Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel

How much does a family safari in Kenya cost?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 29 October 2026

Published family prices in Kenya run from $1,700 for Valley Safaris' 8-Day Kenya Family Safari (basis not stated; Africa Flash's $760 is a 3-day trip, not a family package) to USD 38,450 per family for Ongeri Expeditions' Private Villa Family Safari. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel states a child rate of 75% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12. The licence of each operator can be checked on the KATO register.

How much does a family safari in Kenya cost?

Valley Safaris lists an 8-Day Kenya Family Safari at $1,700, Safari Travel Plus a 5-Day Family Safari from $1,800, Dawn Safaris family safaris from $2,749, Africa Safari Classics a 7-day family trip from USD3250, Ongeri Expeditions a Private Villa Family Safari from USD 38,450 per family and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel child rates at 75% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12.

Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 8 safari operators with trips in Kenya that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the KATO register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Kenya whose own website publishes a child price, a child discount or a family trip price. Cards run from the lowest published price to the highest; an operator with no figure to sort comes last. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.

Valley Safaris

Best for
8-day Kenya family safari with a price
Published price
8-Day Kenya Family Safari $1,700.00 on its home page; shown as $, with basis, group size and season not stated.
Children
Family safaris are described as safe, comfortable and engaging; child rates, minimum age and car seats are not stated.
What the price includes
Says transport, park fees, accommodation and activities are arranged; no per-trip inclusion list is shown.
Ask for
Ask for the refund fee and card surcharge in writing: refunds carry a flat KES 6,500 admin fee and cards a 3% to 4% surcharge.
Not the fit if
Not the fit if you want a fee-free refund or a card payment at face value: refunds carry a flat KES 6,500 admin fee.
Sources: priced example trips, currencies and card fees, Google. Read 29 October 2026.

Safari Travel Plus

Best for
Mara or Samburu 5-day family packages
Published price
Masai Mara 5-Day Family from $1,800 per person; Samburu 5-Day Family from $1,950 (US dollars, group size and season not given).
Children
Says child rates apply; family-friendly lodges and junior ranger activities; minimum age, car seat and child park fee are not stated.
What the price includes
Says every park fee and transfer is included in the quote; no full list covering tips, drinks or visas is shown.
Ask for
Ask for the child rate on the family package and a full inclusions list, as its site gives neither.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Dawn Safaris

Best for
Family trips of 7 to 10 days
Published price
Family Safaris from $2,749, 7 to 10 days (US dollars).
Children
Family safaris are described as for children of all ages; child rates, minimum age and car seats are not stated.
What the price includes
Camping page: meals and fully equipped tents with beds and bedding; for safaris, park fees, fuel, driver-guide and Flying Doctors cover are not stated.
Ask for
Ask for park fees, fuel and the driver-guide to be confirmed in writing, as its site does not state them for safaris.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.

Africa Safari Classics

Best for
Named 7-day family trip with a price
Published price
The Finest for the Family, 7 days, from USD3250 (US dollars).
Children
Child rates, minimum age and car seats are not stated; some lodges do not admit children of certain ages.
What the price includes
Unlimited Wildlife Experience: private safari, full board, safari vehicle with pop-up roof, driver-guide, park entrance fees, conservation fees, government taxes and levies, Flying Doctors cover; flights, visa fees and tips are not included.
Ask for
Ask for child rates, the minimum age and car seats, which its site does not state.
Not the fit if
Not the fit for families who need every lodge open to children: its terms say some lodges do not permit children of certain ages.

Sino Africa Safari

Best for
Luxury hotel family trip
Published price
Family Travel trip, Luxury Hotel, from 4,300 USD.
Children
No child rates, minimum age or car-seat policy is stated.
What the price includes
Not stated on its website.
Ask for
Ask for the trip length, child rates and what the 4,300 USD covers, as its site gives none of these.
Not the fit if
Not the fit for budget or mid-range trips: itineraries are labelled 5-Star, Fairmont+Flight and Luxury Hotel and no budget tier is named.
Sources: family trips and child policy, SafariBookings. Read 29 October 2026.

Sunworld Safaris

Best for
Long 12 or 14 day family safaris
Published price
Ultimate Family Safari, 14 days, from USD 5,270; Fun Family Safari, 12 days, from USD 5,610.
Children
Recommends children be at least 3 years old; family or interconnecting rooms and nanny services on request; child rates and car seats are not stated.
What the price includes
Example 8-day Migration Safari: 4x4 Land Cruiser, English-speaking driver/guide, park fees for 5 nights in the Mara, accommodation and emergency evacuation insurance; flights, visas and tips are excluded.
Ask for
Ask for park fees to be itemised on a family trip, as its 8-day Migration Safari includes them for 5 nights in the Mara but vehicle-hire rates do not.
Not the fit if
Not the fit for children under 3, as its FAQ recommends children be at least 3 years old.

Ongeri Expeditions

Best for
Luxury family trips with child discounts
Published price
Private Villa Family Safari from USD 38,450 per family.
Children
Ages 6 to 15 stayed free of accommodation charges on its September 2026 offers, which have ended; children share from about half price at most camps.
What the price includes
Camps and lodges with meals, flights between camps, park and conservancy fees, a Nairobi night and medical evacuation cover; flights, visas, tips and insurance are extra.
Ask for
Ask what child terms apply now that the September 2026 offers have ended, as parents paid park fees and domestic flights for children who stayed free.
Not the fit if
Not the fit for a budget trip: its published tiers start at $500 per person per day and it has no budget camping tier.

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel

Best for
Private family trips, children under 3 free
Published price
Conserving Kenya Safari, 3 days, from $760 per person; Two Nations, Many Wonders Safari, 11 days, from $3,060 (US dollars, private tours).
Children
Children below 3 are free; ages 3 to 12 pay 75% of the adult rate; baby seats on request.
What the price includes
Transfers, accommodation, meals, private 4x4 Land Cruiser, English-speaking guide/driver, government taxes, levies and entry fees; flights, visas and tips are not included.
Ask for
Ask for the Kenya trip price in writing with the 3.2% card surcharge shown, or the dollar bank account for a wire.
Not the fit if
Not the fit if you want to pay by card without a surcharge: cards add 3.2% and PayPal adds 7.5%.

What do Kenya safari operators charge for children?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel charges 75% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12 and nothing under 3, Ongeri Expeditions says ages 6 to 15 stayed free of accommodation charges on its September 2026 offers, which have ended, while most other operators state no child rate.

  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Children below 3 years are free and children between 3 and 12 years pay 75% of the adult rate.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: Ages 6 to 15 stayed free of accommodation charges on its September 2026 offers, which have ended, with children sharing from about half price at most camps.
  • Safari Travel Plus: Says child rates apply on its family packages but gives no amount.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Recommends children be at least 3 years old and gives no child rate.
  • Valley Safaris: Sells an 8-Day Kenya Family Safari but states no child rate, minimum age or car seat policy.

Dawn Safaris, Africa Safari Classics and Sino Africa Safari also publish family trips with no child rates, so ask each for the rate by age before comparing totals.

Which operators publish a priced family safari?

Seven of the eight operators publish a priced family trip, from $1,700 at Valley Safaris to USD 38,450 per family at Ongeri Expeditions while Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel offers family safaris with no family price.

  • Valley Safaris: 8-Day Kenya Family Safari $1,700.00, with basis, group size and season not stated.
  • Safari Travel Plus: 5-Day Family Safari from $1,800 in the Masai Mara and a 5-Day Family Safari from $1,950 in Samburu.
  • Dawn Safaris: Family Safaris from $2,749, 7 to 10 days.
  • Africa Safari Classics: The Finest for the Family, 7 days, from USD3250.
  • Sino Africa Safari: A Family Travel trip, Luxury Hotel, from 4,300 USD.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Ultimate Family Safari, 14 days, from USD 5,270 and Fun Family Safari, 12 days, from USD 5,610.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: Private Villa Family Safari from USD 38,450 per family.

Each operator sets its own basis, season and inclusions, so the figures are not like for like until the quote says what they cover.

What does a family safari in Kenya cost, line by line?

The lines are the trip price, park and conservancy fees, flights and transfers, tips and card fees, with each operator's site showing only some of them.

  • Valley Safaris: Trip line: 8-Day Kenya Family Safari $1,700.00, with basis and season not stated.
  • Africa Safari Classics: Park and conservancy fees: its Unlimited Wildlife Experience includes all park entrance fees and wildlife conservation fees.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: Park and conservancy fees plus flights between camps are included on its cost page while international flights are extra.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Transfers: all transfers are included while international flights and taxes are not.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Park fees: included for 5 nights in the Mara on its 8-day Migration Safari example but excluded from vehicle-hire rates.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Tips: listed as not included, with small US dollar cash recommended and no tipping guide.
  • Africa Safari Classics: Tips: not included and left to the client's discretion under its terms.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Card fees: a 3.2% surcharge on cards and 7.5% on PayPal, with a dollar bank account given for wires.
  • Africa Safari Classics: Card fees: Master Card and Visa only, with an additional 4% of the total invoiced amount.
  • Valley Safaris: Card fees: a surcharge of 3% to 4% with refunds carrying a flat KES 6,500 admin fee.

No operator here publishes a Kenya conservancy fee or permit figure for a family, so ask for those lines to be itemised and do not add the lines above into a total.

Your budget goes furthest if

Your budget goes furthest if you travel in the lower-priced season, use child discounts, pay by bank transfer and choose a shorter trip.

  • Sunworld Safaris: You travel in Green Season, when its Featured Safaris page gives USD 350 per person per day against USD 600 in Peak Season.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: You bring children under 3, who are free, or aged 3 to 12, who pay 75% of the adult rate.
  • Ongeri Expeditions: You note that its September 2026 offers, under which ages 6 to 15 stayed free of accommodation charges, have ended and ask what applies now.
  • Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: You pay by wire to its dollar bank account, as cards add 3.2% and PayPal adds 7.5%.
  • Dawn Safaris: You choose a shorter trip, as its 4 Days Budget Camping Safari is listed from $580 per person.

What are the best alternatives to Sino Africa Safari and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel for a family safari in Kenya in 2026?

Valley Safaris, Safari Travel Plus, Dawn Safaris, Africa Safari Classics and Sunworld Safaris each publish a priced family trip. Sino Africa Safari publishes one family price and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel none.

  • Valley Safaris: 8-Day Kenya Family Safari $1,700.00.
  • Safari Travel Plus: 5-Day Family Safari from $1,800 in the Masai Mara, with child rates it says apply.
  • Dawn Safaris: Family Safaris from $2,749, 7 to 10 days.
  • Africa Safari Classics: The Finest for the Family, 7 days, from USD3250.
  • Sunworld Safaris: Family Safaris of 12 and 14 days, with family or interconnecting rooms and nanny services on request.

Who to contact first

Start with the operators that state a child rate or minimum age, then those with a priced family trip.

  1. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: First, because it publishes a child rate of 75% of the adult rate for ages 3 to 12; ask for a Kenya family price and the card surcharge.
  2. Ongeri Expeditions: Second, because it publishes child terms for ages 6 to 15 that applied to its September 2026 offers, which have ended; ask what applies now and what parents pay in park fees and domestic flights.
  3. Sunworld Safaris: Third, because it states a minimum age and room options; ask for park fees to be itemised on the family trips.
  4. Safari Travel Plus: Fourth, because it names two priced family packages; ask for the child rate and a full inclusions list.
  5. Valley Safaris: Fifth, because it lists a priced 8-day family trip; ask what the $1,700.00 covers and for the refund fee in writing.
  6. Dawn Safaris: Sixth, because it lists family safaris from $2,749; ask for child rates and if park fees and the driver-guide are included.

In every enquiry, ask for the price by age of child, the park fees, the transfers and the card fee on separate lines.

Kenya family safari cost: the questions people ask

How much does a family safari in Kenya cost?

The published family prices here run from $1,700 for Valley Safaris' 8-Day Kenya Family Safari to USD 38,450 per family for Ongeri Expeditions' Private Villa Family Safari. Basis, season and inclusions differ by operator, so ask each for an itemised quote.

What do Kenya safari operators charge for children?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel says children below 3 are free and ages 3 to 12 pay 75% of the adult rate. Ongeri Expeditions says ages 6 to 15 stayed free of accommodation charges on its September 2026 offers, which have ended.

Is there a minimum age for a family safari in Kenya?

Sunworld Safaris recommends children be at least 3 years old. Dawn Safaris and Valley Safaris state no minimum age.

Which operators publish a priced family safari?

Valley Safaris lists $1,700.00, Safari Travel Plus $1,800, Dawn Safaris $2,749 and Sunworld Safaris USD 5,270 for family trips. Africa Safari Classics lists USD3250 and Sino Africa Safari 4,300 USD.

What does a Kenya family safari price include?

Africa Safari Classics lists private safari, full board, park entrance fees and Flying Doctors cover in its Unlimited Wildlife Experience. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel lists transfers, accommodation, meals, a guide and government taxes. Neither includes tips or international flights.

Do card payments cost extra on a Kenya safari?

Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel adds 3.2% for cards and 7.5% for PayPal. Africa Safari Classics adds 4% and Valley Safaris a surcharge of 3% to 4%.

What are the best alternatives to Sino Africa Safari and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel for a family safari in Kenya in 2026?

Valley Safaris, Safari Travel Plus, Dawn Safaris, Africa Safari Classics and Sunworld Safaris each publish a priced family trip. Sino Africa Safari publishes one family price and Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel none. Compare their child rates and inclusions before their headline prices.

How can I check a Kenya safari operator is licensed?

Africa Safari Classics, Sunworld Safaris and Valley Safaris say they are KATO members while Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel shows 'KATO member AS/687' on its tour pages. Check each name on the KATO register and ask for the licence number, as Sino Africa Safari states neither.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Kenya whose own website publishes a child price, a child discount or a family trip price is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards run from the lowest published price to the highest; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.