Ongava is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Ongava?
No rating for Ongava was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Google
No Google listing in Ongava's name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Ongava's name was found.
Namibia (all four lodges are on Ongava Game Reserve). Four luxury lodges: Ongava Lodge, Andersson's at Ongava, Horizon and Encounter by Ongava.
Countries
Namibia (all four lodges are on Ongava Game Reserve).
Camps
Four luxury lodges: Ongava Lodge, Andersson's at Ongava, Horizon and Encounter by Ongava. Owned versus managed is not stated.
Land and traversing
A private game reserve of around 45,000 hectares once an expansion of about 15,000 hectares is complete, bordering Etosha National Park; originally 34,000 hectares bought in 1991 and 'once four unproductive cattle farms'. Exclusive traversing is not stated.
Camp sizes
Horizon: 3 villas (6 guests). Encounter: 9 tented rooms, 7 twin tents plus a 2-tent family unit (18 guests).
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Ongava's camp.
How much does Ongava cost?
Ongava does not publish a dated rate per person per night for its own camps on its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.
Prices published
'Download detailed rates 2026' and 'Download detailed rates 2027' links sit on each lodge page and live rates show in the booking engine. Rates are quoted in Namibian dollars (N$) per person per day, inclusive of 15% VAT and 1% Tourism Levy.
What the rate includes
Fully Inclusive: accommodation, all meals, twice-daily scheduled activities, park fees, laundry, Namibian VAT, tourism levy and local drinks; premium imported brands and champagne are extra. Full Board: accommodation, meals and taxes only, with drinks, activities and laundry paid in camp. A mandatory Ongava Conservation Fee per person per day is charged separately.
Ongava's published terms: 25% non-refundable deposit; a booking is confirmed only on receipt of at least this.
Deposit
25% non-refundable deposit; a booking is confirmed only on receipt of at least this. For individual bookings the deposit is taken on the card given within 48 hours of the reservation.
Balance due
Full payment 30 days before arrival 'unless otherwise specifically agreed'. The direct reservations policy says outstanding balances are debited from the card at 45 to 60 days before check-in.
Cancellation charges
Once confirmed, 25% of total booking value is non-refundable. Fee on total booking value: 28 days or more before arrival 25%; 21 days 50%; 14 days 75%; within 7 days 80%; no-show 100%. Cancellations must be in writing; the terms are 'not negotiable'.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are in Namibian dollars (N$). The online portal accepts Visa and MasterCard.
Best for: Rhino on a private Etosha reserve, on Ongava's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Child policy covers ages 0 to 16. Bookings with children aged 11 and under need a private vehicle and activities, except on exclusive use. Children aged 0 to 5 at Ongava Lodge and Anderssons and 0 to 11 at Encounter and Horizon, require exclusive use of the lodge.
Teenagers and families
Children aged 12 and over join shared game drive vehicles; walking activities and animal approaches on foot start at 16; photographic hides at 11. Anderssons is called 'the most family-friendly' lodge, with a two-suite family unit.
Honeymoon
Horizon's villas are described as 'a dream setting for honeymooners', each with a private infinity or plunge pool.
Older travellers and limited mobility
Guests with limited mobility, medical needs or over 70 are asked to tell reservations in advance so ground arrangements can be made. Lodges other than Anderssons are unfenced and guests are escorted at night.
Private guide and vehicle
Private activities (own guide and vehicle) are available at all lodges at an extra rate, only with Fully Inclusive, from the afternoon of arrival to the morning of departure; refer to rate sheets. Horizon includes a sole-use guide and vehicle with every stay.
Exclusive use
Whole-lodge exclusive use is offered and is required for young children (see child policy); the minimum age rule does not apply on sole use. Horizon (3 villas, 6 guests) is 'often taken on a sole-use basis'.
Activities
Game drives, approaching big game and rhino on foot (minimum age 16), excursions to Etosha National Park, birdwatching, night safari, massage and the Discovery Centre. Photographic hides at Ongava Lodge and Anderssons.
Gondwana Collection Namibia, Okonjima, Onguma and Ultimate Safaris also own and run their own camps in Namibia only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Gondwana Collection Namibia: best for: Lodges and camps across Namibia. 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Gondwana Collection Namibia') from 342 reviews.
Okonjima: best for: A family reserve and the AfriCat Foundation.
Onguma: best for: A family-owned reserve beside Etosha.
Ultimate Safaris: best for: Conservation travel across Namibia. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Ultimate Safaris') from 67 reviews and 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Ongava?
Ongava's ownership is not stated on its own website.
Trading name
Trading name 'Ongava' (Ongava Game Reserve). The booking terms name the account holder 'Ongava Game Reserve (Pty) Ltd'.
Based in
Reservations office in Klein Windhoek, Namibia (102A Nelson Mandela Avenue); office hours 8am to 5pm Monday to Friday.
In its own words
'Welcome to Ongava: The Realm Of The Rhino' and 'a realm reborn': 'a vast private reserve that was once unproductive farmland', with four luxury lodges, both black and white rhino, around 45,000 hectares and an independently funded Ongava Research Centre.
Conservation model
A mandatory Ongava Conservation Fee is charged per person per day at all camps, separate from the rate and not discountable; it includes a donation of 2% of accommodation revenue to the Ongava Research Centre. Projects named: rhino programme and anti-poaching ('zero poaching incidents to date'), K9 teams, indigenous plant rehabilitation and support for Hai//om communities (hostel and sick bay at Chief Dawid Khamuxab Primary School).
Direct to guests through a real-time online reservations system at ongava.com/booking and by email to [email protected].
Where it sells
Direct to guests through a real-time online reservations system at ongava.com/booking and by email to [email protected]. Trade partners have a Reservations Portal for live bookings.
How it is paid
All rates are 'net and non-commissionable unless otherwise agreed in writing by the reservations manager'. Agents are liable for the deposit and cancellation fees on bookings they make.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
A Reservations Portal is offered to 'trade partners' for live bookings. Rates are net and non-commissionable unless agreed in writing and a Tour Leader Policy applies to agent groups.
Four luxury lodges: Ongava Lodge, Andersson's at Ongava, Horizon and Encounter by Ongava.
What activities does Ongava offer?
Game drives, approaching big game and rhino on foot (minimum age 16), excursions to Etosha National Park, birdwatching, night safari, massage and the Discovery Centre. Photographic hides at Ongava Lodge and Anderssons.
Does Ongava have honeymoon offers?
Horizon's villas are described as 'a dream setting for honeymooners', each with a private infinity or plunge pool.
How does Ongava fund conservation?
A mandatory Ongava Conservation Fee is charged per person per day at all camps, separate from the rate and not discountable; it includes a donation of 2% of accommodation revenue to the Ongava Research Centre. Projects named: rhino programme and anti-poaching ('zero poaching incidents to date'), K9 teams, indigenous plant rehabilitation and support for Hai//om communities (hostel and sick bay at Chief Dawid Khamuxab Primary School).
What is included in Ongava's rates?
Fully Inclusive: accommodation, all meals, twice-daily scheduled activities, park fees, laundry, Namibian VAT, tourism levy and local drinks; premium imported brands and champagne are extra. Full Board: accommodation, meals and taxes only, with drinks, activities and laundry paid in camp.
What deposit does Ongava ask for?
25% non-refundable deposit; a booking is confirmed only on receipt of at least this.
What are Ongava's cancellation charges?
Once confirmed, 25% of total booking value is non-refundable. Fee on total booking value: 28 days or more before arrival 25%; 21 days 50%; 14 days 75%; within 7 days 80%; no-show 100%.
Does Ongava accept children?
Child policy covers ages 0 to 16. Bookings with children aged 11 and under need a private vehicle and activities, except on exclusive use.
Does Ongava offer a private vehicle?
Private activities (own guide and vehicle) are available at all lodges at an extra rate, only with Fully Inclusive, from the afternoon of arrival to the morning of departure; refer to rate sheets. Horizon includes a sole-use guide and vehicle with every stay.
What are Ongava's reviews?
No rating for Ongava was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Can I book Ongava through Uncompromised Travel?
No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Ongava's own enquiry page, www.ongava.com, or a safari planner.
How current is this page?
Ongava's website and review listings were read on 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Ongava published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Ongava did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.