
Elephants drinking in MalaMala Game Reserve, May 2018. Photo: flowcomm, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY 2.0.
By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026
MalaMala, trading as the Tengile MalaMala Collection, is a camp owner with five operating camps on the MalaMala and Tengile game reserves in the Sabi Sand, Greater Kruger, South Africa, under shared community ownership, with the Saad family named as owner-custodian. Google rates its listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve' 4.7 out of 5 from 560 reviews, read 20 October 2026; no Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found on 19 October 2026. Its 2026 rack rates are R26,100 to R50,000 per person sharing per night, read 19 October 2026, with levies and transfers quoted separately.
MalaMala is a community-owned, owner-led camp owner with five Sabi Sand camps, a Google rating of 4.7 from 560 reviews (read 20 October 2026) and published 2026 and 2027 rack rates, but its deposit and cancellation terms could not be read on 19 October 2026.
The company is Tengile MalaMala Collection (Pty) Ltd, registration number 2020/767403/07, with its registered office in Durban and an office in Sea Point, Cape Town. Its about page dates MalaMala's history to 1927, when William Campbell acquired the land; the Rattray family took over in 1964. In 2013 ownership of MalaMala Game Reserve was "awarded to the local community" through a land claim and in 2016 Stephen Saad and his family joined the community in its care. Caroline Burke and Savannah Saad are named as Managing Directors. It is a camp owner and sells only its own lodges and camps.
Reviews: Google 4.7 out of 5 from 560 reviews for the MalaMala Game Reserve listing, read 20 October 2026. No Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found and Tripadvisor could not be read, all on 19 October 2026.
No award dated 2024, 2025 or 2026 was on the pages read on 19 October 2026; the about page mentions Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report lists from 1983 and two years later. No certification, tourism licence or payment protection was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. The deposit, balance and cancellation terms could not be read on 19 October 2026: the booking page gave no readable content and the terms page covers use of the website only.
It suits solo travellers who want no single supplement and families with young children at MalaMala Camp or Kirkman's Kamp.

MalaMala's 2026 rack rates, read 19 October 2026, are R26,100 to R50,000 per person sharing per night; in 2027 they are R29,160 to R60,000, with conservation levies, transfers and child rates quoted on request.
Rack rates are published on each camp page in South African rand, per adult sharing per night. Read 19 October 2026.
Seasons for 2026 at Tengile: high 11 January to 31 May and 1 October to 20 December, peak 1 June to 30 September and 21 December to 5 January. For 2027 across the camps: high 6 January to 14 May and 16 October to 20 December, peak 15 May to 15 October and 21 December to 5 January.
What the rate includes is not listed. The rate tables say "Please enquire for Child Rates, Transfers, Conservation Levies and contracted rates", so levies and transfers are not in the rack rate. A private vehicle is extra, per vehicle per night: R23,000 in 2026 at Tengile and Kirkman's. In 2027 it is R22,000 high or R25,500 peak at all five camps.
All of MalaMala's camps are in the Sabi Sand Nature Reserve in the Greater Kruger area of South Africa, on two private reserves (MalaMala and Tengile) with an unfenced eastern boundary to Kruger National Park.
The experiences page says Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp access some 10,500 ha and the three MalaMala camps traverse 15,880 ha; the Rattray's page gives MalaMala Game Reserve as 13,500 ha. The company says it has 20 km of perennial Sand River frontage. Sole traversing rights are not stated.
All are fixed lodges and camps; no mobile or seasonal camps were on the pages read on 19 October 2026. No beach or city property was on the pages read on 19 October 2026.
MalaMala fits solo travellers (its solo suites cost the same as the per-person sharing rate) and families with young children (MalaMala Camp and Kirkman's Kamp take all ages).
Not the fit if you are bringing under-13s to Rattray's, 13 to 15-year-olds to Rattray's without booking the whole lodge, or under-12s to Tengile River Lodge or Sable Camp without exclusive use, or want a published rate that states what it includes.
The alternatives to MalaMala are Cheetah Plains, Dulini, Londolozi, Sabi Sabi and Tanda Tula, camp owners whose lodges are also in the Greater Kruger area of South Africa: four in or beside the Sabi Sand and Tanda Tula in the Timbavati. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.
Book MalaMala directly through its reservations teams or its Plan your stay enquiry form, or through a travel agent on contracted nett rates; its deposit and cancellation terms could not be read on 19 October 2026.
MalaMala sells direct and through trade partners; the camp pages tell agents to "enquire for your contracted Nett rates". MalaMala Game Reserve reservations: +27 11 442 2267, [email protected]. Tengile Game Reserve reservations: +27 21 300 8749, [email protected]. No resident or regional rate was on the pages read on 19 October 2026 and no reply time is promised beyond "shortly".
No trust account, bonding or other protection for guest payments was on the pages read on 19 October 2026; the camp pages advise guests to have travel insurance. The deposit, balance and cancellation terms could not be read on 19 October 2026. Ask them to itemise:
59 facts about MalaMala were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.
Trading name and legal entity
Trading name 'Tengile MalaMala Collection' (the brand MalaMala is used across the site). Legal entity: 'Tengile MalaMala Collection (Pty) Ltd', Company Registration No 2020/767403/07, registered in South Africa. Registered office: 2 Wilford Court, 5 Miller Grove, Berea, Durban, Kwa-Zulu Natal, 4001.
Source: Company · terms and conditions, privacy policy · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Where it is based
The registered office is in Durban, South Africa. The privacy policy also gives a 'Cape Town Office: 403 The Equinox, 154 Main Road, Sea Point, Cape Town' with phone +2721 300 8920. The lodges are in the Sabi Sand Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger. Contact numbers are +27 11 (MalaMala reservations) and +27 21 (Tengile reservations, sales, marketing), plus a +44 London number for public relations. No single 'head office' is named.
Source: Company · terms and conditions, privacy policy, contact, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Year founded
No founding year or founder is given for the Collection itself. The history on the about page says William Campbell acquired MalaMala in 1927; the Rattray family took over in 1964 (Rattray's Lodge is named for Mike and Norma Rattray, who 'founded and built up the MalaMala Game Reserve'); Stephen Saad became custodian of Toulon Farm (now Tengile Game Reserve) in 2003; Tengile River Lodge opened in 2018.
Source: Company · about, rattrays lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Owner or parent
Community and family ownership: 'Today, under shared community ownership, Tengile MalaMala continues to protect its wilderness'. Ownership of MalaMala Game Reserve was 'awarded to the local community through a structured land-claim process' in 2013 and in 2016 Stephen Saad and his family joined the community in its care. The FAQ calls it 'an owner-led, community-partnered safari collection'. No parent group or investors are named.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, about, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
What it is (camp owner / planner / both)
Camp owner. The site sells stays at its own lodges and camps only; its 'travel specialists' design 'a personalised itinerary' around those properties and no other companies' camps are offered.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, faq, camps · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Team
Team size is not stated. Named management: Caroline Burke and Savannah Saad, both 'Managing Director'. The Saad family is named as owner-custodian ('Saad Family' quote) and is 'closely involved in interiors'. Interior designer Michelle Throssell co-created Tengile and Khensani River Lodge.
Where it sells
Sold direct to guests through the reservations team and the 'Plan your stay' enquiry form and through trade partners: the FAQ says the team 'works closely with guests and trade partners' and the camp pages say 'Please enquire for your contracted Nett rates'. A media kit is available on request. No resident rates are on the pages read.
Source: Company · faq, tengile river lodge, malamala camp, contact, contact us, booking · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
In its own words
'A rare opportunity for you to experience and protect one of Africa's most iconic wildernesses.' Also 'an owner-led, community-partnered safari collection in the Sabi Sand Game Reserve' and 'one of South Africa's few black-empowered eco-tourism enterprises'. Claims include 20 km of perennial Sand River frontage and 'the lowest vehicle to land ratio in the Sabi Sand area'.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, faq, about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Response time and named contact
No reply time is promised beyond 'our reservations team will be in touch shortly'. Reservation contacts (no person named): MalaMala Game Reserve Reservations +27 11 442 2267, [email protected]; Tengile Game Reserve Reservations +27 21 300 8749, [email protected]; Sales +27 21 300 8928.
Source: Company · contact, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
4.7 out of 5 from 560 reviews on the Google listing 'MalaMala Game Reserve' (wildlife and safari park), MalaMala Game Reserve, Campbell Road, Sabie Park. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
Source: Independent source · Google Maps · crawl · 20 Oct 2026
Trustpilot
No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/malamala.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Tripadvisor
Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Feefo
Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
SafariBookings
No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Travelstride
Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Trustindex
Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Any other independent platform
Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google, Expedia or other review platform is shown. The home page carries one quote from a National Geographic filmmaker (Russell MacLaughlin), which is not a review platform.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, faq, about · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Where it asks guests to leave reviews
Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review or links to a review platform.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, faq, contact, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Every award, 2024 to 2026
Not stated on their website for 2024 to 2026. The about page mentions only historic recognition: Andrew Harper's Hideaway Report named MalaMala one of the 'Top 23 Hideaways in the World' in 1983 and 'Top Safari Lodge in the World' two years later. The Rattray's page calls its villas 'award-winning' without naming an award.
Source: Company · about, rattrays lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camps on named lists
Not stated on their website: no camp is shown on a Condé Nast, Travel + Leisure, Tatler or Tripadvisor list.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, about, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Certifications
Not stated on their website: no B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism, Travelife, Long Run or other certification is named. The site describes itself as 'one of South Africa's few black-empowered eco-tourism enterprises', which is a self-description, not a register entry.
Source: Company · home page, tengilemalamala.com home page, conservation, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Prices published
Yes. Rack rates are published on each camp page, in South African rand (ZAR, shown as 'R'), for 2026 and 2027. The /rates page itself shows only the camp overview and no prices. Khensani River Lodge (opening December 2026) shows no rates.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp, rates, khensani river lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Rates per person per night by season
ZAR rack rates, per adult sharing, per night. 2026: MalaMala Camp suites R27 600, rooms R26 100; Sable Camp R30 150; Rattray's R42 800; Tengile River Lodge R46 500 high (11 Jan-31 May, 1 Oct-20 Dec) or R50 000 peak (1 Jun-30 Sep, 21 Dec-5 Jan); Kirkman's Kamp cottage R26 450 high or R28 500 peak. 2027, high (6 Jan-14 May, 16 Oct-20 Dec) or peak (15 May-15 Oct, 21 Dec-5 Jan): MalaMala Camp suite R30 550 or R32 850, room R29 160 or R31 350; Sable R32 100 or R34 520; Rattray's R46 170 or R49 650; Tengile R55 800 or R60 000; Kirkman's R29 160 or R31 350.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Price per person per day
2026 per person sharing: lowest R26 100 (MalaMala Camp luxury room), highest R50 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak season). 2027: lowest R29 160 (MalaMala Camp luxury room and Kirkman's Kamp cottage, high season), highest R60 000 (Tengile River Lodge, peak). All are ZAR rack rates. The R5 600 'Pilot Guide Room' rate and private vehicle fees are left out.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Minimum stay
Not stated on their website: no minimum number of nights is given on the camp pages or elsewhere.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
What the rate includes
What the rate includes is not listed. The rate tables say only 'Please enquire for Child Rates, Transfers, Conservation Levies and contracted rates', so transfers and conservation levies are not in the quoted rack rate and child rates are quoted separately. Meals, drinks and activities are described on the camp pages (for example drinks on Sable Camp evening drives) but not tied to the rate.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Deposit
Could not access: the 'Plan your stay' booking page held no readable content when read and the terms page covers use of the website only. No deposit is shown.
Source: Company · booking, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Balance due
Could not access: the 'Plan your stay' booking page held no readable content when read and the terms page covers use of the website only. No balance due date is shown.
Source: Company · booking, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Cancellation charges
Could not access: the 'Plan your stay' booking page held no readable content when read and the terms page covers use of the website only. No cancellation scale is shown.
Source: Company · booking, terms and conditions · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or insurance is described for guest payments. The camp pages only advise guests to 'ensure appropriate travel insurance is in place'.
Source: Company · terms and conditions, malamala camp, booking · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Currencies and card fees
Not stated on their website: accepted currencies and card fees are not given. Rates are quoted in ZAR.
Source: Company · malamala camp, tengile river lodge, terms and conditions, booking · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
24-hour contact while travelling
Not stated on their website: no 24-hour emergency line is given. The camp pages say 'The lodge team is always available to assist should any medical needs arise during your stay'; the contact page lists office numbers only.
Source: Company · contact, contact us, malamala camp, tengile river lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
How it is paid
Trade rates exist but their terms are not on the pages read: the camp pages say 'Please enquire for your contracted Nett rates' and 'contracted rates'; the FAQ says the team works with 'trade partners'. No commission figure is stated.
Source: Company · tengile river lodge, malamala camp, sable camp, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Price against booking through a planner
Not stated on their website: no statement on direct price parity or a direct-booking benefit.
Source: Company · faq, contact, contact us, malamala camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Licences and registrations
Not stated on their website: no tourism licence number or association membership (ATTA, SATSA, HAN, TATO, KATO) is shown. The only registration given is the company number 2020/767403/07.
Source: Company · terms and conditions, privacy policy, about, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Countries with camps
South Africa only (Sabi Sand Nature Reserve, Greater Kruger).
Source: Company · tengilemalamala.com home page, home page, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Number of camps and lodges
Five operating lodges and camps (Tengile River Lodge, Rattray's, Kirkman's Kamp, MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp), described as two lodges and three camps. A sixth, Khensani River Lodge, is 'scheduled to open in December 2026'. Owned versus managed is not stated.
Source: Company · faq, about, khensani river lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camps and where they are
Tengile Game Reserve (Sabi Sand Nature Reserve): Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp. MalaMala Game Reserve (Greater Kruger): MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp and Rattray's Lodge. Khensani River Lodge (opening December 2026) sits on MalaMala's Charleston area along the Sand River.
Source: Company · faq, tengile river lodge, kirkmans kamp, malamala camp, sable camp, rattrays lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camp sizes
Tengile River Lodge 9 suites (one family suite); Rattray's 8 suites; MalaMala Camp 11 suites and 8 rooms (the FAQ says ten suites, eight rooms and one single room); Sable Camp 7 suites including the two-bedroom Lion's Den; Kirkman's Kamp 12 cottages (one family unit); Khensani River Lodge 9 suites. The smallest is Sable Camp (7); the largest is MalaMala Camp (19 units).
Source: Company · faq, tengilemalamala.com home page, home page, rates, camps, accommodation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Land and traversing
Private game reserves forming part of the Sabi Sand Nature Reserve, with an unfenced eastern boundary to Kruger National Park. The experiences page says Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp access some 10 500 ha and Rattray's, MalaMala Camp and Sable Camp traverse 15 880 ha. The Rattray's page calls MalaMala Game Reserve 13 500 ha. MalaMala is community-owned. Sole traversing rights are not stated as such.
Source: Company · experiences, about, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Mobile and seasonal camps
Not stated on their website: all properties are fixed lodges and camps; no mobile or seasonal camps are mentioned.
Source: Company · faq, tengilemalamala.com home page, home page, rates, camps, accommodation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Gorilla and primate trekking
Not stated on their website: no gorilla or chimpanzee trekking is offered or mentioned (South Africa only).
Source: Company · experiences, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Beach and city add-ons
Not stated on their website: no beach or city properties are mentioned.
Source: Company · faq, tengilemalamala.com home page, home page, rates, camps, accommodation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Own air and transfers
No own aircraft is stated. Guests can fly Johannesburg or Cape Town to Skukuza Airport (about one hour by road to MalaMala, 15 to 20 minutes to Tengile and Kirkman's), or fly from O.R. Tambo to the MalaMala private airstrip 'via scheduled shuttle services'. 'Private charter flights can also be arranged.' Transfers are not shown as included in the rate ('Please enquire for ... Transfers').
Source: Company · malamala camp, tengile river lodge, kirkmans kamp, rattrays lodge, sable camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Resident and regional rates
Not stated on their website: no resident, SADC or local rates are on the pages read.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Family and child policy
Kirkman's Kamp and MalaMala Camp take children of all ages; Rattray's does not allow under 16s (over 12 if the whole lodge is booked); Tengile River Lodge and Sable Camp do not take under 12s unless booked for exclusive use. Child rates: MalaMala Camp 2026 R16 560 per child 0-11 sharing, with a 0-11 discount; Kirkman's under 5 free, 6-16 50% off. Family units: Tengile Family Suite, Kirkman's family cottage. Childminders cost R120 per hour at Sable Camp.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Teenagers and multigenerational
Sable Camp and the future Khensani River Lodge suit 'multi-generational or friends and family groups' wanting partial or full exclusive use. Teens aged 12 to 16 may join drives and standard walks at Tengile and Sable, but not specialist walking safaris. Booking a private vehicle lets children of any age join drives, with sightings at the guide's discretion. Teen-specific activities are not listed.
Source: Company · faq, sable camp, tengile river lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Honeymoon
Not stated on their website: no honeymoon offers or couples camps are named. The FAQ only says stays can be tailored to guests 'celebrating a special occasion' and recommends Tengile River Lodge, Rattray's and Khensani River Lodge for privacy.
Solo travellers
No single supplement is on the pages read. MalaMala Camp has a 'Luxury Single Suite' (2026) at R27 600 per night, the same as the per-person sharing rate; a 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' is at the same price as the sharing rate; Sable Camp's 2027 'Luxury Solo Suite' also matches its sharing rate.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Older travellers and limited mobility
MalaMala Camp is 'one of the few safari destinations with a universally accessible suite', designed to the Disabled People's Information Service of South Africa guidelines, with 'specially equipped Land Rovers' for game drives. Tengile River Lodge lists 'Wheelchair accessible with assistance'. Guests are advised to consult a doctor about vaccinations and malaria before travel.
Source: Company · malamala camp, tengile river lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Private guide and vehicle
Yes. A private vehicle is sold per vehicle, per night: 2026 R23 000 at Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp; 2027 R22 000 (high) or R25 500 (peak) at MalaMala Camp, Sable Camp, Rattray's, Tengile and Kirkman's. These are ZAR rack rates.
Source: Company · malamala camp, sable camp, tengile river lodge, rattrays lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Exclusive-use camps and villas
Exclusive use is offered: Tengile River Lodge and Sable Camp take under 12s only if booked for exclusive use; Rattray's is 'great for intimate exclusive use groups'; Sable Camp and Khensani River Lodge suit partial or full exclusive use. Khensani is an 'ultra private villa concept'. Whole-camp buy-out prices are not on the pages read.
Source: Company · faq, tengile river lodge, sable camp, rattrays lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Guides
'All our rangers are expertly trained, with accredited field guide qualifications. Most have studied the natural sciences at university and are specialists in several fields such as Ornithology, Entomology and Zoology.' FGASA or another body is not named.
Source: Company · conservation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Activities
Twice-daily game drives in 4x4 vehicles (sensitive off-road driving; Sable Camp drives carry a maximum of six guests), bird watching (500 species), nature walks in the winter months at some camps, on-foot safaris at Sable Camp, night drives and stargazing, spa and wellness treatments and tennis at Kirkman's Kamp. Tengile also offers a pool and gym area. Boating, mokoro, horseback and fishing are not mentioned.
Source: Company · experiences, sable camp, tengile river lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Self-drive access
Not stated on their website: self-drive is not addressed. The pages give road directions (5 to 6 hours from Johannesburg via Hazyview and Shaw's Gate) but do not say whether guests may drive themselves.
Source: Company · malamala camp, tengile river lodge, kirkmans kamp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Photography
Not stated on their website: no photographic hides or dedicated photography vehicles or guides are described. The FAQ only says guides 'prioritise natural behaviour over staged images' and manage spotlights at night; it calls MalaMala 'one of Africa's original photographic safari destinations'.
Source: Company · faq, experiences · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Conservation model
Community ownership of MalaMala Game Reserve (land claim 2013) and 'local community shareholders' keep 'conservation, employment and long-term development' aligned. Conservation work: anti-poaching ('millions of Rands'), a rhino de-horning programme twice a year 'partly funded through guest levies and donations', research with Panthera, the Mabula Ground Hornbill project, bush thinning and controlled burns. No per-night amount is stated.
Source: Company · about, conservation, faq · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Sustainability
Lodges are 'moving steadily toward more sustainable operations through increased use of solar power, careful water management and reduced single use plastics', with energy efficient appliances and lighting, responsible laundry practices and improved waste separation. The estate claims the lowest vehicle to land ratio in the Sabi Sand. Electric vehicles are not mentioned and no certification is named.
Source: Company · faq, conservation · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Trade and planner partnerships
The FAQ says the team works closely with guests and trade partners to put together the most suitable options. The rate pages offer 'contracted Nett rates' and a media kit is offered to media or trade partners on request. No agent portal or preferred partner list is shown.
Source: Company · faq, tengile river lodge, malamala camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.
MalaMala is a community-owned, owner-led camp owner with five camps in the Sabi Sand and a Google rating of 4.7 out of 5 from 560 reviews, read 20 October 2026. It publishes rack rates for 2026 and 2027. Its deposit and cancellation terms could not be read on 19 October 2026, so ask for them in writing.
The alternatives are Cheetah Plains, Dulini, Londolozi, Sabi Sabi and Tanda Tula, which also have lodges in the Greater Kruger area. Sabi Sabi charges ZAR 29,600 to ZAR 44,000 per person sharing per night and Londolozi's rates start at R27,950 per person per night at Varty Camp, both read 19 October 2026. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.
MalaMala's 2026 rack rates are R26,100 to R50,000 per person sharing per night and its 2027 rates R29,160 to R60,000, read 19 October 2026. The lowest is a MalaMala Camp room; the highest is Tengile River Lodge in peak season. Child rates, transfers and conservation levies are quoted on request.
It could not be read. On 19 October 2026 the booking page gave no readable content and the terms page covers use of the website only. Ask for the deposit, balance date and cancellation scale in writing before you pay.
It depends on the camp. MalaMala Camp and Kirkman's Kamp take children of all ages. Rattray's does not take under-16s (over-12s if the whole lodge is booked). Tengile River Lodge and Sable Camp do not take under-12s unless booked for exclusive use.
MalaMala Game Reserve is under shared community ownership after a 2013 land claim; Stephen Saad and his family joined the community in its care in 2016. The company, Tengile MalaMala Collection (Pty) Ltd, has its registered office in Durban and an office in Sea Point, Cape Town.
No single supplement appeared in the rates read 19 October 2026. MalaMala Camp's 2026 Luxury Single Suite is R27,600 per night, the same as the per-person sharing rate. Sable Camp's 2027 Luxury Solo Suite also matches its sharing rate.
Yes. A private vehicle costs R23,000 per vehicle per night in 2026 at Tengile River Lodge and Kirkman's Kamp, read 19 October 2026. In 2027 it is R22,000 high or R25,500 peak at all five camps.
The camp pages do not list what the rate includes. They say to enquire for child rates, transfers, conservation levies and contracted rates, so those are not in the published rack rate. Ask for the inclusions in writing.
No honeymoon offer was on the pages read on 19 October 2026. The FAQ says stays can be tailored for a special occasion and suggests Tengile River Lodge, Rattray's and Khensani River Lodge for privacy. Tengile River Lodge costs R46,500 to R50,000 per person sharing per night in 2026, read 19 October 2026.
MalaMala Camp has a universally accessible suite and specially equipped Land Rovers for game drives. Tengile River Lodge is listed as wheelchair accessible with assistance.
Read next
This page contains no paid placement. MalaMala is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with lodges in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 October 2026 from MalaMala's own website and 19 and 20 October 2026 from Google Maps, Trustpilot and SafariBookings (the alternatives' Google figures were read 20 October 2026), kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.