New Horizon Africa Safaris states the smallest deposit, 30% to 50%, while Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Hope Tours Africa state 50%. Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris charge a 25% fee for cancelling 30 to 59 days out. All five say gorilla permits are non-refundable.
Which local safari operators in Rwanda have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?
New Horizon Africa Safaris asks 30% to 50% up front. Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris charge 25% for cancelling 30 to 59 days out. Hope Tours Africa loses only the deposit beyond 90 days out. Golden Rwanda Safaris calls its 70% deposit refundable but forfeits it more than 75 days out.
Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 5 safari operators with trips in Rwanda that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the national register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Rwanda whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy. Cards are in alphabetical order.
70% deposit on receipt of invoice, or the value of permits if higher; it calls the deposit refundable, but gorilla and other primate permits are non-refundable.
Balance due
Due 45 days before arrival; bookings within 30 days of arrival need full payment on receipt of invoice.
Cancellation
More than 75 days before arrival the deposit is forfeited; 60 to 45 days, 30% of the total is refundable; less than 30 days, 100% non-refundable. The scale leaves gaps, for example 75 to 60 days.
Can be wired one week prior to arrival, or paid on arrival by Visa or credit card with extra charges.
Cancellation
30-59 days before departure, 25% fee; 15-29 days, 50%; 1-14 days, 100%. Gorilla permits are non-refundable once booked and paid. Nothing is stated for cancelling earlier than 60 days.
Payment methods and card fees
Visa or Mastercard, bank transfer and a card payment link with a 4% extra fee via DPO Rwanda; it strongly advises against money order or cash.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it is fully licensed by the Rwanda Development Board (RDB) and a member of RTTA, ATTA and ASTA; no licence number given.
Non-refundable 50% of the total tour cost for bookings made more than 90 days before departure; within 90 days, full payment at booking.
Balance due
Due no later than 60 days before departure unless otherwise agreed in writing.
Cancellation
More than 90 days before departure, loss of deposit only; 60 to 89 days, 70% of total tour cost; 30 to 59 days, 80%; less than 30 days, 100%. Park permits are non-refundable.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank wire or credit card; credit card carries a 4% processing charge.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it is an RDB licensed tour operator and an RTTA accredited member; no licence number given.
Full payment at least 30 days before service commencement; within 30 days, full payment is required.
Cancellation
60 to 30 days before arrival, 35% of tour costs; 29 to 16 days, 50%; less than 14 days, 100%. Permits and tickets are non-refundable; day 15 is not stated.
Payment methods and card fees
Bank wire transfer, cash payment and online payment with cards; no card fee stated.
How guest money is protected
Not stated on its website.
Licence
Says it is incorporated in Rwanda as New Horizon Africa Safaris Ltd; no RDB licence number or association membership named.
New Horizon Africa Safaris states the smallest deposit at 30% to 50%, Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Hope Tours Africa state 50%, Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris 60% and Golden Rwanda Safaris 70%.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: A 30%-50% deposit to book, with full payment at least 30 days before service.
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel: 50% of the full amount on booking confirmation.
Hope Tours Africa: A non-refundable 50% deposit if booked more than 90 days before departure; within 90 days, full payment at booking.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: A 60% deposit that includes the non-refundable gorilla permit.
Golden Rwanda Safaris: A 70% deposit, or the value of permits if higher; it calls the deposit refundable, but its scale forfeits it more than 75 days out and permits are non-refundable.
A smaller deposit is not always the more flexible term: Hope Tours Africa's 50% is non-refundable, while Golden Rwanda Safaris calls its 70% refundable but its scale forfeits it more than 75 days out.
Which operators refund the most when you cancel?
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris publish the smallest charge, 25% for cancelling 30 to 59 days before departure. New Horizon Africa Safaris charges 35% from 60 to 30 days before arrival.
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel: 25% fee at 30-59 days, 50% at 15-29 days and 100% at 1-14 days; nothing is stated for earlier cancellation.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: The same scale: 25% at 30-59 days, 50% at 15-29 days and 100% at 1-14 days.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: 35% of tour costs at 60 to 30 days, 50% at 29 to 16 days and 100% inside 14 days; it says it refunds 100% on force majeure 60 or more days before departure.
Hope Tours Africa: Loss of deposit only beyond 90 days, then 70% at 60 to 89 days, 80% at 30 to 59 days and 100% inside 30 days.
Golden Rwanda Safaris: Forfeits the deposit beyond 75 days, makes 30% of the total refundable at 60 to 45 days and treats less than 30 days as 100% non-refundable.
All five say gorilla permits are non-refundable. Golden Rwanda Safaris' scale leaves gaps at 75 to 60 and 45 to 30 days. New Horizon Africa Safaris leaves day 15 unstated, so ask each in writing what applies on your dates.
How do operators take payment and what do card payments cost?
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel, Hope Tours Africa and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris each state a 4% charge on card payments, New Horizon Africa Safaris states no card fee and Golden Rwanda Safaris states no payment methods.
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel: Visa or Mastercard, bank transfer and a card payment link with a 4% fee; paying by card on arrival also carries extra charges.
Hope Tours Africa: Bank wire or credit card, with a 4% processing charge on cards.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: Bank transfer, with bank charges paid by the client, or a credit card payment link with an extra 4% fee.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: Bank wire transfer, cash and online card payment, with mobile money in local cases and no card fee stated.
Prices at Hermosa, Hope and Eco are shown in US dollars. Bank transfer carries no percentage fee in their stated terms.
How is guest money protected if an operator fails?
None of the five operators states how guest payments are protected.
Ask each operator in writing what happens to a deposit and balance if it cannot run the trip. All five treat gorilla permits as non-refundable once booked. Do not pay a deposit until you have the answer.
How can I check the operator is licensed?
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel, Hope Tours Africa and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris say they are licensed by the Rwanda Development Board (RDB) but give no licence number, so ask for it and confirm it with the RDB.
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel: Says it is fully licensed by the RDB and belongs to RTTA, ATTA and ASTA.
Hope Tours Africa: Says it is an RDB licensed tour operator and an RTTA accredited member.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: Says it is licensed by the RDB and belongs to RTTA, ATTA and USTOA.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: Says it is incorporated in Rwanda but names no RDB licence number or association membership.
Golden Rwanda Safaris: Names itself as Golden Rwanda Expeditions LTD, incorporated in Rwanda, with no licence stated.
What are the best alternatives to Golden Rwanda Safaris and Hermosa Life Tours and Travel for flexible booking terms in Rwanda in 2026?
Hope Tours Africa loses only the deposit beyond 90 days, New Horizon Africa Safaris asks 30% to 50% and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris 60%, against Golden Rwanda Safaris' 70% and Hermosa Life Tours and Travel's 50%.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: A 30%-50% deposit, against Golden's 70% and Hermosa's 50%.
Hope Tours Africa: Loses only the deposit when a booking is cancelled more than 90 days before departure.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: A 25% fee for cancelling 30 to 59 days out, but a 60% deposit that includes the non-refundable permit.
Who to contact first
Start with the operator whose deposit or cancellation scale fits your booking date, then ask the others for their terms in writing.
New Horizon Africa Safaris: States the smallest deposit, 30% to 50% with a 35% fee for cancelling 60 to 30 days out.
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel: States a 50% deposit and a 25% fee for cancelling 30 to 59 days out.
Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris: States the same 25% fee but a 60% deposit that includes the permit.
Hope Tours Africa: Suits an early booking, as only the deposit is lost beyond 90 days out.
Golden Rwanda Safaris: Calls its 70% deposit refundable, but its scale forfeits it more than 75 days out and leaves gaps to clear up.
Rwanda safari operator booking terms: the questions people ask
Which local safari operators in Rwanda have the most flexible deposit and cancellation terms?
New Horizon Africa Safaris states the smallest deposit, 30% to 50%. Hermosa Life Tours and Travel and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris publish the smallest cancellation charge, 25% at 30 to 59 days before departure. Hope Tours Africa loses only the deposit beyond 90 days out.
Is the safari deposit refundable in Rwanda?
Golden Rwanda Safaris calls its 70% deposit refundable, but its scale forfeits it more than 75 days out; permits are non-refundable. Hope Tours Africa says its 50% deposit is non-refundable. New Horizon Africa Safaris and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris state that permits are non-refundable.
When is the balance due?
Golden Rwanda Safaris states 45 days before arrival, Hope Tours Africa 60 days before departure, Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris and New Horizon Africa Safaris 30 days before. Hermosa Life Tours and Travel says the balance can be wired one week before arrival or paid on arrival by card.
What if I book close to departure?
Golden Rwanda Safaris, Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris and New Horizon Africa Safaris need full payment for bookings within 30 days of arrival. Hope Tours Africa needs full payment at booking within 90 days of departure.
Are gorilla permits refundable if I cancel?
No operator on this page states that they are. Golden Rwanda Safaris, Hermosa Life Tours and Travel, Hope Tours Africa, New Horizon Africa Safaris and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris each say permits are non-refundable.
Do card payments cost extra?
Hermosa Life Tours and Travel, Hope Tours Africa and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris each state a 4% charge on card payments. New Horizon Africa Safaris states no card fee.
Is my payment protected if the operator fails?
None of the five operators states how guest payments are protected, so ask for its policy in writing before paying a deposit.
What are the best alternatives to Golden Rwanda Safaris and Hermosa Life Tours and Travel in 2026?
New Horizon Africa Safaris, Hope Tours Africa and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris publish their own deposit and cancellation terms, which differ from Golden's 70% deposit and Hermosa's 50% deposit.
How do I check a Rwanda safari operator's licence?
Ask for its licence number and confirm it with the Rwanda Development Board (RDB). Hermosa Life Tours and Travel, Hope Tours Africa and Rwanda Eco Company and Safaris say they are RDB licensed but give no number. New Horizon Africa Safaris and Golden Rwanda Safaris state no licence.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Rwanda whose own website publishes a deposit figure or a cancellation policy is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are in alphabetical order; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 29 October 2026 · updated 29 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.