These 14 are local Kenya safari operators, read on their own sites on 29 October 2026. They are ranked by the founding year each website gives, the earliest first and the years were not checked against a company register.
Which safari companies in Kenya have been operating the longest?
Origins Safaris (1963), Cheli & Peacock (1985) and Sunworld Safaris (1997) give the earliest founding years on this page, ahead of Sino Africa Safari (2006).
Who is on this page and why. Uncompromised Travel read on 29 October 2026 the websites of 14 safari operators with trips in Kenya that run their own trips, with their reviews on SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot and their listing on the KATO register where there is one. The local safari operators table holds the operators named in ChatGPT answers on two or more days in October 2026 and the most-reviewed East African operators on SafariBookings. This page carries every one of them filed under Kenya whose own website gives the year it was founded. Cards are ranked by the year each operator's own website gives for its founding, the earliest first. Each year is as the operator states it and was not checked against a company register. Operators with the same year are listed alphabetically. Prices are shown as each company published them, in its own currency, never converted.
Founded in 1985 by Liz Peacock and Stefano Cheli, as its site gives it.
Why choose them
It was founded in 1985 by Liz Peacock and Stefano Cheli. SafariBookings: 4.2 out of 5 from 5 reviews; Google: 4.6 out of 5 from 71 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.7 out of 5 from 1 review, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Westlands), with offices in Arusha, Zanzibar and Kigali
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category A, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask it for its nearest partner planner, as it connects enquirers to one rather than selling direct.
Not the fit if
Travellers who want to book direct with the operator: it sells through partner safari planners.
Published price
No prices found on the pages read; quotes on request.
Its site says it has been operational since 1997; no founders are named.
Why choose them
It says it owns about 70 custom-built 4x4 Land Cruisers, maintained in its own workshop. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 58 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 214 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Riverside Drive); trips start at JKIA or with Wilson Airport flights
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category A, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the deposit figure in writing; its site says it can be 20 to 30% depending on how close to the safari the booking is made.
Not the fit if
Children under 16 who want to trek gorillas: it does not allow them.
Published price
USD 350 per person per day in Green Season, USD 600 per person per day in Peak Season (featured safaris); high-end trips USD 650 to USD 1,500 per person per day.
Founded in 2006 per its site and the founder first came to Kenya in 1989 and set up a restaurant; Mr. Li is named as managing director.
Why choose them
Founded in 2006, it is run by its MD, Mr. Li; the founder first came to Kenya in 1989. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 743 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Apple Cross Road), with a second office in Arusha
Ask for
Ask how its 'Book' buttons work and what deposit confirms a booking, as neither is stated.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Published price
Family Travel trip ('Luxury Hotel') from 4,300 USD.
Founded in 2009 by Peter Macharia, founder and managing director and its tour pages say '15+ years in service'.
Why choose them
It says its 4x4 Land Cruisers are company-owned, seating 6 to 7 people, each with a window seat. SafariBookings: 4.7 out of 5 from 351 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.7 out of 5 from 55 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Kilimani); Kenya trips start in Nairobi, Tanzania trips in Arusha
Ask for
Ask if gorilla permits are in the price, as its Rwanda page says prices exclude permits.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a small deposit: it asks 50% at booking confirmation.
Published price
Conserving Kenya Safari, 3 days, from $760; Wonderful Wildlife of Tanzania Safari, 6 days, from $1,730 per adult (USD, private tours).
Founded in 2009 by Margaret 'Maggie' Githae, who started in June 2009 with an office in Nairobi.
Why choose them
Its group joining safaris have 'daily departures all year round', with at most 8 travellers per Land Cruiser. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 488 reviews; Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 64 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Royal Offices, Westlands); trips start at JKIA or a Nairobi hotel
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators) as an Associate Member, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask which cancellation terms apply, as its terms page and about page describe different refund rules.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a smaller shared group: joining vehicles carry up to 8 passengers.
Its home page says 'since 2010'; no founders are named.
Why choose them
Its day trips page lists 35 one-day tours, for example a day safari to Tarangire. SafariBookings: 4.8 out of 5 from 168 reviews; Google: 4.7 out of 5 from 83 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.1 out of 5 from 3 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Offices in Arusha, Nairobi (South B), Kigali, Zanzibar, South Africa, Reno (USA) and Maribor
Ask for
Ask for the deposit and booking terms in writing, as its booking process does not state a deposit.
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Published price
No prices published on its website; quotes on request.
Its about page says it was established in 2011 and has operated since; no founders are named.
Why choose them
It says it owns 8 customised 4x4 Land Cruisers with pop-up roofs. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 14 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 35 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Pioneer Bazaar, Koinange Street); Uganda and Rwanda trips start in Entebbe and Kigali
Ask for
Ask if Mara park fees are in the quote, as on the 3-day shared tour they are extra (USD 100 per adult per day January to June, USD 200 July to December).
Not the fit if
No limits published on its website.
Published price
From USD 460 per person sharing and from USD 5,650 per person on some itineraries; many private journeys are 'Price on request'.
Founded in 2013 by George Nchau, though its guides page also says he has led safaris since 2003.
Why choose them
It says it is a Travelife Partner (stage 2 of 3) and an Eco-Tourism Kenya member; its site also says 'Travelife Certified' in places. SafariBookings: 5.0 out of 5 from 91 reviews; Google: 4.9 out of 5 from 262 reviews, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (Ngong Road), with offices in Arusha and Kent, Washington
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators), Category E, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the deposit amount, which its site requires but does not state.
Not the fit if
Travellers wanting a joining departure: it runs no shared vehicles or join departures.
Published price
Prices are published in US dollars as 'From $... Per Person Sharing' on tour pages; no Kenya trip price was read.
Its about page says 'since 2014'; founders are not named.
Why choose them
It publishes climb prices, such as Kilimanjaro Machame, 8 days, $1,885 and Mount Kenya Sirimon to Chogoria, 5 days, $950.
Based in
Nairobi head office (no street address); Big Five packages start from Nairobi
Ask for
Ask what the safari price includes (park fees, fuel, driver-guide), as its site does not list it.
Not the fit if
Groups of more than 6 wanting one vehicle: it takes 6 guests per vehicle at most.
Published price
4 Days Budget Camping Safari (Mara and Lake Nakuru) from $580; 06 Days Karibu Kenya Luxury Tour from $1,495; 08 Days Across Kenya Epic Safari from $2,365 (US$ per person).
Founded in 2018 per its site; founders are not named.
Why choose them
Its refund scale returns 90% of the cost for cancellations 60 days or more before departure. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 363 reviews; Google: 4.8 out of 5 from 27 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.7 out of 5 from 1 review, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Nairobi (contact page); no other offices
Register
Listed by KATO (Kenya Association of Tour Operators) as an Associate Member, read 29 October 2026.
Ask for
Ask for the vehicle type, roof and seats per vehicle, which its site does not state.
Not the fit if
Late cancellers: 14 days or less before departure there is no refund.
Published price
No prices published on its website; quotes on request.
Its about page says 'since its inception in 2020', founded by Daniel Waruri, a former safari guide, with his wife Phyllis.
Why choose them
Its cancellation policy page says it gives a full refund to customers who cancel, processed within 14 business days. SafariBookings: 4.9 out of 5 from 314 reviews; Trustpilot: 3.2 out of 5 from 1 review, read 29 October 2026.
Based in
Ruiru (Spur Mall); trips start from Nairobi
Ask for
Ask for the deposit amount in writing, as its terms leave it to the booking form or invoice.
Not the fit if
Solo travellers: price tables start at 2 people and the 6-day luxury table shows solo as 'n/a'.
Published price
3-day mid-range Mara/Naivasha from $862; 7-day Mara, Amboseli, Naivasha, Hell's Gate, Nakuru $1,656; 10-day Best of Kenya $2,750 (From, USD).
Which operators have run safaris for more than 20 years?
Origins Safaris (1963), Cheli & Peacock (1985) and Sunworld Safaris (1997) give founding years more than 20 years before 2026.
Origins Safaris: Says it was founded in 1963 by Don and Margaret Turner, the earliest year on this page.
Cheli & Peacock: Says it was founded in 1985 by Liz Peacock and Stefano Cheli.
Sunworld Safaris: Says it has been operational since 1997 and describes itself as 'a Top Category A member' of the Kenya Association of Tour Operators (KATO).
Sino Africa Safari gives 2006 as its founding year, the next on this page.
What newer operators publish instead
Newer operators have fewer years to show, so they publish trip terms and group sizes instead.
Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris: Established in 2016, it publishes a maximum of 7 people per vehicle on its joining trips.
Hyrax Safaris: Founded in 2018, it describes its trips as tailor-made and personal.
Meektrails Safaris: Founded in 2020 by Daniel Waruri, a former safari guide, together with his wife Phyllis.
In general, a younger company can have experienced guides, so ask who will lead the trip and how long that person has guided.
How to check how long a safari company has been operating
Treat the year on a company's site as its own statement, then ask for its Tourism Regulatory Authority (TRA) licence number and check it with the TRA.
Bison Safaris: Its site quotes 'License No. TRA/TTO/1234'; Uncompromised Travel has not checked it, so ask for the licence document and check the number with the TRA.
Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel: Tour pages show 'KATO member AS/687' and KATO is a trade association, not a licence.
Origins Safaris: Names guide associations but no company tourism licence, so ask for the licence directly.
In general, a founding year is easy to state and hard to check, so ask for a company registration or licence document that carries a date.
Who to contact first
This is a suggested order of asking, not the ranking: start with the operators that give the earliest years and ask each to back the year with a document.
Origins Safaris: It gives 1963 as its founding year, so ask for its company tourism licence, which its site does not state.
Cheli & Peacock: It gives 1985 and names its founders, so ask for its Kenya licence details.
Sunworld Safaris: It gives 1997 and describes itself as 'a Top Category A member' of KATO, so ask for its licence number.
Sino Africa Safari: It gives 2006 with Nairobi and Arusha offices, so ask for its licence and KATO status, which its site does not state.
Africa Safari Classics: It gives 2008 and says it is a KATO member in the bonding scheme, so ask for its licence number.
When you write, ask each operator for the registration or licence document that carries its founding date and an itemised quote that shows what the price includes.
Longest-running Kenya safari companies: the questions people ask
Which safari companies in Kenya have been operating the longest?
Origins Safaris gives 1963, Cheli & Peacock gives 1985 and Sunworld Safaris gives 1997 on their own websites. These are the earliest years on this page and were not checked against a company register.
Which safari companies are the most reputable?
This page cannot rank reputation; it ranks only by the founding year each operator states. For reputation, read guest reviews and check each operator's TRA licence.
How was this Kenya ranking made?
Operators are ranked by the year each one's own website gives for its founding, the earliest first. Each year is as the operator states it and was not checked against a company register.
How do I check a Kenya safari operator's licence?
Ask for its Tourism Regulatory Authority (TRA) licence number and confirm it with the TRA. Bison Safaris quotes a licence number on its site, which is worth confirming with the TRA before booking.
What does KATO membership mean?
KATO is the Kenya Association of Tour Operators, a trade association and not a licence. Africa Safari Classics says it is a member of KATO and its bonding scheme and Sunworld Safaris describes itself as 'a Top Category A member'.
Which Kenya operators name their founders?
Origins Safaris names Don and Margaret Turner, Cheli & Peacock names Liz Peacock and Stefano Cheli and Bison Safaris names Margaret Githae. Africa Flash Mc Tours & Travel names Peter Macharia and Kwezi Safaris names George Nchau.
Which Kenya operators are the newest on this page?
Meektrails Safaris gives 2020. Hyrax Safaris gives 2018 and Axis Africa Expedition & Safaris gives 2016.
Does a longer track record make a safari company better?
Not by itself. In general, a founding year says how long a company has traded, not how good its trips are, so read reviews and ask for a licence as well.
Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts each operator published on its own website, read on 29 October 2026, with reviews per platform (SafariBookings, Google and Trustpilot) and register listings read the same day, from the Uncompromised Travel local safari operators table. Every operator in that table filed under Kenya whose own website gives the year it was founded is on this page; operators whose websites would not open are not. Cards are ranked by the year each operator's own website gives for its founding, the earliest first. Each year is as the operator states it and was not checked against a company register. Operators with the same year are listed alphabetically; "Who to contact first" is in the order Uncompromised Travel suggests asking. No company paid to appear or for its place. Sources: the company pages linked in each card. Prices are in the currency each company showed and were not converted. How this site earns · How we work.
Richard Jasinski · Uncompromised Travel · written from Valencia · first published 31 October 2026 · updated 31 October 2026
Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies
Cookie Settings
We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more
about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.
These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity.
These cookies can’t be disabled.
These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better
user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.
These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.
These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.