Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
An African elephant walking beside shallow water on the Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve

An African elephant beside shallow water on the Sabi Sabi reserve, May 2012. Photo: Harvey Barrison, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0.

Is Sabi Sabi a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

Sabi Sabi is a family-owned camp owner with four lodges on the Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger area of South Africa; its home page dates the company to 1979. Its published rates, read 19 October 2026, are ZAR 29,600 to ZAR 44,000 per person sharing per night, with meals, drinks (except French Champagne and Private Collection wines), game drives and walks included. No independent review score was found: the only Google match on 20 October 2026 was a different place (not the reserve) and no Trustpilot profile was found on 19 October 2026.

Is Sabi Sabi a good company to book a safari with?

Sabi Sabi, which its home page dates to 1979, sells stays at its own four Greater Kruger lodges, names its owners and publishes its rates in full, but no independent review score could be read on 19 or 20 October 2026 and its deposit and cancellation terms were not read.

Sabi Sabi is the trading name of African Cultural Tours (Pty) Ltd, registration number 1975/003146/07, with its head office at 4 Jameson Avenue, Melrose Estate, Johannesburg. The home page says the company has grown to four lodges "since 1979". Its Our Story page is signed by Hilton and Jacqui Loon as owners and calls Sabi Sabi "a family-owned collection of distinctive destinations". Rod Wyndham is quoted as Managing Director. It is a camp owner. It sells its own four lodges and a package with two nights at The Claremont in Cape Town. No other company's camps were shown on the pages read.

Reviews: no Google listing for the reserve was found on 20 October 2026 (the only match was a different place). No Trustpilot profile was found and Tripadvisor could not be read, both on 19 October 2026. No SafariBookings profile under the Sabi Sabi name was found on 20 October 2026. No link to a review platform was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

Its awards page lists World Travel Awards 2026 (Africa's Leading Private Game Reserve) and Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards 2025 (South Africa's Best Resort). These are the company's own claims. No certification, tourism licence or payment protection was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. The deposit, balance and cancellation terms sit in PDFs that were not read on 19 October 2026.

It suits families with children aged 6 to 12 at Bush Lodge (younger children need a villa or exclusive use of a lodge) who want a published rate that includes meals and drinks.

Sabi SabiSouth Africa (Greater Kruger) · founded 1979

Wooden signpost reading Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge, with a second sign pointing to Selati Lodge
A wooden signpost on the Sabi Sabi reserve pointing to Bush Lodge and Selati Lodge, photographed in May 2012. Photo: Harvey Barrison, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 2.0.
Best for
Families with children at Bush Lodge
Why choose them
Bush Lodge runs a free children's centre for ages 4 to 12; the first child aged 12 or under stays free on 3 nights or more (not 20 December to 5 January). No independent review was found: the only Google match on 20 October 2026 was a different place (not the reserve) and no Trustpilot profile was found on 19 October 2026.
Ask for
The 2026-2027 payment terms and standard terms in writing, since the deposit and cancellation scale was not read. A price for a private vehicle with a standard suite, since none was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.
Not the fit if
You are bringing children aged 13 or under to Selati Camp, Little Bush Camp or Earth Lodge without exclusive use, children under 6 without a Bush Lodge villa or exclusive use of a lodge, or want a rate below ZAR 29,600 per person sharing per night.
Published price
ZAR 29,600 per person sharing per night (Bush Lodge Luxury Suite) to ZAR 44,000 (Earth Lodge Luxury Suite, Selati Ivory Presidential Suite), one rate all year in 2026-27 and 2027-28. Meals, drinks except French Champagne and Private Collection wines, game drives and walks included; conservation levy ZAR 450 per person per night (ZAR 495 in 2027-28) extra; 15% surcharge 20 December to 5 January. Read 19 October 2026.

How much does a safari with Sabi Sabi cost?

Sabi Sabi's published rates, read 19 October 2026, are ZAR 29,600 to ZAR 44,000 per person sharing per night, the same for 2026-27 and 2027-28, plus a conservation levy of ZAR 450 per person per night (ZAR 495 in 2027-28).

Rates are published in South African rand, per person sharing per night, for 1 March 2026 to 28 February 2027 and for 1 March 2027 to 29 February 2028. The rates page shows the same figure for both periods and no seasons. A 15% surcharge applies over Christmas, 20 December to 5 January. Read 19 October 2026.

  • Bush Lodge Luxury Suite: ZAR 29,600
  • Selati Camp Luxury Suite: ZAR 31,800
  • Little Bush Camp: ZAR 32,900
  • Selati Camp Lourenco Marques Honeymoon Suite: ZAR 34,100
  • Earth Lodge Luxury Suite: ZAR 44,000
  • Selati Camp Ivory Presidential Suite: ZAR 44,000, private safari vehicle included
  • Bush Lodge Luxury Villa: ZAR 149,000 per villa per night for 4 adults, private vehicle included
  • Earth Lodge Amber Villa: ZAR 165,000 per villa per night for 4 adults, private vehicle included

Included: open vehicle game drives by day and at night, walking safaris, breakfast, lunch and boma dinner, all drinks except French Champagne and Private Collection wines, limited laundry, Wi-Fi, transfers from the Sabi Sabi airstrip, on-site medical assistance and VAT.

Extra: the Sabie Game Reserve Conservation Levy (ZAR 450 per person per night in 2026-27, ZAR 495 in 2027-28), gratuities, Amani Spa treatments, transfers to and from Skukuza airport and cellar or premium drinks. Flights to the airstrip are not in the inclusions list. The pages read name three packages: a family package (first child aged 12 or under free on stays of 3 nights or more, not 20 December to 5 January), Stay 4 Pay 3 (4 nights) and Kruger to Cape (3 nights at Sabi Sabi, 2 complimentary nights at The Claremont).

Where are Sabi Sabi's camps?

All four Sabi Sabi lodges are on the Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger area, which shares an unfenced border with Kruger National Park to the south and the Sabi Sand Wildtuin to the north.

The reserve is a private game reserve, not part of Kruger National Park. Guests enter through Shaws Gate, 38 km from Hazyview. Sole traversing rights are not stated.

  • Selati Camp: 7 suites (5 Luxury, 1 Honeymoon, 1 Presidential), by the Msuthlu riverbed.
  • Bush Lodge: 21 Luxury Suites, 1 wheelchair-accessible suite and 3 Luxury Villas, up to 50 guests. It is the family lodge, with the EleFun Centre and conference facilities.
  • Little Bush Camp: 6 Luxury Suites by the Msuthlu riverbed.
  • Earth Lodge: 12 Luxury Suites and the Amber Villa.
  • The Claremont, Cape Town: a 15-room hotel presented within the collection, sold with the "Kruger to Cape" package (3 nights at Sabi Sabi, 2 complimentary nights at The Claremont). Whether Sabi Sabi owns it is not stated.

No mobile or seasonal camps were on the pages read on 19 October 2026. Its FAQ says the reserve can be visited all year.

Who is Sabi Sabi best for?

Sabi Sabi fits families with children at Bush Lodge and solo travellers, since it charges no single supplement for up to 2 suites per booking.

  • Families with children aged 6 to 12: Bush Lodge has the EleFun Centre (Junior Trackers 4 to 8, Junior Rangers 9 to 12) at no charge. The family package gives the first child aged 12 or under a free stay on 3 nights or more.
  • Families with children under 6: only in a Bush Lodge Luxury Villa with its private vehicle (ZAR 149,000 per villa per night) or with exclusive use of a lodge, under the 2026-27 children's policy.
  • Solo travellers: no single supplement for up to 2 suites per booking; after that 50% of the daily rate is added. Villas and premium suites always carry the supplement.
  • Couples: Selati Camp's Lourenco Marques Honeymoon Suite, ZAR 34,100 per person sharing per night, with private dining.
  • Guests with limited mobility: Bush Lodge suite 25 is wheelchair accessible. A full-time nurse is on site, with a doctor on call.
  • Private groups: each lodge can be booked for exclusive use; Bush Lodge takes up to 50 guests.

Not the fit if you are bringing children aged 13 or under to Selati Camp, Little Bush Camp or Earth Lodge without exclusive use of the lodge, want under-12s on a walking safari, or want boating, mokoro or horseback riding, none of which was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Sabi Sabi for a luxury safari?

The alternatives to Sabi Sabi are Cheetah Plains, Dulini, Londolozi, MalaMala and Tanda Tula, camp owners whose lodges are also in the Greater Kruger area of South Africa: four in the Sabi Sand and Tanda Tula in the Timbavati. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • Cheetah Plains: Three villas in the north-east corner of the Sabi Sand, sold per villa rather than per person: ZAR 199,500 per night for up to 4 guests in Green season 2026/27, read 19 October 2026. Children of all ages are welcome. Google: 4.9 from 73 reviews, read 20 October 2026.
  • Dulini: Three lodges in the Sabi Sand (Dulini Moya and Dulini River with 6 suites each, Dulini Leadwood with 4), plus camps in Zambia and Botswana. Its site says it caters "primarily to adult guests" and welcomes children older than eight. Its rate documents could not be read on 19 October 2026.
  • Londolozi: Five camps on the Sand River in the Sabi Sand; its history page dates the story to 1926. "From" rates read 19 October 2026: R27,950 per person per night at Varty Camp, R54,000 at the Private Granite Suites. Solo guests pay 25% extra. Google: 4.9 from 242 reviews, read 20 October 2026.
  • MalaMala: Five camps on the MalaMala and Tengile game reserves in the Sabi Sand, under community ownership. 2026 rack rates read 19 October 2026: R26,100 to R50,000 per person sharing per night. No single supplement appeared in its rates read 19 October 2026. Google: 4.7 from 560 reviews, read 20 October 2026.
  • Tanda Tula: One camp of nine suites on the Nhlaralumi river in the Timbavati Private Nature Reserve. Safari Suite ZAR 31,500 per person sharing per night in 2026, children 6 to 16 ZAR 15,750, read 19 October 2026. Google: 5 from 103 reviews, read 20 October 2026.

How do you book Sabi Sabi?

Book Sabi Sabi directly through its reservations office or enquiry form, or through a travel agent; its deposit, balance and cancellation terms were not read on 19 October 2026, so ask for them in writing.

Sabi Sabi sells direct, through its reservations office (08H00 to 17H00 SAST, +27 11 447 7172, [email protected]) and a live booking system. It also sells through travel agents via its Trade Hub, with sales representatives listed for nine markets. No resident or regional rate and no promised reply time were on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

The booking terms page lists a "Sabi Sabi Payment Terms & Conditions - 2026-2027" PDF and standard terms, but their contents were not read on 19 October 2026. No trust account, bonding or other payment protection was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. Ask them to itemise:

  • the deposit percentage, when the balance is due and the cancellation scale by date
  • the conservation levy (ZAR 450 per person per night in 2026-27) as a separate line
  • transfers from Skukuza airport, if you are not flying to the Sabi Sabi airstrip
  • the 15% Christmas surcharge, if you travel between 20 December and 5 January
  • the child rate and the lodges that accept your children's ages
  • whether your booking qualifies for no single supplement (up to 2 suites)

Sabi Sabi: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about Sabi Sabi were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Sabi Sabi's website terms define 'Sabi Sabi' as African Cultural Tours (Pty) Ltd t/a Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve, a private company incorporated in South Africa, registration number 1975/003146/07, registered address 4 Jameson Avenue, Melrose Estate, Johannesburg, Gauteng. Postal address: P.O. Box 52665, Saxonwold, 2132. Marketed as Sabi Sabi (also 'The Sabi Sabi Collection').

Source: Company · terms of use, terms conditions website use 1 (PDF), rates bookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Head office: 4 Jameson Avenue, Melrose Estate, Johannesburg, South Africa (reservation office hours 08H00 to 17H00 SAST). The four lodges are on the Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger area, each with its own reception. The contact page lists sales and press representatives in Australia/New Zealand, Brazil, France, Germany, India, Spain/Portugal, Switzerland, the UK and the US; these are named agencies, not company offices.

Source: Company · rates bookings, contact us, terms of use · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Year founded

1979. The site says 'Since 1979, Sabi Sabi has grown our portfolio to include 4 luxury lodges'. The 'Our Story' page is signed by 'Hilton & Jacqui Loon, Owners of Sabi Sabi' and says the story 'started over 40 years ago'. The Bush Lodge page says the owners bought portions of the farm 'Shaws' in the 1980s and 1990s.

Source: Company · home page, our story, bush lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Family-owned. The Our Story page is headed by 'Hilton & Jacqui Loon, Owners of Sabi Sabi' and calls Sabi Sabi 'a family-owned collection of distinctive destinations'. No parent group or outside investors are named on the pages read.

Source: Company · our story, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Camp owner. The site sells stays only at its own four lodges (Selati Camp, Bush Lodge, Little Bush Camp, Earth Lodge) and a package with The Claremont, a Cape Town hotel shown as part of the collection ('Kruger to Cape'). No multi-camp trips with other companies' camps are shown.

Source: Company · rates, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Rod Wyndham is quoted as Managing Director; Hilton and Jacqui Loon are named as owners. Total staff numbers are not stated; the team page describes a 'close-knit team' and the site cites a 'highly experienced reservations team'. Ranger names appear in the photography guide (for example Ronald Mutero, Daniel Greyvenstein, Jason Street).

Source: Company · home page, our story, our team, photography guide · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct to guests (live booking system, reservations office, 'Book Now') and through trade: a Trade Hub for 'trade and travel partners' with a dedicated trade team and 'Sabi Sabi Agent Payment Terms 2026-2028'. International sales and press representatives are listed by country. No resident or local-market rate is shown.

Source: Company · book now, trade hub, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Sabi Sabi is a wildlife-rich private reserve in the Greater Kruger area with 4 luxury lodges, each with its own character and style.' Also 'An unforgettable safari experience shaped by over 40 years of caring and passion' and 'Fully inclusive tariffs for an experience of a lifetime'. Philosophy: Yesterday (Selati), Today (Bush Lodge), Tomorrow (Earth Lodge).

Source: Company · home page, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

Not stated on their website: no promised reply time for booking enquiries and no named reservations contact. Reservation office times are 08H00 to 17H00 SAST; telephone +27 11 447 7172; emails [email protected], [email protected] and [email protected]. A data-request form promises a reply within 24 hours, but that is for privacy requests only.

Source: Company · home page, rates bookings, contact us, trade hub · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

Could not access: the Google Maps match found on 20 October 2026 was a place near the Botswana border, not the Sabi Sabi reserve, so no Google figure is given.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/sabisabi.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

No profile found: the SafariBookings search returned 'Sassabi Expeditions', a different company; no profile under the Sabi Sabi name was found (corrected 20 October 2026).

Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google, Tripadvisor, Expedia or other review platform link on the pages read. Guest comments appear on lodge pages with first names only and no platform named.

Source: Company · home page, discover awards, luxury suite · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: the pages read do not ask guests to leave a review or link to a review platform.

Source: Company · home page, discover awards, our team · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Awards named on the awards page: Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Awards, South Africa's Best Resort 2025; World Luxury Hotel Awards 2025, Best Luxury Bush Villa globally and Best Luxury Private Game Reserve in South Africa; World Travel Awards 2026, Africa's Leading Private Game Reserve and South Africa's Leading Private Game Reserve; Sydney Morning Herald Traveller Awards 2024 winner; 'Out & About with Kids' Readers Choice Award 2024; Out There Experientialist Awards UK 2026 finalist (Most OutThere Initiative in Inclusive Travel). These are the company's own claims; no publisher list is among the pages read.

Source: Company · discover awards · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice and Travel + Leisure 'World's Best' are named as repeated awards to Sabi Sabi as a whole (years: CNT 2025 for South Africa's Best Resort; T+L year not given). The 'Out & About with Kids' 2024 award is tied to Bush Lodge. Earth Lodge is called 'award-winning'. No Tatler or Tripadvisor Travellers' Choice list is named and other camps' placings are not given.

Source: Company · discover awards, bush lodge, earth lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism, Travelife, Long Run or similar certification is named. The awards page says only that Sabi Sabi had 'notable mentions and awards for our environmental practices and ensuring responsible tourism and fair trade', with no certifier.

Source: Company · discover awards, explore conservation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes. Rates are published on the rates page in South African rand (ZAR), per person sharing per night (pps/pn), for two periods (1 Mar 2026 to 28 Feb 2027 and 1 Mar 2027 to 29 Feb 2028), by lodge and suite type.

Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

ZAR per person sharing per night, one rate all year (the page shows the same figure for 2026-27 and 2027-28): Selati Camp Luxury Suite 31,800; Lourenco Marques Honeymoon Suite 34,100; Ivory Presidential Suite 44,000 (includes private safari vehicle). Bush Lodge Luxury Suite 29,600; Luxury Villa ZAR 149,000 per villa per night (4 adults, private vehicle). Little Bush Camp 32,900. Earth Lodge Luxury Suite 44,000; Amber Villa ZAR 165,000 per villa per night (4 adults, private vehicle). Extra adult in a villa 29,600. A 15% Christmas surcharge applies from 20 Dec to 5 Jan.

Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Lowest published per person rate: ZAR 29,600 per person sharing per night, Bush Lodge Luxury Suite (2026-27 and 2027-28). Highest per person: ZAR 44,000, Ivory Presidential Suite at Selati Camp and Earth Lodge Luxury Suite. Villa rates are per villa, ZAR 149,000 (Bush Lodge) and ZAR 165,000 (Earth Lodge Amber Villa). The 15% Christmas surcharge (20 Dec to 5 Jan) is extra.

Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Not stated on their website: no minimum stay is on the pages read. The site recommends three to four nights; the family package needs 3 nights or longer for the free child; the Stay 4 Pay 3 special needs 4 nights.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, family package, stay 4 pay 3, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

Includes (per person sharing): open vehicle day and night game drives, environmental walking safaris, breakfast, lunch, boma dinner, all drinks excluding French Champagne and Private Collection wines, limited laundry, Wi-Fi, airstrip transfers (private Sabi Sabi airstrip), on-site medical assistance, VAT. Extra: Sabie Game Reserve Conservation Levy (ZAR 450 per person per night 2026-27; ZAR 495 2027-28, VAT inclusive), gratuities, Amani Spa treatments, transfers to and from Skukuza airport, personal items, cellar wines and premium drinks.

Source: Company · rates, stay 4 pay 3 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: no deposit amount or timing in the pages read. The booking terms page lists PDFs ('Sabi Sabi Payment Terms & Conditions - 2026-2027' and standard terms) but their contents are not in the pages read.

Source: Company · booking terms, lodges fact sheets · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

Not stated on their website: no balance due date in the pages read. The payment terms PDF is listed on the booking terms page but not read.

Source: Company · booking terms, lodges fact sheets · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Not stated on their website: no cancellation scale in the pages read. The standard terms and payment terms PDFs are linked but not read. The rates page says only 'Terms & Conditions apply' and rates 'subject to change based on circumstances outside our control'.

Source: Company · booking terms, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or payment protection statement on the pages read.

Source: Company · booking terms, rates, terms of use · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website for payment: rates are shown in South African rand (ZAR) only. No accepted payment currencies or card surcharge are given on the pages read.

Source: Company · rates, booking terms · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Not stated on their website: no 24-hour emergency line for guests travelling. Reservation office hours are 08H00 to 17H00 SAST. The site does mention 24-hour medical assistance at the lodges (medic on site).

Source: Company · rates bookings, rates, helpful info faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Direct bookings go through the reservations office and live booking system; trade bookings go through the Trade Hub, which links 'Sabi Sabi Agent Payment Terms 2026-2028' (not read). No agent commission percentage or trade rate is published on the pages read.

Source: Company · book now, trade hub · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on price parity or a direct-booking benefit.

Source: Company · rates, trade hub, book now · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no tourism licence or trade association membership (SATSA and similar) on the pages read. The only registration given is the company number 1975/003146/07 (African Cultural Tours (Pty) Ltd).

Source: Company · terms of use, trade hub, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

South Africa.

Source: Company · home page, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

Four lodges: Selati Camp, Bush Lodge, Little Bush Camp and Earth Lodge. The site also promotes The Claremont, a 15-room hotel in Cape Town, in the 'Kruger to Cape' package. Owned versus managed is not stated.

Source: Company · home page, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

All four lodges are in the Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve in the Greater Kruger area, which shares an unfenced border with Kruger National Park (south) and the Sabi Sand Wildtuin (north). Selati Camp and Little Bush Camp overlook or sit beside the Msuthlu riverbed. Access is via Shaws Gate, 38 km from Hazyview.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, selati camp, little bush camp, bush lodge, earth lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

Selati Camp 7 suites (5 Luxury, 1 Honeymoon, 1 Presidential). Bush Lodge 25 (21 Luxury Suites, 1 accessible suite, 3 Luxury Villas; the trade page says 22 suites including the accessible one plus 3 villas). Little Bush Camp 6 Luxury Suites. Earth Lodge 13 (12 Luxury Suites and the Amber Villa). Smallest: Little Bush Camp; largest: Bush Lodge, which hosts up to 50 guests.

Source: Company · lodges fact sheets, selati camp, little bush camp, bush lodge, earth lodge, trade hub, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

A private game reserve (Sabi Sabi Private Game Reserve) in the Greater Kruger area, not inside Kruger National Park, sharing unfenced borders with Kruger and the Sabi Sand Wildtuin. Guests use open vehicles on the reserve, day and night. Sole traversing rights and land tenure type are not stated; firearm requests go to the Sabi Sand Wildtuin for approval.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, rates, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

Not stated on their website: no mobile or seasonal camps. The pages read show four fixed lodges and say Sabi Sabi can be visited all year round.

Source: Company · home page, helpful info faq, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

Not stated on their website: the lodges are in South Africa and no gorilla or chimpanzee trekking is offered on the pages read.

Source: Company · home page, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

City: The Claremont, a 15-room century-old Cape Dutch manor boutique hotel in Cape Town, promoted with the 'Kruger to Cape' package (book 3 nights at Sabi Sabi, 2 complimentary nights at The Claremont). Whether Sabi Sabi owns it is not spelled out; it is presented within the collection. No beach property is listed.

Source: Company · home page, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

No own aircraft is stated. Guests can fly direct to the private Sabi Sabi airstrip with Federal Air from Johannesburg, or by private plane, or fly to Skukuza airport (road transfer up to 1 hour) or Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport (about 2 hours by road). Airstrip transfers are included; transfers to and from Skukuza airport cost extra.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Not stated on their website: no resident, SADC or regional rates on the pages read. Rates are a single ZAR schedule.

Source: Company · rates, rates bookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Bush Lodge: 'children of all ages are welcome' with a child-minding service at extra cost; the 2026-27 children's policy says children under 6 are not permitted unless a Luxury Villa (private vehicle) is booked. Earth Lodge, Selati Camp and Little Bush Camp: only children over 13 unless the lodge is booked for exclusive use. No children under 12 on the walking safari. Child-minders cost from ZAR 350 per child per hour. The first child is free on stays of 3 nights or more (family package, child is 12 or under, not over 20 Dec to 5 Jan). Reduced children's rates apply. The EleFun Centre (ages 4 to 12) is free.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, sabi sabi rates childrens policy 2026 2027 (PDF), family package, rates, elefun centre · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

Bush Lodge is the family lodge: EleFun Centre with Junior Trackers (4 to 8) and Junior Rangers (9 to 12), kids pool, suites sleep 2 adults and 2 children on day beds, villas sleep 4 adults (or 2 adults and 2 children), up to 6 with extra beds. Under 6s may go on safari only with a villa and private vehicle. No teenager programme is named; Selati, Little Bush and Earth accept over 13s. Exclusive use of any lodge allows children of all ages.

Source: Company · rates, sabi sabi rates childrens policy 2026 2027 (PDF), luxury villas, luxury suite (2), elefun centre, helpful info faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Selati Camp's Lourenco Marques Honeymoon Suite (ZAR 34,100 per person sharing per night) and Selati and Little Bush Camp are pitched to couples and newlyweds; private dining is offered in the honeymoon and presidential suites. The site has a Honeymoons page in its menu, which was not read; no honeymoon offer is priced on the pages read.

Source: Company · rates, selati camp, lourenco marques, little bush camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

No single supplement applies for up to a maximum of 2 suites per booking; after that a supplement of an additional 50% of the daily rate applies. The single supplement always applies to Villas and premium suites. Packages are per person sharing, with 'single package available on request'.

Source: Company · rates, stay 4 pay 3 · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Bush Lodge has a dedicated wheelchair-accessible suite (suite 25), designed for guests with limited mobility. No accessible suite is named at the other lodges. A full-time nurse is on site, with a doctor on call and first-aid trained staff; Sabi Sabi is in a low-risk malaria area.

Source: Company · helpful info faq, lodges fact sheets, bush lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

A private safari vehicle (and guide) is included in the rate for the Ivory Presidential Suite (Selati Camp), the Bush Lodge Luxury Villas and the Earth Lodge Amber Villa. A private vehicle for other suites is not stated, nor is any surcharge.

Source: Company · rates, ivory presidential suite, luxury villas, amber villa · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Each of the four lodges can be reserved for exclusive use; Bush Lodge hosts up to 50 guests and has conference facilities; Earth Lodge, Selati Camp and Little Bush Camp can be taken for exclusive use by smaller parties. Villas (Bush Lodge x3, Earth Lodge Amber Villa) are sold per villa. Children's rates for exclusive use are on request.

Source: Company · rates, sabi sabi rates childrens policy 2026 2027 (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Guides are Sabi Sabi's own rangers and trackers. The conservation page says guides 'undergo a strict selection and training process that is unique to our reserve', covering animal and plant identification, ecology and guest etiquette. The walking safari page says guides have 'hundreds of hours of training'. No FGASA or other formal qualification is named.

Source: Company · explore conservation, walking safari · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Open vehicle game drives by day and at night, environmental walking safaris (not under 12), a full-day community tour, birding safaris, photographic safaris, Amani Spa treatments at Bush Lodge and Earth Lodge, EleFun for children, wine cellar and private dining. No boating, mokoro, horseback or fishing is shown.

Source: Company · rates, helpful info faq, walking safari, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Self-drive from Johannesburg on national roads is described as taking up to five hours, with access via Shaws Gate, so guests can drive themselves to the reserve. Game drives themselves are in the lodge's open vehicles.

Source: Company · helpful info faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

Photographic Safaris and Photographic Rentals appear in the site menu (pages not read). The site has a ranger-written Photography Guide (equipment, accessories, settings, night sky). No photographic hides or dedicated photographic vehicles are described on the pages read.

Source: Company · home page, photography guide, our team · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

A mandatory Sabie Game Reserve (SGR) Conservation Levy is charged: ZAR 450 per person per night (2026-27) and ZAR 495 (2027-28), supporting 'conservation and anti-poaching'. Sabi Sabi runs its own dedicated anti-poaching units and a Habitat Management Team, employs staff from neighbouring areas and promotes community development; guests can support community projects through the Sabi Sabi Foundation. Land lease and community payment amounts are not stated.

Source: Company · rates, explore conservation, helpful info faq, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Each lodge has an artificial wetland wastewater system; Charlotte Rhys toiletry containers are recycled; food waste goes to neighbouring farms as fodder or compost; plastic water bottles are collected and donated for recycling and leftover water is used for laundry and irrigation. Lodges have backup electricity. Solar, electric vehicles and certifications are not stated.

Source: Company · explore conservation, selati camp, little bush camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

Sells through trade: a Trade Hub for travel partners ('Terms that benefit the entire supply chain', 'a dedicated team to service trade and travel partners'), an online image library, per-lodge trade contacts and Agent Payment Terms 2026-2028 (PDF not read). International sales representatives are listed by country.

Source: Company · trade hub, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Sabi Sabi: questions people ask

Is Sabi Sabi a good company to book a safari with?

Sabi Sabi, which its home page dates to 1979, is a family-owned camp owner that sells stays at its own four Greater Kruger lodges and publishes its rates in full. No independent review score was found: the only Google match on 20 October 2026 was a different place (not the reserve) and no Trustpilot profile was found on 19 October 2026. Its deposit and cancellation terms were not read either, so ask for them in writing before paying.

What are the best alternatives to Sabi Sabi for a luxury safari?

The alternatives are Cheetah Plains, Dulini, Londolozi, MalaMala and Tanda Tula, which also have lodges in the Greater Kruger area (the Sabi Sand or the Timbavati). MalaMala's 2026 rack rates are R26,100 to R50,000 per person sharing per night and Tanda Tula's 2026 Safari Suite is ZAR 31,500 per person sharing per night, both read 19 October 2026. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.

How much does a safari with Sabi Sabi cost?

Sabi Sabi charges ZAR 29,600 to ZAR 44,000 per person sharing per night, read 19 October 2026, the same in 2026-27 and 2027-28. That covers meals, drinks except French Champagne and Private Collection wines, game drives and walks. The conservation levy (ZAR 450 per person per night in 2026-27) and transfers from Skukuza airport are extra. A 15% surcharge applies 20 December to 5 January.

What is Sabi Sabi's deposit and cancellation policy?

It was not read. The booking terms page lists a 2026-2027 payment terms PDF and standard terms, but their contents were not read on 19 October 2026. Ask for both in writing before you pay a deposit.

What is the minimum age for children at Sabi Sabi?

It depends on the lodge. Bush Lodge takes children, but the 2026-27 children's policy allows under-6s only with a Luxury Villa booking or exclusive use of the lodge. Selati Camp, Little Bush Camp and Earth Lodge take only children over 13 unless the lodge is booked for exclusive use. Walking safaris are closed to under-12s.

Who owns Sabi Sabi and where is it based?

Sabi Sabi is family-owned: its Our Story page is signed by Hilton and Jacqui Loon as owners. The company is African Cultural Tours (Pty) Ltd, with its head office at 4 Jameson Avenue, Melrose Estate, Johannesburg.

Does Sabi Sabi charge a single supplement?

Not for up to 2 suites per booking, according to the rates page read 19 October 2026. After that a supplement of 50% of the daily rate applies. Villas and premium suites always carry the supplement.

Can you book a private guide and vehicle at Sabi Sabi?

Yes, it is included with the Ivory Presidential Suite at Selati Camp (ZAR 44,000 per person sharing per night), the Bush Lodge Luxury Villas (ZAR 149,000 per villa per night) and the Earth Lodge Amber Villa (ZAR 165,000 per villa per night), read 19 October 2026. No price for a private vehicle with other suites was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.

Is Sabi Sabi good for a honeymoon?

Selati Camp has the Lourenco Marques Honeymoon Suite at ZAR 34,100 per person sharing per night, read 19 October 2026, with private dining. No honeymoon offer is priced on the pages read.

How do you get to Sabi Sabi?

Federal Air flies from Johannesburg to the private Sabi Sabi airstrip; airstrip transfers are included in the rate. Skukuza airport is up to an hour away by road (transfer extra) and Kruger Mpumalanga International Airport about two hours. The drive from Johannesburg takes up to five hours, through Shaws Gate.

Is Sabi Sabi wheelchair accessible?

Bush Lodge has one wheelchair-accessible suite (suite 25). No accessible suite is named at the other three lodges. A full-time nurse is on site, with a doctor on call.

This page contains no paid placement. Sabi Sabi is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with lodges in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 October 2026 from Sabi Sabi's own website and 19 and 20 October 2026 from the review platforms (the alternatives' Google figures were read 20 October 2026), kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.