Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Aerial view of the Nubib Mountains on the eastern edge of the Namib, Namibia, with the wing of a light aircraft at the top left

The Nubib Mountains from the air, on the eastern edge of the Namib; Camp Sossus lies between the Nubib and Zaris Mountains. Photo: Olga Ernst and Hp.Baumeler, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Is Ultimate Safaris a good company to book a safari with? The facts for 2026

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026

Ultimate Safaris, which now trades as ultimate.earth, is a Namibia-only company that both runs seven retreats of its own (whether each is owned or managed is not stated) and plans full safaris, including fly-in, self-drive and private guided trips. The pages read on 19 October 2026 give no founding year, owner or booking terms. Google shows 4.7 from 67 reviews for its Windhoek listing (read 20 October 2026) and SafariBookings 5.0 from 1 review (read 19 October 2026); no Trustpilot profile was found.

Is Ultimate Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

Ultimate Safaris runs seven retreats in Namibia and publishes rates for one of them, Camp Sossus, but the pages read on 19 October 2026 give no founding year, owner, legal company or deposit and cancellation terms.

The site says the brand "evolved" from Ultimate Safaris into ultimate.earth and calls itself "a Namibian conservation travel company". The pages read do not name a legal entity, company number, owner, founding year or management team. It runs retreats of its own and also plans safaris: it lists seven retreats (Onduli Ridge, Onduli Enclave, Camp Sossus, Camp Doros, Galton House, Meru Camp and Dome Camp) and sells Private Guided, Fly-In, Self-Drive, Photographic, Birding, Family, Small Group and Conservation safaris.

Reviews: Google shows 4.7 from 67 reviews for the Ultimate Safaris listing at 5 Brandberg Street, Windhoek, read 20 October 2026. SafariBookings shows 5.0 from 1 review, read 19 October 2026. No Trustpilot profile was found on 19 October 2026. Tripadvisor and Feefo could not be read. The home page has an "Award Winning" heading, but no award, publisher or year could be read. The pages read name no certification, tourism licence or association membership and do not say how guest payments are protected.

Its conservation partners, listed on the home page, include the Rhino Ranger Programme, Save The Rhino Trust, Giraffe Conservation Foundation and Africat Foundation. It suits travellers who want one Namibian company to plan a whole trip, guided or self-drive.

Ultimate SafarisNamibia · seven retreats

Dead camel thorn trees on a white clay pan in front of a red sand dune, Deadvlei, Namibia
Dead camel thorn trees in Deadvlei near Sossusvlei, Namibia. Camp Sossus, 30 minutes from the Sesriem gate, lists a Sossusvlei and Deadvlei visit among its activities. Photo: Giles Laurent, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.
Best for
Planned Namibia trips, guided or self-drive
Why choose them
Seven retreats in Namibia, including Camp Sossus with six tented rooms on the Namib Tsaris Conservancy. Google: 4.7 from 67 reviews, read 20 October 2026. SafariBookings: 5.0 from 1 review, read 19 October 2026.
Ask for
The deposit, balance and cancellation terms in writing, since none were on the pages read; the legal company you contract with; nightly rates and season dates for each retreat.
Not the fit if
You want camps outside Namibia, published booking terms before enquiring, children under six at Camp Sossus without exclusive use or a published single supplement.
Published price
Camp Sossus: from NAD 7,385 per person in shoulder season and from NAD 8,754 in high season, fully inclusive of meals, local drinks and scheduled activities; the page does not say per night or give the year. Read 19 October 2026.
Sources, read 19 and 20 October 2026: Camp Sossus page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris page (ultimatesafaris.na), about page (ultimatesafaris.na), SafariBookings, Google Maps

How much does a safari with Ultimate Safaris cost?

Only Camp Sossus has published prices: from NAD 7,385 per person in shoulder season and from NAD 8,754 in high season, fully inclusive, read 19 October 2026; the page does not say per night or give the year.

Camp Sossus is the only retreat with prices on the pages read. The rate is described as "fully inclusive", covering all meals, local drinks and scheduled activities. Transfers, Sossusvlei gate fees, any conservation levy and laundry are not mentioned. Season dates are not given. Camp Sossus has a minimum stay of 2 nights, with 3 recommended.

Published rates, Camp Sossus, read 19 October 2026:

  • Shoulder season: from NAD 7,385 per person, fully inclusive.
  • High season: from NAD 8,754 per person, fully inclusive.
  • Children 6 to 12: 50% of the adult rate.

No prices for Onduli Ridge, Onduli Enclave, Camp Doros, Galton House or the two mobile camps were on the pages read. Fly-in safaris use scheduled air transfers or private charter flights; whether these are in a quote is not stated. Ask for an itemised quote that shows the rate per night per retreat, the season dates and the year, gate and park fees and flight or transfer costs.

Where are Ultimate Safaris' camps?

Ultimate Safaris' seven retreats are all in Namibia: Camp Sossus near Sossusvlei, Galton House in Windhoek, Camp Doros in rhino country, Onduli Ridge and Onduli Enclave among granite outcrops and the mobile Meru Camp and Dome Camp.

  • Camp Sossus: six tented rooms on the Namib Tsaris Conservancy, between the Nubib and Zaris Mountains, 30 minutes from the Sesriem gate to Sossusvlei. The conservancy was founded in 2010 and 89 km of internal fencing has been removed.
  • Camp Doros: remote Namibia, where guests track desert-adapted black rhino with Rhino Ranger teams.
  • Onduli Ridge and Onduli Enclave: desert retreats among granite outcrops; Onduli Enclave is described as "a private villa retreat".
  • Galton House: an "Urban Retreat" in Windhoek.
  • Meru Camp and Dome Camp: mobile camps in remote areas. Meru tents are 4 m x 3 m with solar lighting, an en suite field toilet and a bucket shower.

The pages read on 19 October 2026 name no park or concession for any retreat except Camp Sossus and give no room counts beyond it. They give no months or routes for the mobile camps and do not say whether each retreat is owned or managed.

Who is Ultimate Safaris best for?

Ultimate Safaris fits self-drivers, families with children aged six and over at Camp Sossus, small groups who want a camp to themselves and travellers who want to track rhino at Camp Doros or cycle at Camp Sossus.

  • Self-drivers: it sells a self-drive Namibia safari and Camp Sossus gives access for self-drivers via a designated pick-up point.
  • Families with children aged six and over: Camp Sossus welcomes children from six, with ages 6 to 12 at 50% of the adult rate, a kiddies' menu and two-way radios for multi-room family bookings.
  • Small groups: at Camp Sossus, bookings of 5 rooms or more qualify for exclusive use, subject to availability.
  • Rhino tracking: Camp Doros tracks desert-adapted black rhino with Rhino Ranger teams.
  • Active travellers: Camp Sossus offers mountain bike rides with a biking guide, hiking and nature walks. It also sells cycling and hiking safaris.
  • Photographers: its Photographic safari uses "specially equipped safari vehicles"; no photographic hides were mentioned on the pages read.

Not the fit if you want camps outside Namibia, published deposit and cancellation terms before you enquire, children under six at Camp Sossus without booking exclusive use, or a honeymoon offer or single supplement figure in advance.

What are the best alternatives to Ultimate Safaris for a luxury safari?

Gondwana Collection Namibia, Natural Selection, Okonjima, Ongava and Wilderness are the alternatives because each owns camps or lodges in Namibia, three of them in the Namib Desert or near Sossusvlei. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.

  • Gondwana Collection Namibia: Namibia only, with lodges and camps across the country, including Namib Dune Star Camp (9 cabins, 60 km north of Sesriem) from N$3,694 per person sharing, bed and breakfast, read 20 October 2026. That camp is not suitable for children aged 12 or younger.
  • Natural Selection: Camps in Namibia, Botswana and South Africa, including Kwessi Dunes in the NamibRand at NAD 10,845 to 20,495 per night (season and year not given) and Shipwreck Lodge on the Skeleton Coast, read 19 October 2026. Kwessi Dunes welcomes all ages.
  • Okonjima: Home of the AfriCat Foundation, with all its camps on the Okonjima Nature Reserve in the Otjozondjupa region. It publishes 2026 rack rates, from N$4,830 per person per night (Plains Camp Classic, dinner, bed and breakfast, low season), park levy N$350 extra, read 20 October 2026.
  • Ongava: Four lodges on Ongava Game Reserve on the southern boundary of Etosha National Park; the smallest, Horizon, has 3 villas for 6 guests. Bookings with children aged 11 and under need a private vehicle and activities, read 20 October 2026.
  • Wilderness: Namibia camps including Kulala Desert Lodge and Little Kulala at Sossusvlei, with published nightly rates such as Doro Nawas in Damaraland at US$480 to US$744 per person, for travel 1 June 2026 to 5 January 2028, read 19 October 2026.

How do you book Ultimate Safaris?

Book direct through its contact page or the Camp Sossus online booking and availability tools, or through a travel partner; the pages read on 19 October 2026 give no deposit, balance or cancellation terms.

Ultimate Safaris sells direct and through travel partners. The Camp Sossus page has "Online Booking" and "Check Availability" and says the camp is "Open to everyone". The safaris page is written to "you, our partners" and its Small Group safaris are made for selected international travel partners and their guests. The pages read give no reply time, named reservations contact or resident rates. They do not say whether booking direct costs the same as booking through a planner. No deposit, balance date, cancellation scale or protection of guest payments appears on the pages read. Accepted currencies and card fees are not stated (Camp Sossus is priced in NAD). Before you pay, ask them to itemise:

  • the rate per night for each retreat, with season dates and the year
  • Sossusvlei gate fees, park fees and any conservation levy
  • scheduled or charter flights and road transfers
  • the deposit, balance due date and cancellation charges in writing
  • the legal company you contract with and how your payment is protected
  • any single supplement and the private vehicle cost

Ultimate Safaris: the facts on record, read 19 and 20 October 2026

59 facts about Ultimate Safaris were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading name 'ultimate.earth', which 'evolved' from 'Ultimate Safaris' (the pages were read at ultimatesafaris.na on 19 October 2026; the contact page is on ultimate.earth). The footer reads 'ultimate.earth. © 2026, All rights reserved.' No registered legal entity or company number is given; the contact page gives the Windhoek address (see Where it is based).

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Windhoek, Namibia. The contact page gives the physical address '5 & 7 Brandberg Street, Eros Park, Windhoek, Namibia' and the postal address 'Po Box 9970, Windhoek, Namibia'.

Source: Company · ultimate.earth we are contact us · by hand · 20 Oct 2026

Year founded

Not stated on their website: no founding year or founders are given for the company. The Camp Sossus page says the Namib Tsaris Conservancy was founded by Swen Bachran in 2010, which is the conservancy, not the company.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Not stated on their website: no owner, parent group or investors are named. The retreats are described as 'conservation impact investments'.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What it is (camp owner / planner / both)

Both. It runs seven retreats of its own (Onduli Ridge, Onduli Enclave, Camp Sossus, Camp Doros, Galton House, Meru Camp, Dome Camp; whether each is owned or managed is not stated) and also plans full safaris: Private Guided, Fly-In, Self-Drive, VIP, Photographic, Birding, Family, Cycling / Hiking / Active, Small Group and Conservation Safaris. Other companies' camps are not named in the pages read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), fly in (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Team

Not stated on their website: no team size or named management. The safaris page refers only to 'a highly experienced tribe with great insider knowledge and a little black book of private contacts'.

Source: Company · safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Direct and through partners. The Camp Sossus page has 'Online Booking' and 'Check Availability' and says it is 'Open to everyone'. The safaris page addresses 'you, our partners', the newsletter goes to 'the public and or the agents' and Small Group safaris are made for selected international travel partners. No trade portal or resident rates are shown.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

In its own words

'ultimate.earth is an award-winning Namibian conservation travel company dedicated to protecting the pristine and delicate wilderness areas in which we operate.' Retreats are 'conservation impact investments designed to combine exceptional hospitality, environmental sustainability, community development and meaningful connection to place'.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Response time and named contact

Not stated on their website: no promised reply time or named reservations contact appears in the pages read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

4.7 out of 5 from 67 reviews on the Google listing 'Ultimate Safaris' (tour operator), 5 Brandberg Street, Windhoek, Namibia. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.

Source: Independent source · Google Maps · crawl · 20 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/ultimatesafaris.na · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Feefo

Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

SafariBookings

5.0 out of 5 from 1 review on the SafariBookings profile 'Ultimate Safaris'.

Source: Independent source · SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Travelstride

Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trustindex

Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.

Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Any other independent platform

Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google, Expedia or other review platform is shown.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Where it asks guests to leave reviews

Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review or links to a review platform.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, as the company lists them

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Could not access: the home page has an 'Award Winning' heading and the Camp Sossus page has 'Accolades' and 'Press' headings, but no award, publisher or year is shown in the text read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps on named lists

Could not access: the 'Accolades' section on the Camp Sossus page and the 'Award Winning' section on the home page held no content when read, so no list placings can be read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism, Travelife, Long Run or other certification is named. Camp Sossus is described as 'Namibia's first camp to be built almost entirely out of materials otherwise destined for landfills'.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes, for Camp Sossus only: 'From NAD 7 385.00' and 'From NAD 8 754.00', fully inclusive per person, in Namibian dollars. No prices appear for the other retreats in the pages read (the Meru Camp page shows none).

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Rates per person per night by season

Camp Sossus only, Namibian dollars (NAD), fully inclusive per person: Shoulder Season Rate 'From NAD 7 385.00'; High Season Rate 'From NAD 8 754.00'. The page does not give the season dates, the year, or say 'per night'. No other retreat has published rates in the pages read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Only Camp Sossus has published prices: lowest 'From NAD 7 385.00' (shoulder season) and highest 'From NAD 8 754.00' (high season), fully inclusive per person. The year and the unit (per night) are not given.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Minimum stay

Camp Sossus: 'Minimum 2 night stays (3 nights recommended)'. Minimums for the other retreats are not given in the pages read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

What the rate includes

Camp Sossus: 'Fully inclusive rate including all meals, local drinks and scheduled activities'. Transfers, park or Sossusvlei gate fees, conservation levy and laundry are not mentioned. Access for self-drivers is via a designated pick-up point; the page also names local airstrips at Hammerstein and Witwater.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Deposit

Not stated on their website: no deposit is given in the pages read; no booking terms page was read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Balance due

Not stated on their website: no balance due date is given in the pages read; no booking terms page was read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

Not stated on their website: no cancellation scale is given in the pages read; no booking terms page was read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

How guest payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or insurance for guest payments is mentioned.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Not stated on their website: accepted currencies and card fees are not given. Camp Sossus rates are shown in NAD.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Yes. The contact page lists a '24-hour emergency' mobile number (+264 81 141 2275) and an emergency email address; the office telephone is +264 61 248 137.

Source: Company · ultimate.earth we are contact us · by hand · 20 Oct 2026

How it is paid

Not stated on their website: no agent commission statement or trade rates. The safaris page speaks to 'you, our partners' and the newsletter text mentions 'the agents', without terms.

Source: Company · safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Price against booking through a planner

Not stated on their website: no statement on direct price parity or a direct-booking benefit.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no tourism licence or association membership (ATTA, SATSA, HAN, TATO, KATO) is shown. The home page has an 'Our Partners' heading with no content when read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

The camps: where they are and how they work

Countries with camps

Namibia only.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Number of camps and lodges

Seven retreats are listed: Onduli Ridge (Signature Retreat), Onduli Enclave (Private Retreat), Camp Sossus and Camp Doros (Immersive Exploration Retreats), Galton House (Urban Retreat), Meru Camp and Dome Camp (Mobile Retreats). Owned versus managed is not stated.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camps and where they are

Camp Sossus: Sossusvlei area, on the Namib Tsaris Conservancy. Galton House: Windhoek. Camp Doros: remote Namibia, tracking desert-adapted black rhino with Rhino Ranger teams. Onduli Ridge and Onduli Enclave: desert retreats among ancient granite outcrops. Meru Camp and Dome Camp: mobile camps in remote wilderness areas. Park or concession names for all but Camp Sossus are not given.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Camp sizes

Camp Sossus has six tented rooms ('just six tented guest rooms'). Meru tents are 4 m x 3 m. Room counts for the other retreats are not given.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Land and traversing

Camp Sossus is on the Namib Tsaris Conservancy, between the Nubib and Zaris Mountains, 30 minutes from the Sesriem gate to Sossusvlei. The conservancy was founded in 2010, with 89 km of internal fencing removed; the camp 'pays significant annual conservation fees'. Land status of the other retreats and sole traversing are not stated.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Mobile and seasonal camps

Two mobile retreats: Meru Camp (rectangular Meru tents with solar lighting, en suite field toilet and bucket shower) and Dome Camp (lightweight Dome tents). The pages read do not give months or routes.

Source: Company · meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Gorilla and primate trekking

Not stated on their website: no gorilla or chimpanzee trekking is mentioned (Namibia only).

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Beach and city add-ons

City property: Galton House, an 'Urban Retreat' in Windhoek. No beach property is mentioned.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), our guide (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Own air and transfers

No own aircraft is stated. Fly-in safaris use 'scheduled air transfers or private charter flights'. Camp Sossus lists 'Local Airstrips at Hammerstein and Witwater'. Whether transfers are included in rates is not stated.

Source: Company · fly in (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Resident and regional rates

Not stated on their website: no resident or regional rates are on the pages read.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family and child policy

Camp Sossus: children 6 years and older are welcome, with 6 to 12 years paying 50% of the adult rate; children under 6 only if exclusive use is booked. It offers a kiddies' menu and family-friendly activities, plus two-way radios for multi-room family bookings. Policies for the other retreats are not given.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational

A 'Family' safari type is listed ('for all ages'). At Camp Sossus there is 'No private vehicle requirement for families with children (but can be booked on request)', plus family-friendly activities such as biking and hiking. Teen-specific activities are not listed.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Honeymoon

Not stated on their website: no honeymoon offers or couples camps are named in the pages read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

Not stated on their website: no single supplement policy or solo offer is given.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not stated on their website: no access, step, walkway or medical statements are given.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), meru camp (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Private Guided safaris are sold, with 'highly respected naturalist guides'. At Camp Sossus a private vehicle is not required for families 'but can be booked on request'. Any surcharge is not stated.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Camp Sossus: 'Bookings of 5 rooms or more qualify for exclusive use - subject to availability and any existing bookings'. Onduli Enclave is described as 'a private villa retreat'. Sole-use rates are not stated.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Guides

Not stated on their website: guides are described only as 'highly respected naturalist guides' (Private Guided safaris) and a 'biking guide' at Camp Sossus. No FGASA or other qualification is named. Camp Doros works with Rhino Ranger teams.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Activities

Camp Sossus: Sossusvlei visit (Deadvlei and dunes), star beds, mountain bike rides with a biking guide, nature drives, nature walks, hiking, stargazing, 'Trail Treats', desert swimming pools and a waterhole for wildlife viewing. Camp Doros: tracking desert-adapted black rhino. Safari types include birding (660 bird species in Namibia), cycling / hiking, photographic and fly-in.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris birding (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Self-drive access

Yes. A Self-Drive safari is offered ('a self-drive Namibia safari expertly planned by ultimate.earth') and Camp Sossus gives 'Access for self-drivers via a designated pick-up point (directions supplied upon booking confirmation)'.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Photography

A Photographic safari is offered with 'specially equipped safari vehicles' designed for wildlife and landscape photography. Photographic hides are not mentioned in the pages read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), safaris (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Conservation model

The Conservation Travel Foundation and partners are listed on the home page: Rare And Endangered Species Trust, Giraffe Conservation Foundation, Africat Foundation, Desert Lion Project, Rhino Ranger Programme, Save The Rhino Trust, Namib Tsaris, Doro !Nawas and //Huab Conservancies, Bunny Cottage, Little Bugs, Grootberg Primary School, Pack For Conservation and others. Camp Sossus 'pays significant annual conservation fees'. The 'Our Impact' figures (land conserved, USD raised annually, revenue percentage) were read without numbers, so no amount or percentage can be read.

Source: Company · home page (ultimatesafaris.na), camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Sustainability

Camp Sossus is '100% solar powered' and 'Namibia's first camp to be built almost entirely out of materials otherwise destined for landfills'. No certification is named. Plastic, water and electric vehicle measures are not mentioned.

Source: Company · camp sossus (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Trade and planner partnerships

The safaris page is written to trade partners (it addresses 'you, our partners'). Small Group safaris are made for selected international travel partners and their guests. The newsletter goes to 'the public and or the agents'. No agent portal or preferred partner statement is shown; the 'Our Partners' section was empty when read.

Source: Company · safaris (ultimatesafaris.na), home page (ultimatesafaris.na) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026

Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Ultimate Safaris: questions people ask

Is Ultimate Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

It runs seven retreats in Namibia and plans full safaris there. Google shows 4.7 from 67 reviews, read 20 October 2026, with SafariBookings at 5.0 from 1 review, read 19 October 2026. The pages read on 19 October 2026 give no founding year, owner or booking terms, so ask for the terms in writing before paying.

What are the best alternatives to Ultimate Safaris for a luxury safari?

Gondwana Collection Namibia, Natural Selection, Okonjima, Ongava and Wilderness. Each owns camps or lodges in Namibia. Gondwana, Natural Selection and Wilderness have camps in the Namib Desert or near Sossusvlei. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in Namibia; the table lists others.

How much does a safari with Ultimate Safaris cost?

Only Camp Sossus has published prices: from NAD 7,385 per person in shoulder season and from NAD 8,754 in high season, fully inclusive of meals, local drinks and scheduled activities, read 19 October 2026. The page does not say per night or give the year. No other retreat's prices were on the pages read.

What are Ultimate Safaris' deposit and cancellation terms?

They were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026: no deposit, balance due date or cancellation scale appeared, so ask for them in writing before paying.

Is Ultimate Safaris the same company as ultimate.earth?

Yes, the same brand: the site says ultimate.earth "evolved" from Ultimate Safaris. No legal company name or owner was on the pages read.

What is the minimum age for children at Ultimate Safaris?

At Camp Sossus children aged six and over are welcome, with ages 6 to 12 paying 50% of the adult rate. Children under six need an exclusive-use booking. Policies for the other retreats were not on the pages read.

Can you self-drive with Ultimate Safaris?

Yes. It sells a self-drive Namibia safari. Camp Sossus gives self-drivers access via a designated pick-up point, with directions sent on confirmation.

Can you have a private guide with Ultimate Safaris?

Yes. It sells Private Guided safaris with naturalist guides. At Camp Sossus a private vehicle can be booked on request. Any surcharge is not stated.

Can you book Camp Sossus for exclusive use?

Yes. Bookings of 5 rooms or more qualify for exclusive use of Camp Sossus, which has six tented rooms, subject to availability. A sole-use rate was not on the pages read.

Does Ultimate Safaris charge a single supplement?

No single supplement or solo traveller policy was on the pages read on 19 October 2026, so ask for it with your quote.

Is there a minimum stay at Camp Sossus?

Yes, 2 nights, with 3 nights recommended. Minimum stays for the other retreats were not on the pages read.

This page contains no paid placement. Ultimate Safaris is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with camps in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 and 20 October 2026 from Ultimate Safaris' own website, Google Maps and SafariBookings, kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.