Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

Flightright or AirAdvisor: which is better?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 3 November 2026

Flightright charges usually 20% to 30% plus VAT, with a 14% surcharge if contract lawyers are needed; AirAdvisor charges 30% on flight claims and names no separate court fee. Both say they win 98% or more in court, with no period or method given.

Flightright or AirAdvisor: which is better?

Flightright suits a claimant with an EU or UK claim who wants a company running since 2010 with a lower starting fee; AirAdvisor suits one with a claim under US, Canadian or Turkish rules, or a baggage claim, which it charges 40% for.

Where these facts come from. Every line is what Flightright and AirAdvisor publish on their own websites, read on 20 October 2026, with their Trustpilot ratings, from the Uncompromised Travel flight compensation table. Neither paid to be on this page. The page does not score them: it says which suits whom.
  • Flightright: Founded by Philipp Kadelbach and Sven Bode.
  • AirAdvisor: 30% on flight claims, 40% on baggage.

What do they charge?

Fee if it wins

  • Flightright: Usually 20% to 30% of the compensation, plus VAT, agreed when ordering.
  • AirAdvisor: 30% on flight compensation claims and 40% on more complex baggage and reimbursement claims, taken from the airline's payment; it does not say whether VAT is included.

If it goes to court

  • Flightright: A surcharge of 14%, only if successful, when contract lawyers are needed; it pays court costs if the case is lost.
  • AirAdvisor: no figure on its website.

If the claim fails

  • Flightright: No costs if the claim is unsuccessful, including when contract lawyers are called in.
  • AirAdvisor: 'If we don't win your case, you pay nothing.'

What are their reviews like?

Trustpilot

  • Flightright: 4.5 out of 5 from 3,410 reviews, newest review 19 October 2026, read 20 October 2026.
  • AirAdvisor: 4.3 out of 5 from 2,603 reviews, newest review 18 October 2026, read 20 October 2026.

How and when do they pay out?

How it pays you

  • Flightright: By SEPA bank transfer, after the airline pays: 'we transfer you the funds once we receive them from the airline, minus our success fee'.
  • AirAdvisor: To your bank account, less its commission, after the airline pays; it does not say how soon.

How long a claim takes

  • Flightright: No fixed time: processing varies from case to case, so an exact time cannot be given, it says.
  • AirAdvisor: 'Our total turnaround time is usually 4-6 weeks.'

What do they claim for?

Rules it claims under

  • Flightright: EU261 and UK261, the claims it enforces.
  • AirAdvisor: EU261, UK261, US DOT, Canada APPR, Turkey SHY and the Montreal Convention.

Flights outside Europe

  • Flightright: Only where EU or UK rules apply, not other countries' rules.
  • AirAdvisor: It says it protects rights in the USA, Canada and internationally, with experience of US DOT, Canada APPR and Turkey SHY rules.

How far back

  • Flightright: UK: 6 years (5 in Scotland), counted from the end of the year of the incident.
  • AirAdvisor: Generally 3 years from the flight date; 'Some countries may only have a 1 or 2 year time limit.'

Do they go to court?

Lawyers

  • Flightright: Contract lawyers: 'we are not able to appear before a court', so partner law firms across Europe are used.
  • AirAdvisor: In-house lawyers: 'AirAdvisor's team of lawyers and experienced legal professionals'; 'our licensed attorneys will represent you in court proceedings'.

Court action

  • Flightright: Through contract law firms across Europe, mandated in its name and at its cost; a 14% surcharge applies on success.
  • AirAdvisor: With its own lawyers: 'If needed, we will take the airline to court for you'; 'our licensed attorneys will represent you in court proceedings'; 'We'll even take Wizz Air to court'.

Who are they?

Registered company

  • Flightright: Flightright GmbH, Revaler Str. 28, 10245 Berlin, Germany.
  • AirAdvisor: AirAdvisor International Inc., named in its disclaimers; no registration number or address is given.

Based in

  • Flightright: Berlin, Germany.
  • AirAdvisor: not stated on its website.

Founded

  • Flightright: 2010, by its own account.
  • AirAdvisor: not stated on its website.

What are the alternatives to Flightright and AirAdvisor?

Three more claims companies, on the same facts, if neither fits:

  • AirHelp: The most Trustpilot reviews here: 245,323. Fee: 35%, including VAT; Trustpilot 4.5 from 245,323 reviews.
  • FairPlane: 24% to 35% including VAT. Fee: 24% to 35%, including VAT; Trustpilot 4.8 from 4,098 reviews.
  • ClaimFlights: The same flat 25% fee in court. Fee: 25%, plus VAT; Trustpilot 4.2 from 501 reviews.

Flightright or AirAdvisor: the questions people ask

Which has more Trustpilot reviews?

Flightright has 4.5 out of 5 from 3,410 reviews and AirAdvisor 4.3 from 2,603, as read on the day shown.

Does Flightright take US or Canadian claims?

Only where EU or UK rules apply, by its own account; AirAdvisor names US DOT and Canada APPR among its rules.

How much does Flightright charge?

Flightright publishes a fee of 20% to 30%, plus VAT. A surcharge of 14%, only if successful, when contract lawyers are needed; it pays court costs if the case is lost.

How much does AirAdvisor charge?

AirAdvisor publishes a fee of 30%, VAT not stated.

What are Flightright reviews like?

On Trustpilot, 4.5 out of 5 from 3,410 reviews, newest review 19 October 2026, read 20 October 2026.

What are AirAdvisor reviews like?

On Trustpilot, 4.3 out of 5 from 2,603 reviews, newest review 18 October 2026, read 20 October 2026.

Can I claim without either company?

Yes. You can claim from the airline directly and for free; in the UK or EU you can go on to the national enforcement body or an approved dispute scheme if the airline refuses.

Are Flightright or AirAdvisor partners of Uncompromised Travel?

No. Neither paid to be on this page and no company on it is a partner of Uncompromised Travel.

How current is this page?

Each fact was read on 20 October 2026. Fees and terms change, so check the company's own terms before you sign.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: what Flightright and AirAdvisor published on their own websites, read on 20 October 2026, with their Trustpilot ratings, from the Uncompromised Travel flight compensation table. Neither is a partner of Uncompromised Travel and neither paid to be on this page. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.