Travel Beyond Review 2026: What It Costs, Its Reviews and Its Booking Terms, Read at Source

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Company record · opened 14 October 2026 · every fact dated and sourced · no score · Is this your company? Correct a fact

Travel Beyond is a planner of custom itineraries based in Wayzata, Minnesota, USA, established in 1975, family-owned by Craig and Kay Beal, and none of its itinerary pages shows a price. Its terms say deposit and final payments are non-refundable and gorilla permits must be paid in full at booking, and no payment protection scheme is named. Read on 12 October 2026, Google shows 5.0 from 177 reviews and its Trustpilot profile is unclaimed with 0 reviews, and Travel + Leisure lists Craig Beal on its 2026 A-List for African Safaris.

Verified 12 October 2026 · Travel Beyond’s own website and booking terms · Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists · Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride

How this page works

Travel Beyond is on this site because it is one of the 50 African safari planners whose public facts are kept in one table, read the same way for every company. This page gives no score. It shows what is public: what the company’s own website says about who it is, its prices, deposits, cancellation terms and payment protection, its reviews on each platform, and the lists that name it, each with the source and the date it was read. Its own website is travelbeyond.com. To set it beside another company, open that company’s page on this site: the same facts sit in the same order. The scored comparison pages and the best African safari tour companies page use these records.

Travel Beyond: the facts on record, read 12 October 2026

53 facts about Travel Beyond were read from its own website, the award publishers and the review platforms on 12 October 2026, and every one below says who stated it, where it was read and when. “Not stated on their website” means the right page was read and the fact is not there; “Could not access” means the page would not open; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same form is kept for every safari planner on this site, so each line can be set beside any other company’s. Where a line here differs from an older line on this page, this one, read later, is the current reading.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Travel Beyond; footer and terms print 'Travel Beyond Inc.' / 'Travel Beyond, Inc.' (no state of incorporation shown)

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Wayzata, Minnesota, USA (106 Broadway Ave S, Wayzata, MN 55391); described as a suburb of Minneapolis

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Year founded

1975 ('Established in 1975'; first US company to plan luxury safaris to Africa, as it states)

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Family-owned. Craig Beal is current owner; he and his wife Kay purchased the company in 2005 (founders Audrey and David Beal, 1975). Experts page lists Craig Beal and Kay Beal as Owners. No parent company named

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What it is

Planner: custom itineraries designed by salaried consultants; 'We do not own lodges or hotels anywhere in the world'; no group trips

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Team

Home page: 'Our 13 award-winning travel consultants'; home page names 12 people with specialties. Experts page lists about 36 named staff across Consultant, Leadership and Staff (list is cut off in the saved copy), including travel associates, producers, accounting, office manager

Source: Company · experts · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it sells

US only: toll free 800.876.3131, fax 952.475.1029, office in Wayzata MN. Consultants also based in California, Illinois, North Carolina and Texas. Budgets are quoted in US dollars. No UK or other phone line, office or currency stated

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Planning safaris is not just a job for us; it's our passion.' Mission: 'to design custom journeys that responsibly immerse guests into some of the world's most inspiring destinations'

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Response time and named planner

Contact form: 'someone will be in touch shortly' (no time given). Pages disagree on one planner: experts and Africa pages say 'each client partners with one consultant'; About Us says 'you partner with a team of travel professionals rather than a single point of contact'

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

5.0 from 177 reviews (listing: Travel Beyond - Travel Agency, Wayzata, Minnesota)

Source: Independent source · Google business listing · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

Unclaimed profile; rating 0.0; 0 reviews ('No reviews'; 0 reviews in the last 12 months); no review dates

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: to be read by hand

Source: Company · why us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Trustindex

No profile found: trustindex page returned a 404 (no profile)

Source: Independent source · Trustindex · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it asks clients to leave reviews

Why Us page links to Google Reviews, Facebook Reviews and Yelp Reviews; it says it does not post selected testimonials on the site

Source: Company · why us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, read from the publishers

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, Best Safari Outfitters: 10th of 10, reader score 98.21 (readers' survey; published 7 Jul 2026) | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Craig Beal (East Africa Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) | Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 2 specialists listed, Craig Beal, Kota Tabuchi (selected by the magazine's editors; read 12 Oct 2026) The company's own site also states (Company): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards, Top 10 Safari Outfitters: 2026 Number Ten; 2025 Number One. Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists: Craig Beal (2020-Present), Jennifer Gillmore, Jenny Mikkelson, Kota Tabuchi, Dianna Upton (each 2021-Present), Katie Gomer (2025-Present). Travel + Leisure A-List Agents: Craig Beal (2011-Present). Earlier T+L years listed (2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022) are outside 2024-2026. Company claims; publisher lists not read

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Advisors on named lists

Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Craig Beal (East Africa Safaris) | Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 2, Craig Beal, Kota Tabuchi The company's own site also states (Company): Company claims: Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists 6 named advisors (present, from 2020/2021/2025 starts); Travel + Leisure A-List 1 named advisor (Craig Beal). No per-year counts stated

Source: Independent source · travelandleisure.com World's Best Awards 2026 and A-List, cntraveler.com/travel-specialists, cntraveller.com top travel specialists · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp or similar certification stated. Nearby: founding member of Safari Pros (alliance of North America's leading African travel specialists)

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

No. None of the trip-inspiration pages read shows a price; the site says itineraries are examples to inspire

Source: Company · trip inspirations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Priced example trips

Not stated on their website: no priced example trips; none of the itinerary pages gives a price

Source: Company · trip inspirations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Not stated on their website: no per-person-per-day price range stated. Nearby: tipping guidance of $40-$60 per person per day (not a price)

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum spend

Africa: minimum budget $20,000 per person in high demand periods (generally Jun-Sept and winter holidays) and $15,000 per person at other times (generally Oct-May), excluding international airfare. Also states: South America $10,000, Southeast Asia $12,500, Australia $7,500, Arctic $15,000, Antarctica $15,000 per person excluding airfare

Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What the price includes

No price is shown on itinerary pages, so nothing is listed beside one. Itineraries list meals per night and activities. FAQ says booking covers flights, transfers, accommodations, private guides and curated experiences. Terms section 4 lists what is not included (taxes, visas, insurance, gratuities, airfare not listed, meals/drinks not mentioned etc.)

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: terms page in the saved copy does not give a deposit amount (saved text ends mid-sentence in section 10). It says payment terms are given before confirming and 'Deposit and final payments are non-refundable'

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Balance due

Not stated on their website: not given in the saved terms text. Gorilla permits must be paid in full at booking

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Not stated on their website: no scale by days given in the saved terms text. It says cancellation is effective only when received in writing; 'Payment and cancelation terms will be provided to payer(s) before confirming your trip'; deposit and final payments non-refundable; gorilla permits non-refundable even if the trip is cancelled

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How client payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no protection scheme, bond or register number stated. Terms section 9: 'Our role is to facilitate the sale, collect funds on your behalf, and remit those funds to the Suppliers'; if suppliers do not provide services 'your only recourse would be against the Suppliers' and client agrees not to initiate a chargeback against Travel Beyond

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website: no billing currencies or card surcharge stated. Nearby: budgets are in US dollars; terms section 6 says prices can rise with currency fluctuations

Source: Company · 31804 2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

No 24-hour number printed (only the office toll-free line). Support stated: 'continuous support before, during, and after your trip'; 'expert assistance throughout your travels'; team and partners available during the journey; help in a delay or emergency

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How the company is paid

States consultants are salaried employees and no one earns commission on what they recommend; 'We do not own lodges or hotels anywhere' and are not affiliated with any hotel group. How the company itself is paid (planning fee or lodge commission) is not stated

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price against booking direct

Not stated on their website: no statement on matching lodge rates or passing on lodge offers. Nearby: 'Added amenities' via its partner network that are 'not available to travelers arranging trips on their own'

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no licence or registration numbers stated. Nearby: founding member of Safari Pros; seller-of-travel or similar registrations not on the pages saved

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it goes and how it works on the ground

African countries it plans

Botswana, Egypt, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania & Zanzibar, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe (13 destinations)

Source: Company · africa · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own offices or staff in Africa

Not stated on their website: no offices or staff in Africa named. Offices stated are Wayzata MN and US-based consultants. Itineraries mention being met by a 'Travel Beyond representative' (e.g. Windhoek, Entebbe, Nairobi) without saying who or where based

Source: Company · experts · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How it books on the ground

Says it works through 'trusted partners' and 'local partners' around the world and relationships with hotels, camps and tour operators; does not say whether it books camps directly or through a named ground company. Terms refer to 'Suppliers'

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own camps or vehicles

No own camps: 'We do not own lodges or hotels anywhere in the world'. Own vehicles not stated (private vehicles in itineraries are arranged with suppliers)

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking

Offered: mountain gorilla trekking in Rwanda (Volcanoes National Park) and Uganda (Bwindi), plus golden monkey trekking in Rwanda and chimpanzee trekking in Nyungwe National Park, Rwanda. Tanzania primate trekking not mentioned

Source: Company · trekking wildlife rwanda · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Beach add-ons

Zanzibar (18 Days Kenya + Zanzibar, Matemwe Retreat), Seychelles (own itineraries and blog posts), Mozambique (Vilanculos, Benguerra Island) and Malawi's Likoma Island (Kaya Mawa) shown; Kenyan Coast mentioned in FAQ. Mauritius not mentioned

Source: Company · 18 days kenya zanzibar · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Africa only, or other regions too

Not Africa only: destinations page shows Africa, South America, Southeast Asia, Arctic and Antarctica (Egypt is under Africa)

Source: Company · destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family trips

Published: Family-Friendly Kenya Safari (Fun for All Ages; 10 nights), plus non-safari family itineraries Vietnam Family Adventure, Family Fun in Thailand, Epic Indonesia: Family Adventure. No prices shown

Source: Company · family friendly kenya safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum child age

Not stated on their website: no minimum child age stated

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational trips

Multigenerational: FAQ says many properties can be reserved on exclusive-use basis for multi-generational families; special requests answer names multi-generational families; consultant Rose Loggi lists inter-generational family trips. Teenagers not mentioned

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Honeymoon trips

Published: Honeymoon in Southern Africa (Cape Town, Marakele, Lion Sands, Vilanculos), 15-Day Safari + Beach Honeymoon South Africa + Mozambique, plus 14 Day Romantic Vietnam Honeymoon, 10-Day Honeymoon in Bali, Romantic Thailand. No prices shown

Source: Company · honeymoon in southern africa · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Not stated on their website: no single supplement or solo traveller policy stated

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not stated on their website: nothing stated on older travellers or limited mobility. Nearby: FAQ says activity level is considered in each itinerary

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

First safari

FAQ 'Where should I go on my first safari?': Southern Africa often recommended for first-timers (reliable viewing, diverse accommodation, Big Five); East Africa also suits. Blog posts 'Comparing Safaris in Southern and East Africa' and 'Why Africa Captivates First-Time and Repeat Travelers Alike'. No itinerary marked as a first safari

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Mixed, per itinerary. FAQ lists 'private guides' as part of booking. Itineraries show private transfers and 'private safari activities with expert guides' (e.g. Exclusive East Africa) but also 'shared safari activity' and shared light aircraft (e.g. 12-Day Kenyan Safari). Not stated as guaranteed

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Offered: FAQ says many properties can be reserved exclusive-use (property, staff, vehicles, guides). Examples: Exclusive East Africa (Manzili House, Lengishu, Cottar's Bush Villa, Singita Milele); Exclusive Southern Africa (Saxon Luxury Villa, Singita Malilangwe House, Singita Castleton, Franschhoek House)

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Small-group departures

No: 'We don't offer "one size fits all" packaged tours or set group departures'; 'Rather than offering group trips' every itinerary is custom

Source: Company · trip inspirations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who guides the trip

Mixed as stated: FAQ says private guides are included; itineraries use lodge/camp guides ('local lodge guide' at Hoanib, camp guides on safari), national park guides for gorilla treks, and in Rwanda a guide who stays with the client for the whole stay. Travel Beyond's own employed guides are not mentioned

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Self-drive

Not stated on their website: self-drive not mentioned on the pages saved

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Photography trips

Yes: Picture-Perfect Southern Africa (A Photographer's Dream) with private use of the PhotoMashatu vehicle, photographic hide visits (Wilderness Mokete, Euphorbia Mashatu) and a helicopter flight over the Okavango Delta

Source: Company · picture perfect southern africa · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Conservation

Named: 12 Days of Conservation in Kenya (Reteti Elephant Sanctuary, Lewa anti-poaching, Daphne Sheldrick Wildlife Trust); blog posts on rhino conservation at Kwandwe and Elephant Havens in Botswana; Magashi stay supports the Wilderness Wildlife Trust; FAQ says it partners with lodges and organizations prioritising wildlife protection. No company funding or donation figure stated

Source: Company · conservation in kenya · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Walking, horseback and other specialist trips

Walking safaris (Active East Africa Safari, Lewa, Mara conservancies), horseback safaris (Lewa), mokoro and motorboat excursions in Botswana, hot air ballooning, helicopter flights, mobile camping and walking safaris (Kota Tabuchi's specialties), star-bed sleepouts; FAQ also lists quad/ATV, mountain biking, camelback riding

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Not the fit if your budget is below its stated Africa minimum of $15,000 a person, or $20,000 from June to September and over the winter holidays, or you want a group trip: it offers none Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Travel Beyond: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Travel Beyond?

Family-owned. Craig Beal is current owner; he and his wife Kay purchased the company in 2005 (founders Audrey and David Beal, 1975). Experts page lists Craig Beal and Kay Beal as Owners. No parent company named Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

Where is Travel Beyond based?

Wayzata, Minnesota, USA (106 Broadway Ave S, Wayzata, MN 55391); described as a suburb of Minneapolis Read on 12 October 2026.

How much does a trip with Travel Beyond cost?

Not stated on their website: no per-person-per-day price range stated. Nearby: tipping guidance of $40-$60 per person per day (not a price) Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

What are Travel Beyond's deposit, payment and cancellation terms?

Read from Travel Beyond's own website on 12 October 2026. Deposit: Not stated on their website: terms page in the saved copy does not give a deposit amount (saved text ends mid-sentence in section 10). It says payment terms are given before confirming and 'Deposit and final payments are non-refundable' Balance due: Not stated on their website: not given in the saved terms text. Gorilla permits must be paid in full at booking Cancellation: Not stated on their website: no scale by days given in the saved terms text. It says cancellation is effective only when received in writing; 'Payment and cancelation terms will be provided to payer(s) before confirming your trip'; deposit and final payments non-refundable; gorilla permits non-refundable even if the trip is cancelled

Are Travel Beyond's client payments protected?

On how client payments are protected, Travel Beyond's website, read on 12 October 2026, gives this: Not stated on their website: no protection scheme, bond or register number stated. Terms section 9: 'Our role is to facilitate the sale, collect funds on your behalf, and remit those funds to the Suppliers'; if suppliers do not provide services 'your only recourse would be against the Suppliers' and client agrees not to initiate a chargeback against Travel Beyond None of "not stated" or "could not access" means the company has no protection; ask for the wording in writing before paying a deposit.

What awards has Travel Beyond won?

Read on 12 October 2026. Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards 2026, Best Safari Outfitters: 10th of 10, reader score 98.21 (readers' survey; published 7 Jul 2026) | Travel + Leisure A-List 2026, African Safaris: Craig Beal (East Africa Safaris) (selected by the magazine's editors; list updated 12 Feb 2026) | Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 2 specialists listed, Craig Beal, Kota Tabuchi (selected by the magazine's editors; read 12 Oct 2026) The company's own site also states (Company): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards, Top 10 Safari Outfitters: 2026 Number Ten; 2025 Number One. Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists: Craig Beal (2020-Present), Jennifer Gillmore, Jenny Mikkelson, Kota Tabuchi, Dianna Upton (each 2021-Present), Katie Gomer (2025-Present). Travel + Leisure A-List Agents: Craig Beal (2011-Present). Earlier T+L years listed (2017, 2018, 2019, 2021, 2022) are outside 2024-2026. Company claims; publisher lists not read Advisers on named lists: Read from the publishers (Independent source): Travel + Leisure A-List 2026: 1, Craig Beal (East Africa Safaris) | Condé Nast Traveler (US) Travel Specialists, Safari: 2, Craig Beal, Kota Tabuchi The company's own site also states (Company): Company claims: Condé Nast Traveler Top Travel Specialists 6 named advisors (present, from 2020/2021/2025 starts); Travel + Leisure A-List 1 named advisor (Craig Beal). No per-year counts stated

What do Travel Beyond's reviews say, platform by platform?

Read on 12 October 2026, shown per platform and never added together. Google: 5.0 from 177 reviews (listing: Travel Beyond - Travel Agency, Wayzata, Minnesota) Trustpilot: Unclaimed profile; rating 0.0; 0 reviews ('No reviews'; 0 reviews in the last 12 months); no review dates Tripadvisor: Could not access: to be read by hand

Which African countries does Travel Beyond plan trips to?

Botswana, Egypt, Kenya, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania & Zanzibar, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe (13 destinations) Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026. Other regions: Not Africa only: destinations page shows Africa, South America, Southeast Asia, Arctic and Antarctica (Egypt is under Africa)

Is Travel Beyond good for family safaris?

Published: Family-Friendly Kenya Safari (Fun for All Ages; 10 nights), plus non-safari family itineraries Vietnam Family Adventure, Family Fun in Thailand, Epic Indonesia: Family Adventure. No prices shown Minimum child age: Not stated on their website: no minimum child age stated Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Travel Beyond run small-group departures?

No: 'We don't offer "one size fits all" packaged tours or set group departures'; 'Rather than offering group trips' every itinerary is custom Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Travel Beyond give a 24-hour contact while you travel?

No 24-hour number printed (only the office toll-free line). Support stated: 'continuous support before, during, and after your trip'; 'expert assistance throughout your travels'; team and partners available during the journey; help in a delay or emergency Read on 12 October 2026.

This page contains no affiliate links and no paid placement. Travel Beyond is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page. Company, publisher and review-platform links are not paid. Facts read 12 October 2026 from Travel Beyond’s own website and booking terms, the Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists, Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.