Thomson Safaris Review 2026: What It Costs, Its Reviews and Its Booking Terms, Read at Source

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Company record · opened 14 October 2026 · every fact dated and sourced · no score · Is this your company? Correct a fact

Thomson Safaris is an operator with its own camps, vehicles and guides, selling scheduled small-group safaris and private safaris centred on Tanzania, based in Watertown, Massachusetts, USA, founded in 1981 by Rick Thomson and Judi Wineland, a division of Wineland-Thomson Adventures, LLC, with a 10 day Classic Safari in Tanzania from $9,990 per adult. The deposit is 20%, non-refundable, the balance is due 90 days before the first land day of the trip, cancelling 45 days or less before departure costs 100%, and no payment protection scheme is named. Read on 12 October 2026, Google shows 4.9 from 238 reviews and its Trustpilot profile is unclaimed with 0 reviews, and it states that it won Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice Awards in 2026 and 2025.

Verified 12 October 2026 · Thomson Safaris’s own website and booking terms · Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists · Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride

How this page works

Thomson Safaris is on this site because it is one of the 50 African safari planners whose public facts are kept in one table, read the same way for every company. This page gives no score. It shows what is public: what the company’s own website says about who it is, its prices, deposits, cancellation terms and payment protection, its reviews on each platform, and the lists that name it, each with the source and the date it was read. Its own website is thomsonsafaris.com. To set it beside another company, open that company’s page on this site: the same facts sit in the same order. The scored comparison pages and the best African safari tour companies page use these records.

Thomson Safaris: the facts on record, read 12 October 2026

53 facts about Thomson Safaris were read from its own website, the award publishers and the review platforms on 12 October 2026, and every one below says who stated it, where it was read and when. “Not stated on their website” means the right page was read and the fact is not there; “Could not access” means the page would not open; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same form is kept for every safari planner on this site, so each line can be set beside any other company’s. Where a line here differs from an older line on this page, this one, read later, is the current reading.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Thomson Safaris, a division of Wineland-Thomson Adventures, LLC (site footer and terms of service). The privacy policy contact block prints 'Wineland-Thomson Adventures, Inc.' (LLC vs Inc. differ between pages).

Source: Company · terms of service · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Watertown, Massachusetts, USA (14 Mount Auburn Street, Watertown, MA 02472)

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Year founded

1981 (press page: founded 1981 by Rick Thomson and Judi Wineland; team page: Thomson Safaris Ltd. formed in early 1981). Home page: '45 years'.

Source: Company · press media · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Not stated on their website: no named owner. Footer: 'A Division Of Wineland-Thomson Adventures, LLC'. Privacy policy mentions 'our parent company and its family of travel brands (including Lindblad Expeditions LLC, Natural Habitat Adventures, DuVine Cycling + Adventure Co., Classic Journeys LLC, and Off the Beaten Path LLC)' but does not name the parent. Co-founders Rick Thomson and Judi Wineland.

Source: Company · privacy policy · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What it is

Operator with its own camps, vehicles and guides: Nyumba camps 'exclusive to Thomson guests', customised Land Rovers, Tanzanian guides; sells scheduled small-group safaris plus private safaris. Says 'Direct local operations. No middleman.'

Source: Company · travel advisors · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Team

At least 9 named people on the team page (2 co-founders Judi Wineland and Rick Thomson; plus Ina Steinhilber (President), Andrew Doherty, Angela Woods, Sarah Jacobs, Francesca Panzariello, Julie Fratarcangeli, Halee Mahoney). The saved page text is cut off after Halee Mahoney, so the full count may be higher. Trip consultants/planners named: Andrew Doherty, Francesca Panzariello, Julie Fratarcangeli, Halee Mahoney.

Source: Company · our team · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it sells

US only: toll-free 1.800.235.0289 and 617.923.0426; office at 14 Mount Auburn Street, Watertown, MA 02472; hours Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST (in-office Tue-Thu by appointment). Prices and payments in US dollars. No UK or other country office/phone line stated.

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Immersive, conservation-driven journeys across Tanzania, combining exclusive access, expert guiding, and a deep commitment to sustainable travel.' (press page); home page: 'Tanzania - Celebrating 45 Years of Wildlife Safaris'.

Source: Company · press media · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Response time and named planner

No response time stated in the saved pages. Says each guest has a 'dedicated trip specialist' / 'dedicated Trip Manager' who helps choose itinerary and handles details; no guarantee that one named person plans the whole trip. Phone hours Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST.

Source: Company · family safari faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

4.9 from 238 reviews (listing: Thomson Safaris, Watertown, Massachusetts)

Source: Independent source · Google business listing · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

Unclaimed profile; 0 reviews; no rating (0.0); 'This company hasn't received any reviews yet.' No review date.

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: to be read by hand

Source: Company · not recorded · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Trustindex

No profile found: trustindex page returned a 404 (CRAWL ERROR: dead page, 404 status code).

Source: Independent source · Trustindex · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it asks clients to leave reviews

Google (direct review link g.page/r/CY1WSoOBIk-hEAg/review) and TripAdvisor (link labelled 'Review on TripAdvisor'; URL not shown in saved text). Asked after the trip via the 'Welcome home' page.

Source: Company · welcome home · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, read from the publishers

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Per its own pages (claims until publishers' lists are read): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards, 2025 and 2024, 'World's Best Safari Outfitter' (press page; the Thomson Difference page words it 'Top 10 Favorite Safari Outfitter'), voted in the T+L World's Best Survey (readers' survey); USA Today 10Best Adventure Tour Operators, named 2025 and 2024 (listed as 'Top 10 Best Adventure Tour Operators'); Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice Awards winner 2026 and 2025. Earlier awards outside 2024-2026 (Conde Nast Traveler Best Travel Specialists in the World 2020-2022; AFAR 2020) not counted.

Source: Company · press media · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Advisors on named lists

Not stated on their website: no count of advisors on named lists. Nearby: Thomson lists 'Best Travel Specialists in the World' (Conde Nast Traveler) for 2022, 2021, 2020 only, with no advisor numbers.

Source: Company · the thomson difference · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp or similar certification found in the saved pages. Nearby: partner of the African Wildlife Foundation (AWF); solar-powered Watertown offices.

Source: Company · giving back · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes. 2026 list on Find Your Safari: 7 of 9 itineraries show 'From $X per Adult' (Honeymoon and Luxury shown without a price). 2027 list: at least 10 itineraries with 'From $X per Adult' (list text cut off). Dates & Prices page shows specific departure prices. Photography Workshops: 'Call for Pricing'.

Source: Company · find your safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Priced example trips

(1) Classic Safari, Tanzania (Tarangire, Ngorongoro, Serengeti), 10 days/9 nights, all-camping, from $9,990 per adult (Oct 2026 departures priced $10,590-$10,890). (2) Founders' Safari, 12 days/11 nights, from $13,590 per adult (Oct 2026 departures $14,450-$14,950). (3) The Highlights of Tanzania Safari, 8 days/7 nights, from $7,690 per adult (Oct 23-30 2026 departure $7,990). Inclusions per FAQ: accommodations, meals, water, airport transfers, park fees, guides and drivers; international airfare not included. Note: the Honeymoon page quotes Highlights 'starting at $7,490 pp' and Founders' Signature $12,990 pp, while Find Your Safari quotes $7,690 and $13,190.

Source: Company · find your safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Not stated on their website: no per-person-per-day rate stated. Nearby: travel-advisor page says 'Typical safari value: $8,000-$15,000+ per guest'; advisor page also says standard trip cost typically $8,000-$14,000 per person.

Source: Company · travel advisors · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum spend

Not stated on their website: no minimum spend or minimum daily rate stated. Nearby: lowest published itinerary price is the Highlights of Tanzania Safari from $7,690 per adult; Highlights described as 'for travelers with limited time or a tighter budget'.

Source: Company · find your safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What the price includes

Inclusions are listed on the FAQ / How to Reserve pages, not in a block beside the price on the itinerary pages saved: land packages include all accommodations, meals, water (with meals and on wildlife drives), airport transfers, park fees, and services of guides and drivers. Not included: international airfare, tips, bar drinks, laundry, phone calls, passport/visa fees, souvenirs, travel insurance. Itinerary pages footnote: Tanzania VAT starts at $300 and varies by trip; single accommodations extra.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Deposit

20% deposit, non-refundable and non-transferable, to reserve space (Visa, MasterCard, Discover). Early-booking offer for 2029 trips mentions a 'reduced deposit'.

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Balance due

Full payment due 90 days prior to the first land day of the trip (FAQ: 90 days prior to departure).

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Written notice. 91+ days before departure: fee equals the deposit; 90-61 days: 50% of package price non-refundable; 60-46 days: 65%; 45 days or less: 100%. No partial refunds for unused services; may also be liable for third-party fees.

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How client payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no payment-protection scheme, bond, trust account or registration number stated. Nearby: strongly encourages travel insurance within two weeks of deposit (recommends Travel Guard); says it cannot change the cancellation policy for any reason.

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Bills in US dollars (US dollar check; wire; money order; ACH). Deposit by Visa, MasterCard or Discover. No card surcharge stated. Reserves the right to increase tour price for cost increases including currency fluctuations.

Source: Company · booking policies · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Not stated on their website: no 24-hour contact while travelling stated in the saved pages. Phone 1.800.235.0289, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST only.

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How the company is paid

Not stated how Thomson is paid for client trips. Nearby: travel advisors receive a commission paid by Thomson on new guests (paid at time of travel / within 30 days of departure).

Source: Company · travel advisors v2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price against booking direct

Not stated on their website: no statement about matching lodge rates or passing on lodge offers. Nearby: advisor page claims 'Direct Operator Pricing' and 'no middleman' as it is under the same ownership in the US and Tanzania.

Source: Company · travel advisors · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no licence, registration or seller-of-travel numbers stated in the saved pages (only a reference to needing an advisor's IATA number).

Source: Company · travel advisors v2 · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it goes and how it works on the ground

African countries it plans

Tanzania (core; 'operated exclusively in Tanzania for over 45 years'). Extensions/combination trips: Rwanda (gorilla trekking), Kenya (Tembo Explorer Safari: Tanzania & Kenya), South Africa (Cape Town; Johannesburg stop), Victoria Falls (country not named in the text).

Source: Company · tanzania overview · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own offices or staff in Africa

Says it has people 'on the ground in Tanzania' and 'American and Tanzanian colleagues'; same ownership in the US and Tanzania. No Tanzanian office town or address named (guide bios mention Moshi and Arusha as home towns/arrival point).

Source: Company · travel advisors · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How it books on the ground

Operates directly: 'Direct local operations. No middleman'; Thomson is under the same ownership in the U.S. and in Tanzania; own camps, vehicles and guides.

Source: Company · travel advisors · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own camps or vehicles

Yes. Own Nyumba tented camps (exclusive to Thomson guests: Eastern Serengeti, Serengeti seasonal, Ngorongoro, Tarangire) and customised Land Rover vehicles (pop-up roofs, space for 8 but seats 6).

Source: Company · safari accommodations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking

Gorillas: Rwanda (Volcanoes National Park, 5-day extension from $8,000 pp; Savannas & Silverbacks Safari). Chimpanzees: Mahale Mountains National Park, Tanzania (extension from $6,500 pp). Uganda not offered in the saved pages.

Source: Company · extend your safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Beach add-ons

Zanzibar (5 days/4 nights, from $2,500 pp; recommended stay 5 days including 3 nights on the beach and 1 night in Stone Town; Breezes Beach Club & Spa and Stone Town). Offered as a trip extension on the Thanksgiving Safari page. Seychelles, Mauritius and Mozambique not mentioned.

Source: Company · thanksgiving safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Africa only, or other regions too

Africa only on its destinations pages: Tanzania core with extensions/combinations in Rwanda, Kenya, South Africa and Victoria Falls. Also runs Kilimanjaro treks through thomsontreks.com. No non-African destinations shown.

Source: Company · tanzania overview · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family trips

The Perfect Tanzania Family Safari, 10 days/9 nights, from $10,290 per adult (also a Family Safaris category and a family FAQ); scheduled small-group departures with a Rafiki on trips with more than 8 guests.

Source: Company · perfect family safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum child age

Minimum age 6 on family safaris; minimum age 16 on traditional (small-group) safaris; gorilla trekking in Rwanda minimum 15.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational trips

Yes: family safaris 'built for young kids, teens, parents, and grandparents to explore together'; guest story 'Three generations on safari' in testimonials.

Source: Company · family safari faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Honeymoon trips

Honeymoon Safari page: Founders' Signature Safari 11 days/10 nights from $12,990 pp (complimentary couples massage at Gibb's Farm) and Highlights of Tanzania Safari 8 days/7 nights from $7,490 pp (complimentary private candle-lit dinner in the bush); private extensions Zanzibar (from $2,500 pp) and Mahale Mountains (4 days/3 nights from $6,500 pp). Find Your Safari quotes different prices for the same trips ($13,190 and $7,690).

Source: Company · honeymoon safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Single accommodations extra: 'start at $500 and vary by trip' on the flying safari, Zanzibar, Ruaha and Nyerere pages; 'start at $800' on the Honeymoon page (pages differ). Guest testimonials cover solo travellers.

Source: Company · honeymoon safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not stated on their website: no company statement on older travellers or limited mobility. Nearby: family safaris include grandparents; a guest review shown on its own site (Google widget) says some in the group 'needed mobility assistance and were happy with their accommodations'.

Source: Company · get in touch · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

First safari

The Essential Tanzania Safari is 'curated for first-time and seasoned safari-goers alike'; planners 'help first-timers select their dream safari'. Highlights of Tanzania Safari pitched at limited time/tighter budget. No itinerary specifically labelled 'first safari'.

Source: Company · find your safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Optional: private safaris offered (family FAQ: 'private departures with a dedicated guide and vehicle'; 'Private Safaris' category; private itineraries on request). On scheduled small-group safaris the vehicle is shared: space for 8, seats 6, guaranteed window seat.

Source: Company · family safari faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Camps: Nyumba camps are exclusive to Thomson guests; the 10,000-acre Eastern Serengeti Nature Refuge is 'only accessible to Thomson guests'. Private villas not mentioned.

Source: Company · tanzania overview · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Small-group departures

Yes: 'small group travel (about 14 people or fewer)', exact size varies by trip; 6 guests per vehicle.

Source: Company · faq · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who guides the trip

Its own Tanzanian guides, minimum 10 years' experience (lead guides 10 to 35 years); named guides on the Safari Guides page (e.g. Arthur Dallas, Babu Ramadhani Lembariti, Dickson Kihunrwa, Emmanuel Kimario, Frederick Mushi, Harrison Mremi, Hashim Kindu).

Source: Company · safari guides · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Self-drive

Not stated on their website: self-drive not mentioned; trips are guided with guide-driven vehicles.

Source: Company · safari vehicles · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Photography trips

Yes: Photography Workshops (call for pricing) and Great Migration Photo Safari (9 days/8 nights, from $12,490 per adult, led by professional photographer Wesley Bernard). Upgrades: max 3 guests per Land Rover, own row, extra weight allowance, camera tech tents at each Nyumba camp; stabilising bean bags in every vehicle. Other trip leaders: Randy Hanna, Don Toothaker.

Source: Company · photography workshops · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Conservation

Focus on Tanzanian Communities (FOTZC), its nonprofit (education: textbooks and facilities for 23 schools; Sukenya Health Center; boreholes/clean water; women's empowerment); African Wildlife Foundation (AWF) partner; 10,000-acre Eastern Serengeti Nature Refuge founded by its founders; 110 solar panels at Watertown offices. FOTZC founding year is given as 1996 (team page) and 1997 (giving-back page).

Source: Company · giving back · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Walking, horseback and other specialist trips

Guided walking safaris (Eastern Serengeti Nature Refuge; Nyerere), night drives, hot-air balloon add-on, Mahale chimpanzee trekking, flying safari (Tanzania Flying Safari), photography workshops, Kilimanjaro treks (thomsontreks.com), Ruaha and Nyerere extensions. Horseback riding not mentioned.

Source: Company · serengeti horizon safari · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Not the fit if you travel with a child under 6, or under 16 on its traditional small-group safaris, since those are its stated minimum ages; you want to travel outside Africa, since its destinations pages show Africa only; you want a 24-hour contact while travelling, since none is stated; or you need a named payment-protection scheme before you book, since none is stated on its website. Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Thomson Safaris: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Thomson Safaris?

Not stated on their website: no named owner. Footer: 'A Division Of Wineland-Thomson Adventures, LLC'. Privacy policy mentions 'our parent company and its family of travel brands (including Lindblad Expeditions LLC, Natural Habitat Adventures, DuVine Cycling + Adventure Co., Classic Journeys LLC, and Off the Beaten Path LLC)' but does not name the parent. Co-founders Rick Thomson and Judi Wineland. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

Where is Thomson Safaris based?

Watertown, Massachusetts, USA (14 Mount Auburn Street, Watertown, MA 02472) Read on 12 October 2026.

How much does a trip with Thomson Safaris cost?

Not stated on their website: no per-person-per-day rate stated. Nearby: travel-advisor page says 'Typical safari value: $8,000-$15,000+ per guest'; advisor page also says standard trip cost typically $8,000-$14,000 per person. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

What are Thomson Safaris' deposit, payment and cancellation terms?

Read from Thomson Safaris' own website on 12 October 2026. Deposit: 20% deposit, non-refundable and non-transferable, to reserve space (Visa, MasterCard, Discover). Early-booking offer for 2029 trips mentions a 'reduced deposit'. Balance due: Full payment due 90 days prior to the first land day of the trip (FAQ: 90 days prior to departure). Cancellation: Written notice. 91+ days before departure: fee equals the deposit; 90-61 days: 50% of package price non-refundable; 60-46 days: 65%; 45 days or less: 100%. No partial refunds for unused services; may also be liable for third-party fees.

Are Thomson Safaris' client payments protected?

On how client payments are protected, Thomson Safaris' website, read on 12 October 2026, gives this: Not stated on their website: no payment-protection scheme, bond, trust account or registration number stated. Nearby: strongly encourages travel insurance within two weeks of deposit (recommends Travel Guard); says it cannot change the cancellation policy for any reason. None of "not stated" or "could not access" means the company has no protection; ask for the wording in writing before paying a deposit.

What awards has Thomson Safaris won?

Read on 12 October 2026. Per its own pages (claims until publishers' lists are read): Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards, 2025 and 2024, 'World's Best Safari Outfitter' (press page; the Thomson Difference page words it 'Top 10 Favorite Safari Outfitter'), voted in the T+L World's Best Survey (readers' survey); USA Today 10Best Adventure Tour Operators, named 2025 and 2024 (listed as 'Top 10 Best Adventure Tour Operators'); Tripadvisor Travelers' Choice Awards winner 2026 and 2025. Earlier awards outside 2024-2026 (Conde Nast Traveler Best Travel Specialists in the World 2020-2022; AFAR 2020) not counted.

What do Thomson Safaris' reviews say, platform by platform?

Read on 12 October 2026, shown per platform and never added together. Google: 4.9 from 238 reviews (listing: Thomson Safaris, Watertown, Massachusetts) Trustpilot: Unclaimed profile; 0 reviews; no rating (0.0); 'This company hasn't received any reviews yet.' No review date. Tripadvisor: Could not access: to be read by hand

Which African countries does Thomson Safaris plan trips to?

Tanzania (core; 'operated exclusively in Tanzania for over 45 years'). Extensions/combination trips: Rwanda (gorilla trekking), Kenya (Tembo Explorer Safari: Tanzania & Kenya), South Africa (Cape Town; Johannesburg stop), Victoria Falls (country not named in the text). Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026. Other regions: Africa only on its destinations pages: Tanzania core with extensions/combinations in Rwanda, Kenya, South Africa and Victoria Falls. Also runs Kilimanjaro treks through thomsontreks.com. No non-African destinations shown.

Is Thomson Safaris good for family safaris?

The Perfect Tanzania Family Safari, 10 days/9 nights, from $10,290 per adult (also a Family Safaris category and a family FAQ); scheduled small-group departures with a Rafiki on trips with more than 8 guests. Minimum child age: Minimum age 6 on family safaris; minimum age 16 on traditional (small-group) safaris; gorilla trekking in Rwanda minimum 15. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Thomson Safaris run small-group departures?

Yes: 'small group travel (about 14 people or fewer)', exact size varies by trip; 6 guests per vehicle. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Thomson Safaris give a 24-hour contact while you travel?

Not stated on their website: no 24-hour contact while travelling stated in the saved pages. Phone 1.800.235.0289, Mon-Fri 9am-5pm EST only. Read on 12 October 2026.

This page contains no affiliate links and no paid placement. Thomson Safaris is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page. Company, publisher and review-platform links are not paid. Facts read 12 October 2026 from Thomson Safaris’s own website and booking terms, the Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists, Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.