Okonjima is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.
What do guests say about Okonjima?
No rating for Okonjima was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Google
No Google listing in Okonjima's name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Okonjima's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Okonjima's name was found.
Namibia only (Okonjima Nature Reserve). One reserve with five accommodation options: Luxury Bush Camp, Private Bush Suite, African Villa, Plains Camp and Campsites.
Countries
Namibia only (Okonjima Nature Reserve).
Camps
One reserve with five accommodation options: Luxury Bush Camp, Private Bush Suite, African Villa, Plains Camp and Campsites. The FAQ counts four lodges plus 5 private campsites.
Where they are
All within Okonjima Nature Reserve, Otjozondjupa region: Plains Camp. Luxury Bush Camp (2.5 km from Plains Camp) African Villa (10 km away, the only lodge in the heart of the reserve) Private Bush Suite. Campsites, including PAWS tented campsite.
Land and traversing
A 22,000 hectare (220 km²) private reserve, enclosed by a 70 km perimeter fence, on land owned by a family trust. Open only to staying guests, with no day visitors.
Camp sizes
Plains Camp: 11 View Rooms and 14 Classic Rooms (50 guests). Bush Camp: 8 chalets and a Junior Suite (18 guests).
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Okonjima's camp.
How much does Okonjima cost?
Okonjima publishes its own rates: 2026, adult per person per night in N$: lowest N$800 (campsite, Low Season. Lowest lodge rate Plains Camp Classic DBB N$4,830).
Lowest published
2026, adult per person per night in N$: lowest N$800 (campsite, Low Season. Lowest lodge rate Plains Camp Classic DBB N$4,830).
What the rate includes
Plains Camp DBB: accommodation, dinner, breakfast/brunch, NTB levy, VAT, wifi, coffee/tea and fruit; activities, drinks, lunch extra. Bush Camp DBB adds drinks (excluding premier and imported brands) and laundry. Fully inclusive adds all meals and 2 activities per person per day (excluding rhino and pangolin tracking)
Okonjima does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.
Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
For confirmed bookings (excluding block and group bookings), 'changed our cancellation policy ... to 60 days prior to arrival': 60 to 31 days before arrival 50%; 30 to 8 days 80%; 7 days to no-show 100%.
Best for: A family reserve and the AfriCat Foundation, on Okonjima's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.
Children
Minimum age: Plains Camp and campsites from 3. Bush Suite infants allowed. Luxury Bush Camp and African Villa from 12.
Teenagers and families
Activity ages: game and nature drive from 3; leopard and brown hyaena tracking from 6; any activity from 12. The African Villa takes up to 8 adults and 2 children aged 12 or over and has a family unit with two extra upstairs beds.
Solo travellers
Single supplement N$1,650 per night in 2026 (N$1,820 in 2027) at Plains Camp and Bush Camp (the double room for single occupancy is the sharing rate plus the supplement). None is listed for Bush Suite or Villa.
Older travellers and limited mobility
Plains Camp is 'wheelchair accessible', with a wheelchair ramp on each View and Classic Room. The area is malaria-free.
Private guide and vehicle
Included in the fully inclusive rate at the Private Bush Suite (private guide and game viewer, plus chef) and for the African Villa exclusive option (private guide, vehicle, host and chef). Other camps: not stated.
Exclusive use
African Villa exclusive option for 2 to 8 guests (private guide, vehicle and chef included), N$20,000 per person per night in Low Season 2026 and N$22,000 in High Season; non-exclusive for 2 to 6 guests costs less. The Private Bush Suite also includes a private guide and chef.
Activities
Leopard tracking, brown hyaena tracking, pangolin tracking on foot, rhino tracking on foot, game and nature drives, night drives, guided nature trails and 'Into AfriCat - Behind the Science' (launched 15 July 2026). Rates are published per activity (for example 2026 leopard tracking N$1,450 Low / N$1,600 High per adult).
Okonjima is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.
Children
Minimum age: Plains Camp and campsites from 3.
Single travellers
Single supplement N$1,650 per night in 2026 (N$1,820 in 2027) at Plains Camp and Bush Camp (the double room for single occupancy is the sharing rate plus the supplement).
Gondwana Collection Namibia, Ongava, Onguma and Ultimate Safaris also own and run their own camps in Namibia only, each with the fact that it is best for.
Gondwana Collection Namibia: best for: Lodges and camps across Namibia. 4.6 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Gondwana Collection Namibia') from 342 reviews.
Ongava: best for: Rhino on a private Etosha reserve.
Onguma: best for: A family-owned reserve beside Etosha.
Ultimate Safaris: best for: Conservation travel across Namibia. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Ultimate Safaris') from 67 reviews and 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review.
Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.
Who owns Okonjima?
The lodges are owned by the Hanssen family; the reserve land is owned by a family trust ('Hanssen Family Trust') so it cannot be broken up.
Trading name
Trading name 'Okonjima' (Okonjima Lodges), 'home of the AfriCat Foundation'. Postal address PO Box 793, Otjiwarongo, Namibia.
Based in
On Okonjima Nature Reserve, Otjozondjupa region, Namibia, at the base of the Omboroko Mountains between Windhoek and Etosha (about 2.5 hours' drive from Windhoek).
Owner or parent
The lodges are owned by the Hanssen family; the reserve land is owned by a family trust ('Hanssen Family Trust') so it cannot be broken up. Wayne Hanssen is named as 'Owner of Okonjima'.
In its own words
'A family-run reserve and home to the AfriCat Foundation'.
Conservation model
Guests fund the AfriCat Foundation (an NGO, founded 1991): Okonjima Lodge pays 60% of AfriCat's total expenditure, with guest donations covering the rest. A park levy per person per night (N$350 in 2026) maintains the reserve.
Direct to guests ('Book Now', 'Book Online', contact form).
Where it sells
Direct to guests ('Book Now', 'Book Online', contact form). Notices address 'tourism partners'.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Sells to the trade: notices are addressed to 'all our tourism partners' and reviews mention bookings through Expert Africa and Ultimate Safaris. It is part of the Naturally Namibia circuit.
2026, adult per person per night in N$: lowest N$800 (campsite, Low Season. Lowest lodge rate Plains Camp Classic DBB N$4,830).
How many camps does Okonjima have?
One reserve with five accommodation options: Luxury Bush Camp, Private Bush Suite, African Villa, Plains Camp and Campsites.
What activities does Okonjima offer?
Leopard tracking, brown hyaena tracking, pangolin tracking on foot, rhino tracking on foot, game and nature drives, night drives, guided nature trails and 'Into AfriCat - Behind the Science' (launched 15 July 2026). Rates are published per activity (for example 2026 leopard tracking N$1,450 Low / N$1,600 High per adult).
How does Okonjima fund conservation?
Guests fund the AfriCat Foundation (an NGO, founded 1991): Okonjima Lodge pays 60% of AfriCat's total expenditure, with guest donations covering the rest. A park levy per person per night (N$350 in 2026) maintains the reserve.
What is included in Okonjima's rates?
Plains Camp DBB: accommodation, dinner, breakfast/brunch, NTB levy, VAT, wifi, coffee/tea and fruit; activities, drinks, lunch extra. Bush Camp DBB adds drinks (excluding premier and imported brands) and laundry.
What are Okonjima's cancellation charges?
For confirmed bookings (excluding block and group bookings), 'changed our cancellation policy ... to 60 days prior to arrival': 60 to 31 days before arrival 50%; 30 to 8 days 80%; 7 days to no-show 100%.
Does Okonjima charge a single supplement?
Single supplement N$1,650 per night in 2026 (N$1,820 in 2027) at Plains Camp and Bush Camp (the double room for single occupancy is the sharing rate plus the supplement). None is listed for Bush Suite or Villa.
Does Okonjima accept children?
Minimum age: Plains Camp and campsites from 3. Bush Suite infants allowed.
Does Okonjima offer a private vehicle?
Included in the fully inclusive rate at the Private Bush Suite (private guide and game viewer, plus chef) and for the African Villa exclusive option (private guide, vehicle, host and chef). Other camps: not stated.
Where are Okonjima's camps?
All within Okonjima Nature Reserve, Otjozondjupa region: Plains Camp. Luxury Bush Camp (2.5 km from Plains Camp)
Who owns Okonjima?
The lodges are owned by the Hanssen family; the reserve land is owned by a family trust ('Hanssen Family Trust') so it cannot be broken up.
What are Okonjima's reviews?
No rating for Okonjima was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Okonjima published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Okonjima did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 2 November 2026 · updated 2 November 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.