Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A cheetah sitting in dry grass

A cheetah sitting in dry grass. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Letaka Safaris a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Letaka Safaris is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Letaka Safaris?

Letaka Safaris has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Letaka Safaris') from 58 reviews, 4.9 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 23 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.7 out of 5 from 58 reviews. On the Google listing 'Letaka Safaris' (tour operator), Maun, Botswana. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
4.9 out of 5 from 23 reviews. On the SafariBookings profile 'Letaka Safaris'.
Trustpilot
3.7 out of 5 from 1 review. On the Trustpilot profile 'Letakasafaris', newest review 24 September 2024.
Sources: google, safaribookings, trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Letaka Safaris' camps?

Botswana.

Countries
Botswana. Camps are mobile tented camps in Botswana; no camps owned outside it are listed.
Where they are
Moremi Game Reserve (Xakanaxa), Mababe River Private Reserve (exclusive campsite on the Khwai River), Khwai, Savuti and Chobe National Park, Central Kalahari Game Reserve (Blooming Desert departures), Chobe River at Kasane. Extensions to Victoria Falls, Namibia (Caprivi) and Zambia. Overnight in Maun at Thamalakane River Lodge.
Land and traversing
Exclusive campsites in national parks and reserves (Moremi, Chobe) and an exclusive campsite in the Mababe concession, which has 'a strict max of 20 vehicles for the whole concession'. Night drives and guided walks are not permitted in national parks and are done in the Mababe Private Reserve.
Mobile and seasonal camps
Yes, it is a mobile operator: the camp crew sets up and takes down camp roughly every 3 days (guest testimonial) and moves between areas with the same guide and crew. Mababe is a static camp.
Camp sizes
Tents are 4 x 3 m Sahara-style with a 2 x 3 m en-suite bush bathroom and covered front area. Family tents are two tents back to back sharing one bathroom, for four.
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Letaka Safaris' camp.

How much does Letaka Safaris cost?

Letaka Safaris publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

Prices published
Prices in US dollars are listed with each upcoming departure on the Destinations page and on the itinerary pages (for example Family Safari from USD 4,495.00 for August 2027). Rates for privately guided safaris are on request.
What the rate includes
Excluded: travel insurance, flights unless indicated, personal items, gratuities, extensions, drinks at lodges, visas. Tip guide: US$10 guide, US$5 chef, US$5 staff per person per day.
Minimum stay
Not stated as a minimum. Scheduled departures listed run 7 nights (Family Safari), 8 (Blooming Desert), 9 (Northern Highlights, photographic) and 11 nights (Northern Wings).
Sources: prices published, what the rate includes. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Letaka Safaris' booking terms?

Letaka Safaris' published terms: 20% deposit to confirm a booking, received within fourteen days of written confirmation of the booking.

Deposit
20% deposit to confirm a booking, received within fourteen days of written confirmation of the booking.
Balance due
Balance due 6 weeks before departure (Family Safari page, 'Easy Payment Options'). Overdue amounts bear interest at 2% a month.
Cancellation charges
More than 60 days before departure: the 20% deposit is forfeited and other money is refunded. More than 31 days: 50% of the full fee 'may be refunded'. More than 15 days: 25% 'may be refunded'.
Currencies and card fees
Payment 'in Botswana currency or such currency acceptable to the OPERATOR's bankers'; prices are shown in US dollars. Accepts SWIFT transfer, EFT, Mastercard and Visa; credit card payments carry a 3.5% service fee.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit, balance due. Read 20 October 2026.

Who is Letaka Safaris best for?

Best for: Mobile and set-departure Botswana safaris, on Letaka Safaris' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Minimum age 12 on scheduled departures; minimum 5 years on tailor-made private safaris, with a family tent sleeping 4. No maximum age. Child rates are not stated.
Teenagers and families
Family tents: two tents back to back, or older children in their own tent beside the parents. Private departures allow set routes for families.
Solo travellers
No single supplement for the first three singles who book and confirm on a scheduled safari (though direct supplier costs apply where lodge accommodation is included). Further singles pay a supplement.
Older travellers and limited mobility
No maximum age. 'a small level of mobility and fitness is required' for guided walks.
Private guide and vehicle
Privately guided safaris are offered: tailor-made private departure or a scheduled departure blocked off for you. Rates vary by time of year, length and group size, on request.
Exclusive use
Private departures can be booked exclusively by blocking off a scheduled departure or tailor-making one, with rates on request. No fixed camps or villas are offered for sole use.
Activities
Game drives, night drives with spotlights and guided walks (outside national parks only, seasonal), mokoro excursions (Khwai and Mbudi channels), Chobe boat cruises, birding and photographic departures. Per-camp lists are not given.

When is Letaka Safaris not the right choice?

Letaka Safaris is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Children
Minimum age 12 on scheduled departures; minimum 5 years on tailor-made private safaris, with a family tent sleeping 4.
Single travellers
Someone who insists on private accommodation and is not one of the first three pays a 25% supplement.
Sources: family and child policy, solo travellers. Read 20 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Letaka Safaris?

African Horseback Safaris, Kwando Safaris and Under One Botswana Sky also own and run their own camps in Botswana only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • African Horseback Safaris: best for: Horse riding safaris in the Okavango Delta. 5.0 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 1 review.
  • Kwando Safaris: best for: Remote Botswana private reserves. 4.5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Kwando Safaris') from 8 reviews.
  • Under One Botswana Sky: best for: A Chobe riverfront lodge in Kasane. 4.2 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Under One Botswana Sky') from 15 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Letaka Safaris?

'Citizen-owned' and 'Locally owned'.

Trading name
Malachite Safaris (Pty) Ltd trading as Letaka Safaris, as named in the terms and conditions and privacy policy.
Based in
Maun, Botswana.
Owner or parent
'Citizen-owned' and 'Locally owned'. Brent Reed and Grant Reed are named founding directors.
In its own words
Claims the company's focus 'has always been on the quality of our guides'.
Conservation model
The company co-founded African Guide Academy.

How do you book Letaka Safaris?

There is an Agents Login for trade content.

Where it sells
There is an Agents Login for trade content. Resident rates are not stated.
How it is paid
Sells direct and through agents ('preferred travel agents', listed by country) with an Agents Login for special content. No commission percentage or trade rate is published.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
'We strongly encourage all of our potential guests to make use of our preferred travel agents.' There is an Agents Login for trade content. A 2012 post says one safari was put together by Expert Africa.
Sources: where it sells, how it is paid. Read 20 October 2026.

Letaka Safaris: the questions people ask

When are Letaka Safaris' camps open?

Yes, it is a mobile operator: the camp crew sets up and takes down camp roughly every 3 days (guest testimonial) and moves between areas with the same guide and crew. Mababe is a static camp.

What activities does Letaka Safaris offer?

Game drives, night drives with spotlights and guided walks (outside national parks only, seasonal), mokoro excursions (Khwai and Mbudi channels), Chobe boat cruises, birding and photographic departures. Per-camp lists are not given.

How does Letaka Safaris fund conservation?

The company co-founded African Guide Academy.

What is included in Letaka Safaris' rates?

Excluded: travel insurance, flights unless indicated, personal items, gratuities, extensions, drinks at lodges, visas. Tip guide: US$10 guide, US$5 chef, US$5 staff per person per day.

What deposit does Letaka Safaris ask for?

20% deposit to confirm a booking, received within fourteen days of written confirmation of the booking.

What are Letaka Safaris' cancellation charges?

More than 60 days before departure: the 20% deposit is forfeited and other money is refunded. More than 31 days: 50% of the full fee 'may be refunded'.

Does Letaka Safaris charge a single supplement?

No single supplement for the first three singles who book and confirm on a scheduled safari (though direct supplier costs apply where lodge accommodation is included). Further singles pay a supplement.

Does Letaka Safaris accept children?

Minimum age 12 on scheduled departures; minimum 5 years on tailor-made private safaris, with a family tent sleeping 4. No maximum age.

Does Letaka Safaris offer a private vehicle?

Privately guided safaris are offered: tailor-made private departure or a scheduled departure blocked off for you. Rates vary by time of year, length and group size, on request.

Where are Letaka Safaris' camps?

Moremi Game Reserve (Xakanaxa), Mababe River Private Reserve (exclusive campsite on the Khwai River), Khwai, Savuti and Chobe National Park, Central Kalahari Game Reserve (Blooming Desert departures), Chobe River at Kasane. Extensions to Victoria Falls, Namibia (Caprivi) and Zambia.

Who owns Letaka Safaris?

'Citizen-owned' and 'Locally owned'.

What are Letaka Safaris' reviews?

Letaka Safaris has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Letaka Safaris') from 58 reviews, 4.9 out of 5 on SafariBookings from 23 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Letaka Safaris published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Letaka Safaris did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.