Independent luxury travel intelligence
Uncompromised Travel
A leopard resting in a tree, Tanzania

A leopard resting in a tree, Tanzania. Photo: Pexels (free licence).

Is Lewa Wilderness a good company to book a safari with?

By Richard Jasinski·Updated 2 November 2026

Lewa Wilderness is in the Uncompromised Travel table of safari camp owners. Everything below is from its own website and its review listings, each line with the page it was read from: no score, no rank.

What do guests say about Lewa Wilderness?

Lewa Wilderness has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Lewa Wilderness') from 79 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Google
4.7 out of 5 from 79 reviews. On the Google listing 'Lewa Wilderness' (indoor lodging), 6GQ4+R7W, Muchiene, Kenya. Camps with listings of their own are not added in.
SafariBookings
No SafariBookings listing in Lewa Wilderness' name was found.
Trustpilot
No Trustpilot listing in Lewa Wilderness' name was found.
Sources: google, trustpilot. Read 20 October 2026.

Where are Lewa Wilderness' camps?

Kenya only. Three properties: Lewa Wilderness (9 accommodation units), Private Wilderness (5 cottages) and Walking Wild (mobile camp).

Countries
Kenya only. All three properties are on Lewa Wildlife Conservancy and Il Ngwesi Conservancy (Walking Wild).
Camps
Three properties: Lewa Wilderness (9 accommodation units), Private Wilderness (5 cottages) and Walking Wild (mobile camp). Owned versus managed is not stated.
Where they are
Lewa Wilderness (lodge) and Private Wilderness, both within Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. Walking Wild operates across Lewa Wildlife Conservancy and Il Ngwesi Conservancy.
Land and traversing
Walking Wild also uses Il Ngwesi Conservancy. Exclusive traversing is not stated.
Mobile and seasonal camps
Walking Wild is 'completely mobile', with luggage, food, water and tented accommodation carried by camels across Lewa and Il Ngwesi Conservancies. The horse page also describes a Fly Camp.
Camp sizes
Lewa Wilderness: nine rooms (six hillside thatched cottages, three garden cottages). Private Wilderness: five cottages plus main house.
Sources: countries with camps, land and traversing. Read 20 October 2026.
Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle
Guests photographing elephants from an open safari vehicle. Photo: Pexels (free licence); not Lewa Wilderness' camp.

How much does Lewa Wilderness cost?

Lewa Wilderness publishes no rate per person per night, with its currency and year, that this page can show from its own website; ask it for a quote for your dates.

Minimum stay
Private Wilderness: 3 night minimum stay. Walking Wild: 2 night minimum stay (2 to 8 guests).
Sources: minimum stay. Read 20 October 2026.

What are Lewa Wilderness' booking terms?

Lewa Wilderness does not publish a deposit on its own website; ask for its booking terms in writing before you pay.

Deposit
Not stated on its own website.
Balance due
Not stated on its own website.
Cancellation charges
Not stated on its own website.
How guest payments are protected
Not stated on its own website.
Sources: deposit. Read 20 October 2026.

Who is Lewa Wilderness best for?

Best for: A small family lodge on Lewa, on Lewa Wilderness' own published facts; its terms for children, couples, solo travellers and private guiding are below.

Children
Lewa Wilderness: 'All ages welcome', family cottages, garden cottages described as family-friendly. Private Wilderness: minimum age 6 years. Walking Wild: minimum age 12 years.
Teenagers and families
Private Wilderness suits larger groups or families wanting total independence. Private vehicle rules for children are not stated.
Honeymoon
A guest testimonial is from a honeymoon stay and the lodge is favoured by 'couples'.
Exclusive use
Private Wilderness is 'exclusive use only', 'for one group at a time', with a main house, infinity pool and five cottages. Sole-use rates are not published.
Activities
Game drives (one Landcruiser converted to 100% electric), guided walks, scenic flights in a WACO bi-plane, horse riding safaris (weight limit 90kg/200lbs), camel riding and fly camping. Walking Wild camel-supported walking safaris.

When is Lewa Wilderness not the right choice?

Lewa Wilderness is not the fit if its own published limits rule you out: they are below, in its own words.

Children
Private Wilderness: minimum age 6 years. Walking Wild: minimum age 12 years.
Minimum stay
Private Wilderness: 3 night minimum stay. Walking Wild: 2 night minimum stay (2 to 8 guests).
Sources: family and child policy. Read 20 October 2026.

What are the best alternatives to Lewa Wilderness?

Angama, Borana Lodge, Cottar's Safaris, Enkewa Camp, Entumoto Safari Camp and Finch Hattons also own and run their own camps in Kenya only, each with the fact that it is best for.

  • Angama: best for: The Mara Triangle and Amboseli.
  • Borana Lodge: best for: A Laikipia conservancy lodge for families. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Borana Lodge') from 87 reviews.
  • Cottar's Safaris: best for: A family-run Mara camp in Olderkesi. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Cottar') from 132 reviews.
  • Enkewa Camp: best for: Owner-run camps in the southern Mara.
  • Entumoto Safari Camp: best for: A family-run camp in Mara Siana. 5 out of 5 on Google (listing 'ENTUMOTO') from 8 reviews and 3.7 out of 5 on Trustpilot from 1 review.
  • Finch Hattons: best for: A Tsavo West luxury camp. 4.8 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Finch Hattons Luxury Camp') from 147 reviews.

Each is in the same table, read the same way. Alphabetical order; none paid to be listed.

Who owns Lewa Wilderness?

Lewa Wilderness' ownership is not stated on its own website.

Trading name
Trading name Lewa Wilderness; legal entity Lewa Wilderness Trails Ltd, which 'operates within England and Wales'. Business address: C/O Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, Private Bag, Isiolo 60300, Kenya.
Based in
Business address is C/O Lewa Wildlife Conservancy, Private Bag, Isiolo 60300, Kenya; the lodge sits on the Lewa Wildlife Conservancy.
In its own words
'one of kenya's original safari lodges'.
Conservation model
Guests 'automatically support' Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. The conservancy runs rhino and Grevy's zebra programmes (169 black and white rhino, 12% of global Grevy's zebra) and the Lewa Education Programme sponsoring 18 schools with 6,000 students.

How do you book Lewa Wilderness?

Direct to guests by email ([email protected]) and phone (+254 (0)796 035 177) and a 'TRADE LOGIN' link appears on every page, so agents have a trade area.

Where it sells
Direct to guests by email ([email protected]) and phone (+254 (0)796 035 177) and a 'TRADE LOGIN' link appears on every page, so agents have a trade area.
Price against a planner
Not stated on its own website: it says nothing about whether booking direct is cheaper.
Planner partnerships
A 'TRADE LOGIN' link appears on every page, implying an agent portal. No planner partnership or preferred-partner statements.
Sources: where it sells. Read 20 October 2026.

Lewa Wilderness: the questions people ask

How many camps does Lewa Wilderness have?

Three properties: Lewa Wilderness (9 accommodation units), Private Wilderness (5 cottages) and Walking Wild (mobile camp).

When are Lewa Wilderness' camps open?

Walking Wild is 'completely mobile', with luggage, food, water and tented accommodation carried by camels across Lewa and Il Ngwesi Conservancies. The horse page also describes a Fly Camp.

What activities does Lewa Wilderness offer?

Game drives (one Landcruiser converted to 100% electric), guided walks, scenic flights in a WACO bi-plane, horse riding safaris (weight limit 90kg/200lbs), camel riding and fly camping. Walking Wild camel-supported walking safaris.

Does Lewa Wilderness have honeymoon offers?

A guest testimonial is from a honeymoon stay and the lodge is favoured by 'couples'.

How does Lewa Wilderness fund conservation?

Guests 'automatically support' Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. The conservancy runs rhino and Grevy's zebra programmes (169 black and white rhino, 12% of global Grevy's zebra) and the Lewa Education Programme sponsoring 18 schools with 6,000 students.

Does Lewa Wilderness accept children?

Lewa Wilderness: 'All ages welcome', family cottages, garden cottages described as family-friendly. Private Wilderness: minimum age 6 years.

Where are Lewa Wilderness' camps?

Lewa Wilderness (lodge) and Private Wilderness, both within Lewa Wildlife Conservancy. Walking Wild operates across Lewa Wildlife Conservancy and Il Ngwesi Conservancy.

What are Lewa Wilderness' reviews?

Lewa Wilderness has 4.7 out of 5 on Google (listing 'Lewa Wilderness') from 79 reviews, each read on its own platform and never added together.

Can I book Lewa Wilderness through Uncompromised Travel?

No. Uncompromised Travel is a publication and does not sell safaris. Use Lewa Wilderness' own enquiry page, www.lewawilderness.com, or a safari planner.

How current is this page?

Lewa Wilderness' website and review listings were read on 20 October 2026. Rates and terms change, so confirm them with the company before you book.

Built to answer the question in the main heading. What is shown: facts Lewa Wilderness published on its own website and its review listings on Google, SafariBookings and Trustpilot, read on 20 October 2026, from the Uncompromised Travel safari camp owners table. No score and no rank. Lewa Wilderness did not pay to be on this page and is not a partner of Uncompromised Travel. Photos are stock images from Pexels and do not show the company's camps. How this site earns · How we work.

Cookie Settings
This website uses cookies

Cookie Settings

We use cookies to improve user experience. Choose what cookie categories you allow us to use. You can read more about our Cookie Policy by clicking on Cookie Policy below.

These cookies enable strictly necessary cookies for security, language support and verification of identity. These cookies can’t be disabled.

These cookies collect data to remember choices users make to improve and give a better user experience. Disabling can cause some parts of the site to not work properly.

These cookies help us to understand how visitors interact with our website, help us measure and analyze traffic to improve our service.

These cookies help us to better deliver marketing content and customized ads.