Stays · Hotel brand records 2026

One&Only Review 2026: Record Score of 83, 13 Resorts and No Points Programme

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaRecord score 83/100Verified 26 September 2026

One&Only is eleventh of the twenty brands on our luxury hotel brand hierarchy, at 83 out of 100: 13 resorts open under Kerzner International Limited, with no room rate published outside its own booking engine and no points programme that we could find. This record is the evidence file behind that score. It sets out what One&Only and Kerzner publish about the brand, how the MICHELIN Guide rates the resorts we could read, what could not be found, and where our other pages and One&Only's own figures disagree.

Verified 26 September 2026 · oneandonlyresorts.com (destinations, our story, about, private homes, offers and resort pages) · kerzner.com and kerznercommunications.com · the MICHELIN Guide · our luxury hotel brand hierarchy of 7 September 2026

Is this your company? Correct a fact. One&Only can correct any line of this record through the contact page. Corrections are logged with the previous value kept, and the score moves only if the evidence does.

How One&Only scores: 83 out of 100

One&Only scores 83 out of 100, eleventh of twenty brands: 17 of 20 for rate band, 20 of 25 for consistency, 17 of 20 for service depth, 12 of 15 for food and drink and 17 of 20 for privacy and scale. The points are the luxury hotel brand hierarchy's of 7 September 2026, carried unchanged; under each criterion is what we could read on 26 September 2026. The clearest addition beyond the hierarchy's own text is our sweep of the MICHELIN Guide's listings for all 13 open resorts, ten of them with a Key, and One&Only Nyungwe House's move out of the brand into Kerzner's rare finds portfolio.

How the score works (100 points). Rate band 20: what the brand charges for an entry room in high season, scored so that the highest band scores highest · Consistency across the portfolio 25: how little the experience varies across the portfolio · Service depth 20: staff per room, space per guest, quiet · Food and drink 15: restaurants worth booking on their own · Privacy and scale 20: rooms per property and the absence of a scene. The rate bands: ultra-luxury EUR 1,500 to 5,000 or more a night, premium luxury EUR 800 to 2,000, luxury at scale EUR 400 to 1,000, lifestyle luxury EUR 250 to 600. This is the rubric of our luxury hotel brand hierarchy, which scores twenty brands against each other, so a rate band or a consistency score means something only beside the other nineteen. That is why a record does not re-score its brand on its own: it carries the hierarchy's scores of 7 September 2026 unchanged, prints under each criterion the evidence read on the date above, and sends any fact that contradicts the hierarchy to its quarterly re-score, so the record and the hierarchy never show different numbers. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked.
CriterionPointsOut ofEvidence
Rate band1720No One&Only page we opened prints a room rate outside booking; its offers page sells percentage discounts and free nights instead. The hierarchy places One&Only in its premium luxury band, EUR 800 to 2,000 a night.
Consistency across the portfolio2025One&Only prints no total, and its pages show 13 resorts open. The MICHELIN Guide lists all 13 and gives Keys to ten: Three at Mandarina, Two at Palmilla, Le Saint Géran, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, The Palm, Gorilla's Nest and Moonlight Basin, One at Cape Town and Aesthesis. One&Only says Reethi Rah holds a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star rating; no Forbes page for a One&Only resort would open.
Service depth1720One&Only publishes no staff numbers, butler model or room sizes on the pages we opened.
Food and drink1215One&Only's pages name Nobu at One&Only Cape Town and at One Za'abeel, and Maison Devoille at One Za'abeel; The Palm's page promises 'Michelin-starred dining' without naming the restaurant. No MICHELIN-starred One&Only restaurant was confirmed.
Privacy and scale1720One&Only prints no room counts of its own. The MICHELIN Guide gives Gorilla's Nest 21 rooms, The Palm 90, Moonlight Basin 92, Mandarina 105, Reethi Rah 118, Portonovi 123, Aesthesis 127 and Le Saint Géran 162.
Total83100Luxury hotel brand hierarchy score of 7 September 2026, carried unchanged; evidence read 26 September 2026.

One&Only publishes which resorts are open, which are coming next and who owns the brand. It publishes little else a guest could check before booking: no room rate outside its own booking engine, no staff numbers, no room count on any of its own pages, and no Forbes Travel Guide page that opens beyond its own quoted claim for Reethi Rah. The MICHELIN Guide fills part of that gap: ten of the 13 open resorts hold a Key, from One&Only Mandarina's Three, the brand's highest, down to One each at Cape Town and Aesthesis.

A boat sailing near the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront in Cape Town, South Africa, with the waterfront buildings behind it
A boat near the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront in Cape Town, South Africa; no hotel is shown. One&Only Cape Town stands at the V&A Waterfront and holds One MICHELIN Key. Photo: Magda Ehlers / Pexels

The evidence record

The record holds 19 facts about One&Only, each with its source and grade. Grade A means the company's own site or terms; grade B means a rating body such as Forbes Travel Guide or the MICHELIN Guide, a registry or major press; grade C means a secondary source not confirmed elsewhere. Every line was read on 26 September 2026 unless its source says otherwise.

AttributeValueSource · grade
BrandOne&Only resorts and private homes; Kerzner's brands page also names Atlantis, SIRO, Rare Finds and Mazagan, with no per-brand count givenKerzner brands page · A
OwnerKerzner International Limited, named in the copyright line of every One&Only page we openedoneandonlyresorts.com · A
LeadersNot found; Kerzner's leadership page renders no names, and its executive-team page heading "Meet our Leaders" returns "No results found"Kerzner leadership · A
Stock listingNone found on any page openedKerzner, who we are · A
FoundedKerzner International dates itself "Since 1993"; One&Only's own founding year and founder are not stated on its own pagesKerzner Communications · A
Head officeNot found; only a UAE phone number appears on kerzner.com. This record maps One&Only Cape Town at the V&A Waterfront instead (map)Kerzner, who we are · A
Resorts open13, by One&Only's own pages: six on the destinations page (Moonlight Basin, Mandarina, Palmilla, Aesthesis, Kéa Island, Portonovi) and seven more opened directly (Cape Town, Reethi Rah, Le Saint Géran, One Za'abeel, The Palm, Royal Mirage, Gorilla's Nest); One&Only prints no total of its ownDestinations · A; Cape Town · A; Reethi Rah · A
One&Only Nyungwe HouseLeft the brand; its page says it "has joined our rare finds portfolio" as Nyungwe Tea Forest Resort, "not a change in quality, ownership, management, or team"; the MICHELIN Guide still lists it as One&Only Nyungwe House, Two KeysOne&Only Nyungwe House · A; MICHELIN Guide · B
PipelineOne&Only Hudson Valley (New York) and One&Only Fiji due 2029; One&Only Courchevel 1850 (France) due 2030; One&Only Jeddah (Saudi Arabia) marked "Opening Soon", no dateDestinations · A
ResidencesPrivate homes "now available to purchase" at Mandarina, Hudson Valley, Moonlight Basin and Le Saint Géran; Courchevel's homes "coming soon", for a resort that does not itself open until 2030Private homes · A
Published ratesNone outside booking; the offers page sells percentage discounts and free nights, for example Kéa Island "20% off when you book in advance"Offers · A
Forbes Travel GuideOne&Only states Reethi Rah holds a Five-Star rating and a "Forbes Responsible Hospitality VERIFIED" designation for 2026; no Forbes page for a One&Only resort would open to our readerReethi Rah · A
MICHELIN KeysThree at Mandarina; Two at Palmilla, Le Saint Géran, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, The Palm, Gorilla's Nest and Moonlight Basin; One at Cape Town and Aesthesis; none at One Za'abeel, Royal Mirage or Kéa IslandMandarina, Los Cabos listing, Le Saint Géran, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, The Palm, Gorilla's Nest, Moonlight Basin, Cape Town listing and Aesthesis · B
Rooms at named resortsGorilla's Nest 21, The Palm 90, Moonlight Basin 92, Mandarina 105, Reethi Rah 118, Portonovi 123, Aesthesis 127, Le Saint Géran 162; One&Only's own pages print no room countsGorilla's Nest, The Palm, Moonlight Basin, Mandarina, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, Aesthesis and Le Saint Géran · B
RestaurantsNobu named at One&Only Cape Town and at One Za'abeel, with Maison Devoille also at One Za'abeel; The Palm's page promises "Michelin-starred dining" without naming the restaurant; no MICHELIN-starred One&Only restaurant confirmedCape Town · A; One Za'abeel · A; The Palm · A
Service claimsNone found; no staff numbers, butler model, room sizes or check-in style on any page openedOur story · A; About · A
Loyalty and booking perksNo points programme found; Kerzner Travel Partner Resources is a trade-only portal for advisers, covering One&Only among Kerzner's brands, not a guest perkOffers · A; Kerzner Travel Partner Resources · A
Legal and regulatory eventsNone found on the pages openedKerzner news · A
Our other pagesNo. 11 of 20 on the hierarchy at 83; 31/100 on our branded residences index, which scores residence programmes, not hotels; "11 hotels" on our independent hotel group index, short of the 13 this record countsHierarchy · B; Branded residences index · B; Independent hotel group index · B

Who owns One&Only?

One&Only is owned by Kerzner International Limited, the name printed in the copyright line of every One&Only page we opened; no page names a chief executive or a head office address.

Kerzner International dates itself "Since 1993" on its communications site, though no One&Only page states the brand's own founding year or founder. Kerzner's leadership page exists but renders no executive names to our reader, and its executive-team page carries the heading "Meet our Leaders" with "No results found" beneath it; its careers and who-we-are pages return the same gap. No stock listing was found on any page opened. Kerzner's brands page names three other collections alongside One&Only: Atlantis, SIRO and Rare Finds, plus the Mazagan resort, with no count given for any of them.

One&Only Nyungwe House, in Rwanda, has left the brand: its own page says it "has joined our rare finds portfolio", now trading as Nyungwe Tea Forest Resort, and states plainly that this is "not a change in quality, ownership, management, or team." The MICHELIN Guide's listing still names the hotel One&Only Nyungwe House, with Two Keys. This record excludes it from every One&Only count below.

How many resorts does One&Only have?

One&Only prints no total of its own; its pages show 13 resorts open, from Moonlight Basin in Montana to Gorilla's Nest in Rwanda, and four more in the pipeline. Six resorts are named on the destinations page and seven more only on their own pages, all read on 26 September 2026.

ResortWhereStatus on oneandonlyresorts.com
One&Only Hudson ValleyNew York, United StatesOpening 2029
One&Only FijiFijiOpening 2029
One&Only Courchevel 1850FranceOpening 2030
One&Only JeddahSaudi ArabiaOpening Soon

Our own independent hotel group index counts "11 hotels" for One&Only, short of the 13 this record finds once Cape Town, Reethi Rah, Le Saint Géran, One Za'abeel, The Palm, Royal Mirage and Gorilla's Nest are added to the six on the destinations page. One&Only'sprivate homes page calls its houses at Mandarina, Hudson Valley, Moonlight Basin and Le Saint Géran "now available to purchase," not open, while Courchevel's homes are "coming soon" for a resort not due until 2030; our branded residences index nonetheless counts four of these residences as open. Whether a guest should book a resort in its first season, such as the four above, is weighed in should you book a brand-new luxury hotel.

How One&Only's resorts are rated by Forbes Travel Guide and the MICHELIN Guide

One&Only says Reethi Rah holds a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star rating, the only Forbes claim we could find; the MICHELIN Guide lists all 13 open resorts and gives ten of them a Key, from One at Cape Town and Aesthesis to Three at Mandarina.

ResortForbes Travel GuideMICHELIN KeysRooms
One&Only MandarinaNot readThree105
One&Only PalmillaNot readTwoNot read
One&Only Le Saint GéranNot readTwo162
One&Only Reethi RahFive-Star, by One&Only's own claimTwo118
One&Only PortonoviNot readTwo123
One&Only The PalmNot readTwo90
One&Only Gorilla's NestNot readTwo21
One&Only Moonlight BasinNot readTwo92
One&Only Cape TownNot readOneNot read
One&Only AesthesisNot readOne127
One&Only One Za'abeelNot readNot listedNot read
One&Only Royal MirageNot readNot listedNot read
One&Only Kéa IslandNot readNot listedNot read

Forbes Travel Guide grades hotels Recommended, Four-Star or Five-Star; every Forbes page we tried for a One&Only resort redirected to the Forbes home page, unreadable to our reader, so Reethi Rah's rating rests on One&Only's own word, grade A, not on a Forbes page we could open ourselves. The MICHELIN Guide's Los Cabos and Cape Town city listings show Palmilla's Two Keys and Cape Town's One Key; the two hotels' own MICHELIN pages show no distinction line to our reader. The other eight Keys appear directly on each resort's own MICHELIN page: Mandarina, Le Saint Géran, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, The Palm, Gorilla's Nest, Moonlight Basin and Aesthesis. None of the listings prints a year for the award.

How to book One&Only, and whether any perks come with it

One&Only runs no points programme that we could find; it sells through its own site with percentage discounts and free nights, and through Kerzner's trade-only portal for advisers.

The offers page lists packages resort by resort rather than a rate card: Kéa Island at "20% off when you book in advance," Mandarina at "four nights for the price of three," Moonlight Basin with a "complimentary third or fourth night." Kerzner's Travel Partner Resources site serves travel advisers across its brands, One&Only included, rather than guests directly, and no page we opened named a preferred-partner scheme, Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts or Virtuoso participation for One&Only. Our own Booking.com vs direct audit found One&Only Palmilla listed there in villas only, no rooms. The cards that carry Amex Fine Hotels + Resorts benefits are compared in Amex Platinum vs Chase Sapphire Reserve, and luxury travel cards more generally in our guide to the best luxury travel credit cards.

For a traveller who collects hotel points, the trade is plain: no One&Only page we opened offers points or status of any kind. The chain programmes with status worth holding are compared in Hilton Diamond vs Marriott Titanium vs Hyatt Globalist and the hotel status match guide, and the case for the best resort over the best points balance is made in you do not owe any brand your loyalty.

Who One&Only suits, and who it does not

One&Only suits a traveller who wants a private resort in a single striking location and will book without a published rate or chain points; it suits less well anyone who wants a city hotel, a confirmed staff ratio, or status that carries elsewhere.

Its resorts sit in one place each rather than a city grid: Big Sky, Montana, for Moonlight Basin, with the wider choice of mountain trips covered in best ski destinations; the Maldives, for Reethi Rah, where our overwater villa guide compares the villas on offer; and Rwanda, where Gorilla's Nest is the smallest resort we could count, at 21 rooms by the MICHELIN Guide's figure. One&Only's own pages name no staff ratio or check-in style at any of them. Four brands scored above and below it on our hierarchy are set side by side in Aman vs Six Senses vs Rosewood vs Belmond.

Guests weighing a private home over a resort room can compare the two in villa vs hotel; the four residences named on One&Only's own private homes page are covered above and in our branded residences index.

One&Only: the decisions that come next

Which brand, whether to wait for one of the four resorts still to come, how to book and whether a private home suits better than a room are the next decisions, and each has its own page here.

DecisionWhat mattersWhere we cover it
Which brandTwenty brands scored on the same five criteria.Luxury hotel brand hierarchy
A new One&OnlyFour resorts due between 2029 and 2030.Should you book a brand-new hotel?
How to bookDirect discounts against a card programme; the perks differ.Direct vs Amex FHR vs Virtuoso; Booking.com vs direct
A room or a private homeFour residences named "now available to purchase."Villa vs hotel; Branded residences index
Points or no pointsNo One&Only page we opened offers points or status.Hilton vs Marriott vs Hyatt top tiers; Status match guide

Where One&Only stands on Uncompromised Travel

One&Only appears on five Uncompromised Travel pages with a position or a figure, and holds a numbered rank on one of them.

PagePositionNote
Luxury hotel brand hierarchyNo. 11 of 20, 83/100Names "Kerzner International" as owner with no portfolio count, matching this record's finding that One&Only publishes no total of its own
Independent hotel group index11 hotels, no rank capturedIts 11 differs from the 13 resorts this record counts on One&Only's own pages
Branded residences index31/100, scoring residencesCalls four residences open, Mandarina, Hudson Valley, Moonlight Basin and Le Saint Géran; One&Only's own private homes page calls each "now available to purchase", and the Hudson Valley resort itself does not open until 2029
Booking.com vs directNot pricedSays One&Only Palmilla lists villas only on Booking.com, no rooms; this record found no room rate on One&Only's own pages to set against it
Maldives overwater villa guideNo scoreGroups One&Only among "beach lovers with villa ambitions" without naming a rate for Reethi Rah, its Maldives resort

Alternatives to One&Only to compare

The nearest alternatives on the same rubric are the brands scored just above and below One&Only: Mandarin Oriental, The Peninsula, Belmond and Six Senses. All four are covered in their own records too.

BrandScoreHow it differs
Mandarin Oriental8547 hotels by its own count (45 by Jardine Matheson's), with a stated best rate promise and 24-hour butler service at Bangkok; One&Only prints neither a count nor a rate promise
The Peninsula85Twelve hotels from the 1928 Hong Kong original to London and Istanbul, with Forbes Five-Star at seven; One&Only names no independently confirmed Forbes rating
Belmond82Forty-three properties by LVMH's count, 27 hotels, seven trains, seven boats and two safari lodges; One&Only publishes no total for its 13 open resorts
Six Senses8127 open hotels and 2,120 rooms by IHG's count at 30 June 2026; IHG's member terms name Six Senses in their exclusions without saying whether stays earn or redeem points. One&Only runs no points programme we could find

What this record does not show

Eight things a guest would want could not be found or verified for One&Only. Supplying a verifiable source closes a gap; it changes the evidence, never the rubric.

MissingWhere we looked
A room rate in any currencyThe offers page and each resort's own page
Kerzner's head office addressKerzner's own company and leadership pages
Named leaders for One&Only or KerznerKerzner's leadership pages, which return no names
One&Only's own founding yearOne&Only's own brand-story and about pages, which give philosophy only
A Forbes rating on Forbes Travel Guide's own siteThe Forbes Travel Guide pages we tried for One&Only resorts, which redirected to the Forbes home page
Staff numbers or butler detailsOne&Only's own brand-story, about and every resort page we opened
A preferred-partner or FHR programmeThe offers page and guessed adviser-programme addresses, which returned nothing
Dated 2025 or 2026 newsKerzner's news page and its press office, which render no dated releases

What changed at One&Only, 2025 to 2026

One&Only's own pages date little: Nyungwe House's move out of the brand and Jeddah's pipeline listing carry no day of their own, so both are dated to when we read them, while three more resorts carry opening years to 2030.

WhenWhat happenedSource
By 26 September 2026One&Only Nyungwe House left the brand and is now Nyungwe Tea Forest Resort in Kerzner's rare finds portfolioOne&Only Nyungwe House
By 26 September 2026One&Only Jeddah marked "Opening Soon" on the destinations pageDestinations
2029One&Only Hudson Valley, New York, and One&Only Fiji due to openDestinations
2030One&Only Courchevel 1850, France, due to openDestinations

One&Only: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns One&Only?

Kerzner International Limited, named in the copyright line of every One&Only page we opened. Kerzner dates itself "Since 1993", though One&Only's own founding year is not stated, and no chief executive is named on any page opened. It scores 83 out of 100 on this record, eleventh of twenty brands.

How many One&Only resorts are there?

One&Only's own pages show 13 open resorts, from Moonlight Basin in Montana to Gorilla's Nest in Rwanda. Four more are in the pipeline: Hudson Valley and Fiji due in 2029, Courchevel 1850 in 2030, and Jeddah marked "Opening Soon" with no date.

Does One&Only have a loyalty programme?

No. No points programme was found on any page opened. Kerzner runs a trade-only portal, Travel Partner Resources, for travel advisers rather than guests.

How much does a night at One&Only cost?

One&Only prints no rate outside its booking engine, only percentage discounts and free nights such as Kéa Island's "20% off when you book in advance." Our luxury hotel brand hierarchy places it in the premium luxury band, EUR 800 to 2,000 a night.

Which One&Only resorts hold MICHELIN Keys?

Ten of the 13 open resorts: Three at Mandarina, Two at Palmilla, Le Saint Géran, Reethi Rah, Portonovi, The Palm, Gorilla's Nest and Moonlight Basin, and One at Cape Town and Aesthesis. One Za'abeel, Royal Mirage and Kéa Island hold none.

Is One&Only rated Forbes Five-Star?

One&Only says Reethi Rah holds a Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star rating. No independent Forbes page for a One&Only resort could be opened to confirm it or check another property.

How many rooms does a One&Only resort have?

It varies by property: the MICHELIN Guide gives Gorilla's Nest 21 rooms, The Palm 90, Moonlight Basin 92, Mandarina 105, Reethi Rah 118, Portonovi 123, Aesthesis 127 and Le Saint Géran 162. One&Only's own pages publish no room counts.

Where is One&Only's head office?

Not printed on any page opened; only a UAE phone number appears for Kerzner International. This record maps One&Only Cape Town at the V&A Waterfront instead.

Is One&Only better than Six Senses?

On our luxury hotel brand hierarchy One&Only scores 83 and Six Senses 81. One&Only leads on rate band, 17 against 15, and consistency, 20 against 19; Six Senses leads on food and drink, 13 against 12, and privacy and scale, 18 against 17.

This record is unpaid and One&Only had no part in it. The score is this site's, carried unchanged from our luxury hotel brand hierarchy on the rubric published above, and it changes only at the hierarchy's quarterly re-score, when the evidence changes. There are no affiliate or paid links on this page: links to oneandonlyresorts.com, rating bodies and press pay nothing. This site has no affiliate arrangement with One&Only; no score on this page or on the hierarchy is paid for. Sources verified 26 September 2026: oneandonlyresorts.com (destinations, our story, about, private homes, offers, and the Cape Town, Reethi Rah, Le Saint Géran, One Za'abeel, The Palm, Royal Mirage, Gorilla's Nest, Kéa Island and Nyungwe House pages), kerzner.com and kerznercommunications.com, the MICHELIN Guide (hotel and city listings for Los Cabos, Lo de Marcos, Belle Mare, North Male Atoll, Cape Town, Portonovi, Athens, Palm Jumeirah, Kinigi and Big Sky) and our own pages named above. First published 26 September 2026 as a hotel brand record. Commercial disclosure · How we work.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.