Stays · Luxury ranch and estancia index 2026

Best Luxury Ranches and Estancias 2026: 6 Ranked, Plus What They Cost a Night, Who Has the Most Land and Horses, and Patagonia Compared

By Richard J. · written from Valencia6 properties scored /100, 9 more assessedVerified 23 September 2026

The best luxury ranch or estancia in 2026 is Explora Patagonia at 89/100, a 50-room lodge on its own 15,000-acre reserve in Torres del Paine that prints its price, USD 7,000 a person for eight nights all-in, its inclusions and its cancellation terms, followed by Triple Creek Ranch (88), Paws Up Montana (85), Awasi Patagonia (85), Estancia Cristina (84) and Three Forks Ranch (78). Fifteen properties across Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Chile, Argentina and Uruguay were scored on six published criteria and six are ranked; The Ranch at Rock Creek, the only Forbes Five-Star ranch, finishes outside them because it publishes no rate and no terms. The page then re-cuts the data three ways: what a night costs, who has the most land and horses, and how the four Patagonian lodges compare.

Verified 23 September 2026 · each property's own site · Forbes Travel Guide and Relais & Châteaux · Tripadvisor · GlobeNewswire, LATTE, Athlon Untamed, Travel Daily News, Haute Living, Elite Traveler · re-read at source

The best luxury ranches and estancias in 2026

How the score works (100 points). Published rate 20: a nightly or programme price a reader can see on the property's own site without enquiring · Inclusions transparency 15: what the rate covers and what it does not, meals, alcohol, activities, transfers, gratuities, fees and taxes, stated on the site · Booking terms published 15: deposit, cancellation and minimum stay stated on the site · Land and programme 20: acreage under the property's control, horses, private water, the number of included activities, access by air · Independent review evidence 15: Forbes Travel Guide stars, Relais & Châteaux, Michelin Keys, Tripadvisor score and count, reader awards with a year · Ownership transparency 15: owner or operating company named, and the basis on which it holds the land. Only the top six are ranked; everyone else assessed is named below with published facts and no score. Ties break on the land score. Scores are ours; the inputs are linked. Facts re-read at each property's own site, Forbes Travel Guide, Relais & Châteaux, Tripadvisor and press between 22 and 23 September 2026.
#PropertyScore /100WherePublished from-rateLandBest for
1Explora Patagonia89Torres del Paine, ChileUSD 7,000 a person, 8 nights across two lodges, all-inclusive15,000-acre reserve inside the national park; 50 roomsGuided Patagonia on a fixed all-in programme with published terms
2Triple Creek Ranch88Darby, MontanaUSD 2,450 a night per cabin for two, 2026, rising to 2,650 in 2027Adults-only, 25 cabins, affiliated 26,000-acre CB RanchThe most transparent US ranch: rates three years out and every exclusion named
3Paws Up Montana85Greenough, MontanaUSD 3,820 a person for a 4-night glamping package, fee and tax included37,000-acre working cattle ranch; 76 homes and tentsFamilies and glamping on the largest acreage among the ranked US ranches
4Awasi Patagonia85Torres del Paine, ChileUSD 4,850 a night per villa for two, high season October to April, fully hosted7,000-acre private reserve; 14 villas, each with a private guide and 4x4Private guiding by the villa, Relais & Châteaux, year-round from 2026
5Estancia Cristina84Los Glaciares, ArgentinaUSD 1,680 a person, one night, double, low season, full board and boat transferNational-park concession reached only by boat; 20 rooms in five housesThe cheapest ranked stay and the only one with a full rate table for two seasons
6Three Forks Ranch78Savery, WyomingUSD 4,195 a night per room, double200,000 acres or more, 16 miles of private trout water, a private ski mountain; 27 roomsOne price for everything including spa and alcohol, on the biggest private playground
Snow-capped peaks of Torres del Paine, Chile, above a turquoise lake
Torres del Paine, Chile, where Explora's 50-room lodge sits on its own 15,000-acre reserve and Awasi's 14 villas on a 7,000-acre reserve at the park's edge. Photo: Cristian Villanueva / Pexels

Score breakdown by criterion

PropertyRate /20Inclusions /15Terms /15Land /20Reviews /15Ownership /15Total
Explora Patagonia17171516131189
Triple Creek Ranch18151512151388
Paws Up Montana14141417131385
Awasi Patagonia17151515131085
Estancia Cristina18151514101284
Three Forks Ranch181651981278

The order is decided by what a property publishes, not by how it feels to stay there. Explora and Estancia Cristina print full rate tables and full cancellation terms; Triple Creek prints its 2026, 2027 and 2028 rates and names every exclusion; Awasi prints a per-villa rate sheet with a three-night minimum and four cancellation tiers; Three Forks prints one all-in room rate and no terms at all. Paws Up and Awasi tie on 85 and the tie breaks on land, 17 to 15. Land is the second decider: Three Forks and Paws Up score 19 and 17 on acreage, private water and activity count, and Triple Creek, an adults-only enclave rather than a working ranch, scores 12. The property with the best reviews in the category, The Ranch at Rock Creek, the only Forbes Five-Star ranch in the world, is not in the six: it publishes no rate, no deposit and no cancellation policy, and on this rubric that costs it more than the stars earn. It is assessed below with its published facts.

What a luxury ranch costs per night in 2026

The published floor runs from USD 1,680 a person a night at Estancia Cristina to USD 4,195 a room at Three Forks Ranch, with Triple Creek at USD 2,450 a cabin for two, Paws Up at USD 955 a person a night inside a four-night package, Eolo from USD 1,695 a room on its Relais & Châteaux page, Awasi at USD 4,850 a villa for two, and Explora at USD 875 a person a night across an eight-night programme; eight of the fifteen properties assessed publish no rate at all. The test is a price on the property's own site, read on 23 September 2026, with what it covers stated beside it.

PropertyPublished rateBasisIncludedNot includedFees and taxes
Estancia CristinaUSD 1,680Per person, one night, double, low season (15 Oct to 14 Dec 2026 and 1 Mar to 30 Apr 2027); 3 nights USD 3,100Full board, guided expeditions, park fee, boat and land transfers from El CalafatePremium wine, gratuities, private expeditions, Wi-Fi, laundry21% VAT excluded from stay rates; waived for foreign tourists paying in foreign currency
EoloUSD 1,695Per room, per night, Superior Room, on its Relais & Châteaux page; own site unreadableAll meals, alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, guided riding, trekking and biking, El Calafate airport transferOther excursionsNot stated
Triple Creek RanchUSD 2,450Per cabin, per night, two adults, One-Bedroom Luxury Cabin, 2026; USD 2,650 in 2027, 2,800 in 2028All meals, house wine, beer and spirits, inclusive ranch activities, ski lift tickets and rentals, evening programmesSpa, airport transfers, off-ranch outfitters, premium drinks, laundryNo resort fee; gratuity and Montana bed tax not included
Paws Up MontanaUSD 3,820Per person, double, four-night Together Under The Stars glamping package, May 2027; USD 4,930 in summerMeals, one round-trip Missoula transfer per unit, gratuity-freeGuided activities at additional cost, extra vehicles, e-bikes, pet fee20% resort fee and 8% state lodging tax included in all rates
Three Forks RanchUSD 4,195Per room, per night, double, Main Lodge, 1 Jan to 31 Mar 2027Meals, alcohol, activities, ground transportation, spa appointments; non-tippingPremium wine, gift shop, Longevity Assessment; day-of-departure activities USD 550 half-daySales tax and service charge added
Explora PatagoniaUSD 7,000Per person, total, Chilean Patagonia programme, 8 nights across two lodges; 12 nights and three lodges from USD 15,680Unlimited guided explorations, all meals and drinks including Chilean wine and spirits, spa, park fees, Puerto Natales transfersInternational and domestic flightsNot stated
Awasi PatagoniaUSD 4,850Per villa, per night, two people, high season October 2025 to April 2026; single USD 3,650; Master Villa USD 8,300 for four; three-night minimumPrivate guide and 4x4 for one full-day or two half-day excursions a day, all meals, all alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, Puerto Natales transfers, a reservations assistantPuma trackingTax-exempt for non-residents paying in foreign currency
VermejoUSD 1,300Per night, Turner House only; standard rooms unpriced, USD 700 a person a night overage above minimum occupancyMeals, non-alcoholic drinks, activities, half-day guided experiencesAlcohol, transfers, spa, premium excursions15% service fee on nightly rates

Two things catch people out. A per-person package rate and a per-room nightly rate are not the same number: Paws Up's USD 3,820 for four nights is USD 955 a person a night with fee and tax inside, which puts a couple at about USD 1,910 a night, below Triple Creek's USD 2,450 cabin rate once Triple Creek's gratuity and bed tax are added. And "all-inclusive" stops at different lines: Triple Creek excludes airport transfers, Vermejo excludes alcohol, Paws Up charges for guided activities, and Three Forks includes spa treatments. The private-chef villa guide shows the same inclusion problem in a different category.

Which luxury ranches have the most horses and the biggest land

C Lazy U keeps 200 horses, Estancia Los Potreros says more than 140, Brush Creek 120 for guests plus 20 for cattle work; Vermejo controls 558,000 acres, Three Forks 200,000 or more, Paws Up 37,000, Brush Creek 30,000, Explora 15,000 and Awasi 7,000; Rock Creek's 6,600 acres carry four miles of private Rock Creek. Horse counts are the property's own; acreage is as stated on its site, and the discrepancies are noted.

PropertyLandHorsesPrivate waterActivities listedAir access
Vermejo558,000 acres, the largest contiguous private tract in the USNot published19 fishable lakesRiding, fly fishing, guided half-daysExecutive airport nearby; commercial transfer time not published
Three Forks RanchMore than 200,000 acres on its history page, 280,000 on its home pageNot published16 miles of restored Little Snake River16, including a private ski mountain and five shooting disciplinesYampa Valley (HDN) and Dixon (KDWX); ground transport included
Paws Up Montana37,000-acre working cattle ranchNot publishedBlackfoot River frontage15 or moreMissoula 35 miles; one return transfer per unit included
Brush Creek RanchMore than 30,000 acres, plus 100,000 of national forest120 for guests, 20 for cattle work20 miles of North Platte; Orvis Lodge of the Year 2026100 or moreSaratoga Jet Center 16 miles; Laramie one hour; Denver three and a half
Explora Patagonia15,000-acre reserve inside Torres del PaineOwn herd of Patagonian horses; count not publishedLake Pehoé shoreMore than 40 guided explorationsPunta Arenas, then 1.5 to 2 hours by road from Puerto Natales, included
Awasi Patagonia7,000-acre private reserve at the park's edgeRides at neighbouring estanciasNone claimedPersonalised by villa; puma tracking extraPuerto Natales 2 hours, Punta Arenas 4; private transfer included
The Ranch at Rock Creek6,600 acresNot published4 miles of Rock Creek45Missoula 1.5 hours; two airstrips within 45 minutes
Estancia Los Potreros6,000 acres, four generations of the Begg familyMore than 140 on its own site; 80 per one operator, 50 per anotherNone claimedRiding, cattle work, poloCórdoba 45 minutes
Estancia Vik4,000 acresNot publishedLaguna José IgnacioRiding, polo lessons, golf, tennis, kayaksPunta del Este 30 minutes
Eolo4,000 hectares (9,900 acres)Not publishedNone claimedRiding, trekking, bikingEl Calafate 1 hour, included
Triple Creek RanchRanch acreage not published; affiliated CB Ranch 26,000 acresNot publishedVia CB RanchNot totalled; riding, fly fishing, skiing at Lost TrailMissoula 1.5 hours; Hamilton airstrip 30 minutes; helipad
C Lazy U RanchNot published200Orvis-endorsed fly fishingRiding daily, trapshooting, archery, rafting, cattle workGranby airport 10 minutes, free pickup; Denver 1.5 to 2 hours
Lone Mountain Ranch148 acresNot publishedNone claimedYellowstone excursions, riding, Nordic skiingBozeman transfer included

Two cautions. Acreage is not exclusivity: Vermejo's 558,000 acres is a conservation reserve where a guest sees a fraction, and Explora's 15,000 acres sit inside a national park shared with every other visitor to Torres del Paine. And a horse count says nothing about who may ride which horse; C Lazy U grades its 200 from beginner to advanced, which is the useful detail. The horseback safari index scores rider grading as a criterion in its own right.

Luxury lodges and estancias in Patagonia compared

Four Patagonian properties were assessed and three are ranked: Explora Patagonia 89, Awasi Patagonia 85 and Estancia Cristina 84, with Eolo at El Calafate assessed but unranked because its owner is not published and its own site could not be read. The Chilean pair sit either side of Torres del Paine; the Argentine pair sit either side of Lago Argentino.

PropertyCountryRoomsFromGuiding modelTerms
Explora PatagoniaChile50USD 7,000 a person, 8 nights, two lodgesGroup explorations, more than 40, unlimited30% deposit; free cancellation 30 days out, 50% at 29 to 15 days, 100% inside 14; holiday periods 50% and 60 days
Estancia CristinaArgentina20 in five housesUSD 1,680 a person, one night, double, low seasonGuided expeditions to the Upsala glacier and the Cañadón de los Fósiles; horses by the day30% deposit; no penalty to 61 days, 50% at 60 to 30, 100% inside 30
Awasi PatagoniaChile14 villas, 16 from January 2027USD 4,850 a villa for two, high seasonPrivate guide and 4x4 per villa50% deposit, balance 30 days out; high season full refund to 121 days, 25% penalty at 120 to 76, 50% at 75 to 31, 100% inside 30; festive 50% at 120 to 61, 100% inside 60
EoloArgentina17USD 1,695 a room, SuperiorGuided riding, trekking and biking includedNo penalty to 45 days, 100% inside 44; deposit not published

Estancia Cristina is the only one of the four whose land it does not own: the estancia sits on national-park land under a concession managed by Estancia Cristina SA, which its own story page states (estanciacristina.com). It is reached only by boat from Puerto Punta Bandera, which its rate includes. Explora's programme is priced per person across two lodges, so a single-lodge stay is quoted rather than published. The Patagonia overlanding guide covers the road between the two countries; the national parks ranking covers Torres del Paine and Los Glaciares themselves.

The six best luxury ranches and estancias in detail

1. Explora Patagonia: 89/100

Torres del Paine, Chile · 50 rooms on a 15,000-acre reserve · From USD 7,000 a person for 8 nights across two lodges

Explora scores 89 because it publishes the three things most of this category hides: a price, what it covers and what it costs to cancel. Its Chilean Patagonia programme is listed at USD 7,000 a person for eight nights across two lodges, Patagonia Without Borders at USD 11,520 and Patagonia In-Depth at USD 15,680 for twelve nights and three lodges (explora.com), with unlimited guided explorations, all meals and drinks including Chilean wine and spirits, spa access, park fees and transfers from Puerto Natales inside the price. Its payment page states a 30% deposit with the balance 30 days before check-in, free cancellation 30 or more days out, 50% at 29 to 15 days and 100% inside 14, with 50% deposits and 60-day windows over the holidays (payment and cancellation policies). That earns 17, 17 and 15 on the first three criteria. Land scores 16: a 50-room lodge on the shore of Lake Pehoé inside its own 15,000-acre reserve within the national park, more than 40 guided explorations and its own herd of Patagonian horses. Reviews score 13: Tripadvisor 4.7 from 1,676 reviews with a Travelers' Choice 2026 badge (Tripadvisor), Best of the Best all-inclusive hotel in 2025, Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice 2025 for South American resorts, and World's Leading Expedition Company at the World Travel Awards for six years to 2025 (awards page). The weak score is ownership, 11: founder and president Pedro Ibáñez is named (founder's vision) but the current shareholding is not, and a single-lodge stay is quoted rather than priced. It suits a reader who wants Patagonia guided on a fixed programme, with the wildlife destinations ranking as the wider context.

2. Triple Creek Ranch: 88/100

A cowboy on horseback roping a calf in a field at Corvallis in Montana's Bitterroot Valley
Ranch work at Corvallis, in the Bitterroot Valley north of Triple Creek Ranch at Darby. Photo: Deb Hayes / Pexels

Darby, Montana · Adults-only, 25 cabins · USD 2,450 a night per cabin for two in 2026, 2,650 in 2027, 2,800 in 2028

Triple Creek scores 88 and is the most transparent ranch in the United States on this rubric. Its cabin pages print per-night rates three years ahead, USD 2,450 for two adults in a One-Bedroom Luxury Cabin in 2026, USD 2,650 in 2027 and USD 2,800 in 2028, with an additional guest at USD 800 (triplecreekranch.com), and its inclusions page names both sides of the line: all meals, house wine, spirits and beer, inclusive ranch activities, lift tickets and rentals at Lost Trail and evening programmes are in; spa services, airport transfers, third-party outfitters, premium drinks, laundry, gratuity and Montana bed tax are out, and there is no resort fee (inclusions and policies). A 50% deposit holds the booking and is refunded if cancelled 60 days out; three-night minimums apply on four holidays. That is 18, 15 and 15. Reviews score the maximum: Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star in 2025 and 2026 (Forbes Travel Guide), Relais & Châteaux, two Michelin Keys in both years, Tripadvisor 4.9 from 438 (Tripadvisor), and Travel + Leisure's readers placing it first in Montana in 2025 and 2026, eighth in the continental US and 83rd in the world in 2026 (acclaim page). Ownership scores 13: Craig and Barbara Barrett have owned and run it since 1993, after it opened to the public in autumn 1986 (about page). The weak score is land, 12, and it is honest: Triple Creek is an adults-only enclave on the slope of Trapper Peak whose big country belongs to the affiliated 26,000-acre CB Ranch, its own acreage is not published, and no horse count is given. Transfers run USD 200 a couple by road from Missoula, USD 400 by fixed wing from Hamilton or USD 3,200 by helicopter (travel page).

3. Paws Up Montana: 85/100

Aerial view of forest, a lake and a distant mountain range in Montana
Western Montana from the air; Paws Up's 37,000 acres run along the Blackfoot River east of Missoula. Photo: Brett Buskirk / Pexels

Greenough, Montana · 37,000-acre working cattle ranch · 76 homes and tented suites · Packages from USD 3,820 a person for four nights

Paws Up scores 85 with the strongest land score among the US ranches that publish a price and the most complete fee disclosure in the category. Its packages page prices every package per person, double occupancy, with the 20% resort fee and 8% Montana lodging tax inside the number: Together Under The Stars, four nights of glamping, from USD 3,820 in May and USD 4,930 in summer; three-night packages from USD 5,094 to USD 5,784 (pawsup.com packages). The rate policies page states that meals are included, that the resort is gratuity-free, that one return Missoula transfer per unit is included, and that guided activities, extra vehicles, e-bikes and pets cost more; a deposit equal to two nights is due, with 60-day cancellation for one or two units and 90 days for three or more, less a fee of 20% of the deposit, and four-night minimums in summer (rate policies). No plain per-night room rate is printed, which is why rate scores 14 rather than 18. Land scores 17: a 37,000-acre working cattle ranch on the Blackfoot, bought by Dave and Nadine Lipson in 1997 and opened as a resort in 2005 (history), six glamping camps of tented suites open mid-May to mid-October, an adults-only Green O, and 15 or more activities from sporting clays to rappelling; the horse count is not published. Reviews score 13: Forbes Travel Guide Four-Star (Forbes Travel Guide), two Michelin Keys, Virtuoso and Amex Fine Hotels membership (press and awards), and Tripadvisor 4.5 from 725 (Tripadvisor), the lowest score of the six. Ownership scores 13 for a named family owner of three decades. It suits families and anyone who wants to sleep in canvas without giving up a bathtub; the active travel operators index covers the guided side of the same market.

4. Awasi Patagonia: 85/100

The Torres del Paine massif in Chilean Patagonia at sunrise under a blue sky
The Paine massif at sunrise; Awasi's villas look at it from a private reserve at the park's eastern edge. Photo: Tom D'Arby / Pexels

Torres del Paine, Chile · 14 villas on a 7,000-acre reserve, 16 from January 2027 · USD 4,850 a villa a night for two, high season · Relais & Châteaux

Awasi scores 85, level with Paws Up and behind it on the land tie-break, on a rate sheet that prints the number, the minimum and the penalties. Its 2025 to 2026 programme rates, valid October to April, are USD 4,850 a night per villa for two, USD 3,650 single and USD 8,300 for a Master Villa based on four, fully hosted, with a three-night minimum and Chilean tax waived for non-residents paying in foreign currency (Awasi Patagonia rate sheet). Fully hosted means one private guide and a 4x4 per villa for one full-day or two half-day excursions a day, private transfers to and from Puerto Natales airport, all meals, an open bar of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks including national wines, and a reservations assistant as a single point of contact; puma tracking is charged extra (awasi.com). The sheet states a 50% deposit with the balance 30 days before arrival and cancellation in four tiers for high season, a full refund to 121 days, a 25% penalty from 120 to 76, 50% from 75 to 31 and 100% inside 30, with 50% from 120 to 61 days and 100% inside 60 over the festive period; the site's terms page publishes shorter windows for peak season, so ask which document governs the quote (booking terms). That is 17, 15 and 15 on the first three criteria. Land scores 15 for the 7,000-acre private reserve at the park's edge, three villa categories up to 180 square metres (lodge page) and rides at neighbouring estancias rather than its own. Reviews score 13: Tripadvisor 5.0 from 485 (Tripadvisor) and Relais & Châteaux membership (Relais & Châteaux), with no Forbes rating and no reader-award placement found. Ownership scores 10: co-founder Matías de Cristóbal is named in interviews and the Awasi group dates from 2007, but the operating entity is not on the site. Two Cenit Villas of 176 square metres open in January 2027 at USD 4,885 a night, and 2026 is the lodge's first year-round season (LATTE, 26 June 2026). Children between 10 and 18 pay half; younger children are not mentioned.

5. Estancia Cristina: 84/100

Turquoise water and mountains near the Upsala glacier in Argentine Patagonia
Near the Upsala glacier on Lago Argentino, the boat route to Estancia Cristina from Puerto Punta Bandera. Photo: 8Percent Media / Pexels

Los Glaciares National Park, Argentina · 20 rooms in five houses, reached only by boat · From USD 1,680 a person, one night, double, low season

Estancia Cristina scores 84 as the cheapest ranked property and the only one that prints a complete rate table for two seasons. Its rates page lists single, double and triple prices for one, two and three nights in low season, 15 October to 14 December 2026 and 1 March to 30 April 2027, and in peak, 15 December to 28 February: a double runs USD 1,680 a person for one night, USD 2,520 for two and USD 3,100 for three in low season, and USD 1,770, 2,650 and 3,255 in peak, with extra nights at USD 990 and 1,040 (estanciacristina.com rates). The rate includes shared land transfers from El Calafate hotels, the park entry fee, the boat from Puerto Punta Bandera, full board, guided expeditions and the museum, and excludes premium wine, gratuities, private expeditions, Wi-Fi and laundry; Argentina's 21% VAT is excluded from stay rates and waived for foreign visitors paying in foreign currency. Terms are printed: 30% deposit, balance 60 days out, no penalty to 61 days, 50% from 60 to 30 and 100% inside 30. That is 18, 15 and 15. Land scores 14 because the land is not its own: founded by the Masters family in 1914, the estancia was turned into a lodge by Herbert Masters' widow Janet in 1997 and now operates a national-park concession through Estancia Cristina SA, which the story page states plainly (the story); horseback riding is priced by the day, from USD 400 on the visit rates. Reviews score 10: Tripadvisor 4.8 from 428 and first of 48 inns in El Calafate (Tripadvisor), with no Forbes, Relais & Châteaux or reader-award placement found. Ownership scores 12 for stating the concession. Twenty rooms of 30 square metres in five houses, one of them named Family (rooms), suit a reader who wants the glacier without the El Calafate hotel strip.

6. Three Forks Ranch: 78/100

A rustic barn in Wyoming against a mountain backdrop at sunset
Ranch country in Wyoming; Three Forks sits on the Colorado line 40 miles north of Steamboat Springs. Photo: Saif Omar Shah / Pexels

Savery, Wyoming · 27 rooms on 200,000 acres or more · USD 4,195 a room a night, double, all-in including spa and alcohol

Three Forks scores 78, sixth of six, with the highest land score in the set and the lowest terms score. Its pricing page prints a single number, USD 4,195 a room a night for two in the Main Lodge for 1 January to 31 March 2027 (threeforksranch.com pricing), and its FAQ states what it buys: "From meals and alcohol to activities, ground transportation, and even spa appointments, your entire stay is covered under our one-price program," on a non-tipping ranch (FAQ). Premium wine, the gift shop and the Longevity Assessment cost more, sales tax and a service charge are added, and departure-day activities are USD 550 for a half day. Rate scores 18 and inclusions 16. Terms score 5: no deposit percentage, cancellation policy or minimum stay is published, and the FAQ directs the reader to the phone. Land scores 19: the history page says more than 200,000 acres and the home page 280,000, both figures the ranch's own (history), 16 miles of restored Little Snake River, a private ski mountain, 16 listed activities including five shooting disciplines and cattle drives, a 6,000-square-foot spa and a staff ratio of about three to one for 27 rooms. David Pratt has owned the ranch since 1998; the lodge opened in 2008 and a Mayo Clinic partnership began in 2018. Reviews score 8, the weak score: Tripadvisor 4.9 from 108 (Tripadvisor), no Forbes Travel Guide rating found despite a third-party site calling it five-star, no Relais & Châteaux, and absent from every 2026 ranch list. It suits a reader who wants one price and no arithmetic, and is prepared to ask for the terms.

Assessed, not ranked

Nine more properties were scored on the same rubric and finish outside the six, led by Vermejo and C Lazy U on 75, The Ranch at Rock Creek on 74 and Brush Creek Ranch on 72; five others were checked and excluded for closure, price or missing evidence. Published facts only; no score is shown for an unranked property.

PropertyWherePublished facts, re-read 23 September 2026Why it is outside the six
Vermejo, a Ted Turner ReserveRaton, New Mexico558,000 acres, the largest contiguous private tract in the US, bought by Ted Turner in 1996; Turner House, ten bedrooms, from USD 1,300 a night with meals, non-alcoholic drinks and two activities a day; standard rooms unpriced with a USD 700 a person overage; alcohol, transfers and spa excluded; 15% service fee; 50% deposit, refund to 61 days less 10%; Tripadvisor 4.8 from 86 (GlobeNewswire, 21 July 2026; Tripadvisor)No base rate for standard rooms and 86 reviews
C Lazy U RanchGranby, ColoradoGuest ranch since 1920; owners Don Bailey, Leslie Stanford, Adrienne and Dean Singleton since 2011; 14 cabins; 200 horses graded from beginner to advanced; meals, daily riding and activities included with a 20% resort fee, 4.9% lodging tax and 4.2% food tax on top; 30% non-refundable deposit, balance 60 days out; Tripadvisor 4.8 from 438; Travel + Leisure World's Best 2025 and 2026 and Condé Nast Traveler top 20 Mountain West 2025 per its own awards page (guest policies; horse programme; Tripadvisor)Rates only on a specials page; acreage not published
The Ranch at Rock CreekPhilipsburg, Montana6,600 acres with four miles of private Rock Creek; 31 accommodations; 45 activities; all meals, premium wine, beer and spirits, two activities a day, phone and Wi-Fi included, with staff gratuities, taxes and airport transfers inside a 25% Ranch Fee; five to seven nights recommended; owner Jim Manley; Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star, the only five-star guest ranch, eleven awards to 2024; Tripadvisor 4.9 from 722 with Travelers' Choice 2026 (all-inclusive experience; FAQ; Forbes Travel Guide; Tripadvisor)No rate, deposit or cancellation policy published; the rates page returns an error. The best reviews in the category cannot lift a property that prints no price
Brush Creek RanchSaratoga, WyomingMore than 30,000 acres bought by Bruce and Beth White in 2008, run by the White family through White Lodging since Bruce White's death in 2023; 72 bedrooms at the Lodge and Spa, 12 at the adults-only Magee Homestead in season; 120 riding horses; 20 miles of private North Platte water and Orvis Fly-Fishing Lodge of the Year 2026; meals, select drinks and on-ranch activities included; 50% deposit, refund to 60 days less 10%; Forbes: Lodge and Spa Recommended, Magee Homestead listed as soon to be rated after Five-Star awards in 2018 to 2021; Tripadvisor 4.9 from 209 (FAQ; our story; Orvis award, 1 August 2026; Forbes Travel Guide)Rates page returns an error; no minimum stay published; Forbes status of Magee Homestead lapsed to unrated
EoloEl Calafate, Argentina4,000-hectare estate; 17 rooms; from USD 1,695 a room on its Relais & Châteaux page, meals, drinks, guided riding, trekking and biking and airport transfer included; no penalty to 45 days, full charge inside 44; Tripadvisor 4.8 from 631, second of 78 in El Calafate (FAQ; Tripadvisor)Owner not published; own site unreadable; deposit not stated
Lone Mountain RanchBig Sky, Montana148 acres homesteaded in 1915; 26 log cabins; operated by Auric Road Management; three meals, Bozeman transfers and Yellowstone excursions included, alcohol largely excluded; 50% deposit with credit-only refunds and nothing refundable inside 60 days; Tripadvisor 4.7 from 419 with Travelers' Choice 2026; Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice second among the world's best resorts in 2025 per its own news page (cancellation policy; Tripadvisor)No rate published; 148 acres; no Forbes rating
Estancia Los PotrerosCórdoba, Argentina6,000-acre working cattle ranch in the Begg family for four generations; more than 140 horses on its own site; polo; a seven-night riding package sold by an operator at GBP 3,229; Tripadvisor 5.0 from 152; Long Run member; The Times, December 2025 (Tripadvisor)Its rates page could not be read on three attempts; no terms found
Dunton Hot SpringsDolores, ColoradoA restored 1885 mining town bought by Christoph Henkel in 1994; 14 cabins for 52 guests; dining fully inclusive; geothermal pools; Relais & Châteaux and two Michelin Keys; Tripadvisor 4.8 from 424; private transfers USD 498 to 660 one way; sister Lumière by Dunton joined Relais & Châteaux on 19 March 2026 (Relais & Châteaux; Tripadvisor; Travel Daily News)No rate, deposit, cancellation policy, acreage or horse count published
Estancia Vik José IgnacioJosé Ignacio, Uruguay4,000 acres a mile from the Atlantic; 12 suites in a 50,000-square-foot house; founded by Alex and Carrie Vik with Maximiliano Broquen; riding, polo lessons, golf, tennis and kayaks; Punta del Este 30 minutes; Tripadvisor 4.6 from 144, ninth of 12 in José Ignacio (Tripadvisor)No rate, inclusions or terms published; the lowest review position of any property assessed

Checked and excluded. Zapata Ranch, Colorado, whose operator Ranchlands announced that 2024 would be the last season of guest stays as the Nature Conservancy repurposes the property (Ranchlands); The Home Ranch, Colorado, closed to public guests; Flathead Lake Lodge, Montana, all-inclusive but priced at about USD 1,038 a person a night by the week, below this index's floor (rates); Alisal Ranch, California, all-inclusive with a 22% ranch fee but no rate on the page (nightly rate); Not yet researched to the rubric: The Lodge at Blue Sky, Utah, an Auberge resort named by Haute Living and Elite Traveler in 2026 (bluesky.aubergeresorts.com), Tierra Patagonia, Estancia La Bamba de Areco (Relais & Châteaux) and Bullo River Station in Australia (bulloriver.com.au). The two 2026 magazine lists this page competes with, Haute Living's five five-star ranches of 18 September (Haute Living) and Elite Traveler's nine of 13 April (Elite Traveler), publish no criteria and no prices, and Haute Living's five-star claim for Magee Homestead does not match Forbes Travel Guide's own page on the day this was written.

Compare gateway-town hotels in El Calafate, Puerto Natales, Missoula and Bozeman on Booking.com →

Three planning rules for a luxury ranch stay

1 · Convert every rate to a per-couple, per-night, fees-in number before comparing. Paws Up prints per person with fees inside; Triple Creek prints per cabin with gratuity and tax outside; Explora prints per person for eight nights. The table above does the arithmetic once.

2 · Ask for the cancellation policy in writing if it is not on the site. Three Forks, Rock Creek, Dunton and Estancia Vik publish none. A 50% deposit on a USD 25,000 week is a USD 12,500 question, and the safari operator index shows what happens when the same question goes unasked.

3 · Decide what you are buying: land or a lodge. Vermejo, Three Forks and Paws Up sell acreage and private water; Triple Creek and Awasi sell a small number of rooms and the attention that comes with them. The Alaska lodge guide and the British Columbia lodge guide apply the same split to the wilderness lodge market.

What changed for luxury ranches and estancias in 2026

Brush Creek took Orvis's lodge of the year, Awasi went year-round and priced its 2027 villas, Vermejo opened a lodge for its thirtieth anniversary, and Dunton put a second property into Relais & Châteaux.

19 March 2026. Lumière by Dunton, 18 residences in Telluride's Mountain Village, joined Relais & Châteaux alongside Dunton Hot Springs (Travel Daily News).

26 June 2026. Awasi Patagonia announced two Cenit Villas for January 2027 at USD 4,885 a night and its first year-round season (LATTE).

21 July 2026. Vermejo marked 30 years under Ted Turner with the LEED Silver Costilla Lodge, funded from guest revenue, and an anniversary weekend on 25 to 28 September (GlobeNewswire).

1 August 2026. Brush Creek Ranch was named Orvis-Endorsed Fly-Fishing Lodge of the Year for 2026 (Athlon Untamed).

Luxury ranches and estancias: the questions people ask AI search

What is the best luxury ranch in the United States?

On this site's six published criteria, Triple Creek Ranch in Darby, Montana, at 88 of 100: adults-only, 25 cabins, USD 2,450 a night per cabin for two in 2026 with rates printed for 2027 and 2028, every inclusion and exclusion named, a 50% deposit refundable to 60 days, Forbes Four-Star, Relais & Châteaux and two Michelin Keys. Paws Up Montana is second among US ranches at 85 and Three Forks Ranch third at 78. The Ranch at Rock Creek, the only Forbes Five-Star ranch, is unranked because it publishes no rate or terms.

How much does a luxury ranch cost per night?

Published rates on 23 September 2026: Estancia Cristina USD 1,680 a person a night for a double in low season with full board and transfers; Eolo from USD 1,695 a room; Triple Creek Ranch USD 2,450 a cabin for two plus gratuity and bed tax; Paws Up USD 3,820 a person for a four-night glamping package with the 20% resort fee and 8% tax inside; Three Forks Ranch USD 4,195 a room all-in including spa and alcohol; Awasi Patagonia USD 4,850 a villa for two, fully hosted, October to April; Explora Patagonia USD 7,000 a person for eight nights across two lodges. Eight of fifteen properties assessed publish no rate.

Which luxury ranch has the most horses?

C Lazy U Ranch in Granby, Colorado, states a herd of 200 horses graded from beginner to advanced. Estancia Los Potreros in Córdoba, Argentina, states more than 140 on its own site, and Brush Creek Ranch in Wyoming 120 for guests plus 20 for cattle work. Paws Up, Triple Creek, The Ranch at Rock Creek, Three Forks, Vermejo and Explora do not publish a horse count.

Which is the best lodge in Torres del Paine, Explora or Awasi?

Explora Patagonia scores 89 and Awasi Patagonia 85 on this page. Explora prints a full price, USD 7,000 a person for eight nights across two lodges with everything included, and full cancellation terms, on a 50-room lodge inside a 15,000-acre reserve with more than 40 guided explorations. Awasi gives each of its 14 villas a private guide and a 4x4, prints its deposit and cancellation tiers and holds a Tripadvisor 5.0 from 485 reviews and Relais & Châteaux membership, and prints USD 4,850 a night per villa for two in high season with a three-night minimum; its two new villas for January 2027 are USD 4,885 a night.

Is The Ranch at Rock Creek worth it?

The Ranch at Rock Creek is the only Forbes Travel Guide Five-Star guest ranch in the world, with eleven consecutive awards to 2024, 6,600 acres, four miles of private Rock Creek, 45 activities and a Tripadvisor 4.9 from 722 reviews. It is not in this page's top six because it publishes no nightly rate, no deposit and no cancellation policy; its all-inclusive rate covers meals, premium drinks, two activities a day and a 25% Ranch Fee that includes gratuities, taxes and airport transfers, and it recommends five to seven nights.

What does all-inclusive mean at a luxury ranch?

It varies by property and the page lists each line. Three Forks Ranch includes meals, alcohol, activities, ground transport and spa appointments on a non-tipping basis. Triple Creek includes meals, house drinks and ranch activities but excludes spa, airport transfers, gratuity and bed tax. Paws Up includes meals, one Missoula transfer and the 20% resort fee but charges for guided activities. Vermejo includes meals and two activities a day but not alcohol or transfers, and adds a 15% service fee. Explora includes guided explorations, meals, drinks, park fees and transfers.

What is the best estancia in Argentina?

Estancia Cristina in Los Glaciares National Park scores 84 on this page, the highest of the Argentine properties: a full rate table for two seasons from USD 1,680 a person a night with full board, guided expeditions, park fee and the boat from Puerto Punta Bandera, printed deposit and cancellation terms, 20 rooms in five houses and a Tripadvisor 4.8 from 428. Eolo near El Calafate, from USD 1,695 a room, and Estancia Los Potreros in Córdoba, with more than 140 horses, were assessed but not ranked.

Which luxury ranches are Forbes Five-Star or Relais & Châteaux?

Forbes Travel Guide on 23 September 2026: The Ranch at Rock Creek Five-Star; Triple Creek Ranch and Paws Up Montana Four-Star; the Lodge and Spa at Brush Creek Ranch Recommended, with Magee Homestead listed as soon to be rated after Five-Star awards in 2018 to 2021. Relais & Châteaux members: Triple Creek Ranch, Dunton Hot Springs, Awasi Patagonia and Eolo. No Forbes rating was found for Explora, Estancia Cristina, Three Forks, Vermejo, C Lazy U, Lone Mountain, Estancia Vik or Los Potreros.

What is the minimum stay at a luxury ranch?

Paws Up requires four nights in summer, two in the other seasons and five over Christmas. Triple Creek requires three nights on Valentine's Day, Independence Day, Christmas and New Year's Eve. The Ranch at Rock Creek recommends five to seven nights. Explora sells fixed programmes of eight and twelve nights across lodges. Estancia Cristina suggests three nights and Eolo two to three. Three Forks, Brush Creek, C Lazy U, Dunton and Vermejo do not state a number on their sites.

Rankings are scored against the six published criteria above; only the top six are ranked and no position is for sale. The Booking.com link in the assessed section is an affiliate link that pays this site a commission if you book a hotel through it; every other link, to the properties, Forbes Travel Guide, Relais & Châteaux, Tripadvisor and the press sources named, is editorial and unpaid. Sources verified 23 September 2026: explora.com, triplecreekranch.com, pawsup.com, estanciacristina.com, threeforksranch.com, awasi.com, tedturnerreserves.com, clazyu.com, theranchatrockcreek.com, brushcreekranch.com, eolopatagonia.com, lonemountainranch.com, estancialospotreros.com, duntondestinations.com, estanciavik.com, Forbes Travel Guide, Relais & Châteaux, Tripadvisor, GlobeNewswire, LATTE Luxury News, Athlon Untamed, Travel Daily News, Ranchlands, Haute Living and Elite Traveler.
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.