Of the safari operators ChatGPT names for value, Beyond the Plains Safaris and Lion King Adventures publish the lowest prices that include park fees and a private vehicle: 5 days in Tanzania from $1,310 and $1,400 a person in a group of four to six, about $262 to $280 a day, or $1,843 and $1,995 for two. Shared group trips cost less a day but more in comfort: Intrepid's 8-day camping Serengeti Trail is about $207 a day with up to 22 travellers. Suricata Safaris, Jocky Tours and Axis Africa have the most reviews but publish no prices on their own sites. This page gives no score; every price is the operator's own, read on 15 October 2026.
Who is on this page, and why
A company is on this page because ChatGPT names it when asked which safari operators give the best value for money, and its prices could be read on its own site or its SafariBookings profile. Between 5 and 15 October 2026 the answers named Suricata Safaris, MoAfrika Tours, Jocky Tours and Safaris, Axis Africa, Beyond the Plains Safaris, Bundi Travel, Gamewatchers Safaris, Lion King Adventures, Intrepid Travel and G Adventures, citing mostly safaribookings.com and tourradar.com. MoAfrika Tours and African Joint Safaris are left off: their sites could not be opened and no SafariBookings profile was found. This page gives no score. Value here means two facts you can check: what a day costs, and what that price includes.
How to read a card. "Not stated on their website" means we read the company's pages and the fact is not there. "Could not access" means the page would not open. Prices are the company's own, in US dollars, per person; where a company publishes none, the SafariBookings figure is shown and labelled. Reviews are shown per platform and never added together. The "Not the fit if" line uses only limits the company publishes.
A safari vehicle on a dirt track in Mikumi National Park, Tanzania. Whether the vehicle is yours alone or shared with up to 22 people is the biggest difference in price on this page. Photo: Pexels.
What a safari day costs, operator by operator
From the prices operators publish on their own sites, a day on safari in Tanzania runs from about $207 on a shared camping trip to about $1,020 for one person travelling alone in a private vehicle. The gap is mostly two things: how many people share the vehicle, and whether you sleep in a tent or a lodge. Beyond the Plains Safaris and Lion King Adventures publish the lowest prices that include both park fees and a private vehicle: $262 to $399 a day for groups of two to six.
Daily cost worked from each operator's own published per-person price and trip length, read on 15 October 2026: Intrepid Serengeti Trail, Beyond the Plains 5-day Tanzania, Lion King Adventures 5-day Best of Tanzania, G Adventures Tanzania Camping Adventure, Bundi Travel 4-day safari. Operators that publish no price on their own site are not drawn. Chart by Uncompromised Travel.
The nine operators, one card each
Private-vehicle operators that publish prices come first, then group departures, then operators whose prices appear only on SafariBookings. Within each group, the lower published price comes first.
5-day Tarangire, Serengeti and Ngorongoro trip, 2026 and 2027, per person: $1,310 for six travellers, $1,843 for two. That works out at about $262 to $369 a day. Its homepage also says "custom packages from $250/day".
What the price includes
Park fees for non-residents, driver-guide, airport transfers, accommodation, meals and drinks as specified, and all taxes. Lodges are mid-range, with one night at the tented Mbuni Serengeti Camp.
Vehicle and group
Private pop-up-roof 4x4, "never shared with other travellers". Two to six travellers.
Deposit and cancellation
50% deposit, balance 30 days before departure. Cancel 30 or more days out and half the deposit is kept; 1 to 7 days out, 100% of the tour cost.
Reviews
SafariBookings: 5.0 from 216. Trustpilot: no reviews yet.
Not the fit if
You are travelling alone or in a group of seven or more: the 5-day trip states "Solo travellers and groups of 7 or more are not accepted."
Lion King AdventuresKing Kidaisho Company Ltd, Arusha, Tanzania · TATO member, registration FM/2019/000389
Published price
5-day Best of Tanzania mid-range safari, per person: $1,400 for four to six travellers (1 April to 31 May 2027) up to $1,995 for two (June to December 2026). About $280 to $399 a day.
What the price includes
Park fees for non-residents, accommodation, driver-guide, transport, taxes and airport transfers. Mid-range lodges with one night at Embalakai Serengeti Camp. A balloon flight is extra at $500.
Vehicle and group
"All our safaris are private (just you and your guide)", in Land Cruisers with pop-up roofs. Price tables start at two travellers.
Deposit and cancellation
15% deposit, non-refundable; balance six weeks before. 25% charged from 60 days out, 90% from 28 days, 100% inside 7 days. Cards carry a 3.5% fee.
Reviews
SafariBookings: 5.0 from 1,649. Trustpilot: 4.2 from 25.
Not the fit if
You are a solo traveller looking for a one-person rate: its safari pages price groups of two or more, and the 15% deposit is not refunded.
Bundi TravelTanzania (phone +255); base and licence not stated on its site
Published price
4-day safari, cost per person: $2,080 for six or more, $3,000 for two, $4,080 for one. About $520 to $1,020 a day. Its 2-day safari is "from $2,100" without saying per person or per group.
What the price includes
"All park fees", a 2016 to 2023 Land Cruiser with pop-up roof, three meals a day, accommodation, guide, bottled water and transfers from Kilimanjaro airport.
Vehicle and group
Vehicles seat four to six; "Max Guests per Group: 21". Whether the vehicle is private is not stated on their website.
Deposit and cancellation
Not stated on their website: its Booking Terms page holds placeholder text.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 3.7 from 1. SafariBookings: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want written booking terms before paying: none are published, and per-person prices only come down with a larger group.
Land Cruisers lined up before a game drive. A private vehicle costs Gamewatchers Safaris guests $375 a day extra; Beyond the Plains and Lion King Adventures include one in the price. Photo: Pexels.
G AdventuresSmall-group operator · Tanzania Camping Adventure (DTWE)
Published price
6 days, Arusha to Arusha, from $2,062 a person on selected late-2026 and January 2027 departures (regular $2,749). About $344 a day, or $458 at the regular price. A room of your own from $59.
What the price includes
5 breakfasts, 5 lunches, 4 dinners, a 7-seat 4x4, drives in Lake Manyara, the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater, guide and camp cook, one hotel night and four nights full-service camping. Park fees are not mentioned in the page text.
Vehicle and group
Shared: "Maximum 14, average 10", ages 12 and over.
Deposit and cancellation
Rest of World terms: non-refundable $350 deposit, balance 60 days before; from 30 days out, no further refund.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 16,641 (gadventures.com).
Not the fit if
You want a private vehicle or a bed under a roof every night: this is a camping group trip of up to 14.
8 days from Nairobi, from $1,659 a person (shown as "Now 1,659 (was 2,370)"). About $207 a day, the lowest daily figure on this page.
What the price includes
7 breakfasts, 6 lunches, 6 dinners; overland truck and 4WD for the Crater and two Serengeti game drives; one Nairobi hotel night and six nights camping in two-person dome tents. Park fees: "not specified".
Vehicle and group
Shared: 1 to 22 travellers, minimum age 15, style "Basic".
Deposit and cancellation
Not stated on the trip page; Intrepid points to booking conditions that vary by region.
Reviews
Trip page: 4.8 from 287. Trustpilot: 4.4 from 2,493 (intrepidtravel.com).
Not the fit if
You want a small group or lodges: the trip is camping, overland, and takes up to 22 people.
Its own site could not be read. SafariBookings lists a 3-day Masai Mara joining group tour at $389 to $607 a person, the lowest trip price on this page, and a cheapest rate of $150 a person a day.
What the price includes
Could not access.
Vehicle and group
Masai Mara trips are titled "Joining Group" departures on SafariBookings.
Deposit and cancellation
Could not access.
Reviews
SafariBookings: 5.0 from 3,952.
Not the fit if
You want a private safari: the low listed prices are for shared "joining group" departures.
Suricata SafarisArusha and Zanzibar, Tanzania (its own words); "fully licensed", no number given
Published price
None: its trip pages say "Request a quote". SafariBookings shows $190 to $600 a person a day.
What the price includes
5-day camping safari: "all meals, park fees, and transportation in a custom 4WD safari vehicle", tents, guide and chef. The 5-day mid-range lodge safari does not mention park fees.
Vehicle and group
Not stated on their website.
Deposit and cancellation
Deposit at booking, 50% for lodge safaris, "not refundable"; balance at the start, usually in cash, with 5 to 8% on card or PayPal. 50% charged from 21 days out.
Reviews
SafariBookings: 5.0 from 4,338, the most on this page. Trustpilot: Could not access.
Not the fit if
You want a price before you enquire, or to pay the balance by card without a fee: prices are on request and the balance is usually paid in cash.
Per person per night sharing, all-inclusive: the rates page shows only 2023 and 2024 dates, from $470 to $1,100 by camp and season. No 2026 rate could be read.
What the price includes
Airstrip transfers, conservancy fees, all meals, a drinks package, sundowners, night drives and walks. Not included: a $5 a night Wildlife Habitat Trust payment and road transfers from Nairobi ($230 one way by minivan).
Vehicle and group
"Shared Game Drives in open-sided 4x4"; a private vehicle is $375 a day.
Deposit and cancellation
25% deposit; balance 60 days before. At least 25% of the invoice is charged once booked.
Reviews
Trustpilot: 4.9 from 121 (porini.com). SafariBookings: 4.7 from 18.
Not the fit if
You want a published 2026 price, or a vehicle of your own without paying $375 a day.
Park fees: the part of the price nobody can discount
Park fees are set by the parks, so they cost every operator the same, and a cheap quote that leaves them out is not cheap. The Masai Mara charges non-resident adults $100 a day from January to June 2026 and $200 a day from July to December, according to Beyond the Plains Safaris' fee page, verified 30 September 2026, and a Kenya Times report of 6 August 2026. For the Serengeti, operators quote $82.60 a person per 24 hours in high season and $70.80 in low season, VAT included, and $70.80 for the Ngorongoro Conservation Area plus $295 per vehicle to drive into the Crater (Duma Explorer, last updated March 2026). We could not open the official TANAPA and NCAA fee schedules, and an older operator page still shows $70 and $60, so ask your operator which schedule its price uses. On a 5-day northern Tanzania trip, park fees alone can be a third or more of a $262-a-day price.
Wildebeest and zebras on the Serengeti. A day inside the park costs every visitor the same conservation fee, whoever they book with. Photo: Pexels.
Value at the luxury end: who promises not to cost more than booking direct
At the luxury end, value is less about the daily rate and more about whether the planner adds a margin on top of what the lodges charge. At least nine of the 50 safari planners in our database say in writing that booking through them costs no more than booking the camps yourself, or that they will match a lower quote. These are their own words, read on 12 October 2026:
Africa Odyssey: "We will never be more expensive than booking direct with the lodges"; matches any quote from a UK or US bonded operator.
Africa Travel Resource: "Your trip should cost no more than if you had booked all the components directly."
Aardvark Safaris: Clients pay no more than booking direct, "typically no additional costs".
AfricanMecca Safaris: Says its rates are below "direct inquiry pricing by the camp or lodge suppliers".
Expert Africa: Beats a like-for-like quote from another bonded operator by £100 a person within 7 days.
Go2Africa: "Our Best Price Promise": find a better quote for your itinerary "and we'll match it".
Piper & Heath Travel: Booking through it "never costs more than what you would spend trying to book directly with the camps".
Rhino Africa: "Generally 5% - 15% cheaper than if you were to book your itinerary direct", with a Best Price Guarantee.
Safari Consultants: "You will never pay more for a tailormade safari with us than by booking directly."
Five planners publish the daily rate their trips start from, which tells you before you call whether your budget fits:
Wander Africa: trips "start at around $800 per person/per day"
Extraordinary JourneysPartner: around $1,000 a person a day as a starting point, $4,000 and up for ultra-luxury
Stanley Safaris: "Our Safaris start from USD1,000 per person per night"
Alluring Africa: a minimum of $1,000 a person a day in low season and $1,500 in peak
ROAR AFRICA: "Experiences begin around $2,500 per guest, per night"
1. Are park fees in the price? Beyond the Plains, Lion King Adventures, Bundi Travel and Jocky's camping trip say yes. Intrepid says "not specified", G Adventures does not mention them, and Suricata's lodge trip does not list them.
2. Is the vehicle yours? Beyond the Plains and Lion King Adventures say private. Intrepid (up to 22), G Adventures (up to 14), Axis Africa's joining tours and Gamewatchers' game drives are shared.
3. What do you lose if plans change? Deposits run from 15% (Lion King Adventures, non-refundable) to 50% (Beyond the Plains, Suricata). Bundi Travel publishes no terms at all. Read the cancellation table before the itinerary. How to check a safari operator before you pay sets out the licence and bonding checks.
Safari value for money: the questions people ask
Which safari operators give the best value for money?
Going by prices the operators publish on their own sites, read on 15 October 2026, Beyond the Plains Safaris (5 days in Tanzania from $1,310 a person for six, $1,843 for two) and Lion King Adventures ($1,400 a person for four to six, $1,995 for two) publish the lowest prices that include park fees and a private vehicle, about $262 to $399 a day. Intrepid ($1,659 for 8 days) and G Adventures ($2,062 for 6 days) are cheaper or similar per day but shared, camping-based group trips. Axis Africa, Jocky Tours and Suricata Safaris publish no prices on their own sites; on SafariBookings their Masai Mara group trips start from $389 a person.
How much does a mid-range safari cost per day in Tanzania?
On the published prices on this page, about $262 to $399 a person a day for a private mid-range lodge safari in a group of two to six, park fees included (Beyond the Plains Safaris and Lion King Adventures). Travelling alone costs much more: Bundi Travel charges $4,080 for one person on its 4-day safari, about $1,020 a day.
Are park fees included in safari prices?
Not always. Beyond the Plains Safaris, Lion King Adventures, Bundi Travel and Jocky Tours' Masai Mara camping trip say park fees are included. Intrepid's Serengeti Trail says "Park fees: not specified", and G Adventures' Tanzania Camping Adventure page does not mention them. Ask before you compare quotes.
What are Serengeti and Masai Mara park fees in 2026?
Operators quote the Serengeti at $82.60 a person per 24 hours in high season and $70.80 in low season, including VAT, and the Ngorongoro Conservation Area at $70.80 plus $295 a vehicle to enter the Crater. The Masai Mara charges non-resident adults $100 a day from January to June 2026 and $200 a day from July to December. The official Tanzanian schedules could not be opened on 15 October 2026, so confirm with your operator.
Is a group safari cheaper than a private one?
Per day, usually yes. Intrepid's 8-day Serengeti Trail works out at about $207 a day for a camping group of up to 22, against about $262 to $399 a day for a private lodge safari with Beyond the Plains or Lion King Adventures. But Gamewatchers charges $375 a day to make a shared vehicle private, so the gap depends on group size.
Do luxury safari planners cost more than booking direct?
At least nine planners in our database say they do not. Africa Odyssey, Africa Travel Resource, Aardvark Safaris, Piper & Heath and Safari Consultants say booking through them costs no more than booking the camps yourself; Rhino Africa says it is "generally 5% - 15% cheaper"; Go2Africa and Expert Africa match or beat a lower quote; AfricanMecca says its rates are below direct pricing. Read 12 October 2026.
What deposit do safari operators ask for?
On this page, from 15% (Lion King Adventures, non-refundable) and 25% (Jocky Tours, Gamewatchers) to 50% (Beyond the Plains, Suricata's lodge safaris). G Adventures takes a fixed $350. Bundi Travel publishes no deposit or cancellation terms.
Which value safari operator has the most reviews?
Suricata Safaris, with 5.0 from 4,338 reviews on SafariBookings, followed by Axis Africa (5.0 from 3,952) and Jocky Tours (4.9 from 3,750), read 15 October 2026. G Adventures has 16,641 Trustpilot reviews across all its trips worldwide, not only safaris.
Can a company pay to be on this page?
No. A company is on this page because ChatGPT names it for this question and its prices could be read, or, in the luxury section, because its own site states a price promise or a starting daily rate. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and appears by the same rule as everyone else.
This page gives no score and no ranking. Operators are grouped by how they sell and, within each group, ordered by their lowest published price. A company is included if ChatGPT names it for this question and its prices could be read. There are no affiliate links. Extraordinary Journeys, marked Partner, is a paying client of this site and is listed by the same rule as every other planner. Sources: each operator's own website, terms and trip pages, read 15 October 2026; SafariBookings and Trustpilot profiles, read 15 October 2026; our safari planner database, read 12 October 2026. "Not stated on their website" and "Could not access" mean what they say and nothing more. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 15 October 2026 · updated 15 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.