Expeditions · Safari · 2026
By Richard J. · written from Valencia19 companies · 5 independent listsVerified 12 October 2026
Eight African safari tour companies are named on three of the five independent lists read for this page on 12 October 2026: Alluring Africa, Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel, Journeys by Design, Piper & Heath Travel, Timbuktu Travel and Travel Beyond. Eleven more are named on two, among them Rothschild Safaris, first in the Travel + Leisure readers’ survey of safari outfitters for 2026 with a score of 99.68. This page gives no score of its own. Each company is shown with what is public about it: who named it, its reviews on each platform, what its own website says about prices, deposits and payment protection, and the date each fact was read.
Verified 12 October 2026 · Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards and A-List · Condé Nast Traveler and Condé Nast Traveller specialist lists · each company’s own website and booking terms · Google and Trustpilot
The African safari tour companies with the widest independent recognition in 2026 are Alluring Africa, Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel, Journeys by Design, Piper & Heath Travel, Timbuktu Travel and Travel Beyond: each is named on three of five independent lists, by readers and by editors. They are listed in alphabetical order, because the lists measure different things and this page does not add them up. The line that matters most on each card is the last one, which says who the company is not the fit for, taken only from limits the company itself publishes.
| Company | Named on | Based | Founded and owner | Google reviews | Trustpilot | Prices on its site | Deposit | Balance due | Payment protection stated | Africa only | Not the fit if |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Alluring Africa | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 4th of 10, reader score 99.08; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Susan Neva); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 3 specialists (Coral Cameron, Cheryl Gould, Susan Neva) | Orlando, Florida, USA | Founder says he started the company in 2005 | 4.9 from 104 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | Profile exists with 0 reviews | Could not access: no itinerary pages were in the pages we read. Its FAQ says from about $1,500 a person a day, and that a 10 to 12-day luxury safari often begins around $15,000 a person | 30% of land costs plus internal flights in full, non-refundable; separate $250 planning fee | 90 days before travel | Not stated on their website; terms recommend trip cancellation insurance | Mostly Africa; also Jordan, the Maldives and others | Your budget is below its stated minimum of $1,000 a person a day in low season or $1,500 in peak season, or you want a set group departure: it plans custom trips only |
| Extraordinary Journeys Partner | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 6th of 10, reader score 98.65; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Elizabeth Gordon); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 2 specialists (Elizabeth Gordon, Lara Ray) | Washington, D.C., USA | 2008; Voyageurs du Monde and Original Travel have held 65% since 2022 | 5.0 from 182 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | Claimed profile with 0 reviews | Yes: a "from" price a person on every itinerary seen, from $8,000 to $60,000 on its Africa page. Example: Extraordinary Kenya safari, 10 days, from $12,000 a person | Amount not stated on their website; deposits are non-refundable | Typically 100 days before departure | No scheme, bond or trust account named; its FAQ says payments go to lodges, camps and air operators in stages | No: 39 countries on five continents, 16 of them in Africa | You want a set-departure group trip, which its FAQ says it does not book, or your budget is below the $7,000 to $10,000 a person at which its contact form starts |
| Go2Africa | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 8th of 10, reader score 98.54; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Justin Chapman); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 14 specialists | Cape Town, South Africa | 1998; part of the Nawiri Group | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | 4.8 from 181 reviews, newest dated 21 Sep 2026 | Yes: a price range a person sharing on each itinerary, shown in the visitor's currency. Example read from Spain: Botswana's Delta, Moremi and Savute, 9 days, EUR 6,875 to 11,675 | 30% at booking; flights in full; villas 50% | 60 days before travel | Its own money-back guarantee if a supplier it paid becomes insolvent, up to $30,000 a person (company wording) | Yes: 15 African countries, Indian Ocean islands included | You want the same company to plan a trip outside Africa, or a set group departure: none is stated |
| Jacada Travel | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, tour operators: 10th of 15, reader score 97.91; Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (Emily Wallington); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "local concierges" | Head office city not stated on their website; UK and US phone lines | 2008; part of Wilderness since 2020 | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | 4.9 from 2,604 reviews, newest dated 1 Oct 2026 | Yes: "from" prices a person on trip cards, shown in the visitor's currency. Example read from Spain: First Time Safari Adventure, 12 days, from EUR 11,406 | Amount not stated on their website | 90 days before departure | Not stated on their website; its terms say it does not sell package travel under the EU or UK package travel rules | No: more than seventy countries | You want the protection that comes with a UK or EU package holiday, or a deposit figure in writing before you enquire |
| Journeys by Design | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Will Jones); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (William Jones); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "bespoke safaris" | Brighton, UK; teams in Nanyuki, Kenya and Maun, Botswana | 1999 | 5.0 from 6 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | No profile found | Not stated on their website: no price on any itinerary page read | 30% for classic safaris, 35% for rare adventures | 16 weeks (112 days) before the trip starts | States ATOL 9680 for UK flight-inclusive trips; nothing stated in its terms for clients outside the UK and EU | Yes: 24 African countries, Chad, Gabon and South Sudan among them | You want to see a price before you enquire: none is published, and the budget bands on its enquiry form start at $50,000 to $100,000 |
| Piper & Heath Travel | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 3rd of 10, reader score 99.37; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Chris Liebenberg); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (Chris Liebenberg) | San Diego, California, USA | Year not stated on their website | 5.0 from 149 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | No profile found | Could not access: no itinerary pages were in the pages we read, and its camp and country pages show no prices | Generally 25% of the trip cost, non-refundable | Generally 90 days before departure | States a trust account and California seller of travel number CST 2102633-40; its terms say the California restitution fund does not cover non-California residents | Yes: 16 African countries | You want a price range before you enquire: its cost FAQ gives none, and its enquiry form starts at $10,000 to $14,999 a person |
| Timbuktu Travel | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, tour operators: 13th of 15, reader score 97.45; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 2 advisers (Annie Irankunda, Jonty Medcalf); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (Tessa Dancer) | Cape Town, South Africa; offices in Florida and London | 2014 | 4.8 from 46 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | Claimed profile with 0 reviews | Yes: "from" prices a person on trip cards. Example: Classic Kenya bush and beach, 10 nights, from $7,800 a person | Normally 30% of the trip price, non-refundable | Three months before departure | Not stated on their website; its terms exclude liability for supplier insolvency and make travel insurance compulsory | No: Africa plus Asia, Europe, Latin America and Antarctica | You want payment protection stated in the booking terms: none is |
| Travel Beyond | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 10th of 10, reader score 98.21; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Craig Beal); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 2 specialists (Craig Beal, Kota Tabuchi) | Wayzata, Minnesota, USA | 1975; family-owned | 5.0 from 177 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | Unclaimed profile with 0 reviews | No: none of the itinerary pages read shows a price. It states a minimum budget instead | Not stated on their website | Not stated on their website | Not stated on their website; its terms say it collects funds and passes them to suppliers | No: also South America, Southeast Asia and the polar regions | Your budget is below its stated Africa minimum of $15,000 a person, or $20,000 from June to September and over the winter holidays, or you want a group trip: it offers none |
Partner. Extraordinary Journeys is a paid partner of this site. Partners are labelled. It is on this page by the same rule as every other company, and no company can pay to be added or to be shown differently.

Eleven more African safari tour companies are named on two of the five lists: Africa Adventure Company, Africa Adventure Consultants, Deeper Africa, Mahlatini, Micato Safaris, Original Travel, Red Savannah, Rothschild Safaris, Scott Dunn, Stanley Safaris and Steppes Travel. Rothschild Safaris, Deeper Africa and Micato Safaris are first, second and fifth in the Travel + Leisure readers’ survey of safari outfitters; Scott Dunn, Red Savannah, Original Travel, Steppes Travel and Mahlatini are on the Condé Nast Traveller (UK) list.
| Company | Named on | Based and founded | Google reviews | Trustpilot | Prices on its site | Payment protection stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Africa Adventure Company | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Alison & Mark Nolting); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 2 specialists (Alison Nolting, Mark Nolting) | Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA; planning safaris since 1986 | 4.9 from 78 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | No profile found | Yes: every itinerary page read shows a "Budget From" price. Example: 8 Day Kenya Exclusive Locations, from $10,695 a person | Not stated on the pages we read; its booking terms were not among them |
| Africa Adventure Consultants | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Kent Redding); Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 4 specialists (Diana Garcia Hernandez, Kent Redding, Sara Stark, Hilary Walters) | Greenwood Village, Colorado, USA; founded 2001 | 5.0 from 198 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | 4.8 from 37 reviews, newest dated 16 Sep 2026 | Price bands only, not figures; states a minimum of $10,000 a person, or $1,000 a person a day for safaris under 10 days | Says it is "licensed and insured in the United States"; no scheme or number named |
| Deeper Africa | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 2nd of 10, reader score 99.64; Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (Karen Zulauf) | Boulder, Colorado, USA; founded 2002 | 5.0 from 22 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | 5.0 from 256 reviews, newest dated 8 Mar 2026 | Yes: a "from" price a person on each of 50 listed trips. Example: Kenya and Tanzania Safari, 13 days, from $30,088 a person | Says safari funds are held in US FDIC-insured accounts until sent to Africa; no scheme named |
| Mahlatini | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Greg Fox); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "meaningful encounters" | Belfast, UK and Cape Town, South Africa; since 2002 | 4.9 from 27 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | 4.8 from 153 reviews | Yes: low and high season "from" prices on itinerary pages. Example: Uganda Wildlife Safari, 6 nights, from $14,500 a person including flights from Los Angeles | States trust accounts through the Travel Trust Association and Trust My Travel |
| Micato Safaris | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 5th of 10, reader score 99.06; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 2 advisers (Emily Baldwin, Liz Wheeler) | New York, USA; founded 1966 | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | 3.2 from 1 review | Yes: 11 set safaris from $20,700 to $45,100 a person; custom safaris are not priced | Not stated on their website; terms recommend trip cancellation insurance |
| Original Travel | Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 2 specialists (James Back, Paul Tyler); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "extra services" | London, UK; founded 2003 | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | Unclaimed profile with 0 reviews | Yes: price ranges on itinerary ideas. Example: The Best of South Africa, 11 days, GBP 3,745 to 4,780 | States ATOL 5922 and ABTA Y5632 |
| Red Savannah | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Samantha Gordon); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "culture-soaked specialists" | Cheltenham, UK; founded 2011 | 4.9 from 82 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | Unclaimed profile with 0 reviews | Yes: "from" prices on Africa itineraries. Example: Essential Uganda, 8 days, from GBP 5,134 a person | States ATOL 10454 and ABTOT 5566 |
| Rothschild Safaris | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 1st of 10, reader score 99.68; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Leora Rothschild) | Denver, Colorado, USA; founded 1998 | 4.9 from 69 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | 4.8 from 38 reviews, newest dated 1 Oct 2026 | Not stated on their website: no prices on the itinerary pages read | Not stated on their website; terms recommend travel insurance |
| Scott Dunn | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Bjorn Behlert); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "going anywhere" | London, UK; founded 1986 | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | 4.6 from 278 reviews, newest dated 27 Sep 2026 | Yes: "from" prices a person with a month-by-month guide. Example: Epic Kenya, 12 nights, from GBP 9,000 a person | States ATOL 2471 and ABTOT 5222 |
| Stanley Safaris | Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters: 7th of 10, reader score 98.56; Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris: 1 adviser (Shaun Stanley) | Cape Town, South Africa; founding year not stated on their website | No profile found: no Google listing was shown in our search on 12 Oct 2026 | Could not access | No itinerary prices; its contact page says safaris start from USD 1,000 a person a night | Could not access: the terms page linked from its site returned an error on 12 Oct 2026 |
| Steppes Travel | Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari: 1 specialist (Chris Johnston); Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists: listed, best for "far-flung culture" | Cirencester, UK; founded 1989 | 4.7 from 23 reviews (read by hand, 12 Oct 2026) | 4.8 from 229 reviews, newest dated 6 May 2026 | Yes: "from" prices a person on holiday ideas. Example: Highlights of Kenya, 11 days, from GBP 6,325 a person | States ATOL 6945 and ABTOT 5488 |
Four companies are named on two of the lists and are not yet in our table, so their facts have not been read: Artisans of Safari, Hippo Creek Safaris and Premier Tours (each on the A-List and the Condé Nast Traveler list) and Wilderness Travel (11th in the tour operators survey and on the Condé Nast Traveler list). The tour operators survey also places “Ker & Downey” joint fifth without saying which of the companies of that name it means; the Ker & Downey page sets out which is which.
The awards that matter are the ones where you can see who decides: two of the five lists used here are decided by readers who have travelled, and three by magazine editors who name individual advisers. A company named by both has been checked from two directions. Each list below links to the publisher.
| List | Who decides | Published | What it shows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2026, safari outfitters | Readers’ survey | 7 July 2026 | Ten companies with a reader score out of 100: Rothschild Safaris 99.68, Deeper Africa 99.64, Piper & Heath Travel 99.37, Alluring Africa 99.08, Micato Safaris 99.06, Extraordinary Journeys 98.65, Stanley Safaris 98.56, Go2Africa 98.54, Dazzle Africa 98.28, Travel Beyond 98.21 |
| Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards 2026, tour operators | Readers’ survey | 7 July 2026 | Fifteen tour operators worldwide; Jacada Travel is 10th (97.91) and Timbuktu Travel 13th (97.45) |
| Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African safaris | The magazine’s editors | Updated 12 February 2026 | 34 named advisers for African safaris, by speciality such as East Africa, Southern Africa and family safaris |
| Condé Nast Traveler (US) travel specialists, safari | The magazine’s editors | Read 12 October 2026 | 76 named specialists for safaris; Go2Africa has 14, Africa Adventure Consultants 4 and Alluring Africa 3 |
| Condé Nast Traveller (UK) top travel specialists | The magazine’s UK editors | 7 November 2025 | Companies with a “best for” line, such as Journeys by Design for bespoke safaris and Jacada Travel for local concierges |
Two cautions. The readers’ scores are close: 1.47 points separate first from tenth among safari outfitters, so the order within the ten says little. And the editors’ lists name people, not companies, so a company with many advisers listed is often simply a larger company. For other awards, see the safari award credentials index.
Twelve of the nineteen show a price a person on their own itineraries: Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel and Timbuktu Travel among the eight, and Africa Adventure Company, Deeper Africa, Mahlatini, Micato Safaris, Original Travel, Red Savannah, Scott Dunn and Steppes Travel among the eleven. Journeys by Design, Rothschild Safaris, Stanley Safaris and Travel Beyond show none; Africa Adventure Consultants shows price bands only; and we could not read itinerary pages for Alluring Africa or Piper & Heath Travel. The lowest examples read on 12 October 2026 run from $7,800 a person for 10 nights in Kenya with Timbuktu Travel to $20,700 for a 10-day safari with Micato Safaris. Go2Africa and Jacada Travel show prices in the visitor’s currency, so the figures on their cards are in euros, as read from Spain. Prices are what each site showed on the day, not quotes. For what the same camps cost by the night, see what a safari costs by budget.
Four companies state a minimum budget. Travel Beyond: $15,000 a person in Africa, or $20,000 from June to September and over the winter holidays. Alluring Africa: $1,000 a person a day in low season, $1,500 in peak season. Africa Adventure Consultants: $10,000 a person, or $1,000 a person a day for safaris under 10 days. Stanley Safaris: from USD 1,000 a person a night.
Where it is stated, the deposit is 25% to 35% of the trip and the balance is due 60 to 112 days before travel: Piper & Heath Travel generally 25%, Go2Africa, Timbuktu Travel and Alluring Africa 30%, and Journeys by Design 30% or 35%. Go2Africa asks for the balance latest, at 60 days; Journeys by Design earliest, at 16 weeks. Extraordinary Journeys, Jacada Travel and Travel Beyond do not state a deposit amount on their websites. Once the balance is due, a cancellation costs 100% of the trip at six of the eight; Jacada Travel keeps 50% from 90 to 61 days before departure and 100% after that. Travel Beyond does not state a scale. Trip cancellation insurance matters with all of them.
On protection, five state a UK scheme with a number that can be checked on the ATOL register: Journeys by Design, Scott Dunn, Red Savannah, Original Travel and Steppes Travel. ATOL covers flight-inclusive trips sold in the UK, so a buyer elsewhere should ask what applies to them. Mahlatini states trust accounts, Go2Africa its own guarantee and Piper & Heath Travel a trust account. Six state nothing on their websites. The guide to safari deposits and payment terms explains what each scheme covers.
“Not stated on their website” is a question to ask, not a mark against the company. Several of the companies readers rate highest publish no prices and no protection wording at all. Before paying a deposit, ask in writing which company holds the money, under which scheme, and what is refunded if a camp or airline fails. How to verify a safari operator shows how to check an answer.
1 · Start from the company’s own limits. A stated minimum budget, an Africa-only list of countries or a no-groups rule rules a company in or out faster than any award. The last line of each card above gives them.
2 · Read reviews one platform at a time. A company can show 5.0 on Google and nothing on Trustpilot, as Extraordinary Journeys and Travel Beyond do, or the reverse, as Jacada Travel does. Look at the count and the date of the newest review, not only the rating.
3 · Get the deposit, balance date and cancellation scale in writing before you pay. They differ by seven weeks between companies on this page, and three of the eight do not publish a deposit figure.
7 July 2026: Travel + Leisure published its World’s Best Awards, with Rothschild Safaris first among safari outfitters. 12 February 2026: the Travel + Leisure A-List was updated, with 34 advisers for African safaris. 5 February 2026: Go2Africa updated its cost guide, with nightly guideline rates by country. 12 October 2026: this page was first published, from facts read that day; it replaces no ranking and gives no score.
Eight African safari tour companies are named on three of the five independent lists read on 12 October 2026: Alluring Africa, Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel, Journeys by Design, Piper & Heath Travel, Timbuktu Travel and Travel Beyond. Eleven more are named on two, among them Rothschild Safaris, first in the Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026 for safari outfitters with a reader score of 99.68, Deeper Africa (99.64) and Micato Safaris (99.06). This site gives no score of its own; each company is shown with its awards, reviews, prices and booking terms, and where each was read.
Reputation can be checked in three places: independent lists, review platforms and booking terms. On lists, Alluring Africa, Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel, Journeys by Design, Piper & Heath Travel, Timbuktu Travel and Travel Beyond are each named on three of five. On reviews read on 12 October 2026, Jacada Travel shows Trustpilot 4.9 from 2,604, Deeper Africa 5.0 from 256, Steppes Travel 4.8 from 229 and Go2Africa 4.8 from 181; on Google, Africa Adventure Consultants shows 5.0 from 198, Extraordinary Journeys 5.0 from 182 and Travel Beyond 5.0 from 177.
In the Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, a readers' survey published on 7 July 2026, the ten highest rated safari outfitters are Rothschild Safaris (99.68), Deeper Africa (99.64), Piper & Heath Travel (99.37), Alluring Africa (99.08), Micato Safaris (99.06), Extraordinary Journeys (98.65), Stanley Safaris (98.56), Go2Africa (98.54), Dazzle Africa (98.28) and Travel Beyond (98.21). Less than 1.5 points separate first from tenth.
The ones where you can see who decides. Travel + Leisure's World's Best Awards are a readers' survey, so they show what past clients think. The Travel + Leisure A-List and the Condé Nast Traveler and Condé Nast Traveller specialist lists are chosen by the magazines' editors and name individual advisers, so they show who the editors trust to plan a trip. A company named by both readers and editors has been checked from two directions; 19 companies on this page are.
Of the eight named on three lists, Extraordinary Journeys, Go2Africa, Jacada Travel and Timbuktu Travel show a price a person on their itineraries; Journeys by Design and Travel Beyond do not. Of the eleven named on two, Africa Adventure Company, Deeper Africa, Mahlatini, Micato Safaris, Original Travel, Red Savannah, Scott Dunn and Steppes Travel show prices. Examples read on 12 October 2026: Timbuktu Travel from $7,800 for 10 nights in Kenya, Extraordinary Journeys from $12,000 for 10 days in Kenya, Micato Safaris from $20,700 for a 10-day safari.
Between 25% and 35% where it is stated. Piper & Heath Travel asks generally 25%; Go2Africa, Timbuktu Travel and Alluring Africa 30%; Journeys by Design 30% for classic safaris and 35% for rare adventures. The balance is due 60 days before travel at Go2Africa, about 90 days at Alluring Africa, Jacada Travel, Piper & Heath Travel and Timbuktu Travel, typically 100 days at Extraordinary Journeys and 112 days at Journeys by Design. Extraordinary Journeys, Jacada Travel and Travel Beyond do not state a deposit amount on their websites.
Five of the nineteen state a UK scheme with a number: Journeys by Design (ATOL 9680), Scott Dunn (ATOL 2471, ABTOT 5222), Red Savannah (ATOL 10454, ABTOT 5566), Original Travel (ATOL 5922, ABTA Y5632) and Steppes Travel (ATOL 6945, ABTOT 5488). Mahlatini states trust accounts through the Travel Trust Association and Trust My Travel, Go2Africa its own money-back guarantee of up to $30,000 a person, and Piper & Heath Travel a trust account. Alluring Africa, Jacada Travel, Timbuktu Travel, Travel Beyond, Micato Safaris and Rothschild Safaris state nothing on their websites, which does not mean they have none: ask in writing.
Some state one. Travel Beyond asks for at least $15,000 a person in Africa, or $20,000 from June to September and over the winter holidays. Alluring Africa states $1,000 a person a day in low season and $1,500 in peak season. Africa Adventure Consultants states $10,000 a person, or $1,000 a person a day for safaris under 10 days. Stanley Safaris says its safaris start from USD 1,000 a person a night. Go2Africa and Jacada Travel state no minimum.
Go2Africa (15 African countries), Journeys by Design (24), Piper & Heath Travel (16), Deeper Africa and Africa Adventure Company plan Africa only. Extraordinary Journeys, Jacada Travel, Timbuktu Travel, Travel Beyond, Scott Dunn, Original Travel, Red Savannah and Steppes Travel also plan other continents, which suits a safari joined to another trip.
No. A company is on this page because it is named on two or more of five independent lists, and for no other reason. Extraordinary Journeys is a paid partner of this site and is labelled Partner; it is here on the same rule as the other eighteen, and its facts are shown with the same sources. This site earns nothing from any other company on the page.
Read next
Richard J. · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 12 October 2026 · verified 12 October 2026
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.