Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania

An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is African Horseback Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

African Horseback Safaris is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about African Horseback Safaris?

African Horseback Safaris has 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
No Google listing in African Horseback Safaris' name was found.
SafariBookings
5.0 out of 5 from 1 review. On the SafariBookings profile 'African Horseback Safaris'.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in African Horseback Safaris' name was found.
Sources: safaribookings, trustpilot. Read 2 November 2026.

Where are African Horseback Safaris' camps?

Botswana (Macatoo Camp, Okavango Delta). One camp, Macatoo Camp.

Countries
Botswana (Macatoo Camp, Okavango Delta).
Camps
One camp, Macatoo Camp. The team page also mentions an earlier first camp, Macateer.
Where they are
Macatoo Camp, in the Okavango Delta, Botswana; reached by 30-minute flight from Maun or 1½ hours from Kasane.
Land and traversing
Guests have 450,000 acres of the Okavango Delta to explore. Not stated on their website: land tenure type (concession, conservancy) or exclusive traversing.
Camp sizes
Macatoo has eight large tents on raised platforms, including a honeymoon tent and a 'family and friends suite' of two linked tents.
A cheetah sitting in dry grass
A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not African Horseback Safaris' camp.

How much does African Horseback Safaris cost?

African Horseback Safaris publishes its own rates: 2026: Standard (1 Jan-31 Mar and 1-31 Dec) GBP 656. Mid (1 Apr-14 Jun and 15 Oct-30 Nov) GBP 860. Peak (15 Jun-14 Oct) GBP 1035.

Rates by season
2026: Standard (1 Jan-31 Mar and 1-31 Dec) GBP 656. Mid (1 Apr-14 Jun and 15 Oct-30 Nov) GBP 860. Peak (15 Jun-14 Oct) GBP 1035.
What the rate includes
2026 rate includes accommodation at Macatoo Camp on a sharing basis, all meals and selected local beverages, riding and non-riding activities and 14% Government VAT. Excluded: visas and travel and medical insurance, transport from home to Maun/Kasane, charter flight to camp (Maun-Macatoo GBP 305, Kasane-Macatoo GBP 430 per person one way, 2026), gratuities, curio shop purchases. A conservation donation of GBP 10 per person per night is added to the invoice unless the guest asks for removal.
Minimum stay
Minimum stay policy of 3 nights; 5-10 nights or longer recommended. No set departure dates.
Sources: rates per person per night by season. Read 2 November 2026.

What are African Horseback Safaris' booking terms?

African Horseback Safaris' published terms: how to book: 30% deposit within 14 days of the invoice.

Deposit
How to book: 30% deposit within 14 days of the invoice. Terms & conditions page: 20% non-refundable deposit to secure a booking.
Balance due
How to book: balance at least 60 days before safari start.
Cancellation charges
Written cancellation only. Confirmation to 31 days before arrival: 20% of total safari cost forfeited. 30 to 0 days before arrival: 100% forfeited. No refund if a client fails to join, joins late or leaves early.
Currencies and card fees
Payments in GBP sterling or an equivalent agreed currency; by Telegraphic Transfer or Visa/MasterCard. A 5% handling fee is charged on all credit card payments.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.

Who is African Horseback Safaris best for?

Best for: Horse riding safaris in the Okavango Delta, on African Horseback Safaris' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
50% discount for non-riding children under 12. The 'family and friends suite' of two linked tents suits parents and children.
Teenagers and families
Green Season Family Holiday: families and groups of 8 or more staying a minimum of 5 nights from 1 Dec to 31 Mar are offered exclusive use of camp, subject to availability. Not stated on their website: private vehicle rules or teenager activities.
Honeymoon
Tented honeymoon suite with a bath on a raised platform and a larger private deck for private dining, at a surcharge of GBP 200 per couple per night (2026).
Solo travellers
Single supplement of 50% on the daily rate if not prepared to share twin-bedded accommodation. One tent is kept for single travellers with no supplement, subject to availability.
Exclusive use
Exclusive use of camp is offered to families and groups of 8 or more staying at least 5 nights between 1 Dec and 31 Mar, subject to availability. Not stated on their website: a general buy-out rate.
Activities
Horse riding, game drives, boating, mokoro excursions and fishing (water-based activities depend on water levels); walking is mentioned by the Head Guide's bio; a tree platform for lunches, drinks and occasional sleepovers.

When is African Horseback Safaris not the right choice?

African Horseback Safaris is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Single travellers
Single supplement of 50% on the daily rate if not prepared to share twin-bedded accommodation.
Sources: solo travellers. Read 2 November 2026.

What are the best alternatives to African Horseback Safaris?

Kwando Safaris, Letaka Safaris and Under One Botswana Sky also own and run their own camps in Botswana only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Kwando Safaris: best for: Remote Botswana private reserves. 4.5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kwando Safaris') from 8 reviews.
  • Letaka Safaris: best for: Mobile and set-departure Botswana safaris. 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Letaka Safaris') from 58 reviews, 4.9 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 23 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
  • Under One Botswana Sky: best for: A Chobe riverfront lodge in Kasane. 4.2 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Under One Botswana Sky') from 15 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns African Horseback Safaris?

African Horseback Safaris' ownership is not stated on its own website.

Trading name
Trading name African Horseback Safaris (bank account name 'AFRICAN HORSEBACK SAFARIS'). Not stated on their website: registered company name, number or registered address.
Based in
Reservations office at Plot 1447, Sedia Ward, Maun, Botswana (postal address in Maun); the camp, Macatoo, is in the Okavango Delta.
Conservation model
From 2026 a conservation donation of GBP 10 per person per night is added to the invoice to support conservation projects and anti-poaching efforts in the Okavango Delta. The company says it matches each donation.

How do you book African Horseback Safaris?

Direct to guests through the Maun reservations department and through specialist riding safari operators and agents.

Where it sells
Direct to guests through the Maun reservations department and through specialist riding safari operators and agents. A recommended agents list covers Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Switzerland, UK and USA.
How it is paid
Direct bookings through the Maun reservations department and bookings via recommended agents and riding safari operators. Not stated on their website: any commission or trade rate.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
It names specialist riding safari operators and agents who can organise trips and lists recommended agents in 12 countries including In The Saddle UK, Ride World Wide, Scott Dunn USA and Equitour. Not stated on their website: an agent portal or commission terms.
Sources: where it sells. Read 2 November 2026.

African Horseback Safaris: the questions people ask

How many camps does African Horseback Safaris have?

One camp, Macatoo Camp.

What activities does African Horseback Safaris offer?

Horse riding, game drives, boating, mokoro excursions and fishing (water-based activities depend on water levels); walking is mentioned by the Head Guide's bio; a tree platform for lunches, drinks and occasional sleepovers.

Does African Horseback Safaris have honeymoon offers?

Tented honeymoon suite with a bath on a raised platform and a larger private deck for private dining, at a surcharge of GBP 200 per couple per night (2026).

How does African Horseback Safaris fund conservation?

From 2026 a conservation donation of GBP 10 per person per night is added to the invoice to support conservation projects and anti-poaching efforts in the Okavango Delta. The company says it matches each donation.

What is included in African Horseback Safaris' rates?

2026 rate includes accommodation at Macatoo Camp on a sharing basis, all meals and selected local beverages, riding and non-riding activities and 14% Government VAT. Excluded: visas and travel and medical insurance, transport from home to Maun/Kasane, charter flight to camp (Maun-Macatoo GBP 305, Kasane-Macatoo GBP 430 per person one way, 2026), gratuities, curio shop purchases.

What deposit does African Horseback Safaris ask for?

How to book: 30% deposit within 14 days of the invoice.

What are African Horseback Safaris' cancellation charges?

Written cancellation only. Confirmation to 31 days before arrival: 20% of total safari cost forfeited. 30 to 0 days before arrival: 100% forfeited.

Does African Horseback Safaris charge a single supplement?

Single supplement of 50% on the daily rate if not prepared to share twin-bedded accommodation. One tent is kept for single travellers with no supplement, subject to availability.

Does African Horseback Safaris accept children?

50% discount for non-riding children under 12. The 'family and friends suite' of two linked tents suits parents and children.

Where are African Horseback Safaris' camps?

Macatoo Camp, in the Okavango Delta, Botswana; reached by 30-minute flight from Maun or 1½ hours from Kasane.

What are African Horseback Safaris' reviews?

African Horseback Safaris has 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book African Horseback Safaris through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use African Horseback Safaris' own enquiry page, www.africanhorsebacksafaris.com, or a safari planner.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts African Horseback Safaris published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 2 November 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. African Horseback Safaris did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.