Wander Africa Review 2026: What It Costs, Its Reviews and Its Booking Terms, Read at Source

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Company record · opened 14 October 2026 · every fact dated and sourced · no score · Is this your company? Correct a fact

Wander Africa is a planner of tailor-made trips based in Black Mountain, North Carolina, founded by Jay Parmar with partner Brandi Parmar, and it says trips start at around $800 per person per day. Deposits are non-refundable, there is a separate non-refundable $1,000 planning fee, a final invoice is sent about four months before the trip, the cancellation fee after final payment is 100% of total tour cost, and no payment protection scheme is named. Read on 12 October 2026, Google shows 5.0 from 80 reviews, and Travel + Leisure lists Jay and Brandi Parmar on its 2026 A-List for African Safaris.

Verified 12 October 2026 · Wander Africa’s own website and booking terms · Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists · Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride

How this page works

Wander Africa is on this site because it is one of the 50 African safari planners whose public facts are kept in one table, read the same way for every company. This page gives no score. It shows what is public: what the company’s own website says about who it is, its prices, deposits, cancellation terms and payment protection, its reviews on each platform, and the lists that name it, each with the source and the date it was read. Its own website is www.wanderafrica.com. To set it beside another company, open that company’s page on this site: the same facts sit in the same order. The scored comparison pages and the best African safari tour companies page use these records.

Wander Africa: the facts on record, read 12 October 2026

53 facts about Wander Africa were read from its own website, the award publishers and the review platforms on 12 October 2026, and every one below says who stated it, where it was read and when. “Not stated on their website” means the right page was read and the fact is not there; “Could not access” means the page would not open; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same form is kept for every safari planner on this site, so each line can be set beside any other company’s. Where a line here differs from an older line on this page, this one, read later, is the current reading.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading name: Wander Africa. Legal entity as printed in the terms: WANDER AFRICA INC. (no separate footer legal-entity line in the saved pages)

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Black Mountain, North Carolina (about page: 'Brandi and Jay are based in Black Mountain, North Carolina'). Country not named in words; terms refer to North Carolina law and Buncombe County courts.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Year founded

No founding year for Wander Africa itself. Home page says 'As a second-generation safari family since 1972' (family safari background); about page says founder Jay Parmar is a 'second generation safari designer' whose father is a 55-year veteran.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Founded by Jay Parmar, with partner Brandi Parmar (Co-Founder); a client quote on the africa-destinations page calls them 'owners'. No parent company named. Terms name Wander Africa Inc.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What it is

Planner (designs tailor-made trips). Own words: 'impact-driven safari outfitter and travel company that curates ... adventures'; about page: 'safari, adventure and concierge company'. Terms: it owns no lodging, transport or guide entities and acts 'merely as an agent for the operating companies'.

Source: Company · home page, terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Team

3 named people on the about page: Jay Parmar (Founder), Brandi Parmar (Co-Founder), Rachael McIntosh (Creative Director). Page says 'Our core team may be small'. No separate team page in the saved pages (/jay-parmar, /brandi-parmar, /rachael-mcintosh not saved).

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it sells

One phone line shown: Call/Text +1-828-222-0824 (US area code). Email [email protected] (also [email protected] in privacy policy). No UK or other-country lines or offices listed. Currency: terms say rates are based on the US dollar; tipping guide in USD.

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

In its own words

'impact-driven safari outfitter and travel company that curates experiential and purposeful yet uniquely personal adventures across the African continent, and beyond' - 'tailor-made just for you'.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Response time and named planner

Email: 'We typically respond within 48 hours.' Jay and Brandi Parmar are presented as the planners ('Together, we stay close to every traveler'); the pages do not say that one named person plans each trip.

Source: Company · contact, about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

5.0 from 80 reviews (listing: Wander Africa, The Safari Co.)

Source: Independent source · Google business listing · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: crawl of the Trustpilot page returned a 404 dead page (no profile found)

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: to be read by hand

Source: Company · not recorded · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Trustindex

No profile found: crawl of the Trustindex page returned a 404 dead page (no profile found)

Source: Independent source · Trustindex · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it asks clients to leave reviews

Could not access: the site menu has a 'Reviews' link to /stories, which is not in the saved pages. No outside review platform is linked in the pages saved. The site hosts its own testimonials page (5 testimonials, dated 2021 on the listing).

Source: Company · testimonials · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, read from the publishers

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Jay & Brandi Parmar (Southern Africa Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) The company's own site also states (Company): Travel + Leisure 'Top Travel Advisors - East and Southern Africa Specialists', claimed for 2024, 2025 and 2026 (also 2023; '4 years in a row'). Site gives no further category or result wording and does not say who decides it beyond Travel + Leisure.

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Advisors on named lists

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Jay & Brandi Parmar (Southern Africa Safaris) The company's own site also states (Company): Site claims Travel + Leisure Top Travel Advisors (East and Southern Africa Specialists) in 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026. Number of advisors listed per year is not stated.

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp or similar certification stated. Footer logos link to thelongrun.org (The Long Run) and theconscioustravelfoundation.com (The Conscious Travel Foundation) with no membership wording or date in the saved text.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Could not access: no itinerary pages in the saved pages (country pages only link to 'Download Sample Itinerary' / named sample itineraries, contents not saved). Only a general figure: FAQ says trips 'start at around $800 per person/per day'.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Priced example trips

Could not access: no priced example trips in the saved pages; sample itinerary pages/downloads are not in the file.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

'we plan trips that start at around $800 per person/per day'; rates vary by season and accommodation type. No upper end stated.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum spend

No minimum total trip budget stated. Floor given as trips 'start at around $800 per person/per day'. Also a non-refundable $1,000 planning fee, applied to the trip cost.

Source: Company · faq, contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What the price includes

FAQ, beside the $800 figure: rates 'inclusive of meals, park/conservancy fees, regional airfare, driver/guides, and accommodation throughout your stay'. Exclusions: international airfare, tips, visas, other 'extras'. Terms list further costs not included (insurance, personal expenses, airport taxes, etc.).

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: terms say 'Deposits are non-refundable' but give no deposit percentage or amount. Separate $1,000 non-refundable planning fee on the contact page.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Balance due

Terms: a Final Invoice is sent 'approximately four (4) months prior to your trip'; payment is due on the date indicated on the invoice unless otherwise agreed. No day count stated. Final documents sent about two weeks before departure after payment in full.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

No scale by days. Terms: deposits non-refundable; after final payment 'not entitled to a refund' with a cancellation fee of 100% of total tour cost. Discretionary supplier refunds returned less a $500 per person administration fee. Primate permits non-refundable and non-transferable. Reductions in services or travellers count as cancellation.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How client payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no payment-protection scheme, bond or number stated. Terms say it is not liable for supplier financial failure and, for force majeure or supplier insolvency, its sole obligation is credits 'only to the extent its suppliers are crediting' it. Recommends travel insurance.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website: no billing currency or card surcharge stated. Terms: rates based on currency values 'in relation to the U.S. dollar' at booking; surcharge up to a maximum of 10% of total tour cost if airlines or exchange rates force increases. Tipping guide is in USD.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

No dedicated 24-hour number printed. Support while travelling stated: 'Our team will be with you from the time you land, until the time you depart' and 'we're with you every step of the way'. General line Call/Text +1-828-222-0824 on the contact page.

Source: Company · home page, contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How the company is paid

Non-refundable planning fee of $1,000 (applied to the total trip cost); initial discovery call free. FAQ: 'We don't work on quotas or any motivation from commissions.' Terms also mention 'WA's service fee' on changes.

Source: Company · contact, faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price against booking direct

Not stated on their website: does not state that it matches lodge rates or passes on lodge offers. FAQ says it has 'a vast network of highly vetted partnerships' and that some camps are 40% less expensive off-season.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no licence, registration or industry body number stated in the saved pages (terms, about, contact, FAQ). Terms name 'WANDER AFRICA INC.'.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it goes and how it works on the ground

African countries it plans

Destinations page: Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Uganda, Namibia, Zambia, Rwanda. Further country pages: Malawi, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Seychelles. Africa-destinations page also names Ethiopia; visa page lists Ethiopia and Mauritius; Zanzibar under Tanzania.

Source: Company · destinations, africa destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own offices or staff in Africa

Not stated on their website: no Africa offices or staff of its own named. About page: based in North Carolina; 'Across the continent, we work with trusted on-the-ground partners'. The /ground-teams page was saved with no text.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How it books on the ground

Through local partners: 'We partner exclusively with African-based lodges and ground teams'; terms say lodging, guides and 'local ground or tour operators' are independent contractors and it acts as agent for the operating companies.

Source: Company · home page, terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own camps or vehicles

No. Terms: it does 'not own or operate any entity' providing lodging, transport, guide services or ground operations; all are independent contractors.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking

Yes. Uganda: gorilla trekking (Bwindi, Mt. Gahinga) and chimpanzee tracking (Kibale). Rwanda: gorilla trekking in Volcanoes National Park. Tanzania: chimpanzees at Mahale (Greystoke Mahale). Rwanda/Uganda trekking age 15+; terms cover primate permits.

Source: Company · uganda, rwanda, tanzania · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Beach add-ons

Zanzibar (Tanzania page), Seychelles (own page: Mahe, Praslin, Desroches, North Island, La Digue), Mozambique (Bazaruto, Vilanculos; own page). Mauritius appears only in the visa table, no page. Also Lamu and the Kenyan coast, Fanjove Island, Madagascar islands.

Source: Company · seychelles, mozambique, tanzania · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Africa only, or other regions too

Not Africa only. Destinations page also lists Peru, Ecuador & Galapagos, Costa Rica (page present), and Mexico, India, Nepal, Bhutan marked 'Coming Soon!'. Home page: 'across the African continent, and beyond'.

Source: Company · destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family trips

Not stated on their website: no itinerary labelled as a family itinerary and no family price in the saved pages. FAQ: 'Children ages 12 and under receive a discounted rate.' Country pages describe family suitability (e.g. Kenya 'one of the best places in Africa for families'). Sample itinerary downloads were not saved.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum child age

Not stated on their website: no general minimum child age. Gorilla/chimp trekking 'typically 15+' (Uganda), 'at least 15 years old' (Rwanda); 'some camps have age restrictions'; FAQ discount for ages 12 and under.

Source: Company · faq, rwanda · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational trips

Yes. Kenya: exclusive-use houses 'make multi-generational travel easy'; Seychelles: North Island and Desroches 'well-suited for multigenerational stays'; Uganda/Rwanda/Botswana pages mention teens or older children; client quote about a family of 9 in South Africa (africa-destinations page).

Source: Company · kenya, seychelles, africa destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Honeymoon trips

Sample itinerary named 'South African Honeymoon' on the South Africa page (price not shown). Honeymoon testimonial (17-day trip). Kura Boutique Hotel (adults-only) on the Costa Rica page.

Source: Company · south africa, testimonial 03 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Not stated on their website: no single supplement policy or solo-traveller wording found in the saved pages.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Terms: 'All Tours require physical independence and mobility'; anyone needing physical assistance (e.g. wheelchair) must report it in writing and travel with a companion who handles equipment; participants must embark/disembark vehicles with minimal help and climb stairs unaided. Notes the ADA does not apply outside the US.

Source: Company · terms conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

First safari

No itinerary marked 'first safari'. Guidance: South Africa 'ideal for first-time visitors and seasoned travelers alike'; Eastern Cape reserves 'for families and first-timers'; home page: 'novice traveler, seasoned explorer'; a testimonial describes a first safari in 2019.

Source: Company · south africa, home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Not guaranteed. FAQ: 'You may share a car with other guests on a game-drive, depending on the camp'. Uganda/Rwanda pages: private guide / private 4x4s. Tipping page lists 'Pre-booked private vehicle' and 'Private Specialist Safari Guide (if applicable)'. The /private-guides page was saved with no text.

Source: Company · faq, tipping on safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Offered. FAQ: 'It is possible to have a whole camp to yourself'. Kenya page: 'exclusive-use homes', Private Mobile Camp, Laragai House, Arijiju, Lewa House; Zimbabwe: Pamushana 'exclusive'; Botswana: Selinda & Duba exclusive concessions.

Source: Company · faq, kenya · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Small-group departures

Not stated on their website: no small-group departures stated; trips are described as tailor-made and 'never cookie-cutter'. No group size given.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who guides the trip

Third parties, not its own guides: terms list 'guide services' among independent contractors; FAQ price includes 'driver/guides'; Uganda/Rwanda pages describe a private guide; tipping page mentions an optional private specialist safari guide. Not stated whether camp guides or a hired private guide by default.

Source: Company · terms conditions, faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Self-drive

Yes. Namibia: 'self-driving is an option'; South Africa: 'self-drive options' and Garden Route 'ideal for self-drive'; Costa Rica: 4x4 rentals common.

Source: Company · namibia, south africa · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Photography trips

Not stated on their website: no photography trips or specialist vehicles/guides stated. Only descriptive mentions (Namibia 'wildly photogenic'; Tembo Plains 'strong photographic appeal').

Source: Company · namibia · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Conservation

No funding amount or percentage stated. About page: carbon offsetting 'where possible', eco-responsible products, conservation-minded partners. Footer links to The Long Run and The Conscious Travel Foundation. Country pages name conservation-led partners (e.g. Musekese, Emboo River Camp, Wolwedans, Gorongosa) and a visit to the Dian Fossey Gorilla Fund campus in Musanze.

Source: Company · about · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Walking, horseback and other specialist trips

Walking safaris (Zambia, Hwange, Laikipia), horseback and camel rides (Laikipia, Samburu), canoeing/mokoro (Zambezi, Delta), hot air balloon (FAQ), helicopter excursions (Kenya, Victoria Falls, Rwanda), mobile/fly camps (Kenya, Beagle Expeditions), star beds, quad biking, diving, Himba and Hadzabe cultural visits.

Source: Company · faq, kenya · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Not the fit if your budget is below the trips it says start at around $800 a person a day; you need help getting into vehicles or climbing stairs, since its terms say all tours require physical independence and mobility; or you need a named payment-protection scheme before you book, since none is stated on its website. Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Wander Africa: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Wander Africa?

Founded by Jay Parmar, with partner Brandi Parmar (Co-Founder); a client quote on the africa-destinations page calls them 'owners'. No parent company named. Terms name Wander Africa Inc. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

Where is Wander Africa based?

Black Mountain, North Carolina (about page: 'Brandi and Jay are based in Black Mountain, North Carolina'). Country not named in words; terms refer to North Carolina law and Buncombe County courts. Read on 12 October 2026.

How much does a trip with Wander Africa cost?

'we plan trips that start at around $800 per person/per day'; rates vary by season and accommodation type. No upper end stated. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

What are Wander Africa's deposit, payment and cancellation terms?

Read from Wander Africa's own website on 12 October 2026. Deposit: Not stated on their website: terms say 'Deposits are non-refundable' but give no deposit percentage or amount. Separate $1,000 non-refundable planning fee on the contact page. Balance due: Terms: a Final Invoice is sent 'approximately four (4) months prior to your trip'; payment is due on the date indicated on the invoice unless otherwise agreed. No day count stated. Final documents sent about two weeks before departure after payment in full. Cancellation: No scale by days. Terms: deposits non-refundable; after final payment 'not entitled to a refund' with a cancellation fee of 100% of total tour cost. Discretionary supplier refunds returned less a $500 per person administration fee. Primate permits non-refundable and non-transferable. Reductions in services or travellers count as cancellation.

Are Wander Africa's client payments protected?

On how client payments are protected, Wander Africa's website, read on 12 October 2026, gives this: Not stated on their website: no payment-protection scheme, bond or number stated. Terms say it is not liable for supplier financial failure and, for force majeure or supplier insolvency, its sole obligation is credits 'only to the extent its suppliers are crediting' it. Recommends travel insurance. None of "not stated" or "could not access" means the company has no protection; ask for the wording in writing before paying a deposit.

What awards has Wander Africa won?

Read on 12 October 2026. Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Jay & Brandi Parmar (Southern Africa Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) The company's own site also states (Company): Travel + Leisure 'Top Travel Advisors - East and Southern Africa Specialists', claimed for 2024, 2025 and 2026 (also 2023; '4 years in a row'). Site gives no further category or result wording and does not say who decides it beyond Travel + Leisure. Advisers on named lists: Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Jay & Brandi Parmar (Southern Africa Safaris) The company's own site also states (Company): Site claims Travel + Leisure Top Travel Advisors (East and Southern Africa Specialists) in 2023, 2024, 2025 and 2026. Number of advisors listed per year is not stated.

What do Wander Africa's reviews say, platform by platform?

Read on 12 October 2026, shown per platform and never added together. Google: 5.0 from 80 reviews (listing: Wander Africa, The Safari Co.) Trustpilot: No profile found: crawl of the Trustpilot page returned a 404 dead page (no profile found) Tripadvisor: Could not access: to be read by hand

Which African countries does Wander Africa plan trips to?

Destinations page: Kenya, Tanzania, South Africa, Botswana, Mozambique, Uganda, Namibia, Zambia, Rwanda. Further country pages: Malawi, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Seychelles. Africa-destinations page also names Ethiopia; visa page lists Ethiopia and Mauritius; Zanzibar under Tanzania. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026. Other regions: Not Africa only. Destinations page also lists Peru, Ecuador & Galapagos, Costa Rica (page present), and Mexico, India, Nepal, Bhutan marked 'Coming Soon!'. Home page: 'across the African continent, and beyond'.

Is Wander Africa good for family safaris?

Not stated on their website: no itinerary labelled as a family itinerary and no family price in the saved pages. FAQ: 'Children ages 12 and under receive a discounted rate.' Country pages describe family suitability (e.g. Kenya 'one of the best places in Africa for families'). Sample itinerary downloads were not saved. Minimum child age: Not stated on their website: no general minimum child age. Gorilla/chimp trekking 'typically 15+' (Uganda), 'at least 15 years old' (Rwanda); 'some camps have age restrictions'; FAQ discount for ages 12 and under. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Wander Africa run small-group departures?

Not stated on their website: no small-group departures stated; trips are described as tailor-made and 'never cookie-cutter'. No group size given. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Wander Africa give a 24-hour contact while you travel?

No dedicated 24-hour number printed. Support while travelling stated: 'Our team will be with you from the time you land, until the time you depart' and 'we're with you every step of the way'. General line Call/Text +1-828-222-0824 on the contact page. Read on 12 October 2026.

This page contains no affiliate links and no paid placement. Wander Africa is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page. Company, publisher and review-platform links are not paid. Facts read 12 October 2026 from Wander Africa’s own website and booking terms, the Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists, Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.