Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A hippo yawning in water at sunset, Botswana

A hippo yawning in water at sunset, Botswana. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Ker & Downey Botswana a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Ker & Downey Botswana is the Maun camp owner; it is a separate company from Ker & Downey Africa, Ker & Downey Safaris (Nairobi) and Ker & Downey in Texas, as /expeditions/ker-and-downey-review-2026 sets out. Ker & Downey Botswana is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Ker & Downey Botswana?

Ker & Downey Botswana has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kanana - Ker & Downey Botswana') from 58 reviews and 3.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.8 out of 5 from 58 reviews. On the Google listing 'Kanana - Ker & Downey Botswana' (lodge), NG 27 B, Maun, Botswana. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Ker & Downey Botswana's name was found.
Trustpilot
3.2 out of 5 from 1 review. On the Trustpilot profile 'Kerdowneybotswana', newest review 17 March 2026.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 19 and 20 October 2026.

Where are Ker & Downey Botswana's camps?

Botswana and Zambia. No total published.

Countries
Botswana and Zambia. Zambia: King Lewanika Lodge (Liuwa Plain) and Musesenji River Camp (Lower Zambezi).
Camps
No total published. Botswana 'Our Camps': eight, being seven camps (Kanana Nyana, Kanana, Shinde, Dinaka, Maxa, Okuti, Shinde Footsteps) plus the Grays Eden hotel in Maun.
Where they are
Shinde and Shinde Footsteps: Shinde Private Concession, northern Okavango Delta. Kanana and Kanana Nyana: Kanana private concession, southwest Okavango Delta, bordering Moremi Game Reserve. Maxa: north eastern Okavango Delta at the Selinda Spillway, KAZA area. Okuti: Moremi Game Reserve (Xakanaxa). Dinaka: private game reserve on the northern edge of the Central Kalahari Game Reserve. Grays Eden: Maun.
Land and traversing
Shinde, Shinde Footsteps, Kanana and Kanana Nyana are on private concessions allowing guided walks, night drives and mokoro. Dinaka is a 40,000 hectare exclusive private game reserve ('private conservancy').
Camp sizes
Shinde: seven tents plus a family tent. Kanana: seven tents plus a two-bedroom family tent.
Two black rhinos grazing on green savannah
Two black rhinos grazing on green savannah. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Ker & Downey Botswana's camp.

How much does Ker & Downey Botswana cost?

Ker & Downey Botswana publishes its own rates: Lowest, camps: Okuti Low season 740 (1 to 4 nights), falling to 670 at 7+ nights. Grays Eden, the Maun hotel, is lower at 258 (Cottages, standard season, bed and breakfast). All USD per adult per night sharing, 2027.

Lowest published
Lowest, camps: Okuti Low season 740 (1 to 4 nights), falling to 670 at 7+ nights. Grays Eden, the Maun hotel, is lower at 258 (Cottages, standard season, bed and breakfast). All USD per adult per night sharing, 2027.
Prices published
The 'Rates 2027' page publishes nightly rates in United States Dollars (USD), labelled 'Recommended Selling Price'; a downloadable rates file and a Rates 2026 link are also offered.
What the rate includes
'Fully inclusive': accommodation, game activities by professional guides, all meals and snacks, selected alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, all taxes and park entrance fees, daily laundry, emergency evacuation insurance. Extra: Dinaka Conservancy levy US$50 per guest per night, US$5 per bed night added as discretionary Chobe Impact donation, private vehicle USD 500 per night, Safari Air flights (for example USD 344 plus 39 fuel surcharge), departure tax USD 25, tips, helicopter flights. Grays Eden is bed and breakfast.
Sources: price per person per day. Read 19 October 2026.

What are Ker & Downey Botswana's booking terms?

Ker & Downey Botswana's published terms: 20% non-refundable advance payment of the basic programme rate, due within 14 days of making the reservation.

Deposit
20% non-refundable advance payment of the basic programme rate, due within 14 days of making the reservation.
Balance due
Balance due no later than 60 days before the programme starts, unless other arrangements are made. Bookings inside 60 days need payment in full.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
Currencies and card fees
Rates and payments are in USD. FAQ: 'Most major currencies are accepted throughout Botswana'; camp gift shops take Master or Visa cards, no American Express.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit, currencies and card fees. Read 19 October 2026.

Who is Ker & Downey Botswana best for?

Best for: Private Okavango concessions since 1968, on Ker & Downey Botswana's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Child rate (6 to 15) is 70% of the adult sharing rate, except Kanana Nyana, which has no family tent or child rate. Family tents at all camps except Kanana Nyana. Private vehicle needed for families with children up to 15.
Teenagers and families
Adult rate applies from 16, when a private vehicle is no longer required. Sleep Out Decks suit families (max four).
Solo travellers
Single supplement of 40% in High and 35% in Shoulder season on the adult sharing rate per night; none in Low season. Applies to a third adult in a family or twin tent.
Older travellers and limited mobility
Okuti is 'Wheelchair friendly', all areas connected by raised wooden walkways. Dinaka is also 'Wheelchair friendly'.
Private guide and vehicle
Dinaka also offers private excursions (one vehicle per camp, additional cost).
Exclusive use
Shinde Footsteps is 'Ideal for exclusive use' (maximum six guests). Kanana Nyana holds a maximum of eight.
Activities
Shinde: game and night drives, motorboat, mokoro, walks, fishing (March to December on the camp page). Shinde Footsteps: game and night drives, mokoro, walking.

When is Ker & Downey Botswana not the right choice?

Ker & Downey Botswana is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Single travellers
Single supplement of 40% in High and 35% in Shoulder season on the adult sharing rate per night; none in Low season.
Sources: solo travellers. Read 19 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Ker & Downey Botswana?

African Horseback Safaris, Kwando Safaris, Letaka Safaris and Under One Botswana Sky also own and run their own camps in Botswana only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • African Horseback Safaris: best for: Horse riding safaris in the Okavango Delta. 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review.
  • Kwando Safaris: best for: Remote Botswana private reserves. 4.5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kwando Safaris') from 8 reviews.
  • Letaka Safaris: best for: Mobile and set-departure Botswana safaris. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Letaka Safaris') from 58 reviews, 4.9 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 23 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
  • Under One Botswana Sky: best for: A Chobe riverfront lodge in Kasane. 4.2 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Under One Botswana Sky') from 15 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Ker & Downey Botswana?

Part of a group: the privacy policy refers to 'our group of companies' (subsidiaries and ultimate holding company) with information at chobeholdings.co.bw and the offices are in the Chobe Holdings Complex.

Trading name
Trading name 'Ker & Downey Botswana'. The privacy policy's 'Our details' section names the entity as Ker & Downey (Botswana) (Pty) Ltd with its registered office in Maun; no company registration number is given.
Based in
Maun, Botswana.
Owner or parent
Part of a group: the privacy policy refers to 'our group of companies' (subsidiaries and ultimate holding company) with information at chobeholdings.co.bw and the offices are in the Chobe Holdings Complex. Safari Air is 'owned through Chobe Holdings Limited'.
In its own words
'Raw Rare Refined. Since 1968.' Describes itself as 'synonymous with timeless, exclusive safari experiences' and 'one of Botswana's most respected safari operators'; camps all rated 5* by the Botswana Tourism Organisation Eco Grading Scheme (Shinde Footsteps 4*).
Conservation model
Partly stated. Ker & Downey 'supports and collects for Chobe Impact'
Certifications
B Corp, Travelife and Fair Trade are not mentioned.

How do you book Ker & Downey Botswana?

Sells through travel agents and planners.

Where it sells
Sells through travel agents and planners. Terms: 'Customers should see a travel agent'; reservations via the Maun reservations centre.
How it is paid
Sold through agents: rates are 'Recommended Selling Price' and the Dinaka levy is 'non-commissionable'. Direct booking terms are the same published terms and conditions.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Trade Partners page: live availability (ResRequest), Agent Kit, camp factsheets, itineraries on Safari Portal and Wetu, 'Distinctive Journeys' packages, Stay 5 Pay 4 special. Sales reps: Small World Marketing (UK), Andrea Hugo (USA and Canada), Michaela Soule (DACH).

Ker & Downey Botswana: the questions people ask

How much does Ker & Downey Botswana cost per night?

Lowest, camps: Okuti Low season 740 (1 to 4 nights), falling to 670 at 7+ nights. Grays Eden, the Maun hotel, is lower at 258 (Cottages, standard season, bed and breakfast). All USD per adult per night sharing, 2027.

How many camps does Ker & Downey Botswana have?

No total published.

What activities does Ker & Downey Botswana offer?

Shinde: game and night drives, motorboat, mokoro, walks, fishing (March to December on the camp page). Shinde Footsteps: game and night drives, mokoro, walking.

How does Ker & Downey Botswana fund conservation?

Partly stated. Ker & Downey 'supports and collects for Chobe Impact'

What is included in Ker & Downey Botswana's rates?

'Fully inclusive': accommodation, game activities by professional guides, all meals and snacks, selected alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, all taxes and park entrance fees, daily laundry, emergency evacuation insurance. Extra: Dinaka Conservancy levy US$50 per guest per night, US$5 per bed night added as discretionary Chobe Impact donation, private vehicle USD 500 per night, Safari Air flights (for example USD 344 plus 39 fuel surcharge), departure tax USD 25, tips, helicopter flights.

What deposit does Ker & Downey Botswana ask for?

20% non-refundable advance payment of the basic programme rate, due within 14 days of making the reservation.

Does Ker & Downey Botswana charge a single supplement?

Single supplement of 40% in High and 35% in Shoulder season on the adult sharing rate per night; none in Low season. Applies to a third adult in a family or twin tent.

Does Ker & Downey Botswana accept children?

Child rate (6 to 15) is 70% of the adult sharing rate, except Kanana Nyana, which has no family tent or child rate. Family tents at all camps except Kanana Nyana.

Does Ker & Downey Botswana offer a private vehicle?

Dinaka also offers private excursions (one vehicle per camp, additional cost).

Where are Ker & Downey Botswana's camps?

Shinde and Shinde Footsteps: Shinde Private Concession, northern Okavango Delta. Kanana and Kanana Nyana: Kanana private concession, southwest Okavango Delta, bordering Moremi Game Reserve.

Who owns Ker & Downey Botswana?

Part of a group: the privacy policy refers to 'our group of companies' (subsidiaries and ultimate holding company) with information at chobeholdings.co.bw and the offices are in the Chobe Holdings Complex.

What are Ker & Downey Botswana's reviews?

Ker & Downey Botswana has 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kanana - Ker & Downey Botswana') from 58 reviews and 3.2 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Ker & Downey Botswana published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 19 and 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Ker & Downey Botswana did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.