Safari Vacations and Travel Services states the smallest deposit percentage here, 20% of the tour cost before permits; Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel accepts any deposit that covers the permits. Nkuringo Safaris charges nothing more than 90 days out; Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours charge 10% at 60 days or more and Home to Africa Tours and Travel 10% at 90+ days. Paramount Gorilla Expeditions refunds its deposit only for 14 days and Prime Safaris & Tours refunds 70% at 90 days or more.
Which local safari operators in Uganda have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?
The smallest deposit percentage is 20% at Safari Vacations and Travel Services (before permits), with a permit-sized deposit at Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel; on cancelling, nkuringo Safaris charges nothing more than 90 days out; Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours charge 10% at 60 days or more and Home to Africa Tours and Travel 10% at 90+ days; Paramount Gorilla Expeditions refunds its 40 percent deposit only for 14 days after payment and Prime Safaris & Tours refunds 70% at 90 days or more.
Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 12 safari operators with trips in Uganda that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the national register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Uganda whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy. Cards are in alphabetical order.
Not set for tours generally: payment follows the invoice. Gorilla permits are paid in full at booking when at least three months before the tracking date.
Balance due
Not stated on its website.
Cancellation
Excluding permits: 15% at 45 to 30 days before, 25% at 29 to 14 days, 50% at 13 to 2 days and no refund at 48 hours or less. Gorilla permit fees are 100% non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Secure credit card portal and international bank transfer, with details on the invoice; PayPal, M-Pesa, Wise and instalments not mentioned.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Registered as Bamboo Ecotours (Uganda) Limited, no. 154979, with a trading licence from Kisoro Municipal Council; says it is licensed by the Uganda Tourist Board with the certificate on request and an accredited member of AUTO.
A down payment is asked at booking and the amount is not stated; it always includes the gorilla and chimpanzee permits, which have to be secured right away.
Balance due
Full payment at the latest one month before the safari unless other terms are agreed; bookings within one month of departure are paid in full at booking.
Cancellation
10% at 60 days before the start, 25% at 59 to 32 days, 50% at 31 to 8 days, 75% at 7 to 3 days and 100% at 2 to 0 days; gorilla permits and flight tickets are outside the percentages and 100% non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank transfer from abroad (client pays transfer fees), cash in USD, EURO or GBP, or its 'Pay for Tours' portal secured by Pesapal; PayPal, M-Pesa, Wise and instalments are not mentioned.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Calls itself 'a fully legally licensed company' and 'a licensed travel agency'; no licence body, number or association membership is named.
For tours 60 days or more away, any deposit that covers the gorilla and chimp permits is accepted; permits need full payment to confirm and no percentage is stated.
Balance due
Any time before the tour starts and not later than Day 1; if permits are already paid it can be settled up to 14 days before the tour begins.
Cancellation
Tour: 10% at 61 to 100 days, 50% at 8 to 60 days and 100% at 0 to 7 days. Uganda gorilla permits are refunded as UWA credit, not cash: 21% at 61 to 90 days and 46% at 91 or more days.
Payment methods and card fees
Electronic bank transfer (wire) preferred, taking 1 to 3 days; also Pesapal, credit or debit card by payment link (Visa, Mastercard, American Express) and Mobile Money; instalments accepted after the permit deposit.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Uganda Tourism Board licence No. UTB/RTT/TO/2022/100372; registered under the Ministry of Tourism; says it is a member of the Uganda Tour Operators Association.
30% of the basic program rate to book and confirm a tour, with gorilla permits paid in full in advance; lodge-only bookings 25% of the invoice.
Balance due
No later than 42 days before the safari unless agreed otherwise; bookings within 42 days of arrival are paid in full at confirmation (lodge bookings at least 35 days before).
Cancellation
10% at 60 days or more before arrival, 25% at 59 to 32 days, 50% at 31 to 8 days, 75% at 7 to 3 days and 100% at 48 hours or less; gorilla permits and air tickets are 100% non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
VISA credit card with a 5% service charge, bank transfer or cash, before the safari; card payments must be made at least two months ahead.
Permit fees (gorilla, chimp, golden monkey) 100% upfront plus 30% of the remaining value; last-minute bookings under a month 100% upfront. Its FAQ instead says a 60% down payment.
Balance due
All outstanding balances cleared at the latest 2 weeks before the start of the booked service.
Cancellation
10% at 90+ days before, 30% at 45 to 90 days, 50% at 22 to 44 days, 80% at 8 to 21 days and 100% at 7 days or less and for no-shows; permits and domestic flights paid at deposit are non-refundable on top. Refunds by wire within 120 days.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank (wire) transfer or credit card per its FAQ; PayPal, M-Pesa, Wise, Pesapal and instalments not mentioned; card fees not stated.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Licensed and supervised by the Uganda Tourism Board (licence UTB/RTT/TT/2021/00340); says it is a verified member of AUTO; trademark Reg No. UG/T/2023/78554.
60% of the holiday price, including gorilla permit fees, paid at the time of booking.
Balance due
Payable in full before the safari starts; the company reserves the right to ask for full payment at least 30 days before the start.
Cancellation
Could not be read from its website.
Payment methods and card fees
Not stated on its website.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Claims 'UTB Licensed' (Uganda Tourism Board) and six memberships: AUTO, ESTOA, UTB, Africa Tour Operators, APTA and the Uganda Safari Guides Association; no licence number is given.
An initial 30% to confirm the booking; gorilla and chimpanzee permits are paid in full at the time of the deposit.
Balance due
Due 60 days before arrival; bookings within 60 days of travel need full payment on confirmation.
Cancellation
More than 60 days before arrival the deposit is forfeited; under 60 days 50% of the total booking cost; under 30 days 75%; higher supplier penalties apply to permits and refunds exclude bank fees.
Payment methods and card fees
Not stated on its website.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Registered with the Uganda Tourism Board and the Uganda Wildlife Authority and in Uganda as Meanda Uganda Limited; no licence number or association membership is named.
30% of the basic program rate confirms a tour; gorilla and chimpanzee permits need full advance payment.
Balance due
No later than 42 days before the safari unless agreed otherwise; bookings within 42 days of arrival are paid in full at confirmation.
Cancellation
10% at 60 days or more before arrival, 25% at 59 to 32 days, 50% at 31 to 8 days, 75% at 7 to 3 days and 100% at 48 hours or less; gorilla and chimpanzee permits are 100% non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank transfer or cash, before the start of the safari; gorilla permit pages also direct payment by bank transfer; no card, PayPal or instalment options stated.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says 'Licensed in Uganda' with no licence number or issuing body; its Uganda permit page says gorilla permits go only to operators authorised by the Uganda Tourism Board and presents it as one; no association membership named.
30% of the booking cost when booking; gorilla and chimpanzee permits are paid 100% upfront and other upfront payments (internal flights, some peak-period bookings) may apply on top.
Balance due
Within 45 days of departure, meaning at least 45 days before the departure date.
Cancellation
More than 90 days: no charge, full refund; 45 to 90 days: 30% of booking cost; less than 45 days: 100%; no show: 100%. Gorilla permits and domestic flights paid at deposit stage are non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Quotes in US dollars only; card fees or surcharges are not stated on its website.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Uganda Tourism Board licence UTB/RTT/TO/2019/00142; registered with URSB, number 80020000312739; claims membership of AUTO, ATTA and Travelife.
40 percent of the total trip cost confirms a booking, fully refundable for 14 days after payment.
Balance due
Due 60 days before departure, or as stated on the booking confirmation.
Cancellation
After the 14-day refundable window: 90+ days before departure, the deposit (40 percent) is forfeited; 60 to 89 days, 50 percent; 30 to 59 days, 75 percent; under 30 days or after departure, 100 percent. Permits, fixed-departure camps and charter flights may be non-refundable from booking.
Payment methods and card fees
Card payments via Pesapal (Visa, Mastercard, American Express, mobile money) and direct bank transfer with details on request; no PayPal, Wise or instalment option stated.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Uganda Tourism Board Licence No. UTB/RTT/TO/2025/101960; registered with URSB under number 80034398136029; no association memberships named.
A minimum of 30% of the total safari cost to confirm; gorilla and chimpanzee permits, flights and services needing immediate payment are paid in full at booking.
Balance due
No later than 30 days before arrival unless agreed in writing; bookings within 45 days of arrival need full payment at confirmation.
Cancellation
Refund scale: 70% at 90 days or more, 40% at 89 to 60 days, 20% at 59 to 30 days and none under 30 days, after non-refundable items (permits, airline tickets, hotel deposits, government and visa fees, supplier penalties, administrative charges) are deducted.
Payment methods and card fees
Currencies accepted are not stated; the client bears card processing fees and currency conversion costs, with no surcharge percentage given.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it is 'fully registered and licensed in Kampala Uganda'; no licence number or association membership is stated.
20% of the total cost per person per tour, plus full payment for gorilla and chimp tracking permits; separate permit deposits of US$500 per Uganda gorilla permit, US$150 per chimp permit and US$500 per Rwanda gorilla permit.
Balance due
Due six weeks before departure; if booked within 60 days of departure the entire cost is due on confirmation.
Cancellation
Tour: 20% at 61 days and above, 40% at 46 to 60 days, 60% at 31 to 45 days and 100% at 0 to 30 days. Uganda gorilla permit: 25% over 90 days, 50% at 46 to 90, 75% at 9 to 45 and 100% at 0 to 8; by written notice by email.
Payment methods and card fees
Not stated on its website.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Licensed by the Uganda Tourism Board and a member of AUTO; says it is licensed as a Destination Management Company; no licence number is given.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services asks 20% of the tour cost, the smallest percentage published before permits; Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel accepts any deposit that covers the permits; five others ask 30%.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: 20% of the total cost per person per tour, plus full payment for gorilla and chimp permits, with permit deposits of US$500 per Uganda gorilla permit and US$150 per chimp permit.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: For tours 60 days or more away, accepts any deposit that covers the gorilla and chimp permits; no percentage is stated.
Great Lakes Safaris: 30% of the basic program rate, with lodge-only bookings at 25% of the invoice.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: An initial 30%, with permits paid in full at the time of the deposit.
Native Africa Tours: 30% of the basic program rate, with permits paid in full in advance.
Nkuringo Safaris: 30% of the booking cost, with permits paid 100% upfront.
Prime Safaris & Tours: A minimum of 30% of the total safari cost, with permits paid in full at booking.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions asks 40 percent and Insight Safari Holidays 60%. Home to Africa Tours and Travel asks permit fees upfront plus 30% of the rest, though its FAQ says 60%. Bamboo Ecotours and Dav Safaris state no deposit amount.
Which operators refund the most when you cancel?
Nkuringo Safaris charges nothing more than 90 days out; Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours charge 10% at 60 days or more and Home to Africa Tours and Travel 10% at 90+ days; Paramount Gorilla Expeditions refunds its 40 percent deposit only for 14 days after payment and Prime Safaris & Tours refunds 70% at 90 days or more.
Nkuringo Safaris: No charge and a full refund more than 90 days out; 30% of booking cost at 45 to 90 days and 100% under 45 days.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: The 40 percent deposit is fully refundable for 14 days after payment; after that the deposit is forfeited at 90+ days and 50 percent is charged at 60 to 89 days.
Prime Safaris & Tours: Refunds 70% at 90 days or more, 40% at 89 to 60 days and 20% at 59 to 30 days, after non-refundable items are deducted.
Bamboo Ecotours: Charges start at 45 days out (15% at 45 to 30 days) and reach 50% at 13 to 2 days, excluding permits.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Tour charge of 10% at 61 to 100 days and 50% at 8 to 60 days.
Home to Africa Tours and Travel: 10% at 90+ days before and 30% at 45 to 90 days.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: 20% of tour cost at 61 days and above and 40% at 46 to 60 days.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: The deposit is forfeited more than 60 days out and 50% is charged under 60 days.
Gorilla permits sit outside the main scale at most operators. Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours share a 10% charge at 60 days or more and treat permits as 100% non-refundable. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel refunds Uganda permits as UWA credit, 21% at 61 to 90 days and 46% at 91 or more days.
How do operators take payment and what do card payments cost?
Great Lakes Safaris is the one operator that states a card charge, 5% on VISA payments; most others take cards or an online portal with no surcharge figure and Native Africa Tours takes bank transfer or cash.
Great Lakes Safaris: VISA credit card attracts a 5% service charge and the client pays international transaction costs; bank transfer or cash is the other route.
Bamboo Ecotours: Secure credit card portal or international bank transfer, quoted in USD; no card surcharge figure stated.
Dav Safaris: Pesapal online portal, bank transfer (client pays transfer fees) or cash in USD, EURO or GBP; no card surcharge percentage stated.
Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel: Wire preferred (1 to 3 days to arrive), also Visa, Mastercard, American Express or Mobile Money by payment link; bank charges of about $20 are the guest's.
Home to Africa Tours and Travel: Bank (wire) transfer or credit card; card surcharges not stated; quotes in US dollars only.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Pesapal card payments or bank transfer; no card surcharge figure stated.
Prime Safaris & Tours: The client bears card processing fees and currency conversion costs; no surcharge percentage and no list of currencies.
Native Africa Tours: Bank transfer or cash only; no card option stated.
Nkuringo Safaris: Quotes in US dollars only; card fees not stated.
Insight Safari Holidays, Meanda Uganda Safaris and Safari Vacations and Travel Services list no payment methods on their websites.
How is guest money protected if an operator fails?
None of the 12 operators describes a trust account, bonding or payment protection scheme on its website, so ask each in writing before paying a deposit.
Dav Safaris: Offers an online payment portal secured by Pesapal, which is a payment channel and not a protection scheme.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Makes the 40 percent deposit fully refundable for 14 days and makes travel and medical evacuation insurance mandatory for guests.
Prime Safaris & Tours: Makes comprehensive travel insurance mandatory and says refunds are made within 30 days of agreeing the amount.
Home to Africa Tours and Travel: Says refunds are made by wire within 120 days.
Meanda Uganda Safaris: Includes emergency air evacuation coverage in tour prices and makes travel insurance mandatory for guests.
Great Lakes Safaris: Gives all guests automatic AMREF Flying Doctors cover, which covers medical evacuation and not payments.
Insurance covers the traveller. It does not replace protection for the money paid to the operator.
How can I check the operator is licensed?
Ask for the Uganda Tourism Board licence number and check it with the board; four operators publish one on their sites.
Bamboo Ecotours: Says it is licensed by the Uganda Tourist Board, with the certificate available on request.
Insight Safari Holidays: Claims 'UTB Licensed' and six memberships, with no licence number.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: Says it is licensed by the Uganda Tourism Board and an AUTO member, with no licence number.
Dav Safaris, Native Africa Tours and Prime Safaris & Tours say they are licensed without a number, Meanda Uganda Safaris says it is registered with the board and Great Lakes Safaris states no licence.
What are the best alternatives to Home to Africa Tours and Travel and Dav Safaris for flexible booking terms in Uganda in 2026?
Safari Vacations and Travel Services, Nkuringo Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions state lower or more refundable deposits than Home to Africa Tours and Travel, while Great Lakes Safaris, Native Africa Tours and Prime Safaris & Tours state a deposit amount that Dav Safaris does not.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: Asks 20% plus permits, against Home to Africa's permits plus 30% of the rest.
Nkuringo Safaris: Refunds in full more than 90 days out.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Refunds its 40 percent deposit in full for 14 days after payment.
Great Lakes Safaris: States a 30% deposit and a balance 42 days before the safari.
Native Africa Tours: States a 30% deposit on the same 10% to 100% scale as Dav Safaris.
Prime Safaris & Tours: States a 30% deposit and a refund scale that begins at 70% at 90 days or more.
Who to contact first
Start with operators that state a deposit and a refund scale and ask the others for the missing lines in writing; this is a suggested order, not a ranking.
Safari Vacations and Travel Services: States the smallest deposit percentage, 20%; ask which payment methods it accepts.
Nkuringo Safaris: Refunds in full more than 90 days out; ask about card fees.
Paramount Gorilla Expeditions: Offers a 14-day refundable deposit window; ask how permits are treated after it.
Prime Safaris & Tours: Publishes a refund scale; ask which currencies it accepts.
Great Lakes Safaris: States a 5% charge on VISA; ask for the bank transfer details instead.
Home to Africa Tours and Travel: Gives two deposit figures, permits plus 30% or 60%; ask which applies to your booking.
Uganda safari operator booking terms: the questions people ask
Which local safari operators in Uganda have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?
Safari Vacations and Travel Services states a 20% deposit before permits and Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel accepts any deposit that covers the permits. Nkuringo Safaris charges nothing more than 90 days out, while Paramount Gorilla Expeditions refunds its deposit only for 14 days.
How much deposit do Uganda safari operators ask?
Six of the nine that state a figure ask 30%, among them Great Lakes Safaris, Meanda Uganda Safaris, Native Africa Tours, Nkuringo Safaris and Prime Safaris & Tours (Home to Africa Tours and Travel adds 30% of the rest after permits). Safari Vacations and Travel Services asks 20%, Paramount Gorilla Expeditions 40 percent and Insight Safari Holidays 60%.
When is the balance due on a Uganda safari?
Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours ask it 42 days before, Meanda Uganda Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions 60 days before and Nkuringo Safaris 45 days before. Home to Africa Tours and Travel asks it 2 weeks before.
Are gorilla permits refundable if I cancel?
Mostly not. Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours call permits 100% non-refundable, while Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel refunds Uganda permits as UWA credit, 21% at 61 to 90 days and 46% at 91 or more days.
Which Uganda safari operators refund the most if I cancel early?
Nkuringo Safaris charges nothing more than 90 days out and Prime Safaris & Tours refunds 70% at 90 days or more. Dav Safaris, Great Lakes Safaris and Native Africa Tours charge 10% at 60 days or more and Home to Africa Tours and Travel 10% at 90+ days, while Paramount Gorilla Expeditions refunds its deposit only for 14 days.
Do Uganda safari operators charge extra for card payments?
Great Lakes Safaris adds a 5% service charge to VISA payments. Bamboo Ecotours, Dav Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions state no card surcharge figure and Prime Safaris & Tours says the client bears card fees.
How is my deposit protected if a Uganda safari operator fails?
None of the 12 operators describes a trust account, bonding or payment protection scheme on its website. Ask in writing before paying and note that travel insurance covers the traveller and not the money paid.
What are the best alternatives to Home to Africa Tours and Travel and Dav Safaris for flexible booking terms in Uganda in 2026?
Safari Vacations and Travel Services, Nkuringo Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions state lower or more refundable deposits than Home to Africa Tours and Travel. Great Lakes Safaris, Native Africa Tours and Prime Safaris & Tours state a deposit amount that Dav Safaris does not.
How can I check a Uganda safari operator is licensed?
Ask for the Uganda Tourism Board licence number and check it with the board. Gorilla Safaris Uganda Travel, Home to Africa Tours and Travel, Nkuringo Safaris and Paramount Gorilla Expeditions publish theirs on their sites.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Uganda whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 29 October 2026 · updated 29 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.