Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

Which local safari operators in Kenya have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 29 October 2026

Of 22 Kenya operators, Beyond the Plains Safaris and Sunworld Safaris publish deposits of 20% (Sunworld says 20 to 30%), while Africa Safari Classics, Jocky Tours and Safaris, Odyssey Safaris and Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris state 25%. Jungleroam Safaris charges 5% when a booking is cancelled more than 40 days out while Hyrax Safaris refunds 90% at 60 days or more. Beyond the Plains Safaris charges nothing 30 days or more out.

Which local safari operators in Kenya have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?

Sunworld Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris state 20% deposits, Africa Safari Classics and Jocky Tours and Safaris state 25%, Jungleroam Safaris charges 5% beyond 40 days, Hyrax Safaris refunds 90% at 60 days or more, Beyond the Plains Safaris charges nothing 30 days or more out and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel refunds in full less 5% from 40 to 10 days.

Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 22 safari operators with trips in Kenya that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the KATO register where there is one. The table holds two groups of local safari operators. The first is named on two or more days in October 2026 in the answers to the safari questions Uncompromised Travel asks every day. The second is the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Kenya whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy. Cards are in alphabetical order.

Aanika Karibu Safaris

Best for
40% deposit, paid at booking
Deposit
40% of the total tour price at booking.
Balance due
60 days before departure; paid in full on confirmation if booked within 60 days.
Cancellation
Deposit lost beyond 60 days; 30% from 60 to 30 days; 70% from 29 to 16 days; 100% under 16 days.
Payment methods and card fees
Cash, credit card (5% surcharge) or wire transfer.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Kenya Tourism Licence Number TRAI/47/C01/221 from the TRA; no KATO membership stated.
Sources: deposit, licences and registrations, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel

Best for
Refund less 5% fee 40 to 10 days
Deposit
50% of the total safari cost at booking confirmation.
Balance due
Two weeks before for Kenya safaris; one month for Tanzania or combined trips.
Cancellation
40 to 10 days before: full refund less a 5% administration fee (refunds are also less hotel cancellation fees and food expenses); under 10 days and no-shows: no refund.
Payment methods and card fees
US dollars; cards add 3.2% and PayPal adds 7.5%.
How guest money is protected
Says its KATO bonding scheme membership, backed by an insurer, leaves payments 'fully protected'.
Licence
Tour pages show 'KATO member AS/687' and 'TRA licensed' (Tanzania); no Kenya licence number given.

Africa Safari Classics

Best for
25% deposit; stepped charges from 90 days
Deposit
25% of the invoiced amount, non-refundable, once the booking is confirmed.
Balance due
60 days before the date of travel.
Cancellation
50% charge 90 to 61 days out; 75% from 60 to 46 days; 100% within 45 days; supplier penalties and an administrative fee apply.
Payment methods and card fees
Credit card online (Master Card and Visa only) with a 4% fee; no other method stated.
How guest money is protected
KATO Bonding Scheme member; the scheme covers a KATO member that ceases to trade through bankruptcy.
Licence
KATO member and Bonding Scheme member; no tourism licence number published.

Amazing Memories Safaris

Best for
Minimum 25% deposit; balance on arrival
Deposit
A minimum of 25% of the total price at booking.
Balance due
The 75% balance is payable on arrival before the safari starts; no days figure given.
Cancellation
Not stated on its website.
Payment methods and card fees
Online credit card and wire transfer; residents pay in local currency.
How guest money is protected
Says it is KATO bonded; no trust account or other protection is described.
Licence
Claims KATO bonded membership; no tourism licence number given.
Sources: deposit, payment methods, SafariBookings, Google, Trustpilot. Read 29 October 2026.

Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris

Best for
30% deposit; balance on arrival
Deposit
30% down payment to confirm, unless otherwise agreed in writing.
Balance due
Payable on arrival unless agreed otherwise; online card and bank payments must arrive two working days before the safari.
Cancellation
Not stated on its website.
Payment methods and card fees
Cash in USD or Kenyan Shillings, cards (4.1% surcharge) and bank transfer, with bank charges borne by the client.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Registered as Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris Ltd; no KATO membership or licence number given.
Sources: deposit, licences and registrations. Read 29 October 2026.

Beacon Safaris

Best for
Deposit only if cancelled 56+ days out
Deposit
40% to confirm the booking.
Balance due
At least two weeks before departure; immediately for late bookings.
Cancellation
56+ days: deposit only; 55 to 43 days: 30%; 42 to 29: 50%; 28 to 15: 75%; under 14: 100%.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank transfer, online transaction or credit card (5% surcharge); cash acceptable but not encouraged.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.

Beyond the Plains Safaris

Best for
Full deposit refund up to 30 days out
Deposit
20% of the total cost, paid with the booking form.
Balance due
In full at least 30 days before departure; at booking if within 30 days.
Cancellation
30 days or more: no charge and 100% of the deposit refunded; 15 to 29 days: deposit (20% of tour cost) kept; 8 to 14 days: 80%; 1 to 7 days: 100%.
Payment methods and card fees
Card payment accepted (5 to 7% surcharge); refunds go to the original payment method.
How guest money is protected
Says it is a 'fully bonded member' of KATO; gives no trust account or insurance detail.
Licence
KATO bonded member that says it is 'TRA-licensed'; no licence numbers given.

Bison Safaris

Best for
Refund less $50 fee, 40 to 60 days
Deposit
30% deposit at booking.
Balance due
In full before the safari starts; due at booking if within 20 days of departure.
Cancellation
40 to 60 days: full refund minus a $50 fee; 14 to 35 days: 75% refund; 0 to 14 days or no-show: no refund; its about page describes a softer policy.
Payment methods and card fees
Wire transfer in US dollars or a freely convertible currency; its about page also names Visa and Mastercard; no card surcharge stated.
How guest money is protected
No trust account or bonding named; says it offers a '100% Money-Back Guarantee' if it cannot deliver a confirmed safari for reasons within its control.
Licence
Quotes licence number TRA/TTO/1234; lists KATO among its affiliations.

Cherish Africa Safaris

Best for
30% deposit forfeited 61 or more days out
Deposit
A non-refundable 30% of the quoted itinerary cost at booking.
Balance due
No later than 60 days before the safari; in full on confirmation if booked within 60 days.
Cancellation
61 days or more: 30% deposit forfeited; 60 to 31 days: 50%; 30 to 15: 75%; 14 or fewer: 100%; permits and domestic flights non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Pesapal by card or mobile money; bank transfer also referred to in the terms.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it holds a current TRA licence (licensed in 2026) and is a registered limited company; no number or KATO membership given.

Dawn Safaris

Best for
Full deposit refund over 90 days out
Deposit
30% to confirm the booking.
Balance due
In full at least 14 days before the tour starts.
Cancellation
Full deposit refund more than 90 days out, then a sliding scale; later percentages not published.
Payment methods and card fees
Not stated on its website.
How guest money is protected
Says it is 'fully bonded and regulated' with 'supplier failure insurance'; no bonding body or insurer named.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges. Read 29 October 2026.

Hyrax Safaris

Best for
90% refund 60 or more days out
Deposit
30% of the total safari cost at reservation.
Balance due
Before the start of the safari unless agreed otherwise in writing; no days figure.
Cancellation
60+ days: 90% refund; 45 to 59: 60%; 30 to 44: 50%; 15 to 29: 25%; 14 or less: no refund.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank wire or credit or debit card in US dollars for international guests; Kenya Shillings for residents.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings, Google, Trustpilot. Read 29 October 2026.

Jocky Tours and Safaris

Best for
Refund less $40.00 fee, 40 to 60 days
Deposit
25% of the price at booking.
Balance due
To be cleared before the tour starts; in full if booked 20 days or less before.
Cancellation
40 to 60 days: full refund less USD $40.00 fee; 14 to 35 days: 25% of price; 2 to 14 days: 40%; under 2 days and no-shows: no refund.
Payment methods and card fees
Wire or bank transfer only; no card, PayPal or M-Pesa mentioned.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Jungleroam Safaris

Best for
5% charge when cancelled 40+ days out
Deposit
Not stated on its website.
Balance due
Terms: 20 to 30 days before arrival; its FAQ says at least 30 days or cash US dollars on arrival; in full immediately if booked within 45 days.
Cancellation
More than 40 days: 5% of the tour price; 14 to 40 days: 20%; 6 to 14: 30%; under 5 days and no-shows: no refund.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank wire transfer under its terms; cash US dollars on arrival for the balance; no card stated.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings. Read 29 October 2026.

Kwezi Safaris

Best for
20% forfeited 60 to 30 days out
Deposit
Not stated on its website.
Balance due
14 days before departure; in full at confirmation if booked within 45 days.
Cancellation
60 to 30 days: 20% forfeited; 29 to 15: 70%; 14 or less: 100%; gorilla permits non-refundable; 10% rescheduling fee.
Payment methods and card fees
International bank transfers, secure online platforms and local credit or debit cards.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it holds a full TRA licence and shows a KATO Bonded badge; no licence numbers given.

Leopard Orchid Safaris

Best for
Deposit refunded in full over 30 days out
Deposit
30% of the invoice, paid with the signed itinerary.
Balance due
On arrival before the safari begins; no days figure given.
Cancellation
Over 30 days: deposit refunded less bank charges; 30 to 15 days: travel credit valid 18 months; under 15 days or no-show: deposit kept.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank transfer, credit card or M-Pesa; bank charges, card fees and conversion costs are paid by the guest.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
No licence number or association stated; guests can ask for registration documents and its SafariGo badge says 'Licence, identity and office checked'.

Meektrails Safaris

Best for
Says it refunds in full on cancellation
Deposit
A refundable deposit; the amount is on the booking form or invoice, with no percentage published.
Balance due
Full payment before the tour starts; no days figure.
Cancellation
No sliding scale; says it offers a full refund to customers who cancel, processed within 14 business days of a written request.
Payment methods and card fees
Credit or debit card and bank transfer named as examples of accepted methods.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, deposit, SafariBookings, Trustpilot. Read 29 October 2026.

Morning Star Tours & Travel

Best for
Two cancellation scales that differ
Deposit
40% of the total to confirm a safari.
Balance due
The 60% balance 1 week before the safari starts or cash on arrival.
Cancellation
Booking terms: nothing forfeited to 60 days then 10% to 100% of the deposit; cancellation page: zero up to 60 days; 20% up to 35 days; 40% up to 15; 60% under 15 but over 3; 100% at 3 or less; 5% administrative fee.
Payment methods and card fees
Credit card (4% extra fee) and cash on arrival for the balance.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings. Read 29 October 2026.

Odyssey Safaris

Best for
Deposit refundable 60+ days out less USD 500
Deposit
25% of the quoted trip price at booking plus any amount needed to pay 100% of airfare, unless the quotation says otherwise.
Balance due
60 days before departure; in full on acceptance if booked fewer than 60 days out.
Cancellation
60+ days: deposit refundable less a USD 500 per person fee; 59 to 30 days: 25%; 29 to 15: 50%; 14 to 8: 75%; 7 or less: 100%.
Payment methods and card fees
Credit or debit card in US dollars through a payment portal; bank transfer not mentioned.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings, Trustpilot. Read 29 October 2026.

Ongeri Expeditions

Best for
30% non-refundable deposit; 12-month credit note
Deposit
30% of the total safari cost, non-refundable, to confirm the booking.
Balance due
No later than 60 days before departure; immediately for bookings under 60 days.
Cancellation
More than 60 days: refund less the 30% deposit; 60 to 45 days: 50% refund less deposit; 44 to 30: 25%; 29 or fewer: none; a 12-month transferable credit note is usually offered instead.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank wire transfer, credit card (Visa, Mastercard, American Express) and Flywire; no card surcharge.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Describes itself as a Kenyan registered tour operator in Karen; no licence number or KATO membership stated.

Sunworld Safaris

Best for
20 to 30% deposit by booking date
Deposit
20 to 30% depending on the time between booking and the safari; the amount is stated in writing at confirmation.
Balance due
4 to 8 weeks before the safari starts; last-minute bookings may need full payment up front.
Cancellation
90 days and over: deposit forfeited; 90 to 60 days: 50%; 59 to 31: 75%; 30 to 0: 100%.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank transfer, online card payment, credit card (5% surcharge), PayPal, Pesapal and cash in USD, EUR or KES.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it is a Category A member of the Kenya Association of Tour Operators; no licence number stated.
Sources: deposit, licences and registrations, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris

Best for
10% fee on every cancellation
Deposit
25% of the total safari cost at booking; 50% if booked less than 90 days before arrival.
Balance due
A second 25% 90 days before arrival; the final balance 45 days before.
Cancellation
10% administrative fee on all cancellations; 90 to 45 days: fees held as credit for 12 months less the fee; under 45 days: 100% forfeited.
Payment methods and card fees
Credit card, Google Pay or bank transfer; says no extra fee is charged on card payments.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Not stated on its website.
Sources: cancellation charges, SafariBookings, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Valley Safaris

Best for
25% deposit-only charge beyond 60 days
Deposit
The site contradicts itself: 40%, 25% or 20% depending on the page; the latest article says 20%.
Balance due
45 days before travel per its contract and instalment articles.
Cancellation
60 days or more: 25% (deposit only); 30 to 59 days: 50%; 15 to 29: 75%; 0 to 14 or no-show: 100%; the instalment article gives a different scale.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank or wire transfer, cards (3% to 4% surcharge), M-Pesa and cash for small extras.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Claims KATO membership and a TRA licence number printed in every contract; the numbers are not shown on the pages read.
Sources: cancellation charges, balance due, payment methods, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Which operators take the smallest deposit?

Beyond the Plains Safaris and Sunworld Safaris state 20% (Sunworld says 20 to 30%) while Africa Safari Classics, Amazing Memories Safaris, Jocky Tours and Safaris, Odyssey Safaris and Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris state 25%.

  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: 20% of the total cost, paid with the booking form.
  • Sunworld Safaris: 20 to 30% depending on the time between booking and the safari, stated in writing at confirmation.
  • Valley Safaris: Its latest instalment article says 20%, but other pages say 25% or 40%.
  • Africa Safari Classics: 25% of the invoiced amount, non-refundable.
  • Amazing Memories Safaris: A minimum of 25% of the total price.
  • Jocky Tours and Safaris: 25% of the price at booking.
  • Odyssey Safaris: 25% of the quoted trip price, plus any amount needed to pay 100% of airfare.
  • Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris: 25% of the total safari cost, rising to 50% if booked less than 90 days before arrival.

Aanika Karibu Safaris, Beacon Safaris and Morning Star Tours & Travel ask for 40% while Meektrails Safaris publishes no percentage.

Which operators refund the most when you cancel?

Jungleroam Safaris charges 5% beyond 40 days, Hyrax Safaris refunds 90% at 60 days or more, Beyond the Plains Safaris charges nothing 30 days or more out, Jocky Tours and Safaris and Bison Safaris refund in full less a fee 40 to 60 days out and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel does so 40 to 10 days out.

  • Jungleroam Safaris: More than 40 days: 5% of the tour price; 14 to 40 days: 20%.
  • Hyrax Safaris: 60 days or more: 90% refund; 45 to 59 days: 60%.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: 40 to 10 days before: full refund less a 5% administration fee.
  • Jocky Tours and Safaris: 40 to 60 days: full refund less a USD $40.00 administration fee.
  • Bison Safaris: 40 to 60 days: full refund minus a $50 fee.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: 30 days or more: no charge and 100% of the deposit refunded.
  • Leopard Orchid Safaris: More than 30 days: deposit refunded less bank charges.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: More than 60 days: full refund less the 30% deposit, with usually a 12-month credit note instead.
  • Morning Star Tours & Travel: Its cancellation page charges zero up to 60 days, though its booking terms publish a different scale.
  • Meektrails Safaris: Says it offers a full refund to customers who cancel, with no sliding scale.

Scales run by days before departure and are not like for like. Bison Safaris, Morning Star Tours & Travel, Ongeri Expeditions and Valley Safaris each publish two different descriptions, so ask which one governs.

How do operators take payment and what do card payments cost?

Card surcharges run from 3% at Valley Safaris to 5 to 7% at Beyond the Plains Safaris, while Ongeri Expeditions and Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris say they add none.

  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Cards add 3.2% and PayPal adds 7.5%; a dollar bank account is given for wires.
  • Valley Safaris: Cards carry a surcharge of 3% to 4%; M-Pesa and bank transfer are also taken.
  • Africa Safari Classics: Master Card and Visa only, with 4% of the invoiced amount added.
  • Morning Star Tours & Travel: Credit card with a 4% extra fee.
  • Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Cards carry a 4.1% surcharge while bank charges fall on the client.
  • Aanika Karibu Safaris: Credit cards carry a 5% surcharge.
  • Beacon Safaris: Credit card payments carry a surcharge of 5%.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: A card surcharge of 5 to 7% applies.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Credit card carries a 5% surcharge while PayPal and Pesapal are also listed.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: Bank wire, cards and Flywire, with no card surcharge.
  • Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris: Says no additional fees are charged for credit card payments.
  • Jocky Tours and Safaris: Wire or bank transfer only.

Cherish Africa Safaris and Leopard Orchid Safaris say the guest pays bank or card charges and give no percentage.

Which Kenyan safari operators are bonded members of KATO?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel, Africa Safari Classics, Amazing Memories Safaris, Beyond the Plains Safaris and Kwezi Safaris say they are KATO members or show a KATO bonded badge while none of them names a trust account.

  • Africa Safari Classics: Says it belongs to the KATO Bonding Scheme, which covers a KATO member that ceases to trade through bankruptcy.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Says its KATO bonding scheme membership, backed by an insurer, leaves payments 'fully protected'.
  • Amazing Memories Safaris: Says it is KATO bonded and describes no trust account.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: Says it is a 'fully bonded member' of KATO and gives no trust account or insurance detail.
  • Kwezi Safaris: Shows a KATO Bonded badge on its contact page.
  • Dawn Safaris: Says it is 'fully bonded and regulated' with supplier failure insurance; it names no bonding body.

These are the operators' own statements; confirm membership with KATO before paying a deposit.

How can I check the operator is licensed?

Ask for the TRA licence number and the KATO membership number, then check both with the regulator and the association, since only Aanika Karibu Safaris, Bison Safaris and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel print any number.

  • Aanika Karibu Safaris: Prints Kenya Tourism Licence Number TRAI/47/C01/221 from the TRA.
  • Bison Safaris: Quotes TRA/TTO/1234, so verify it on the register before relying on it.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Tour pages show 'KATO member AS/687' and 'TRA licensed', with no Kenya licence number.
  • Valley Safaris: Says a TRA licence number is printed in every contract header; the numbers are not shown on the pages read.
  • Leopard Orchid Safaris: Says guests can request its registration and licensing documents.
  • Cherish Africa Safaris: Says it holds a current TRA licence but gives no number.

Operators that print no number are not shown to be unlicensed; the site simply does not say.

What are the best alternatives to Jocky Tours and Safaris and Jungleroam Safaris for flexible booking terms in Kenya in 2026?

Hyrax Safaris, Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel, Leopard Orchid Safaris, Meektrails Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris publish refund terms and, unlike Jocky Tours and Safaris and Jungleroam Safaris, accept cards or M-Pesa.

  • Hyrax Safaris: 60 days or more: 90% refund, with bank wire or card payment in US dollars.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: 40 to 10 days before: full refund less a 5% fee, with a 3.2% card surcharge.
  • Leopard Orchid Safaris: More than 30 days: deposit refunded less bank charges, with bank transfer, card or M-Pesa.
  • Beyond the Plains Safaris: 30 days or more: no charge and 100% of the deposit refunded, with a 5 to 7% card surcharge.
  • Meektrails Safaris: Says it offers a full refund to customers who cancel, with card and bank transfer accepted.

Who to contact first

This is a suggested order, not a ranking: alphabetical, among operators that publish a deposit and a refund scale, with the missing lines to ask each for.

  1. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: It publishes a 50% deposit, a refund scale and a KATO number; ask for the card surcharge in writing.
  2. Africa Safari Classics: It publishes a 25% deposit, a 60-day balance date, a stepped charge scale and KATO Bonding Scheme membership.
  3. Beyond the Plains Safaris: It publishes a 20% deposit and a charge-free window of 30 days or more; ask for the licence numbers.
  4. Hyrax Safaris: It publishes a 30% deposit and a 90% refund at 60 days or more; ask for the balance date, which it does not give.
  5. Leopard Orchid Safaris: It publishes a 30% deposit and a deposit refund beyond 30 days; ask for licence documents.
  6. Sunworld Safaris: It publishes a 20 to 30% deposit and a full scale; ask which deposit applies to the date booked.

In every enquiry, ask for the deposit percentage, the balance date, the cancellation scale by days before departure, the card surcharge and the licence and KATO numbers in writing.

Kenya safari operator booking terms: the questions people ask

Which local safari operators in Kenya have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?

Sunworld Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris state deposits of 20% while Africa Safari Classics and Jocky Tours and Safaris state 25%. Jungleroam Safaris charges 5% beyond 40 days and Hyrax Safaris refunds 90% at 60 days or more. Beyond the Plains Safaris charges nothing 30 days or more out.

Which operators take the smallest deposit?

Beyond the Plains Safaris states 20% and Sunworld Safaris 20 to 30%. Africa Safari Classics, Odyssey Safaris and Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris state 25%.

Which operators refund the most when you cancel?

Hyrax Safaris refunds 90% at 60 days or more. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel refunds in full less a 5% fee from 40 to 10 days before while Bison Safaris refunds in full minus a $50 fee 40 to 60 days out.

Do card payments cost extra on a Kenya safari booking?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel adds 3.2% for cards and Africa Safari Classics adds 4%. Aanika Karibu Safaris and Beacon Safaris add 5% and Beyond the Plains Safaris adds 5 to 7%, while Tapestry of Africa Tours and Safaris says it charges nothing extra.

When is the balance due?

Africa Safari Classics asks for it 60 days before travel and Beyond the Plains Safaris 30 days before departure. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel asks for it two weeks before for Kenya safaris.

Which operators publish no full cancellation scale?

Dawn Safaris publishes only part of its scale, with no percentages for later bands. Amazing Memories Safaris and Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris publish no cancellation scale.

What are the best alternatives to Jocky Tours and Safaris and Jungleroam Safaris for flexible booking terms in Kenya in 2026?

Hyrax Safaris, Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel, Leopard Orchid Safaris, Meektrails Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris publish refund terms and, unlike Jocky Tours and Safaris and Jungleroam Safaris, accept cards or M-Pesa. Compare each scale by days before departure.

Which Kenyan safari operators are bonded members of KATO?

Africa Safari Classics says it belongs to the KATO Bonding Scheme and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel says its KATO bonding scheme membership leaves payments 'fully protected'. Amazing Memories Safaris and Beyond the Plains Safaris say they are KATO bonded.

How can I check a Kenya safari operator is licensed?

Ask for the TRA licence number and the KATO membership number, then check both with the Tourism Regulatory Authority and KATO. Aanika Karibu Safaris prints Kenya Tourism Licence Number TRAI/47/C01/221 and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel shows 'KATO member AS/687'.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Kenya whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy is on this page, except as noted here; operators whose websites would not open are not. Magical Africa is in the table but not on this page: its site gives its only office as Chino Hills, California; its booking terms say it acts as an agent for the suppliers it books, so it is not a local operator. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.