Which Safari Company Is Best for Travellers Over 70? Twelve Companies Compared on Pace, Access and Medical Support

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 15 October 2026

No safari company we read sets an upper age limit, and the ones that publish the most for travellers over 70 are Wilderness, Yellow Zebra Safaris, Go2Africa and Beyond the Plains Safaris. Wilderness offers boardwalk access to rooms, 24/7 tele-medical support and private vehicles, with Botswana trips from $14,470 for 8 nights. Yellow Zebra has hosted a 98-year-old guest. Beyond the Plains uses only private vehicles and caps morning drives at three hours. Go2Africa recommends flying between camps. For wheelchair users, Endeavour Safaris and Epic Enabled run adapted vehicles. This page gives no score; every fact is from the company's own site, read on 15 October 2026.

Who is on this page, and why

A company is on this page if it publishes something specific for older travellers or travellers with limited mobility, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. Between 5 and 15 October 2026 ChatGPT named Go2Africa, Yellow Zebra Safaris, Micato Safaris, Abercrombie & Kent, Wilderness, andBeyond and Endeavour Safaris most often, citing only company websites: no independent site was cited. We read each company's own pages on 15 October 2026. This page gives no score. The first group publishes a page for older travellers; the second specialises in limited mobility and wheelchairs; the third is named by ChatGPT but publishes no such page.

How to read a card. "Not stated on their website" means we read the company's pages and the fact is not there. "Could not access" means the page would not open. Quotes are the company's own words. Reviews are shown per platform and never added together. "Not the fit if" uses only limits the company publishes.
A man in a cap reads at a breakfast table while a giraffe leans in through the arched window at Giraffe Manor, Nairobi
Breakfast with a giraffe at Giraffe Manor in Nairobi. Some of the most memorable wildlife encounters on a Kenya trip need no game drive at all. Photo: Pexels.

Is there an upper age limit for safari?

None of the 14 companies we read sets an upper age limit, and neither does Rwanda for gorilla trekking, which sets only a minimum of 15. What changes after 70 is not whether you can go but how the trip is built: shorter drives, fewer camp changes, flights instead of long roads, a private vehicle so you set the pace, and rooms close to the main area. The companies below say in writing which of those they offer.

Eight companies that publish a page for older travellers

Each has a page written for older travellers. Those with a dedicated product or priced examples come first.

WildernessCamp owner and operator in eight African countries, with its own airline, Wilderness Air

What it publishes
A page called "African Safaris for Seniors": itineraries "designed around comfort, safety, and ease"; "Rather than being physically demanding, a Wilderness safari is designed to be immersive and restorative."
Pace, vehicle and access
"Many" camps suit guests with mobility challenges; suites have "easy access to the main camp areas", often along boardwalks. A private vehicle and guide are available "at an extra cost and subject to availability". Inter-camp transfers on its own airline.
Medical
"Park.Doctor provides 24/7 tele-medical support and expert care co-ordination." No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Per person, from: Botswana's Wildest Regions, 8 nights, $14,470; Mababe Magic and Classic Delta, 9 nights, $14,785; The Ultimate Romantic Safari, 10 nights, $17,460.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You need every camp to be step-free, or a private vehicle guaranteed: its page says "many" camps, not all, and a private vehicle is subject to availability.
Sources: seniors page. Read 15 October 2026.

Yellow Zebra SafarisUK planner · ATOL 10614

What it publishes
A page called "Best African safari for seniors", written by a former camp manager: most guests were "between 50 and 75 years old" and "The oldest guest I had to stay in one of my camps was 98."
Pace, vehicle and access
Asks you to check you can get in and out of the vehicles and reach your room, and warns that at Lamai Serengeti "those top rooms are a trek from the main area". Asks about power for "CPAP machines or any other medical equipment".
Medical
Recommends full medical travel insurance that covers safari activities. No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Per person, per camp, no nights stated: Governors' Camp, Kenya, from £469 to £755; Lemala Mara, Tanzania, £506 to £891; Wilderness Chitabe, Botswana, £1,563 to £2,560.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 1,783 (yellowzebrasafaris.com).
Not the fit if
You cannot manage basic camp facilities: its own page warns of eco-toilets, bucket showers in mobile camps and rooms "a trek from the main area", and says to "be realistic about physical limitations".
Sources: seniors page, luggage FAQ, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Go2AfricaCape Town, South Africa · part of the Nawiri Group

What it publishes
A seniors safari guide, a wheelchair safari guide and a guide to planning a safari with your parents. "You can also set the pace of your itinerary to match your needs", with "private guides who will travel with you every step of the way".
Pace, vehicle and access
"We recommend fly-in safari itineraries for seniors" in Botswana, and flying in Kenya and Tanzania because distances are large. It works with properties that have 4x4s with ramps and tie-downs, and has rented wheelchairs for clients in South Africa.
Medical
"Strictly speaking, you don't need to be fit to go on safari", but for gorilla trekking "fitness is essential". Travel insurance "is always a must". No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Not stated on its senior pages.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.8 from 181 (go2africa.com).
Not the fit if
You use a wheelchair and cannot transfer out of it: its own guide warns light aircraft may not take you, and chairs face "strict weight limits".
Sources: seniors guide, wheelchair guide, with your parents, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Beyond the Plains SafarisNairobi, Kenya · KATO registered

What it publishes
A page on safari companies for seniors (its own marketing, which ranks itself): "Fully private safari vehicles, no shared vehicles, ever."
Pace, vehicle and access
Morning drives "capped at three hours", rest days and midday returns built in, and the vehicle's step-in height confirmed "in writing".
Medical
Documented emergency protocols including AMREF Flying Doctors and guide first-aid certification, given "in writing before booking". No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Senior packages are "On Request"; its tier is "Mid-luxury to luxury".
Reviews
SafariBookings: 5.0 from 216. Trustpilot: no reviews yet.
Not the fit if
You want a price before you enquire: the senior packages it lists carry no published price.
Sources: seniors page, SafariBookings. Read 15 October 2026.
Travellers seen from inside an open safari vehicle watching a small herd of elephants on dry grassland
Watching elephants from the vehicle. A private vehicle lets you decide when a drive ends, which several companies here offer as standard or at extra cost. Photo: Pexels.

Asilia AfricaCamp operator in Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda and Rwanda

What it publishes
A page on "Accessible safaris for mature travellers": "Age is no barrier to witnessing the magnificent wildlife and landscapes of East Africa."
Pace, vehicle and access
Vehicle seating with "support and legroom, plus steps and handles"; private vehicles and guides "for a flexible schedule"; ground-level or gently ramped access to main areas; many camps reached by short flights.
Medical
Mobility and health needs to be shared at booking. No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Not stated on the page.
Reviews
Trustpilot: not checked.
Not the fit if
You need limits set out in advance: the page asks you to disclose needs at booking but publishes no hard criteria.
Sources: mature travellers page. Read 15 October 2026.

Discover AfricaBellville, Cape Town, South Africa

What it publishes
"Top 10 Luxury African Safaris for Seniors" and a guide to four wheelchair-accessible lodges in South Africa. "The pace is gentle and you're invited to stop along the way."
Pace, vehicle and access
Trips tailored "from private vehicles to accessible lodges". At MalaMala Main Camp "A wheelchair ramp is provided leading up to the front seat next to the ranger"; at Ximuwu Lodge a mobile ramp attaches to the game vehicle.
Medical
Insurance with medical evacuation; malaria-free reserves (Madikwe, Marakele) need no anti-malarials. No age limit stated.
Priced examples
"Price on Request".
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.8 from 187 (discoverafrica.com). Its homepage shows SafariBookings 4.9 from 592 and Google 4.9 from 159.
Not the fit if
You are flying between camps with a large case: its own page says charter flights "often limit luggage to 15-20 kg in soft bags".
Sources: seniors article, accessible lodges, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Nature's Gift SafarisTanzania; "Tanzania's Dedicated Senior Safari Specialist"

What it publishes
"We are the safari company in Tanzania entirely focused on travelers aged 60 and above."
Pace, vehicle and access
"Comfortable vehicles with easy step-in access, cushioned seats, and plenty of space"; lodges "with minimal stairs, good beds, safe bathrooms". Whether vehicles are private is not stated on their website.
Medical
Not stated on their website.
Priced examples
Not stated on their website.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want a country other than Tanzania: its homepage lists Tanzania only.
Sources: homepage. Read 15 October 2026.

Private Tours Cape Town (Beyond Africa Safaris)Cape Town, South Africa

What it publishes
Senior safari pages for South Africa, Tanzania and Kenya, and a wheelchair-accessible safari page. Safari is "fundamentally a seated, slow-paced experience"; "a significant proportion of our guests are over 60".
Pace, vehicle and access
Private safaris, or small groups of "maximum 8 guests in a vehicle".
Medical
Not stated on the page read. No age limit stated.
Priced examples
Multi-day safaris of 3 to 7 days "from $3,000"; luxury packages "from $15,000"; Kwandwe lodge $750 to $1,400 a person a night in 2026.
Reviews
Its page states "4.9 rating on TripAdvisor"; Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want consistent figures: the same page gives two different traveller counts and two different years in business.
Sources: seniors page. Read 15 October 2026.

Two specialists for limited mobility and wheelchairs

Built around wheelchair users and travellers with limited mobility, with adapted vehicles.

Endeavour SafarisMaun, Botswana; also Namibia and South Africa

What it publishes
An accessible safaris section: "We are about access, no matter the difficulties or barriers, we will find a way around this." Scheduled departures and private trips.
Pace, vehicle and access
Wanderlust reports a vehicle fitted with "a hydraulic lift and four-point wheelchair restraints", and a mobile camp with roll-in showers and raised beds; founder Mike Hill has taken "elderly travellers with limited mobility".
Medical
Not stated on the pages read.
Priced examples
Not stated on their website.
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You expect full independence everywhere: its own page says that may be difficult because much accommodation "wasn't designed with disability in mind".
Sources: disability safaris, Wanderlust interview. Read 15 October 2026.

Epic EnabledCape Town, South Africa · accessible tours since 2001

What it publishes
Wheelchair-accessible tours: an 8-day Kruger safari, a 12-day Kruger and Cape Town tour and a 5-day Garden Route trip.
Pace, vehicle and access
All transport in "special adapted vehicles for wheelchair access"; at the private reserve you transfer into standard game-drive seats, with "extra straps to assist you with balance if needed".
Medical
Travel insurance is compulsory. No age limit stated.
Priced examples
8-day Kruger safari, 7 nights from Johannesburg: from R45,800 a person sharing (2025 season prices on the tour page and itinerary; single supplement R11,550).
Reviews
Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You are travelling as a couple on fixed dates: departures need "a minimum of four clients", and bush walks "can be difficult for wheelchair users in dry conditions, i.e. soft sand".
Sources: Kruger safari, itinerary PDF. Read 15 October 2026.

Named by ChatGPT, with no page for older travellers

These publish no page for older travellers, but their own pages state facts that matter.

Micato SafarisNew York · family-owned safari company

What it publishes
No page for older travellers. Its Private Classic page says "You're never too old to safari", with a 100th-birthday example (our database, read 12 October 2026).
Pace, vehicle and access
Private Classic: "You'll travel on your own and at your own pace, with your own vehicles and drivers." On group safaris, a nine-seat vehicle is limited to six guests, each with a window seat.
Medical
Not stated on the pages read.
Priced examples
Per person, from: Tanzania Spectacular, 10 days, $20,700; Heart of Kenya and Tanzania, 12 days, $25,000; Micato Grand Safari, 15 days, $40,150.
Reviews
Trustpilot: one review (unclaimed profile).
Not the fit if
Long road transfers are hard for you: its own vehicles page says some drives between camps "can be long" on bumpy, dusty roads.
Sources: Private Classic, vehicles. Read 15 October 2026.

TauckUS tour operator · South Africa: An Elegant Adventure

What it publishes
No page for older travellers, but each tour states an activity level. This one is level 3: "requiring stamina and balance throughout"; pace 3, "Full days with little downtime"; most days 2 to 3.5 miles on foot.
Pace, vehicle and access
Small groups averaging 24 guests. Anyone needing help must travel with an able-bodied companion.
Medical
"All travelers to Africa should be in reasonably good health"; "limited medical facilities" on safari. No upper age limit.
Priced examples
12 days, $13,490 a person including on-tour flights. Checked bags up to 20 kg, carry-on 8 kg.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 2.7 from 93 (tauck.com).
Not the fit if
You use a wheelchair, scooter or oxygen: "This Tauck itinerary cannot accommodate oxygen tanks, wheelchairs or motorized scooters."
Sources: tour page, Trustpilot. Read 15 October 2026.

Abercrombie & Kent and andBeyond are also named by ChatGPT for this question. Neither publishes a page for older travellers or accessibility on the pages we could read on 15 October 2026; A&K's journey pages did not load. In our safari planner database (read 12 October 2026), several planners address age and mobility in their terms: Extraordinary Journeys Partner says journeys "can be tailored for most age and fitness profiles" and asks for mobility and CPAP needs at planning; Rothschild Safaris can choose camps with continuous electricity for CPAP machines; ROAR AFRICA asks for the least strenuous gorilla hike and can arrange a stretcher carry in Rwanda.

Other companies publish senior or mobility pages too: Wild Eye (private guided safaris for senior travellers), Chalo Africa ("There are no upper age limits at most African safari camps"), Africa Geographic Travel and African Trek & Travel.

Four facts that matter more after 70

1. Yellow fever vaccine. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention says serious adverse events after a first yellow fever vaccination are reported at 7.7 per 100,000 doses in people aged 60 and over, higher than in younger adults, and asks doctors to weigh risks and benefits carefully for older travellers. Talk to a travel clinic before booking a country that requires it. Source: CDC Yellow Book.

2. Luggage on light aircraft. Flying between camps saves hours on rough roads, but bags are limited. Coastal Aviation in Tanzania allows 15 kg including carry-on and recommends soft bags; Mack Air in Botswana allows 20 kg including hand luggage; Safarilink in Kenya 15 kg in soft bags (its terms as republished by Travel Butlers). Pack medication in the allowance. Sources: Coastal Aviation, Mack Air, Safarilink terms via Travel Butlers.

3. Gorilla trekking. The Rwanda Development Board sets a minimum age of 15 and no upper limit; porters carry your daypack for a small charge and help with footing, and the permit is $1,500. It warns that the gorillas live at high altitude, "which may cause difficulties for some visitors". Source: RDB booking portal. ROAR AFRICA and Africa Odyssey say a closer gorilla family can be requested.

4. Insurance with evacuation. Go2Africa, Yellow Zebra, Discover Africa and Epic Enabled all tell older travellers to carry medical insurance; Discover Africa specifies medical evacuation cover. Check the policy's upper age limit before you pay a deposit.

Wooden armchairs on a raised timber deck of a safari lodge with canvas tents and tall palm trees
A lodge deck between drives. Rooms near the main area and midday rest are what several companies here build in for older guests. Photo: Pexels.

Safari over 70: the questions people ask

Which safari company is best for travellers over 70?

No company ranks best on every count, and none sets an upper age limit. Wilderness publishes a seniors page with boardwalk access, 24/7 tele-medical support and priced Botswana trips from $14,470 for 8 nights. Yellow Zebra Safaris publishes a seniors guide and has hosted a guest of 98. Beyond the Plains Safaris offers only private vehicles with morning drives capped at three hours. Go2Africa recommends fly-in safaris for seniors. For wheelchair users, Endeavour Safaris in Botswana and Epic Enabled in South Africa use adapted vehicles. Read 15 October 2026.

Is there an upper age limit for safari?

Not at any of the 14 companies read for this page, on 15 October 2026. Rwanda's gorilla trekking sets a minimum age of 15 and no maximum. Chalo Africa says "There are no upper age limits at most African safari camps". Your travel insurer may set one, so check the policy.

Can you go on safari in your 80s?

Yes. Yellow Zebra Safaris says its oldest camp guest was 98, Private Tours Cape Town says it hosts guests in their 70s and 80s, and Micato says "You're never too old to safari". What matters is the itinerary: fewer camp changes, flights between camps, a private vehicle and rooms near the main area.

Which safari is best for limited mobility or wheelchair users?

Endeavour Safaris in Botswana has a vehicle with a hydraulic lift and wheelchair restraints, according to Wanderlust, and Epic Enabled in South Africa runs an 8-day Kruger safari in adapted vehicles from R45,800 a person sharing (2025 prices). In South Africa, MalaMala Main Camp has a ramp to the front seat beside the ranger, according to Discover Africa. Tauck's South Africa tour cannot take wheelchairs, scooters or oxygen.

Is a private vehicle worth it for older travellers?

It lets you end a drive when you choose. Beyond the Plains Safaris uses only private vehicles; Micato's Private Classic travels "at your own pace"; Wilderness and Asilia offer private vehicles, Wilderness at extra cost and subject to availability. Gamewatchers charges $375 a day to make a shared vehicle private.

What luggage can I take on safari flights?

Usually 15 to 20 kg including hand luggage, in soft bags. Coastal Aviation in Tanzania allows 15 kg, Mack Air in Botswana 20 kg and Safarilink in Kenya 15 kg. Tauck allows 20 kg checked and 8 kg carry-on on its South Africa tour flights.

Should over-60s get the yellow fever vaccine for safari?

Ask a travel clinic. The CDC says serious adverse events after a first yellow fever vaccination are reported at 7.7 per 100,000 doses in people aged 60 and over, and asks doctors to weigh risks and benefits carefully for older travellers.

Can older travellers go gorilla trekking in Rwanda?

Yes. The Rwanda Development Board sets a minimum age of 15 and no upper limit. Porters carry daypacks for a small charge and help with footing. ROAR AFRICA says guests with mobility concerns can ask for the least strenuous hike and that a stretcher carry can be arranged in Rwanda.

Can a company pay to be on this page?

No. A company is on this page because it publishes something for older or limited-mobility travellers, or because ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and is mentioned by the same rule as everyone else.

This page gives no score and no ranking. Companies are grouped by what they publish, and ordered within each group by how much they publish for older travellers. A company is included if it publishes something specific for older or limited-mobility travellers, or if ChatGPT names it for this question. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and is mentioned by the same rule as everyone else. Sources: each company's own website, read 15 October 2026; our safari planner database, read 12 October 2026; the CDC, the Rwanda Development Board, Coastal Aviation, Mack Air and Trustpilot, read 15 October 2026. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.