
A leopard near Khwai Camp in the Khwai Concession, Botswana. Photo: C. Brück, Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.
By Richard Jasinski·Updated 20 October 2026
Machaba Safaris is a family-owned camp owner founded in 2012 by Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins and the late Chris Hatshe, with 11 camps and lodges in Botswana (Okavango Delta, Moremi and Chobe) and Zimbabwe (Hwange and Mana Pools). Its Google listing for Machaba Camp shows 4.7 out of 5 from 84 reviews, read 20 October 2026. No Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found on 19 October 2026.
Machaba Safaris is an owner-run camp company founded in 2012 that now has 11 camps in Botswana and Zimbabwe, a written deposit and cancellation scale and a rating of 4.7 from 84 reviews on its Machaba Camp listing on Google (read 20 October 2026).
The Our Story page says Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins and the late Chris Hatshe founded Machaba Safaris in 2012, starting with Machaba Camp in the Okavango Delta. The About page adds Blessing Munyenyiwa as a founder in Zimbabwe and says it is "a family-owned conservation company". No parent group or investors are named. It is a camp owner: it sells stays at its own camps and fixed packages that link its camps with Victoria Falls. The terms name the Botswana bank account holder as Machaba Blue Limited; the pages read give no company registration number.
Reviews by platform: Google, 4.7 out of 5 from 84 reviews on the Machaba Camp listing (read 20 October 2026). Trustpilot and SafariBookings: no profile found (read 19 October 2026). Tripadvisor could not be read. The site has headings for awards, but no award names or years could be read. The pages read on 19 October 2026 give no tourism licence numbers or association memberships. No trust account or bonding for guest payments was on the pages read; the terms make travel insurance mandatory for every guest.
It suits travellers who want one company's camps across the Okavango Delta and Zimbabwe's Hwange and Mana Pools, booked on written terms.

Machaba publishes package prices per person sharing in '$', for example $4,671 for 6 nights in Hwange (1 April to 31 May 2027) and $18,047 for 9 nights in the Okavango Delta (1 May to 31 October 2026), read 19 October 2026.
The rates page shows package totals per person sharing in '$' (the page does not name the currency). Nightly rates per camp sit in linked 2026 and 2027 rate card PDFs that were not read, so no per night figure is given here. Package prices, read 19 October 2026:
Camp rates include accommodation, all meals, laundry, lodge activities, vehicle transfers from the camp airstrip, drinks other than imported and premium brands, levies and taxes. Park fees are included for full paying guests at Ngoma, Verney's, Deteema Springs, Ingwe Pan and Mana River. Packages also include internal flights and transfers. Extra: international and internal flights on camp-only bookings, road transfers, travel insurance, visas, tips, premium imported drinks and extra activities. A Community and Conservation levy is added to each invoice; its amount was not on the pages read.
Machaba Safaris has seven camps in Botswana (Khwai, Gomoti and Kiri in the Okavango Delta, Moremi Game Reserve and the Chobe Forest Reserve) and four in Zimbabwe (Hwange and Mana Pools national parks), read 19 October 2026.
Botswana:
Zimbabwe:
No mobile or seasonal camps were on the pages read. The home page title also mentions Gabon, but no Gabon camp appears on the pages read.
Machaba Safaris fits families with young children at its all-ages camps, couples on its honeymoon packages and travellers combining the Okavango Delta with Hwange or Mana Pools.
Not the fit if: you travel alone and want to avoid a supplement (40% in Botswana, 30% in Zimbabwe), you want walks with children under 16 (walks are for ages 16 and over), or you need step-free access details, which were not on the pages read.
The alternatives to Machaba Safaris are African Bush Camps, Desert & Delta Safaris, Imvelo Safari Lodges, Ker & Downey Botswana and Kwando Safaris, camp owners with camps in Botswana or Zimbabwe, the two countries where Machaba has its camps. We chose them from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others. They are listed alphabetically, each with the fact that sets it apart.
You can book Machaba Safaris direct through the enquiry form on its contact page or through a travel agent, with a 20% non-refundable deposit on confirmation and the balance due eight weeks before arrival.
Machaba sells direct (an enquiry form, email and a live availability tool) and through agents, with regional sales contacts including Ethos Marketing in the UK. The named contacts are Wendy Rankin (Sales, Global) and Clare Doolan (Sales Manager). No reply time was on the pages read. Resident and regional rates were not on the pages read on 19 October 2026. The terms set a non-refundable 20% deposit when the booking is confirmed and full payment eight weeks before arrival. Cancelling more than eight weeks out forfeits the deposit; four to eight weeks costs 50%; under four weeks costs 100%. Issued flight tickets are non-refundable. No trust account or bonding for guest payments was on the pages read; the terms say payers must cover bank charges. An emergency contact number (+27 82 579 5249) is listed, with no statement that it is staffed 24 hours.
A short enquiry brief:
59 facts about Machaba Safaris were read from its own website and the review platforms on 19 and 20 October 2026; every one below says who stated it and when; where there is a page to link, it links the page it was read from. “Not stated on their website” means the pages read did not give it; “Could not access” means the page would not open or could not be read; “No profile found” means the platform has no listing under this name. None of the three means the company does not have it. The same 59-fact form is kept for every safari camp owner on this site, in the same order, so each line can be set beside another camp owner’s.
Trading name and legal entity
Trading name 'Machaba Safaris' (shown as Machaba Safaris™). The terms PDF gives the Botswana bank account name as 'Machaba Blue Limited' (First National Bank of Botswana, Maun branch). The contact page gives PO Box 150071, Maun. No company registration number is on the pages read.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), contact us · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Where it is based
The only postal address is PO Box 150071, Maun (Botswana). The contact page lists a South African phone number (+27 10) and sales contacts rather than offices; no head office is named. Sales contacts are listed for global sales, South Africa, the UK (Ethos Marketing), the USA, South America, Southern Europe and DACH.
Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Year founded
2012. The Our Story page says Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins and the late Chris Hatshe 'founded Machaba Safaris' in 2012, starting with Machaba Camp in the Okavango Delta. The About page adds Blessing Munyenyiwa as a founder in Zimbabwe.
Owner or parent
'Machaba Safaris is a family-owned conservation company' founded by Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins, the late Chris Hatshe and, in Zimbabwe, Blessing Munyenyiwa. The Our Story page says 'We're 100% owner-run'. No parent group or investors are named.
What it is (camp owner / planner / both)
Camp owner. The site sells stays at its own 11 camps and lodges. It also sells fixed multi-camp packages (for example Classic Botswana and Zimbabwe, 11 nights) that include internal flights and transfers, but the packages shown link only Machaba camps and Victoria Falls, not other companies' camps.
Team
Team size is not given (the staff counters on the home page are blank). Named people: founders Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins and the late Chris Hatshe, with Blessing Munyenyiwa in Zimbabwe; Wendy Rankin (Sales, Global); Clare Doolan (Sales Manager); regional sales contacts. Whether the founders are still active is not stated beyond 'owner-run'.
Source: Company · contact us, about us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Where it sells
Direct to guests through an enquiry form, email and a 'Check Availability' live availability tool. Also through agents: the menu has an 'Agents' link and the contact page lists regional sales contacts, including UK sales via Ethos Marketing. Resident rates are not stated.
Source: Company · contact us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
In its own words
'Eco-luxury safaris that capture the spirit of an authentic African experience.' Slogan: 'Welcome to the unedited Africa'. It describes 'Deliberately small camps', says 'We're 100% owner-run' and offers 'Machaba Classic' and 'Machaba Wild' branches.
Source: Company · home page, our story · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Response time and named contact
No reply time is promised. Named contacts: Wendy Rankin (Sales, Global, [email protected]) and Clare Doolan (Sales Manager), with regional sales contacts. The reservations phone and email are masked on the pages ('Show number').
Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
4.7 out of 5 from 84 reviews on the Google listing 'Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris™' (lodge), NG/19 Khwai Development Trust. This is Machaba Camp's listing, which carries the company name; other camps' listings are not added in.
Source: Independent source · Google Maps · crawl · 20 Oct 2026
Trustpilot
No profile found: no Trustpilot listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · checked at trustpilot.com/review/machabasafaris.com · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Tripadvisor
Could not access: Tripadvisor could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Feefo
Could not access: Feefo could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
SafariBookings
No profile found: no SafariBookings listing for the company was found on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · checked on SafariBookings · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Travelstride
Could not access: Travelstride could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Trustindex
Could not access: Trustindex could not be read automatically on 19 October 2026.
Source: Independent source · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Any other independent platform
Not stated on their website: no Booking.com, Google or Tripadvisor ratings or links. Guest testimonials appear on the home and camp pages, shown by first name only with no platform given.
Source: Company · home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Where it asks guests to leave reviews
Not stated on their website: no page asks guests to leave a review or links to a review platform. Testimonials appear on the home and camp pages without a source.
Source: Company · home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Every award, 2024 to 2026
Could not access: the home page has an 'Awards and Nominations' heading and the Our Story page has 'See our awards and accolades', but no award names, publishers or years appear in the text read.
Source: Company · home page, our story · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camps on named lists
Could not access: the awards sections on the home and Our Story pages are empty in the text read, so no named list (Condé Nast, Travel + Leisure, Tatler, Tripadvisor) could be read.
Source: Company · home page, our story · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Certifications
Not stated on their website: no B Corp, Fair Trade Tourism, Travelife or Long Run certification is named. The home page links a '2025 Impact Report' (not read) and uses the phrase 'ethical eco tourism'.
Source: Company · home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Prices published
Yes. Package prices per person sharing are on the rates page, shown as '$' (the page does not name the currency), by season. Camp rate cards for 2026 and 2027 are linked as PDFs on the same page.
Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Rates per person per night by season
Not stated on their website: per-camp nightly rates are only in linked 'Rate Card 2026 / 2027' PDFs that are not in the pages read. The rates page gives package totals per person sharing in '$', for example Classic Hwange 6 nights: $7,381 (1 Jun to 31 Oct 2026), $5,341 (1 Nov to 31 Dec 2026), $4,671 (1 Apr to 31 May 2027), $6,123 (1 Jun to 31 Oct 2027). Classic Delta 9 nights: $18,047 high season (1 May to 31 Oct 2026), $7,438 secret season (11 Jan to 31 Mar 2027).
Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Price per person per day
Not stated on their website: no nightly rate is shown. Package totals per person sharing on the rates page range from $4,262 (Romantic Package, 5 nights, 11 Jan to 31 Mar 2027) to $21,611 (Definitive Machaba, 11 nights, 1 May to 31 Oct 2026), in '$'. Honeymoon packages are per couple, up to $21,285 (Indulgent Honeymoon, 7 nights).
Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Minimum stay
Not stated on their website: no minimum stay is given. Packages run from 5 nights (Romantic Package) to 13 nights (Machaba Routes).
Source: Company · rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
What the rate includes
Camp rates (terms PDF) include accommodation, all meals, laundry, lodge activities, vehicle airstrip or airport transfers, drinks (excluding imported and premium drinks), levies and taxes; park fees for full paying guests at Ngoma, Verney's, Deteema, Ingwe Pan and Mana River. Excluded: premium imported drinks, international and internal flights, road transfers, travel insurance, visas, tips and extra activities. The Community and Conservation levy is added separately to the invoice. Packages also include internal flights and transfers.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), rates · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Deposit
A non-refundable deposit of 20%, due once a booking is confirmed. Machaba may ask for deposits or full payment in advance for groups, long stays or high occupancy.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Balance due
Full and final payment is due eight weeks before arrival.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Cancellation charges
More than 8 weeks before departure: the 20% deposit is forfeited. 4 to 8 weeks: 50% cancellation fee. Less than 4 weeks (31 days): 100%. Flight tickets once issued are non-refundable.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on their website: no trust account, bonding or protection scheme for guest payments. The terms only make travel insurance mandatory for each guest.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Currencies and card fees
Not stated on their website: accepted currencies and card surcharges are not given. The terms say payments into the South African account use the rate of exchange of the day and that bank charges are not included in the invoice value so payers must cover banking fees. Package prices are shown in '$'.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
24-hour contact while travelling
An 'Emergency Contact' number is listed: +27 82 579 5249. The page does not say it is staffed 24 hours.
Source: Company · contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
How it is paid
Not stated on their website: no agent commission statement or trade rates. The menu has an 'Agents' link and the contact page lists regional sales contacts.
Source: Company · contact us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Price against booking through a planner
Not stated on their website: no statement on direct price parity or a direct-booking benefit.
Source: Company · rates, contact us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Licences and registrations
Not stated on their website: no tourism licence numbers or association memberships (ATTA, SATSA, HAN, TATO, KATO) in the pages read.
Source: Company · home page, about us, machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Countries with camps
Botswana and Zimbabwe. The home page title also mentions Gabon, but no Gabon camp is described in the pages read.
Source: Company · home page, camps lodges · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Number of camps and lodges
11 camps and lodges ('Machaba Safaris has 11 eco-luxury camps and lodges carefully placed across 2 countries'). Owned versus managed is not stated.
Source: Company · camps lodges, about us · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camps and where they are
Botswana: Machaba Camp and Little Machaba (Khwai Concession, Okavango Delta); Gomoti Plains and Gomoti Private (Gomoti, Okavango Delta, NG32 concession); Kiri Camp (Kiri River, Okavango Delta, NG32); Monachira Camp (Moremi Game Reserve); Ngoma Safari Lodge (Chobe Forest Reserve). Zimbabwe: Verney's Camp and Deteema Springs (Hwange National Park); Ingwe Pan and Mana River Camp (Mana Pools National Park).
Source: Company · machaba camp, gomoti private, kiri camp, monachira camp, ngoma safari lodge, verneys camp, deteema springs, ingwe pan, mana river camp · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Camp sizes
Machaba Camp: 8 double and 2 family tents (max 24). Little Machaba: 2 luxury and 2 family tents (max 8). Gomoti Private: 2 tents, 1 double and 1 family (max 6). Verney's: 8 double and 2 family tents. Deteema Springs: 8 tents (the camp page also says 7 double tents, max 18). Ingwe Pan: 8 tents (max 16). Mana River: 6 double or twin tents plus a guide tent. Ngoma: 8 double and 2 family suites. Gomoti Plains, Kiri and Monachira: counts not given. The smallest is Gomoti Private (2 tents).
Source: Company · machaba camp, little machaba, gomoti private, verneys camp rooms, deteema springs, ingwe pan, mana river camp, ngoma safari lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Land and traversing
Machaba Camp: 'Private Site' in the 35,000 hectare Khwai Concession, sharing a border with Moremi. Gomoti Private: NG32 private concession of over 100,000 hectares. Kiri: private concession, where off-road driving, night drives and walks are allowed. Verney's: private concession, 'not open to regular Park visitors'. Deteema Springs: a small concession in Hwange National Park, where night drives are not allowed under park rules. Ingwe Pan: private concession in Mana Pools National Park. Monachira: Moremi Game Reserve. Ngoma: Chobe Forest Reserve.
Source: Company · machaba camp, gomoti private, kiri camp, verneys camp, deteema springs, ingwe pan, monachira camp, ngoma safari lodge · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Mobile and seasonal camps
Not stated on their website: no mobile or seasonal camps. The 'Machaba Wild' branch is described as opening 'trails that can close behind us', but no mobile camp or months are given.
Source: Company · home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Gorilla and primate trekking
Not stated on their website: no gorilla or chimpanzee trekking in the pages read.
Source: Company · home page, camps lodges · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Beach and city add-ons
Not stated on their website: no beach or city properties. All 11 are bush camps and lodges; Victoria Falls appears only as part of packages.
Source: Company · camps lodges, rates · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Own air and transfers
Own aircraft are not stated. Camp rates include vehicle transfers from the camp's airstrip (Khwai, Qorokwe, Kiri, Mana Main, Manga Main), a helipad (Monachira) or Kasane Airport (Ngoma); packages include internal flights and camp-to-camp transfers. 'Free Flying' specials are listed (Verney's and Fothergill, Hwange). Helicopter flights are mentioned for Monachira.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), rates, rates specials, monachira camp · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Resident and regional rates
Not stated on their website: no East Africa, SADC or resident rates in the pages read.
Source: Company · rates, machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Family and child policy
Machaba Camp, Gomoti Plains, Gomoti Private, Kiri, Verney's and Monachira welcome all ages. Minimum ages: Little Machaba 12 unless exclusive use (8 paying adults); Deteema Springs, Ingwe Pan and Mana River 6; Ngoma 10 (exclusive use lifts these). Child rates: 5 and under free, 6 to 11 pay 50% of the adult sharing rate, 12+ pay the full adult rate. Family tents sleep 4 (Deteema: 2 adults and 2 children under 12). No babysitting unless arranged. A private vehicle is mandatory for under 6s.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), machaba camp, deteema springs · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Teenagers and multigenerational
Children under 12 may not use mokoros; game walks are for ages 16 and over. Children 12 and over pay the adult rate. A private vehicle is mandatory with guests under 6. Four-sleeper family tents suit multigenerational groups; a guest review mentions a daughter and son-in-law travelling with parents. No teenager programme is described.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), verneys camp · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Honeymoon
Honeymoon packages per couple: Passion Honeymoon 7 nights ($19,020 high season 2026), Harmony Honeymoon 6 nights ($19,295) and Indulgent Honeymoon 7 nights ($21,285), plus a Romantic Package of 5 nights. Honeymoon specials are listed as PDFs. Gomoti Private is a 2-tent exclusive-use camp with outdoor baths.
Source: Company · rates, rates specials, gomoti private · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Solo travellers
Single travellers pay a single supplement of 40% in Botswana and 30% in Zimbabwe. No solo offer is described.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Older travellers and limited mobility
No access, step or walkway details are given. The terms say guests must advise any disability needs at confirmation, that Machaba will use 'reasonable endeavours' to accommodate them and may recover the reasonable expenses. Tents sit on raised decks at several camps.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), gomoti private rooms · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Private guide and vehicle
'Private vehicles are available at all Camps at an additional cost' (amount not given). Private vehicles, guides and specialist guides for birding, photography and tracking are offered through the personalised safari page.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF), personalised safari experiences · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Exclusive-use camps and villas
Gomoti Private is an exclusive use camp (1 double and 1 family tent, max 6). Little Machaba, Deteema Springs, Ingwe Pan, Mana River and Ngoma can be booked for exclusive use (Little Machaba: 8 full paying adults). No sole-use rates were on the pages read.
Source: Company · gomoti private, machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Guides
Guides are described as 'experienced and knowledgeable', 'highly trained', professional and armed on walks. No FGASA, KPSGA or similar qualification is named. Some guides are subject specialists, for example birding (a record of 174 species in 48 hours in Zimbabwe).
Source: Company · home page, walking safari, personalised safari experiences · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Activities
Game drives, walking safaris, mokoro (water dependent), birding, cultural visits, night drives (select camps), motorboat or boating (Gomoti Private, Kiri, Monachira), Chobe river cruise (Ngoma), canoeing (Ingwe Pan), helicopter flights (Monachira). Kiri allows off-road and night driving. Deteema Springs has no night drives. Horseback and fishing are not listed.
Source: Company · home page, night safari, deteema springs, kiri camp, ngoma safari lodge, ingwe pan · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Self-drive access
Yes. The terms cover self-drive guests. They must contact the camp the day before check-in to discuss their route, as water levels affect roads. They must also give a mobile number and the previous night's accommodation. A 'Self Drive Instructions' page is in the menu but was not read.
Source: Company · machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · pdf · 19 Oct 2026
Photography
Photography is offered as a personalised add-on with 'dedicated guides and vehicles'. Mokoro trips are described as a photographer's dream and Ingwe Pan as known for photographic opportunities. Photographic hides are not mentioned.
Source: Company · personalised safari experiences, activities mokoro, camps lodges · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Conservation model
A 'Community and Conservation levy' is added to each invoice (amount not stated). Projects: a preschool, with four more planned over five years in honour of Chris Hatshe; anti-poaching units, classrooms and work experience; wildlife monitoring and youth education. A '2025 Impact Report' is linked but was not read. No foundation or per-night amount is stated.
Source: Company · about us, our story, home page, machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Sustainability
Solar with a back-up generator; thermodynamic solar hot water; low-energy appliances; fridges switched off at night; separate bio plants for kitchen, laundry and staff village; no permanent fixtures so sites can be rehabilitated in 1.5 years. No hairdryers or air-con except at Ngoma, which has full electricity. Camp water is safe to drink. Plastic measures and electric vehicles are not mentioned; no certification is named.
Source: Company · machaba camp, machaba camp rooms, machaba safaris terms and conditions (PDF) · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Trade and planner partnerships
Sells through agents and planners: an 'Agents' menu link and regional sales contacts, including UK sales via Ethos Marketing, South American sales through Africa Connection, USA sales through Luxx Concepts, plus South Africa and DACH sales. No preferred-partner statement or portal details are in the pages read.
Source: Company · contact us, home page · crawl · 19 Oct 2026
Facts are from the company’s own pages unless marked Independent source or Official register. A company can correct any line through the contact page; a correction changes the line and its source, never anything else on the page.
Machaba Safaris is a family-owned camp owner founded in 2012, with 11 camps and lodges in Botswana and Zimbabwe and published deposit and cancellation terms. Its Google listing for Machaba Camp shows 4.7 out of 5 from 84 reviews, read 20 October 2026. No Trustpilot or SafariBookings profile was found on 19 October 2026 and the pages read give no licence numbers or payment protection.
African Bush Camps, Desert & Delta Safaris, Imvelo Safari Lodges, Ker & Downey Botswana and Kwando Safaris all have camps in Botswana or Zimbabwe. African Bush Camps and Imvelo have camps in Hwange; Desert & Delta, Ker & Downey and Kwando have camps in or beside Moremi Game Reserve. Facts read 19 October 2026. They were chosen from the camp owners in the safari camp owners table with camps in the same area; the table lists others.
Package totals per person sharing run between $4,262 for the 5-night Romantic Package (11 January to 31 March 2027) and $21,611 for the 11-night Definitive Machaba (1 May to 31 October 2026), read 19 October 2026. The 6-night Classic Hwange is $7,381 for 1 June to 31 October 2026. Packages include internal flights and transfers; the page shows '$' without naming the currency.
Machaba takes a non-refundable 20% deposit once the booking is confirmed and the balance is due eight weeks before arrival. Cancelling more than eight weeks before departure forfeits the deposit, four to eight weeks costs 50% and under four weeks costs 100%. These terms were read in its terms PDF on 19 October 2026.
Machaba Camp, Gomoti Plains, Gomoti Private, Kiri, Verney's and Monachira take all ages. Little Machaba takes children from 12; Deteema Springs, Ingwe Pan and Mana River from 6; Ngoma from 10. Booking a camp for exclusive use lifts these limits. Children under 12 may not use mokoros and walks are for ages 16 and over.
Children 5 and under stay free, ages 6 to 11 pay 50% of the adult sharing rate and ages 12 and over pay the full adult rate, according to the terms read 19 October 2026. A private vehicle is mandatory with children under 6, at extra cost.
Yes. Single travellers pay a 40% supplement in Botswana and 30% in Zimbabwe, according to the terms read 19 October 2026. No solo offer was on the pages read.
Machaba Safaris describes itself as family-owned and owner-run, founded by Alistair Rankin, Murray Collins, the late Chris Hatshe and, in Zimbabwe, Blessing Munyenyiwa. Its postal address is PO Box 150071, Maun, Botswana. No head office or parent group is named on the pages read.
Yes. The terms say private vehicles are available at all camps at extra cost and the personalised safari page offers specialist guides for birding, photography and tracking. The price was not on the pages read.
Yes. Its rates page lists three honeymoon packages priced per couple, including Passion Honeymoon (7 nights, $19,020 in high season 2026) and Indulgent Honeymoon (7 nights, $21,285), read 19 October 2026. There is also a 5-night Romantic Package.
Camp rates include accommodation, all meals, laundry, lodge activities, airstrip transfers by vehicle, drinks other than imported and premium brands, levies and taxes. Park fees are included for full paying guests at its Zimbabwe camps and Ngoma. Flights, road transfers, insurance, visas and tips are extra and a Community and Conservation levy is added to the invoice.
Read next
This page contains no paid placement. Machaba Safaris is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel, paid nothing to appear and had no input into this page. Its alternatives were chosen by us from the camp owners in the table with camps in the same area (the table lists others) and are listed alphabetically. Facts read 19 and 20 October 2026 from the Machaba Safaris website and the Machaba Camp listing on Google Maps, kept in the safari camp owners table with the source and date of every line. How this site earns · How we work.
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.