA Travel, AAA travel agent article, Trustpilot

American Express TravelFor Amex cardholders

Best for
Cardholders booking Fine Hotels + Resorts
Why choose them
Fine Hotels + Resorts lists daily breakfast for two, a $100 credit, 4pm checkout and an upgrade when available. Trustpilot's 1.3 from 5,476 reviews covers all of American Express.
Ask for
Any ticketing or change fee on your booking.
Not the fit if
You do not hold an eligible Amex card.
Published price
No service fee amounts listed. The page says ticketing and cancellation fees earn no points, so ask what applies.
Sources, read 17 October 2026: Amex Travel, Trustpilot

Where the companies say, it is mainly commission: InteleTravel says vendors pay its advisors and Fora says its advisors earn mainly commission, with some also charging concierge fees. Fora's join page adds that Fora handles invoicing and pays advisors directly, with a split from 70%. Gifted Travel Network says it pays advisors commission by direct deposit twice a month, once received. The other ten companies on this page do not say how advisors are paid on the pages we read. At Fora, some advisors charge a concierge fee, so ask each advisor.

Is booking through a travel advisor cheaper than booking direct?

The pages we read do not say whether rates beat booking direct; eight of the 13 list hotel perks on top of the room. Virtuoso lists upgrade on arrival, breakfast for two and early check-in or late checkout. Fora Reserve lists upgrades, breakfast and on-site credits. Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts lists breakfast for two, a $100 credit and 4pm checkout. Indagare, Departure Lounge, AAA, Gifted and Signature list perks too; Cruise Planners mentions hotel perks without details; Dream Vacations mentions value-added benefits such as spa services and vacation credits, with no hotel programme named. Ask the advisor for the rate and the perks in writing, then check the same dates on the hotel's own site. Our Direct vs Amex Fine Hotels vs Virtuoso page sets the perks programmes side by side.

Who to contact first

If you have already chosen your cruise or tour, start with a company that publishes a no-fee rule (InteleTravel's covers booking through its advisors, Avoya's cruises and tours); if you want a trip designed from scratch, ask for the planning fee in writing before the first call. A short brief saves both sides time:

  • Where and when, the number of travellers and the budget per person.
  • Ask: is there a planning or concierge fee? How much is it and is it credited if I book?
  • Ask: which hotel programme applies? What does it add on these dates?
  • Ask: who takes my payment, the advisor or the supplier?

Questions people ask

How much does a travel advisor cost?

Of the 13 US companies we read on 17 October 2026, two publish a price: Departure Lounge charges $250 for custom planning and Indagare a membership of $395 or $2,850 a year. Two publish a no-fee rule and nine publish no traveller fee amount, so ask before planning starts.

Do travel advisors charge planning fees?

Some do. Departure Lounge publishes $250 for custom planning. Fora's join page says some of its advisors charge concierge fees. Most companies we read publish no amount, so ask before planning starts.

How do travel advisors get paid?

Where the companies say, mainly by commission. InteleTravel says vendors pay its advisors; Fora says its advisors earn mainly commission and pays them directly, with a split from 70%.

Is booking through a travel advisor cheaper than booking direct?

The pages we read do not say whether rates beat booking direct. Eight of the 13 companies list hotel perks such as breakfast, upgrades and credits. Compare the advisor's rate and perks with the same dates on the hotel's own site.

Do Fora advisors charge fees?

Fora's home, advisors and pricing pages do not state a traveller fee. Its join page says advisors earn mainly commission and some also charge concierge fees, so ask your advisor directly.

Does Virtuoso charge a fee?

Virtuoso's advisor pages do not mention a fee. Ask the member agency you book with for its fee policy in writing.

Which travel advisors offer free trip planning?

None of the 13 says planning is free for every trip on the pages we read. InteleTravel says there is no fee for booking through its advisors; Avoya says it charges no fees on cruises or tours; Departure Lounge charges no planning fee if you have already chosen your provider.

Is Indagare worth the membership?

It depends on how often you travel. Indagare charges $395 a year for Self Planner and $2,850 a year for Custom Planner with a dedicated Trip Designer. It lists VIP hotel amenities for members that vary by hotel.

What should I ask a travel advisor about fees?

Ask whether there is a planning or concierge fee, how much it is, whether it is credited if you book and who takes your payment.

This page gives no score and no ranking; companies are grouped by what they publish about fees. A company is included if it is in our travel advisors table and its own site has pages for travellers that we could read. KHM Travel Group (its site would not open), Ensemble Travel (its site is written for agencies), Internova Travel Group (a corporate parent) and ASTA (a directory of advisors, not a company that books travel) are left out. No company on this page pays Uncompromised Travel. Sources: each company's own site, Internova, TravelAge West and Trustpilot, read 17 October 2026. "Not stated on their website" means the right page was read and the fee is not there. It means nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.