Expeditions · Safari operator reviews 2026

Rothschild Safaris Review 2026: Is It Worth It, What It Costs, and Who Runs It

By Richard J. · written from ValenciaScore 58/100 on six published criteriaVerified 22 September 2026

Rothschild Safaris scores 58 out of 100 on Uncompromised Travel's six published criteria: a reasonable choice for travellers who want a founder-led, Africa-focused planner with 28 years of trading behind it, but a weak one for anyone who wants to compare a published price before they call. The Denver, Colorado agency publishes no from-prices, per-day rates or priced sample itineraries on its own site; the closest verifiable figure is a third-party range of USD 5,841 to 15,000 per person across the 20 trips the aggregator Travelstride lists for the company, with no per-day breakdown and no date confirming it reflects current rates. Rothschild Safaris was founded in 1998 by Leora Rothschild, a South African-born travel designer, and is a privately held, founder-led business with no disclosed parent company.

Verified 22 September 2026 · rothschildsafaris.com · Trustpilot · Travelstride · Better Business Bureau · re-read at source

Score breakdown

Every operator on this site is scored against the same six published criteria: first-hand African expertise (25 points), independent review evidence (20), destination breadth (15), pricing transparency (15), service model and support hours (15) and ownership transparency (10). Every deduction below is stated with its reason; the score is never adjusted to fit a conclusion.

CriterionScoreWhy
First-hand African expertise20/25Founder Leora Rothschild is South African-born; the company lists seven named travel designers, several with 20 to 30 years of African travel experience and personal ties to South Africa and Zimbabwe. Deducted 5 points: the company has not published a confirmed office or wholly-owned entity inside Africa, and works through in-country ground partners it does not name on its site.
Independent review evidence8/20Trustpilot shows 4.8/5 from 37 reviews (claimed profile, June 2017) and Travelstride shows 4.9/5 from 53 ratings across 20 trips; both platforms' newest dated review sits at August 2023, more than three years stale as of this verification. No dedicated SafariBookings operator profile or independently confirmed Google Business rating was found.
Destination breadth12/1514 African countries are listed on the operator's own destinations page. Deducted 3 points because the sister brand Rothschild Beyond, which covers Latin America and other regions, does not itemise which countries it actually operates in.
Pricing transparency3/15No from-prices, per-person figures or inclusions lists are published on rothschildsafaris.com for any trip. The only verifiable figure is a third-party aggregator range, not a first-party published price. This is the operator's weakest criterion.
Service model and support hours9/15A bespoke planning model (not hosted, not lodge-owning) with a stated 24-hour US phone line and a separate Australia line for other time zones. Deducted points because inclusions, response-time commitments and named in-country partners are not published.
Ownership transparency6/10Founder named, founding year public (1998), and a Denver, Colorado head office confirmed via the Better Business Bureau. Deducted points because Yelp and the BBB list two different Denver addresses, and the company's own claim of a 2026 Travel + Leisure World's Best #1 ranking could not be independently confirmed on Travel + Leisure's own site during this research.
A hot air balloon safari at dawn over the open savannah of the Maasai Mara, Kenya
Maasai Mara, Kenya, one of the destinations Rothschild Safaris covers under its Wildlife Immersion journey style across its 14 African countries. Not photographed on a Rothschild Safaris trip. Photo: Svein Magne Tunli, Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA).

Is Rothschild Safaris worth it?

Rothschild Safaris is worth a call for a traveller who wants a small, founder-involved US planner with three decades of trading and is comfortable requesting a quote rather than shopping a published price. Leora Rothschild founded the company in 1998 after growing up visiting Kruger National Park in South Africa, and the site states she remains involved from the first conversation through to the trip itself. The company describes its process as "listen, design, immerse" rather than working from templated itineraries, and groups its trips by style rather than by fixed departure, which suits travellers planning a one-off milestone trip more than those comparison-shopping a fixed departure date.

The case against it is straightforward: nothing about cost is published anywhere on the operator's own site, and the independent review evidence that exists has not been refreshed since 2023. A reader who wants to verify service quality or price before committing has to do that work by phone, not by reading the company's own pages.

How much does a Rothschild Safaris safari cost?

Rothschild Safaris does not publish a single from-price, per-day rate or costed sample itinerary anywhere on rothschildsafaris.com. Its FAQ page discusses gratuities (it suggests roughly USD 400 per person for a two-week safari) but gives no trip cost. The closest verifiable figure comes from the third-party aggregator Travelstride, which lists 20 Rothschild Safaris trips with an aggregate price range; it is not a price the operator itself has published, and its currency date is not confirmed as 2026.

SourceWhat it showsFigurePer-day figure
Rothschild Safaris (own site)Published trip pricingNot publishedNot published
Travelstride (third-party aggregator)Price range across 20 listed tripsUSD 5,841 to 15,000 per personNot stated

For a reader who wants an itemised, dated quote to compare it against, a specialist quote service can return one with a published from-price and inclusions list; the three routes for doing that are set out in full in "How to price a comparable safari" below.

What do Rothschild Safaris reviews say?

Rothschild Safaris holds strong star ratings on Trustpilot and Travelstride, but both platforms' newest dated review is from August 2023, and no independently confirmed SafariBookings or Google Business listing was found. A claimed Trustpilot profile since June 2017 carries 37 reviews at 4.8 out of 5, 97% of them five-star. Travelstride aggregates 53 traveller ratings across the 20 trips it tracks for the company at 4.9 out of 5. Tripadvisor's results for the company are limited to forum mentions inside its Tanzania board rather than a claimed business page.

PlatformRatingCountNewest reviewLink
Trustpilot4.8/537 reviews17 Aug 2023View profile
Travelstride4.9/553 ratings, 20 tripsAug 2023View profile
SafariBookingsNot foundNo dedicated operator profile locatedN/ASearch SafariBookings
Google BusinessNot independently confirmedNot confirmedN/ANot available

Rothschild Safaris' awards, dated where they can be

Rothschild Safaris' dateable record is a run of Travel + Leisure World's Best readers' survey wins between 2013 and 2017; a current claim of a 2026 win on its own site could not be independently confirmed. The company ranked No. 1 on Travel + Leisure's 2013 World's Best Awards list of top safari outfitters, was awarded Top Safari Outfitter again in the 2014 readers' survey, and was named the No. 1 Safari Outfitter for a third time in the 2017 survey. Separately, Leora Rothschild was named to Travel + Leisure's 2014 A-List of Top Travel Specialists. The operator's current homepage states it holds the Travel + Leisure World's Best #1 Safari Outfitter title for 2026 and cites recognition from National Geographic, Elite Traveler and Bentley; Uncompromised Travel could not locate that 2026 result independently on Travel + Leisure's own site during this research and treats it as a company claim rather than a confirmed fact, pending a sourceable link.

Where Rothschild Safaris travels, and its journey styles

The company groups its trips by style rather than by fixed itinerary, spanning 14 African countries plus a separate worldwide brand for everywhere else. Its own site lists Private Travel, Wildlife Immersion, Adventure Travel, Family Travel, Slow Travel, and Milestones & Celebrations as its journey categories, each built to order rather than sold as a fixed departure.

Journey styleWhereWhat it does bestThe trade-off
Wildlife ImmersionEast and Southern AfricaBuilt around named designers' own regional experience rather than a fixed templateNo published inclusions list or price to compare against a rival's
Family TravelAfrica-wideBespoke pacing for multi-generational groups, built on requestNo sample family itinerary with a price is published
Milestones & CelebrationsAfrica-wideAnniversary and honeymoon-style trips shaped around a single occasionEntirely quote-based; no benchmark cost available anywhere
Slow TravelAfrica-wideFewer camps, longer stays, positioned against a fast multi-country circuitLonger stays typically cost more per day; no figure is published to confirm this
Rothschild Beyond (sister brand)Latin America and other regions, per rothschildbeyond.comExtends the same planner model outside AfricaSpecific countries covered are not itemised on the brand's own site
The open grassland plains of the Serengeti, Tanzania, with scattered acacia trees
Serengeti National Park, Tanzania, one of the 14 African countries Rothschild Safaris lists on its destinations page. Not photographed on a Rothschild Safaris trip. Photo: Bjørn Christian Tørrissen, Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA).

Who owns Rothschild Safaris?

Rothschild Safaris is privately held and founder-led by Leora Rothschild, who has run it since 1998, with no disclosed parent company or outside investor. The company's Better Business Bureau listing shows a Denver, Colorado address at 2055 S Oneida St, Suite 282, and confirms the business began trading on 27 January 1998, giving it 28 years of operating history as of 2026. A separate Yelp listing shows a different Denver address (600 South Cherry Street), a discrepancy Uncompromised Travel could not resolve from public sources; readers who need a confirmed current address should call the company's stated US line before relying on either listing. No USTOA, ASTA, ATTA or Virtuoso membership was found on the company's own site or in the public sources checked.

Rothschild Safaris vs Extraordinary Journeys, Roar Africa and Ker & Downey

Rothschild Safaris scores below Extraordinary Journeys, Roar Africa and Ker & Downey, and the gap is almost entirely published pricing. Against Extraordinary Journeys (81/100), Rothschild Safaris is smaller in disclosed destination count (14 African countries against 16, plus a further 39 worldwide) and weaker on pricing: Extraordinary Journeys publishes a from-price of roughly USD 10,000 to 12,000 per person for a ten-day safari, where Rothschild Safaris publishes none. Against Roar Africa (68/100), both are founder-led US planners without owned lodges; Roar Africa publishes a specific from-price (USD 23,850 per person for its five-day retreat) that Rothschild Safaris does not match with anything of its own. Against Ker & Downey (64 to 65/100 across its divisions), Rothschild Safaris scores marginally higher on review evidence and ownership clarity, since Ker & Downey's four-entity structure is harder for a traveller to untangle, but Ker & Downey's Botswana camp division publishes nightly rates (from USD 740) where Rothschild Safaris publishes nothing at all.

How to price a comparable safari

Since Rothschild Safaris does not publish prices, a reader who wants a costed comparison has three practical routes: going direct, requesting a specialist quote, or comparing published platform listings.

RouteWhat you getBest for
DirectCall or email Rothschild Safaris for a bespoke quote; no published starting figure to anchor the conversationTravellers who already want this specific operator and are comfortable negotiating blind on price
Specialist quoteAn itemised, dated quote with a published from-price and inclusions listTravellers who want a benchmark figure before they call any operator
Platform comparisonSide-by-side published listings across multiple operators and campsTravellers who want to compare several operators' published prices in one place

Get a specialist quote through Go2Africa

Compare published listings on Safari.com

Compare published listings on BookAllSafaris

What changed in 2026

Four things stand out in this operator's record as of 22 September 2026. First, Rothschild Beyond continues to operate as a separate branded site extending the company's private-planning model into Latin America and other regions outside Africa, per rothschildbeyond.com. Second, the operator's own homepage now credits itself with a Travel + Leisure World's Best #1 Safari Outfitter title for 2026, an update on the readers'-survey wins it earned in 2013, 2014 and 2017; Uncompromised Travel could not independently source the 2026 result on Travel + Leisure's own site during this research. Third, the independent review evidence on Trustpilot and Travelstride has not refreshed since August 2023, meaning the company's public review record is now more than three years old. Fourth, the deposit and cancellation terms published at rothschildsafaris.com's terms and conditions page (25% non-refundable deposit at booking, balance due 90 days before departure, no exceptions for weather, terrorism or civil strife) remain as recorded during this verification, with no evidence of a 2026 change.

Aerial view of the braided waterways and channels of the Okavango Delta, Botswana
Okavango Delta, Botswana, one of the 14 African countries Rothschild Safaris lists on its destinations page. Not photographed on a Rothschild Safaris trip. Photo: Diego Delso, delso.photo, Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0).

Straight answers to the questions readers ask

Is Rothschild Safaris worth it?

It scores 58 out of 100 on Uncompromised Travel's six criteria. It suits travellers who want a founder-led, Africa-focused planner with 28 years of trading since 1998 and want to speak to a named designer before booking. It is a weaker fit for anyone who wants to compare a published from-price before picking up the phone, since Rothschild Safaris publishes none on its own site.

How much does a Rothschild Safaris safari cost?

Rothschild Safaris does not publish from-prices, per-day rates or sample itineraries with costs on rothschildsafaris.com. The closest verifiable figure is the third-party aggregator Travelstride, which lists the 20 Rothschild Safaris trips it tracks at USD 5,841 to 15,000 per person, with no per-day breakdown and no confirmation that the range reflects current 2026 rates.

Who owns Rothschild Safaris?

Rothschild Safaris was founded in 1998 by Leora Rothschild, a South African-born travel designer who grew up visiting Kruger National Park, and remains privately held. The company has not disclosed a parent company or outside investor. It lists a Denver, Colorado head office and a team of seven named travel designers on its own site.

What do Rothschild Safaris reviews say?

Trustpilot shows 4.8 out of 5 from 37 reviews on a profile claimed in June 2017, with the newest review dated 17 August 2023. The aggregator Travelstride shows 4.9 out of 5 from 53 traveller ratings across 20 listed trips, also last updated around August 2023. Uncompromised Travel found no dedicated SafariBookings operator profile and no independently confirmed Google Business rating for the company.

Is Rothschild Safaris legitimate, ATOL or ABTA protected?

Rothschild Safaris is a US-registered travel agency based in Denver, Colorado, in business since 1998 according to its Better Business Bureau listing. ATOL and ABTA are UK financial-protection schemes and do not apply to a US operator. Uncompromised Travel found no evidence of USTOA, ASTA, ATTA or Virtuoso membership, or of any US bonding scheme, on the company's own site or in public records checked on 22 September 2026.

What is included in the price?

Rothschild Safaris does not publish a standard inclusions list because it does not publish prices. Its own terms state a non-refundable deposit of 25% of the land price is due at booking, with the balance due 90 days before departure, and that the company strongly recommends, but does not require, comprehensive travel insurance including a cancel-for-any-reason policy.

Which countries does Rothschild Safaris cover?

Rothschild Safaris lists 14 African countries on its own destinations page: Botswana, Kenya, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Its sister brand, Rothschild Beyond, extends the same planning model to Latin America and other regions, though specific countries are not itemised on that site.

Can I book Rothschild Safaris through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Rothschild Safaris is not bookable through this site and had no input into this review. Uncompromised Travel earns no commission on a Rothschild Safaris trip. Readers who want a priced, bookable safari to compare against it can get an itemised specialist quote through Go2Africa or compare listings through Safari.com and BookAllSafaris, both of which are affiliate links that pay this site a commission at no extra cost to the traveller.

Rothschild Safaris is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page; nothing here earns a commission on a Rothschild Safaris trip. Go2Africa, Safari.com and BookAllSafaris links are affiliate links used to price a comparable safari and pay this site a commission if you book; the rates you pay are unchanged. Rankings are scored against published criteria. Partners are labelled. Sources verified 22 September 2026: rothschildsafaris.com, rothschildbeyond.com, Trustpilot, Travelstride, Better Business Bureau, Travel + Leisure press coverage archived via adventuretravelnews.com and prweb.com.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.