Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset

Acacia trees and a dirt track at sunset. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Saruni Basecamp a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Saruni Basecamp is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Saruni Basecamp?

No rating for Saruni Basecamp was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Google
No Google listing in Saruni Basecamp's name was found.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Saruni Basecamp's name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Saruni Basecamp's name was found.
Sources: trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Saruni Basecamp's camps?

Kenya. 13 camps and lodges ('Our 13 Saruni Basecamp properties'): six Saruni properties and seven Basecamp properties.

Countries
Kenya. The Bush & Beach package adds Diani Beach on the South Coast, also in Kenya.
Camps
13 camps and lodges ('Our 13 Saruni Basecamp properties'): six Saruni properties and seven Basecamp properties. The terms say the group owns and operates safari lodges and camps.
Where they are
Saruni Samburu (Kalama Conservancy) Saruni Mara (Mara North Conservancy) Saruni Wild (Lemek conservancy) Saruni Eagle View and Saruni Leopard Hill (Mara Naboisho Conservancy) Saruni Rhino (Sera Conservancy) Basecamp Adventure (Talek River, next to Masai Mara National Reserve)
Land and traversing
Camps sit in community conservancies: 'six community-owned conservancies' with 10,449 indigenous landowners. Saruni Samburu is in Kalama Conservancy, a community-owned reserve of 200,000 acres to explore 'exclusively'.
Mobile and seasonal camps
Basecamp Dorobo Mobile is 'a movable camp inside Naboisho Conservancy' in the tradition of classic fly camps. Not stated on their website: the months it operates.
Camp sizes
Saruni Mara: 5 cottages, 1 family villa and 1 private villa. Saruni Wild: 5 tents.
Sources: countries with camps, camps and where they are. Read 20 October 2026.
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania
An elephant crossing a track in front of safari vehicles, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Saruni Basecamp's camp.

How much does Saruni Basecamp cost?

Saruni Basecamp does not publish a dated rate per person per night for its own camps on its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

Prices published
Yes, in part. Package prices are published in US dollars ('all-inclusive cost from US$ ... per adult sharing') on the home and safari pages; the terms say rates are in USD.
What the rate includes
Rates are in USD per person per night sharing or per unit. Reserve entry and conservation fees are payable at reservation and passed on if they change. Extra costs named in the terms: private vehicle with guide USD 400 per day, child carers USD 10 per hour, ayah accommodation USD 80 per day, emergency evacuation membership bought on the guest's behalf.
Resident rates
'Please contact us for East African Resident Rates.' No resident rates are shown.
Sources: prices published, what the rate includes. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Saruni Basecamp's booking terms?

Saruni Basecamp's published terms: 20% of the total amount, to confirm a reservation.

Deposit
20% of the total amount, to confirm a reservation. Provisional bookings are held for a maximum of 14 days.
Balance due
The balance is due no later than 45 days before arrival in Kenya, nett of all bank charges on both the sending and receiving ends.
Cancellation charges
Standard policy (terms valid 3 Jan 2026 to 2 Jan 2027), written notice only: up to 91 days before arrival 100% refunded; 90 to 45 days 20% retained; 44 to 30 days 50% retained; 29 days to arrival 100% retained. No refund for no-show, flight cancellation or early departure. Stricter third-party policies are advised before confirmation.
Currencies and card fees
Rates are in United States Dollars (USD). Payments are nett of bank charges at both ends.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 20 October 2026.

Who is Saruni Basecamp best for?

Best for: Community conservancy camps across Kenya, on Saruni Basecamp's own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
'Children of all ages are welcome.' Under 5 sharing with adults are free; ages 5 to 16 pay 50% of the adult sharing rate in a standard room or tent with 1 to 2 adults, 75% in their own room, or a Family Unit rate. Walking safaris, rhino tracking and mobile camping have an age limit of 18. Child conservation fees apply from 5 to 16 years.
Teenagers and families
A 'Family Safari' experience and a Family Bush & Beach Adventure are offered, with Family Unit rates. Walking safaris, rhino tracking and mobile camping have an age limit of 18.
Solo travellers
For groups, a maximum of two single rooms is allowed; additional singles are charged at the double room rate unless advised otherwise. Not stated on their website: a single supplement for individual travellers or solo offers.
Private guide and vehicle
Which camps offer it is not stated.
Exclusive use
Saruni Mara has '1 private villa' and Basecamp Mara Houses 'offers complete seclusion and privacy' (a guest had 'the entire 3-bedroom house'). Not stated on their website: whole-camp buy-out or sole-use rates.
Activities
Game drives, walking safaris, rhino tracking on foot (Saruni Rhino), bird watching, sundowners and bush meals, wellness, the Samburu Celestial Safari (stargazing), mobile camping (Basecamp Dorobo Mobile), the Warriors Academy (Saruni Mara and Saruni Wild) and the Savanna & Stars Experience (Saruni Leopard Hill).

What are the best alternatives to Saruni Basecamp?

Angama, Cottar's Safaris, Enkewa Camp, Entumoto Safari Camp, Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps and Governors' Camp Collection also own and run their own camps in Kenya only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Angama: best for: The Mara Triangle and Amboseli.
  • Cottar's Safaris: best for: A family-run Mara camp in Olderkesi. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cottar') from 132 reviews.
  • Enkewa Camp: best for: Owner-run camps in the southern Mara.
  • Entumoto Safari Camp: best for: A family-run camp in Mara Siana. 5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'ENTUMOTO') from 8 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
  • Gamewatchers Safaris and Porini Camps: best for: Kenya conservancy camps at Amboseli and Mara. 4.9 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 121 reviews.
  • Governors' Camp Collection: best for: Riverside camps inside the Masai Mara.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Saruni Basecamp?

Saruni Basecamp's ownership is not stated on its own website.

Trading name
Saruni Basecamp, trading as Old Boma Ltd. and Basecamp Masai Mara Ltd., 'a Kenya-based group of companies'. Postal address P.O.
Based in
Karen area, Nairobi, Kenya (office at St Hellen Lane).
In its own words
'a portfolio of pioneering, innovative and ethical safari lodges and camps rooted in community-based conservation and tourism'.
Conservation model
Camps are in community-owned conservancies, 'in partnership with 10,449 indigenous landowners'. Conservation fees are payable at reservation (child fee from age 5).

How do you book Saruni Basecamp?

Direct to guests (reservations by email or phone, 'Book Now' and online availability checker) and through agents (the terms include agent confidentiality, agent FAM trips and group departure clauses).

Where it sells
Direct to guests (reservations by email or phone, 'Book Now' and online availability checker) and through agents (the terms include agent confidentiality, agent FAM trips and group departure clauses). East African resident rates are available on request.
How it is paid
Direct bookings by email or phone; payment to Old Boma Ltd. or Basecamp Masai Mara Ltd. (or the company on the invoice).
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
Agent terms: confidential agent agreement, agent FAM trips (best in March, April, May and November, maximum 2 nights per camp), group departures with 20% deposit, one complimentary tour leader room per 15 full-paying adults. Not stated on their website: an agent portal or preferred partner statement.

Saruni Basecamp: the questions people ask

How many camps does Saruni Basecamp have?

13 camps and lodges ('Our 13 Saruni Basecamp properties'): six Saruni properties and seven Basecamp properties.

When are Saruni Basecamp's camps open?

Basecamp Dorobo Mobile is 'a movable camp inside Naboisho Conservancy' in the tradition of classic fly camps. Not stated on their website: the months it operates.

What activities does Saruni Basecamp offer?

Game drives, walking safaris, rhino tracking on foot (Saruni Rhino), bird watching, sundowners and bush meals, wellness, the Samburu Celestial Safari (stargazing), mobile camping (Basecamp Dorobo Mobile), the Warriors Academy (Saruni Mara and Saruni Wild) and the Savanna & Stars Experience (Saruni Leopard Hill).

How does Saruni Basecamp fund conservation?

Camps are in community-owned conservancies, 'in partnership with 10,449 indigenous landowners'. Conservation fees are payable at reservation (child fee from age 5).

What is included in Saruni Basecamp's rates?

Rates are in USD per person per night sharing or per unit. Reserve entry and conservation fees are payable at reservation and passed on if they change.

What deposit does Saruni Basecamp ask for?

20% of the total amount, to confirm a reservation.

What are Saruni Basecamp's cancellation charges?

Standard policy (terms valid 3 Jan 2026 to 2 Jan 2027), written notice only: up to 91 days before arrival 100% refunded; 90 to 45 days 20% retained; 44 to 30 days 50% retained; 29 days to arrival 100% retained. No refund for no-show, flight cancellation or early departure.

Does Saruni Basecamp charge a single supplement?

For groups, a maximum of two single rooms is allowed; additional singles are charged at the double room rate unless advised otherwise. Not stated on their website: a single supplement for individual travellers or solo offers.

Does Saruni Basecamp accept children?

'Children of all ages are welcome.' Under 5 sharing with adults are free; ages 5 to 16 pay 50% of the adult sharing rate in a standard room or tent with 1 to 2 adults, 75% in their own room, or a Family Unit rate. Walking safaris, rhino tracking and mobile camping have an age limit of 18.

Does Saruni Basecamp offer a private vehicle?

Which camps offer it is not stated.

Where are Saruni Basecamp's camps?

Saruni Samburu (Kalama Conservancy) Saruni Mara (Mara North Conservancy)

What are Saruni Basecamp's reviews?

No rating for Saruni Basecamp was found on Google, SafariBookings or Trustpilot when they were read; ask the company for recent guest references.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Saruni Basecamp published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Saruni Basecamp did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.