Bench Africa Review 2026: What It Costs, Its Reviews and Its Booking Terms, Read at Source

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 14 October 2026

Company record · opened 14 October 2026 · every fact dated and sourced · no score · Is this your company? Correct a fact

Bench Africa is a planner with its own ground operations, offering tailormade journeys and small group tours, based in Sydney, Australia, founded in 1969, family-owned with Southern Cross Safaris as its parent company, with a 9 day Botswana small group safari at AUD $7,315 per person twin share. The deposit is 25% per person within 7 days of booking acceptance, the balance is due no less than 60 days before the trip starts, cancelling 30 to 0 days before departure costs 100% plus a processing fee of the greater of AUD $200 or 5% of booking value, and no client payment protection scheme is named. Read on 12 October 2026, Google shows 4.2 from 13 reviews and Trustpilot shows 4.8 from 285 reviews.

Verified 12 October 2026 · Bench Africa’s own website and booking terms · Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists · Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride

How this page works

Bench Africa is on this site because it is one of the 50 African safari planners whose public facts are kept in one table, read the same way for every company. This page gives no score. It shows what is public: what the company’s own website says about who it is, its prices, deposits, cancellation terms and payment protection, its reviews on each platform, and the lists that name it, each with the source and the date it was read. Its own website is benchafrica.com. To set it beside another company, open that company’s page on this site: the same facts sit in the same order. The scored comparison pages and the best African safari tour companies page use these records.

Bench Africa: the facts on record, read 12 October 2026

53 facts about Bench Africa were read from its own website, the award publishers and the review platforms on 12 October 2026, and every one below says who stated it, where it was read and when. “Not stated on their website” means the right page was read and the fact is not there; “Could not access” means the page would not open; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same form is kept for every safari planner on this site, so each line can be set beside any other company’s. Where a line here differs from an older line on this page, this one, read later, is the current reading.

Who they are

Trading name and legal entity

Trading name Bench Africa; legal entity Southern Cross Safaris Australia Pty Ltd trading as Bench Africa (terms, opening definition). The governing-law clause says 'Southern Cross Safaris Pty Ltd trading as Bench Africa' (slightly different wording).

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it is based

Sydney, Australia. Postal address GPO Box 3435, Sydney NSW 2001; overseas line +61 (0) 2 9290 2877 (privacy policy and contact page). No street head-office address is stated.

Source: Company · privacy policy · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Year founded

1969 ('specialising in Africa, and only Africa since 1969'; 'Australia's first company to craft safaris to Africa'). FAQ also says 'over 55 years'.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Owner or parent

Family-owned. Director Lara Behrens says Southern Cross Safaris, her family business, 'is also Bench's parent company'. Names of individual owners are not given.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What it is

Planner with its own ground operations: tailormade journeys plus small group tours. Says it has 'our own ground operations in Kenya and a team in South Africa'; 60+ Bench-owned safari vehicles in Kenya (pledge page). Camps are third-party (e.g. Satao Camp is built by a director's family, per her bio).

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Team

At least 10 named people on the about page: 2 directors (Julie De Palo, Lara Behrens), 5 Safari Specialists (Eric Vos, Rebecca Goosen, Katelyn Quinlan, Maria Hindson, Gayle Rowson), 2 Safari Specialist Admin Support (Michelle Harris, Chantelle Powers), and Andy Kirkman, Head of Trade Relations. The saved page ends mid-way through Andy Kirkman's entry, so more names may follow.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it sells

Australia: 1300 AFRICA (237 422) local call; international +61 (0) 2 9290 2877; [email protected]. Site currency switch AUD / NZD / USD; enquiry form country options Australia and New Zealand. No UK or US phone line or office stated.

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

In its own words

'Pioneering Africa travel since 1969... From small group tours to tailored journeys, we handcraft experiences through Africa's extraordinary wildlife, landscapes, and vibrant cultures.'

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Response time and named planner

Not stated on their website: no stated reply time. Contact page: 'Fill out this form to start a conversation with one of our Safari Specialists'; team page lists named Safari Specialists with email links. Does not state that one named person plans each trip (a client testimonial on the home page names Julie).

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Reviews, by platform

Google

4.2 from 13 reviews (listing: Bench Africa, travel agency, Australia)

Source: Independent source · Google business listing · by hand · 12 Oct 2026

Trustpilot

Rating 4.8, 285 reviews; newest review shown 1 Oct 2026 (others shown: 29 Sep, 22 Sep, 21 Sep 2026). Claimed profile since November 2014; paid Trustpilot subscription.

Source: Independent source · Trustpilot · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Tripadvisor

Could not access: to be read by hand

Source: Company · not recorded · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Trustindex

No profile found: trustindex page returned a 404 (dead page): no profile found.

Source: Independent source · Trustindex · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it asks clients to leave reviews

Trustpilot: a Trustpilot badge appears in the site-wide footer, and the site features client testimonials on the home page. No explicit 'leave a review' page was seen in the saved pages.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Awards and recognition, read from the publishers

Every award, 2024 to 2026

Not stated on their website: no award won by Bench Africa itself is stated on the saved pages. Press page lists magazine features (Qantas Magazine Apr 2026, The Sun Herald Mar 2026, Get Lost Feb 2026 etc.), not awards; only supplier hotels are called 'award-winning'.

Source: Company · press · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Advisors on named lists

Not stated on their website: no named-list placements stated on the saved pages.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Certifications

Not stated on their website: no B Corp or similar certification stated. Memberships stated instead: Council of Australian Tour Operators (CATO), approved wholesaler with the Australian Travel Industry Association (as written), registered IATA agent; AFTA logo link. No dates given.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Money and booking terms

Prices published

Yes, on some itinerary pages: a 'Dates & pricing' table with twin and single prices in AUD/NZD/USD (e.g. Baines River Camp, Batonka Guest Lodge, Bateleur Safari Camp, Wilderness Zimbabwe-type stays). Others show 'Price on request' (e.g. Botswana Odyssey, Gorillas in the Mist, One&Only Gorilla's Nest, Classic Tanzania, Ultimate Africa Air Safari). Listing pages show 'From' prices but the figures are not in the saved text. Of 8 further itinerary pages saved, 7 show dated AUD/NZD/USD price tables (Safari Authentic, Valley Safari, Classic Kenya, Migration Safari, Lamai Serengeti, Botswana Untamed, Wild Botswana) and 1 (Classic Tanzania, 7 days) shows 'Price on request'. Exact number of itineraries with prices not countable from the saved pages.

Source: Company · safari authentic, valley safari, classic kenya, migration safari, lamai serengeti, botswana untamed, wild botswana, classic tanzania · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Priced example trips

Per person, twin share, AUD (NZD and USD also shown); international flights not included. (1) Safari Authentic, Botswana (Moremi, Khwai, Savute, Chobe), 9 days small group, 11-31 Oct 2026: AUD $7,315 twin / $7,315 single (1 Nov-30 Nov 2026 $5,840 twin; 30 Jun-31 Oct 2027 $8,055); tented camping, all meals on safari, local drinks, boat and mokoro excursions, game viewing, guides/porters/cook, light aircraft transfer. (2) Classic Kenya, 11 days tailormade, 16 Dec 2026-5 Jan 2027: AUD $10,420 twin / $12,635 single (1 Apr-31 May 2027 $8,340 twin; 1 Jul-30 Sep 2027 $10,760); lodges/tented camps, 9 breakfasts 8 lunches 8 dinners, game drives and walks, English-speaking guide, 4x4 vehicle, airport meet and greet, scheduled train trip, emergency air rescue. (3) Valley Safari, Zambia (South Luangwa, Lower Zambezi), 8 days tailormade, 11-31 Oct 2026: AUD $11,295 twin / $11,950 single (1 Dec-31 Dec 2026 $9,055 twin; 1 Jun-31 Oct 2027 $12,215); lodges/tented camps, all meals, local drinks, game drives, walks, night drives, canoeing, return scheduled flight, entrance fees, laundry. Also priced: Baines River Camp, Lower Zambezi, Zambia, 5 days/4 nights, 11-31 Oct 2026, AUD $6,500 twin and single; Bateleur Safari Camp, Timbavati, South Africa, 3 days/2 nights, AUD $2,230 twin / $2,580 single; Batonka Guest Lodge, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe, 3 days/2 nights, AUD $745 twin / $995 single.

Source: Company · safari authentic, classic kenya, valley safari, baines river camp · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price per person per day

Not stated on their website: no per-day price range stated in text. The experiences filter offers cost-per-day bands (Under $250 up to Over $1,000), and the contact form daily-budget options run $250 to over $2,500 per person, but no range for Bench's own trips is stated.

Source: Company · experiences · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum spend

Not stated on their website: no minimum trip budget stated. Terms give a minimum booking of five consecutive nights' accommodation within a tailormade package, and a late-booking fee of AU$150 for bookings within 30 days. Contact form says 'In Africa, travel is mostly all-inclusive so you may consider a higher daily budget'.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

What the price includes

Yes, inclusions listed on itinerary pages beside the price table (e.g. accommodation, meals marked B/L/D, game drives, internal flights where flagged, laundry, transfers). Examples: Safari Authentic (Botswana): tented camp, all meals on safari, local drinks, boat and mokoro excursions, game viewing, guides/porters/cook, light aircraft transfer. Classic Kenya: 9 breakfasts, 8 lunches, 8 dinners, game drives and walks, English-speaking guide, 4x4 vehicle, airport meet and greet, scheduled train trip, emergency air rescue. Valley Safari (Zambia): all meals, local drinks, game drives, walks, night drives, canoeing, return scheduled flight, entrance fees, laundry. Classic Tanzania: 6 breakfasts, 7 lunches, 6 dinners, water on safari, driver/guide, airport transfers, entrance fees, emergency air rescue. Price page note: prices per person twin share; seasonal supplements and minimum night requirement may apply; international flights not included. Terms: price includes accommodation, transportation and other inclusions per the published itinerary; international and domestic airfares (unless stated), transfers, taxes, visas, insurance, gratuities, personal items excluded.

Source: Company · safari authentic, classic kenya, valley safari, classic tanzania, terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Deposit

25% deposit per person within 7 days of booking acceptance (unless otherwise stated); non-refundable except where Bench cancels for reasons other than Force Majeure.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Balance due

Payment in full no less than 60 days before the trip starts; bookings within 60 days of departure require full payment at request (some trips may require earlier or extra instalments).

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Cancellation charges

More than 60 days before departure: deposit plus any instalments paid; 60-49 days: 40%; 48-31 days: 60%; 30-0 days: 100%; plus a processing fee of the greater of AUD $200 or 5% of booking value. Charges can be higher for some tours per supplier terms.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How client payments are protected

Not stated on their website: no client-money protection scheme or number stated. The terms do not describe trust accounts or bonding. The about page gives CATO membership, ATIA approved-wholesaler status and IATA registration as 'financial integrity' credentials, without numbers. Terms advise buying comprehensive travel insurance; the FAQ says travel insurance is required when booking.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Currencies and card fees

Bills in Australian dollars (terms: prices stated in AUD); the site also shows NZD and USD prices. Can surcharge for currency devaluation until full payment received; no surcharge for currency fluctuations once full payment is received. No card surcharge stated.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

24-hour contact while travelling

Not stated on their website: no 24-hour emergency number printed in the saved pages. Contact numbers given are office lines (1300 237 422 / +61 2 9290 2877). Terms say to tell Bench or a representative or local supplier about problems immediately.

Source: Company · contact · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How the company is paid

Not stated whether paid by planning fee or lodge commission. Terms describe the deposit as 'a fee payable to us for services associated with processing and confirmation of your booking and any consultations'.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Price against booking direct

Not stated whether it matches lodge rates or passes on lodge offers. The site does run a Special offers page ('Save up to $... per person').

Source: Company · special offers · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Licences and registrations

Not stated on their website: no licence or registration numbers stated. Memberships named: Council of Australian Tour Operators, Australian Travel Industry Association (approved wholesaler), IATA registered agent.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Where it goes and how it works on the ground

African countries it plans

Destination pages in the saved pages: Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Experience filter also lists Lesotho and Seychelles.

Source: Company · destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own offices or staff in Africa

Own ground operations in Kenya and a team in South Africa (about page). Pledge page adds 60+ Bench-owned safari vehicles in Kenya. Specific office towns are not named.

Source: Company · about us · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

How it books on the ground

Mixed: own ground operations in Kenya (via parent Southern Cross Safaris) and a South Africa team; elsewhere 'trusted ground partners' and 'local partners' (FAQ). Terms treat hotels, airlines, transport firms and similar as independent suppliers. No single line says every booking is direct with camps.

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Own camps or vehicles

Yes for vehicles: 60+ Bench-owned safari vehicles in Kenya. Camps: not stated as owned (Satao Camp was built by Lara Behrens' family, the parent company's family).

Source: Company · pledge · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Gorilla and chimpanzee trekking

Gorilla trekking offered: Uganda (Gorillas in the Mist, Gorilla Forest Lodge), Rwanda (One&Only Gorilla's Nest; Rwanda gorilla trek page, Volcanoes National Park). Chimpanzees mentioned for Rwanda's Nyungwe Forest. Tanzania gorilla/chimp trekking not stated.

Source: Company · rwanda · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Beach add-ons

Zanzibar (Baraza Resort & Spa, Tanzania beach stay; Zanzibar highlights on Tanzania page), Mauritius (destination page 'Holidays and Honeymoons'), Mozambique (Bazaruto, Quirimbas, Medjumbe beach resorts). Seychelles appears only in the site filter list, no page seen.

Source: Company · mauritius · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Africa only, or other regions too

Mostly Africa, plus some other regions: Jordan, Oman, and on the contact form United Arab Emirates; Antarctica is in the experiences filter list.

Source: Company · destinations · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who it suits and how it travels

Family trips

Family safaris offered ('Family Focussed' experience type; FAQ: 'Absolutely'). No specific family itinerary or price in the saved text. FAQ: children under six usually not allowed on game drives; some lodges do not accept under 12.

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Minimum child age

Not stated on their website: no minimum age set by Bench. FAQ: children under six are usually not allowed on game drives in most parks and some lodges do not accept children under 12.

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Teenagers and multigenerational trips

Not stated on their website: multigenerational/teenagers not stated. A home-page client testimonial describes a family holiday to Kenya, Zanzibar and Egypt, and another a family of 7.

Source: Company · home page · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Honeymoon trips

Honeymoons promoted: Mauritius page titled 'Mauritius Holidays and Honeymoons'; Baraza Resort and Kaya Mawa (Malawi) described as welcoming honeymooners. No dedicated honeymoon itinerary list seen.

Source: Company · mauritius · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Solo travellers

FAQ: single prices listed on the site apply to solo travellers (one person travelling alone for the entire trip). If two or more travel together and one wants their own room, a lower single room supplement applies (quoted on request). Itinerary price tables show twin and single columns, e.g. Classic Kenya 16 Dec 2026-5 Jan 2027 AUD $10,420 twin / $12,635 single; Valley Safari Oct 2026 AUD $11,295 twin / $11,950 single; Lamai Serengeti Oct 2026 AUD $8,890 twin / $13,980 single; on Safari Authentic (small group) single equals twin in Oct 2026 ($7,315). Batonka AUD $745 twin / $995 single. Page note: solo traveller and extra night prices available on request. Terms: solo supplements may apply.

Source: Company · classic kenya, valley safari, lamai serengeti, safari authentic, faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Older travellers and limited mobility

Not stated on older travellers or limited mobility. Terms (Health & Fitness): a minimum level of fitness may be required for some tours; medical assessment may be requested.

Source: Company · terms and conditions · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

First safari

Not stated on their website: no itinerary or guidance marked 'first safari' on the saved pages. A home-page client testimonial says they used Bench Africa for their first ever safari. FAQ covers what to pack, when to go, etc.

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Private guide and vehicle

Private vehicle stated in some itineraries (e.g. Wilderness Zimbabwe: 'private vehicles, guides, and safari camps'; Best of Egypt: Private Vehicle & Driver). Small group tours use shared vehicles with an English-speaking driver/guide. Not stated as a general guarantee.

Source: Company · wilderness zimbabwe · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Exclusive-use camps and villas

Not stated on their website: exclusive-use camps and villas not stated as a service. Individual lodges are described as exclusive (e.g. Bateleur 'exclusive 3500 hectare property'; One&Only Gorilla's Nest) but no exclusive-use booking is offered.

Source: Company · bateleur safari camp · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Small-group departures

Yes. Scheduled small group departures, e.g. Northern Experience (24 days) group size 4-12 guests; South Africa Odyssey (14 days) 2-10 guests; Safari Authentic (Botswana, 9 days, mobile camping) 2-12 guests; Migration Safari (Kenya, 7 days, weekly July-October) 2-7 guests. Pledge page: 6 per vehicle in East Africa and 16 in southern Africa.

Source: Company · safari authentic, migration safari, northern experience · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Who guides the trip

Mixed: small group tours have an English-speaking driver/guide (tour guide joins group, e.g. from Windhoek); Kenya trips use Bench's own Southern Cross Safaris guides (client reviews mention guides, pledge: Southern Cross guides monitor elephants); lodge stays use the camps' guides ('professional guide' at camps).

Source: Company · northern experience · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Self-drive

Self-drive is offered as an experience type in the filter list; Garden Route page says it suits self-driving. No self-drive itinerary seen in the saved pages.

Source: Company · experiences · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Photography trips

Not stated on their website: photography safaris not offered as a trip type. FAQ gives camera advice; Baraza Resort notes safari photography workshops on offer there.

Source: Company · faqs · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Conservation

Satao Elerai Community & Wildlife Trust (co-founded 2007); guides monitor elephant movements for the African Wildlife Fund; 60+ Kenya vehicles carbon offset through Wildlife Works forest protection; 'Safari For Change' annual programme; funding to Rhino Ark, Tsavo Trust, Sheldrick Wildlife Trust, East African Wildlife Society, Swa Vana Children's Project, The New Hope Orphanage, Miasenye and Marungu primary schools, Elerai Olkraru Primary School. Over 85% of staff at its safari camps from nearby areas.

Source: Company · pledge · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Walking, horseback and other specialist trips

Walking safaris (Robin Pope Walking Safari, Makutsi Walking Safari, Zambia), canoeing, river cruises, rail journeys (Rovos Rail, Shongololo Safari Train), hot air balloon, birding safaris, camping adventures, cultural and winelands trips. Horseback safaris only mentioned as available at some lodges (FAQ).

Source: Company · experiences · crawl · 12 Oct 2026

Not the fit if you want a 24-hour phone number printed before you book, since none is printed on its website; you need a named payment-protection scheme, since none is stated; or you travel with a child under six, since its FAQ says children under six are usually not allowed on game drives in most parks. Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.

Bench Africa: the questions people ask AI search

Who owns Bench Africa?

Family-owned. Director Lara Behrens says Southern Cross Safaris, her family business, 'is also Bench's parent company'. Names of individual owners are not given. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

Where is Bench Africa based?

Sydney, Australia. Postal address GPO Box 3435, Sydney NSW 2001; overseas line +61 (0) 2 9290 2877 (privacy policy and contact page). No street head-office address is stated. Read on 12 October 2026.

How much does a trip with Bench Africa cost?

Not stated on their website: no per-day price range stated in text. The experiences filter offers cost-per-day bands (Under $250 up to Over $1,000), and the contact form daily-budget options run $250 to over $2,500 per person, but no range for Bench's own trips is stated. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026.

What are Bench Africa's deposit, payment and cancellation terms?

Read from Bench Africa's own website on 12 October 2026. Deposit: 25% deposit per person within 7 days of booking acceptance (unless otherwise stated); non-refundable except where Bench cancels for reasons other than Force Majeure. Balance due: Payment in full no less than 60 days before the trip starts; bookings within 60 days of departure require full payment at request (some trips may require earlier or extra instalments). Cancellation: More than 60 days before departure: deposit plus any instalments paid; 60-49 days: 40%; 48-31 days: 60%; 30-0 days: 100%; plus a processing fee of the greater of AUD $200 or 5% of booking value. Charges can be higher for some tours per supplier terms.

Are Bench Africa's client payments protected?

On how client payments are protected, Bench Africa's website, read on 12 October 2026, gives this: Not stated on their website: no client-money protection scheme or number stated. The terms do not describe trust accounts or bonding. The about page gives CATO membership, ATIA approved-wholesaler status and IATA registration as 'financial integrity' credentials, without numbers. Terms advise buying comprehensive travel insurance; the FAQ says travel insurance is required when booking. None of "not stated" or "could not access" means the company has no protection; ask for the wording in writing before paying a deposit.

What do Bench Africa's reviews say, platform by platform?

Read on 12 October 2026, shown per platform and never added together. Google: 4.2 from 13 reviews (listing: Bench Africa, travel agency, Australia) Trustpilot: Rating 4.8, 285 reviews; newest review shown 1 Oct 2026 (others shown: 29 Sep, 22 Sep, 21 Sep 2026). Claimed profile since November 2014; paid Trustpilot subscription. Tripadvisor: Could not access: to be read by hand

Which African countries does Bench Africa plan trips to?

Destination pages in the saved pages: Botswana, Egypt, Eswatini, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. Experience filter also lists Lesotho and Seychelles. Read from the company's own website on 12 October 2026. Other regions: Mostly Africa, plus some other regions: Jordan, Oman, and on the contact form United Arab Emirates; Antarctica is in the experiences filter list.

Is Bench Africa good for family safaris?

Family safaris offered ('Family Focussed' experience type; FAQ: 'Absolutely'). No specific family itinerary or price in the saved text. FAQ: children under six usually not allowed on game drives; some lodges do not accept under 12. Minimum child age: Not stated on their website: no minimum age set by Bench. FAQ: children under six are usually not allowed on game drives in most parks and some lodges do not accept children under 12. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Bench Africa run small-group departures?

Yes. Scheduled small group departures, e.g. Northern Experience (24 days) group size 4-12 guests; South Africa Odyssey (14 days) 2-10 guests; Safari Authentic (Botswana, 9 days, mobile camping) 2-12 guests; Migration Safari (Kenya, 7 days, weekly July-October) 2-7 guests. Pledge page: 6 per vehicle in East Africa and 16 in southern Africa. Read on 12 October 2026.

Does Bench Africa give a 24-hour contact while you travel?

Not stated on their website: no 24-hour emergency number printed in the saved pages. Contact numbers given are office lines (1300 237 422 / +61 2 9290 2877). Terms say to tell Bench or a representative or local supplier about problems immediately. Read on 12 October 2026.

This page contains no affiliate links and no paid placement. Bench Africa is not bookable through this site and had no input into this page. Company, publisher and review-platform links are not paid. Facts read 12 October 2026 from Bench Africa’s own website and booking terms, the Travel + Leisure and Condé Nast Traveler lists, Google, Trustpilot, SafariBookings and Travelstride. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.